The Adventures of Tintin

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 523 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 523

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jan 6, 2012
    7
    The Adventures of Tintin was pretty epic movie that Steven Spielberg makes his own 3D animation. The story is a basic hero must find the secret of the unicorn based on the Belgium comics by Herge. Then, we meet our favorite characters like Tintin, Captain Haddock, Thomson & Thompson, the white furry dog named Snowy, and the evil villain named Ivan Ivanovitch Sahharine. The settings areThe Adventures of Tintin was pretty epic movie that Steven Spielberg makes his own 3D animation. The story is a basic hero must find the secret of the unicorn based on the Belgium comics by Herge. Then, we meet our favorite characters like Tintin, Captain Haddock, Thomson & Thompson, the white furry dog named Snowy, and the evil villain named Ivan Ivanovitch Sahharine. The settings are very good and 3D visuals are nice to see in the background and the design of the characters are bit distracted (just like the people were Zemeckis was created) because it's scary to see the people in CGI. But for it's credit, they did pretty good on the characters that they don't look like bad designs on their faces and they put the right amount of good character faces just like in the cartoon. The story is great, but I like the Thomson & Thompson funny lines in this movie, there's an epic scene were they chase the bad guys in Egypt and I have to say it's pretty awesome! So bottom line, it's a good movie. Expand
  2. Dec 27, 2011
    10
    First I'll admit I was a big Tintin fan as a kid. Bias out of the way that could have been a bad thing. This movie was just brilliant. Fun, exciting, no slow bits. I hope they make more. The sets were highly evocative and the characters and voices were spot on. One of the best movies I've seen for a long time. Snowy was such a cool sidekick too. My daughter is 11 and she loved this movie.First I'll admit I was a big Tintin fan as a kid. Bias out of the way that could have been a bad thing. This movie was just brilliant. Fun, exciting, no slow bits. I hope they make more. The sets were highly evocative and the characters and voices were spot on. One of the best movies I've seen for a long time. Snowy was such a cool sidekick too. My daughter is 11 and she loved this movie. I highly recommend it to parents with kids in that age group as it's rare to find movies with absolutely no references to sex and no swearing. Expand
  3. Dec 25, 2011
    6
    'The Adventures of Tin Tin' is an underwhelming film. It isn't bad, like Spielberg mess 'War Horse', but it is disappointing. All the hype about this film, and all it turns out to be is a simple animated adventure film, with impressive visuals (which counts for about 3 points of my 6). It isn't memorable and while entertaining for one watch, I don't see it becoming any kind of classic.
  4. Mar 18, 2012
    8
    This is a great movie it's an exact remake of the book, which I loved anyone and everyone will love this. Way better than Hugo and stays true to the books. Give it a go people.
  5. Dec 23, 2011
    8
    Not a fan of "motion capture" movie making. It strikes me as lazy movie making. That said, it was the best motion capture movie I've seen. In my previous experience its so distracting I can't see past it but this time I actually forgot it was motion capture. Thinking back on it I realize just how awkward the facial expressions stuck me, especially Captain Haddock. Its a better than averageNot a fan of "motion capture" movie making. It strikes me as lazy movie making. That said, it was the best motion capture movie I've seen. In my previous experience its so distracting I can't see past it but this time I actually forgot it was motion capture. Thinking back on it I realize just how awkward the facial expressions stuck me, especially Captain Haddock. Its a better than average kids flick with enough for the adults to enjoy as well. I was surprised when Tintin brandished a Walther PPK. My first thought was "oh, I thought this was a kids movie". I'm glad political correctness hasn't completely eaten the brain of movie makers. Expand
  6. Feb 26, 2012
    8
    Despite having people I despise working on it (Simon Pegg and Nick Frost just to name a few), this was a very enjoyable movie debut for Tintin, even though I would've preferred a French dub to honor the original source material.
