User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2722 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 5, 2012
    10
    This film is the most interesting and the most funny among all the superhero films. Most of the actors played good. Visual effects are worthwhile, at the same time not seem redundant. I need to say that sometimes there was a little much unreasonable pathos, but its presence in hero movies established historically :) The most remarkable thing is humor, good humor in Avengers. It gave meThis film is the most interesting and the most funny among all the superhero films. Most of the actors played good. Visual effects are worthwhile, at the same time not seem redundant. I need to say that sometimes there was a little much unreasonable pathos, but its presence in hero movies established historically :) The most remarkable thing is humor, good humor in Avengers. It gave me positive energy, so thanks for that! :) Expand
  2. May 4, 2012
    10
    The greatest superhero movie I have seen by far. Lots of action to be had, very funny moments throughout, and the watching all the great Marvel superheroes fight side by side and even sometimes each other was great. Seeing this at midnight, the crowd was going crazy the entire film and enjoyed so much. 10 out of 10, go see it in theaters, I know I'll be seeing it again for sure.
  3. May 4, 2012
    10
    After endless hype, The Avengers delivers. All the characters are full of depth and personality. The action scenes are epic. The dialogue is smart, funny, and witty. Everything fans like myself wanted in this film has happened. Not only is this the best Marvel film I've seen, its the best superhero and summer blockbuster to ever be unleashed with this much satisfaction. Go see it...NOW!
  4. May 4, 2012
    10
    This film is, quite simply, brilliant, everything I wanted from it was there, brilliant action, suspense and humour, fantastically written dialogue and a brilliant balance between all the characters, Tom Hiddlestone is even better this time round as Loki than he was in the Thor movie, much more menacing and convincing as a super villain and Mark Ruffallo is excellent in it, easily the bestThis film is, quite simply, brilliant, everything I wanted from it was there, brilliant action, suspense and humour, fantastically written dialogue and a brilliant balance between all the characters, Tom Hiddlestone is even better this time round as Loki than he was in the Thor movie, much more menacing and convincing as a super villain and Mark Ruffallo is excellent in it, easily the best Bruce Banner we have seen yet. Just brilliant, can't wait for Iron Man 3 now! Expand
  5. May 4, 2012
    7
    Damn fine film. Really captures the classic marvel universe. The film's effects are great, does not over-do them too much. It has a perfect collaboration of story and action and HUMOR. I laughed throughout the whole film. They could have had a better villain... Loki was kind of a ****
  6. May 5, 2012
    10
    If you say that this movie is less than a 10 you must be out of your mind. The BEST movie I have seen in such a long time. Each character was played great and how they used the love/hate relationship of each character in the movie into a fun comedy just made the movie that much more entertaining. For all those who love Marvel and their movies I would recommend to go watch The Avengers andIf you say that this movie is less than a 10 you must be out of your mind. The BEST movie I have seen in such a long time. Each character was played great and how they used the love/hate relationship of each character in the movie into a fun comedy just made the movie that much more entertaining. For all those who love Marvel and their movies I would recommend to go watch The Avengers and see how they change the way a movie should be created and watched. Side not I wouldn't watch it in 3-D from what I was told the movie was made 2-D and then formatted for 3-D. Expand
  7. May 5, 2012
    10
    Absolutely the best Marvel movie, if not the entire superhero genre, I've ever seen. Created by a man who lives and breathes perfection and knows the ethos of the Marvel Multi-verse. When a fan who knows how to make movies, makes a movie...the result is this. Well done Joss Whedon! Normally I have something to complain about with a Marvel movie. At least one thing that will stand outAbsolutely the best Marvel movie, if not the entire superhero genre, I've ever seen. Created by a man who lives and breathes perfection and knows the ethos of the Marvel Multi-verse. When a fan who knows how to make movies, makes a movie...the result is this. Well done Joss Whedon! Normally I have something to complain about with a Marvel movie. At least one thing that will stand out as..."Meh, could have been done better this way..." However, with this film, I left the theatre two and a half hours later, wanting a longer movie and wanting to change nothing! An excellent film! Expand
  8. May 5, 2012
    10
    It released here a week before the official U.S release, so we were much more excited though. generally speaking, first day, first show.Truly amazing experience, one liners for tony stark, heavenly body work from black widow, Arrow sharp hawk eye, Bull frog hammer head Thor, Aye sir - Captain America and the last the smasher- Hulk. A enjoyable treat from Marvel Studios. VisuallyIt released here a week before the official U.S release, so we were much more excited though. generally speaking, first day, first show.Truly amazing experience, one liners for tony stark, heavenly body work from black widow, Arrow sharp hawk eye, Bull frog hammer head Thor, Aye sir - Captain America and the last the smasher- Hulk. A enjoyable treat from Marvel Studios. Visually enhanced, superb production value, A true summer block buster. Expand
  9. Jun 3, 2012
    4
    The 3-D Is Amazing And Epic!
    We Want Somthing New Not Another Freaking Superhero Movie...
    THINK
  10. Jul 12, 2012
    4
    This movie was very tasteless. There was not much of a story and when it started getting good it went right back down. I think it is just too many superheros for one movie. Many questions that came up for the things that just made nosense.
  11. Jul 21, 2012
    0
    Explosions and gags... Wrestlemania is better in this fields... Avengers is the worst movie of superheros of the history, because dont have story. Only Downey Jr. brings some emocion, all the rest are littles and poors.
  12. Jul 21, 2012
    0
    The story was horrid in this movie, it felt very lazy. There was never any inclination that the good guys could lose, or even injured; it made for a very flat, anticlimactic story. That's my biggest gripe, but not my only one. Even knowing the backstory of all the characters from previous movies, I just really didn't care about any of them in this one. The characters were written poorlyThe story was horrid in this movie, it felt very lazy. There was never any inclination that the good guys could lose, or even injured; it made for a very flat, anticlimactic story. That's my biggest gripe, but not my only one. Even knowing the backstory of all the characters from previous movies, I just really didn't care about any of them in this one. The characters were written poorly and it was just compounded by the bad acting. Every scene that had Scarlett Johanson in it was painful to watch. The only character I was even remotely interested in was Bruce Banner / Hulk. This would be a great movie to take an 8 year old to. They would have no problem glazing over the shallow characters and lethargic plot. Expand
  13. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    HULK SMASH!

    The beginning of the film is quite slow but the 2nd half is pure action. For some reason i didnt expect much from this film and boy was i surprised by the end of it. Excellent film and i cant wait for part 2. Before watching this film you have to see all the marvel films from iron man 1 onwards and all the little easter eggs/cameos in them just to enjoy this film more!
  14. Nov 18, 2013
    0
    I expected MUCH more from this movie, I could see a story in this film that really convinced me. I saw more special effects. El personaje de Iron Man, solo arrogancia, no se como les gusta a muchos, una mierda de pelicula
  15. Nov 29, 2013
    0
    The truth is that neither film excited me at any time, lacks epic, awesome and it was very overrated. The truth donot like people I went crazy for this movie.
  16. May 4, 2012
    10
    This movie is funny, it has great action scenes, it's just a great movie. Way better than I expected it to be. The characters play well off each other and seem to be cast perfectly. I would definitely go see it again.
  17. Jun 3, 2012
    1
    This was the worst movie I have seen this year. I generally do not like comic book super hero films but this one really was dreadful. The plot was stupid, the acting was stupid, the aliens were stupid, the street scenes were stupid, and I was stupid for going. Captain America, give me a break! Why did Ruffalo and Renner appear in this piece of garbage? This is what audience crave? Thor andThis was the worst movie I have seen this year. I generally do not like comic book super hero films but this one really was dreadful. The plot was stupid, the acting was stupid, the aliens were stupid, the street scenes were stupid, and I was stupid for going. Captain America, give me a break! Why did Ruffalo and Renner appear in this piece of garbage? This is what audience crave? Thor and his hammer! God, I was sick to my stomach. Expand
  18. May 6, 2012
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. All I can say about this movie is that it was one of best marvel movies so far. The movie was entertaining but the major problem is the story and plot. There has been this build up for 5 years throughout 5 movies in which the main plot had to do with the Tesseract. So as soon as the Avengers movie starts within the first 10-15 minutes the whole plot is destroyed by bad writing and nonsense.

    First we have a Evil villain tell Loki to retrieve this cube for him. So he is given a staff with the same powers of that cube that opens a portal right to it. Now this staff idea ruins all logic in all the the movies. If these aliens were looking for this cube in the first place why didn't they retrieve it using this staff along time ago. So after Loki retrieves the cube he doesn't immediately leave but instead he wastes time getting captured for no apparent reason to have his slaves build a machine to create a huge portal to bring an army to destroy Earth. What? That doesn't make sense. Loki was threaten that once he got the cube to return it to the aliens. Everything was backwards.

    What should have happened was this.
    1)The alien gave Loki an army to invade Earth and retrieve the Terrasect
    2)Thor knowing this army is heading towards Earth warns S.H.I.E.L.D
    3)S.H.I.E.L.D begins to gather the rest of the team
    4)The aliens begin there attack on Earth as a distraction so Loki can retrieve the cube
    5)Loki retrieve the Cube but he and his army is defeated by the Avengers

    There should have been no portals involved in this movie period. Also the flying aircraft carrier was pointless as well. The damn thing served a better purpose in the water instead of the air. All it took was one arrow to put this thing out of commission.
    Expand
  19. May 6, 2012
    6
    The Avengers accomplishes its goal as a fun, super geek event movie. It's not a film, but a movie and a good time. Once people take another look, they will likely notice a weak narrative, not so great special effects, big plausibility issues and less than A+ level filmmaking. Technically, there are many aspects of the movie that are B-level. The actors have a good time, and Robert DowneyThe Avengers accomplishes its goal as a fun, super geek event movie. It's not a film, but a movie and a good time. Once people take another look, they will likely notice a weak narrative, not so great special effects, big plausibility issues and less than A+ level filmmaking. Technically, there are many aspects of the movie that are B-level. The actors have a good time, and Robert Downey Jr steals the show. Expand
  20. May 6, 2012
    7
    I had a great time watching it a lot of awesome fights and action sequences not to mention the special affects, the characters are the same as always you would have had to watch the other movies to understand the characters, but what I didn't like about the plot is the storyline, the antagonist is a supernatural being and god while Captain America, iron man, and the hulk areI had a great time watching it a lot of awesome fights and action sequences not to mention the special affects, the characters are the same as always you would have had to watch the other movies to understand the characters, but what I didn't like about the plot is the storyline, the antagonist is a supernatural being and god while Captain America, iron man, and the hulk are scientifically powered, how is captain America or the other non- super natural being going to fight against a god? Thor is the only one could fight Loci, and you know it just doesn't make sense theoretically, Captain America and Iron man are meant to fight villains like for example the Green Goblin or magneto or something scientifically not a god. Thanks for letting me rant =) Expand
  21. May 6, 2012
    7
    Angels: I expected so much more. I do not want to be a contrarian, but....d'you remember the movie 'John Carter'? ...Well, this reminds me of John Carter, except, the acting is better, and so are the special effects. My mother always says, if you can't say anything nice, don't say anything. I am trying real hard to say something nice, but I'm afraid this review will be short. This was anAngels: I expected so much more. I do not want to be a contrarian, but....d'you remember the movie 'John Carter'? ...Well, this reminds me of John Carter, except, the acting is better, and so are the special effects. My mother always says, if you can't say anything nice, don't say anything. I am trying real hard to say something nice, but I'm afraid this review will be short. This was an electric blue, sharkskin zoot suit, with black and white patent leather alligator shoes, a large diamond lapel pin, swinging a slim ebony cane with a gold handle topped by a sparkling ruby, and the suit is completely empty! Watching this movie was like going out on a date with this gorgeous curvy sex-on-legs amazon, eyes that make love to you, a sleep-with-me-tonight smile and a hip swing that could cause an earthquake who turns out to be a cyborg, with no engine! The Avengers was special effects in search of a movie.
    Angels, stop me now, because I am not saying anything nice. This gets a '7' for the eye popping special effects.
    Expand
  22. May 24, 2012
    5
    this movie is so bland and overrated. honestly i'm still dumbfounded by the fact this movie has garnered good reviews. dont get me wrong. it's not a bad movie but its not as good as everyone think it is. Yes its super cool with a team of superheroes saving the earth but thats pretty much it. the dialogue and script of the movie is so bad. seriously. at times while watching the movie ithis movie is so bland and overrated. honestly i'm still dumbfounded by the fact this movie has garnered good reviews. dont get me wrong. it's not a bad movie but its not as good as everyone think it is. Yes its super cool with a team of superheroes saving the earth but thats pretty much it. the dialogue and script of the movie is so bad. seriously. at times while watching the movie i laughed so hard at the script not becos its hillarious its because of the poor script. very cliche and predictable storyline. The action was not bad. and there are too many plotholes. when we watch a superhero movie we have to defy logic and just enjoy the 2 hours ride but i just cant for this movie. there are so many illogical and unwarranted events. The best marvel film so far is probly iron man without a doubt and maybe the incredible hulk. rober downey jr was at his brilliant best. mark ruffalo does a not bad impersonation of the hulk. the rest are very mediocre. honestly i didnt expect much from this movie. cos u cant expect a top class movie with multiple superheros. but i was quite excited to watch it like i said a team of superheroes. who wouldnt? but i guess blockbuster movies are like that. just hoping the dark knight rises and the amazing spiderman would be epic! Expand
  23. May 4, 2012
    9
    A movie that is worth seeing,fast paced,entertainment,memorable quotes and personally one of the most incredible adventure - sci-fi movies i ever watched.Don't miss it
  24. May 4, 2012
    9
    The Avengers is pure popcorn heaven for nerd and layman alike. Josh Whedon has created a witty, intelligent and action packed spectacle. The interaction between Thor, Bruce Banner, Tony Stark and Steve Rogers is as enthralling as the go-for-broke third act when Manhattan is laid to waste by Loki and his invading army. Worth the wait? Should you believe the hype? Does The Hulk steal theThe Avengers is pure popcorn heaven for nerd and layman alike. Josh Whedon has created a witty, intelligent and action packed spectacle. The interaction between Thor, Bruce Banner, Tony Stark and Steve Rogers is as enthralling as the go-for-broke third act when Manhattan is laid to waste by Loki and his invading army. Worth the wait? Should you believe the hype? Does The Hulk steal the show? Yes, yes and yes. This is what a summer blockbuster should be. Expand
  25. May 5, 2012
    10
    This is possibly the best film ever made. Not the only the best superhero film but the best film ever. I have held the dark knight as my favorite film for a long time and didnt think anything could beat it. The avengers is everything I wanted in a movie a story, brilliant action and humor. Its one of the funniest movies I've seen and the action rivals transformers. The story is what setsThis is possibly the best film ever made. Not the only the best superhero film but the best film ever. I have held the dark knight as my favorite film for a long time and didnt think anything could beat it. The avengers is everything I wanted in a movie a story, brilliant action and humor. Its one of the funniest movies I've seen and the action rivals transformers. The story is what sets it apart and the avengers is truly one of the best films ever made. Expand
  26. Jul 25, 2012
    0
    Avengers is for dumb people, or those that want to be entertained by a bunch of nonsense. We should ask more from Hollywood then the same retreads just on a larger scale.
  27. Jul 27, 2012
    0
    The best superhero movie ever? Not even close. Do NOT believe the hype with this film, it is simply a lot of hot air. Poor acting - check - there are a few brief moments mainly by Eric Banner
    Poorly paced - check - unbelievably clunky beginning then into CGI battle after CGI battle - yawn.
    Poor dialogue - check - this is my biggest annoyance. Whedon is meant to be great at dialogue.
    The best superhero movie ever? Not even close. Do NOT believe the hype with this film, it is simply a lot of hot air. Poor acting - check - there are a few brief moments mainly by Eric Banner
    Poorly paced - check - unbelievably clunky beginning then into CGI battle after CGI battle - yawn.
    Poor dialogue - check - this is my biggest annoyance. Whedon is meant to be great at dialogue. Where did it go so wrong here? Well this little line sums it up - whats the plan of attack? i have a plan. attack. Yeah its that cheesy. Some people are trying to defend the title of it being a mindless popcorn flick by trying to see things that are not there. This happens in any film where it really is as shallow as it looks. There are some nice glances between characters but it is all so contrived and unrealistic its hard to feel anything for it. When the characters are over being spoilt brats there is the coming together period which is meant to be one of the key character moments in an otherwise disappointing display. It's fair to say it falls short, again feeling contrived and unconvincing. DO NOT BELIEVE THE HYPE - this film is poor, at absolute best its around 4/10. I am giving it a 1/10 for a number of reasons. 1 - the number of 10/10 is ridiculous not many films deserve 10/10 and this film certainly does not. 2 - the hype lead me to believe this film would be incredible, its not, this caused great disappointment for me. As other top critics have said this film is shallow and a fun popcorn flick. If you like comic books then its almost certainly for you. If however you like intelligent film making with well developed characters which is well paced - go watch something else.
    Expand
  28. Mar 8, 2013
    2
    A horrible movie, definitely did not deserve the money it made. I can't think of a lot of things that I actually liked about the movie, because there really aren't a lot. I was actually surprised at the story of the movie, it sounds like a mentally challenged child wrote it. The first ten minutes of the movie alone ruined it, it's just a horrible story that only idiots would like. TheA horrible movie, definitely did not deserve the money it made. I can't think of a lot of things that I actually liked about the movie, because there really aren't a lot. I was actually surprised at the story of the movie, it sounds like a mentally challenged child wrote it. The first ten minutes of the movie alone ruined it, it's just a horrible story that only idiots would like. The entire movie is pretty much just special effects and not much else. Unless you're one of those morons whose easily amused by the pretty lights on the screen, don't ever watch this movie. Expand
  29. Nov 27, 2013
    0
    He did not like much. I expected much better. The film was highly overrated, no epic, no emotion, nothing was a cinch. People are very rare, then criticize the serious films like Man of Steel and The Dark Knight Rises, the truth is that this is awesome.
  30. May 6, 2012
    10
    Wow was I wrong!!! Very good movie!!!!!!!!! Great action all the way through!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It was also full of numerous funny moments. Go see it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  31. May 15, 2012
    0
    The Avengers is middling at best. It is incredibly cliched, predictable and shallow. Character development is nil, as well as tension or suspense. Cheesy one liners and attempts at humor further sink The Avengers. The only redeeming quality of the movie was Loki, the main villain.
  32. May 14, 2012
    2
    Where's the story? Lots of punches but nothing to make me interested in the characters or the plot - what plot? What does it say about us that this movie has been so popular? I followed MC's recommendation and was sorely disappointed. The bits of humor and Robert Downey were the only bright spots in a really boring movie. Loki's horns looked ridiculous.
  33. May 4, 2012
    10
    In my honest opinion this movie has the power of visuals from transformers and the epic story of avatar all in a incredible bundle of the greatest comic book story ever made. Those who don't like this movie have something very strange going on in their heads probably trolls or bullies hahaha this is officially my favorite movie of all times i will see it 3 times because its that good!!!
  34. May 4, 2012
    9
    First of all, the story behind this film isn't exactly Oscar material. But the two hours and 20 minutes of non stop action and pure comic-book awesomeness definitely makes up for it. The comedy between the characters, the performances of old and new actors alike, this film is definitely worth a watch...
  35. May 4, 2012
    10
    Well the long awaited " The Avengers" does not disappoint. From start to finish, the pace is fast, sometimes even brutal; with non-stop action and great moments of humor. This mother of all sequels, being a sequel to no less than five films, brings together a multitude of powerhouse superheroes from the Marvel stable. Even if you are not familiar with â
  36. May 4, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Epic! The Avengers is epic. The reason? The story can be simple, but the development is really awesome, have great elements of the comic. The characters have an awesome development, is interesting the things that Whedon do with all the cast, and now the cast, wow, is amazing, their performances are perfect, the better are Robert Downey Jr. as Iron Man/Tony Stark, Mark Ruffalo as Hulk/Bruce Banner and Tom Hiddleston as Loki. The effects are amazing, in moments the movie is like Transformers, but no problem, becuase the effects (of Transformers) are amazing, and Michael Bay can watch some battle scenes of The Avengers for do a better movie. The soundtrack is really fantastic, and the score wow. The script is incredible, have much intelligent and funny moments, I love it. And the scene after the titles, OMG! Is epic. The Avengers is the best movie of 2012 (in this moment) I can't wait for The Avengers 2. This is the best of Marvel. Expand
  37. May 4, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It was the year 2008; the movie was The Incredible Hulk! In the last scene, there entered Tony Stark/Iron Man and he presented the Avengers Initiative. That day made me believe that we are going to have the biggest superhero movie ever made in a few years. And ultimately in 2012, they gave us, The Avengers! A movie that changed the definition for WOW significantly! And also it managed to raise the bar for superhero movies now.

