Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: September 21, 2007
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 202 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
163
Mixed:
22
Negative:
17
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
talisencrwJan 14, 2016
I had heard great things about this film, decided to see it, and was
not disappointed. What had taken me so long was never having seen
anything from Dominik before, and a difficulty with both Westerns in general and in taking Brad Pitt's
I had heard great things about this film, decided to see it, and was
not disappointed. What had taken me so long was never having seen
anything from Dominik before, and a difficulty with both Westerns in
general and in taking Brad Pitt's acting seriously, although the allure
and the mystique of the Jesse James mythology was certainly enough of a
pull for me to eventually give this film a chance, and I was certainly
glad in retrospect that I had the courage to watch it. I cannot
overemphasize how great was the cast, the music, the direction, and the
cinematography. Specifically I would recommend the film to those who
like me would nary the thought of watching either a Western or a Brad
Pitt-featured film. More films have to be made, not of action and
special effects but, like TAOJJBTCRF, that get into the hearts, minds,
and souls--the humanity, if you will--of the people with the holsters,
guns and horses. Many kudos to Dominik, and I actively look forward to
seeing more of his work in future.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
heeldavidDec 15, 2014
This is the most underrated american film of the decade, it has wonderful cinematography and storytelling. Casey Affleck is so brilliant in this and the whole cast in general as well
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
beingryanjudeAug 24, 2014
Brad Pitt is clever and convincing as the legendary Jesse James; however, it is Casey Affleck, as Robert Ford, that really allows us to sink our teeth into this one. It's a western, but there's more than that here.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleAug 6, 2014
This one is certainly very good. It is slow, but never creeps into "boring territory". Rather, it commands your attention and full wraps you into its world. The storytelling here is really is most unique element, as it essentially feels likeThis one is certainly very good. It is slow, but never creeps into "boring territory". Rather, it commands your attention and full wraps you into its world. The storytelling here is really is most unique element, as it essentially feels like a visual book in the way it is told and it really benefits from it. Not only does it set it apart from other Westerns, but it breathes a certain amount of life into the film that is very beneficial. The acting from a great cast including Brad Pitt, Casey Affleck, Sam Rockwell, and Jeremy Renner, is great as always. Pitt and Affleck both really stand out as stars in this one for sure. The writing here is also very strong and the relationship between James and Ford is very well done. Really, all the relationships here are very diverse and well written to the point where it feels as though we know everybody and their motivations. This film is really about the characters, in large part thanks to the great writing of the characters. And finally, Roger Deakins kills it with the cinematography here. Just absolutely stunning cinematography that is really picturesuqe at every single turn. Each shot is just breathtakingly gorgeous and really give this film a fantastic look. Overall, this one has a long, unconventional title and a unique way of telling its stories and is a rounding success. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
TokyochuchuAug 19, 2013
The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford is a masterful, slow-burn piece of revisionist western art. Static camera work, detailed acting and inferred subtexts are order of the day here, with almost no gunplay to speak of.The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford is a masterful, slow-burn piece of revisionist western art. Static camera work, detailed acting and inferred subtexts are order of the day here, with almost no gunplay to speak of. The tone is nailed just right and the acting is phenomenal. The assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford is intriguing stuff indeed. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
LeifDec 21, 2012
Equally barren and majestic with an affective anti-western motif running through it's doom-laden story. Pitt; equal parts sociopath and charming snake plays the character for what he realistically probably was is matched in some waysEqually barren and majestic with an affective anti-western motif running through it's doom-laden story. Pitt; equal parts sociopath and charming snake plays the character for what he realistically probably was is matched in some ways exceeded by Affleck's callow and servile Ford. A study of perverse hero worship gone awry. Where the movie really delivers is not so much the killing of James, but the aftermath and consequences of murdering a pseudo Robin Hood is the most compelling material, and worthy of its prolonged running time which gives us the time to see how these characters develop their sad trajectories. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
jlpjonOct 5, 2012
Thanks to slick lighting, immersive storytelling and nuanced character depth, Andrew Dominik's Neo-Western drama is visually and emotionally gripping throughout. The film offers a fascinating exploration of idolisation and myth-making, andThanks to slick lighting, immersive storytelling and nuanced character depth, Andrew Dominik's Neo-Western drama is visually and emotionally gripping throughout. The film offers a fascinating exploration of idolisation and myth-making, and Casey Affleck is superb as nerve-stricken adolescent Robert Ford. Dominik's balance between art and entertainment is spot-on, and although (like its title) the film is a little on the long side, the story of America's best-known outlaw has never before been told with such spellbinding energy and emotion. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
JordiepropsSep 3, 2012
Haunting, Spellbinding, complete badassery. Easily of the best movies ever made!!
Definitely the best soundtrack ever made. Yes Nick Cave is a serious rockstar when it comes
to making a soundtrack sound so honest to its tone that is makes
Haunting, Spellbinding, complete badassery. Easily of the best movies ever made!!
Definitely the best soundtrack ever made. Yes Nick Cave is a serious rockstar when it comes
to making a soundtrack sound so honest to its tone that is makes you feel six emotions at once. Give this
movie a chance and it will change your life.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
garciatheeclectMay 27, 2012
Point blank, this is probably the single most underrated film in the last decade. Absolutely **** amazing, and one of the best movies I have EVER seen. The acting was beyond incredible, as was the cinematography, music, directing, writing,Point blank, this is probably the single most underrated film in the last decade. Absolutely **** amazing, and one of the best movies I have EVER seen. The acting was beyond incredible, as was the cinematography, music, directing, writing, plot, and everything else. This is a true masterpiece. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
StevieVMar 28, 2012
This is a tremendously ambitious movie. Clocking in around two and a half hours, it is a hefty investment for a movie whose scale and action is more implicit and controlled than grandiose and bombastic. This is to say that the movie dragged aThis is a tremendously ambitious movie. Clocking in around two and a half hours, it is a hefty investment for a movie whose scale and action is more implicit and controlled than grandiose and bombastic. This is to say that the movie dragged a bit. But, taking it aside from this fact, if you can make your way through it in one sitting, it is the most compelling character study I have ever seen. Everything is acted to a near perfect level and the cinematography is engrossing. For me at least, the artistic value of this piece outweighs the length and it is by far my favorite movie of 2007. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
jeremypFeb 4, 2012
A good movie that I'm sure was a flop at the box office. It's too long, too thoughtful, too nuanced, and too talky for most viewers. It's another Scott father son vehicle, and like the recent "The Grey" it's focus is on the underlying themesA good movie that I'm sure was a flop at the box office. It's too long, too thoughtful, too nuanced, and too talky for most viewers. It's another Scott father son vehicle, and like the recent "The Grey" it's focus is on the underlying themes and not the overt action. The movie does dispense with the "Jesse James was a hero" pretty conclusively after he beats a young boy, and we all know what's coming (don't take off that gun belt Jesse; don't dust that painting) and while his death was long past necessary his killer went on to infamy and also an assasinators bullets. Casey Affleck is great as a whispy hero worshipper who slowly develops traitorous thoughts. Pitt continues his under valued work as a very competent performer, but the kudos should go to the direction. Beautifully filmed, scored, and dialogued. Not a film for those with ADHD. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
jsmith9525Nov 11, 2011
This movie is simply amazing. The writing, acting, direction, and production are all perfect. Some may call the movie slow, but I didn't think so at all. I was engaged throughout the entire movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
HankChinaskiSep 26, 2011
Some may find it tiresome (they should watch more action-packed Westerns then), for me it is the best Western ever made. Not that it's a perfect representation of the genre per se, but it's a perfect, psychologically energetic, beautifulSome may find it tiresome (they should watch more action-packed Westerns then), for me it is the best Western ever made. Not that it's a perfect representation of the genre per se, but it's a perfect, psychologically energetic, beautiful drama about human nature, about identity, loneliness and friendship, fatherly bonds, rivalry, vulnerability and affection, and maybe above all, the human need of creating and believing in myths.