  7. Jan 11, 2012
    7
    This adaptation of the Belgian author's books is Steven Spielberg's first animated film. It follows an earnest young reporter on an adventure for lost treasureâ
  8. Dec 31, 2011
    5
    The visual effects are terrific, and the action scenes almost rival those in the new Mission: Impossible movie. However, the main character of Tintin is dull as well as annoying, and I didn't care about what happened in the story or its characters. The story often uneasily and abruptly shifts from seriousness to goofy slapstick. It's fun at times, but despite its fast pace, "Tintin" neverThe visual effects are terrific, and the action scenes almost rival those in the new Mission: Impossible movie. However, the main character of Tintin is dull as well as annoying, and I didn't care about what happened in the story or its characters. The story often uneasily and abruptly shifts from seriousness to goofy slapstick. It's fun at times, but despite its fast pace, "Tintin" never really goes anywhere. Expand
  9. Sep 3, 2013
    8
    the best way to bring Tintin to the big screen. its awesome. Recommended for tintin lovers n those who don't know who tintin is too. It have little flaws may be. not exactly the comic. but works fine. worth watching.
  10. Jan 7, 2012
    9
    Movie-making magic. Complex swooping camera work. Incredible animation. Glorious adventure. Splendid use of 3D technology. Just see it. You'll have a great afternoon or evening filled with entertainment value.
  11. Jan 8, 2012
    7
    Motion Capture technology keeps improving, and the characters in this latest film don't look as creepy as they do in other movies using it (such as Polar Express). Spielberg is channeling his "Indiana Jones" phase, with the same type of chase scenes he used in those films. Remember the scene in the second Indiana Jones film where they are kicking around a bottle on the dance floor? HeMotion Capture technology keeps improving, and the characters in this latest film don't look as creepy as they do in other movies using it (such as Polar Express). Spielberg is channeling his "Indiana Jones" phase, with the same type of chase scenes he used in those films. Remember the scene in the second Indiana Jones film where they are kicking around a bottle on the dance floor? He uses the same formula here with pieces of a clue only it goes on a little too long. The 3D animation looks great, the pace is good. I would have preferred more humor and less action but still enjoyed it. Spielberg has even hired John Williams to do the soundtrack and you will hear similarities to Indiana Jones during some of the chase scenes. Overall a good effort and the ending sets up a sequel which I will look forward to. Expand
  12. Jan 14, 2012
    8
    Despite the fact that this film contains several scenes that are more than obviously made to be adapted into a video game, it works very well. I respect that it's an adaptation of actual stories from the graphic novel series and not some needlessly original story designed to cater to modern audiences. Also refreshing is that it's a family film and Spielberg has enough class to not includeDespite the fact that this film contains several scenes that are more than obviously made to be adapted into a video game, it works very well. I respect that it's an adaptation of actual stories from the graphic novel series and not some needlessly original story designed to cater to modern audiences. Also refreshing is that it's a family film and Spielberg has enough class to not include dumb fart jokes as seems to be the norm these days. Expand
  13. Dec 24, 2011
    0
    How many motion capture 'animated' films like this do they have to make before Hollywood realizes the audience does not like them. Spielberg has totally run out of steam as a director and should have stopped while he was ahead. I sad adaptation at best, you should avoid it if you can.
  14. Jun 21, 2012
    8
    A great movie that hopefully spawns a few sequels. It's got your action, humor, and mystery all included, and will appeal to people of all ages so it's a great movie to watch for a family movie night.
  15. Aug 20, 2012
    4
    The Adventures of Tintin has the type of truly unbelievable animation that drops the jaw at every turn. It also has a high level of authenticity; if you grew up reading the Tintin comics (as I did) then there is a lot to get misty-eyed and nostalgic about. Unfortunately, the movie is too hyperactive and action packed for it's own good. The swooping images of death defying stunts are aThe Adventures of Tintin has the type of truly unbelievable animation that drops the jaw at every turn. It also has a high level of authenticity; if you grew up reading the Tintin comics (as I did) then there is a lot to get misty-eyed and nostalgic about. Unfortunately, the movie is too hyperactive and action packed for it's own good. The swooping images of death defying stunts are a technical marvel but also a little soulless. The same can be said for the movie overall. It just never stops long enough to gain any emotional traction. Expand
  16. Feb 29, 2012
    8
    I must say I was weary of this movie when I went to watch it but I got more than I bargained for! All I can say is the movie was great and it kept me on the edge of my seat.
