Lions Gate Films Home Entertainment | Release Date: July 29, 2005
6.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 89 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
61
Mixed:
8
Negative:
20
WATCH NOW
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
ColetteC.Oct 9, 2005
Lacking in artistic direction, The Aristocrats subjects the viewer to 92 monotonous minutes of hearing a simplistic joke. Of mild interest is the culture of comedy that underpins the joke -- which could be covered thoroughly in 20 minutes. Lacking in artistic direction, The Aristocrats subjects the viewer to 92 monotonous minutes of hearing a simplistic joke. Of mild interest is the culture of comedy that underpins the joke -- which could be covered thoroughly in 20 minutes. Overall, an inefficiently produced piece of boredom. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RobertR.Aug 29, 2005
It should be marketed for 9th grade dropouts How brave does a criric have to be before advising anyone with a college or even a highschool education that this film is literately s..t and that he would be wasting his time and money if he went It should be marketed for 9th grade dropouts How brave does a criric have to be before advising anyone with a college or even a highschool education that this film is literately s..t and that he would be wasting his time and money if he went to see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
InsanelySaneJan 26, 2006
ABSOLUTE RUBBISH (and here are some good reasons): Maybe i'm becoming sanely insane and I just am not 'with it' anymore.. Maybe my expectation of great comedians is not to be cheap, nasty and 'safe' - but to be witty ABSOLUTE RUBBISH (and here are some good reasons): Maybe i'm becoming sanely insane and I just am not 'with it' anymore.. Maybe my expectation of great comedians is not to be cheap, nasty and 'safe' - but to be witty and observant, make cutting edge, honest and relevant social and political commentary.. The Aristocrats joke has its place within comedy but this doco/film killed any mystery or joy about what it is.. and should be. One of the worst editing jobs i've seen, you have cut and splice bits and pieces - snippets of different comedians lines put together in an attempt to cheapen laughs - the result was chaotic and absurd. Terrible camera work distracted any attention to detail in the subtle gestres of the various comedians.. BUT the worst part in this doco single handedly must be the fact that THE JOKE HAD TO BE EXPLAINED - with emphasis given on why the punch line is so funny 'given the context'. Insulting given the fact that there was only one joke, told in variation by some big name comedians.. I felt sick not because of the content (which can be brilliantly told - particularly South Parks version comes to mind) but because yet again the few of us who are still insanely sane know that WE DESERVE FAR FAR BETTER THAN THIS CHEAP TRASH - The original joke has earned a new meaning in today's society - it has been violated and exploited perhaps beyond repair and the masses will lap it up because they lap up everything and anything. I gave it a 1 because they managed to persuade so many comedians to take part in a doco that serves to degrade their reputation. Well Done! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BlisterfishCafeMar 10, 2006
This movie sucked. The "Joke" is stupid. It is neither shocking nor insightful. Dull, billious and a waste of time. Nothing to see here...I gave it a "1" because Gilbert made me smile for 63 seconds. Thank you.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AndiCAug 23, 2005
I was prepared to love this film, instead I found it annoying. Some of the comics were hilarious; they were funny without being cruel. It's revealing that some of the others thought violent abuse was amusing. Also revealing is that some I was prepared to love this film, instead I found it annoying. Some of the comics were hilarious; they were funny without being cruel. It's revealing that some of the others thought violent abuse was amusing. Also revealing is that some great living comics WEREN'T in the film. And the editors made a mess of the Eddie Izzard clips. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CoyoteJan 25, 2006
I was prepared to appreciate this movie on the basis of the reviews and viewer comments but I must admit that it turned my stomach. How much funnier it would have been to turn this sad tale on its head with a more than wholesome storyline I was prepared to appreciate this movie on the basis of the reviews and viewer comments but I must admit that it turned my stomach. How much funnier it would have been to turn this sad tale on its head with a more than wholesome storyline and a disgusting and surprising punch line. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
C.S.Feb 28, 2006
This movie was painfully average. I didn
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
juliankennedy23Nov 2, 2014
The Aristocrats: 3 out of 10: The joke in the Aristocrats is not funny. (Many comedians on tape admit this outright.) It really isn't a joke as much as a Shaggy Dog story. The funny part of a Shaggy Dog story is watching someone who thinksThe Aristocrats: 3 out of 10: The joke in the Aristocrats is not funny. (Many comedians on tape admit this outright.) It really isn't a joke as much as a Shaggy Dog story. The funny part of a Shaggy Dog story is watching someone who thinks it's a joke squirm. The more you can make a (in this case) prude squirm the funnier the raunch is.

The funniest scene in the movie is Gilbert Gottfried's masterful and legendary telling of the joke at the Fryers Club soon after 9/11. What makes it funny is watching a surprising prudish and confused Hugh Hefner's reaction listening to the joke. (The exact performance wouldn't be as funny if Larry Flynt for example was on the dais. And the filmed performance wouldn't work had not Hefner not been shown in frame.) The Gottfried performance comes late in the film and we are treated to dozen's of top comedians wasted telling the same joke sans victim. And since the audience by this time is intimately familiar with the mechanics of the magic this is true tedium. Moreover most of the comedians telling the joke do so to the camera with no audience in sight. There is a reason that comedy routines are done in a concert film style performance before a live audience.

There is a lot of top flight talent here. Drew Carey, Robin Williams, George Carlin among others yet it is a mime (Steven Banks) that tells the joke most creativity and Bob Saget who tells the most disgusting version. Honestly the film shoots it's um …. gun much to soon in the feature and nothing removes humor from something faster than explaining it.

There are some self serving insights about comedy in general and some so called inside stuff that by its very nature isn't but the majority of the film really is dozens of comics telling the same joke over and over again that wasn't all that funny to begin with.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews