Metascore
43

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 16
  2. Negative: 3 out of 16
  1. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Mar 20, 2013
    40
    A good concept yields scattershot results in this horror-film anthology.
  2. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Mar 7, 2013
    80
    The ABCs of Death is one-stop shopping for deviant cinema, a Pu Pu platter of perversity. It made me laugh hysterically, shout with outrage, wince with discomfort and yearn to hide under the sofa, all by the halfway mark.
  3. Reviewed by: V.A. Musetto
    Mar 7, 2013
    25
    Most are exercises in sickening bad taste, with an emphasis on human bodily functions. The biggest stinkers? “T Is for Toilet” and “F Is for Fart.”
  4. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    Mar 7, 2013
    50
    At its best when merging shocks with social commentary, this halting compilation improves significantly as it nears the end of the alphabet.
  5. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Mar 5, 2013
    40
    Only Hélène Cattet and Bruno Forzani, directors of 2009’s stylish Amer, emerge intact with “O Is for Orgasm,” a surging montage of fluid colors and moans.
  6. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Mar 8, 2013
    40
    There's no sense of pacing here, as would be the case in a single feature-length narrative in which a wise filmmaker would vary the intensity level. Instead, what we get is a ceaseless visual and emotional assault. That makes for an exhausting movie-going experience. This is by no means a feel-good film. This is a feel-bad film -- and at times a feel-icky film.
  7. Reviewed by: Tasha Robinson
    Mar 6, 2013
    42
    Many of the shorts are visibly impressive, given their scant budgets, and there’s no end of visual and thematic creativity stretched throughout the anthology; there are, after all, a million horrible, memorable ways to die.
  8. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Mar 4, 2013
    50
    An instant midnight movie, a morbid mishmash of styles and filmmaking formats – 26 films, 26 filmmakers from the four corners of the horror globe, all making short films about death. It’s not for everyone.
  9. Reviewed by: Ian Buckwalter
    Mar 8, 2013
    35
    With 26 films, one for each letter of the alphabet, one might expect enough gems in the mix to make up for any stinkers. That's sadly not the case.
  10. Reviewed by: Mark Holcomb
    Feb 19, 2013
    30
    What's unexpected is how thoroughly The ABCs of Death's ample duds overshadow its treasures, and how uninspired it feels as a whole.
  11. Reviewed by: William Goss
    Mar 7, 2013
    58
    Even at thirty seconds a piece, 26 shorts would feel, fittingly, like overkill. The ABCs of Death has no shortage of inventive, ironic and gruesome sketches, but the novelty of its successes just barely outweighs its stillborn stuff.
  12. Reviewed by: Catherine Shoard
    Apr 26, 2013
    40
    The most intentional fun comes courtesy of N (for Nuptials).
  13. Reviewed by: Justin Lowe
    Mar 8, 2013
    50
    Stronger in concept than execution.
  14. Reviewed by: Ethan Gilsdorf
    Mar 7, 2013
    50
    Do your tastes delve into the sick, ultra-violent, and disturbing? Then you may find The ABCs of Death, an anthology of about two dozen short films, inventive and funny. Otherwise, as you consume this serving of alphabet soup, “A” may as well stand for “atrocious,” “B” for “bloodbath,” and “C” for “check, please.”
  15. Reviewed by:  Ryan Gowland
    Mar 5, 2013
    75
    The end result provides a range of quality, from the inspired and creative to the lazy and insipid, but one that horror fans will certainly devour.
  16. Mar 2, 2013
    63
    Tellingly, this horror anthology's finest entries convey how real horror comes in more than shades of red, and how it lives inside us all.
User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 12
  2. Negative: 3 out of 12
  1. Mar 17, 2013
    7
    i saw this a month ago, and, in a very general sense, it's awesome, it's an interesting idea to begin with: 26 segments, all about death in alphabetical order, then you have some great indie directors, like ti west, adam wingard, xavier gens, marcel... whatever his name is... takashi miike, jason eisener, need i go on? so, i had a lot of fun with this film, each of the segments has a distinct style, which is all you can hope to achieve in five minutes or less, and sometimes it is disgustingly violent, specifically with xxl, which made me physically sick, sometimes it's funny (in a sick way), specifically with nuptials, young buck, klutz and toilet, it's very artistic, which is one of the few things that are consistent in the film, because you have 26 directors, there is going to be a lot of inconsistency, but, for the most part, it remains good, the two segments that i found absolutely terrible are fart and miscarriage... WAS TI WEST EVEN TRYING? highlights include removed, dogfight, bigfoot, exterminate, hydro electric diffusion, libido, nuptials, quack, speed, unearthed, vagitus, xxl, young buck... yeah, a lot of them are great, wtf was amusing but weird, zetsumetsu was entertaining, (genital swordfights... really?), so yeah... i laughed, i cried, i screamed in terror, i screamed in disappointment, but i enjoyed myself, and that's what makes it so good samarathenymph xoxo Full Review »
  2. Mar 17, 2013
    6
    the main problem is that this is just way too uneven to recommend, some of the segments are just disgusting, some are scary, and some are funny, but most of them could have been done better, dogfight, toilet, cycle, young buck, and libido are the best segments, xxl will make any normal person sick, and all of the japanese segments (dear god, i sound so racist) are terrible, especially fart... what the hell was that? but as a whole, it was unique, entertaining, scary and it does just what you expect it to do... watch it if you dare. Full Review »
  3. Mar 11, 2013
    3
    This movie doesn't decide what genre it has, great idea! BAD MOVIE! 3 for D letter segment