  17. Dec 28, 2011
    6
    Superb cinematography, awesome direction and great 3D. But it's childish, hard to enjoy. I don't get any attention besides Spielberg on the poster. Spielberg presents an ultimate adventure.
  18. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    Brilliant. One of the best films of 2011. There is little too complain about after viewing this classic piece of work. Althought this is computer generated animation it is breathtaking. The reason it succeeds is the screenplay adaption. The action is never ending and the characters are finely etched and the technical aspects are beyond expectation. There were not many live actionBrilliant. One of the best films of 2011. There is little too complain about after viewing this classic piece of work. Althought this is computer generated animation it is breathtaking. The reason it succeeds is the screenplay adaption. The action is never ending and the characters are finely etched and the technical aspects are beyond expectation. There were not many live action films that succeeded like this film does. Expand
  19. Dec 28, 2011
    6
    The movie starts great and draws you in with its beautiful animation. Things go great for probably the first half hour, then a joke falls flat. I realize that the movie is fallible. Here is a super hard to make, beautiful looking movie with a screenplay that wasn't 100%. "that's okay, things will pick up once Tintin hits the road" i thought. But not really. the jokes continued to beThe movie starts great and draws you in with its beautiful animation. Things go great for probably the first half hour, then a joke falls flat. I realize that the movie is fallible. Here is a super hard to make, beautiful looking movie with a screenplay that wasn't 100%. "that's okay, things will pick up once Tintin hits the road" i thought. But not really. the jokes continued to be hit or miss (not funny enough for adults, and possibly out of grasp for children due to all the alcohol references). And that ambiguous demographic tone sums up the whole movie for me in the end. Too much for kids, and too shallow for adults. Not to mention the second half of the movie really drags. Overall, the movie isn't a complete waste of time and i would probably see the sequel if it got favorable word of mouth. I must say that Tintin is one of the most beautiful looking animated films i've ever seen. That's why it pains me that it wasn't put to better use. Major props to the artists behind the animation though. The film is absolutely stunning to look at. Expand
  20. Feb 7, 2012
    7
    Awesome animation, a well executed screenplay, and a good use of graphics have all been plus points for this movie. Especially the animation has glued my eyes to the film. As my sister said, the movie supposedly captures all the essence of the comic book by Herge. But is still felt that it wasn't so much for the mature audience, and there was something lacking in it.
    Good movie.
  21. Jun 1, 2012
    9
    I was expecting a bit of a turkey tbh before I sat to watch this, sure I read all the books as a kid but figured it too hard to make a decent movie from due to its old fashioned views of the world. I was extremely proven wrong... this is a top notch CGI action movie at it shining best. Forget turkies like Indy Jones... TinTin and Cpt Haddock would kick his ass.
