The Adventures of Sharkboy and Lavagirl 3-D Image
Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 163 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: From the wild imagination of a child and the digital vision of director Robert Rodriguez comes this magical, original, not to mention three-dimensional, family entertainment. (Dimension Films)

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 31
  2. Negative: 14 out of 31
  1. There is such a joy of play in the film that it's easy to overlook the overdone performances and the lazy script shortcuts.
  2. On the whole it feels genuine. Lautner and Dooley are compelling as the sullen, instinctual Sharkboy and the radiant, hot-headed Lavagirl, and it's easy to see why they dominate shy, hesitant Max's dreams.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    50
    There's little chance of grabbing teens (or even many tweens) during summertime playdates. Still, small fry will be enchanted by this rambunctious action-adventure.
  4. 42
    A story that would be charming if recited at the dinner table tries to carry a feature film, and it's not even close to the task. The result is screamingly bad.
  5. The story's so sloppy that it contradicts itself constantly.
  6. 38
    As sweet and hopeless and silly as a doting dad framing his second-grader's latest finger-painting and calling it a Matisse.
  7. The result is astoundingly boring and, frankly, tedious to sit through.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 97
  2. Negative: 44 out of 97
  1. antoinettek.
    Oct 20, 2005
    10
    It was the greatest movie ever!! i love the whole movie.
  2. ElizabethR.
    Oct 1, 2006
    10
    I love this movie. I could keep watching it over and over again. I loved everything about this movie.
  3. Aug 28, 2011
    10
    My classroom loved it!! I have seen worse movies all of the Disney movies SUCK and are nothing but a waste of money. I thought this movie wasMy classroom loved it!! I have seen worse movies all of the Disney movies SUCK and are nothing but a waste of money. I thought this movie was unique, creative and very entertaining. Expand
  4. jameek.
    Oct 6, 2005
    5
    It was to much like spy kids, but it was cute.
  5. MichaelF.
    Jun 30, 2006
    3
    i thought 3-d would be an intresting movie choice. baaaaaad idea. many effects can easily be considered unrealistic and the plotline is just i thought 3-d would be an intresting movie choice. baaaaaad idea. many effects can easily be considered unrealistic and the plotline is just too horrible. non-recommendation, but i've seen worse. Expand
  6. May 24, 2012
    1
    The acting is terrible, the plot is boring, the graphics are ordinary and the overall presentation is horrible. Everything in this movie isThe acting is terrible, the plot is boring, the graphics are ordinary and the overall presentation is horrible. Everything in this movie is terribly bad................ Expand
  7. StephanieD
    Nov 18, 2007
    0
    This movie sucked so bad i wanted to throw up during the whole movie. Fake Fake piece of crap. Only someone so stupid and imature would even This movie sucked so bad i wanted to throw up during the whole movie. Fake Fake piece of crap. Only someone so stupid and imature would even watch this more than once oh nd for the record sharkboy is UGLY all yous have bad taste both in movies nd guys. o and lava gurl is ugly and stupid. all are idiots for liking it BIGGEST PICE OF S*** ON EARTH. Expand

See all 97 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: September 28, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Deepwater Horizon, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children, Masterminds, Queen of Katwe, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  2. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: September 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  3. Film Friday (9/23): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (9/23): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: September 23, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Passengers, Ghost in the Shell, Bad Santa 2, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  4. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: September 22, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.