Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 49 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1080 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , ,
  • Summary: It’s great to be Spider-Man. For Peter Parker, there’s no feeling quite like swinging between skyscrapers, embracing being the hero, and spending time with Gwen. But being Spider-Man comes at a price: only Spider-Man can protect his fellow New Yorkers from the formidable villains thatIt’s great to be Spider-Man. For Peter Parker, there’s no feeling quite like swinging between skyscrapers, embracing being the hero, and spending time with Gwen. But being Spider-Man comes at a price: only Spider-Man can protect his fellow New Yorkers from the formidable villains that threaten the city. With the emergence of Electro, Peter must confront a foe far more powerful than he. And as his old friend, Harry Osborn, returns, Peter comes to realize that all of his enemies have one thing in common: Oscorp. [Sony Pictures] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 49
  2. Negative: 4 out of 49
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Apr 30, 2014
    83
    There is still Spider-Man's personal turmoil, crises of romance and loyalty, that Webb occasionally holds a few beats too long. Yet the performances ring true, with arresting chemistry where it counts.
  2. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    May 1, 2014
    75
    The Amazing Spider-Man 2 grows stronger and more engrossing as it unfolds.
  3. Reviewed by: Leslie Felperin
    Apr 8, 2014
    70
    The plot gets itself tangled up in multiple villain strands, but in the main this installment is emotionally weightier and more satisfying than its predecessor.
  4. Reviewed by: Tim Robey
    Apr 8, 2014
    60
    Marc Webb, returning after the last instalment, again shows a better feel for the relationships than he does for juggling all the overlapping story elements.
  5. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    May 1, 2014
    50
    A sequel that, until a late, lamentably foolish turn, balances blockbuster bombast with human-scale drama, child-friendly comedy and gushers of tears.
  6. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Apr 30, 2014
    50
    It is not a sequel, just another retread of tired material in a franchise that is more than ready for the big comic book bonfire. And why the title? There is nothing amazing about it.
  7. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Apr 30, 2014
    20
    The project as a whole conveys a drab sense of bureaucratic necessity, a "let's get this over with" wheeziness.

See all 49 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 48 out of 324
  1. May 2, 2014
    10
    THIS MOVIE WAS AMAZING ! Once again the critics are so far way off base as you will find out when thousands of people flock the the big screenTHIS MOVIE WAS AMAZING ! Once again the critics are so far way off base as you will find out when thousands of people flock the the big screen on Friday nite. top notch story line, off the hook effects that will blow you out of your seat and wanting more which you will get, acting was superb and the ending was asum and did not leave you hanging like most movies. So satisifing that I would compair it to an orgasum. You will gasp, you will laugh, you will cry, it has it all and all at the right moment. Your fingers and toes will hurt when you leave the theater because its a white knuckle ride from start to finish. Dont leave right after the movie, there is a surprize clip. Im going to go and see it again tomorrow nite { Friday Night } in a packed house. I went to midnight showing on Thursday and there were about 50 people in the theater, people have to work on Friday and can't function on 3 hours of sleep, thats why it was not packed. But all 50 of us were clapping and cheering hard at the end. And nothing but positive comments. Cant wait to see the next one. CRITICS...PLEASE GET A DAY JOB AND LET US REAL PEOPLE WRITE THE REVIEWS !!!!! Best movie of the year and will be very hard to beat. Trust me...GO SEE THIS MOVIE, IT IS A MUST SEE MOVIE. Not to mention it is a touching, motivating and inspiring movie. Captain America did not even come close to SM2. P.S. Check out the user review that begins with { Lamo } and gave this movie a rating of 3. Then think about why his user name begins with Lamo. Cause his review was LAMO. But we all have a right to score how we wish. Just dont pay no attention to that review. Doesn't even seem like he saw the right movie at all or was watching Captain America which I found to be bland and would give Captain America about a 5 or 6 at most. Expand
  2. May 6, 2014
    10
    The best spider man movie ever make all spider man fan cry.Electro is awesome but Harry osborn is the main villian in the movie.The best greenThe best spider man movie ever make all spider man fan cry.Electro is awesome but Harry osborn is the main villian in the movie.The best green globin.Andrew and Emma are amazing.The soundtrack is so poweful and the credits music beautifuls.As a say the best Spider man movie. Expand
  3. Aug 27, 2014
    9
    The Amazing Spiderman 2 was just as good as its previous film in my opinion. Its got lots of action and it continues to craft a better storyThe Amazing Spiderman 2 was just as good as its previous film in my opinion. Its got lots of action and it continues to craft a better story throughout which I felt that Marvel failed to do in the first set of films. I see Andrew Garfield as a better Spiderman than Tobey Maguire. He continues to struggle in balancing the two sides of his life until they collide and we get a massive twist in the end. Just another great Marvel film. They are really on a role right now. Expand
  4. Jul 7, 2014
    7
    i cant say that i am not a Spider Man fanboy but lets be honest , the first movie was much better than the second movie. First lets talk abouti cant say that i am not a Spider Man fanboy but lets be honest , the first movie was much better than the second movie. First lets talk about the good parts, Electro was really bad ass in this movie and the action scenes was gorgeous. I really like the Easter Eggs in this movie , when i saw Mr Smite i was asking my self '' Okay they bring another villain in this movie". The acting was pretty good and i really enjoy the jokes. Ok but than it comes The End, i am a very big fan of Green Goblin but lets be serious taht the movie did not show the true power of the villain.Green Goblin its such a complex character and you cant show hes hatred and hes power in just 5 minutes. Than it comes the Rhino which it haves 2 minutes .
    In my opinion The Amazing Spider-Man 2 is a really pretty good movie, the actions scenes are very good but are few ( in the prespective of Green Goblin and Rhino) and i really recomand this movie to everyone who like mixed dramatic action movies and who grown up with these wonderful characters.
    Expand
  5. Oct 20, 2014
    6
    What it does right, it does it REALLY right!
    What it does wrong, it does it REALLY wrong!
    The Amazing Spider-Man 2 is a fantastic movie
    What it does right, it does it REALLY right!
    What it does wrong, it does it REALLY wrong!