  22. Jan 1, 2012
    10
    I went in with low expectations and I'm happy to report that this is clearly the best animated feature of the year as well as one of the best action/adventure movies since the original Raiders of the Lost Ark, which it reminded me of repeatedly. Absolutely AMAZING film-making featuring another great motion capture performance by Andy Serkis, fantastic cinematography and artwork,I went in with low expectations and I'm happy to report that this is clearly the best animated feature of the year as well as one of the best action/adventure movies since the original Raiders of the Lost Ark, which it reminded me of repeatedly. Absolutely AMAZING film-making featuring another great motion capture performance by Andy Serkis, fantastic cinematography and artwork, Oscar-worthy editing (the transitions will blow your mind), and more hair-pin curves and cliff hangers then Raiders and all of the Pirates of the Caribbean movies put together. Steven Spielberg and Peter Jackson teamed together to bring this one to the big screen and the collaboration is first rate. Well worth the extra cash for the 3D glasses and seeing it on IMAX. Here's hoping that a new series has been born! Grade = A. Expand
  23. Apr 2, 2012
    7
    Despite using state-of-the art motion capture technology, at its core The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret of the Unicorn is a good old-fashioned family adventure film. It's extremely good-looking, funny and entertaining throughout, and has plenty of references to Herge's original books to keep fans happy. The motion-captured cast are on top form: Jamie Bell makes a compelling Tintin, AndyDespite using state-of-the art motion capture technology, at its core The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret of the Unicorn is a good old-fashioned family adventure film. It's extremely good-looking, funny and entertaining throughout, and has plenty of references to Herge's original books to keep fans happy. The motion-captured cast are on top form: Jamie Bell makes a compelling Tintin, Andy Serkis is perfect as the good-natured but permanently drunk Captain Haddock, Daniel Craig makes a serviceable villain as the scheming Sakharine and Simon Pegg and Nick Frost are quite simply a comic joy as the incompetent pair of detectives Tomson and Tompson. The real star of the film though, is Tintin's hyper-intelligent dog Snowy, who manages to out-perform every other actor, and appears to be the most full of life, despite being the only character to be computer animated without the use of motion capture. The film also boasts another classic John Williams score and some top-notch writing from Steven Moffat, Edgar Wright and Joe Cornish. I must admit, I do question the need for the film to be made using motion capture animation - it does seem like more trouble than it's worth. The amount of effort everyone involved has put in, the complexity involved with shooting the simplest sequence with this technology all in the name of bringing Herge's work to life on the big screen, but surely it could have been done in live-action or in traditional animation, or even in modern computer animation a-la Pixar? It does at times feel a little like an exercise in what is possible rather than what is necessary. I'm also very very tired of 3D films, and found the film much easier to watch in 2D at home. Also the story itself does loose a little energy in the final act, but luckily not enough to have a particularly negative impact on the film as a whole. Tintin looks and sounds fantastic, is very funny, is full of heart and energy and is surprisingly intelligent for an animated blockbuster. It is an exercise in spectacle, and sometimes this focus on spectacle does get in the way of story, and the mystery elements of the film are a bit predictable, but it remains a pretty decent film thanks to the passion that went into making it. I'll be intrigued to find out where Peter Jackson takes the story next... Expand
  24. Dec 22, 2011
    10
    I loved this movie! Best and most thrilling adventure of 2011! Spielberg and Peter Jackson have created an instant classic. The adventures of tintin will capture you from the opening minute and it wont ever let you out of its tough yet captivating grasp until the end credits roll. The story was engaging, and the action and animation was exciting, this movie was superb. Absolute top notchI loved this movie! Best and most thrilling adventure of 2011! Spielberg and Peter Jackson have created an instant classic. The adventures of tintin will capture you from the opening minute and it wont ever let you out of its tough yet captivating grasp until the end credits roll. The story was engaging, and the action and animation was exciting, this movie was superb. Absolute top notch work from two of the best directors in the history of film making, even though jackson was a producer for this film. This is a must see film. Theres fun for the entire family, comedy for the kids, action and graphics for the adults, and of course adventure for the whole family. I promise you will not be disappointed. 10/10! Expand
  25. Dec 22, 2011
    10
    It was a while since I went to the theater but I glad I came back to see the adventures of Tintin. A times the graphics were amazing, I could of swore Tintin was walking down a real paris street. The plot was engaging just enough to keep my eyes glued to the screen. The characters each had their own essence and how they interacted with each other was great. If I had any one gripe with theIt was a while since I went to the theater but I glad I came back to see the adventures of Tintin. A times the graphics were amazing, I could of swore Tintin was walking down a real paris street. The plot was engaging just enough to keep my eyes glued to the screen. The characters each had their own essence and how they interacted with each other was great. If I had any one gripe with the film is that there was a little more mystery involved in the second half but maybe I'm just nitpicking. If you want a fantastic show along with a helping of chase scenes and a pinch of mystery see the adventures of Tintin. Expand
  26. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    I should really tell that this the best motion capture animated movie till now. Watch it as many times you will feel the adventure from start till end. Steven spielberg's one of the best movie to the world. This should get an oscar its mind blowing adventure with the famous boy in the world TINTIN. If you love action and adventure then you will not miss this movie.
