User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 396 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 396

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 23, 2011
    8
    Not a fan of "motion capture" movie making. It strikes me as lazy movie making. That said, it was the best motion capture movie I've seen. In my previous experience its so distracting I can't see past it but this time I actually forgot it was motion capture. Thinking back on it I realize just how awkward the facial expressions stuck me, especially Captain Haddock. Its a better than average kids flick with enough for the adults to enjoy as well. I was surprised when Tintin brandished a Walther PPK. My first thought was "oh, I thought this was a kids movie". I'm glad political correctness hasn't completely eaten the brain of movie makers. Expand
  2. Dec 23, 2011
    8
    What Spielberg has accomplished is a concrete step toward making real movies without actors. It will serve as a template for these fully animated movies with surreal action sequences. There have been successful kids animated movies but nothing that has worked in using blended animation. The lack of facial expression has been challenging. This movie gets very close to the potential, and things will only get better from here. Submersing actors in computer animated worlds can only get so far. Tin Tin accomplishes the visualization aspects in the potential of "actorless" action movie making. All we need now is the addition of cohesive plot writing from creative adult perspectives. When that happens, the only limit will be imagination. Expand
  3. Dec 22, 2011
    10
    I loved this movie! Best and most thrilling adventure of 2011! Spielberg and Peter Jackson have created an instant classic. The adventures of tintin will capture you from the opening minute and it wont ever let you out of its tough yet captivating grasp until the end credits roll. The story was engaging, and the action and animation was exciting, this movie was superb. Absolute top notch work from two of the best directors in the history of film making, even though jackson was a producer for this film. This is a must see film. Theres fun for the entire family, comedy for the kids, action and graphics for the adults, and of course adventure for the whole family. I promise you will not be disappointed. 10/10! Expand
  4. Dec 22, 2011
    9
    Tintin is an amazing movie that is sure to entertain anyone that watches it, it is action-packed and hilarious. The action scenes dazzle, be it Tintin and his buddy Haddock tearing up a middle eastern town or trying to escape off a boat, they are all pretty amazing and beautifully crafted. The voice acting is amazing, especially Captain Haddock, Haddock can be hilarious and serious when needed to be and the character contributes to a lighter tone of the movie. The plot is relatively thrilling too as Tintin must find the treasure of the Unicorn while he faces opposition along the way but the plot is kinda thin though and the characters do not have an awful lot of depth to them. The characters are pretty amazing but a bit more depth into the characters could be appreciated but these complaints are washed away when you become bedazzled by the action sequences, they are amazing. Overall, Tintin is a great action packed film with cutting edge animation and lots of humor, the plot and characters could have used a bit more development but that is not what will be talked about when people mention Tintin. Tintin is an eye-popping thrill ride that will keep you hooked from start to finish and have you begging for more, it's awesome. Breakdown for "The Adventures of Tintin": Presentation: 8.7, Plot: 8.5, Acting: 9.5, Script: 9.3, Lasting Appeal: 9.1, Verdict: 9.1 out of 10 "Amazing" Expand
  5. Dec 22, 2011
    10
    It was a while since I went to the theater but I glad I came back to see the adventures of Tintin. A times the graphics were amazing, I could of swore Tintin was walking down a real paris street. The plot was engaging just enough to keep my eyes glued to the screen. The characters each had their own essence and how they interacted with each other was great. If I had any one gripe with the film is that there was a little more mystery involved in the second half but maybe I'm just nitpicking. If you want a fantastic show along with a helping of chase scenes and a pinch of mystery see the adventures of Tintin. Expand
  6. Dec 22, 2011
    5
    It had great potential, and started off with a "bang", but it fell apart as the movie progressed. What a shame, because it looks gorgeous! I wanted to like it SO much, but there were too many problems to overlook. The biggest obstacle for me was the intentional choice to render some of the characters with deadpan human-like realism, while drawing others as caricatures with exaggerated facial features...especially big noses. Not just big, but gargantuan noses. We all just kept asking "why?" Why make the choice to draw the settings and objects to look absolutely real, and then fill it with characters that look out of place. There is a very clever moment in the beginning when Tintin is sitting down at a street bazaar to have his picture drawn, and he marvels at how good it looks, even though it appears to be a "normal" crude cartoon drawing. Seeing the two styles of rendering side by side only enhances the incredible accomplishment they achieved with the realistic drawings. Another puzzlement comes with Spielberg's choice to make Tintin appear as such a young boy. He looks ten, but lives alone, carries a gun, shoots skillfully at people, has a job that he has held for quite awhile, drives, and also flies airplanes. A young man of 18 or 19 feels appropriate with his circumstances, but not a little boy. I guess I will always question the need for a cartoon that hires "real" actors for their voices, puts them in special computer suits to capture their "real" movements, and is then drawn with such meticulous attention to detail that it looks "real"...Why? What is the point? Why not just film it from the beginning with "real" actors and "real locations"? Looking forward to Warhorse. Expand
  7. Dec 21, 2011
    8
    I enjoyed watching this movie as other Spielberg's movies. It looked very good visually and was very charmig and warm movie wich can match for all ages. It´s not as good as the old Indiana Jones movies but maybe you shouldn´t compare these movies together either. See it.
  8. Dec 21, 2011
    2
    The dead-eyed zombies that people motion-capture films are back to foul the reputation of the most beautiful comic strip of all time. Everything has been lost. The story is feeble. The images are ugly. The voic-work is inappropriate. Stay well away.
  9. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    It's a fun adventure movie, we do not get bored at any time even if it lasts almost two hours because they get the players in solving the problem and when they get into bigger ones, so no time for respite. There are great references to Steven Spielberg films like "Jaws" but especially "Indiana Jones", style is very similar to the saga of the intrepid professor of archeology. As for the soundtrack is very well integrated with the action but you may remember too the adventures of "Indiana Jones". The interpretation of the actors is amazing, but we will never know if a credit to the performers or animators and motion capture technique, sometimes fail to give a little face expressions or body movements. What is clear is that Andy Serkis is a master in this system of shooting, there's his work as Gollum or Cesar "The origin of the planet of the apes." The story is simple, then see who are the good guys and who the bad guys, so no surprises, so we have to settle with the graces that makes Captain Haddock and his attempt to live without alcohol. There are many action scenes, such as persecution by the city or the struggle of cranes. What stands out most is how well made ​​they are all decorated, from cities to the desert. Definitely a fun for the whole family, a visual spectacle that leaves the door open for further adventures. Expand
  10. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    Oh get ready for a glorious adventure in the worlds most amazing places. What a great animated movie I was so thrilled by seeing it that i didn't movie a single second from my seat. Really full of jaw dropping adventure you can't wait for the sequel mind blowing movie hats off to the great director and producer (steven spielberg and peter jackson) two of them are the great story teller of our time. Full marks to TINTIN. Expand
  11. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    I should really tell that this the best motion capture animated movie till now. Watch it as many times you will feel the adventure from start till end. Steven spielberg's one of the best movie to the world. This should get an oscar its mind blowing adventure with the famous boy in the world TINTIN. If you love action and adventure then you will not miss this movie.
  12. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    This film is by far my favorite film of 2011. "The Adventures of Tintin" brings forth a spirt of adventure and excitment that seems to have been lost in many recent films. The film is fast paced adventure that never slows down even for a second. Each frame is beauitifly rendered by weta digital and the each frame seems teeming with detail. It really does put a good foundation for what see as what could be a great franchise. I just made it out of the midnight showing and it seemed that everyone in the theater enjoyed it. However, the theater contained only about six or seven people, which is a sad showing for an opening night midnight release. I hope it manages to get hold of an audience as I have would like to see a sequel. Expand
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. 100
    Everything he did in live-action movies with rolling boulders and runaway convoys he does bigger and better - by a factor of ten - in every frame. At the end of two hours, my jaw ached from grinning.
  2. Reviewed by: Ben Sachs
    Dec 26, 2011
    50
    Feels particularly mechanical. The movie isn't a complete waste: it adequately re-creates the comics' Dickensian characterization, and every frame brims with clever details. But once the action begins, Spielberg's incessant, force-fed "fun" quickly gets exhausting.
  3. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Dec 26, 2011
    100
    In a movie year of more than two dozen animated films, this and "Rango" tower over all others. Welcome to America, Tintin. It's great getting to know you.