The American Astronaut

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 23
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 23
  3. Negative: 3 out of 23

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. CoreyY.
    Jun 8, 2005
    10
    Like nothing I've ever seen before.
  2. Sonny
    Nov 2, 2001
    7
    funny - if you're in the mood for something completely different.
  3. JonathanA.
    Feb 25, 2002
    10
    I give it a ten alone for the silver miners bit. A low budget science fiction movie filled with fantastical absurdity that -actually- works is a rare beast indeed.
  4. NainzE.
    Feb 8, 2002
    10
    This is the most original thing I've seen in a very, very long time. Like if the old MST3K writers got together and made a movie. Gorgeous photography to boot. Makes the cheap plywood sets actually look good.
  5. TicoF.
    Feb 23, 2005
    10
    Beautiful lighting makes gorgeous black & white photography. Hilarious songs are also rocking. This one is a charmer. If you like Guy Maddin movies and garage rock, take a gander at this one.
  6. dannyc
    Jul 3, 2005
    10
    This film will go in history as a great original classic. A very clever film with extraordinary characters and score. The corporate reviews from above shows me how insipid and dead the world is becoming, I rate this movie a big 10.
  7. Nate
    Sep 2, 2005
    10
    Hilarious, alive, original, vital, wonderful.
  8. AndreaA.
    Jan 29, 2006
    10
    This is a movie you either love or hate- I loved it. I think the music alone makes it a classic.
  9. WilderS.
    Jan 5, 2006
    10
    YES I love this movie. My mom would hate it but that's ok.
  10. BrandonK.
    Dec 23, 2001
    10
    Funny, original, and has a rockin soundtrack. i havent seen anything this enjoyable since Six String Samuri.
  11. PaxF.
    Jun 17, 2003
    10
    Genius. beautifuly photographed, beautifuly cut, and so damn wierd. the rythm is enchanting and the sound track will be stuck in your head for weeks. if you dont like it go watch american pie and dont waste your time on art films.
  12. ScotL.
    Dec 7, 2004
    9
    Fantastically absurd!
  13. K.M.
    Oct 16, 2006
    9
    This film is certainly absolutely nonsensical, and it certainly doesn't adhere those mainstream rules of "character development" and, say, "plot". But the music is wonderful. The photography is stellar. It will make you laugh. In the ways it wanted to succeed, it managed to, admirably.
  14. Jan 27, 2013
    7
    The American Astronaut is a stylish beatnik nonsense slightly comic alternative low budget sci-fi movie. Or something like that. It's crazy, sometimes it's annoying, but it's fun.
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 14
  2. Negative: 3 out of 14
  1. The best part of this proudly absurd experience is the music.
  2. Rarely funny and straining to reach feature length, The American Astronaut achieves sweetness via its straight-faced take on utter gobbledygook.
  3. Reviewed by: Dennis Harvey
    40
    Unfortunately that blast-off heralds an orbit to nowhere, with initial delight fading as pic runs out of ideas all too soon, never building a sense of momentum or narrative thrust.