  27. Dec 31, 2011
    9
    Tintin's greatest achievment comes from it's visionary director. Although the screenwriting and the acting was good it did not steal the show. Spielbergs direction is flawless. He packs so many little details into every scene witch impact the scene as a whole. This is scene frequently throughout the action scenes. The whole film captivates your mind throughout the whole running time thereTintin's greatest achievment comes from it's visionary director. Although the screenwriting and the acting was good it did not steal the show. Spielbergs direction is flawless. He packs so many little details into every scene witch impact the scene as a whole. This is scene frequently throughout the action scenes. The whole film captivates your mind throughout the whole running time there is not one dull moment and that alone is an achievement. Expand
  28. Jan 2, 2012
    6
    Tintin had some fun scenes and is worth a watch but unfortunately does not thrill or surprise as an adventure movie should ( I wanted a bit more from it). The movie stays fairly predictable throughout, I never felt as if Tintin or Snowy were in any real danger, and although the action scenes looked great, they never truly were thrilling and I never doubted the hero wouldn't survive or getTintin had some fun scenes and is worth a watch but unfortunately does not thrill or surprise as an adventure movie should ( I wanted a bit more from it). The movie stays fairly predictable throughout, I never felt as if Tintin or Snowy were in any real danger, and although the action scenes looked great, they never truly were thrilling and I never doubted the hero wouldn't survive or get the treasure in the end which does water down a stories impact. Tintin was fun though, does have some more potential and I'm interested to know what happens next. Expand
  29. Dec 30, 2011
    7
    If your looking for sentimentalism or deep character development this isn't quite the movie your looking for, Tintin, however, is an exhilarating thrill ride from start to finish.In this picture, Spielberg seeks mainly to entertain, not necessarily teach or challenge his viewers. This "Indiana Jones-esque" film is fast paced and filled with very witty dialogue, charming characters and aIf your looking for sentimentalism or deep character development this isn't quite the movie your looking for, Tintin, however, is an exhilarating thrill ride from start to finish.In this picture, Spielberg seeks mainly to entertain, not necessarily teach or challenge his viewers. This "Indiana Jones-esque" film is fast paced and filled with very witty dialogue, charming characters and a clear yet compelling story. It is visually stunning; much effort was evidently placed on the animation and detailed sound design; the editing and 'cinematography' also gave it a very cinematic look (kudos to that single shot chase scene) and John Williams gives another exceptional score. Despite these positives, the movie is quite exhausting: there was non-stop action-adventure with very little time for air. Yes, that's right, Tintin could have done very well with more development, to fully flesh out the characters and add more weight and depth to the solid story. The narration needed more patience, but, the movie was way too much fun to let this get in the way too much. Expand
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. 100
    Everything he did in live-action movies with rolling boulders and runaway convoys he does bigger and better - by a factor of ten - in every frame. At the end of two hours, my jaw ached from grinning.
  2. Reviewed by: Ben Sachs
    Dec 26, 2011
    50
    Feels particularly mechanical. The movie isn't a complete waste: it adequately re-creates the comics' Dickensian characterization, and every frame brims with clever details. But once the action begins, Spielberg's incessant, force-fed "fun" quickly gets exhausting.
  3. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Dec 26, 2011
    100
    In a movie year of more than two dozen animated films, this and "Rango" tower over all others. Welcome to America, Tintin. It's great getting to know you.