The Adventures of Sharkboy and Lavagirl 3-D Image
Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 161 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: From the wild imagination of a child and the digital vision of director Robert Rodriguez comes this magical, original, not to mention three-dimensional, family entertainment. (Dimension Films)

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 31
  2. Negative: 14 out of 31
  1. There is such a joy of play in the film that it's easy to overlook the overdone performances and the lazy script shortcuts.
  2. On the whole it feels genuine. Lautner and Dooley are compelling as the sullen, instinctual Sharkboy and the radiant, hot-headed Lavagirl, and it's easy to see why they dominate shy, hesitant Max's dreams.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    50
    There's little chance of grabbing teens (or even many tweens) during summertime playdates. Still, small fry will be enchanted by this rambunctious action-adventure.
  4. 42
    A story that would be charming if recited at the dinner table tries to carry a feature film, and it's not even close to the task. The result is screamingly bad.
  5. The story's so sloppy that it contradicts itself constantly.
  6. 38
    As sweet and hopeless and silly as a doting dad framing his second-grader's latest finger-painting and calling it a Matisse.
  7. The result is astoundingly boring and, frankly, tedious to sit through.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 96
  2. Negative: 44 out of 96
  1. antoinettek.
    Oct 20, 2005
    10
    It was the greatest movie ever!! i love the whole movie.
  2. ElizabethR.
    Oct 1, 2006
    10
    I love this movie. I could keep watching it over and over again. I loved everything about this movie.
  3. Aug 28, 2011
    10
    My classroom loved it!! I have seen worse movies all of the Disney movies SUCK and are nothing but a waste of money. I thought this movie wasMy classroom loved it!! I have seen worse movies all of the Disney movies SUCK and are nothing but a waste of money. I thought this movie was unique, creative and very entertaining. Expand
  4. Jul 12, 2014
    4
    Apart from having cheesy green screen effects, The Adventures of Sharkboy and Lavagirl 3-D forks over some positive messages and never endingApart from having cheesy green screen effects, The Adventures of Sharkboy and Lavagirl 3-D forks over some positive messages and never ending inventiveness, a must see in 3-D! Expand
  5. Mar 16, 2016
    3
    HORRIBLE
    As a kid this movie was not so bad, but watching it now is a piece of crap
    I would give it a 2 but i'm giving it a 3 just because i
    HORRIBLE
    As a kid this movie was not so bad, but watching it now is a piece of crap
    I would give it a 2 but i'm giving it a 3 just because i remember liking it as a kid.
    Expand
  6. HellAngelS
    Feb 5, 2009
    1
    Did the directors, who make good or decent films stop trying to work hard on their later work?
  7. StephanieD
    Nov 18, 2007
    0
    This movie sucked so bad i wanted to throw up during the whole movie. Fake Fake piece of crap. Only someone so stupid and imature would even This movie sucked so bad i wanted to throw up during the whole movie. Fake Fake piece of crap. Only someone so stupid and imature would even watch this more than once oh nd for the record sharkboy is UGLY all yous have bad taste both in movies nd guys. o and lava gurl is ugly and stupid. all are idiots for liking it BIGGEST PICE OF S*** ON EARTH. Expand

See all 96 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    We rank every movie directed by Steven Spielberg throughout his 40-plus-year career.
  2. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: June 22, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Independence Day: Resurgence, Free State of Jones, The Shallows, Hunt for the Wilderpeople, The Neon Demon, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. 21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best

    21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 21, 2016
    We rank recent alien invasion movies by Metascore.