    The movie starts off directly into the plot where Loki (Tom Hiddleston), the Norse God returns to acquire the Energy Cube (Tessaract), the S.H.I.E.L.D. Agents found under the ocean, and bring war to earth. As the situation worsens, Nicky Fury (Samuel L Jackson) makes a call to all the Avengers. They assemble up to end the war and finally defeat and stop Loki from his ill intentions. An edge-of-the-seat experience, where you hold your breath at every moment, as the movie brings in more surprises with the new elements never before used in action movies.

    I kind of knew that Iron Man (Robert Downey Jr) would be stealing the show, which he totally owned in the first half. He always did everything in style. But still, not one character looked under-stated. Everyone had their contribution. Agent Maria Hill (Cobie Smulders) was really a surprise and she indeed played her role pretty well. Mark Ruffalo (Bruce Banner/Hulk) brought in a new side of Bruce Banner which totally changed the old boring personality he had been portrayed in the earlier movies. The beautiful and sensuous Scarlett Johansson played the Black Widow character, a bad-ass spy with a soft heart, with grace and dexterity. Her role also was given those pretty sharp dialogues making her look elegant. Samuel L. Jackson never disappoints, no matter what role he plays. The others, Chris Evans (Captain America), Chris Hemsworth (Thor), Jeremy Renner (Hawkeye), Tom Hiddleston (Loki) also put in their share of the superhero thingy that made the whole movie look complete.

    This movie had the best CGI I ever came across in any movie, which didnâ
    Expand
  38. May 4, 2012
    10
    We've been waiting for this movie a long time and it was worth it. Since iron man in 2008 we knew that an Avenger movie was coming. This is the best marvel movie so far and i have the chance to work in a movie theatre and I will have the chance to watch the movie over and over again!!!!
  39. Jul 3, 2012
    6
    Where are the attractive actresses? Are they all locked in rich peoples basements? Why can't an attractive female be in movies? Your review must be at least 150 characters long.
  40. May 24, 2012
    0
    I listened to everyone who raved about this movie and I was so disappointed. Boring with a capital B; I could generally anticipate everything that they were going to do, say, or have a big noise to surprize the audience. Even the visual effects was so predictable and the dialogue was straight out of Screenwriting 101. If you must see it, rent it on DVD so you can fast forward through allI listened to everyone who raved about this movie and I was so disappointed. Boring with a capital B; I could generally anticipate everything that they were going to do, say, or have a big noise to surprize the audience. Even the visual effects was so predictable and the dialogue was straight out of Screenwriting 101. If you must see it, rent it on DVD so you can fast forward through all the endless exposition of people talking you to death. Expand
  41. May 27, 2012
    0
    I'm a Long time Whedon fan who was BORED BEYOND BELIEF. Can't believe the most commercially successful thing he's ever done is far-and-away his worst - oh, the irony. "Avengers" focused on everything that sucks about super-hero movies - absurd plot based on dumbest-ever world-threatening McGuffin, stupid villain, convenient-not-clever heroics. I don't hate the genre - I liked "Iron Man"I'm a Long time Whedon fan who was BORED BEYOND BELIEF. Can't believe the most commercially successful thing he's ever done is far-and-away his worst - oh, the irony. "Avengers" focused on everything that sucks about super-hero movies - absurd plot based on dumbest-ever world-threatening McGuffin, stupid villain, convenient-not-clever heroics. I don't hate the genre - I liked "Iron Man" and even "Capt America." But from the opening action sequence on, I just didn't care one iota about anything that was happening. Contemplated walking out after about 45 minutes and wish I had as it's an ENDLESS MOVIE and I'll never get those 2.5 hours back. I give Joss points for giving little girls someone to root for by making Black Widow a substantial member of the team and not the mere token chick. That there are about 3 good jokes, but none are worth the time and money. If you love Joss, watch Serenity again it's 10 thousand times better. Expand
  42. May 4, 2012
    10
    Whedon did best for this movie.Such a great and unforgettable adventure.With outstanding action scenes(better and clear than Michael Bay's Transformers)delicate sense of humor and touchable feelings.The best movie in the marvel and Marvel Universe history.My point is 100+++
  43. May 6, 2012
    10
    I am having trouble thinking of a movie I have ever enjoyed more. I am not having much luck though. I cant recommend this movie enough. Can't wait to see it again.
  44. May 4, 2012
    10
    Finally. First of all, the movie is amazing. You don't have to like really superheroes to like it. My GF never read a Marvel comic and she loved it. I don't blame her, this is the best superhero movie of all time (Nolan fans, shut up, TDK is NOT a superhero movie). Second of all, if a movie is released internationally a week earlier, you at metacritic should let users to review it. We allFinally. First of all, the movie is amazing. You don't have to like really superheroes to like it. My GF never read a Marvel comic and she loved it. I don't blame her, this is the best superhero movie of all time (Nolan fans, shut up, TDK is NOT a superhero movie). Second of all, if a movie is released internationally a week earlier, you at metacritic should let users to review it. We all know sometimes people's opinions are better than some reviewers ones. I found stupid that the user critics were blocked until today. USA isn't the whole world, you know?

    To the haters: Piss off.

    To the lovers: "Puny god"
    Expand
  45. May 4, 2012
    10
    As usual, Iron Man steals the show but never expected humor coming from the Hulk in this one (Thor, The Cap, Agent Coulson, Loki all had their moments) . Story is well-written and acting is fairly good. Thor's acting is much improved over his previous outing. In my opinion the best superhero movie that combines humor and heart.
  46. May 5, 2012
    10
    simply awesome movie. Thor hulk iron man black-widow hawk-eye each and every character is great. great action thriller movie with good sense of humor. specially robert downy jr. is ridiculously great.
  47. May 28, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. NOTE: This review contains a few -brief- and -nonspecific- spoilers to The Avengers and other recent Marvel films. It shouldnâ Expand
  48. Dec 8, 2013
    0
    A get together of superheroes should have been set more entertainingly. When you don't have a story good enough, even a lot of superheroes fail to keep you hooked. The Aviator might have sounded exciting on paper, but what I watched was a let-down. I take consolation in knowing that it worked out for the majority of its audience (purely going by the ratings shown here). Can't wait for theA get together of superheroes should have been set more entertainingly. When you don't have a story good enough, even a lot of superheroes fail to keep you hooked. The Aviator might have sounded exciting on paper, but what I watched was a let-down. I take consolation in knowing that it worked out for the majority of its audience (purely going by the ratings shown here). Can't wait for the sequel!!! With all due respect, 1/5 sounds fair enough for the experience. Miss the good old days wherein I can picture myself enjoying this sort of movie. Expand
  49. May 23, 2012
    2
    Despite being billed as an action movie, The Avengers is painfully slow. Much of the plot involves the eponymous team fighting each other, though we all know going in that they will eventually team-up, so this lengthy attempt at conflict seems especially sluggish and misdirected. Robert Downey Jr. And Samuel L. Jackson both manage to pull focus and remind you you're watching a bad movieDespite being billed as an action movie, The Avengers is painfully slow. Much of the plot involves the eponymous team fighting each other, though we all know going in that they will eventually team-up, so this lengthy attempt at conflict seems especially sluggish and misdirected. Robert Downey Jr. And Samuel L. Jackson both manage to pull focus and remind you you're watching a bad movie more than they usually do, which is saying something; and the cast is generally much too aware they are in a movie for it to work. Indeed, The Avengers is so remarkably unambitious they even manage to avoid developing some of the team's most notable members like The Scarlet Witch and The Vision, choices that would be mystifying if it wasn't so clearly a cynically half-hearted attempt at storytelling. Nevertheless, Chris Evans is still nice to look at. Expand
  50. May 6, 2012
    5
    Ultimately, The Avengers is a Joss Whedon movie. For those familiar with Joss Whedon's works, you have a formulaic approach to group dynamics. There's the Buffy the Vampire Slayer Girl of the group, who is unfazed and stoic to all of the happenings around her and utilizes her femininity to trick the men around her while she lays the smack down. You have the Goofy Guy who makes light ofUltimately, The Avengers is a Joss Whedon movie. For those familiar with Joss Whedon's works, you have a formulaic approach to group dynamics. There's the Buffy the Vampire Slayer Girl of the group, who is unfazed and stoic to all of the happenings around her and utilizes her femininity to trick the men around her while she lays the smack down. You have the Goofy Guy who makes light of everything and is terribly superficial. The No-Nonsense, Misplaced Guy who typically acts like he carries a heavy burden around with him in a world he doesn't fit in with anymore. And so and so forth. Essentially, if you've watched Buffy, Angel, Firefly, Serenity, or even read Whedon's run on Uncanny X-Men, you have the jist of his workings, a method he uses over and over again. If you're a fan, you'll love The Avengers. If you're not, well, Robert Downey, Jr keeps it entertaining (because this is his third outing in role he's grown into, unlike the rest of the cast). The Avengers is a good movie, but I think people ought to reconsider whether they're getting something fresh and entertaining, or if Whedon is just exploiting an already established character base of heroes and putting them into a mold he's done several times before. Expand
  51. May 27, 2013
    0
    I don't like all characters, Iron Man, Captain America, The Hulk, Thor, Black Widow, Hawkeye, and antagonist. Their weaon, costume, armor is very unattractive. I don't like superhero movies. They are invincible, they always win easily. That is why I love protagonist from horror movies or mafia movie, the protagonist dies or survive. Protagonist who try to survive with kitchen knife, axe,I don't like all characters, Iron Man, Captain America, The Hulk, Thor, Black Widow, Hawkeye, and antagonist. Their weaon, costume, armor is very unattractive. I don't like superhero movies. They are invincible, they always win easily. That is why I love protagonist from horror movies or mafia movie, the protagonist dies or survive. Protagonist who try to survive with kitchen knife, axe, or pistol with 3 bullets, like Erin from The Texas Chain Saw Massacre. Expand
  52. Oct 19, 2013
    0
    I hate how marvel shows their heroes today, very violent and taking so many lives. they are too brutal and it's hard to view them as heroes especially when a huge part of marvel's fan base are children. They are viewed as gods and its ridiculous that they just take a life at will. Another thing that I hate is marvel is just being a copycat with this movie. With Loki purposely gettingI hate how marvel shows their heroes today, very violent and taking so many lives. they are too brutal and it's hard to view them as heroes especially when a huge part of marvel's fan base are children. They are viewed as gods and its ridiculous that they just take a life at will. Another thing that I hate is marvel is just being a copycat with this movie. With Loki purposely getting captured like the joker in the dark knight then destroying the air base from within just like how joker destroyed the police station. Another thing is the whole destroy the mothership and kill the whole army this is copied from Battle L.A. And Star Wars the phantom menace. Marvel is just a mediocre copycat company. They should be more original with the wonderful characters that they have. Expand
  53. Jan 5, 2013
    9
    Got to be the best movie i saw in 2012. Great cast a very simplistic but decent story and some good dialogue. One of the things i like about this film and it gets so right is a GREAT final battle in the last 45 minutes which just looks amazing. alot of theese comic book movie films have theese crap 1-2 minute ones that are just so lame and anticlimactic that it almost makes the movie feelGot to be the best movie i saw in 2012. Great cast a very simplistic but decent story and some good dialogue. One of the things i like about this film and it gets so right is a GREAT final battle in the last 45 minutes which just looks amazing. alot of theese comic book movie films have theese crap 1-2 minute ones that are just so lame and anticlimactic that it almost makes the movie feel like a waste. The one problem is though you have a great team of super heroes fighting one guy names loki and his army of Alien things. would have been so much cooler if it was a team of villians. Oh well for Avengers 2 then hopefully. Other then that don't waste your time seeing this in 3D . This was my first 3D movie i rented for my 3D TV and the 3D just felt tacked on outside of a few moments when it looked cool. Avengers in the end has to be the best Comic book to movie out there so far. Expand
  54. May 4, 2012
    9
    A dream come true. Good actor's performances, and a perfect mix of action and comedy make this film what every passionate about comics wanted. Best Marvel Movie
  55. May 6, 2012
    10
    Anyone who doesn't like this movie needs to get their head out from between their cheeks and re-evaluate their life.
  56. Nov 7, 2012
    9
    I was exhausted at the end of this movie. The Avengers is a nonstop high speed roller coaster ride. I must admit I was never a fan of the comic book which always kind of read like the comics version of the Allstar game and their are some cheesy moments like Iron Mans AC-DC theme music (we get it already). Whedon somehow turns the swashbuckling superhero movie into a brutal grittyI was exhausted at the end of this movie. The Avengers is a nonstop high speed roller coaster ride. I must admit I was never a fan of the comic book which always kind of read like the comics version of the Allstar game and their are some cheesy moments like Iron Mans AC-DC theme music (we get it already). Whedon somehow turns the swashbuckling superhero movie into a brutal gritty slugfest. At the end you feel as beat up as the combatants. Well done. Expand
  57. May 6, 2012
    10
    One of the few movies that lives up to the hype and actually manages to exceed it in almost every way. All the actors deserve major props. RDJ continues to make tony stark a compelling character. Cap and Thor both do great with their roles. Scarlett Johansson has never impressed me with her acting chops (she has in other ways though), but she does a great job with the character she isOne of the few movies that lives up to the hype and actually manages to exceed it in almost every way. All the actors deserve major props. RDJ continues to make tony stark a compelling character. Cap and Thor both do great with their roles. Scarlett Johansson has never impressed me with her acting chops (she has in other ways though), but she does a great job with the character she is given. Jeremy Renner is unsurprisingly badass as Hawkeye as well. Tom Hiddleston plays the slimy bastard that is Loki so well that it makes sense a team of heroes would be necessary. The scene stealer is the Hulk, whether he is "the other guy" or not. Awesome job by Mark Ruffalo and unexpected by me and many others for sure. However, the biggest reason the movie works is because of Joss Whedon. Never seen much of his work but he really shows his skill with dialogue, jokes, character arcs, and especially female characters. The action was the best I have ever seen. Imagine Transformers if it had characters you care about and a story that made sense. The acting and action were probably expected by all of us, but my worries were with the pacing and how all of the characters would get their due. The pacing was perfect and I wouldnt have complained if the movie was 3 hours long. Whedon confirmed there are 30 minutes of deleted scenes, I hope he changes his mind and one day releases the 3 hour film. As for the characters, they physically fight only within the confines of the story. I was nervous their interactions would be forced, but Whedon does a great job of keeping them related to the story. The comedy in Iron Man 2 really threw off the serious aspects of the story, but somehow the comedy flows within the story so that when the story is serious, you feel that as well. Not an easy achievement by any means. While TDKR will certainly be the better overall film (at least it looks that way), The Avengers is the more fun film and a film that you will never get sick of. What a great summer for comic book fans, and movie fans in general. Chances are you have seen The Avengers (just broke all time domestic record), so nothing i say will matter anyway. An instant classic and one of my favorites. Expand
  58. Sep 7, 2012
    10
    Excellent film, perfect in every way for me. It is definitely as cool as you think it's going to be seeing as Joss Whedon has an obvious love for all of these characters and a understanding of what each of them special. It's a long old movie too, around 2.30 hours which gives you plenty of story but also plenty of action. The action is very special too, amazing effects and an inventiveExcellent film, perfect in every way for me. It is definitely as cool as you think it's going to be seeing as Joss Whedon has an obvious love for all of these characters and a understanding of what each of them special. It's a long old movie too, around 2.30 hours which gives you plenty of story but also plenty of action. The action is very special too, amazing effects and an inventive way of displaying the action. The characters are fleshed out as much as they need to be, but the main focus here is action action action, lovely. Whedon's probably the best thing about Hollywood at the moment. Expand
  59. May 5, 2012
    8
    It did not help that the trailers spoiled several moments which really were great, but the start and middle were pretty plodding: we've had Captain America, Thor and 2 Iron Mans so we really did not need so much "assembly" time. Only the final scenes matched up to my expectations after reading so much ridiculous hype (and seeing the aformentioned trailers).

    The Hulk's line is wonderful,
    It did not help that the trailers spoiled several moments which really were great, but the start and middle were pretty plodding: we've had Captain America, Thor and 2 Iron Mans so we really did not need so much "assembly" time. Only the final scenes matched up to my expectations after reading so much ridiculous hype (and seeing the aformentioned trailers).

    The Hulk's line is wonderful, but poorly delivered and 2 of the people who saw the film with me did not even catch it as a result.

    There's also a lot of exposition completely missing: why was the Hulk a self-confessed untamed monster who actually tries to kill Black Widow but the NEXT time he "comes out" he's transformed into an entirely willing ally? Not just willing but intelligent enough to follow "orders" and constantly put himself in the right place at the right time ...
    There's nothing close to a hint as to why.
    Expand
  60. May 6, 2012
    10
    It was pretty damn good, haha. I didn't walk in expecting a good movie honestly, I thought it would be an over the top silly... I don't know. All I know is it was a great movie.
  61. Jun 6, 2012
    5
    This movie wasn´t of my totally pleasantness, fools jokes, boring and spent history, but i wasn't like! i don't like! is a stupid movie. I only save the special effects
  62. May 4, 2012
    8
    The best Avengers film that could have been made. Funny and fun, the characters pop like a comic book character on-screen should. Hoping for future installments of similar quality.
  63. Jul 3, 2012
    9
    Josh Whedon brought out the best in every character. Sharing the screen time between the group of heroes and playing them off each other with a master's touch. There were no wasted moments are dead-end story threads as found in most comic movies. The villains and threat lived up to the use of the group of heroes. They all got their time in the spotlight. This is the best Marvel film toJosh Whedon brought out the best in every character. Sharing the screen time between the group of heroes and playing them off each other with a master's touch. There were no wasted moments are dead-end story threads as found in most comic movies. The villains and threat lived up to the use of the group of heroes. They all got their time in the spotlight. This is the best Marvel film to date, and by far the best use of the Hulk. Expand
  64. Jan 17, 2013
    4
    I obviously don't hold the popular opinion here, but to me this movie just didn't measure up. I've seen both Iron Man movies, Captain America, and many of the past Marvel movies including characters featured in this film, and I thought most if not all of them were better than this one. Maybe it's just that I've outgrown the more playful and mindlessly violent tone of these types of movies,I obviously don't hold the popular opinion here, but to me this movie just didn't measure up. I've seen both Iron Man movies, Captain America, and many of the past Marvel movies including characters featured in this film, and I thought most if not all of them were better than this one. Maybe it's just that I've outgrown the more playful and mindlessly violent tone of these types of movies, but to me the movie just felt childish and simplistic. I realize that in a way, it's a great triumph seeing this crazy symphony of classic Marvel characters clashing with enemies and sometimes themselves, which in a way makes it the perfect superhero movie, but it just doesn't seem to create the same type of captivation one would expect from such an ordeal. It just feels goofy and undeveloped in a sense, unfortunately. Expand
  65. Jul 17, 2012
    10
    The best super hero movie I've yet seen and a damn fine action flick with some genuine humor and touches of heart, a must see.

