Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 453 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: The Adventures of Tintin: Secret of the Unicorn is the first in the series of 3D motion capture films based on the iconic character Tintin, the intrepid young reporter whose relentless pursuit of a good story thrusts him into a world of high adventure. (Paramount Pictures)

Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. 100
    Everything he did in live-action movies with rolling boulders and runaway convoys he does bigger and better - by a factor of ten - in every frame. At the end of two hours, my jaw ached from grinning.
  2. Reviewed by: Pete Hammond
    Oct 24, 2011
    90
    With the best use of motion capture yet, Spielberg has translated the story of the youthful Tintin, his spirited pooch Snowy and the eccentric Captain Haddock into a first class action adventure that serves as the perfect cross between "Pirates of the Caribbean" and Spielberg's own "Indiana Jones" series.
  3. Reviewed by: Tasha Robinson
    Dec 20, 2011
    83
    While it's essentially just another slick Spielberg action machine, it's operating effectively on all cylinders throughout.
  4. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Dec 19, 2011
    75
    That's what we get with The Adventures of Tintin - an unplayable video game that's fast-paced and amusing but never coming close to the best director Steven Spielberg has offered when in his "pure entertainment" mode.
  5. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Dec 19, 2011
    70
    Busy, busy. That's The Adventures of Tintin boiled down to its essence.
  6. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Dec 5, 2011
    50
    Tintin is exhausting, and, for all its wonders, it wears one out well before it's over.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Dec 22, 2011
    50
    The motion-capture animation is spectacular..Yet the action grows wearisome as it grinds on, and the film becomes a succession of dazzling set pieces devoid of simple feelings.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 119
  1. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    Oh get ready for a glorious adventure in the worlds most amazing places. What a great animated movie I was so thrilled by seeing it that iOh get ready for a glorious adventure in the worlds most amazing places. What a great animated movie I was so thrilled by seeing it that i didn't movie a single second from my seat. Really full of jaw dropping adventure you can't wait for the sequel mind blowing movie hats off to the great director and producer (steven spielberg and peter jackson) two of them are the great story teller of our time. Full marks to TINTIN. Expand
  2. Mar 7, 2014
    10
    i always love steven steliberg films from the guy who brought jaws which is amazing . then he creates tin tin . i love tin tin it is a hecki always love steven steliberg films from the guy who brought jaws which is amazing . then he creates tin tin . i love tin tin it is a heck of adventure . Expand
  3. Apr 10, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The move is really good but there is some parts that Idont get,like they get like why did they have to get the three map thingies just for a tiney hat filled with gold that was as big as a tiny jar. Expand
  4. Jan 23, 2012
    8
    I did have doubts and fears about this film but thankfully, those fears were put to rest, Though it wasn't exactly a 100% faithful adaptationI did have doubts and fears about this film but thankfully, those fears were put to rest, Though it wasn't exactly a 100% faithful adaptation it still delivered enough excitement and joy to keep you at the edge of your seat for an hour and a half. Expand
  5. Jan 14, 2012
    8
    Despite the fact that this film contains several scenes that are more than obviously made to be adapted into a video game, it works very well.Despite the fact that this film contains several scenes that are more than obviously made to be adapted into a video game, it works very well. I respect that it's an adaptation of actual stories from the graphic novel series and not some needlessly original story designed to cater to modern audiences. Also refreshing is that it's a family film and Spielberg has enough class to not include dumb fart jokes as seems to be the norm these days. Expand
  6. Jan 3, 2014
    7
    O Visual de Tintim magnífico um dos mais belos que já vi, a história bem interessante porém em si um filme um pouco cansativo, mais nãoO Visual de Tintim magnífico um dos mais belos que já vi, a história bem interessante porém em si um filme um pouco cansativo, mais não perde seu charme. Expand
  7. Jan 19, 2012
    0
    I didn't like it at all; too much violence; not a simple story; no poetry; no swearing from Captain Haddock; some names have been changed (toI didn't like it at all; too much violence; not a simple story; no poetry; no swearing from Captain Haddock; some names have been changed (to adapt to the US market?) Collapse

See all 119 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Holiday Movie Preview: 23 Intriguing Films (and over 40 Others)

    Holiday Movie Preview: 23 Intriguing Films (and over 40 Others) Image
    Published: November 9, 2011
    The next two months will bring over 20 major releases and 50 smaller films to theaters near you. Find out which of those films are the most promising, and get a complete guide to all of the holiday season movies inside.