User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 400 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 400

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 28, 2011
    10
    The Adventures of Tintin is Raiders of the Lost Ark for eight year olds, or ten year olds, or forty year olds...it really is a wonderful combination of action and humor with Spielberg clicking on all cylinders. It really is his most vibrant and enjoyable film in three decades. Tintin is a boy journalist who does things no ordinary boy would ever be allowed to do in real life, but this a movie based on a renowned European comic so if it's reality you want look elsewhere. He gets into adventures that conjure up memories of the aforementioned Raiders, as well as the best of the first Pirates of the Caribbean movie and first of The Mummy series. It's a helluva lot of fun. The animation allows Spielberg to do things he could never get away with using live action--even with today's cgi effects you could never suspend your disbelief during many of the action sequences, but it all works here because nothing is quite "real"--and that's a good thing. Heck, even Tintin's dog Snowy wouldn't work as effectively as a character if playing against real actors. Bottom line: If you like wonderful characters, broad humor, sly humor, cliffhanger situations, swashbuckling adventure, pirates, treasure, incredible chases, and awesome animation then go see it. If you don't, don't. Expand
  2. Dec 28, 2011
    6
    Superb cinematography, awesome direction and great 3D. But it's childish, hard to enjoy. I don't get any attention besides Spielberg on the poster. Spielberg presents an ultimate adventure.
  3. Dec 27, 2011
    10
    First I'll admit I was a big Tintin fan as a kid. Bias out of the way that could have been a bad thing. This movie was just brilliant. Fun, exciting, no slow bits. I hope they make more. The sets were highly evocative and the characters and voices were spot on. One of the best movies I've seen for a long time. Snowy was such a cool sidekick too. My daughter is 11 and she loved this movie. I highly recommend it to parents with kids in that age group as it's rare to find movies with absolutely no references to sex and no swearing. Expand
  4. Dec 27, 2011
    6
    It starts off well and captivating but half way through it, it's all chasing here and there. I got dizzy following the action. I wish there were more characters development, maybe more depth in Tintin's as well as Haddock's stories. In conclusion, I feel the story lost its steam as it moved towards the end.
  5. Dec 27, 2011
    8
    A very solid adventure movie. Tin Tin had great pacing and great artwork. I saw it in 3D and wished I hadn't because I'm sure the movie's colors are much more vivid with out the glasses.
  6. Dec 27, 2011
    4
    I was a longtime fan of the Tintin comics growing up, and was pleasantly surprised to see that no less than Steven Spielberg was going to direct the big screen adaptation. I thought the motion capture animation looked like an interesting idea for adding some oomph to the simple-but-charming illustrations of the original material, and I was glad to hear they decided to adapt the Secret of the Unicorn arc, which stands out as one of the best stories in the oeuvre.

    Unfortunately, the result was mediocre. Tintin the character is fine as portrayed ("Great snakes!"), but then he was always just the generically heroic straight man who existed mainly to keep the story moving forward. The real charm of the series has always been the supporting players, none more so than the irascible, irrepressible Captain Haddock, and this is where the movie falls short. The Captain in particular is handled just terribly; he's presented as a sloppy, drunken maniac, constantly bouncing off the walls and either bellowing at the top of his lungs or wallowing in sniveling self-pity. They reduce him to a broad comic relief buffoon who is far less entertaining than the character from the books (plus they give him a heavy Scottish brogue, which was absent from his written dialogue). Other than him, the Thomson twins are merely adequate, as is Bianca Castafiore (why they would decide to include her and leave out Professor Calculus I can't imagine). The one character I thought they really handled well was Snowy, who both looks adorable and acts like the Snowy I grew up with.

    While I thought the motion capture animation was fine, it bothered me how they kept bending over backwards to create enormous setpieces full of pratfalls and over-the-top destruction. Yes, Tintin gets into his share of scrapes, but he's not James Bond. It's a stretch to have him zipping all over a Middle Eastern city on a motorcycle laying waste with a bazooka and playing chicken with a building-crushing tank. And don't even get me started on the dueling cranes. All of this, plus the fact that they mashed up two distinct Tintin stories for no apparent reason, leads me to suspect the creators didn't have much appreciation for the source material and were just trying to make a generic action-comedy to pack butts into seats.
    Expand
  7. Dec 27, 2011
    8
    Ignore the "nay sayers". Tintin is a decent movie, and definitely worth watching. Is it great? No. But it is good? Definitely. A decent story, good action, and it was fun. If you're interested, go see it.
  8. Dec 26, 2011
    10
    Fantastic movie... The whole family loved it from young kids (5 and 7), dad, and even mom (who normally doesn't like animation or action movies!). I grew up in Belgium and I happen to be a fan of Tintin - I am very pleased with the result.
