Dimension Films | Release Date: June 10, 2005
4.4
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 166 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
59
Mixed:
21
Negative:
86
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
ryanj.Sep 6, 2005
Anyone who thinks popcorn commercialised peices of contempoary, not even contempoary but martek orientated crap should have their IQ tested and then get back to me with the LOW score.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
3
MichaelF.Jun 30, 2006
i thought 3-d would be an intresting movie choice. baaaaaad idea. many effects can easily be considered unrealistic and the plotline is just too horrible. non-recommendation, but i've seen worse.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
LouisH.Mar 21, 2007
This movie was absolutely HORRIBLE!!! The jokes are lame, the story is bad, and the animation is even worse! Like the spykids series, it just got worse and worse as the movie went on. DO NOT see it, you'll ruin your eyes!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
HellAngelSFeb 5, 2009
Did the directors, who make good or decent films stop trying to work hard on their later work?
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
jackfNov 1, 2005
My poor children my poor poor children. i wonder how many hit lists Rodriguez is on now.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
SamR.Oct 25, 2005
I went to see this with my son. Frankly, it made me want to strangle myself in my seat with my tie. Never, ever go see this movie, whether you're 5 or 50. Run for your life.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
mattw.Oct 30, 2005
The worst pathetic piece of cr@p of a movie ever to destroy the poor inocent minds of thousands of small children pitifuly unfortunate enough to get draged along to this.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
joses.Aug 29, 2005
I've seen a lot of films in my time. But this was undoubtedly the biggest piece of crapola that I've ever witnessed. Warning: Do not pay a cent for this turkey!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
PamelaL.Jan 4, 2008
I think there should be someway of stopping little kids from commenting on this movie. Obviously they're going to give it a score. This movie is good for everybody under 8. For everybody else it's just a stupid random piece of I think there should be someway of stopping little kids from commenting on this movie. Obviously they're going to give it a score. This movie is good for everybody under 8. For everybody else it's just a stupid random piece of junk. The 3D is clearly there to make up for the 1 dimensional characters. Unfortunatly the 3D just makes the movie look dumber, as for the jokes, I did even smile at them. Half the time I couldn't even tell that they were supposed to be jokes. It seemed as though the characters were just pointless stating facts. And did I mention the acting, it sucked! Also it's unfair that a young boy gets to come up with stories from movies, just because his father is a director. All kids have a great imagination, what makes Racer's ideas so special. I could write a better story than him without even trying Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
collinjSep 8, 2008
Horrid movie, what ever age you are it will live with you as the worst 90 of your life. George Lopez at his worst. i was forced to watch it with my niece and wanted to shoot myself the entire time
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
aaronpaul121May 24, 2012
The acting is terrible, the plot is boring, the graphics are ordinary and the overall presentation is horrible. Everything in this movie is terribly bad................
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
ZilcellMay 25, 2012
It has the imagination and the colorful visuals, but the story and characters lifelessness just makes it average and it negatively affects the experience.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
KairoNov 21, 2011
This has to be the worst 'movie' I've ever seen. I saw only 20 minutes, because it was so unbearable I had to ragequit. The 'movie' is embarrassing and it seems like guys responsible for this were on drugs! What is worst is that my countryThis has to be the worst 'movie' I've ever seen. I saw only 20 minutes, because it was so unbearable I had to ragequit. The 'movie' is embarrassing and it seems like guys responsible for this were on drugs! What is worst is that my country released dubbing which makes everything even WORSE!!! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
grandpajoe6191Oct 17, 2011
Terribly written and played with crappy CGI, "The Adventures of Sharkboy and Lavagirl" is definitely one of the year's worst adult, and well as child, films.
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
0
libnoJan 19, 2011
This movie has the lowest form of graphics ever. Plus, it's EXTREMELY CRAPPY!!!!!
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
1
JawsLaxerDramaDec 21, 2012
WHAT THE **** is this piece of ****? Are you kidding me?! I'm so angry it makes me bleed out of my eyeballs! Seriously, just...watch it and see for yourself how bad it is. Quick! Incinerate all the copies in the world!