Also probably the best acting I've ever seen in a Western, Casey Affleck is outstanding.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
aryanruleFeb 3, 2011
U have to be very psychologically prepared for this drama feast of fabolous performance by Casey Affleck and ofcourse Brad Pitt. At first, the movie seems hard to be watched but as time passes (movie last for about 3 hours) u become moreU have to be very psychologically prepared for this drama feast of fabolous performance by Casey Affleck and ofcourse Brad Pitt. At first, the movie seems hard to be watched but as time passes (movie last for about 3 hours) u become more curious 'bout things that would eventually happen, though aware what will be in the end. Name of the movie itself is the mini-synopsis, but this one is definitely slow-paced drama NOT written for mass audience. For what is worth its not commercial... Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
7
ERG1008Sep 17, 2010
Well the first hour sort of plods along then the last hour & a half is excellent. Casey Affleck is very good as Bob Ford as is Brad Pitt. Music is also excellent & a nice cameo by Nick Cave (who did some of the music).
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
ryancarroll88Aug 27, 2010
Just as Kubrick did with "Barry Lyndon," Andrew Dominik presents the story of Jesse James with a sweeping exposition, exchanging all dramatic cues in favor of character closeups, avant-garde style and a revealing narrator. Thanks to greatJust as Kubrick did with "Barry Lyndon," Andrew Dominik presents the story of Jesse James with a sweeping exposition, exchanging all dramatic cues in favor of character closeups, avant-garde style and a revealing narrator. Thanks to great performances by the whole cast and the expansive Western setting which complements the style surprisingly well, Dominik pulls it off. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
TheManApr 13, 2009
A realistic depiction of Jesse James. This is probably the most historically accurate version of his story that has ever been told on film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JohnnyNov 8, 2008
Absolutely spellbinding. An endlessly interesting character study that's flawlessly written and directed. Casey Affleck delivers in this career-defining role, and both he and Brad Pitt give two of the most complex performances I've Absolutely spellbinding. An endlessly interesting character study that's flawlessly written and directed. Casey Affleck delivers in this career-defining role, and both he and Brad Pitt give two of the most complex performances I've ever seen in cinema. I understand that this film will actually bore many people. It is described as a western but it is an artistic western. It is about the film-making; the story; the characters, and not about the all so cliched shoot-em-ups and explosions you see in old westerns. If you can handle art, and steer away from action for just a little bit, "The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford" will truly move you if you can view this in the correct context. If historical accuracy means anything to you, this is THE film to watch. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful
10
RichR.Jul 27, 2008
Hmm, I finally got around to watching this on DVD, and WOW! I like Brad Pitt a lot, although something tells me I shouldn't. All I can say is this has to be his best acting ever. His sense of existential pain is harrowing. But the movie Hmm, I finally got around to watching this on DVD, and WOW! I like Brad Pitt a lot, although something tells me I shouldn't. All I can say is this has to be his best acting ever. His sense of existential pain is harrowing. But the movie as a whole brings up something I always wondered about while watching westerns as a kid in the fifties: If there's just one mean boss and a bunch of weak other guys in the gang, why doesn't one of them just off him and get it over with? I mean, it seems like it would be so easy! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MomoMJul 24, 2008
although a rather long movie, the movie captures the last few months before james' death. I highly praise Affleck's performance. this is possibly the best western movie ever
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
WesM.Jun 25, 2008
Very enjoyable, especially the last thirty minutes, however; it is, in the words of one critic, in desperate need of a ruthless editor!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JayM.Apr 9, 2008
This western meditation on the perils of celebrity is certainly one of the best films of 2007. There is no denying the integrity and subseqent execution of Mr. Dominik's most singular vision; with this film he has elevated himself to This western meditation on the perils of celebrity is certainly one of the best films of 2007. There is no denying the integrity and subseqent execution of Mr. Dominik's most singular vision; with this film he has elevated himself to the fore of American filmmakers. And I might add that Casey Affleck gives perhaps the performance of the year. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
[Anonymous]Mar 22, 2008
Not to dismiss John Wayne; but this is the best movie ever in the Western genre.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
GalenS.Mar 10, 2008
I was a little hesitant to purchase this D.V.D., considering the fact that I don't like western films at all. However, knowing that the movie was based on historical facts encouraged me to go ahead and take a chance. All I can say is I was a little hesitant to purchase this D.V.D., considering the fact that I don't like western films at all. However, knowing that the movie was based on historical facts encouraged me to go ahead and take a chance. All I can say is WOW! I've never seen a movie with more intense visuals, a better sound track, or more intense acting performances! This isn't a movie, it's a masterpiece of art on the Widescreen! The adaptation of the story is phenomenal, the panorama of the visuals is amazing, and the soundtrack is haunting. Casey Affleck gives the performance of a lifetime as the nit-witted, apparently harmless, yet ruthless Robert Ford, and Brad Pitt plays the part of Jesse James to perfection. In fact, all the acting performances in this movie are top notch, not to mention the fact that the cinematography is out of this world, the sound track is hauntingly surrealistic, and the story itself compelling. While watching this movie, I felt as if I myself had been transported back in time to 1881, and was watching the whole drama unfold before my very eyes! Incredible!!!!! Collapse
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
StevenH.Mar 8, 2008
Slow, yes. But brilliant, too.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SmithA.Feb 29, 2008
I am a connoisseur of cinematic detail. Especially in historical movies that I have a fair knowledge of the times they depict. And I am often absolutely, verbally, anal. I drive my wife nuts on this but to me even a background set filled I am a connoisseur of cinematic detail. Especially in historical movies that I have a fair knowledge of the times they depict. And I am often absolutely, verbally, anal. I drive my wife nuts on this but to me even a background set filled with accurate prosaic items is cause for a private gasp of wonder for me. Hey--someone connected with the movie I am watching actually CARED about attempting to render history halfway realistically! Someone once said that the past is another country: "They do things differently there." Kudos to the screenwriter and the others who cooperated on this masterpiece. The dialog and diction (supported by the splendid cinematography!) transported me back to the late 1800s. The film seemed to me to be about as linguistically/historically perfect as it could possibly be. If the speech was not exactly "factually correct," it nevertheless rang profoundly true. These old flesh and blood American characters probably and actually talked like this--a mixture of transplanted British courtliness and low-down--often obscene--countrified slang. The clothing was right there along with everything else. I don't believe I will ever look at Kirk Douglas or John Wayne with their smart and silk perfectly-knotted neckerchiefs below their ostentatious Stepsons the same way again. A word or two on the film's cinematography.... This is the first time I have seen color photography that evoked both the beauty of western landscape, the stark, papered-over gritty poverty of frontier life and the "blurred-at-the-edges" sepia daguerreotyped glass plate images of a century ago. This movie was an outstanding experience for my wife and I. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
keFeb 26, 2008
The long title gives away the plot, but damn is the movie good. The cinematography and atmosphere is incredible and the acting by Affleck is great, too. the music is awesome and the final 30 - 45 minutes are awesome. The film is better than The long title gives away the plot, but damn is the movie good. The cinematography and atmosphere is incredible and the acting by Affleck is great, too. the music is awesome and the final 30 - 45 minutes are awesome. The film is better than 3:10, and if you liked this film >>> go watch the proposition. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MattRFeb 22, 2008
an instant classic western anyone who rates this movie poorly has no taste! Seriously I am surprised more people aren't talking about this movie. I guess real movies (not crap edited down to 100 minutes) aren't suited for an instant classic western anyone who rates this movie poorly has no taste! Seriously I am surprised more people aren't talking about this movie. I guess real movies (not crap edited down to 100 minutes) aren't suited for today's audience. Watch it! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RickS.Feb 20, 2008