  9. Dec 25, 2011
    9
    The Most Glorious Adventurous Animated Film Ever The Adventures of Tintin is Steven Spielberg's first Animated film and he showed why he is THE BEST.The Adventures of Tintin created a whole new dimension to the CGI world . The whole movie is unbelievably amazing . Its Adventurous, None stop Action , Mysterious , Thrilling , Funny and the first Animated film which had the Neo-Noir look ,in which Spielberg just nailed it . This movie had everything what we look for . The CGI never looked this much realistic . The way they put together the three story was really good work.The Score was amazing as well as the mixing . The Adventures of Tintin is a total entertainment that all will enjoy. Expand
  10. Dec 25, 2011
    6
    'The Adventures of Tin Tin' is an underwhelming film. It isn't bad, like Spielberg mess 'War Horse', but it is disappointing. All the hype about this film, and all it turns out to be is a simple animated adventure film, with impressive visuals (which counts for about 3 points of my 6). It isn't memorable and while entertaining for one watch, I don't see it becoming any kind of classic.
  11. Dec 24, 2011
    0
    How many motion capture 'animated' films like this do they have to make before Hollywood realizes the audience does not like them. Spielberg has totally run out of steam as a director and should have stopped while he was ahead. I sad adaptation at best, you should avoid it if you can.
  12. Dec 23, 2011
    8
    Not a fan of "motion capture" movie making. It strikes me as lazy movie making. That said, it was the best motion capture movie I've seen. In my previous experience its so distracting I can't see past it but this time I actually forgot it was motion capture. Thinking back on it I realize just how awkward the facial expressions stuck me, especially Captain Haddock. Its a better than average kids flick with enough for the adults to enjoy as well. I was surprised when Tintin brandished a Walther PPK. My first thought was "oh, I thought this was a kids movie". I'm glad political correctness hasn't completely eaten the brain of movie makers. Expand
  13. Dec 23, 2011
    8
    What Spielberg has accomplished is a concrete step toward making real movies without actors. It will serve as a template for these fully animated movies with surreal action sequences. There have been successful kids animated movies but nothing that has worked in using blended animation. The lack of facial expression has been challenging. This movie gets very close to the potential, and things will only get better from here. Submersing actors in computer animated worlds can only get so far. Tin Tin accomplishes the visualization aspects in the potential of "actorless" action movie making. All we need now is the addition of cohesive plot writing from creative adult perspectives. When that happens, the only limit will be imagination. Expand
  14. Dec 22, 2011
    10
    I loved this movie! Best and most thrilling adventure of 2011! Spielberg and Peter Jackson have created an instant classic. The adventures of tintin will capture you from the opening minute and it wont ever let you out of its tough yet captivating grasp until the end credits roll. The story was engaging, and the action and animation was exciting, this movie was superb. Absolute top notch work from two of the best directors in the history of film making, even though jackson was a producer for this film. This is a must see film. Theres fun for the entire family, comedy for the kids, action and graphics for the adults, and of course adventure for the whole family. I promise you will not be disappointed. 10/10! Expand
  15. Dec 22, 2011
    9
    Tintin is an amazing movie that is sure to entertain anyone that watches it, it is action-packed and hilarious. The action scenes dazzle, be it Tintin and his buddy Haddock tearing up a middle eastern town or trying to escape off a boat, they are all pretty amazing and beautifully crafted. The voice acting is amazing, especially Captain Haddock, Haddock can be hilarious and serious when needed to be and the character contributes to a lighter tone of the movie. The plot is relatively thrilling too as Tintin must find the treasure of the Unicorn while he faces opposition along the way but the plot is kinda thin though and the characters do not have an awful lot of depth to them. The characters are pretty amazing but a bit more depth into the characters could be appreciated but these complaints are washed away when you become bedazzled by the action sequences, they are amazing. Overall, Tintin is a great action packed film with cutting edge animation and lots of humor, the plot and characters could have used a bit more development but that is not what will be talked about when people mention Tintin. Tintin is an eye-popping thrill ride that will keep you hooked from start to finish and have you begging for more, it's awesome. Breakdown for "The Adventures of Tintin": Presentation: 8.7, Plot: 8.5, Acting: 9.5, Script: 9.3, Lasting Appeal: 9.1, Verdict: 9.1 out of 10 "Amazing" Expand
  16. Dec 22, 2011
    10
    It was a while since I went to the theater but I glad I came back to see the adventures of Tintin. A times the graphics were amazing, I could of swore Tintin was walking down a real paris street. The plot was engaging just enough to keep my eyes glued to the screen. The characters each had their own essence and how they interacted with each other was great. If I had any one gripe with the film is that there was a little more mystery involved in the second half but maybe I'm just nitpicking. If you want a fantastic show along with a helping of chase scenes and a pinch of mystery see the adventures of Tintin. Expand
  17. Dec 22, 2011
    5
    It had great potential, and started off with a "bang", but it fell apart as the movie progressed. What a shame, because it looks gorgeous! I wanted to like it SO much, but there were too many problems to overlook. The biggest obstacle for me was the intentional choice to render some of the characters with deadpan human-like realism, while drawing others as caricatures with exaggerated facial features...especially big noses. Not just big, but gargantuan noses. We all just kept asking "why?" Why make the choice to draw the settings and objects to look absolutely real, and then fill it with characters that look out of place. There is a very clever moment in the beginning when Tintin is sitting down at a street bazaar to have his picture drawn, and he marvels at how good it looks, even though it appears to be a "normal" crude cartoon drawing. Seeing the two styles of rendering side by side only enhances the incredible accomplishment they achieved with the realistic drawings. Another puzzlement comes with Spielberg's choice to make Tintin appear as such a young boy. He looks ten, but lives alone, carries a gun, shoots skillfully at people, has a job that he has held for quite awhile, drives, and also flies airplanes. A young man of 18 or 19 feels appropriate with his circumstances, but not a little boy. I guess I will always question the need for a cartoon that hires "real" actors for their voices, puts them in special computer suits to capture their "real" movements, and is then drawn with such meticulous attention to detail that it looks "real"...Why? What is the point? Why not just film it from the beginning with "real" actors and "real locations"? Looking forward to Warhorse. Expand
  18. Dec 21, 2011
    8
    I enjoyed watching this movie as other Spielberg's movies. It looked very good visually and was very charmig and warm movie wich can match for all ages. It´s not as good as the old Indiana Jones movies but maybe you shouldn´t compare these movies together either. See it.
  19. Dec 21, 2011
    2
    The dead-eyed zombies that people motion-capture films are back to foul the reputation of the most beautiful comic strip of all time. Everything has been lost. The story is feeble. The images are ugly. The voic-work is inappropriate. Stay well away.
  20. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    It's a fun adventure movie, we do not get bored at any time even if it lasts almost two hours because they get the players in solving the problem and when they get into bigger ones, so no time for respite. There are great references to Steven Spielberg films like "Jaws" but especially "Indiana Jones", style is very similar to the saga of the intrepid professor of archeology. As for the soundtrack is very well integrated with the action but you may remember too the adventures of "Indiana Jones". The interpretation of the actors is amazing, but we will never know if a credit to the performers or animators and motion capture technique, sometimes fail to give a little face expressions or body movements. What is clear is that Andy Serkis is a master in this system of shooting, there's his work as Gollum or Cesar "The origin of the planet of the apes." The story is simple, then see who are the good guys and who the bad guys, so no surprises, so we have to settle with the graces that makes Captain Haddock and his attempt to live without alcohol. There are many action scenes, such as persecution by the city or the struggle of cranes. What stands out most is how well made ​​they are all decorated, from cities to the desert. Definitely a fun for the whole family, a visual spectacle that leaves the door open for further adventures. Expand
  21. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    Oh get ready for a glorious adventure in the worlds most amazing places. What a great animated movie I was so thrilled by seeing it that i didn't movie a single second from my seat. Really full of jaw dropping adventure you can't wait for the sequel mind blowing movie hats off to the great director and producer (steven spielberg and peter jackson) two of them are the great story teller of our time. Full marks to TINTIN. Expand
  22. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    I should really tell that this the best motion capture animated movie till now. Watch it as many times you will feel the adventure from start till end. Steven spielberg's one of the best movie to the world. This should get an oscar its mind blowing adventure with the famous boy in the world TINTIN. If you love action and adventure then you will not miss this movie.
  23. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    This film is by far my favorite film of 2011. "The Adventures of Tintin" brings forth a spirt of adventure and excitment that seems to have been lost in many recent films. The film is fast paced adventure that never slows down even for a second. Each frame is beauitifly rendered by weta digital and the each frame seems teeming with detail. It really does put a good foundation for what see as what could be a great franchise. I just made it out of the midnight showing and it seemed that everyone in the theater enjoyed it. However, the theater contained only about six or seven people, which is a sad showing for an opening night midnight release. I hope it manages to get hold of an audience as I have would like to see a sequel. Expand
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. 100
    Everything he did in live-action movies with rolling boulders and runaway convoys he does bigger and better - by a factor of ten - in every frame. At the end of two hours, my jaw ached from grinning.
  2. Reviewed by: Ben Sachs
    Dec 26, 2011
    50
    Feels particularly mechanical. The movie isn't a complete waste: it adequately re-creates the comics' Dickensian characterization, and every frame brims with clever details. But once the action begins, Spielberg's incessant, force-fed "fun" quickly gets exhausting.
  3. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Dec 26, 2011
    100
    In a movie year of more than two dozen animated films, this and "Rango" tower over all others. Welcome to America, Tintin. It's great getting to know you.