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
DiegoRMay 10, 2009
Yo this movie is the bomb dogs! It's like hardcore shizizit for the hole faimly! It has the hardcore action of movies like Rambo, the drama of Indiana Jones, the suspense of Silence of the Lambs, and the family values of Blue's Yo this movie is the bomb dogs! It's like hardcore shizizit for the hole faimly! It has the hardcore action of movies like Rambo, the drama of Indiana Jones, the suspense of Silence of the Lambs, and the family values of Blue's Clues and Bob the Builder. It's like a Clockwork Orange meets the Davinci Code as this thinking man's epic reveals the flaws within our capitalistic society and the greed of corporate America. It's seering criticism of the Bush administration shows a world torn by war and corporate chauvinism and challenges traditional concepts of gender relationships and racial issues. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
KadeemluvmusicSep 18, 2012
It might not be as good as the 3 Spy Kids movies, but The Adventures of Sharkboy and Lavagirl is definitely a 2-D experience instead of 3-D. Sure the movie was a disappointment, but this is Taylor Lautner's first film before he was Jacob inIt might not be as good as the 3 Spy Kids movies, but The Adventures of Sharkboy and Lavagirl is definitely a 2-D experience instead of 3-D. Sure the movie was a disappointment, but this is Taylor Lautner's first film before he was Jacob in the "Twilight" series. How hard can it be? I knew it got bad reviews, but since they said it was going to be bad, did they still watch Spy Kids 1-3 and usually blame a 3-D kids movie by Robert Rodriguez? No. They just want to be the center of attention yip-yapping those negative feedbacks. I gotta give credit to Robert Rodriguez. Even though he still has a loyal fanbase to those who want to become the next Antonio Banderas or Salma Hayek, he still makes more action movies like Sin City and Machete. That's a good director, maybe he will be making his star into the Hollywood Walk of Fame someday. It's a great movie if you haven't seen it, I watched a little bit on the Cartoon Network. But great job, Mr. Rodriguez. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
quartzhaloAug 28, 2011
My classroom loved it!! I have seen worse movies all of the Disney movies SUCK and are nothing but a waste of money. I thought this movie was unique, creative and very entertaining.
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
5
MalcomM.Oct 25, 2005
Hey, whaddya expect from a 'child-at-heart' daddy & his teeny-weeny-year-old son movie collaboration? A cute cupcake movie, hehe. Still, its sweetness will probably last only for awhile before your tummy starts grumbling for a Hey, whaddya expect from a 'child-at-heart' daddy & his teeny-weeny-year-old son movie collaboration? A cute cupcake movie, hehe. Still, its sweetness will probably last only for awhile before your tummy starts grumbling for a heavier and more savoury desert. The 3d effects does look gimmicky and cheezy, but i understand it was all made in the name of fun. The execution of the effects look rushed though, as there were some major flaws in the compositing with the live action and 3D world. I'm sure Rodriguez had much better things to do with his other upcoming projects than to scrutinize the technical details of his child's film. Or maybe he left that role of supervising to his kiddy son??? Anyway, the movie did offer some creative yet juvenile moments of mini-genius ideas all rolled into a big fat supersized burger. Seriously appetizing & cute. But not yummy enough. Darn, there goes my tummy. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
jameek.Oct 6, 2005
It was to much like spy kids, but it was cute.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
CRITICFeb 18, 2006
Shark boy and Lava Girl really is a decent movie. But is the 3D necessary?Whats with the director's obsession with 3D?