    The Amazing Spider-Man 2 is a fantastic movie about a young couple struggling to adapt to their adult transition, that forgets it's a super hero movie. To the point, that I found the Spiderman scenes annoying, for I was more interested in Peter Parker and Gwen Stacy's relationship.

    That's a problem....simply because I paid to see Spiderman and I'm into elements of the movie instead that make me want to not see the web-hero. A more appropriate tittle for this movie would be "Love in Manhattan" or "Web of Love", because it completely nails a completely different move than the one it was intended to be.

    I enjoy the first movie, and I enjoy elements of this one. Yet, after this one I'm not looking forward to The Amazing Spiderman 3... Let's hope the Sinister Six give a new fresh air to the spidey universe. For I still believe Sony can turn around this franchise.
    Expand
  6. Nov 2, 2014
    5
    The Amazing Spider-Man 2 is a sequel that surprisingly does what most sequels do not: deliver. This film builds off of the action, teen angstThe Amazing Spider-Man 2 is a sequel that surprisingly does what most sequels do not: deliver. This film builds off of the action, teen angst and intensity of The Amazing Spider-Man by bringing the themes of human connection and loss as well as a wide array of beloved and new villains. Andrew Garfield fits comfortably into the role of Peter Parker as he delivers a charismatic and strong performance as the webbed hero. The writing for the most part is passable, minus a few odd phrasings in dialogue. Expand
  7. Oct 8, 2014
    0
    One of the worst superhero films of all time. Maybe 25% of the movie is dedicated to any interaction between Spidey and the villains in theOne of the worst superhero films of all time. Maybe 25% of the movie is dedicated to any interaction between Spidey and the villains in the film. The rest of the movie is just one huge drama fest that comes across as a glorified episode of Days of our lives. I'm not going anywhere near Amazing Spider-man 3 if Marc Webb is directing it. He has no clue how to direct a superhero film. Expand

See all 324 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Movie Preview: 10 Films to See in May

    Movie Preview: 10 Films to See in May Image
    Published: April 30, 2014
    We pick out the 10 most notable movies heading to theaters in May, including Godzilla, X-Men: Days of Future Past, and more.