Metascore
18

Overwhelming dislike - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 48 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: When frightening events start to occur in their home, young couple Kelly and Ben discover they are being haunted by a presence that was accidentally conjured during a university parapsychology experiment. The horrifying apparition feeds on their fear and torments them no matter where they try to run. Their last hope is an expert in the supernatural, but even with his help they may already be too late to save themselves from this terrifying force. (Warner Bros. Pictures) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 13
  2. Negative: 12 out of 13
  1. 40
    The soulless-ness of their empty plot of track homes and super-store existence invokes both "Poltergeist" and "Employee of the Month."
  2. Reviewed by: Mark Feeney
    Aug 27, 2012
    38
    To those of us in the audience who might be strangers in paranormal precincts, it looks suspiciously like a séance.
  3. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    Aug 27, 2012
    30
    The Apparition is not a great or even good haunted-house movie, but it does have the advantage of a memorable setting.
  4. Reviewed by: Keith Phipps
    Aug 24, 2012
    25
    It's a potentially creepy setting that would give an innovative director a chance to do a lot with a little. Unfortunately, Lincoln isn't one of those.
  5. Reviewed by: Drew Taylor
    Aug 25, 2012
    25
    A plodding, undercooked, and old-fashioned (not in a good way, either) chiller that will bore you to tears instead of scare you to death.
  6. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    Aug 24, 2012
    20
    This enervating muddle of paranormal nonsense manages the difficult feat of seeming frenzied and lethargic all at once, while building toward the sort of ludicrous cop-out climax that often incites die-hard genre fans to shout rude things at the screen.
  7. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Aug 29, 2012
    0
    Come to think of it, it's a lot like the departed shade of a better, longer movie, hovering in tatters before us, vanishing when we blink. When you look into this abyss, it yawns back at you.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 17
  2. Negative: 12 out of 17
  1. Sep 4, 2012
    7
    I enjoyed this movie, it was good and it had a interesting plot! Everyone go see this. It's intelligent and involves plenty of elements that are scary and will cause you to jump a lot. Collapse
  2. Jan 10, 2013
    6
    The biggest damage done to "The Apparition" is done before you even watch the movie - the marketing. This movie is sold boldly advertising the movie's very final frame, which was even at the end of the trailer, thus ruining any shock or surprise value their last and biggest card could have possibly held. Outside of that, I'm surprised to see such low ratings here - it's really nowhere near that bad a film. Yeah, it's pretty unsurprising - but on the other hand, the characters aren't written as laughable cardboard cutouts who can't hope to pull off a believable person. The characters here are likeable and genuine, and even though the ending wasn't what I was looking for, the rest of the movie to a lesser degree was sort of what I wanted to see. It doesn't rely on cheap scares or gore to pretend to frighten us - it relies on PG-13, if not cliched, images and suspense tactics that are decent, if not "seen before". Overall, I rate it only slightly above a 5 for giving me some real characters for once. Expand
  3. Apr 10, 2013
    4
    The Apparition is a horror movie without any horror. It has a setting and idea that could have proven to be terrifying but in the end the scariest thing about it is how bad it is. Because the movie isn't scary it ends up being nothing more than a boring waste of time, and we all know how valuable you time is so just skip this movie. Also helping bring the movie down is the weak script and bad acting. Only one good thing can be said about this movie and that's that Ashley Greene is super hot, but no matter how hot she is this movie is still a waste of time. Expand
  4. Mar 5, 2014
    2
    This movie is terrible, the trailer is lies! The concept of dying when you believe is not in the movie! The scares are also very terrible, they are done very poorly and they are the special effects are laughable, but not in a good way. This movie was torture to watch despite the short run time. Whatever you do, stay away from this disgrace! Expand
  5. Oct 26, 2013
    1
    With untalented acting performances and a seen-it-before storyline and lacking any type of depth or focus, 'The Apparition' is overwhelmingly boring and despite its unusually short run time of 82 minutes seems prolonged due to its complete lack of frightening scenes. Expand
  6. Mar 2, 2013
    1
    the apparition sufre de clichés innecesarios una abundante falta de sustos una trama mal diseñada en fin se pueden decir muchas cosas de the apparition pero en si esta pelicula es una pesima entrada para un director primeriso Expand
  7. Dec 8, 2012
    0
    The tagline for this movie is "Once You Believe, You Die." They also show one of the characters saying "Once you believe in him.. he kills you" in the preview, and some girl saying "It's not real, it's not real, it's not real" as arms wrap around her. From the preview, it looks like a half-decent movie... However, none of that actually happens in the movie. That "Once you believe, you die" thing? It's not a part of the plot. At all. I'm serious, we thought we had rented the wrong movie - but, nope, it's just THAT bad. Also, the acting was terrible. They should be ashamed of themselves for promoting this movie the way they did. Expand

See all 17 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2012

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2012 Image
    Published: January 7, 2013
    Inside, you'll find our final rankings of the best and worst films of the past year, overall and by individual genre.