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
Gusk1Aug 10, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Muito ruim,pecimo.nao gostei,e chato, Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
AyshaleeR.Jun 3, 2006
Nice movie i love to watch it all day first when i saw that the movie was coming out i fell in love with shark boy! but lava girl is asume too!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EzraHAug 3, 2008
It my favorite movie !I love Sharkboy and Lavagirl and others.I wish Robert Rodriguez can bring them back. And saw them in my dream!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DeedraG.Oct 12, 2005
I give this movie a 10 because,Sharkboy is really,really,cute and pluse its a very good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
estheratorc.Oct 4, 2005
I thort it was cool lots of good themes and i can c how some ppl would hate it but for almost the same reasons i loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
kiahm.Sep 25, 2005
I love this movie!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RD.Feb 27, 2007
Very cheesy but ultiamtely entertaining. Not so bad as some might rate it. The visuals are great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
antoinettek.Oct 20, 2005
It was the greatest movie ever!! i love the whole movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GodH.Sep 9, 2005
It was the best movie ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ElizabethR.Oct 1, 2006
I love this movie. I could keep watching it over and over again. I loved everything about this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanK.Dec 21, 2006
It's the bestest and my faverite film!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZariaB.Jun 3, 2006
They are the best. They are so fun. I wish I could go to the park with them. I wish Lava Girl could have Lava Girl Ice Cream. I wish Shark Boy could have a Sushi Ice Cream. I wish Lava Girl could come to my house for a sleep over. I wish They are the best. They are so fun. I wish I could go to the park with them. I wish Lava Girl could have Lava Girl Ice Cream. I wish Shark Boy could have a Sushi Ice Cream. I wish Lava Girl could come to my house for a sleep over. I wish Lava Girl could eat toast with me. Shark Boy and Lava Girl please come to my house. I love you Zaria 4 years old. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
OlgaT.Feb 14, 2008
This is the best kids movie I have seen in years. Critics who don't like it have NO imagination. The movie is fantastically entertaining, the visuals are amazing and the actors are charming. Bravo for the Rodriguez family! Please make This is the best kids movie I have seen in years. Critics who don't like it have NO imagination. The movie is fantastically entertaining, the visuals are amazing and the actors are charming. Bravo for the Rodriguez family! Please make more movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BrandonJ.May 27, 2008
For those of you who say kids hate it: If you haven't noticed, every single kid, and only the kids, have posted on here saying they love the movie; it's only older kids and parents that will be likely to hate this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasoncNov 1, 2005
I loved this movie Shark boy is relly HOT!!!!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AMIENov 23, 2005
I thought it was very creative. It may not be for adults, but the kids love it. That is who it was made for, and that is what counts. I am 25 and my daughter loved it we watch it everyday. I wish I had the resources to do something like that I thought it was very creative. It may not be for adults, but the kids love it. That is who it was made for, and that is what counts. I am 25 and my daughter loved it we watch it everyday. I wish I had the resources to do something like that with my kids. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KrisMNov 24, 2005
Shark Boy is the HOTTEST guy on the planet!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TiffanyJ.Oct 22, 2005
Hey i liked the movie and im only 10 but sharkboy is soo cute.And the movie brillient.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JeffM.Jul 19, 2006
Bad. Painful. Horrible. Then the musical number started. If my kid didn't like it so much, I would run the disc over with my car.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EHAug 18, 2007
This movie is simply amazing. Those of you who insult it for its poor visuals or 'lame' jokes just aren't looking hard enough. The theme of the movie is beautiful. Everything starts with a dream. If you've forgotten that, This movie is simply amazing. Those of you who insult it for its poor visuals or 'lame' jokes just aren't looking hard enough. The theme of the movie is beautiful. Everything starts with a dream. If you've forgotten that, there's no way you could like this movie. But hopefully, you'll wath it again. Then maybe you'll remember. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarcoNov 15, 2005
Great kids movie, it's not supposed to appeal to adults...duh. Let your kids watch it and tell you if they like it. That's the true test.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
StephanieDNov 18, 2007
This movie sucked so bad i wanted to throw up during the whole movie. Fake Fake piece of crap. Only someone so stupid and imature would even watch this more than once oh nd for the record sharkboy is UGLY all yous have bad taste both in This movie sucked so bad i wanted to throw up during the whole movie. Fake Fake piece of crap. Only someone so stupid and imature would even watch this more than once oh nd for the record sharkboy is UGLY all yous have bad taste both in movies nd guys. o and lava gurl is ugly and stupid. all are idiots for liking it BIGGEST PICE OF S*** ON EARTH. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
Supernova888Aug 2, 2012
ACTING - 4
The acting left a lot to be desired in this movie. Everything seemed so unrealistic. The best actor was probably Taylor Dooley. She did a wonderful job of getting mad, and could be very sweet when she needed to be. Taylor Lautner
ACTING - 4
The acting left a lot to be desired in this movie. Everything seemed so unrealistic. The best actor was probably Taylor Dooley. She did a wonderful job of getting mad, and could be very sweet when she needed to be. Taylor Lautner was okay, but he portrayed Sharkboy as a character that was always mad, and it became monotonous after the first twenty minutes or so. Cayden Boyd Was okay as Max, but he seemed uninterested at times, and he looked like he was about to throw up when he was supposed to be crying, which left a bad taste in my mouth.

PLOT - 3
The plot was very disconnected and felt like it kept changing all of the time, which left me confused at points. The plot seemed utterly ridiculous in the first place, causing all of the changes to just make it worse.

SPECIAL EFFECTS - 7
For constant special effects composed in a 2005 film, this was a good attempt. The lava was almost realistic and Mr. Electric was somewhat impressive. Although some special effects were awfully cheesy, most of them were pretty solid.

OVERALL - 4.6 (4)
Although Sharkboy and Lavagirl may impress toddlers, it will not impress anyone else. As a "family film", it leaves the rest of the family in pure torture of having to sit through this.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
TheWalrus2000Apr 29, 2013
Robert Rodriguez loses his Spy Kids style in Sharkboy & Lavagirl. The script is terrible and drowsy, and the action is quite frankly, boring if not so imaginative it sucks. It aims to be a kids movie, but is Rodriguez the right director for kids?
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
TrilobiteGAug 18, 2013
I was very young when I watched this film and I seemed to enjoy it a lot in my early days. I recall it as being one of my favourite films as young one. I recently watched sharkboy and lavagirl again as a teenager and was just appalled. FirstI was very young when I watched this film and I seemed to enjoy it a lot in my early days. I recall it as being one of my favourite films as young one. I recently watched sharkboy and lavagirl again as a teenager and was just appalled. First off, the cgi is god awful in this film and it looked as though it was made for a toys r us advert! The whole concept is just f@!&ing bulls%^t and honestly could've been written by a 5 year old. Some may argue in saying that it was built for young children and it is and many children and toddlers enjoy it. But the kid films that really entertain are the one's that are built for ALL ages. Why do you think disney/pixar films are so popular? So, sharkboy and lavagirl is a good film to put on for your children when they are very young but if they decide to watch it again when they are older like me...they're probably going to be dissapointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
sil3nt_nickMar 24, 2013
Terrible is honestly an understatement.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
SuperheroMoviesAug 5, 2013
The only saving grace that can be said about this Spy Kids lookalike is that it has amusing 3-D effects which is, unfortunately, the only real positive thing about this laughably scripted kids flick.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
igorgaviDec 27, 2013
What is this movie?

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
FranzHcriticJul 9, 2014
Whenever dealing with terrible action movies, one can find that the special effects are the only redeeming quality. Not in this case: the CGI looks like cutout, and, coupled with the corny storyline, idiotic humor, and bizarre plot, RobertWhenever dealing with terrible action movies, one can find that the special effects are the only redeeming quality. Not in this case: the CGI looks like cutout, and, coupled with the corny storyline, idiotic humor, and bizarre plot, Robert Rodriguez takes Spy Kids far beyond what is both entertaining and interesting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MovieGuysMar 23, 2014
The Adventures of Sharkboy and Lavagirl will most likely be a drag for adults, but the kiddies will enjoy it. If you can overlook the horrible CGI and bland special effects, you might be able to sit through this one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
Robinson2511May 3, 2014
While entertaining, this film drops scores based on it's plot, special effects, characters, writing, presentation, acting, & not forgetting a ridiculous amount of silly moments that made me feel like the film was deliberately trying to put meWhile entertaining, this film drops scores based on it's plot, special effects, characters, writing, presentation, acting, & not forgetting a ridiculous amount of silly moments that made me feel like the film was deliberately trying to put me off, kids will probably love this film, but anyone aged 10 & over may find this film too off putting for all the reasons mentioned above! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
lukechristianscMar 21, 2014
totally girly the fact Co- director of sin city Robert Rodriguez made sharkboy and added taylor laughtner which talyor is a **** . it is okay and i like the ending . still waste of my time
Grade D-
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
HaithamBJul 12, 2014
Apart from having cheesy green screen effects, The Adventures of Sharkboy and Lavagirl 3-D forks over some positive messages and never ending inventiveness, a must see in 3-D!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
CineAutoctonoDec 25, 2015
"The Adventures of Sharkboy and Lavagirl" was a horrible but very decent idea , because the animation was just awful , the script very absurd and this movie is just for children.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Jollyjoe1000Dec 24, 2015
WTF!!!!!!!!! is everyone complaining about.I found it imaginative creative.And I honestly found the special effects not to be bad.Also it is a pretty accurate pot rail of a boys imagination.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
PachekoviskMar 16, 2016
HORRIBLE
As a kid this movie was not so bad, but watching it now is a piece of crap
I would give it a 2 but i'm giving it a 3 just because i remember liking it as a kid.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
StannyCartvskiSep 16, 2016
This movie was actually pretty good, there were some stupid parts, but it's a dream movie that's why. They actually did pretty good and it's a harmless kids flick, despite Sharkboy going savage.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews