After Dark Films | Release Date: February 23, 2007
5.9
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 14 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
7
Mixed:
4
Negative:
3
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
BrandonW.Feb 21, 2007
I saw this dark Spanish horror a few months ago at Horrorfest. It was by far the best of the 8 films shown. It succeeds at building such a pervasive atmosphere of dread that by the end my friends and I all found ourselves completely I saw this dark Spanish horror a few months ago at Horrorfest. It was by far the best of the 8 films shown. It succeeds at building such a pervasive atmosphere of dread that by the end my friends and I all found ourselves completely terrified by even the most trivial of it's twists and turns. The atmosphere is much more effective given that it is not created by means of computers or special effects. Rather the film relies on the classic horror techniques of cinematography, set design, and sound effects to provide genuine creepiness rather than gore and cheap scares. I recommend this to real horror fans who think that Saw III was lame. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EnriqueFeb 23, 2007
A unique, sophisticated thriller. A really scary one. Good cinematography.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MichaelL.Sep 14, 2007
Not perfect, but far from the worst horror flick I've seen lately. Nice, atmospheric camerawork, decent acting, a good plot twist, and the unique Russian setting ultimately make this a watchable movie. Definitley got under my skin, and Not perfect, but far from the worst horror flick I've seen lately. Nice, atmospheric camerawork, decent acting, a good plot twist, and the unique Russian setting ultimately make this a watchable movie. Definitley got under my skin, and provided a few good scares to boot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MartyO.Feb 24, 2007
This movie is way, way overrated. It tries to be creepy and weird, but it's just boring to death and you stop to care about anything after a while, that's all I have to say.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JustinB.Feb 24, 2007
I give it a zero because it's just that awful, the best word to describe this film is appalling. I don't even understand why this film was created, I also don't understand how a person could like this. [***SPOILER***]They I give it a zero because it's just that awful, the best word to describe this film is appalling. I don't even understand why this film was created, I also don't understand how a person could like this. [***SPOILER***]They would have to be into the sort of movie that goes nowhere, by the end of the movie you sort of wish you were the one that drowned. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MauriceFeb 26, 2007
It scared the pop corn out of my mouth!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
SamMar 19, 2007
The original story and scares save this movie from the horror droll that's been in the theaters as of late, but the confusing and complicated ending left this viewer unsatisfied.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JamesFeb 24, 2007
If this was the "audience pick" for Horrorfest, I can only imagine how horrible the others were. The Abandoned begins with an interesting plot which reminded me of the old Ray Bradbury presents show, but falls off from there. The jarring and If this was the "audience pick" for Horrorfest, I can only imagine how horrible the others were. The Abandoned begins with an interesting plot which reminded me of the old Ray Bradbury presents show, but falls off from there. The jarring and thematic cinematography (and sound) does not save this film's extremely slow pace and unsatisfying ending. It felt as if key plot points and backstory were left out. Directing horror is a tricky business. An important element is left out of most (if not all) horror films and that is character building. What makes and audience sit on the edge of their seats or keep hands firmly covering their eyes is not wanting to see characters in the movie they care about get off-ed by a monster or machete weilding maniac. By the end of this film's experience I wanted the underdeveloped characters killed off so I could leave and and grumble over the $9.50 I just wasted. Horrorfest was billed as " movies too scary and/or gory to be released to normal audiences" but this was niether. What could have been a taut psychological thriller ends up being late night B-film fodder for the Sci-fi channel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BobH.Feb 25, 2007
Very good movie to any one who likes horror movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
moviegrabbagJun 12, 2011
In Russia cars drive you! This isn't the best horror movie ever made but it isn't a horrible movie. It's kind of confusing which is actually kind of a good thing. The movie keeps you guessing and wondering what in the hell is going on. ThereIn Russia cars drive you! This isn't the best horror movie ever made but it isn't a horrible movie. It's kind of confusing which is actually kind of a good thing. The movie keeps you guessing and wondering what in the hell is going on. There are some scenes that could probably have been cut out of the movie and it would have been just fine and the acting could have been better but overall it is a decent movie and if you can see it for free or for a low price its probably worth checking out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
choomtabi31Feb 22, 2016
Liked it, but not because of the script, which is a bit messy, but because of the actors, who play their best, both of them.

Watch it here: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-4735-The-Abandoned-online-free
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews