User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2727 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 18, 2012
    5
    What works: the allure of Marvel Comic branding, cast and media marketing made 3D event a "must see".

    What fails: script, cast chemistry and total lack of character development for key roles and length of movie (should have been part 1 of 2). Overall: Not even close to the hype; Catch on DVD.
  2. May 20, 2012
    5
    Every hype is fake. The Avengers is not the best Marvel film to date and quite possibly is the worst superhero movie I've seen in terms of humor, history and has no replay value. Loki or Thor never have been "stars" in comics. Bad choice for an Avengers movie.
  3. May 21, 2012
    5
    If it weren't for the great special effects and a few guilty pleasures, "The Avengers" would be a complete snooze-fest. A generally solid cast as well as the 3D imagery were woefully underutilized. For all the film's frenetic energy, there was little in the characters and the plot for the viewer to invest emotionally. In short, the sum was less than its parts in this overlong spectacleIf it weren't for the great special effects and a few guilty pleasures, "The Avengers" would be a complete snooze-fest. A generally solid cast as well as the 3D imagery were woefully underutilized. For all the film's frenetic energy, there was little in the characters and the plot for the viewer to invest emotionally. In short, the sum was less than its parts in this overlong spectacle from Joss Whedon. Expand
  4. May 29, 2012
    5
    depending on what you are looking for you will either love this movie or like me be left sitting in the theater with a look of obvious disinterest. think of it this way, if you are a twelve year old boy you will fall in love with this movies big explosions and cheap easy comic lines. you can see the obvious struggle of creating this movie in the way of properly incorporating all of thesedepending on what you are looking for you will either love this movie or like me be left sitting in the theater with a look of obvious disinterest. think of it this way, if you are a twelve year old boy you will fall in love with this movies big explosions and cheap easy comic lines. you can see the obvious struggle of creating this movie in the way of properly incorporating all of these large characters into one small movie (however not short). it was from a real quality of film standpoint not good at all. the whole plot just seemed to be there to accommodate the characters and then shove the one big climactic real action scene in at the end. its not the best superhero movie ever made but if you want something that is mildly interesting, and throws witty lines and explosions at your face as if you where not an actual real person then this would be a great movie for you. Expand
  5. Jun 4, 2012
    5
    I've been a fan of movies my whole life and I really love good movies. I love comic book heroes especially Superman and Batman. I really hated the Batman TV show growing up because I wanted a serious take on the character. I was so happy when Batman Begins came out because I finally got what I knew a comic book movie could be a serious dramatic endeavor and it still had its humorousI've been a fan of movies my whole life and I really love good movies. I love comic book heroes especially Superman and Batman. I really hated the Batman TV show growing up because I wanted a serious take on the character. I was so happy when Batman Begins came out because I finally got what I knew a comic book movie could be a serious dramatic endeavor and it still had its humorous touches too. BUT it was NOT campy. Then when "The Dark Knight" came out I was blown away because it truly was what I had been yearning for since I was 8 or 9 years old when I first saw the campy batman tv show you know with all the kapows and whamos they could throw in it. I don't know much about "Iron Man" or "The Avengers" comic books. I have never really gotten into reading comic books even as a kid I didn't read them. But when "Iron Man" came out I said this looks cool I have to check this movie out. And wow what an awesome surprise it was. Another great comic book movie in the same year. I own "Iron Man" and "The Dark Knight" on blu-ray that is how much I love the first "Iron Man" and "The Dark Knight". And I thought to myself it has finally happened we have passed into special effects nirvana where hollywood can now literally put anything they can dream up onto celluloid and it will look as if it truly exists. So now I'll finally get to see all the comic book movies turned into great movies. Well, then "Iron Man 2" came out and pretty much quashed the dream I had envisioned. Marvel went back to the batman tv show campy style and that style sucks I hate it. They had a chance to truly turn Iron Man into a great live action franchise and they screwed it up. And then I heard about "The Avengers" coming out and being released all over the world before it was released in the states. And anytime a studio does this it is so they can get the maximum return on their investment before its state side release because they know they did a decent movie but they know its just a decent movie and not a great one. I still wanted to see it though to see if they would steer back onto the correct course set in the original "Iron Man" and they gave a very valiant effort BUT after seeing the movie I came away feeling, "Eh ok I saw it but it doesn't really matter that I saw it." When I left the theater after seeing "Iron Man 1" I wanted to know where I could get an Iron Man suit. They could have made "The Avengers" make me feel that way when I left the theater but they figured oh well as long as its good enough the rest of the world will go see so it doesn't matter that we stop the action so the characters can exchange dialogue several times in key action sequences. The dialogue wasn't woven into the fight scene. They broke my #1 rule of movies don't make feel as though I'm watching a movie make feel as though the events are actually happening. Please don't think I'm not well versed in the movies I have seen them all and rank them in the following order (best to worst): Iron Man 1, Captain America, Thor, Both Hulks, Iron Man 2, The Avengers. Expand
  6. Jun 21, 2012
    10
    This movie is great I enjoyed very well I enjoyed the plot and how they got everyone together how it was placed and the special effects were excellent
  7. Jun 23, 2012
    10
    This is the best movie of the year and one of the best I have ever seen. You should so watch this. Especially if you like comics. To watch the movie it would be best to watch Thor before.
  8. Jul 17, 2012
    8
    The long awaited The Avengers seeks out summer movie boredom and punches it in the face with humor, incredible talk-about-it-for-hours-later-with-your-teenage-friends action, and an infectious sense of fun. The visuals are spectacular, the characters are all given their shot at the spotlight, Joss Whedon proves to be a go-to director for big hollywood releases, and, well, basically it justThe long awaited The Avengers seeks out summer movie boredom and punches it in the face with humor, incredible talk-about-it-for-hours-later-with-your-teenage-friends action, and an infectious sense of fun. The visuals are spectacular, the characters are all given their shot at the spotlight, Joss Whedon proves to be a go-to director for big hollywood releases, and, well, basically it just defines the word 'awesome'. It doesn't really unearth any hidden truths about morality and justice (as opposed to other superhero films like The Dark Knight) and you pretty much will see every twist coming, but that is all blown away with its sheer grand scale and fanboy glee-filled moments. Go in with whatever expectations you have and you will probably leave happily. A perfect summer release and an overall great time at the movies. Expand
  9. Jun 28, 2012
    9
    A great example of the whole being worth more than the sum of it's parts. Out of all the individual movies, the IronMan series is very good , with the others falling short of it's mark. Now with The Avengers, they can all be thought of as pretty good opening scenes to one heck of an ending!
  10. Jul 4, 2012
    10
    Joss Whedon deserves a huge pat on the back for pulling off the near impossible. He has directed and helped create a movie that is a sequel to five other movies. He has brought together all those main characters from those movies as well as effectively dealing with new ones brought into this movie for the first time. Did I mention that this is a comic book movie? The Avengers may be theJoss Whedon deserves a huge pat on the back for pulling off the near impossible. He has directed and helped create a movie that is a sequel to five other movies. He has brought together all those main characters from those movies as well as effectively dealing with new ones brought into this movie for the first time. Did I mention that this is a comic book movie? The Avengers may be the best movie of the summer and possibly of all year. An exciting story as well as one of the best scripts I have ever seen adds to the superb special effects and the top notch directing. But this movie would be nothing without such a dedicated cast of actors and actresses. The Avengers does many things right. One of my favorite things about this movie, however, is how each of Earth Expand
  11. Jul 3, 2012
    10
    The Avengers is by far the best Marvel film. It's almost like if you putted together all the films from Iron Man till Thor and you have The Avengers, which was basically what they did. Some characters are more relevant, like Black Widow or Captain America. The action sequences were superb and the way the characters interact was really great. The script also contains some nice humurousThe Avengers is by far the best Marvel film. It's almost like if you putted together all the films from Iron Man till Thor and you have The Avengers, which was basically what they did. Some characters are more relevant, like Black Widow or Captain America. The action sequences were superb and the way the characters interact was really great. The script also contains some nice humurous moments.
    A perfect and well deserved 10.
    Expand
  12. May 13, 2013
    3
    I don't know if I'm missing something here. I felt like the Avengers had it's moments, but they were moments. The movie was predominantly stupid, which is frustrating. I watched the avengers act like children. I watched both the avengers, and the bad guys make dumb decisions. Hawkeye, you blew up one engine with an arrow. Why not blow up two, or three, or four? Oh, okay. You're going toI don't know if I'm missing something here. I felt like the Avengers had it's moments, but they were moments. The movie was predominantly stupid, which is frustrating. I watched the avengers act like children. I watched both the avengers, and the bad guys make dumb decisions. Hawkeye, you blew up one engine with an arrow. Why not blow up two, or three, or four? Oh, okay. You're going to hack the system to shut down the other one. Right. And I feel like this would be acceptable, if the film owned up to it. If there was some reason that being dumb was okay. But it didn't major plot twists were created, and solved on mistakes, jealousies, and blunders. That's a lot less fun than cleverness. Expand
  13. Jul 13, 2012
    10
    This Movie was awesome It has Action,Laughs,Epicness the only thing It didn´t have Its love
    This is an orgasm for all MARVEL fan really
    And at the and after the credits we can see cleary tha there are gonig to be a 2cnd part
  14. Jul 8, 2012
    9
    The greatest Marvel film of all time. "Marvels: The Avengers" has set the bar for all superhero movies of the future. Not only was the acting very spectacular, ( Especially Mr. Robert Downy Jr. ) but the visual effects made you feel like you were part of the story. Alas, the story was not much. It was an average story that should have been overlooked throughout more months. Otherwise, thisThe greatest Marvel film of all time. "Marvels: The Avengers" has set the bar for all superhero movies of the future. Not only was the acting very spectacular, ( Especially Mr. Robert Downy Jr. ) but the visual effects made you feel like you were part of the story. Alas, the story was not much. It was an average story that should have been overlooked throughout more months. Otherwise, this movie is phenomenal and anybody saying otherwise does not have any taste in movies. That being said i cannot wait for "Marvels: The Avengers 2" Expand
  15. Jul 11, 2012
    9
    While there is no doubt that Avengers (Assemble here in Ireland) is light on any real plot, that would be missing the real strength of the movie - it's pure popcorn fun. Leave complexity and darkness to Batman, here the characters are larger than life, the action scenes are gripping and the plot is just there to link scenes together (and sometimes not even that).

    Much like a Star Wars
    While there is no doubt that Avengers (Assemble here in Ireland) is light on any real plot, that would be missing the real strength of the movie - it's pure popcorn fun. Leave complexity and darkness to Batman, here the characters are larger than life, the action scenes are gripping and the plot is just there to link scenes together (and sometimes not even that).

    Much like a Star Wars or Ghostbusters its the characters and the way that they interact with each other that carry everything along, be it in dialogue or in the set-pieces. Yes, the bad guys are pretty much non-entities and the Tesseract is the very definition of a McGuffin but that doesn't take away from a fantastic event movie. By far the best of the marvel movies.
    Expand
  16. Jul 15, 2012
    9
    The Avengers strikes you like Thor's thunder and will knock you over as if you were Hulk smashed! Bringing together some of the most iconic comic book characters from Marvel, this movie could either be very good or very bad. Fortunately, it's very very good! Using familiar faces like Downey Jr as Iron man and Chris Hemsworth as Thor, The Avengers also welcomes Jeremy Renner as Hawkeye andThe Avengers strikes you like Thor's thunder and will knock you over as if you were Hulk smashed! Bringing together some of the most iconic comic book characters from Marvel, this movie could either be very good or very bad. Fortunately, it's very very good! Using familiar faces like Downey Jr as Iron man and Chris Hemsworth as Thor, The Avengers also welcomes Jeremy Renner as Hawkeye and Mark Ruffalo as the Hulk! The movie answers everything you questioned at the end of the Marvel movies and puts you in the middle of the Marvel movies and The Avengers! Expand
  17. Jul 16, 2012
    9
    Best big action film I've seen in a long long time. They did really well give all the main characters enough air time so to speak with Mark Ruffalo stealing the show as the Hulk. The only negatives for me was the loose story of Thor returning to earth easily through Odin even though in the end of Thor
  18. Jul 17, 2012
    9
    Joss Whedon certainly delivers. This is crucial, because this is where five different films intersect. None of the heroes outshine their teammates the fight scenes are eye-candy, and the witty dialogue and humor will satisfy both comic book nerds and average movie-goes alike.
  19. Jul 21, 2012
    10
    Very bad movie. It's like i was watching transformers.... My favorite marvel movie is x-men first class... this avengers is not good at all. I hope iron man 3 be better!
  20. Jul 20, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. load of horse **** lit on fire and put out with a hack saw ..............................****TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT..............................
    ****
    Expand
  21. Nov 5, 2012
    6
    Whedon's Avengers is very entertaining. The dialogue is snappy when present, and the visual effects are great, but in the end, sensation trumps feeling.
  22. Feb 3, 2014
    1
    Perfect example of an overrated movie. The saying "Less is more" applies here. There are too many super heroes in this film and none of them are used appropriately. The movie is also much longer than it needs to be. It never seems to end and for most of it, it is boring and forgettable. By the time the real action begins, you're already more than 3/4s into the film. This is a dumb stupidPerfect example of an overrated movie. The saying "Less is more" applies here. There are too many super heroes in this film and none of them are used appropriately. The movie is also much longer than it needs to be. It never seems to end and for most of it, it is boring and forgettable. By the time the real action begins, you're already more than 3/4s into the film. This is a dumb stupid popcorn movie featuring a dumb stupid team of superheroes. Ironman on his own or Hulk on his own are great but throw them in with goody two shoes Captain America whose character is flat, boring and lifeless or Mr. Bulging Biceps Thor who isn't a super hero at all (He's a mythical God. Next time, the Avengers should recruit Zeus or Jesus Christ) and is the beefed up equivalent of Brandan Frasier's boy in a bunker and its just gets sloshed around into a muddled mess. Expand
  23. Jan 6, 2013
    3
    Brainless action with no real story or character's development. The movie has tons of special effects and cgs but in the end it feels more like a colorful candy that is rotten inside. Almost complete garbage.
  24. Apr 17, 2013
    4
    Why. Why is there support for a bland film such as this? I'm telling you, it's just not that good. The characters are virtually the same. None of them have any real interesting characteristics or attributes that grabbed my attention other than Samuel L. Jackson simply because he is Samuel L. Jackson. Robert Downey Jr. and the other Avengers all act at the same level of socialWhy. Why is there support for a bland film such as this? I'm telling you, it's just not that good. The characters are virtually the same. None of them have any real interesting characteristics or attributes that grabbed my attention other than Samuel L. Jackson simply because he is Samuel L. Jackson. Robert Downey Jr. and the other Avengers all act at the same level of social communication, but they jut have arguments in between to fool the audience that there is tension in the film. The villain is a laughable archetype in the movie, included with the most original lines such as "I will rule this world" and "The end of this world is nigh". 80% of the movie takes place on the airship with nothing to do but squabble and run into accidents. It's extremely boring, and the special effects and "classic comic lines" are not worth my time nor should they be worth anybody's. The Avengers does not deserve the praise it gets. Expand
  25. Jan 17, 2013
    9
    I like this movie but it isn't my favorite.
  26. Dec 31, 2012
    4
    This is a very silly movie that is Swiss-cheese full of holes. If your thing is Marvel comic books, and you really want to see eponymous figures from the various comics come together then... this is for you I guess (unless having heroes pointlessly bickering to create faux dramatic tension gets on your nerves).

    Its got some spectacle I suppose. Silly spectacle that ultimately makes no
    This is a very silly movie that is Swiss-cheese full of holes. If your thing is Marvel comic books, and you really want to see eponymous figures from the various comics come together then... this is for you I guess (unless having heroes pointlessly bickering to create faux dramatic tension gets on your nerves).

    Its got some spectacle I suppose. Silly spectacle that ultimately makes no sense (flying, invisible aircraft carrier that is vulnerable when flying, typically doesn't bother engaging invisibility, has nuclear missiles but can only launch them... from other aircraft... Hell the entire carrier almost gets taken out by an... exploding arrow... Christ). Get drunk if you are going to try and watch this film - it really, really helps.
    Expand
  27. Jan 11, 2013
    10
    The avengers is the best movie with best cast.I can't wait till avengers 2 comes out. Avengers is the best super hero movie. Bat man is nothing compered to the avengers.
  28. Jan 24, 2013
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Avengers is a pitiful excuse of a movie. The film is so heavy on action sequences that plot, character development, and any good storytelling are just nonexistent. There is so much useless humor that the movie just drags on. The last battle seemed like it was half the entire movie and battle ended unnaturally quickly and with little effort but the avengers. Hawkeye and Black Widow, who are just human beings, seem to be able to take out huge aliens with guns with ease. The hulk, who said he could control his transformation by always being angry completely baffles me. If he is always angry and can control himself, then why did he transform when he was on the floating base. A highly overrated and completely terrible film. Expand
  29. Feb 9, 2013
    3
    I still cannot believe I wasted my money on this, what a complete and utter waste of time! I am shocked by the fact people thought this movie was great. I mean the acting was poor, the screenplay was laughable and the directing was far from perfect. It's so sad that people don't know good movies anymore these days.
  30. Mar 27, 2013
    5
    Just a bunch of fighting scenes with less than desirable dialogue and plot.
  31. Jul 19, 2013
    4
    todos los superheroes serie una peliculas de 10.00. horas sin embargo solo accion no rellena el vacio de lo monotono no es merecida de grandes cosas como son cada uno de sus heroes
  32. May 19, 2013
    1
    This movie is terrible the story is dog and I don't see why people buzz about it I turned it off after 40 mins and Loki come on why not red skull...
  33. Jun 19, 2013
    8
    The best action movie with superheroes. All the characters are well done and the plot is good. I liked the action scenes and i have to admit that i actually liked iron man and hulk in that film, who i don't really like them. Thumbs up for the avengers.The effects are well done too
  34. Jul 24, 2013
    5
    Rather than the Avengers It felt like the Averages, I decided to wait a while before attempting this movie and I gotta say it felt like alot of friends hyped this movie up with nothing substantial to back it up. It felt like I watched a big argument of super heroes until it was time to serious up and fight space aliens, and... thats it, no serious amounts of tension save for the takingRather than the Avengers It felt like the Averages, I decided to wait a while before attempting this movie and I gotta say it felt like alot of friends hyped this movie up with nothing substantial to back it up. It felt like I watched a big argument of super heroes until it was time to serious up and fight space aliens, and... thats it, no serious amounts of tension save for the taking down of the Helicarrier. Expand
  35. Aug 6, 2013
    5
    Incredibly cliched, predictable and shallow.
    - No tension or suspense.
    - Cheesy one liners. - Not a shred of seriousness or genuine emotion. - Lame main villain. - Little to no character development. - Annoying bickering between characters. - Repetitive, linear, predictable, and ridiculous plot that features Loki repeatedly escaping from the avengers. - Bits of humor. -
    Incredibly cliched, predictable and shallow.
    - No tension or suspense.
    - Cheesy one liners.
    - Not a shred of seriousness or genuine emotion.
    - Lame main villain.
    - Little to no character development.
    - Annoying bickering between characters.
    - Repetitive, linear, predictable, and ridiculous plot that features Loki repeatedly escaping from the avengers.
    - Bits of humor.
    - Good performance from Robert Downey Jr.
    - Good action and special effects.

    Could be one of the most overrated movies of all-time! The second time that I watched it, I fell asleep about an hour into it. It's not a horrible movie, but it's definitely NOT a perfect 10/10. The first Ironman and Captain America were much more logical and had more dimensions to their plots.
    THIS IS FAR FROM A PERFECT MOVIE.
    Expand
  36. Aug 8, 2013
    5
    I walked into the theater expecting something great and I couldn't wait to finally see what everyone was raving about. I was disappointed. Though the action scenes were exciting and the character played by Tom Hiddleson was pleasing, the dialogue throughout the movie was terrible and forced. It seemed like the scenes that wasn't accompanied by fighting was boring and uneventful. This movieI walked into the theater expecting something great and I couldn't wait to finally see what everyone was raving about. I was disappointed. Though the action scenes were exciting and the character played by Tom Hiddleson was pleasing, the dialogue throughout the movie was terrible and forced. It seemed like the scenes that wasn't accompanied by fighting was boring and uneventful. This movie had a great story line and plot but failed to be put together correctly. Expand
  37. Oct 6, 2013
    4
    I had been waiting to watch this movie, as it looked cool enough. I mean; Iron Man, the Hulk, Captain America, Thor, Black Widow and Hawkeye teaming up to fight aliens? Awesome! Unfortunately, the first 45 minutes are kinda boring. I mean what good superhero movie starts with a pretty boring car chase and bland dialogue/scripts? I personally think it's pretty overrated. Cliched,I had been waiting to watch this movie, as it looked cool enough. I mean; Iron Man, the Hulk, Captain America, Thor, Black Widow and Hawkeye teaming up to fight aliens? Awesome! Unfortunately, the first 45 minutes are kinda boring. I mean what good superhero movie starts with a pretty boring car chase and bland dialogue/scripts? I personally think it's pretty overrated. Cliched, predictable and shallow. I liked Loki though and liked the superheros fighting aliens.

    However, there's also a lot of mistakes with the plot. For example, while Iron Man, Thor, and Captain America are fighting, they leave Loki, their supervillain prisoner unattended. Also, SHIELD's entire Heli-Carrier is almost destroyed by one freaking arrow. All of The Avengers talk and pretend to have ear pieces even though they don't have any. Also, the Chitauri are nothing like they are in the comics. (And there's that annoying bickering between characters...) Overall, I expected much better from Marvel.

    If you like this review, read my other ones and mark this as helpful.
    Expand
  38. Feb 27, 2014
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Watch one of the most overrated piece of entertainment since call of duty, The Avengers. Watch one of the most forgettable superhero/ action movie of 2012. See one of the most basic story plots rip off other popular moments from other films E.g. The Dark Knight, Transformers, Star Wars and Power ranger? Watch the film that has terrible character development for all the characters except Tony Stark. See one of the worst Hulks and the worst actor to play Bruce Banner "Christ i almost mistook it for the BFG, i mean what the hell happened to Ed Norton". Watch how all these super hero movies can do what Christopher Nolan can do in just one film. "My god how the hell did this get so many good ratings". Expand
  39. Feb 1, 2014
    0
    Mala muy sobre valorada, Joss Whedon puede ser bue guionista pero como director deja mucho que desear, la película es decepcionante y todos parecen niños desesperados por esta película. Una historia muy simple.
  40. Jan 22, 2015
    1
    The Avengers is not just bad, it's boring as hell. I simply don't get the appeal for these sorts of films. A 15 minute plot and 2 hours of mindless, mind numbing action is not exactly my idea of entertainment. Might as well go into the kitchen, bang a few utensils around and use my own imagination. It's certainly not art and it's not even fun.
  41. Aug 6, 2014
    3
    Aburridísima. Pensé que no estaría mal juntar a tantos superhéroes pero el resultado fue una película con una primera hora llena de diálogos vacíos y chistes tontos (que alguien le pegue un tiro ya a thor y hulk, pensaba yo) y una segunda hora de acción que solo demuestra que lo único bueno de la peli son sus efectos. ¿En serio os gusta esto?
    Películas para niños pequeños... Marvel las ha
    Aburridísima. Pensé que no estaría mal juntar a tantos superhéroes pero el resultado fue una película con una primera hora llena de diálogos vacíos y chistes tontos (que alguien le pegue un tiro ya a thor y hulk, pensaba yo) y una segunda hora de acción que solo demuestra que lo único bueno de la peli son sus efectos. ¿En serio os gusta esto?
    Películas para niños pequeños... Marvel las ha hecho mejores. Desastrosa.
    Expand
  42. Jan 19, 2015
    3
    DISAPOINTING

    For heroes like this to be in a movie, there should be more action with the hulk. As well as that there was a horrible plot behind the movie and it can bore you to death sometimes. This was truly horrible.
  43. Apr 19, 2015
    4
    When trouble-making Asgardian reject Loki (Hiddleston) launches an attack on Earth, S. H. I. E. L. D. boss Nick Fury (Jackson) decides it’s time to call in the big guns, and gathers Captain America (Evans), Bruce Banner (Ruffalo), Thor (Hemsworth) and even Iron Man (Downey Jr.) together in one elite fighting team. Good luck with that...

    So Overrated! First off let me say i love Marvel
    When trouble-making Asgardian reject Loki (Hiddleston) launches an attack on Earth, S. H. I. E. L. D. boss Nick Fury (Jackson) decides it’s time to call in the big guns, and gathers Captain America (Evans), Bruce Banner (Ruffalo), Thor (Hemsworth) and even Iron Man (Downey Jr.) together in one elite fighting team. Good luck with that...

    So Overrated! First off let me say i love Marvel movies but what the hell happened!

    Marvel Studios unveils its costliest special-effects demo to date; somewhere beneath the nonstop digital explosions lies a story about superheroes fighting an evil demigod from space. Every now and then, director Joss Whedon (Serenity) executes a quirky camera set-up to assert that the film was created by him and not a team of marketing executives. Of the star-studded cast, only Mark Ruffalo (playing Bruce Banner) and Robert Downey Jr. (as Iron Man) bring any personality to the place-holder dialogue. Overlong, monotonous, generic alien creatures, and simple-minded, this is like one of those “World’s Biggest Gang Bang” videos, except that no one onscreen appears to be enjoying himself. With Samuel L. Jackson, Scarlett Johansson, and Jeremy Renner. PLUS I CAN'T STAND LOKI!!!!!!!!
    Expand
  44. Apr 23, 2015
    3
    Most Overrated pile of crap i've ever seen!

    Marvel Studios unveils its costliest special-effects demo to date; somewhere beneath the nonstop digital explosions lies a story about superheroes fighting an evil demigod from space. Every now and then, director Joss Whedon (Serenity) executes a quirky camera set-up to assert that the film was created by him and not a team of marketing
    Most Overrated pile of crap i've ever seen!

    Marvel Studios unveils its costliest special-effects demo to date; somewhere beneath the nonstop digital explosions lies a story about superheroes fighting an evil demigod from space. Every now and then, director Joss Whedon (Serenity) executes a quirky camera set-up to assert that the film was created by him and not a team of marketing executives. Of the star-studded cast, only Mark Ruffalo (playing Bruce Banner) and Robert Downey Jr. (as Iron Man) bring any personality to the place-holder dialogue. Overlong, monotonous, violent, and simple-minded, this is like one of those “World’s Biggest Gang Bang” videos, except that no one onscreen appears to be enjoying himself. With Samuel L. Jackson, Scarlett Johansson, and Jeremy Renner.

    Plus I can't stand LOKI!!!
    Expand
  45. DME
    May 14, 2012
    10
    Full of great action and humor. It keeps a good balance on every hero and doesn't favor any over another. From start to finish it's quite simply an awesome movie, maybe even the greatest superhero movie of all-time. The Avengers is spectacular.
  46. May 7, 2012
    10
    Like any great theme park ride, the Avengers blows your mind through its sheer force of movement but also offers just enough clever personality to make the experience memorable rather than numbing. Some of the critics seem wary of the movie as indicating a vacuous culture: all style and no substance, so to speak. Well, if you are of the persuasion that not every movie has to deeplyLike any great theme park ride, the Avengers blows your mind through its sheer force of movement but also offers just enough clever personality to make the experience memorable rather than numbing. Some of the critics seem wary of the movie as indicating a vacuous culture: all style and no substance, so to speak. Well, if you are of the persuasion that not every movie has to deeply probe the heart of humanity (or, if you are of my persuasion that this moral investigation is not really done best by a movie, anyway), and you like to be impressed by fantastic worlds brought to life in an awesome way, then go see this movie and don't feel guilty one bit. If, on the other hand, you demand that your roller coaster put some aspect of human life under a microscope, then go try to read Tolstoy through a corkscrew. Expand
  47. May 7, 2012
    9
    Not much I can add to the hundreds of great reviews. I don't think there's anything that could improve on the movie--everything good was already tossed in! THIS is how superhero movies should be. Consider the bar raised. Not a lot mentioning the SHIELD agents so let me just say, Officer Hill is smokin!
  48. May 21, 2012
    9
    I liked it a lot. My wife found it to be a bit slow at the beginning, and I could totally see that for someone who is not a big fan of the genre. To me it was just the prerequisite build up to the action that did not disappoint. The story can be criticized for its lack of depth, but lets face it, you are not going to "The Avengers" to quibble over the story. The Hulk took a while toI liked it a lot. My wife found it to be a bit slow at the beginning, and I could totally see that for someone who is not a big fan of the genre. To me it was just the prerequisite build up to the action that did not disappoint. The story can be criticized for its lack of depth, but lets face it, you are not going to "The Avengers" to quibble over the story. The Hulk took a while to make an entrance, but when he did, I found him to be the best part of the movie. Overall, this was a great movie. Anyone who complains is either not a fan, or just one of those internet contrarians who find it fashionable to hate things others like. Expand
  49. May 15, 2012
    8
    I'll keep this short and to the point. This movie is gratuitous fun. ...lot's of action, great special effects, a ridiculous plot, and some laughs. I am one of those people who hates when a movie doesn't take me seriously, especially when it's pretending to. This one doesn't pretend to, and was entertaining. This is one extreme of what the cinema was created for, and shame on you forI'll keep this short and to the point. This movie is gratuitous fun. ...lot's of action, great special effects, a ridiculous plot, and some laughs. I am one of those people who hates when a movie doesn't take me seriously, especially when it's pretending to. This one doesn't pretend to, and was entertaining. This is one extreme of what the cinema was created for, and shame on you for feeling bad about yourself for enjoying it. Expand
  50. Jun 4, 2012
    7
    Was almost certainly going to struggle to live up to the hype that's surrounded it, but this was great fun, if a little slow to start. There were a couple of plot points I didn't quite get, but well worth seeing.
  51. May 31, 2012
    10
    The Avengers is the best superhero movie ever made. It is that simple and I have a guilty pleasure for the genre. I was a little annoyed when I got the forced set ups of this movie in Iron Man, Thor and Captain America but now I appreciate them. I even see an uncredited Hawk in a scene in Thor now. Awesome special effects, though this does not have to be seen in 3D. It's fine withoutThe Avengers is the best superhero movie ever made. It is that simple and I have a guilty pleasure for the genre. I was a little annoyed when I got the forced set ups of this movie in Iron Man, Thor and Captain America but now I appreciate them. I even see an uncredited Hawk in a scene in Thor now. Awesome special effects, though this does not have to be seen in 3D. It's fine without 3D. If you like comics or action movies, you will like this. Not every popular movie is bad. Expand
  52. May 12, 2012
    8
    It lived up to the hype! Its still just a comic book action hero movie which is to say "shallow action flick" but I have to give it props for doing it extremely well. I, along with most of the other movie goers in our theater had several laugh out loud moments thanks to M.D. Jr.. The special effects were spectacular. I saw it in 3-D which is never my preference. It didn't feel contrived toIt lived up to the hype! Its still just a comic book action hero movie which is to say "shallow action flick" but I have to give it props for doing it extremely well. I, along with most of the other movie goers in our theater had several laugh out loud moments thanks to M.D. Jr.. The special effects were spectacular. I saw it in 3-D which is never my preference. It didn't feel contrived to exploit the 3-D effects, it just amplified the experience.
    Take the kids but leave the wife at home she'll hate it.
    Expand
  53. May 22, 2012
    8
    Would I rather a return to the great action adventures of decades ago based on semi original concepts? Of course. But I'll take this over the mindless crap thats out there right now any day. Avengers is funnier than literally every comedy Hollywood farts out these days then add a few insightful character scenes and some cool if not breezy action sequences. Really my only gripe here is howWould I rather a return to the great action adventures of decades ago based on semi original concepts? Of course. But I'll take this over the mindless crap thats out there right now any day. Avengers is funnier than literally every comedy Hollywood farts out these days then add a few insightful character scenes and some cool if not breezy action sequences. Really my only gripe here is how undramatic this thing was. Theres just nothing at stake. Sure the whole world is being fought for but we know who wins. Thor takes a thumb tack to the side. Everyone else comes out the war unscratched and they all eat some shwarma. I guess its more of a comedy than I even thought. Expand
  54. May 12, 2012
    7
    @Ben_Otter Green Lantern and Superman are DC characters so no they wouldn't be in a Marvel movie you moron! Anyway this movie was pretty good. Not the best movie I've ever seen, but I'd definitely recommend it.
  55. May 8, 2012
    10
    The Avengers is the best Superhero movie Ive had the pleasure to watch. IT has an amazing cast, amazing effects, decent story, and best of all, it stays true to the comic books, for which it was inspired by. We dont have Whedon changing major back stories from the original comics, instead we get a homage. Ive gone to watch it twice already, and the people that ive gone to watch it with areThe Avengers is the best Superhero movie Ive had the pleasure to watch. IT has an amazing cast, amazing effects, decent story, and best of all, it stays true to the comic books, for which it was inspired by. We dont have Whedon changing major back stories from the original comics, instead we get a homage. Ive gone to watch it twice already, and the people that ive gone to watch it with are no "Marvel fans" yet they enjoyed the crap out of it. Watching a movie like this with a big crowd is actually good, because everyone cheers and laughs at all the amazing moments that happen through out. If you have a sense of humor, you will love this movie. Expand
  56. Aug 30, 2012
    9
    Very good movie.
    Cons: The flying fortress should be what it's name says, a FORTRESS which is impregnable!!! That said, it did not shoot a single round in a whole movie AND they let a rouge aircraft approach it (radar anyone, code 7 alert?), shoot at it and blow it's engine!!!
  57. May 25, 2012
    9
    The Avengers is one of the best Action films of all time. The story is solid, with a healthy mix of action and humor. The only people who wouldn't like this are people who don't like outrageous mindless action on the screen. The thing with action movies is, you go to see just that, and adding a solid, yet not over the top story with GREAT characters only makes the package even moreThe Avengers is one of the best Action films of all time. The story is solid, with a healthy mix of action and humor. The only people who wouldn't like this are people who don't like outrageous mindless action on the screen. The thing with action movies is, you go to see just that, and adding a solid, yet not over the top story with GREAT characters only makes the package even more complete. Humor tends to fill most of the gaps where action doesn't exist, and this film is worth your time if you're even remotely a fan of action films. Only thing I felt was off about the movie was the fact that some of the scenes didn't make enough sense in transition from one to the other (one of them quite blatant, you would probably recognize it after you watched it), easily to overlook though. Watch this movie, just do it! Expand
  58. May 7, 2012
    9
    I saw the Avengers at midnight in regular format, and thought it was excellent. After leaving the theater, I thought to myself "It must be awesome in 3D". So I saw it in 3D two days later, and thought it was fantastic. I would actually consider seeing it in 3D again. It is one of the best post-production 3D conversions I've ever seen. But even when not focusing on the 3D, this film hasI saw the Avengers at midnight in regular format, and thought it was excellent. After leaving the theater, I thought to myself "It must be awesome in 3D". So I saw it in 3D two days later, and thought it was fantastic. I would actually consider seeing it in 3D again. It is one of the best post-production 3D conversions I've ever seen. But even when not focusing on the 3D, this film has great replay value. The film itself was just as good, and possibly better, the second time around. The storyline may be a bit simplistic, and it may be a bit overlong for some, but these are only a small quarrels. The action is absolutely incredible, the acting is very good across the board, and the humor is actually funny. For all of you Transformers fans out there, go see this movie, and see if you'll want to watch another Transformers movie again. In comparison to those films, the Avengers does everything better. Take my word for it, and see the Avengers in 3D. It is an extremely entertainng experience. Expand
  59. May 9, 2012
    8
    When the world is threatened with domination from beyond, a slew of Marvel superheroes (Iron Man, Hulk, Capt. America, Thor and more) is brought together to save the day. Before that can happen, we get some internal conflict and snappy dialogue by writer/director Joss Whedon. Finally, comes the big, noisy, kinda silly showdown: implausible on so many levels. Luckily, the cast is full ofWhen the world is threatened with domination from beyond, a slew of Marvel superheroes (Iron Man, Hulk, Capt. America, Thor and more) is brought together to save the day. Before that can happen, we get some internal conflict and snappy dialogue by writer/director Joss Whedon. Finally, comes the big, noisy, kinda silly showdown: implausible on so many levels. Luckily, the cast is full of quality actors, so most of the interaction works. This is a classic big-budget summer flick with spectacular scenarios and flashy effects. Not the best, but not the worst. NOTE: There are 2 post-credit scenes, so stay till the end for your money's worth. Expand
  60. May 26, 2012
    9
    The best Marvel film so far. great action and funny. They are doing a great job with The Hulk bringing him into the fold as a real super hero rather then just running amuck.
  61. May 15, 2012
    9
    I would not bother seeing the 3D version of the movie since the 3D aspect was added later and not very well. That being said, this is an amazing movie and I can't wait to see it again. Just don't pay extra for mediocre 3D.
  62. Sep 29, 2012
    7
    A great movie, which knows what it is and what it wants to accomplish. Though the plot was pretty simple and very straight forward (aliens comes in, humans kick their asses) but the thing that made it work is that the plot was very close to the comic books (which exactly what this movie achieved) and the fact that characters were polished and three dimensional.
    The visuals and the art
    A great movie, which knows what it is and what it wants to accomplish. Though the plot was pretty simple and very straight forward (aliens comes in, humans kick their asses) but the thing that made it work is that the plot was very close to the comic books (which exactly what this movie achieved) and the fact that characters were polished and three dimensional.
    The visuals and the art direction was very enjoyable and an amazing food for imagination. Action was breath taking and at parts very inventive. The antagonist of the film Loki was intimidating and interesting.
    Overall, great story, great script, great characters, great visuals and action. This movie achieved almost everything it wanted - a good comic book movie about the Avengers. Check it out
    Expand
  63. May 10, 2012
    10
    Great script, great laughs, great action, and of course, great super heroes. If you like anything about Marvel, then this movie is a must see. It will have you dreaming about super heroes again.
  64. Jul 20, 2012
    8
    A very fun film, I enjoyed it a LOT. I can't express in words how fun it was. It's great, not much to really say... ummm except that maybe it will be pretty outdated in 20 years... This is the Batman 89 of Marvel. It's a very conventional team action movie but a very well made film as well.

    ★ ★ ★ ★ (was originally gonna post 3.5/5 but I really liked this film
    A very fun film, I enjoyed it a LOT. I can't express in words how fun it was. It's great, not much to really say... ummm except that maybe it will be pretty outdated in 20 years... This is the Batman 89 of Marvel. It's a very conventional team action movie but a very well made film as well.

    ★ ★ ★ ★ (was originally gonna post 3.5/5 but I really liked this film soo..... 4/5 for me :D)
    Expand
  65. May 11, 2012
    9
    Absolutely my favorite movie. Heh hulk is so funny lol. MY FAVORITE CHARACTER! i like the attitude that tony stark has is so funny, and captain america is so cool
  66. Jun 2, 2012
    9
    After finally watching The Avengers I can report that its brilliant. It lives up to the hype and then some. Even the dialogue scenes are fun with great comedy that actually suits the characters. There is real emotion to the story, the action scenes are brilliant and I thought the 3D worked well. Show stealer for me had to be "The Hulk" with some great scenes and even a true LMAO one liner.After finally watching The Avengers I can report that its brilliant. It lives up to the hype and then some. Even the dialogue scenes are fun with great comedy that actually suits the characters. There is real emotion to the story, the action scenes are brilliant and I thought the 3D worked well. Show stealer for me had to be "The Hulk" with some great scenes and even a true LMAO one liner. A must see movie, but I think you need to see all the other Marvel movies first to truely appreciate this. Expand
  67. May 24, 2012
    8
    Why THE AVENGERS could easily become a huge success? I think even some of you could answer thiz question. Thiz movie is the culmination of Marvel hard work over the past couple of years. The lucky guy who was appointed to direct thiz movie is Joss Whedon. The director of S.H.I.E.L.D. Nick Fury (Samuel L. Jackson) initiates the Avengers initiative by assembling all the super humans to saveWhy THE AVENGERS could easily become a huge success? I think even some of you could answer thiz question. Thiz movie is the culmination of Marvel hard work over the past couple of years. The lucky guy who was appointed to direct thiz movie is Joss Whedon. The director of S.H.I.E.L.D. Nick Fury (Samuel L. Jackson) initiates the Avengers initiative by assembling all the super humans to save the world from the powerful evil Loki (Tom Hiddleston). The storyline is not as dynamic as I think it is, there was a time when the story is stuck and filled with unnecessary dialogue. The power of thiz movie obviously lies in its character interactions. Nick Fury is originally written as a white guy in the comic book but Samuel L. Jackson confidently steps in to play thiz character. Thiz is not the first time thiz has happened. It reminds me when Michael Clarke Duncan portrayed the overweight crime boss Kingpin in Ben Affleck DAREDEVIL (2003) and I am also so excited to see Laurence Fishburne as Clark Kent boss Perry White in upcoming Superman MAN OF STEEL (2013). However, in thiz case, I did not see Samuel L. Jackson became Nick Fury, instead it was Nick Fury became Samuel L. Jackson. But in the end, it was totally acceptable. Samuel L. Jackson is able to present a precise leadership aura to his Nick Fury character. Once again, I have to remind you, what made thiz movie so interesting is when these superheroes gather around and interact with each other. We can see The Duo Chris, Chris Evans and Chris Hemsworth who successfully demonstrate their muscular bodies, just like in CAPTAIN AMERICA: THE FIRST AVENGER (2011) and THOR (2011). Thiz is how superheroes should look like! The brand new figures in thiz movie are the master archer Hawkeye (Jeremy Renner) and the elegant Agent Maria Hill (Cobie Smulders who is widely known in HOW I MET YOUR MOTHER {2005-present}). The other figures who have been introduced since IRON MAN 2 are the loyal Agent Phil Coulson (Clark Gregg) and the sexy heroine Black Widow (Scarlett Johansson). Surprisingly, Scarlett Johansson has a fairly large part in thiz movie. Wait a minute, on second thought, if you have Scar Jo in tight sexy latex suit, of course you will exploit it more. If we are talking about Iron Man, thiz is also one of the most interesting parts. It looks like Robert Downey Jr. have already fused into thiz Tony Stark character so deep, he can represent thiz self-centered character very well without any problem. But in thiz movie, the one who really becomes a scene stealer is the giant green rage monster named Hulk! Once again, it was the Hulk character, not exactly Dr. Bruce Banner or Mark Ruffalo but it was all of them in one. Some fresh and funny moments are obviously when Hulk is around. The most unfortunate thing is that they did not bring up the original founding team such as Ant-Man and The Wasp into the movie. In the end, I confidently can say Marvel Comics seems to be one step ahead from its competitor DC Comics so far. Recently, thiz movie has ruled the box office chart and it turns out to be the earth mightiest blockbuster movie. You know what that means, right? Oh yeah, the next Avengers movie will be coming soon. Maybe next time Marvel Studios will enrich their universe with the presence of other superheroes like Quicksilver, Black Panther, Vision, Doctor Strange, She-Hulk, Wolverine, even Spider-Man. Are you ready for another one?

    Visit My Blog on JONNY MOVEE: http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
    Expand
  68. Aug 19, 2012
    9
    THIS MOVIE WAS AWESOME! Great story, action, drama, I was engrossed from the beginning to the end! It had some great comedy in it and RDJ was in pure form. I'm glad I paid to see this one!
  69. May 28, 2012
    9
    There was nothing in this movie that I didn't like, from beginning to ending. If you're a fan of Marvel movies, you will not be disappointed. You can definitely trust the USER'S review average on this one! The only minor remark I have is that I saw it in 3D, and I think at times it was pretty dark. I would've preferred the 2D, but it was not available in cinemas near me.
  70. May 8, 2012
    8
    Lives up to its hype? Maybe but my expectation is broke. I don't know, maybe it's difficult to these superheroes join as a team. But they're not even a team, they're time bomb. Intriguing dialogue, funny and big boom explosion, it's not best comic book movie but Joss Wheddon succeed bringing Marvel's most ambitious project so far. I don't understand what Loki's motive, even on Thor, ILives up to its hype? Maybe but my expectation is broke. I don't know, maybe it's difficult to these superheroes join as a team. But they're not even a team, they're time bomb. Intriguing dialogue, funny and big boom explosion, it's not best comic book movie but Joss Wheddon succeed bringing Marvel's most ambitious project so far. I don't understand what Loki's motive, even on Thor, I expect more reliable and crazier character like Ledger's Joker. Anyway, we want sequel. Expand
  71. Jan 3, 2014
    8
    this film just works. each marvel hero is woven into the story seamlessly, and the script sparkles with their interplay. it is essentially a classic comic book movie so the story doesn't really hold up, but hell, it's damn entertaining and has some very funny moments.
  72. May 11, 2012
    7
    After setting it up with multiple films about how the individual characters gained their super powers, The Avengers finally brings together all of the heroes in one story to either work together as team to defend Earth or fight amongst each other aided by their massive egos and verbal bravado. Perhaps never before in cinema history have there been so many movies released as prequels toAfter setting it up with multiple films about how the individual characters gained their super powers, The Avengers finally brings together all of the heroes in one story to either work together as team to defend Earth or fight amongst each other aided by their massive egos and verbal bravado. Perhaps never before in cinema history have there been so many movies released as prequels to set up the eventual crown jewel. Batman and Superman only met in the comics, not on the big screen. The Avengers appears to be sort of a test case to see if so many leading superheroes can all share the same screen.

    While all six characters each receive a certain amount of on screen time and side story, some are pushed more into the foreground than others. As Iron Man (Robert Downey Jr.) is a fan favorite and is always handy with a funny quip, he is front and center along with Captain America (Chris Evans) who even though does not have much of a super power, places himself in a sort of leadership role within the group. Thor (Chris Hemsworth), the Hulk (Mark Ruffalo), and the two characters that did not get their own films, Black Widow (Scarlett Johansson) and Hawkeye (Jeremy Renner) all fight for the leftover screen time in the background. The puppet master is Nick Fury (Samuel L. Jackson) who spends most of his effort in sheep dog mode herding these guys from their billion dollar towers or their self-imposed exile.

    So what possible threat is great enough to require the efforts of six superheroes? Eh, itâ
    Expand
  73. May 11, 2012
    9
    Everyone has been saying that this is the best superhero movie ever and maybe the best movie ever. It's definitely not the best MOVIE ever, but it does contend to be the best superhero movie. I can't give it a 10 because it didn't finish, obviously there's another one coming and it did have a few things I would change. I wish that there would have been more enemies that weren't just randomEveryone has been saying that this is the best superhero movie ever and maybe the best movie ever. It's definitely not the best MOVIE ever, but it does contend to be the best superhero movie. I can't give it a 10 because it didn't finish, obviously there's another one coming and it did have a few things I would change. I wish that there would have been more enemies that weren't just random creatures.

    But the movie was great, with great action scenes and good dialog and was very funny at times. I would give it an 8.5 if I could, but I cant and I won't go down to an 8, so it gets a 9.
    Expand
  74. May 7, 2012
    10
    Come for the action, stay for the writing and cast. All of the actors deliver and have a script that's worthy of all of their talents.

    Best one-liners ever
  75. May 8, 2012
    10
    I had the great opportunity to watch this on the 2nd of May on an Imax 3D equipped cinema and my wife and me had a blast of a time. I've never seen my wife (whose never read a Marvel comic in her life) so excited throughout a movie. After the movie, she was all questions.

    Joss Whedon put together a pretty difficult idea that was born with the first Iron Man. Something incredibly hard to
    I had the great opportunity to watch this on the 2nd of May on an Imax 3D equipped cinema and my wife and me had a blast of a time. I've never seen my wife (whose never read a Marvel comic in her life) so excited throughout a movie. After the movie, she was all questions.

    Joss Whedon put together a pretty difficult idea that was born with the first Iron Man. Something incredibly hard to pull off and some say too bloody expensive to make.

    I think Tom Hiddleston and Mark Ruffalo stole the show and I can't wait to see Mr. Ruffalo in the next Hulk movie. Suffice to say, go watch The Avengers, it's the best Summer Block buster ride till Mr. Brooding Knight Rises.

    2012...It's a great time to be a comic geek!
    Expand
  76. May 11, 2012
    10
    What's not to like? Pick your favorite superhero and you'll probably find him/her/it in this film (sorry Spiderman, but you have another film coming up). Great humor. Super effects. Robert Downey, Jr. steals the show - not easy to do next to the Hulk - and his humor is so off the cuff that I wonder if he wrote much of it himself. Either way? It works! It's a summer blockbuster.
  77. May 25, 2012
    9
    I was looking forward to this film in a big way.Well its hard not to when your A,a comic/superhero fan, B,An action movie fan & C,Been following the buildup to this film in the form of the Iron Man,Thor,Captain America & to a lesser degree The Hulk movies.I was confident this was gonna be a good movie,because of the cast,director,the other movies & from what i saw of the movie itselfI was looking forward to this film in a big way.Well its hard not to when your A,a comic/superhero fan, B,An action movie fan & C,Been following the buildup to this film in the form of the Iron Man,Thor,Captain America & to a lesser degree The Hulk movies.I was confident this was gonna be a good movie,because of the cast,director,the other movies & from what i saw of the movie itself during production.Well,i certainly wasnt disappointed!.. Of course it takes a while to build up to the big action,but theres plenty to keep you interested until then,from the buildup itself,to the characters & their dialog.This movie does exactly what it set out to do as far as i'm concerned,& its hard to imagine it done much better.I feel Stark/Iron Man & The Hulk Stole the show a bit(especially Iron Man).A Highly entertaining movie which i highly recommended,especially if you like your action or Superhero movies. Expand
  78. Aug 4, 2012
    8
    Great movie, it's nice to have six movies (2 iron mans, 2 hulks, thor and capt. america) leading up to it, it will be fun to sit down and them all again , I hope Joss Whedon comes back for a couple more of these, it beats making amazing tv shows that get cancelled way to soon (looking at you fire fly, and dollhouse)
  79. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    I watched the captain america movie.I could say that i was not impressed at all but when the movie ended there was a prety good ending and even a better ending after the credits.
    That leaded me to the the avengers.
    Then i realised that captain america was just a warm up for what to come next. So i fired the avengers thinking that it will be an average movie just like captain america.
    I watched the captain america movie.I could say that i was not impressed at all but when the movie ended there was a prety good ending and even a better ending after the credits.
    That leaded me to the the avengers.
    Then i realised that captain america was just a warm up for what to come next.
    So i fired the avengers thinking that it will be an average movie just like captain america.
    The result i was just blown away.This movie is a near masterpiece.Damn black widow should have been cooler but the movie is just insane.
    I recommend it as a must see
    Expand
  80. Apr 9, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Visually, the movie is a treat. And that ends to positive portion of my review. I basically agree with most of the negative reviews, but I refuse to give the movie a 1 or 2. It most certainly wasn't that bad. I just felt that I was waiting the whole film for something to bring me to the edge of my seat, and it didn't happen. The final battle scene was terrible. It went on and on and on, and got dumber and dumber as it did. It felt like it was half the movie, but after the first 2 or 3 minutes of the battle, we'd seen it all. It didn't need to drone on like a bad philosophy professor. There were two many characters for any of them to be written well. I hated the Captain America movie, but I was more interested in his character then than I was in this one. Bruce Banner was pathetic. And could someone please explain to me how Hulk suddenly could go from wanted to kill Black Widow to suddenly understanding everything? The Ironman Mark 7 bit was ridiculous, and some of the arrows that Hawkeye used were ludicrous. Yes, I am keeping in mind this was based on a comic, but come on! Expand
  81. May 8, 2012
    7
    You couldn't ask for finer popcorn entertainment. I enjoyed this movie as will most people, especially kids. However critically speaking there is not much more to offer and the film doesn't provide any great depth for those who don't appreciate big action movies. The humorous banter between the cast of disparate characters trying to come together is clearly a strong point. The lack ofYou couldn't ask for finer popcorn entertainment. I enjoyed this movie as will most people, especially kids. However critically speaking there is not much more to offer and the film doesn't provide any great depth for those who don't appreciate big action movies. The humorous banter between the cast of disparate characters trying to come together is clearly a strong point. The lack of development on a couple of key players detracts from an otherwise rather wonderful character-driven experience. The plot is largely derivative and predictable but as the focus is on characters it remains true to the spirit of the comic source material. The exaggerated violence while amazing and funny is, when you consider the flip-side, implausible and cartoon-like at points. Avengers is a highly enjoyable movie and a grand visual spectacle to boot but won't appeal to anyone looking for meaningful cinema. Expand
  82. Sep 1, 2012
    7
    Joss Whedon creates a fun blockbuster with a huge ensemble cast that most directors would screw up. Not a great film but it sure is fun for it's 2 and a half hour running time.
  83. May 15, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. *The good*: Lots of CGI.
    *The bad*: No character development. Zero. The nerds and the unimaginative among us will fall over themselves to oppose that claim, but the truth is that there is zero character development. Apparently the Avengers are a "time bomb". WTF? Why? Because of their egos? Because they, being heroes, haven't figured out how to be heroes yet, despite having their own movies where they did just that? The problem is that Joss Whedon is playing at telling a compelling "modern-day" hero story (which is all skepticism and a sense of shame regarding the past classic superhero take), but he can't actually do it. Rather than really develop characters, he opts for cheap one-liners designed to tell you that the Avengers can't get along, but he's too cowardly to show it and say why. A better film would go over why the Avengers don't get along. What happened to the characters between their own films and this one? Why are they jaded? Now, as a forgettable film, it's fine. Lots of CGI, some humour and competent direction. So why do review sites have it as 8.9 (I'm looking at you, IMDB)? How have people here managed to rate it collectively at 8.7? Why are the nerds wetting themselves over this? I have no idea. It could have been better, but instead it is... not. Hawkeye is lameness personified. Scarlett Johansson's outfit is tight but the character forgettable. Captain America is crowded out. The Hulk apparently can't control his rage (which is used against them by Loki), but then at the end he miraculously can! Thor (a demi-god) is bland and ineffective. Iron Man is **** but insubstantial. In all, the characters are very weak. Enjoy it as a popcorn (albeit $100 million+ popcorn) movie, but don't tell me that it has "developed characters" or anything of the sort, or that's it's worth anything more than a 7 out of 10.
    Expand
  84. Jun 9, 2012
    9
    BEST **** HERO MOVIE EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    But bad choice of a villian.
  85. May 25, 2012
    10
    An overall great film. Amazing special effects, well fleshed-out characters, good dialouge, and aside from a couple slow spots, it has action from beginning to end.
  86. May 27, 2012
    10
    Thrilling action sequences, a rideable (if simplistic) plot, compelling characters and easily the funniest quips and one-liners ever featured in an action movie. It's unbelievable the extent to which this movie has lived up to (and even surpassed) the unabashed hype train that's been building up since 2008's Iron Man. Anyone who doesn't like this film is either lying or depressed,Thrilling action sequences, a rideable (if simplistic) plot, compelling characters and easily the funniest quips and one-liners ever featured in an action movie. It's unbelievable the extent to which this movie has lived up to (and even surpassed) the unabashed hype train that's been building up since 2008's Iron Man. Anyone who doesn't like this film is either lying or depressed, friendless f*cks. This is, simply put, the best superhero movie of all time. "What's that?" :O "Better than The Dark Knight?" OF COURSE NOT YOU IGNORANT F*CKS. But Batman isn't really a superhero, he's just a well-trained, resourceful, intelligent motherf*cker with an intimidating voice and costume. Far from the over-the-top-abandon-all-pretense-of-realism characters of Thor, Hulk or Iron Man. This film deserves all the praise it gets and then some, a true...MARVEL (*Badum-Tsh*) Expand
  87. May 9, 2012
    7
    An amiable way to while away...how long was it? I found it less engaging than either Iron Man 1 or Thor, and whilst the dialogue interludes were welcome relief from all that crashing and banging, they didn't really go anywhere to help create believable characters. Not the point, perhaps: you can't create 'belief' in demi-gods and superheroes who are, to all intents and purposes,An amiable way to while away...how long was it? I found it less engaging than either Iron Man 1 or Thor, and whilst the dialogue interludes were welcome relief from all that crashing and banging, they didn't really go anywhere to help create believable characters. Not the point, perhaps: you can't create 'belief' in demi-gods and superheroes who are, to all intents and purposes, indestructible, by endowing them with mortal failings like arrogance, brotherly love, rage, patriotism and a desire to set the record straight?

    On the plus side, Mark Ruffalo's Hulk; stupendous effects (undermined by their ruthless efficiency - they're not special anymore) and a couple of good belly laughs; Scarlett Johansson in leather...
    Expand
  88. Sep 30, 2012
    7
    Very overrated movie. The story was not as good as other super hero movies like batman but the action kept it alive. Worth seeing but don't expect it to blow your mind.
  89. Oct 14, 2012
    6
    Less than impressed with this film given its stellar reviews upon release. It is one of those not so rare cases of style over substance, the style being fight scenes and blowing stuff up before coming to an inevitable conclusion of saving the world together and going their separate ways. The attempts at comedy are laboured and obviously, like the film, directed at a popcorn chompingLess than impressed with this film given its stellar reviews upon release. It is one of those not so rare cases of style over substance, the style being fight scenes and blowing stuff up before coming to an inevitable conclusion of saving the world together and going their separate ways. The attempts at comedy are laboured and obviously, like the film, directed at a popcorn chomping audience where films are to be enjoyed with minds switched off. The emotional climaxes in the film also seemed contrived and insincere, as is the case with many big budget films lacking in story and human connection. Firstly are we really meant to care about agent coulson dying merely because we are told 20 minutes before he died he ideolized captain america? And secondly what is the point in pretending to kill off iron man when all of the audience has seen that moment in the trailer a million times when the hulk catches iron man out of the sky and destroys a building in the process? Obviously they were not going to sacrifice a main character in this kind of a film when the secondary ones will suffice for audience emotional interaction. Joss Whedon, a genius, really? Expand
  90. May 17, 2012
    10
    It was funny, awesome, and just plain fun. You will enjoy it even if you know nothing about comics. Hulk. Ya? Smash.
  91. May 31, 2012
    10
    well , i had nothing to say about this film ,
    because this film was...................
    awesome !
    impressive !!
    and funny !!!
    i love the part where hulk smash loki !

    BEST SUMMER MOVIE EVER IN 2012 !
  92. Jan 22, 2013
    8
    Considering the number of movies that came out this year, the Avengers stand near the top of the list. It balances the creation of the superheroes with the dynamic of peoples whom all would have such huge egos having to come together as a team. The comedy is amazing and creates that sense of distrust between the superheroes due to these egos. The invasion at the end is somewhat ruined byConsidering the number of movies that came out this year, the Avengers stand near the top of the list. It balances the creation of the superheroes with the dynamic of peoples whom all would have such huge egos having to come together as a team. The comedy is amazing and creates that sense of distrust between the superheroes due to these egos. The invasion at the end is somewhat ruined by the "Phantom menace Droid Army Syndrome" but beyond that was a solid movie. Expand
  93. Jul 21, 2012
    6
    Generic and predictable plot. Some characters like Black Widow and Hawkeye were uneeded. Although, it does have some nice and expensive special effects and okay action scenes.
  94. May 13, 2013
    5
    This is last year's summer blockbuster. The Avengers has its moments and you won't fall asleep, but it is a bit too busy, probably because it has five or six superheroes too many, including two from Norse mythology. I'm not sure that Loki and Thor count as superheroes. Thor is the Norse god of thunder; in this film, he is frequently depicted wielding a gold oversized hammer that looks likeThis is last year's summer blockbuster. The Avengers has its moments and you won't fall asleep, but it is a bit too busy, probably because it has five or six superheroes too many, including two from Norse mythology. I'm not sure that Loki and Thor count as superheroes. Thor is the Norse god of thunder; in this film, he is frequently depicted wielding a gold oversized hammer that looks like a giant dreidel. Loki is, according to mythology, a rather weird loner of a god who causes all kinds of mischief, and he is famous for being a shapeshifter, an attribute which is not explored in this story. In this film, Loki is the mad genius who wants to destroy the world, the typical villain that turns up in every superhero movie from Batman to Austin Powers to the T-Rex in Jurassic Park. In Norse mythology, Loki is constantly fouling things up, and he is not a nice god, but he doesn't have enough ambition or smarts to try to destroy the planet.

    For example, in a famous mythological scene, Odin, the chief god, is on planet Earth strolling along to pay a respectful visit the King of the Dwarves. Odin is accompanied by Loki and another god. The King's son is also a shapeshifter, and the son is lounging by the stream in the shape of an otter. Loki sees the otter, and all he can think is “lunch,” so while Odin walks on ahead, Loki stops to kill the otter, throw it over his shoulders, and then give the poor Dwarf King a real shock when he enters the house a few minutes behind Odin, carrying some delectable meat. This causes Odin all kinds of problems, as he then has to find a way to give the Dwarf King restitution for the death of his son. Tom Hiddleston as Loki does a very good portrayal of unrelenting evil, but the relation to the mythological Loki is weak.

    Even Robert Downey Jr. gets lost in the sauce, since his Iron Man has much less screen time here than what he's used to, and he's sharing the set with too many other A-listers. Downey is a little out of shape in this film, a state he seems to have recently corrected, but the main problem is that Iron Man as a team player doesn't seem to work. Mark Ruffalo's the Hulk is so hulking and destructive that he gets on your nerves. He's a bull in a china shop, and his massive destructiveness is a little annoying. The pleasant surprise is Scarlett Johansson as the Black Widow. Her best scene is when she's tied to a chair and is seemingly being interrogated, if not tortured, but in fact she is the one conducting the interrogation by asking a lot of questions while perceived as being in a state of bondage from which she cannot escape. When she has to answer her cell phone, she drops the ruse, beats everybody up, and gets back to the office. That scene is worth the rest of the movie.

    The film is entertaining on a somewhat juvenile level, but given that it made over a billion dollars, the producers are obviously not concerned about high art with respect to this genre.
    Expand
  95. May 9, 2012
    10
    This movie is by far the best start to the summer movie season we've had in a LONG time. Everything was perfectly timed and the cinematography was stunning. Some of the best 3D work since Hugo. Robert Downey Jr was completely on top of his game in this movie. He has taken the character of Tony Stark and taken him to a WHOLE NEW LEVEL!! This movie was big and epic and its the way itThis movie is by far the best start to the summer movie season we've had in a LONG time. Everything was perfectly timed and the cinematography was stunning. Some of the best 3D work since Hugo. Robert Downey Jr was completely on top of his game in this movie. He has taken the character of Tony Stark and taken him to a WHOLE NEW LEVEL!! This movie was big and epic and its the way it should've been!! Would almost want to see it again but only in IMAX, but Dark Shadows comes out next week, so it looks like a one and done deal for me until I purchase it on 3D Blu Ray.

    In closing, if you havent seen this movie yet, get out there and see it. You'll laugh, applaud, and cheer right till the very end. Also, FYI, stay til after the end of the credits for a special treat!
    Expand
  96. OMM
    May 7, 2012
    10
    This is a great summer movie period. Take your kids get and prepare to be absolutely amazed. I haven't seen effects this real since the first Jurassic Park.
  97. Feb 19, 2013
    7
    This film is not as good as everyone said it was. It is quite bland, seemed somewhat lifeless and was backed up by a lacking storyline. But, it was quite good fun; despite the problems I had with the story, the acting was of a pretty high standard from most of the cast, particularly from the main antagonist of the film, who was creepy, strong and weak at all the right times, perhaps aThis film is not as good as everyone said it was. It is quite bland, seemed somewhat lifeless and was backed up by a lacking storyline. But, it was quite good fun; despite the problems I had with the story, the acting was of a pretty high standard from most of the cast, particularly from the main antagonist of the film, who was creepy, strong and weak at all the right times, perhaps a little stale at times however. The music was forgettable, the action was good, but not outstanding, and even though every character got a good amount of time in the limelight, it felt like Iron Man and Black Widow's film. The film is very conventionally shot, no nice camera tricks or spectacular shots appeared in the movie, this is not so much a negative of the film: but it certainly could have been better. Overall though, The Avengers is a fun film, that will definitely appeal more to fans of the Avengers, but both the Amazing Spiderman and the Dark Knight Rises present a more appealing superhero movie for 2012. Decent fun, but flawed. 68/100. Expand
  98. Jun 11, 2012
    10
    The action is almost as hardcore as Transformers and the story just as good as Iron Man. Its an unforgettably fun comic book film. You simply can't go wrong with 6 heros for the price of one.
  99. May 15, 2012
    7
    Marvel's The Avengers is a fun movie. It's a +2hrs ride full of capes, suits and explosions. Just the type of entertainment you expect for the summer. It's not a deep movie, it's rather the opposite. The focus was on the Avengers coming together. While it was cliche usually, I enjoyed it. I knew what to expect, yet I watched it with pleasure. I think that's the point of such movies. You goMarvel's The Avengers is a fun movie. It's a +2hrs ride full of capes, suits and explosions. Just the type of entertainment you expect for the summer. It's not a deep movie, it's rather the opposite. The focus was on the Avengers coming together. While it was cliche usually, I enjoyed it. I knew what to expect, yet I watched it with pleasure. I think that's the point of such movies. You go to the cinema not expecting a masterpiece, but a good funride. We're presented with the obvious mid-movie crisis between the heroes and then the big fight with all of them fighting together. Cliche, but it's still nice to see Hulk alongside Iron Man :)

    Whedon and his cast deliver. Most of it, at least.
    The movie is stolen by Ruffalo's Hulk. Peroid. He gets the funniest moments, with Thor coming in second. Suprisingly - Tony Stark (Downey Jr.) is only trying to be funny. I didn't laugh at any of his jokes and sometimes even felt a bit irritated.
    Hiddleston's Loki is believeable, while Evans is a complete and utter mistake. I just can't bring myself to liking this version of Captain America. Evans looks and acts in this movie like a dumbed-down 25 y.o. with muscles bigger than Thor's. Not my pair of shoes.
    Renner steals the dumbest scenes in the movie with his funny faces and acting seriously, while doing stupid things. The felt... unnecessary. Both of them, really. Well no. Black Widow served a purpose. As opposed to Cobie Smoulder's Maria Hill. If she was supposed to be the eyecandy, she surely didn't catch my eye.

    Other major flaw is the forced 3D. My cinema didn't offer me the choice between 2D and 3D. And I regret that, because I watched about 30% of the movie with glasses off. It doesn't improve the experience, but on the contrary - makes the faster paced fight scenes blurry and hard to watch.

    Whedon's humour is clearly visible throughout the whole thing and is a major strength of the movie itself. And again - Hulk steals it. Stark tries to be funny, but on majority of occasions fails.

    I left the movie satisfied with the outcome. There were superheroes, big fights, laughs and Johansson in spandex (unfortunately 3D instead of pleasing the male audience did the opposite, blurred everything in closeups :( ).

    If you wanted a movie with tons of your beloved comic heroes doing good, you get better. You get a well paced and executed picture, which clearly sets up the ground for sequels. And I, for sure, will be visting a cinema nearby to see it. Just as I will go to Iron Man 3 and Thor 2.

    I will not go to Captain America 2, because Chris Evans is NOT my Captain America and at the same time is the biggest flaw of The Avengers. Pity, but we get Hulk, Iron Man and Thor to cover him up. And that's enough for me.

    Assemble in a theatre near you and enjoy. As did I.
    Expand
  100. May 8, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Only downside of this movie is the lack of a really good villain. The special effects, story and acting were all pretty well done. It's understandable that it's hard to focus on character development when you have so many heroes/main characters. The movie really relies on the audience member having already watched the 'prequel' movies: Captain America, Iron Man 1+2, The Incredible Hulk, Thor...otherwise you might not understand or relate to the main characters. Being a marvel fan, I recognize who the enemy is at the end of the movie...and if it's who I think it is (Thanos), the next movie will be pretty awesome as it counters my beginning argument of having a relatively weak villain. The movie also has some key parts that are pretty humorous apart from all the action. I think the fighting scenes were all very well done and is what I'd expect from a marvel movie and would even be pretty good as a comic (if it were drawn out). Overall 9-10. Be sure to watch AVX and 3D to get the most out of the experience. Expand
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 43
  2. Negative: 1 out of 43
  1. Reviewed by: Bob Mondello
    May 8, 2012
    75
    The banter has zip, the effects are fun, the climactic battle is decently spectacular, and if the 3-D is mostly expendable, there are a few scenes where it adds a nice kick.
  2. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    May 4, 2012
    80
    This mania is what Marvel followers have hungered for, and it would be fruitless to deny their delight. As Loki says to a crowd of earthlings, "It is the unspoken truth of humanity that you crave subjugation." We do, Master, we do.
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    May 4, 2012
    60
    They're fascinating characters, to be sure, with back stories ripe for development. But Whedon doesn't commit here, and the results are shrug-worthy.