User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2494 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 1, 2012
    9
    Great movie. Funny, good action, good effects. Ruffalo surpassed Bana and Norton in the role of the Hulk. A good conclusion to the first saga of Marvel movies, and makes me wanting more and more.
  2. Jul 31, 2012
    9
    This film is every little boy's dream: All your favorite Marvel superheros coming together. For the most part, it works very well. The characters have distinct personalities and are a lot of fun to watch, especially when it comes to settling their differences. This is one of those movies that is more about action than drama. There are a lot of scenarios that look like they were taken directly from a comic book, and for a move that's based on a comic book, it adds a great sense of authenticity. Is there anything I don't like about this film? There are quite a few things that prevent it from being perfect, but there are so many moments where you cheer for you favorite heroes that any flaws you come across quickly become irrelevant. In other words, you find yourself in such a huge world of action fantasies that it manages to distract you from everything else. The Avengers is simply an ensemble like no other. Expand
  3. Jul 27, 2012
    0
    The best superhero movie ever? Not even close. Do NOT believe the hype with this film, it is simply a lot of hot air. Poor acting - check - there are a few brief moments mainly by Eric Banner
    Poorly paced - check - unbelievably clunky beginning then into CGI battle after CGI battle - yawn.
    Poor dialogue - check - this is my biggest annoyance. Whedon is meant to be great at dialogue.
    Where did it go so wrong here? Well this little line sums it up - whats the plan of attack? i have a plan. attack. Yeah its that cheesy. Some people are trying to defend the title of it being a mindless popcorn flick by trying to see things that are not there. This happens in any film where it really is as shallow as it looks. There are some nice glances between characters but it is all so contrived and unrealistic its hard to feel anything for it. When the characters are over being spoilt brats there is the coming together period which is meant to be one of the key character moments in an otherwise disappointing display. It's fair to say it falls short, again feeling contrived and unconvincing. DO NOT BELIEVE THE HYPE - this film is poor, at absolute best its around 4/10. I am giving it a 1/10 for a number of reasons. 1 - the number of 10/10 is ridiculous not many films deserve 10/10 and this film certainly does not. 2 - the hype lead me to believe this film would be incredible, its not, this caused great disappointment for me. As other top critics have said this film is shallow and a fun popcorn flick. If you like comic books then its almost certainly for you. If however you like intelligent film making with well developed characters which is well paced - go watch something else. Expand
  4. Jul 25, 2012
    0
    Avengers is for dumb people, or those that want to be entertained by a bunch of nonsense. We should ask more from Hollywood then the same retreads just on a larger scale.
  5. Jul 25, 2012
    10
    This movie right here. One of the best experiences I've had in a movie theater. The dialogue was witty and the characters very well-written. Joss Whedon did a phenomenal job. As far as movies go, this was one of the most entertaining movies I have ever seen. Though far more than just action, once it gets going, it is so good. The action-packed final 30 minutes are some of the best sequences I've seen on film. The Avengers, to me, is the new gold standard for comic book movies. It doesn't get much better than this. Expand
  6. Jul 24, 2012
    5
    Joss Whedon a thespian of the TV world directs his first big budget studio backed super hero movie bringing together some of the most iconic Super Heroes of the Marvel Comics universe. In my personal opinion the movie falls short of the promise it held with the recently successful Iron-Man, Thor and Captain America who all come together as The Avengers a special task force
  7. Jul 22, 2012
    10
    I just watched what was one of the single greatest movies I have ever seen. The Avengers is THE best superhero movie I have EVER seen. I am just stunned. That movie was SO worth the wait. "Hulk... SMASH!"

    It is going to be so hard for any other movie released this summer to top The Avengers let a lone any superhero movie that will ever be released from this point on. The Avengers has
    completely raised the bar. That was a hell of a way to kick of The Summer Blockbuster Season Marvel! Bravo Marvel, bravo!

    For those of you who have not yet seen Iron Man, Iron Man 2, The Incredible Hulk, Thor and Captain America: The First Avenger but want to go see The Avengers this weekend, you could technically see it without seing the other movies but you will just end up hurting your enjoyment of the movie. One of the best things about The Avengers is seeing all of these amazing characters, each with there own standalone film, come together in this truly epic movie. Do yourself a favor and check those 5 movies before rushing off to go see The Avengers. It will be SO worth it in the end.
    Expand
  8. Jul 21, 2012
    0
    The story was horrid in this movie, it felt very lazy. There was never any inclination that the good guys could lose, or even injured; it made for a very flat, anticlimactic story. That's my biggest gripe, but not my only one. Even knowing the backstory of all the characters from previous movies, I just really didn't care about any of them in this one. The characters were written poorly and it was just compounded by the bad acting. Every scene that had Scarlett Johanson in it was painful to watch. The only character I was even remotely interested in was Bruce Banner / Hulk. This would be a great movie to take an 8 year old to. They would have no problem glazing over the shallow characters and lethargic plot. Expand
  9. Jul 21, 2012
    6
    Generic and predictable plot. Some characters like Black Widow and Hawkeye were uneeded. Although, it does have some nice and expensive special effects and okay action scenes.
  10. Jul 21, 2012
    0
    Explosions and gags... Wrestlemania is better in this fields... Avengers is the worst movie of superheros of the history, because dont have story. Only Downey Jr. brings some emocion, all the rest are littles and poors.
  11. Jul 21, 2012
    10
    Very bad movie. It's like i was watching transformers.... My favorite marvel movie is x-men first class... this avengers is not good at all. I hope iron man 3 be better!
  12. Jul 21, 2012
    5
    This movie was a lot of talking, mainly just arguing between the Avengers. The Antagonist is nothing to fear, and there is no doubt in the viewer's head that he will be defeated with ease. The gigantically long and redundant battle scene against the monster things wasn't special because every alien thing was the same and there was nothing special about them. Robert Downey, Jr. was the best part of the movie. His portrayal of Tony Stark was great and humorous. Captain America was boring and annoying at times. I don't understand the hype at all. It was "all right" at best. Expand
  13. Jul 21, 2012
    10
    Literally greatest comic book movie to date. And this is even having watched The Dark Knight Rises just last night to solidify my claim. A movie that never loses it's sense of heroes and the act of heroism is just as glorious as it is sacrificial. It is something to be cheered, not something to be mourned. A superhero film that actually follows the essence of a comic book instead of cower away from it in fear of fantasy. Expand
  14. Jul 21, 2012
    7
    Ok. Firstly, I've got to say that I had a good time watching The Avengers. There were some interesting moments and liners that even I still remember up to now. Robert Downey Jr. did well as Tony Stark/Ironman and I seriously can't imagine that character is played by another actor. Mark Ruffalo also stole the show. From the beginning until some moments before the ending you could witness how tense he was. He seemed to think that as if he was a nuke that could just blow out at anytime. In short, in term of the characters, I think that there was no flaws at all. The characters were delivered superbly.
    However, just like most superhero movies, I found out that I actually don't care about the faith of each character. I had already known that every single main character would survive the day even before I started watching it. As a result, I felt no personal feelings toward the characters. I wasn't afraid that by the end of the movie Ironman would probably die nor I couldn't care less about Hawkeye and Black Widow's relationship. Apart from Bruce Banner character, I felt that I wasn't attached to the characters. They were all flat. And the way I see it, there is always a minus point in watching a movie that you know that the major characters will just survive: There is no tension. I ain't commenting on the story since this movie is not for the hardcore audience;this one is aimed into family teritory. Thus, the flaws in the story and the 'too-much-focus-on-the-effects-is all fine.
    I recommend this movie to those who want to have a good time. Prepare some food and watch it with your family. You'll surely have a good time.
    Expand
  15. Jul 20, 2012
    8
    A very fun film, I enjoyed it a LOT. I can't express in words how fun it was. It's great, not much to really say... ummm except that maybe it will be pretty outdated in 20 years... This is the Batman 89 of Marvel. It's a very conventional team action movie but a very well made film as well.

    ★ ★ ★ ★ (was originally gonna post 3.5/5 but I really liked this film
    soo..... 4/5 for me :D) Expand
  16. Jul 20, 2012
    0
    MI hermano lo vio y diji - que les pasa yo no quiero ver a hulk en bikini, yoprefiero ver el club de la pelea o algo asi- me imaginaba que no le gustaria por que brilla de infantil esta pelicula.
  17. Jul 20, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. load of horse **** lit on fire and put out with a hack saw ..............................****TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT..............................
    ****
    Expand
  18. Jul 19, 2012
    0
    Probably one of the worst movies i have ever seen. Only Tony Stark and Bruce Banner seemed developed. The storyline was dull and boring. The finale took forever. The "come together" moment was completely terrible. Hawkeye barely got any screen time. Unoriginal storyline creates a power rangers for adults. Mindless action that had no meaning makes this one of the worst Marvel movies of all time. The only good parts about this were the special effects (which had no meaning because of the terrible script, unoriginal storyline, and mediocre acting) and the only developed character, the Hulk. If you want a real movie, skip "Marvel's The Avengers". Expand
  19. Jul 17, 2012
    9
    Joss Whedon certainly delivers. This is crucial, because this is where five different films intersect. None of the heroes outshine their teammates the fight scenes are eye-candy, and the witty dialogue and humor will satisfy both comic book nerds and average movie-goes alike.
  20. Jul 17, 2012
    8
    The long awaited The Avengers seeks out summer movie boredom and punches it in the face with humor, incredible talk-about-it-for-hours-later-with-your-teenage-friends action, and an infectious sense of fun. The visuals are spectacular, the characters are all given their shot at the spotlight, Joss Whedon proves to be a go-to director for big hollywood releases, and, well, basically it just defines the word 'awesome'. It doesn't really unearth any hidden truths about morality and justice (as opposed to other superhero films like The Dark Knight) and you pretty much will see every twist coming, but that is all blown away with its sheer grand scale and fanboy glee-filled moments. Go in with whatever expectations you have and you will probably leave happily. A perfect summer release and an overall great time at the movies. Expand
  21. Jul 17, 2012
    10
    With every superhero movie there has to be spectacle, its just a given. The fighting, the actors, everything has to be visually stunning. The problem with superhero movies is that a director (or even to an extent a writer) can get so wrapped up in making the film surprising in its aesthetics that it fails to give the film the emotional resonance you can find all too easily in the comics these characters come from. Luckily for anyone thinking about going to see the Avengers (who are we kidding, most of you are) Joss Whedon (Buffy The Vampire Slayer, Firefly/Serenity) understands the characters he is directing. He understands what makes them tick, why they fight, who they are as people and as heroes. The writing (by Whedon and Zak Penn) is equal parts powerful and hilarious allowing for levity in a story filled with impeding doom. The story isn't overly complicated to follow and the film never loses momentum (even at its gigantic run time of 2 hours and 25 minutes) keeping you entertained for the entire run. The reintroduction of the key cast members is well paced while introducing some much needed personality to characters that failed to receive any in their own origins movies (Captain America, I'm looking at you). Don't get me wrong, the movie isn't all talking. Over half of the film is action (as you would expect) but the action never feels shoehorned in like it did in Iron Man 2 or The Incredible Hulk. The incredible set pieces look fantastic thanks to some undeniably imaginative direction by Whedon who puts the 220 million dollar budget to good use with some incredibly clever shots, especially towards the end of the film. The film is smart, funny, beautiful and services every single Avenger, including some of the until now overlooked ones such as Scarlett Johansson's Black Widow, Jeremy Renner's Hawkeye (who up until this point has had literally one line in Thor) and Samuel L Jackson's Nick Fury. That being said, the characters you are going to go see the movie for are still the same dynamic leads you remember them to be from Robert Downey Jr's genius playboy Tony Stark to Chris Hemsworth's arrogant yet loveable Thor. It's not just the best superhero movie of the year (of which we can expect many like the new Spiderman and The Dark Knight Rises), its the best superhero movie ever, and this is coming from someone who thinks the world of Batman Begins. It's not only worth a watch, its worth several. However if you are going to go and see it, check out the cheaper and much more striking 2D version as the film is much brighter and undeniably more vivid. Enjoy. Expand
  22. Jul 17, 2012
    10
    The best super hero movie I've yet seen and a damn fine action flick with some genuine humor and touches of heart, a must see.

    I can well understand the complaints as to the story it's not Shakespeare but does anyone expect it to be? It's story suits it perfectly however and had me at least wanting to see even if I already guessed what would happen next. A must see.
  23. Jul 16, 2012
    9
    Best big action film I've seen in a long long time. They did really well give all the main characters enough air time so to speak with Mark Ruffalo stealing the show as the Hulk. The only negatives for me was the loose story of Thor returning to earth easily through Odin even though in the end of Thor
  24. Jul 15, 2012
    9
    The Avengers strikes you like Thor's thunder and will knock you over as if you were Hulk smashed! Bringing together some of the most iconic comic book characters from Marvel, this movie could either be very good or very bad. Fortunately, it's very very good! Using familiar faces like Downey Jr as Iron man and Chris Hemsworth as Thor, The Avengers also welcomes Jeremy Renner as Hawkeye and Mark Ruffalo as the Hulk! The movie answers everything you questioned at the end of the Marvel movies and puts you in the middle of the Marvel movies and The Avengers! Expand
  25. Jul 14, 2012
    10
    This movie. This movie right here. Iron Man being awesome will be more than enough to entertain you. Personally, I was apparently the only one who thought Hulk was BY FAR the best part of this film. I felt like they just nailed it with that character both as Bruce and the Hulk. We've already seen Iron Man but this was the first really good Hulk. There were points where I actually clapped out of sheer excitement and joy, and I never react like that to a film. On that basis alone I'm giving this a 10. It may not have the best plot. It may be a bit cheesy. Some of the characters feel like a waste of time. But I have NEVER had that positive an experience in a theater. Therefore, ALL THE POINTS. Expand
  26. Jul 13, 2012
    10
    This Movie was awesome It has Action,Laughs,Epicness the only thing It didn´t have Its love
    This is an orgasm for all MARVEL fan really
    And at the and after the credits we can see cleary tha there are gonig to be a 2cnd part
  27. Jul 12, 2012
    4
    This movie was very tasteless. There was not much of a story and when it started getting good it went right back down. I think it is just too many superheros for one movie. Many questions that came up for the things that just made nosense.
  28. Jul 12, 2012
    5
    The special effects were great and the action was great, but The Avengers was lacking in other areas. The story was ridiculous and not engaging whatsoever and the jokes just weren't very funny at all. God, Robert Downey Jr. annoyed me so much!
  29. Jul 11, 2012
    9
    While there is no doubt that Avengers (Assemble here in Ireland) is light on any real plot, that would be missing the real strength of the movie - it's pure popcorn fun. Leave complexity and darkness to Batman, here the characters are larger than life, the action scenes are gripping and the plot is just there to link scenes together (and sometimes not even that).

    Much like a Star Wars
    or Ghostbusters its the characters and the way that they interact with each other that carry everything along, be it in dialogue or in the set-pieces. Yes, the bad guys are pretty much non-entities and the Tesseract is the very definition of a McGuffin but that doesn't take away from a fantastic event movie. By far the best of the marvel movies. Expand
  30. Jul 9, 2012
    5
    5 out of 10, even though that's going against the general opinion of the public. It was a really good movie, but it was still a Superhero movie that comes at the tail end of an ongoing fad in Hollywood. I enjoyed it, so don't misunderstand what I'm saying. It just needed to step up it's game in order to compete with some of the other movies that are circulating out there. A lot of people loved it, but I'm not a lot of people. It had it's moments of well done special effects, humor, and dialogue. I was hoping for better, but it didn't meet my expectations. Expand
  31. Jul 8, 2012
    9
    The greatest Marvel film of all time. "Marvels: The Avengers" has set the bar for all superhero movies of the future. Not only was the acting very spectacular, ( Especially Mr. Robert Downy Jr. ) but the visual effects made you feel like you were part of the story. Alas, the story was not much. It was an average story that should have been overlooked throughout more months. Otherwise, this movie is phenomenal and anybody saying otherwise does not have any taste in movies. That being said i cannot wait for "Marvels: The Avengers 2" Expand
  32. Jul 4, 2012
    10
    Joss Whedon deserves a huge pat on the back for pulling off the near impossible. He has directed and helped create a movie that is a sequel to five other movies. He has brought together all those main characters from those movies as well as effectively dealing with new ones brought into this movie for the first time. Did I mention that this is a comic book movie? The Avengers may be the best movie of the summer and possibly of all year. An exciting story as well as one of the best scripts I have ever seen adds to the superb special effects and the top notch directing. But this movie would be nothing without such a dedicated cast of actors and actresses. The Avengers does many things right. One of my favorite things about this movie, however, is how each of Earth Expand
  33. Jul 4, 2012
    9
    Probably one of THE best Marvel film out there. This film has everything a Marvel fan or any Action fan has and even more! The writing is superb and it doesn't make 1 superhero above everyone else, all of them are equal even the lesser ones like Hawkeye and Black Widow, heck even Nick Fury. Unfortunately this film is plagued with a fault every other Marvel film has; pacing. I feel that the middle-point of the film was very boring and it was just talkin and talkin also the attack on the flying ship was pretty lame too, there wasn't much spectacle except when Banner Hulks out. Which comes to my next point, holy sht the last fight is pretty intense and literally redeems all of the flaws I have with this film. So I'll give it a 9/10. If it wasn't for the epic climax I'd probably rate it a 6/10 or 7/10. Expand
  34. Jul 3, 2012
    6
    Where are the attractive actresses? Are they all locked in rich peoples basements? Why can't an attractive female be in movies? Your review must be at least 150 characters long.
  35. Jul 3, 2012
    9
    Josh Whedon brought out the best in every character. Sharing the screen time between the group of heroes and playing them off each other with a master's touch. There were no wasted moments are dead-end story threads as found in most comic movies. The villains and threat lived up to the use of the group of heroes. They all got their time in the spotlight. This is the best Marvel film to date, and by far the best use of the Hulk. Expand
  36. Jul 3, 2012
    10
    The Avengers is by far the best Marvel film. It's almost like if you putted together all the films from Iron Man till Thor and you have The Avengers, which was basically what they did. Some characters are more relevant, like Black Widow or Captain America. The action sequences were superb and the way the characters interact was really great. The script also contains some nice humurous moments.
    A perfect and well deserved 10.
    Expand
  37. Jun 28, 2012
    9
    A great example of the whole being worth more than the sum of it's parts. Out of all the individual movies, the IronMan series is very good , with the others falling short of it's mark. Now with The Avengers, they can all be thought of as pretty good opening scenes to one heck of an ending!
  38. Jun 28, 2012
    10
    The Avengers is a great film, and really shows off the iconic Marvel superhero team. It has a quite long running time which is great because it allowed more detail than if it were shorter. Aswell as the action that we all knew it would contain, the film also contained some light humour and a few dramatic scenes which made this such a good film that everyone should enjoy. In conclusion, it has got to easily be one of the best films of the year, and I am sure that other people would agree with me. Expand
  39. Jun 26, 2012
    10
    Perspective: A fan of Avengers comics and cartoons for decades. Loved almost every Marvel movie to date

    Expectations: Been waiting on an Avengers movie since Iron Man, totally blown away by the trailers

    Delivery: Speaking as a fan of the original source material, Avengers totally blew me away. The ultimate experience for fans of the comics AND movies. Seeing these all of these
    characters interact (and fight) with one another is rewarding on so many levels. I was a highly volatile mixture bubbling over with geeky excitement for the entire film. For those who don't read comics but enjoyed the Marvel films, Avengers takes all that you loved about those previous movies (action, humor, and a good story) combines them and sprinkles them generously throughout the entire experience. For the artsy types, this is an fx laden superhero action adventure movie, so don't go in expecting to see Shakespeare with laser beams, or Citizen Kane with a cape

    Avengers is easily the best movie of the Summer (so far), and easily my favorite super hero movie ever PERIOD.
    Expand
  40. Jun 26, 2012
    5
    The special effects alone are not enough to make a good movie, but apparently not many people understand it. Often boring, rarely funny and exciting. Only look if you love Marvel.
  41. Jun 25, 2012
    7
    Everything about this movie is slick and classy, from the dialogue to the action sequences (which I must also say are 10 times better than in other action films I have seen throughout the years). The plotline is actually sophisticated (praise the lord!) and therefore the movie doesn't need to treat the viewers like dummies (seriously, could I ask for anything more?) Particularly impressive is how well the film integrates the various stories regarding the different superheroes into one cohesive, kickass unit. And I mustn't forget that the film is fun. You'll have a blast watching it. It's entertainment at it's best. Did I mention the film is fun? Wait until after the credits for another scene that will make your viewing experience even better. Expand
  42. Jun 23, 2012
    7
    This is an action film- and nobody likes action films with not enough action. I went to this movie of the normal opinion I go to see action movies with- I'll have seen all the action in the trailer. This is absolutely not the case with Avengers! I was pleasantly surprised with the fact there was far more action than your average superhero movie film, with not too many less-interesting talky talky bits. I gave this a seven because though the effects and acting were astounding, I felt it could have used a bit more explanation of the storyline, and was a bit slow to get going. Some stuff I just didn't get as well. But besides that, good job! Definitely better than a lot of the things I've seen in the cinema of late (cough john carter cough) Expand
  43. Jun 23, 2012
    10
    This is the best movie of the year and one of the best I have ever seen. You should so watch this. Especially if you like comics. To watch the movie it would be best to watch Thor before.
  44. Jun 23, 2012
    8
    Last night, someone made the comment to me that Whedon is surely on his way to becoming the next Christopher Nolan - someone who gets to play around with a camera, a couple million dollars and they
  45. Jun 21, 2012
    5
    Here are 5 reasons why this movie wasn't as good as it could have been:
    1.The actor playing the villain was too weak for the rest of the cast of characters.
    2. Too much of the movie takes place on a Plane
    3. That's 3 strikes now for casting a decent HULK actor, or even scripting a good HULK storyline
    4. Robert Downey Jr.'s shtick is getting tired and repetitive (see: every movie he
    makes)
    5. Thor is a super-powerful God, what is it that the other characters have to offer? (maybe they are the distractions)
    Expand
  46. Jun 21, 2012
    10
    This movie is great I enjoyed very well I enjoyed the plot and how they got everyone together how it was placed and the special effects were excellent
  47. Jun 18, 2012
    10
    Really good movie, and had good humor and action scenes.:) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :)
  48. Jun 18, 2012
    9
    I liked The Avengers a lot! What a fantastic summer movie with spectacular visuals and a great cast. The story was actually more than what I hoped for and it was surprisingly funny for what it is. Just sheer action movie bliss, all the way around.
  49. Jun 18, 2012
    0
    The avengers is a shockingly plebian pleb fest designed exclusively for plebs.

    It consists of two hours of the plebiest plebiancy you will ever witness with your plebian eyes.

    I seriously hope you don't watch this movie, pleb.
  50. Jun 18, 2012
    0
    Stunning movie! Thumbs up to Mr Whedon and Mr Marvel who know how to put together a blockbuster, and for all you marvel followers who have seen this movie brace your self, the best is yet to come.
  51. Jun 15, 2012
    10
    Felt like I actually got my moneys worth for a change with this movie. I saw it twice. Pure entertainment. It is comic book style. Of course this movie was not going to break literary ground. O took my kids and wife to this movie and we laughed the whole way home. What more can you expect from a piece of fiction?
  52. Jun 15, 2012
    8
    It's finally arrived - the blockbuster to end all blockbusters. So, is it any good? In short, yes it is. Over the last four years, Marvel has delivered a series of mostly underwhelming origin films that seemed to spend as much time setting up The Avengers as they did introducing the hero on the poster. Incredibly, Mr Whedon has managed to bring together all the Marvel big-hitters, played by some seriously big personalities, and somehow make it work as one film, with every character equally serviced and their place amongst this all-star roster well-earned. The highlight of the impressive cast is definitely Mark Ruffalo, playing the latest incarnation of Bruce Banner/The Hulk (though he's the first actor to truly play both sides of the character with the assistance of motion-capture). Whedon appears to truly understand the character, and Ruffalo is able to effectively communicate to the viewer through a sensitive and understated performance the extreme fear, paranoia and depression of Bruce Banner, and by really letting rip in his mo-cap suit he demonstrates the volatility and terrifying power of "the other guy". Robert Downey, Jr.'s wisecracking playboy Tony Stark/Iron Man continues to entertain, and Whedon gives Downey the very best lines in the film - my personal favourite being when Stark is trying to reign in the furious new arrival Thor (Chris Hemsworth) and mocks his flowing red cloak with "doth your mother know you weareth her drapes?". Scarlett Johansson also easily manages to hold her own in a largely testosterone-fuelled cast, and manages to develop Natasha Romanoff/Black Widow from the stereotypical sexy femme fatale we saw in Iron Man 2 to a fully-rounded, deadly and viciously intelligent character tormented by her violent past that we see here. The final act shows the true potential of a modern big-budget superhero film; with the six heroes working together to defend Manhattan from an alien invasion lead by the increasingly manic tyrannical Asgardian exile Loki (Tom Hiddleston). In one particularly slick and visually eye-popping moment the camera snakes its way through the city and in one unbroken shot takes in each of the Avengers in turn working as a team to repel the invaders. The most rewarding and enjoyable moments for me, however, were on a far smaller scale and from much earlier in the film. In one particularly fine scene from the first act, Black Widow travels to Calcutta to persuade reclusive Bruce Banner to join SHIELD forces as a consultant on gamma radiation, and the on-edge scientist feigns a transformation into his greener side to test Romanoff's true intentions. I also loved Black Widow's interrogation of Loki later in the film - the scene gives Johansson and Hiddleston plenty of room to play off each other and it's intelligently scripted, brilliantly tense and beautifully performed by the actors, resulting in an incredibly revealing moment for both of their characters. The Avengers is exactly what a great blockbuster should be - grounded enough to be relevant and dramatically effective in the contemporary world (with references to worldwide energy shortages, WMDs and the terrifying future of warfare) but also fantastical enough to be fun, and to provide a level of escapism for the audience (it is about a group of very special guys and gals in funny costumes fighting aliens, after all!). I must admit, the film does lose momentum a couple of times, and there are some incredibly convenient plot devices employed firstly to get the heroes together, and secondly to tie things up towards the end, but you can't really hold these minor gripes against a filmmaker like Joss Whedon. This is a man who has achieved the impossible in making Marvel's crowning glory worthy of the time and effort dedicated to laying its groundwork over the last half-decade, and with the addition of his trademark playful sense of humour, the film doesn't look like it's taking itself too seriously, which could have been fatal. Awesome is a criminally misapplied adjective in this day and age, but there really is no better way to describe this super-powered extravaganza. Unless Hulktastic is a word, that is. Expand
  53. Jun 12, 2012
    8
    Now, I'll be honest with all of you. I wasn't really interested in watching this movie when it came out. But my friends invited me to come watch it so I tagged along, and was I glad I did. The movie was great, it was funny, but I will be honest, I felt the sorta middle of the movie was very boring, in fact I ended up falling asleep for a couple minutes because of it. Anyways I did enjoy this movie towards the end, and I didn't expect the movie to actually be funny, I thought it was going to be a serious and aggressive movie, but I was wrong. I enjoyed this movie and I do recommend this to anyone who enjoys a good movie, and a good laugh! Expand
  54. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    This is THE MOVIE OF THE YEAR! This movie had all the best heroes in it, and it shows how well Marvel can do a collaboration with The Avengers. This is a movies for the whole family.
  55. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    Hell yeah! If that was not your first thought when the movie was over you are a total idiot. This movie was completely amazing. They story was great and entertaining. There are way too many scenes in this movie that were great to even pick a favorite. The movie has a perfect humor to action ratio. All the actors were brilliant and played their roles perfectly. And Scarlet Johanson was so sexy as The Black Widow. Best superhero movie yet, I don't know how they will be able to beat it with The Avengers 2. Not loving this movie should be a crime. Anyone who didn't like this movie has terrible taste in movies and should never watch another movie in their life. Expand
  56. STS
    Jun 11, 2012
    10
    I'm not a big fan of comic books and have never read any of the Avengers comics, or anything by Marvel actually. All that aside, this is a great film that has plenty of action and humour. I thought all the main actors did a good job with what time they had on screen, but obviously with so many characters some get less screen time and therefore less development. But I didn't feel bringing the different characters from their own respective films felt forced at all! My personal favourite is probably Captain America which is a total surprise - but Robert Downey Jr as Iron Man is also brilliant. Even more of a surprise, this film made me like the Hulk!! Saw it twice, and hope Marvel Studios will keep making more of these, with quality writers and directors! Expand
  57. Jun 11, 2012
    5
    This movie is OK. good action but it miss something to merge all parts in one big thing. the solo movie of the heroes was better for me at least. The movie is a bit to long by the end. $6 is good investment for 2 hours of action movie
  58. Jun 11, 2012
    10
    The action is almost as hardcore as Transformers and the story just as good as Iron Man. Its an unforgettably fun comic book film. You simply can't go wrong with 6 heros for the price of one.
  59. Jun 10, 2012
    7
    To sum it up into a few words The Avengers is a fun movie. Don't go in expecting something that will blow you away and leave you speechless. It's funny, the characters mix well for the most part, and the action is good. To be honest I would be giving this movie a lower score if it weren't for the egg head combo, and the nice pockets of humor. Definitely a movie to see, but if you have something else to do watch this later. Expand
  60. Jun 10, 2012
    4
    It is not good, but it isn't bad either. I don't like how according to the film no one died during the attack on New York. This film is nearly ruined because of that. I really do like Captain America though. I don't think that Chris Hemsworth is any good at playing Thor. I don't get the praise for the film, but maybe that's because I don't care about the comics and don't give a damn if every moment is filled with some fan boy's dream. Look, all I want is a good film. Expand
  61. Jun 9, 2012
    9
    BEST **** HERO MOVIE EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    But bad choice of a villian.
  62. Jun 9, 2012
    3
    Horrible film. Absolutely no content whatsoever. There is not a shred of seriousness of genuine emotion or action in this movie. Any attempt to create any sense of connection is broken up by stupid one liners, which continuously add to the shallow and unrealistic characters who couldn't really be farther from acting like superheroes. The plot is likewise very badly done. It felt like they tried to make the movie go forward just so they can show the meaningless 10-15 action scene where the "heroes" get together and kick ass. Expand
  63. Jun 9, 2012
    7
    The movie was very well written, and very good quality, however I did feel that the movie had too much fantasy, and too much special effects. Overall The movie is a GO!
  64. Jun 9, 2012
    8
    Excellent film. Acting is brilliant. The middle section is a bit slow, however the ending makes up for it. Go see this film. Then go and watch the other Marvel films. Then watch this film again.
  65. Jun 8, 2012
    5
    This movie isn't what it's all cracked up to be. I honestly didn't like it. The effects and what not was amazing but, the plot in general and the acting kind of pissed me off. But, In some cases I actually liked it.
  66. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    The Avengers is a action packed, fun filled movie. The move does not dissapoint with the special effects the 3D is good, but the movie is great with or without 3D but the 3D is good. The movie is full of fightng, explosions and humour.
  67. Jun 8, 2012
    8
    This is almost a great film. Almost. The action sequences are pretty amazing, for so many super heros all in one film it hangs together very well, and there are a couple of genuinely funny lines and moments of drama. but it's still popcorn and the plot relies on unbelievable moments (even for super heros) and some annoying things like the hulks new found self-control. but, bearing in mind how trite capn america was, and the expensive but kinda unfulfilling thor... this coud have been rubbish, but is I reckon the second-best recent mainstream super hero movie, coming in behind the dark knight. Expand
  68. Jun 6, 2012
    8
    Iron Man changed my expectations about how good superhero movies can be, still, I wasn't planning on watching this. However, with people making so much hype about I headed to the theater. The Avengers strongest element is it's action, all the battle scenes are great and are well paced. And the SPFX are spectacular to watch. As for the directing, you wont be disappointed as long as your not a cinephile. The cast performance are nothing special, I much rather see Mark Ruffalo in Shutter Island. Expand
  69. Jun 6, 2012
    5
    This movie wasn´t of my totally pleasantness, fools jokes, boring and spent history, but i wasn't like! i don't like! is a stupid movie. I only save the special effects
  70. Jun 4, 2012
    7
    Was almost certainly going to struggle to live up to the hype that's surrounded it, but this was great fun, if a little slow to start. There were a couple of plot points I didn't quite get, but well worth seeing.
  71. Jun 4, 2012
    5
    I've been a fan of movies my whole life and I really love good movies. I love comic book heroes especially Superman and Batman. I really hated the Batman TV show growing up because I wanted a serious take on the character. I was so happy when Batman Begins came out because I finally got what I knew a comic book movie could be a serious dramatic endeavor and it still had its humorous touches too. BUT it was NOT campy. Then when "The Dark Knight" came out I was blown away because it truly was what I had been yearning for since I was 8 or 9 years old when I first saw the campy batman tv show you know with all the kapows and whamos they could throw in it. I don't know much about "Iron Man" or "The Avengers" comic books. I have never really gotten into reading comic books even as a kid I didn't read them. But when "Iron Man" came out I said this looks cool I have to check this movie out. And wow what an awesome surprise it was. Another great comic book movie in the same year. I own "Iron Man" and "The Dark Knight" on blu-ray that is how much I love the first "Iron Man" and "The Dark Knight". And I thought to myself it has finally happened we have passed into special effects nirvana where hollywood can now literally put anything they can dream up onto celluloid and it will look as if it truly exists. So now I'll finally get to see all the comic book movies turned into great movies. Well, then "Iron Man 2" came out and pretty much quashed the dream I had envisioned. Marvel went back to the batman tv show campy style and that style sucks I hate it. They had a chance to truly turn Iron Man into a great live action franchise and they screwed it up. And then I heard about "The Avengers" coming out and being released all over the world before it was released in the states. And anytime a studio does this it is so they can get the maximum return on their investment before its state side release because they know they did a decent movie but they know its just a decent movie and not a great one. I still wanted to see it though to see if they would steer back onto the correct course set in the original "Iron Man" and they gave a very valiant effort BUT after seeing the movie I came away feeling, "Eh ok I saw it but it doesn't really matter that I saw it." When I left the theater after seeing "Iron Man 1" I wanted to know where I could get an Iron Man suit. They could have made "The Avengers" make me feel that way when I left the theater but they figured oh well as long as its good enough the rest of the world will go see so it doesn't matter that we stop the action so the characters can exchange dialogue several times in key action sequences. The dialogue wasn't woven into the fight scene. They broke my #1 rule of movies don't make feel as though I'm watching a movie make feel as though the events are actually happening. Please don't think I'm not well versed in the movies I have seen them all and rank them in the following order (best to worst): Iron Man 1, Captain America, Thor, Both Hulks, Iron Man 2, The Avengers. Expand
  72. Jun 3, 2012
    10
    I expected something entertaining yet, cliche filled. I thought it was going to be as bad as Captain America or Thor, but SURPRISE! my mind was blown by the effects, incredible story, hilarious jokes and flawless digital effects. The movie itself is without any doubts, a master piece
  73. Jun 3, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is everything a fan hopes for when they go to see it. I think it is definitely the best super hero movie ever, more entertaining than even the immortal "The Dark Knight". The dialogue is great, with Whedon's famous witty humor lightly and tastefully sprinkled throughout. There is obviously a multitude of great special effects, the quality of which peaks at the epic Manhattan alien fight scene. The story, while not revolutionary, is easy enough to follow and did not leave me disappointed. There are no plot holes whatsoever, which is good (here's a couple of commonly mistaken "plot holes": Thor is able to come back from Asgard through the "other ways out" that Loki mentions to Heimdall in "Thor". He obviously found one of them. Also, Loki is able to come back from his "death" because he is the god of mischief, of course! He obviously knew exactly where he would go when he fell into that abyss at the end of "Thor", and he just wanted to trick Thor into thinking he was dead). Overall, this movie is a great spectacle for the whole family, and I think any human being who enjoys having fun should like it. Expand
  74. Jun 3, 2012
    10
    loved the action coool and of course the comedy bit in film with thor and stark which really made me laugh and hulk part which i entirely laugh what he did to thor which crack me up.... good film i wait for blu ray movie did not find the captain america actor he was not good i did not find him to be all super hero or nothing just he thru that garbage lid to hurt his bad guys but rest of film was good Expand
  75. Jun 3, 2012
    1
    This was the worst movie I have seen this year. I generally do not like comic book super hero films but this one really was dreadful. The plot was stupid, the acting was stupid, the aliens were stupid, the street scenes were stupid, and I was stupid for going. Captain America, give me a break! Why did Ruffalo and Renner appear in this piece of garbage? This is what audience crave? Thor and his hammer! God, I was sick to my stomach. Expand
  76. Jun 3, 2012
    4
    The 3-D Is Amazing And Epic!
    We Want Somthing New Not Another Freaking Superhero Movie...
    THINK
  77. Jun 2, 2012
    9
    After finally watching The Avengers I can report that its brilliant. It lives up to the hype and then some. Even the dialogue scenes are fun with great comedy that actually suits the characters. There is real emotion to the story, the action scenes are brilliant and I thought the 3D worked well. Show stealer for me had to be "The Hulk" with some great scenes and even a true LMAO one liner. A must see movie, but I think you need to see all the other Marvel movies first to truely appreciate this. Expand
  78. Jun 2, 2012
    8
    The awesome **** of explosions, jokes and badassery. Expertly directed, no heroes are deprived of screen time, each one has his own unique story. Mark Ruffalo's got a great debut as the Hulk, Robert Downey Jr. being even more funny and sarcastic than in the Iron Man movies, and Captain America doesn't annoy me as he usually does. (I don't like the character in general) There are some flaws though - Black Widow and Hawkeye feel a bit out of place (Pistols against armored aliens? That's only acceptable because of Johansson's body) and Loki just doesn't appeal to me as the main villain, especially the second time in a row. (after Thor)
    Overall, I'd say this movie is a bit overrated (With lots of fanboys screaming it's "the best movie ever"), but it is actually the exemplary superhero movie, exciting to watch and easy to forget.
    Expand
  79. Jun 2, 2012
    5
    Harboring a great deal of expectation of this record-breaking multi-superhero-in-a-row action mash-up, I finally caught up the last chance to watch it on the big screen, but unfortunately the film has indomitably become my very first disappointment in 2012. Alerted by the general opinion of â
  80. Jun 1, 2012
    10
    The movie was fantastic! I like Marvel characters but somehow I wasn't into The Avengers growing up so I was only mildly excited for this film. It blew my expectations out of the water though. The Hulk was definitely the best part of the movie but everyone held their own. Can't wait for the sequel!
  81. May 31, 2012
    10
    Any time that your tentpole, super-powered geekfest, CGI extravaganza'd, mega-blockbuster PG-13 moviefilm's antagonist can utter, "...THAT is my bargain, you mewling quim!" - your movie is probably made by Joss Whedon. This film is, and thank my various deities for that. "The Avengers" DELIVERS.
  82. May 31, 2012
    10
    The Avengers is the best superhero movie ever made. It is that simple and I have a guilty pleasure for the genre. I was a little annoyed when I got the forced set ups of this movie in Iron Man, Thor and Captain America but now I appreciate them. I even see an uncredited Hawk in a scene in Thor now. Awesome special effects, though this does not have to be seen in 3D. It's fine without 3D. If you like comics or action movies, you will like this. Not every popular movie is bad. Expand
  83. May 31, 2012
    10
    well , i had nothing to say about this film ,
    because this film was...................
    awesome !
    impressive !!
    and funny !!!
    i love the part where hulk smash loki !

    BEST SUMMER MOVIE EVER IN 2012 !
  84. May 29, 2012
    9
    Before I saw the movie, I thought it was going to be a stupid combination of a bunch of bad movies in an attempt to create on good movie.
    I was wrong.
    Lets face it, the only one of the avengers with a good individual movie was Captain America. But all together, they made an awesome movie. Teens and adults will love this movie. See the movie immediately. Intense action, combined with
    Scarlett Johansson in skin tight clothes, makes what could be the best movie of 2012. Expand
  85. May 29, 2012
    5
    depending on what you are looking for you will either love this movie or like me be left sitting in the theater with a look of obvious disinterest. think of it this way, if you are a twelve year old boy you will fall in love with this movies big explosions and cheap easy comic lines. you can see the obvious struggle of creating this movie in the way of properly incorporating all of these large characters into one small movie (however not short). it was from a real quality of film standpoint not good at all. the whole plot just seemed to be there to accommodate the characters and then shove the one big climactic real action scene in at the end. its not the best superhero movie ever made but if you want something that is mildly interesting, and throws witty lines and explosions at your face as if you where not an actual real person then this would be a great movie for you. Expand
  86. May 29, 2012
    8
    The Avengers gives the super hero movie world as a whole a much needed dose of "good" rather than the "meh" and "huh?" of recent offerings. Now it is a great movie, no doubt, but it can't stand on its own without the previous hero movies wich ranged from serviceable to bad. On its own, Avengers doesn't offer much in the long term like Titanic or Avatar which have enoyed long standing value since their stories are self contained and much more focussed on the characters. Avengers assumes you know half of what has already happenned and the plot provides little exposition for anything that has occured in previous movies. So despite the lack of lasting appeal, The Avengers is still well written, action packed and fun enough to be worth admission. Expand
  87. May 29, 2012
    7
    A fun, action packed romp that finally pulls together all the little trailers at the end of the credits in past Marvel character movies. The main action sequence near the end went on about 20 minutes too long for me. Other than that, it was fun. Probably won't be really clear to you unless you've seen some or all of the preceding movies. Worth the $8.
  88. May 29, 2012
    10
    The super best action movie ever which collaborated all best comic hero together in one. Seen forward for the second part to be more super and addition of more heroes.
    Compared to DC, Marvels are best of the Best ever.
  89. May 28, 2012
    8
    This movie is pretty good even if your not a comic book fan. The story's plot is that Loki tries to become ruler of earth and uses the cube to do it. The acting is great, the camera shots are amazing, and the attention to detail is great. The way the play the roles of the hero's, villains, and even shield is great because they capture the personality of the comic book characters. They even throw in a few comedy in the movie so it doesn't feel like a non-stop action movie. If you know who the people are chances are that you'll enjoy the movie, but if you are lost you probably wont enjoy this movie Expand
  90. May 28, 2012
    8
    This movie would have been a perfect 10 if the editing had been better. It was well written, funny, action packed. Everything that it needed to be. I loved it for the most part. But there are certain parts of the movie that really just didnt need to be there. It forced it to drag on too long at points and made me kinda just wanna get to the end.
  91. May 28, 2012
    8
    This movie is NOT an apology for the somewhat disappointing Captain America. It is just the next installment in the MARVEL Cinematic Universe that happens to have great line after great line, great performance after great performance, great hell of a wallop after great kick in the face, and it just happens to be all packed in a kickass, 2 hour movie that is excellent in EVERY way. Even if youâ Expand
  92. May 28, 2012
    10
    Great action, effects, plot, actors...EVERYTHING!! The film blended all the great features from the other Marvel films and created something unique and wonderful.

    And great humour :) love the character interaction- especially Tony Stark/ iron man/ loki XD It was a really great film, and i applaude all those involved in its making :)
  93. May 28, 2012
    9
    This is a GREAT movie and you do not want to miss it. I thought it might be a little corny but it wasn't at all and Marvel did a great job bringing all the characters together with their distinct personalities. The action was amazing and so was the comedy. One of my most favorite all time.
  94. May 28, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. NOTE: This review contains a few -brief- and -nonspecific- spoilers to The Avengers and other recent Marvel films. It shouldnâ Expand
  95. May 28, 2012
    10
    One of the best (if not THE best) comic book film ever.

    It is a summer film wih good humor, great special effects and a plot that doesn't get in the way of either. For comic fans: Loki is done very well, Iron Man gets most of the attention and the Hulk certainly become a favorite by the end of the film. Thor is probably the least fleshed out.

    Overall it is a great film and as the
    Dsiney execs have already stated, "There will be a lot more of the Avengers in the future..." Expand
  96. May 28, 2012
    9
    There was nothing in this movie that I didn't like, from beginning to ending. If you're a fan of Marvel movies, you will not be disappointed. You can definitely trust the USER'S review average on this one! The only minor remark I have is that I saw it in 3D, and I think at times it was pretty dark. I would've preferred the 2D, but it was not available in cinemas near me.
  97. May 27, 2012
    0
    I'm a Long time Whedon fan who was BORED BEYOND BELIEF. Can't believe the most commercially successful thing he's ever done is far-and-away his worst - oh, the irony. "Avengers" focused on everything that sucks about super-hero movies - absurd plot based on dumbest-ever world-threatening McGuffin, stupid villain, convenient-not-clever heroics. I don't hate the genre - I liked "Iron Man" and even "Capt America." But from the opening action sequence on, I just didn't care one iota about anything that was happening. Contemplated walking out after about 45 minutes and wish I had as it's an ENDLESS MOVIE and I'll never get those 2.5 hours back. I give Joss points for giving little girls someone to root for by making Black Widow a substantial member of the team and not the mere token chick. That there are about 3 good jokes, but none are worth the time and money. If you love Joss, watch Serenity again it's 10 thousand times better. Expand
  98. May 27, 2012
    10
    A very enjoyable movie with great actors and a great combination of super heroes! Action is great, humor as well. This movie is definitely worth watching!
  99. May 27, 2012
    10
    Thrilling action sequences, a rideable (if simplistic) plot, compelling characters and easily the funniest quips and one-liners ever featured in an action movie. It's unbelievable the extent to which this movie has lived up to (and even surpassed) the unabashed hype train that's been building up since 2008's Iron Man. Anyone who doesn't like this film is either lying or depressed, friendless f*cks. This is, simply put, the best superhero movie of all time. "What's that?" :O "Better than The Dark Knight?" OF COURSE NOT YOU IGNORANT F*CKS. But Batman isn't really a superhero, he's just a well-trained, resourceful, intelligent motherf*cker with an intimidating voice and costume. Far from the over-the-top-abandon-all-pretense-of-realism characters of Thor, Hulk or Iron Man. This film deserves all the praise it gets and then some, a true...MARVEL (*Badum-Tsh*) Expand
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 43
  2. Negative: 1 out of 43
  1. Reviewed by: Bob Mondello
    May 8, 2012
    75
    The banter has zip, the effects are fun, the climactic battle is decently spectacular, and if the 3-D is mostly expendable, there are a few scenes where it adds a nice kick.
  2. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    May 4, 2012
    80
    This mania is what Marvel followers have hungered for, and it would be fruitless to deny their delight. As Loki says to a crowd of earthlings, "It is the unspoken truth of humanity that you crave subjugation." We do, Master, we do.
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    May 4, 2012
    60
    They're fascinating characters, to be sure, with back stories ripe for development. But Whedon doesn't commit here, and the results are shrug-worthy.