Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 49 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 910 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , ,
  • Summary: It’s great to be Spider-Man. For Peter Parker, there’s no feeling quite like swinging between skyscrapers, embracing being the hero, and spending time with Gwen. But being Spider-Man comes at a price: only Spider-Man can protect his fellow New Yorkers from the formidable villains that threaten the city. With the emergence of Electro, Peter must confront a foe far more powerful than he. And as his old friend, Harry Osborn, returns, Peter comes to realize that all of his enemies have one thing in common: Oscorp. [Sony Pictures] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 49
  2. Negative: 4 out of 49
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Apr 30, 2014
    83
    There is still Spider-Man's personal turmoil, crises of romance and loyalty, that Webb occasionally holds a few beats too long. Yet the performances ring true, with arresting chemistry where it counts.
  2. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    May 1, 2014
    75
    The Amazing Spider-Man 2 grows stronger and more engrossing as it unfolds.
  3. Reviewed by: Leslie Felperin
    Apr 8, 2014
    70
    The plot gets itself tangled up in multiple villain strands, but in the main this installment is emotionally weightier and more satisfying than its predecessor.
  4. Reviewed by: Tim Robey
    Apr 8, 2014
    60
    Marc Webb, returning after the last instalment, again shows a better feel for the relationships than he does for juggling all the overlapping story elements.
  5. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    May 1, 2014
    50
    A sequel that, until a late, lamentably foolish turn, balances blockbuster bombast with human-scale drama, child-friendly comedy and gushers of tears.
  6. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Apr 30, 2014
    50
    It is not a sequel, just another retread of tired material in a franchise that is more than ready for the big comic book bonfire. And why the title? There is nothing amazing about it.
  7. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Apr 30, 2014
    20
    The project as a whole conveys a drab sense of bureaucratic necessity, a "let's get this over with" wheeziness.

See all 49 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 42 out of 282
  1. May 2, 2014
    10
    THIS MOVIE WAS AMAZING ! Once again the critics are so far way off base as you will find out when thousands of people flock the the big screen on Friday nite. top notch story line, off the hook effects that will blow you out of your seat and wanting more which you will get, acting was superb and the ending was asum and did not leave you hanging like most movies. So satisifing that I would compair it to an orgasum. You will gasp, you will laugh, you will cry, it has it all and all at the right moment. Your fingers and toes will hurt when you leave the theater because its a white knuckle ride from start to finish. Dont leave right after the movie, there is a surprize clip. Im going to go and see it again tomorrow nite { Friday Night } in a packed house. I went to midnight showing on Thursday and there were about 50 people in the theater, people have to work on Friday and can't function on 3 hours of sleep, thats why it was not packed. But all 50 of us were clapping and cheering hard at the end. And nothing but positive comments. Cant wait to see the next one. CRITICS...PLEASE GET A DAY JOB AND LET US REAL PEOPLE WRITE THE REVIEWS !!!!! Best movie of the year and will be very hard to beat. Trust me...GO SEE THIS MOVIE, IT IS A MUST SEE MOVIE. Not to mention it is a touching, motivating and inspiring movie. Captain America did not even come close to SM2. P.S. Check out the user review that begins with { Lamo } and gave this movie a rating of 3. Then think about why his user name begins with Lamo. Cause his review was LAMO. But we all have a right to score how we wish. Just dont pay no attention to that review. Doesn't even seem like he saw the right movie at all or was watching Captain America which I found to be bland and would give Captain America about a 5 or 6 at most. Expand
  2. May 10, 2014
    10
    While the goblin fight felt a bit rushed that did not make me not love this awesome superhero movie.Ton notch storyline, great performances from the actors and the special effects were incredible.You will definitely walk out of this movie satisfied Expand
  3. May 3, 2014
    9
    I feel like this was one of the greatest super hero movies. It can't be compared to The Dark Knight but in its own way it truly is amazing. I was disappointed the first one(The Amazing Spider-Man) but this one made up for it. I found it easy to connect to the characters which made the story better, especially near the end. Even though everybody else(critics) rated it bad I urge you to watch it for yourself without bias. P.S coolest special effects ever! Expand
  4. Jul 30, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Well, this was more difficult than I thought. But I made up my consensus. The problem with The Amazing Spider-Man 2 is that the movie has too much content and too much characters that ,occasionally, it feels like a big advertisement for future sequels and spin offs films. Unfortunately, Sony is trying to make their own Spidey universe, building storylines and characters =/= money. It saddens me because the main reason of all the flaws TASM2 has, was Sony's fault. Why can't they just give the rights back to Marvel and let the most famous super-hero of all time join the Avengers? That would make a lot of money! But instead, we have a mixed bag film that you kind have to like it, then you have to hate it. It's very confusing. Relationships work well thanks to its talented cast, the special effects are top-notch and the action sequences still dazzle. The story is interesting and fun but it's too tangled. The narrative lacks focus and the character motivation is not always believable. Electro should have the more development since he is the show of the movie, HE IS THE STAR OF THE MOVIE! But with bloated run-time and the other characters to develop, he didn't get the development he deserved! Rhino was disappointing but he looked awesome with that design. I think Harry is okay, Dane Dehaan nails it. However, Gwen Stacy's death seemed forced to me.

    So, in conclusion: In spite the overabundance of characters and constantly tonal shifts, The Amazing Spider-Man 2 still entertains the fans with a talented cast and stunning special effects.
    Expand
  5. Jul 14, 2014
    6
    Bad script, poor dialogue, yet ‘amazing’ visuals strengthened with solid acting, The Amazing Spider Man 2 lives down expectations with a scattershot storyline, an overabundance of villains, and a pace far to fast for viewers to enjoy. Expand
  6. Jun 25, 2014
    5
    The amount of detail put into this film is incredible, whether it be a simple photograph of Gwen and Peter to the complex intricacy of the web-shooters. The draw back is the over saturated plot and clear merchandizing moments, as they are a plenty. Peter Parker loves Gwen, but is torn in his duties as Spider-Man, this probably should either have been the real focus of the film or it should have been about the villain army master scheme. Both seem to be too much for this one film to handle. Expand
  7. Aug 3, 2014
    0
    Another disaster in the world of superhero movies.Terrible, awful, extremely bad. Do not believe any of the 656 positive reviews. People who wrote those are either very dumb or they work for Sony or whoever else profits from this piece of excrement. I love Sony, but I used to love them a whole lot more before I saw this. If it's not too late, like it is for me, do not watch. Not in the cinema, not at home, not anywhere, not ever. However you look at life, it is far too precious to waste two hours of it on this film. For specifics, read the other red reviews. There's plenty there. Expand

See all 282 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Movie Preview: 10 Films to See in May

    Movie Preview: 10 Films to See in May Image
    Published: April 30, 2014
    We pick out the 10 most notable movies heading to theaters in May, including Godzilla, X-Men: Days of Future Past, and more.