    I can well understand the complaints as to the story it's not Shakespeare but does anyone expect it to be? It's story suits it perfectly however and had me at least wanting to see even if I already guessed what would happen next. A must see.
  66. May 5, 2012
    9
    Surprised and delighted at how this turned out. Not sure the 3d added anything special to the action but the action is superb and the light moments are genius. It cannot be compared to the dark knight in terms of best super hero movie ever but it's exactly what the fans wanted from this franchise.
  67. VDS
    May 11, 2012
    7
    Superhero movies need two things - a decent baddie (not too camp, not too psychotic) and the film must still be watchable when the heroes are in civilian mode. Does The Avengers have both of these? Just about. The baddie, Loki from the first Thor movie, has the (Hollywood) required British accent that all baddies must have these days, and weaves carefully between camp and stabby-nasty,Superhero movies need two things - a decent baddie (not too camp, not too psychotic) and the film must still be watchable when the heroes are in civilian mode. Does The Avengers have both of these? Just about. The baddie, Loki from the first Thor movie, has the (Hollywood) required British accent that all baddies must have these days, and weaves carefully between camp and stabby-nasty, without straying too far into either territory, though the horned helmet was surely daft.

    When the heroes aren't on screen, the movie's carried by Samuel L Jackson, Robert Downy Jr, and Chris Evans, who together manage to neutralize Scarlett Johansson's usual monotone, single expression, cardboard cut out performance. New Hulk on the block Mark Ruffalo, is probably the best Bruce Banner to date. Thor and Hawkeye make up the numbers, and though I loved the Thor/Hulk punch-up scene (comic fan boy wet dream), thought the film would haven't lacked if either Norse god or arrow slinging assassin had stayed at home. Script-wise, there were some nice touches, with Samuel L Jackson's Rick Savage (silly name) leaving one classic sentence unfinished and therefore adding to the kudos factor ten fold (you should spot it if you're paying attention). Luckily there wasn't too much of the irritating Tony Stark/Pepper Potts sniping that made Iron Man 2 so hard to bear. Chris Evans' Capt America was the biggest surprise for me. I thought in a lot of ways he was the clue that held the thing together - neither too gung-ho, too whiny and too daft, three traits that curse a lot of on screen superheroes.

    The action sequences were ok, but the one at Shield headquarters felt a little contrived. The pacing also abruptly shifted down a gear about half an hour into the film, and stayed there for what felt like too long, with all the talkie bits stitched together in one long sequence. On the whole though, quite good for a superhero film, and from a box office point of view, beat that Spider-Man and Batman.
    Expand
  68. Jul 4, 2012
    9
    Probably one of THE best Marvel film out there. This film has everything a Marvel fan or any Action fan has and even more! The writing is superb and it doesn't make 1 superhero above everyone else, all of them are equal even the lesser ones like Hawkeye and Black Widow, heck even Nick Fury. Unfortunately this film is plagued with a fault every other Marvel film has; pacing. I feel that theProbably one of THE best Marvel film out there. This film has everything a Marvel fan or any Action fan has and even more! The writing is superb and it doesn't make 1 superhero above everyone else, all of them are equal even the lesser ones like Hawkeye and Black Widow, heck even Nick Fury. Unfortunately this film is plagued with a fault every other Marvel film has; pacing. I feel that the middle-point of the film was very boring and it was just talkin and talkin also the attack on the flying ship was pretty lame too, there wasn't much spectacle except when Banner Hulks out. Which comes to my next point, holy sht the last fight is pretty intense and literally redeems all of the flaws I have with this film. So I'll give it a 9/10. If it wasn't for the epic climax I'd probably rate it a 6/10 or 7/10. Expand
  69. May 5, 2012
    9
    Up to now The Avengers is the best superhero film ever made including DC Comics films. The begining is a little slow with some decent jokes and dialogs lokis army is something totaly improvised for a half normal avengers universe and half ultimate avengers universe hibrid storyline. I was specting a cameo that never happened and to talk about ant-man and wasp in these film is totalyUp to now The Avengers is the best superhero film ever made including DC Comics films. The begining is a little slow with some decent jokes and dialogs lokis army is something totaly improvised for a half normal avengers universe and half ultimate avengers universe hibrid storyline. I was specting a cameo that never happened and to talk about ant-man and wasp in these film is totaly irrelevant. the greedy bastards are gonna make tons of money with this avengers films. i dont think any of these actor are compromised with their role or even heard about it before they became thor widow Expand
  70. Jul 14, 2012
    10
    This movie. This movie right here. Iron Man being awesome will be more than enough to entertain you. Personally, I was apparently the only one who thought Hulk was BY FAR the best part of this film. I felt like they just nailed it with that character both as Bruce and the Hulk. We've already seen Iron Man but this was the first really good Hulk. There were points where I actuallyThis movie. This movie right here. Iron Man being awesome will be more than enough to entertain you. Personally, I was apparently the only one who thought Hulk was BY FAR the best part of this film. I felt like they just nailed it with that character both as Bruce and the Hulk. We've already seen Iron Man but this was the first really good Hulk. There were points where I actually clapped out of sheer excitement and joy, and I never react like that to a film. On that basis alone I'm giving this a 10. It may not have the best plot. It may be a bit cheesy. Some of the characters feel like a waste of time. But I have NEVER had that positive an experience in a theater. Therefore, ALL THE POINTS. Expand
  71. May 4, 2012
    9
    i thought the movie combined all the strong points of the movies it was based on. i didn't think i could make it any better.
  72. Jul 17, 2012
    10
    With every superhero movie there has to be spectacle, its just a given. The fighting, the actors, everything has to be visually stunning. The problem with superhero movies is that a director (or even to an extent a writer) can get so wrapped up in making the film surprising in its aesthetics that it fails to give the film the emotional resonance you can find all too easily in the comicsWith every superhero movie there has to be spectacle, its just a given. The fighting, the actors, everything has to be visually stunning. The problem with superhero movies is that a director (or even to an extent a writer) can get so wrapped up in making the film surprising in its aesthetics that it fails to give the film the emotional resonance you can find all too easily in the comics these characters come from. Luckily for anyone thinking about going to see the Avengers (who are we kidding, most of you are) Joss Whedon (Buffy The Vampire Slayer, Firefly/Serenity) understands the characters he is directing. He understands what makes them tick, why they fight, who they are as people and as heroes. The writing (by Whedon and Zak Penn) is equal parts powerful and hilarious allowing for levity in a story filled with impeding doom. The story isn't overly complicated to follow and the film never loses momentum (even at its gigantic run time of 2 hours and 25 minutes) keeping you entertained for the entire run. The reintroduction of the key cast members is well paced while introducing some much needed personality to characters that failed to receive any in their own origins movies (Captain America, I'm looking at you). Don't get me wrong, the movie isn't all talking. Over half of the film is action (as you would expect) but the action never feels shoehorned in like it did in Iron Man 2 or The Incredible Hulk. The incredible set pieces look fantastic thanks to some undeniably imaginative direction by Whedon who puts the 220 million dollar budget to good use with some incredibly clever shots, especially towards the end of the film. The film is smart, funny, beautiful and services every single Avenger, including some of the until now overlooked ones such as Scarlett Johansson's Black Widow, Jeremy Renner's Hawkeye (who up until this point has had literally one line in Thor) and Samuel L Jackson's Nick Fury. That being said, the characters you are going to go see the movie for are still the same dynamic leads you remember them to be from Robert Downey Jr's genius playboy Tony Stark to Chris Hemsworth's arrogant yet loveable Thor. It's not just the best superhero movie of the year (of which we can expect many like the new Spiderman and The Dark Knight Rises), its the best superhero movie ever, and this is coming from someone who thinks the world of Batman Begins. It's not only worth a watch, its worth several. However if you are going to go and see it, check out the cheaper and much more striking 2D version as the film is much brighter and undeniably more vivid. Enjoy. Expand
  73. May 13, 2012
    8
    I kept hearing this movie sucked over and over, but it doesn't, in fact It's pretty good. The story had a good level of clarity and didn't do anything that contradicts the comics and other media too badly, the biggest complaint I have is the bad guys in the movie are a little lame.
  74. May 14, 2012
    8
    When Iron Man or Hulk was on screen it was awesome. The only good actor was the guy who played Hawkeye.

    Every time Captain America was on-screen it was painfully bad. It was good an bad at the same time.
  75. May 4, 2012
    10
    "The Avengers" is thoughtful, funny, charming, consistent, and balances quiet moments with extremely clear and well executed action scenes. Some critics have talked about Samuel L. Jackson's glue for the superhero team, but Clark Gregg's Agent Coulson is the true glue, the one character that brings heart to the parade.

    All of the characters are a marvel to watch, they each continue their
    "The Avengers" is thoughtful, funny, charming, consistent, and balances quiet moments with extremely clear and well executed action scenes. Some critics have talked about Samuel L. Jackson's glue for the superhero team, but Clark Gregg's Agent Coulson is the true glue, the one character that brings heart to the parade.

    All of the characters are a marvel to watch, they each continue their story arcs as introduced in previous films, no time is wasted on exposition, and The Hulk finally gets to shine in a brilliant performance by Mark Ruffalo. Robert Downey Jr. is hilarious as always, and matching his timing and talents with the words of Josh Whedon is like marriage made in a heavenly hell. Nice stuff! Other characters become slightly minor, but all of them have their moments. My whole family left the theatre with a smile on our faces.
    Expand
  76. May 6, 2012
    10
    A simply magnificent movie. Perfect blending of story and action, screen never feels overcrowded with action ( such as in transformers) Some of the funniest scenes I've seen in a movie in years. The unbelievably low rating average is from pompous critics who almost certainly decided not to like the movie well before they saw it. If you THINK you will like it, you will love it. If you thinkA simply magnificent movie. Perfect blending of story and action, screen never feels overcrowded with action ( such as in transformers) Some of the funniest scenes I've seen in a movie in years. The unbelievably low rating average is from pompous critics who almost certainly decided not to like the movie well before they saw it. If you THINK you will like it, you will love it. If you think you wont like it, you will, and if you think you will hate it, well you are probably an ass anyway. Expand
  77. May 7, 2012
    10
    This movie is the very definition of the word Blockbuster. It is the most fun I have had at the movies in a long time. The action was great. The movies was funny and moved at a brisk pace. Nuf said.
  78. May 14, 2012
    10
    Excellent and very funny movie! All the main characters get some great lines, lots of good action, lots of fun.

    Easily one of the best superhero movies in recent memory (excepting the amazing Batman reboot series).

    Best. Line. Ever. "Clench up Legolas" (said by Ironman to Hawk-eye).
  79. May 7, 2012
    9
    The best of the Marvel Superhero movies so far. The movie does a great job giving each guy a good moment. It's nice to see this movie FINALLY come together and be really good.
  80. Aug 23, 2012
    9
    The only time I review movies on this site is when I see a spectacular movie. But this one just blew me away. Previously only watched Iron Man and Hulk I didn't know what else to expect apart from a mechanical suit and an angry gamma radiated monster. With the addition of 4 other superb characters it turned Avengers into a superb showpiece. The directing was appropriate for the given taskThe only time I review movies on this site is when I see a spectacular movie. But this one just blew me away. Previously only watched Iron Man and Hulk I didn't know what else to expect apart from a mechanical suit and an angry gamma radiated monster. With the addition of 4 other superb characters it turned Avengers into a superb showpiece. The directing was appropriate for the given task and gave audience the feeling that you're part of this mission to save the world. Special effects and action makes this ANOTHER one of those superhero movies, but is it really worth the hype. It certainly is and the box office proves it too. Expand
  81. May 6, 2012
    10
    The story wasn't elite but it didn't need to be. The story to me was better than I expected and the action scenes didn't disappoint. The thing that impressed me about this movie more than anything else is how seemlessly the characters interacted. The characters never lost sight of who they were the whole movie, and the script did an excellent job at having them interact with each otherThe story wasn't elite but it didn't need to be. The story to me was better than I expected and the action scenes didn't disappoint. The thing that impressed me about this movie more than anything else is how seemlessly the characters interacted. The characters never lost sight of who they were the whole movie, and the script did an excellent job at having them interact with each other exactly how I thought they would interact. No hero stole the movie and none were snubbed, they all got even air time and they all flashed their powers. I saw this movie twice opening weekend, it was that good. Expand
  82. May 7, 2012
    10
    Marvel's The Avengers is what the stuff of true blockbusters are made of. Usually with superhero movies, only a few of them truly transend the genre to new levels. But with Avengers, the film itself UPLIFTS the genre to new levels.This is a movie you don't want to miss. Go see it. Now.
  83. May 6, 2012
    10
    Joss Whedon's action packed Marvel adventure The Avengers is a success in almost every way possible. With such a big cast and many important characters, juggling them all would be something hard to accomplish, making sure they all get their screen time and we get to see their point of view, but for Joss, making such movies to their fullest potential seems to be in his nature.

    The best
    Joss Whedon's action packed Marvel adventure The Avengers is a success in almost every way possible. With such a big cast and many important characters, juggling them all would be something hard to accomplish, making sure they all get their screen time and we get to see their point of view, but for Joss, making such movies to their fullest potential seems to be in his nature.



    The best part about The Avengers is that Iron Man (Robert Downey Jr.), Thor (Chris Hemsworth), Captain America (Chris Evans), Hulk (Mark Ruffalo), Black Widow (Scarlett Johansson) Hawkeye (Jeremy Renner), Nick Fury (Samuel L. Jackson) and Loki (Tom Hiddleston) are all apart of this one (very best) Marvel blockbuster. Each with their own unique introduction (and all giving exceptional performances), you get the chills every time one is introduced and they continue throughout the movie. The Avengers initiative was something introduced to us in Iron Man 2 with our first look at Black Widow and Nick Fury, director of S.H.I.E.L.D., but it wasn't something ever forced until needed. Now that Loki, the god of mischief (brother of Thor, god of thunder) made Nick Fury very desperate, he has no choice to to initiate The Avengers. What brings Loki back? He still doesn't sit well with his adoptive bother having all of his glory with being king of Asgard and plans to destroy the world by stealing the Tesseract (a cosmic cube that can open to portal from planet to planet) and with his army of aliens.



    The Avengers is taken at a steady pace, focusing on the heroes themselves and their relationships with each other developing (they don't like one another at first). While this goes on with the most necessary humor (I'm not being sarcastic) and some action between them we learn more about how Loki's plan is working with getting captured and unleashing his army and how The Avengers work together.



    From beginning to end The Avengers is one of the most successful action packed comic book adaptations ever. You couldn't ask for more with everything it serves to fans of all ages. The visual effects are great as expected, and the action is the best I've seen. This was also the first time I could say that the Hulk was portrayed successfully in a way I'm sure almost everyone enjoyed.
    Expand
  84. May 7, 2012
    10
    Best movie I've seen so far out of 2012, with spectacular effects and all of my favorite Marvel characters clashing together. Oh lawd, this was a great movie.
  85. May 12, 2012
    6
    There is too much mayhem in the movie for my taste, although the story line is quite interesting: getting a group of superheroes, whose styles and personalities essentially do not click together, to get one supremely difficult task done. And the Big Boss is a black man! I would have liked to see some other minority groups, i.e., Asians and Hispanics, take a part in this huge enterprise too.
  86. Jun 8, 2012
    5
    This movie isn't what it's all cracked up to be. I honestly didn't like it. The effects and what not was amazing but, the plot in general and the acting kind of pissed me off. But, In some cases I actually liked it.
  87. May 15, 2012
    10
    First of all, the fact that the critics show a score of less than 80 for this film shows that these guys OBVIOUSLY do not know how to enjoy a good film. They spend so much time complicating knit-picky details in their nerdy little heads that it is IMPOSSIBLE for them to enjoy a TRULY GOOD film. And the fact that they rated it in the 60s screams a warning to anyone who will listen thatFirst of all, the fact that the critics show a score of less than 80 for this film shows that these guys OBVIOUSLY do not know how to enjoy a good film. They spend so much time complicating knit-picky details in their nerdy little heads that it is IMPOSSIBLE for them to enjoy a TRULY GOOD film. And the fact that they rated it in the 60s screams a warning to anyone who will listen that SOMEONE needs to take their bongs away from them at least one week prior to going to see ANY movie upon which they will be writing a review. : Expand
  88. May 6, 2012
    9
    I'm really glad how this turned out. I thought that it would take itself way too seriously, but it had some of the greatest jokes and one liners at the most dramatic moments that weren't completely inappropriate. If u have the money, go see this movie because it's a blast of fun from start too finish
  89. Jul 21, 2012
    10
    Literally greatest comic book movie to date. And this is even having watched The Dark Knight Rises just last night to solidify my claim. A movie that never loses it's sense of heroes and the act of heroism is just as glorious as it is sacrificial. It is something to be cheered, not something to be mourned. A superhero film that actually follows the essence of a comic book instead ofLiterally greatest comic book movie to date. And this is even having watched The Dark Knight Rises just last night to solidify my claim. A movie that never loses it's sense of heroes and the act of heroism is just as glorious as it is sacrificial. It is something to be cheered, not something to be mourned. A superhero film that actually follows the essence of a comic book instead of cower away from it in fear of fantasy. Expand
  90. May 6, 2012
    10
    THIS IS PROBABLY MY FAVORITE MARVEL MOVIE NOW!!! The action is fast paced and well executed. I have always wanted to see all of the famous marvel characters come together so this was a treat. This is the start of Whedon's career.
  91. May 6, 2012
    10
    To put it simply. Brilliant. we get to see development of characters in other movies like Thor and Stark. And a interesting combo of attitudes and egos within the avengers group, and allows the character to become more established. The movie is humorous, the action engaging and thrilling. In all you will come to the end of the movie and be think that was money well spent. It has to be oneTo put it simply. Brilliant. we get to see development of characters in other movies like Thor and Stark. And a interesting combo of attitudes and egos within the avengers group, and allows the character to become more established. The movie is humorous, the action engaging and thrilling. In all you will come to the end of the movie and be think that was money well spent. It has to be one of the best movies I've seen so far this year. Expand
  92. May 7, 2012
    10
    i went to watch avengers with not very high hopes as getting 6-7 marvel characters in a single movies seemed like a perfect recipe for disaster at that time. but was i surprised big time and i mean big time!!. its better than iron man 1-2, captain america and both the hulk movies. this is by far the best comic to big screen adaptation and is in the same league as the batman reboot and thei went to watch avengers with not very high hopes as getting 6-7 marvel characters in a single movies seemed like a perfect recipe for disaster at that time. but was i surprised big time and i mean big time!!. its better than iron man 1-2, captain america and both the hulk movies. this is by far the best comic to big screen adaptation and is in the same league as the batman reboot and the 1st transformer movie (part 2 and 3 were very big train wrecks). a must watch for anyone who like supeheroes beating the crap out of everything................... Expand
  93. May 13, 2012
    7
    It's a kids' movie! Extremely predictable plot, cliché characters, unrealistic comic relief. Effects were great, and great cast. Part of what makes this movie great is the fact that many other movies led to it. But the movie by itself... not that impressive.
  94. May 15, 2012
    10
    I've seen this movie 3 times, and I plan on seeing it a 4th.

    Nuff said.

    P.S. Better action than Michael Bay's films, Funnier than Judd Apatow's films and more heart than most anything in recent memory.

    Love You Joss
  95. May 15, 2012
    10
    I have seen this movie 4 times already (don't judge) and it has never gotten old. The action and humor mesh together perfectly in this movie. I did not expect to laugh as much as I did when I first saw the movie. The action is awesome and the special effects are top-notch. If you are a fan of the Hulk like I am, you will be very pleased with this movie. The Hulk steals the show, and peopleI have seen this movie 4 times already (don't judge) and it has never gotten old. The action and humor mesh together perfectly in this movie. I did not expect to laugh as much as I did when I first saw the movie. The action is awesome and the special effects are top-notch. If you are a fan of the Hulk like I am, you will be very pleased with this movie. The Hulk steals the show, and people were cheering when he was on the big screen. Every character gets their fair share of screen time, with no one getting left out. I recommend watching Captain America and Thor before seeing The Avengers, because those films will provide helpful background information so you will not be confused on what is going on in the movie. Expand
  96. May 16, 2012
    10
    Everything perfect.Just what I wanted and needed to see.Only have one thing that made feel VERY awkward.The scene were Tony Stark said I'm bringing the party to you and she said ( VERY CORNY AND UNCOMFORTABLE ) I don't see how that's a party.Like she had gas or she forgot her line..Hahahaha.No i'm just messing. Best movie of the year so far.
  97. Jun 26, 2012
    10
    Perspective: A fan of Avengers comics and cartoons for decades. Loved almost every Marvel movie to date

    Expectations: Been waiting on an Avengers movie since Iron Man, totally blown away by the trailers Delivery: Speaking as a fan of the original source material, Avengers totally blew me away. The ultimate experience for fans of the comics AND movies. Seeing these all of these
    Perspective: A fan of Avengers comics and cartoons for decades. Loved almost every Marvel movie to date

    Expectations: Been waiting on an Avengers movie since Iron Man, totally blown away by the trailers

    Delivery: Speaking as a fan of the original source material, Avengers totally blew me away. The ultimate experience for fans of the comics AND movies. Seeing these all of these characters interact (and fight) with one another is rewarding on so many levels. I was a highly volatile mixture bubbling over with geeky excitement for the entire film. For those who don't read comics but enjoyed the Marvel films, Avengers takes all that you loved about those previous movies (action, humor, and a good story) combines them and sprinkles them generously throughout the entire experience. For the artsy types, this is an fx laden superhero action adventure movie, so don't go in expecting to see Shakespeare with laser beams, or Citizen Kane with a cape

    Avengers is easily the best movie of the Summer (so far), and easily my favorite super hero movie ever PERIOD.
    Expand
  98. May 17, 2012
    10
    Waste of money, Plot is horrible, the first 45 mins is absolute junk, I dont know how a movie like this could make so much money. I guess teens might like it cause they bash stuff up and CGI is kewl. Dont waste your money wait till it ends up on TV or dollar rental.
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 43
  2. Negative: 1 out of 43
  1. Reviewed by: Bob Mondello
    May 8, 2012
    75
    The banter has zip, the effects are fun, the climactic battle is decently spectacular, and if the 3-D is mostly expendable, there are a few scenes where it adds a nice kick.
  2. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    May 4, 2012
    80
    This mania is what Marvel followers have hungered for, and it would be fruitless to deny their delight. As Loki says to a crowd of earthlings, "It is the unspoken truth of humanity that you crave subjugation." We do, Master, we do.
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    May 4, 2012
    60
    They're fascinating characters, to be sure, with back stories ripe for development. But Whedon doesn't commit here, and the results are shrug-worthy.