Paramount Pictures | Release Date: December 21, 2011
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 537 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
432
Mixed:
82
Negative:
23
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
bricefpDec 21, 2011
This film is by far my favorite film of 2011. "The Adventures of Tintin" brings forth a spirt of adventure and excitment that seems to have been lost in many recent films. The film is fast paced adventure that never slows down even for aThis film is by far my favorite film of 2011. "The Adventures of Tintin" brings forth a spirt of adventure and excitment that seems to have been lost in many recent films. The film is fast paced adventure that never slows down even for a second. Each frame is beauitifly rendered by weta digital and the each frame seems teeming with detail. It really does put a good foundation for what see as what could be a great franchise. I just made it out of the midnight showing and it seemed that everyone in the theater enjoyed it. However, the theater contained only about six or seven people, which is a sad showing for an opening night midnight release. I hope it manages to get hold of an audience as I have would like to see a sequel. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
7
BikerjamesJan 8, 2012
Motion Capture technology keeps improving, and the characters in this latest film don't look as creepy as they do in other movies using it (such as Polar Express). Spielberg is channeling his "Indiana Jones" phase, with the same type ofMotion Capture technology keeps improving, and the characters in this latest film don't look as creepy as they do in other movies using it (such as Polar Express). Spielberg is channeling his "Indiana Jones" phase, with the same type of chase scenes he used in those films. Remember the scene in the second Indiana Jones film where they are kicking around a bottle on the dance floor? He uses the same formula here with pieces of a clue only it goes on a little too long. The 3D animation looks great, the pace is good. I would have preferred more humor and less action but still enjoyed it. Spielberg has even hired John Williams to do the soundtrack and you will hear similarities to Indiana Jones during some of the chase scenes. Overall a good effort and the ending sets up a sequel which I will look forward to. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
Knicksfan7Dec 22, 2011
I loved this movie! Best and most thrilling adventure of 2011! Spielberg and Peter Jackson have created an instant classic. The adventures of tintin will capture you from the opening minute and it wont ever let you out of its tough yetI loved this movie! Best and most thrilling adventure of 2011! Spielberg and Peter Jackson have created an instant classic. The adventures of tintin will capture you from the opening minute and it wont ever let you out of its tough yet captivating grasp until the end credits roll. The story was engaging, and the action and animation was exciting, this movie was superb. Absolute top notch work from two of the best directors in the history of film making, even though jackson was a producer for this film. This is a must see film. Theres fun for the entire family, comedy for the kids, action and graphics for the adults, and of course adventure for the whole family. I promise you will not be disappointed. 10/10! Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
BigFatFattyDec 27, 2011
A very solid adventure movie. Tin Tin had great pacing and great artwork. I saw it in 3D and wished I hadn't because I'm sure the movie's colors are much more vivid with out the glasses.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
jsherwoodDec 23, 2011
What Spielberg has accomplished is a concrete step toward making real movies without actors. It will serve as a template for these fully animated movies with surreal action sequences. There have been successful kids animated movies butWhat Spielberg has accomplished is a concrete step toward making real movies without actors. It will serve as a template for these fully animated movies with surreal action sequences. There have been successful kids animated movies but nothing that has worked in using blended animation. The lack of facial expression has been challenging. This movie gets very close to the potential, and things will only get better from here. Submersing actors in computer animated worlds can only get so far. Tin Tin accomplishes the visualization aspects in the potential of "actorless" action movie making. All we need now is the addition of cohesive plot writing from creative adult perspectives. When that happens, the only limit will be imagination. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
7
Andys_ReviewsDec 27, 2012
It
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
MovieGuysSep 20, 2013
A zealous Spielberg film bursting at the seams with energy and spirit. Even though it is animated, this is not a bad thing; it gives Spielberg a bigger canvas to work on, and what he can't do in his live action movies he can do in Tin-Tin.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
CINEFILODec 21, 2011
It's a fun adventure movie, we do not get bored at any time even if it lasts almost two hours because they get the players in solving the problem and when they get into bigger ones, so no time for respite. There are great references to StevenIt's a fun adventure movie, we do not get bored at any time even if it lasts almost two hours because they get the players in solving the problem and when they get into bigger ones, so no time for respite. There are great references to Steven Spielberg films like "Jaws" but especially "Indiana Jones", style is very similar to the saga of the intrepid professor of archeology. As for the soundtrack is very well integrated with the action but you may remember too the adventures of "Indiana Jones". The interpretation of the actors is amazing, but we will never know if a credit to the performers or animators and motion capture technique, sometimes fail to give a little face expressions or body movements. What is clear is that Andy Serkis is a master in this system of shooting, there's his work as Gollum or Cesar "The origin of the planet of the apes." The story is simple, then see who are the good guys and who the bad guys, so no surprises, so we have to settle with the graces that makes Captain Haddock and his attempt to live without alcohol. There are many action scenes, such as persecution by the city or the struggle of cranes. What stands out most is how well made ​​they are all decorated, from cities to the desert. Definitely a fun for the whole family, a visual spectacle that leaves the door open for further adventures. Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
10
HyperwolfDec 27, 2011
First I'll admit I was a big Tintin fan as a kid. Bias out of the way that could have been a bad thing. This movie was just brilliant. Fun, exciting, no slow bits. I hope they make more. The sets were highly evocative and the characters andFirst I'll admit I was a big Tintin fan as a kid. Bias out of the way that could have been a bad thing. This movie was just brilliant. Fun, exciting, no slow bits. I hope they make more. The sets were highly evocative and the characters and voices were spot on. One of the best movies I've seen for a long time. Snowy was such a cool sidekick too. My daughter is 11 and she loved this movie. I highly recommend it to parents with kids in that age group as it's rare to find movies with absolutely no references to sex and no swearing. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
7
DarkCriticJan 6, 2012
The Adventures of Tintin was pretty epic movie that Steven Spielberg makes his own 3D animation. The story is a basic hero must find the secret of the unicorn based on the Belgium comics by Herge. Then, we meet our favorite characters likeThe Adventures of Tintin was pretty epic movie that Steven Spielberg makes his own 3D animation. The story is a basic hero must find the secret of the unicorn based on the Belgium comics by Herge. Then, we meet our favorite characters like Tintin, Captain Haddock, Thomson & Thompson, the white furry dog named Snowy, and the evil villain named Ivan Ivanovitch Sahharine. The settings are very good and 3D visuals are nice to see in the background and the design of the characters are bit distracted (just like the people were Zemeckis was created) because it's scary to see the people in CGI. But for it's credit, they did pretty good on the characters that they don't look like bad designs on their faces and they put the right amount of good character faces just like in the cartoon. The story is great, but I like the Thomson & Thompson funny lines in this movie, there's an epic scene were they chase the bad guys in Egypt and I have to say it's pretty awesome! So bottom line, it's a good movie. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
9
FinnaticJan 7, 2012
Movie-making magic. Complex swooping camera work. Incredible animation. Glorious adventure. Splendid use of 3D technology. Just see it. You'll have a great afternoon or evening filled with entertainment value.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
avdpDec 26, 2011
Fantastic movie... The whole family loved it from young kids (5 and 7), dad, and even mom (who normally doesn't like animation or action movies!). I grew up in Belgium and I happen to be a fan of Tintin - I am very pleased with the result.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
8
MomoMeshJan 3, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Adventures of Tintin: Secret of the Unicorn is an upcoming 2011 American performance capture 3D film based on The Adventures of Tintin, a series of comic books created by Belgian artist Georges "Hergé" Remi. It is directed by Steven Spielberg, produced by Peter Jackson, and written by Steven Moffat, Edgar Wright and Joe Cornish. The script is based on three of the stories: The Crab with the Golden Claws, The Secret of the Unicorn and Red Rackham's Treasure.
Watch in HD
hydronite.com
Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
BhawkJan 1, 2012
I went in with low expectations and I'm happy to report that this is clearly the best animated feature of the year as well as one of the best action/adventure movies since the original Raiders of the Lost Ark, which it reminded me ofI went in with low expectations and I'm happy to report that this is clearly the best animated feature of the year as well as one of the best action/adventure movies since the original Raiders of the Lost Ark, which it reminded me of repeatedly. Absolutely AMAZING film-making featuring another great motion capture performance by Andy Serkis, fantastic cinematography and artwork, Oscar-worthy editing (the transitions will blow your mind), and more hair-pin curves and cliff hangers then Raiders and all of the Pirates of the Caribbean movies put together. Steven Spielberg and Peter Jackson teamed together to bring this one to the big screen and the collaboration is first rate. Well worth the extra cash for the 3D glasses and seeing it on IMAX. Here's hoping that a new series has been born! Grade = A. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
cabritaDec 31, 2011
Tintin's greatest achievment comes from it's visionary director. Although the screenwriting and the acting was good it did not steal the show. Spielbergs direction is flawless. He packs so many little details into every scene witch impact theTintin's greatest achievment comes from it's visionary director. Although the screenwriting and the acting was good it did not steal the show. Spielbergs direction is flawless. He packs so many little details into every scene witch impact the scene as a whole. This is scene frequently throughout the action scenes. The whole film captivates your mind throughout the whole running time there is not one dull moment and that alone is an achievement. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
hoops2448Jan 9, 2012
If Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol was the best action film of 2011, The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret of the Unicorn is definitely the best adventure film. Much like Spielbergs previous adventure films the film is incredibly smart,If Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol was the best action film of 2011, The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret of the Unicorn is definitely the best adventure film. Much like Spielbergs previous adventure films the film is incredibly smart, well scripted, paced and delivered while also being a load of fun. It's reminiscent of Indiana Jones in all the best ways with the camaraderie between Tintin and Captain Haddock being one of the best parts of the film.
If anything the film is a prime example of imagination at its best with the use of CGI allowing for some truly breathtaking sequences with sand dunes turning to oceans before your very eyes and a visually stunning motorcycle chase through an African village. It's both imaginative and inventive while never compromising the character established by Herge, who continues to be an eternally optimistic, intelligent and trustworthy protagonist. Fans of the books will be glad to see such a faithful adaptation and newcomers will wonder at the new characters they are being presented. The voice acting is well done with Simon Pegg and Nick Frost making the perfect Thompson twins and Jamie Bell makes a serviceable lead. However its Andy Serkis as Captain Haddock who really shines as he has moments of despair and moments of pure joy and he balances between the two perfectly while giving his character some much needed gravitas. It's a film for all ages and will make you laugh and smile throughout. A thoroughly good movie.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
TipsyMcBeeJan 1, 2012
I have mix feelings when it comes to motion captured animated features, but the Adventures of Tinitin on the other hand captured an incredible style and atmosphere for the characters of Tintin come to life. The visuals definitely raises aI have mix feelings when it comes to motion captured animated features, but the Adventures of Tinitin on the other hand captured an incredible style and atmosphere for the characters of Tintin come to life. The visuals definitely raises a higher score for exquisite character designs and creative transitions in the editing. However I did find the long cuts to get tiring once in a while. It felt like I was playing a video game rather than watching a movie. The story in Tintin is something you would expect in the TiniTin comics or animated series. The film is one misadventure journey and you know right away what is going to happen next. The plot is predictable, but some of the choice in actions and comedy were unique and were subtle to fit well within the Tintin universe. Despite the flow of the movie being clunky at times, The Adventures of Tintin is still a enjoyable family flick. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
410MaXiMuSApr 16, 2012
This is the best animated movie I have seen in years. Some of the sequences are very intense for a "kids movie". I'm now 26 and I can honestly say I enjoyed this movie from beginning to end. The 3D is phenomenal as well.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
SabreJan 3, 2012
Just a fantastic film. It had me on the edge of my seat with the plot and I loved the action scene and art style. The camera angles were really neat, and a great adaptation from the comic Secret of the Unicorn. Watch this film, you won't beJust a fantastic film. It had me on the edge of my seat with the plot and I loved the action scene and art style. The camera angles were really neat, and a great adaptation from the comic Secret of the Unicorn. Watch this film, you won't be disappointed. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
sdcoatesDec 27, 2011
Ignore the "nay sayers". Tintin is a decent movie, and definitely worth watching. Is it great? No. But it is good? Definitely. A decent story, good action, and it was fun. If you're interested, go see it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
LanceWilsonDec 28, 2011
The Adventures of Tintin is Raiders of the Lost Ark for eight year olds, or ten year olds, or forty year olds...it really is a wonderful combination of action and humor with Spielberg clicking on all cylinders. It really is his most vibrantThe Adventures of Tintin is Raiders of the Lost Ark for eight year olds, or ten year olds, or forty year olds...it really is a wonderful combination of action and humor with Spielberg clicking on all cylinders. It really is his most vibrant and enjoyable film in three decades. Tintin is a boy journalist who does things no ordinary boy would ever be allowed to do in real life, but this a movie based on a renowned European comic so if it's reality you want look elsewhere. He gets into adventures that conjure up memories of the aforementioned Raiders, as well as the best of the first Pirates of the Caribbean movie and first of The Mummy series. It's a helluva lot of fun. The animation allows Spielberg to do things he could never get away with using live action--even with today's cgi effects you could never suspend your disbelief during many of the action sequences, but it all works here because nothing is quite "real"--and that's a good thing. Heck, even Tintin's dog Snowy wouldn't work as effectively as a character if playing against real actors. Bottom line: If you like wonderful characters, broad humor, sly humor, cliffhanger situations, swashbuckling adventure, pirates, treasure, incredible chases, and awesome animation then go see it. If you don't, don't. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
AquophisDec 28, 2011
The adventure itself is epic, but it's disrupted by tangents of unneeded comic relief. The result is a bit of a paradox - younger kids will be attracted by the goofiness, only to be sent howling out of the theater by scenes like the brutalThe adventure itself is epic, but it's disrupted by tangents of unneeded comic relief. The result is a bit of a paradox - younger kids will be attracted by the goofiness, only to be sent howling out of the theater by scenes like the brutal machine gun murder in the beginning of the film. I also felt that Snowey the dog was too anthropomorphized. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
CarljackFeb 5, 2012
Film je svÄ
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
RikiegeJan 12, 2013
The best special effects I've seen in an animated film.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Iky009Jan 3, 2014
O Visual de Tintim magnífico um dos mais belos que já vi, a história bem interessante porém em si um filme um pouco cansativo, mais não perde seu charme.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
HighwayUKJun 1, 2012
I was expecting a bit of a turkey tbh before I sat to watch this, sure I read all the books as a kid but figured it too hard to make a decent movie from due to its old fashioned views of the world. I was extremely proven wrong... this is aI was expecting a bit of a turkey tbh before I sat to watch this, sure I read all the books as a kid but figured it too hard to make a decent movie from due to its old fashioned views of the world. I was extremely proven wrong... this is a top notch CGI action movie at it shining best. Forget turkies like Indy Jones... TinTin and Cpt Haddock would kick his ass. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
HalfwelshmanApr 2, 2012
Despite using state-of-the art motion capture technology, at its core The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret of the Unicorn is a good old-fashioned family adventure film. It's extremely good-looking, funny and entertaining throughout, and hasDespite using state-of-the art motion capture technology, at its core The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret of the Unicorn is a good old-fashioned family adventure film. It's extremely good-looking, funny and entertaining throughout, and has plenty of references to Herge's original books to keep fans happy. The motion-captured cast are on top form: Jamie Bell makes a compelling Tintin, Andy Serkis is perfect as the good-natured but permanently drunk Captain Haddock, Daniel Craig makes a serviceable villain as the scheming Sakharine and Simon Pegg and Nick Frost are quite simply a comic joy as the incompetent pair of detectives Tomson and Tompson. The real star of the film though, is Tintin's hyper-intelligent dog Snowy, who manages to out-perform every other actor, and appears to be the most full of life, despite being the only character to be computer animated without the use of motion capture. The film also boasts another classic John Williams score and some top-notch writing from Steven Moffat, Edgar Wright and Joe Cornish. I must admit, I do question the need for the film to be made using motion capture animation - it does seem like more trouble than it's worth. The amount of effort everyone involved has put in, the complexity involved with shooting the simplest sequence with this technology all in the name of bringing Herge's work to life on the big screen, but surely it could have been done in live-action or in traditional animation, or even in modern computer animation a-la Pixar? It does at times feel a little like an exercise in what is possible rather than what is necessary. I'm also very very tired of 3D films, and found the film much easier to watch in 2D at home. Also the story itself does loose a little energy in the final act, but luckily not enough to have a particularly negative impact on the film as a whole. Tintin looks and sounds fantastic, is very funny, is full of heart and energy and is surprisingly intelligent for an animated blockbuster. It is an exercise in spectacle, and sometimes this focus on spectacle does get in the way of story, and the mystery elements of the film are a bit predictable, but it remains a pretty decent film thanks to the passion that went into making it. I'll be intrigued to find out where Peter Jackson takes the story next... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
shimano6000Feb 18, 2012
This has to be one of the best animated films. The animation is incredible. Outside of this, it is a great adventure romp, with plenty of humour. However, it is important to make parents aware that this is Tin Tin. So there is heaps ofThis has to be one of the best animated films. The animation is incredible. Outside of this, it is a great adventure romp, with plenty of humour. However, it is important to make parents aware that this is Tin Tin. So there is heaps of shooting and violence and use of alcohol. It is great though. I took my 11 and 9 year old and I think they were the right age to see it. Any younger and it would probably not be appropriate. This is a great, enjoyable, classic animation. Well done to all involved in bringing this movie in to existence. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
buellerbuellerFeb 11, 2012
This film is Spielberg's first animated film, and it's a great and epic thrill ride. Andy Serkis is great in the film, but really, he's great in any film as long as his real face isn't shown (he's not ugly, though). The pirate ship scenes areThis film is Spielberg's first animated film, and it's a great and epic thrill ride. Andy Serkis is great in the film, but really, he's great in any film as long as his real face isn't shown (he's not ugly, though). The pirate ship scenes are the best, which have you holding on to your seat for a long time. My beef is that it could have had a better script, though it's supposedly faithful to the original comic book. It's great, but it feels like a Spielberg movie not directed by Spielberg himself. But every three years, he releases two films, one that's good, and one that's bad or not as good. So you know what I'm reviewing next... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ZilcellMar 2, 2012
Tintin is extremely lifelike, but with physics like the Polar Express. It is consistently funny and full of action, even if the story is absolute random.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews