Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 391 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: The Adventures of Tintin: Secret of the Unicorn is the first in the series of 3D motion capture films based on the iconic character Tintin, the intrepid young reporter whose relentless pursuit of a good story thrusts him into a world of high adventure. (Paramount Pictures)

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. 100
    Everything he did in live-action movies with rolling boulders and runaway convoys he does bigger and better - by a factor of ten - in every frame. At the end of two hours, my jaw ached from grinning.
  2. Reviewed by: Pete Hammond
    Oct 24, 2011
    90
    With the best use of motion capture yet, Spielberg has translated the story of the youthful Tintin, his spirited pooch Snowy and the eccentric Captain Haddock into a first class action adventure that serves as the perfect cross between "Pirates of the Caribbean" and Spielberg's own "Indiana Jones" series.
  3. Reviewed by: Tasha Robinson
    Dec 20, 2011
    83
    While it's essentially just another slick Spielberg action machine, it's operating effectively on all cylinders throughout.
  4. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Dec 19, 2011
    75
    That's what we get with The Adventures of Tintin - an unplayable video game that's fast-paced and amusing but never coming close to the best director Steven Spielberg has offered when in his "pure entertainment" mode.
  5. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Dec 19, 2011
    70
    Busy, busy. That's The Adventures of Tintin boiled down to its essence.
  6. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Dec 5, 2011
    50
    Tintin is exhausting, and, for all its wonders, it wears one out well before it's over.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Dec 22, 2011
    50
    The motion-capture animation is spectacular..Yet the action grows wearisome as it grinds on, and the film becomes a succession of dazzling set pieces devoid of simple feelings.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 99 out of 111
  2. Negative: 3 out of 111
  1. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    Oh get ready for a glorious adventure in the worlds most amazing places. What a great animated movie I was so thrilled by seeing it that i didn't movie a single second from my seat. Really full of jaw dropping adventure you can't wait for the sequel mind blowing movie hats off to the great director and producer (steven spielberg and peter jackson) two of them are the great story teller of our time. Full marks to TINTIN. Expand
  2. May 19, 2013
    10
    The Adventures of Tintin is fantastic because it is by far a copy of Indiana Jones, the design is witty and his aesthetic is fascinating, and a brand revolção for future cartoon, at first he may seem old-fashioned face, but if unfold makes it a pleasant experience to see, and proves that the pair ceria Steven S. and Peter G. can bear much fruit in the future. Expand
  3. Apr 10, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The move is really good but there is some parts that Idont get,like they get like why did they have to get the three map thingies just for a tiney hat filled with gold that was as big as a tiny jar. Expand
  4. Jan 8, 2012
    8
    Best TECHNICALLY LOOKING animated film ever made (but what does that mean with technology always evolving) The film kind of goes on super auto-pilot in the 3rd act but this is a very entertaining film. I love the lighting in this film (it is design as if a 35mm camera shot the film) and the way the camera travels in the action scenes would have been impossible in live action, i also like the transition edits. OH! POINTLESS IN 3D, lacks character development( not a huge flaw in a "tintin" adaptation) and the 3rd of the film is on the flawed side but, with all that said it really is a masterpiece in animation and a really good action film. For the record I generally enjoy motion capture animation (besides mars needs mom) Expand
  5. Jun 4, 2012
    8
    This movie is pretty great for an animated film. To start with, the visuals are amazing, probably one of the most visually engaging animated films of all time. And on top of that, the story is actually good, too. There is actually a bit of mystery. The only negative was that it was too long, and I thought I wouldn't miss anything if I took a short nap. There are good adventure scenes, but some parts get a little boring. Is it animated "Indiana Jones"? I would say it's pretty close. Expand
  6. Jan 19, 2012
    0
    I didn't like it at all; too much violence; not a simple story; no poetry; no swearing from Captain Haddock; some names have been changed (to adapt to the US market?) Collapse

See all 111 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Holiday Movie Preview: 23 Intriguing Films (and over 40 Others)

    Holiday Movie Preview: 23 Intriguing Films (and over 40 Others) Image
    Published: November 9, 2011
    The next two months will bring over 20 major releases and 50 smaller films to theaters near you. Find out which of those films are the most promising, and get a complete guide to all of the holiday season movies inside.