One of the films of the year. It blew me away with the masterful cinematography; there are some powerful shots in this. Say what you will of Brad Pitt, but he is a good actor. I must say I was surprised by Casey Affleck having 100 times the One of the films of the year. It blew me away with the masterful cinematography; there are some powerful shots in this. Say what you will of Brad Pitt, but he is a good actor. I must say I was surprised by Casey Affleck having 100 times the talent of his brother. I saw Atonement, and I still believe that a few of their Oscar nods should be replaced with this masterwork. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
ChadS.Feb 9, 2008
In "Almost Famous", the late rock critic and founder of Creem magazine, Lester Bangs(Phillip Seymour Hoffman), advises his young protege to not make friends with the rock stars. William Miller(Patrick Fugit) doesn't heed his In "Almost Famous", the late rock critic and founder of Creem magazine, Lester Bangs(Phillip Seymour Hoffman), advises his young protege to not make friends with the rock stars. William Miller(Patrick Fugit) doesn't heed his mentor's sage warning and gets chummy with lead guitarist Russell Hammond(Billy Crudup) of Stillwater. The Jesse James memorabilia that Robert(Casey Affleck) collects in his shoebox is the equivalent of the posters that hang on the budding rock critic's wall. Their idols, for the time being, exist only in the abstract. Although he doesn't visit his own home, the famous gunslinger's sudden appearance at the house of Wood Hite(Jeremy Renner) does echo Russell's surprise visit to the Miller residence at the end of the Cameron Crowe memoir. Bangs had told William to "be honest, and unmerciful" if he wanted to be a true friend. This is exactly what Robert does when he recreates his execution of Jesse James for the stage. Since "The Assasination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford" plays like "Good Fellas"(the DeNiro character goes after all the airport heist participants just like how Jesse James eliminates his train robbery cohorts) more than any film that John Ford ever directed, it makes perfect sense that Robert shoots Jesse in the back. The Scorsese film informs us that gangsters are often shot by those closest to them. Since Jesse is Robert's friend(well, sort of; my ass-talkin' theory isn't airtight), he has the authority to kill. The staged play is equivalent to the article William writes about Stillwater. They're both non-fiction pieces; official documents of a true-life event. By not smudging the facts surrounding his vigilant gunfire, Robert respects his craft(assuming that playwriting and the dramatic arts are important to him) and the memory of his boyhood idol. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
RobertHFeb 8, 2008
really a terrific atmospheric western. like nothing you're gonna see around right now. there are more than a few movie watchers who won't be alble to handle it , so beware.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
AnnB.Feb 7, 2008
Although this film was overly long, the acting and cinematography made it worth seeing. Casey Affleck turned in an excellent performance as Robert Ford.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChadFeb 4, 2008
I just want to get one thing out of the way right now, the assassination of Jesse James by the coward Robert Ford is a slow movie. It can be very slow, and if you can't handle a 2 hour and 40 minute movie then you should not watch this. I just want to get one thing out of the way right now, the assassination of Jesse James by the coward Robert Ford is a slow movie. It can be very slow, and if you can't handle a 2 hour and 40 minute movie then you should not watch this. However, if you can then you will witness the best acting performance ever by Casey Affleck as one of the most intriguing and memorable movie characters ever. I can not explain enough how convincing he truly is as robert ford. The rest of the cast is as believable as can be, but casey still outshines everyone and is the sole reason to watch this film. I assure you that long after you're done watching the assassination you will be talking about how good he played that role. The transformations Robert Ford goes through throughout the entire movie is extremely interesting and not before long you become engrossed in his character and how he feels and its all due to casey's performance. I recommend this movie to anyone who appreciates good acting and or enjoys watching all kinds of films, but again if you cant handle the length of the movie then just stay away. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesDec 27, 2007
Phenomenal film. Aimed at people who aren't stricken with, how should I say, stupidity. The Assassination of Jesse James is why I watch movies in the first place. There's no good or bad guy, the audience is not asked to pick sides, Phenomenal film. Aimed at people who aren't stricken with, how should I say, stupidity. The Assassination of Jesse James is why I watch movies in the first place. There's no good or bad guy, the audience is not asked to pick sides, but only to witness the path that these two men have placed themselves upon. The film is beyond gorgeous, and evokes a certain awe during each and every scene. Casey Affleck gives the performance of a lifetime. Just see it if you're not retarded. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JosefK.Dec 23, 2007
Best film of the year. A masterpiece.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JoshGDec 20, 2007
Very involving and textured film. If you have any sort of cinematic attention deficit disorder, you will probably find it boring. Others will revel in its beauty
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
TristanDec 17, 2007
Id like to see it again. A fantastic movie, such a beuatiful portrayal by Affleck (Pitt is also good). The interplay between James and his killer was brilliantly drawn out, how I long to see movies like this where you actually get to know Id like to see it again. A fantastic movie, such a beuatiful portrayal by Affleck (Pitt is also good). The interplay between James and his killer was brilliantly drawn out, how I long to see movies like this where you actually get to know the person and their frailties without having it shoved in your face by obvious dialogue. It was quite long a la LOTR, but i respect that because it didnt end where we expected it to. I cant help feeling this film draws parallels with two of my other favourite films and predecessors in the Western (style) genre, The Proposition and Dead Man. Nick Cave wrote The Proposition and Warren Ellis its score. Beautifully slow cinematography and exceptional realism take you right back to the mid-19th century. Just lovely to watch. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RobertoV.Dec 9, 2007
This movie is about the times we're living; about the 15 minutes of fame everyone wants to achieve and then be totally forgotten. It's about worship and its limitations and consequences. A wonderful, wondrous, powerful movie with This movie is about the times we're living; about the 15 minutes of fame everyone wants to achieve and then be totally forgotten. It's about worship and its limitations and consequences. A wonderful, wondrous, powerful movie with an extraordinary Casey Affleck. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlexH.Dec 9, 2007
One of my favorite films this year so far. Beautiful cinematography and scenery, great soundtrack by Nick Cave and Warren Ellis, and excellent acting. The film manages to feel authentic and mythic at the same time. It is a 'slow' One of my favorite films this year so far. Beautiful cinematography and scenery, great soundtrack by Nick Cave and Warren Ellis, and excellent acting. The film manages to feel authentic and mythic at the same time. It is a 'slow' film, yes, but an extremely compelling one for viewers with patience and an admiration for the genre Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
DanL.Nov 14, 2007
Not only was it beautifully shot- the music also fitted effortlessly and dramatised the effect. You can listen in full to the Nick Cave soundtrack and listen to director Andrew Domink's playlist on the Last.fm Jesse James group page- Not only was it beautifully shot- the music also fitted effortlessly and dramatised the effect. You can listen in full to the Nick Cave soundtrack and listen to director Andrew Domink's playlist on the Last.fm Jesse James group page- have a look! Join the group and lots of goodies to win. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
GeneralL.Nov 10, 2007
Excellent movie, no hollywood-flick but an emotional, historically correct masterpiece, that builds it's tension not by surprising plot-twists (everyone actually knows how the story goes) but by the great atmosphere, cinematography, the Excellent movie, no hollywood-flick but an emotional, historically correct masterpiece, that builds it's tension not by surprising plot-twists (everyone actually knows how the story goes) but by the great atmosphere, cinematography, the A+ musical score, the acting, cought in long, brilliant close-ups. If you're easily bored and rather entertained by car-chases and explosions, and you don't like the setting, than this film is indeed not recommended for you. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MTM.Oct 29, 2007
A fierce and beautifully stylized requiem to an era- easily our own- a post-apocalyptic monochrome Book of Hours, all quirky medieval illumination in Prairie Sampler simplicity. Pitt gives a majestic and leonine portrayal of Jesse, as much A fierce and beautifully stylized requiem to an era- easily our own- a post-apocalyptic monochrome Book of Hours, all quirky medieval illumination in Prairie Sampler simplicity. Pitt gives a majestic and leonine portrayal of Jesse, as much trapped animal as hunted outlaw and Affleck is superbly contemporary as an empty and cowardly vacuum of vengeance. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
BobWOct 22, 2007
20 minutes too long but still much to commend here. The soundtrack, cinematography, and Casey Affleck's performance are worth the ticket price. Just see it caffeinated.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RCROct 22, 2007
An excellent film. Its plodding pace mirrors the slow boil of youthful fantasy turned matured disillusionment. Affleck is perfectly cast as the designing, dangerous Ford. Pitt possesses greater range than I have previously given him credit An excellent film. Its plodding pace mirrors the slow boil of youthful fantasy turned matured disillusionment. Affleck is perfectly cast as the designing, dangerous Ford. Pitt possesses greater range than I have previously given him credit for with a wonderfully deep performance. Rockwell continues to inhabit his on-screen personas with such ease and skill; he's frighteningly good to watch. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JoeBOct 14, 2007
The film of the year... bar none. Long ? Baloney! If anyone calls himself a film buff and complains about length of this film, he should stick to 30 minute sitcoms. I wouldn't want to see a second clipped. Great performances down the The film of the year... bar none. Long ? Baloney! If anyone calls himself a film buff and complains about length of this film, he should stick to 30 minute sitcoms. I wouldn't want to see a second clipped. Great performances down the line. The best film of 21st Century. When they want to, they sure can make 'em like they use to. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
AndrewG.Oct 7, 2007
I had no idea what I was walking into when I went to see this. Some people might find this film slow or boring, but I was glued to my seat for the entire duration. It is very emotionally intense, and if you really get into it, it won't I had no idea what I was walking into when I went to see this. Some people might find this film slow or boring, but I was glued to my seat for the entire duration. It is very emotionally intense, and if you really get into it, it won't seem nearly as long as it really is. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CherylM.Oct 4, 2007
A flawless meditation of a time literally brought to life through skillful acting, immaculate research and a knowing understanding of the not too distant past.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ValS.Oct 1, 2007
Excellent movie! Casey Affleck was superb.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
ArnoldP.Sep 28, 2007
This was a beautiful film to watch, perhaps trying to hard to be an art piece, with an exceptional cadre of actors. You have to be in the mood or prepared for the slow psychological games and is just too long, and pleased with itself. A This was a beautiful film to watch, perhaps trying to hard to be an art piece, with an exceptional cadre of actors. You have to be in the mood or prepared for the slow psychological games and is just too long, and pleased with itself. A brilliant snooze, still one of the year's best films decidedly for adults only, kids will be bored to tears. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DonnaPearsonSep 26, 2007
Flawed, too long, but a raw masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DamonC.Sep 22, 2007
I must say, I enjoyed this, even though I really thought I would hate it. It is surprisingly funny, and beautifully shot by Roger Deakins. It is NOT however, well served by the music, which is elegiac and mournful, even at the funny bits, I must say, I enjoyed this, even though I really thought I would hate it. It is surprisingly funny, and beautifully shot by Roger Deakins. It is NOT however, well served by the music, which is elegiac and mournful, even at the funny bits, and totally telegraphed the feeling at the end. In fact, this is probably the worst (and most derivative) film score I've heard in a while. What was Nick Cave thinking? Acting was on par, with great work being done by an an interesting collection of actors. Sam Rockwell, Paul Schneider and, especially, Casey Affleck were great. Does producer/lead Brad deserved his Venice statue? I'm inclined to say so. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful