User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2366 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 17, 2012
    10
    The best super hero movie I've yet seen and a damn fine action flick with some genuine humor and touches of heart, a must see.

    I can well understand the complaints as to the story it's not Shakespeare but does anyone expect it to be? It's story suits it perfectly however and had me at least wanting to see even if I already guessed what would happen next. A must see.
  2. Jul 16, 2012
    9
    Best big action film I've seen in a long long time. They did really well give all the main characters enough air time so to speak with Mark Ruffalo stealing the show as the Hulk. The only negatives for me was the loose story of Thor returning to earth easily through Odin even though in the end of Thor
  3. Jul 15, 2012
    9
    The Avengers strikes you like Thor's thunder and will knock you over as if you were Hulk smashed! Bringing together some of the most iconic comic book characters from Marvel, this movie could either be very good or very bad. Fortunately, it's very very good! Using familiar faces like Downey Jr as Iron man and Chris Hemsworth as Thor, The Avengers also welcomes Jeremy Renner as Hawkeye and Mark Ruffalo as the Hulk! The movie answers everything you questioned at the end of the Marvel movies and puts you in the middle of the Marvel movies and The Avengers! Expand
  4. Jul 14, 2012
    10
    This movie. This movie right here. Iron Man being awesome will be more than enough to entertain you. Personally, I was apparently the only one who thought Hulk was BY FAR the best part of this film. I felt like they just nailed it with that character both as Bruce and the Hulk. We've already seen Iron Man but this was the first really good Hulk. There were points where I actually clapped out of sheer excitement and joy, and I never react like that to a film. On that basis alone I'm giving this a 10. It may not have the best plot. It may be a bit cheesy. Some of the characters feel like a waste of time. But I have NEVER had that positive an experience in a theater. Therefore, ALL THE POINTS. Expand
  5. Jul 13, 2012
    10
    This Movie was awesome It has Action,Laughs,Epicness the only thing It didn´t have Its love
    This is an orgasm for all MARVEL fan really
    And at the and after the credits we can see cleary tha there are gonig to be a 2cnd part
  6. Jul 11, 2012
    9
    While there is no doubt that Avengers (Assemble here in Ireland) is light on any real plot, that would be missing the real strength of the movie - it's pure popcorn fun. Leave complexity and darkness to Batman, here the characters are larger than life, the action scenes are gripping and the plot is just there to link scenes together (and sometimes not even that).

    Much like a Star Wars
    or Ghostbusters its the characters and the way that they interact with each other that carry everything along, be it in dialogue or in the set-pieces. Yes, the bad guys are pretty much non-entities and the Tesseract is the very definition of a McGuffin but that doesn't take away from a fantastic event movie. By far the best of the marvel movies. Expand
  7. Jul 8, 2012
    9
    The greatest Marvel film of all time. "Marvels: The Avengers" has set the bar for all superhero movies of the future. Not only was the acting very spectacular, ( Especially Mr. Robert Downy Jr. ) but the visual effects made you feel like you were part of the story. Alas, the story was not much. It was an average story that should have been overlooked throughout more months. Otherwise, this movie is phenomenal and anybody saying otherwise does not have any taste in movies. That being said i cannot wait for "Marvels: The Avengers 2" Expand
  8. Jul 4, 2012
    10
    Joss Whedon deserves a huge pat on the back for pulling off the near impossible. He has directed and helped create a movie that is a sequel to five other movies. He has brought together all those main characters from those movies as well as effectively dealing with new ones brought into this movie for the first time. Did I mention that this is a comic book movie? The Avengers may be the best movie of the summer and possibly of all year. An exciting story as well as one of the best scripts I have ever seen adds to the superb special effects and the top notch directing. But this movie would be nothing without such a dedicated cast of actors and actresses. The Avengers does many things right. One of my favorite things about this movie, however, is how each of Earth Expand
  9. Jul 4, 2012
    9
    Probably one of THE best Marvel film out there. This film has everything a Marvel fan or any Action fan has and even more! The writing is superb and it doesn't make 1 superhero above everyone else, all of them are equal even the lesser ones like Hawkeye and Black Widow, heck even Nick Fury. Unfortunately this film is plagued with a fault every other Marvel film has; pacing. I feel that the middle-point of the film was very boring and it was just talkin and talkin also the attack on the flying ship was pretty lame too, there wasn't much spectacle except when Banner Hulks out. Which comes to my next point, holy sht the last fight is pretty intense and literally redeems all of the flaws I have with this film. So I'll give it a 9/10. If it wasn't for the epic climax I'd probably rate it a 6/10 or 7/10. Expand
  10. Jul 3, 2012
    9
    Josh Whedon brought out the best in every character. Sharing the screen time between the group of heroes and playing them off each other with a master's touch. There were no wasted moments are dead-end story threads as found in most comic movies. The villains and threat lived up to the use of the group of heroes. They all got their time in the spotlight. This is the best Marvel film to date, and by far the best use of the Hulk. Expand
  11. Jul 3, 2012
    10
    The Avengers is by far the best Marvel film. It's almost like if you putted together all the films from Iron Man till Thor and you have The Avengers, which was basically what they did. Some characters are more relevant, like Black Widow or Captain America. The action sequences were superb and the way the characters interact was really great. The script also contains some nice humurous moments.
    A perfect and well deserved 10.
    Expand
  12. Jun 28, 2012
    9
    A great example of the whole being worth more than the sum of it's parts. Out of all the individual movies, the IronMan series is very good , with the others falling short of it's mark. Now with The Avengers, they can all be thought of as pretty good opening scenes to one heck of an ending!
  13. Jun 28, 2012
    10
    The Avengers is a great film, and really shows off the iconic Marvel superhero team. It has a quite long running time which is great because it allowed more detail than if it were shorter. Aswell as the action that we all knew it would contain, the film also contained some light humour and a few dramatic scenes which made this such a good film that everyone should enjoy. In conclusion, it has got to easily be one of the best films of the year, and I am sure that other people would agree with me. Expand
  14. Jun 26, 2012
    10
    Perspective: A fan of Avengers comics and cartoons for decades. Loved almost every Marvel movie to date

    Expectations: Been waiting on an Avengers movie since Iron Man, totally blown away by the trailers

    Delivery: Speaking as a fan of the original source material, Avengers totally blew me away. The ultimate experience for fans of the comics AND movies. Seeing these all of these
    characters interact (and fight) with one another is rewarding on so many levels. I was a highly volatile mixture bubbling over with geeky excitement for the entire film. For those who don't read comics but enjoyed the Marvel films, Avengers takes all that you loved about those previous movies (action, humor, and a good story) combines them and sprinkles them generously throughout the entire experience. For the artsy types, this is an fx laden superhero action adventure movie, so don't go in expecting to see Shakespeare with laser beams, or Citizen Kane with a cape

    Avengers is easily the best movie of the Summer (so far), and easily my favorite super hero movie ever PERIOD.
    Expand
  15. Jun 23, 2012
    10
    This is the best movie of the year and one of the best I have ever seen. You should so watch this. Especially if you like comics. To watch the movie it would be best to watch Thor before.
  16. Jun 21, 2012
    10
    This movie is great I enjoyed very well I enjoyed the plot and how they got everyone together how it was placed and the special effects were excellent
  17. Jun 18, 2012
    10
    Really good movie, and had good humor and action scenes.:) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :)
  18. Jun 18, 2012
    9
    I liked The Avengers a lot! What a fantastic summer movie with spectacular visuals and a great cast. The story was actually more than what I hoped for and it was surprisingly funny for what it is. Just sheer action movie bliss, all the way around.
  19. Jun 15, 2012
    10
    Felt like I actually got my moneys worth for a change with this movie. I saw it twice. Pure entertainment. It is comic book style. Of course this movie was not going to break literary ground. O took my kids and wife to this movie and we laughed the whole way home. What more can you expect from a piece of fiction?
  20. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    This is THE MOVIE OF THE YEAR! This movie had all the best heroes in it, and it shows how well Marvel can do a collaboration with The Avengers. This is a movies for the whole family.
  21. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    Hell yeah! If that was not your first thought when the movie was over you are a total idiot. This movie was completely amazing. They story was great and entertaining. There are way too many scenes in this movie that were great to even pick a favorite. The movie has a perfect humor to action ratio. All the actors were brilliant and played their roles perfectly. And Scarlet Johanson was so sexy as The Black Widow. Best superhero movie yet, I don't know how they will be able to beat it with The Avengers 2. Not loving this movie should be a crime. Anyone who didn't like this movie has terrible taste in movies and should never watch another movie in their life. Expand
  22. STS
    Jun 11, 2012
    10
    I'm not a big fan of comic books and have never read any of the Avengers comics, or anything by Marvel actually. All that aside, this is a great film that has plenty of action and humour. I thought all the main actors did a good job with what time they had on screen, but obviously with so many characters some get less screen time and therefore less development. But I didn't feel bringing the different characters from their own respective films felt forced at all! My personal favourite is probably Captain America which is a total surprise - but Robert Downey Jr as Iron Man is also brilliant. Even more of a surprise, this film made me like the Hulk!! Saw it twice, and hope Marvel Studios will keep making more of these, with quality writers and directors! Expand
  23. Jun 11, 2012
    10
    The action is almost as hardcore as Transformers and the story just as good as Iron Man. Its an unforgettably fun comic book film. You simply can't go wrong with 6 heros for the price of one.
  24. Jun 9, 2012
    9
    BEST **** HERO MOVIE EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    But bad choice of a villian.
  25. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    The Avengers is a action packed, fun filled movie. The move does not dissapoint with the special effects the 3D is good, but the movie is great with or without 3D but the 3D is good. The movie is full of fightng, explosions and humour.
  26. Jun 3, 2012
    10
    I expected something entertaining yet, cliche filled. I thought it was going to be as bad as Captain America or Thor, but SURPRISE! my mind was blown by the effects, incredible story, hilarious jokes and flawless digital effects. The movie itself is without any doubts, a master piece
  27. Jun 3, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is everything a fan hopes for when they go to see it. I think it is definitely the best super hero movie ever, more entertaining than even the immortal "The Dark Knight". The dialogue is great, with Whedon's famous witty humor lightly and tastefully sprinkled throughout. There is obviously a multitude of great special effects, the quality of which peaks at the epic Manhattan alien fight scene. The story, while not revolutionary, is easy enough to follow and did not leave me disappointed. There are no plot holes whatsoever, which is good (here's a couple of commonly mistaken "plot holes": Thor is able to come back from Asgard through the "other ways out" that Loki mentions to Heimdall in "Thor". He obviously found one of them. Also, Loki is able to come back from his "death" because he is the god of mischief, of course! He obviously knew exactly where he would go when he fell into that abyss at the end of "Thor", and he just wanted to trick Thor into thinking he was dead). Overall, this movie is a great spectacle for the whole family, and I think any human being who enjoys having fun should like it. Expand
  28. Jun 3, 2012
    10
    loved the action coool and of course the comedy bit in film with thor and stark which really made me laugh and hulk part which i entirely laugh what he did to thor which crack me up.... good film i wait for blu ray movie did not find the captain america actor he was not good i did not find him to be all super hero or nothing just he thru that garbage lid to hurt his bad guys but rest of film was good Expand
  29. Jun 2, 2012
    9
    After finally watching The Avengers I can report that its brilliant. It lives up to the hype and then some. Even the dialogue scenes are fun with great comedy that actually suits the characters. There is real emotion to the story, the action scenes are brilliant and I thought the 3D worked well. Show stealer for me had to be "The Hulk" with some great scenes and even a true LMAO one liner. A must see movie, but I think you need to see all the other Marvel movies first to truely appreciate this. Expand
  30. Jun 1, 2012
    10
    The movie was fantastic! I like Marvel characters but somehow I wasn't into The Avengers growing up so I was only mildly excited for this film. It blew my expectations out of the water though. The Hulk was definitely the best part of the movie but everyone held their own. Can't wait for the sequel!
  31. May 31, 2012
    10
    Any time that your tentpole, super-powered geekfest, CGI extravaganza'd, mega-blockbuster PG-13 moviefilm's antagonist can utter, "...THAT is my bargain, you mewling quim!" - your movie is probably made by Joss Whedon. This film is, and thank my various deities for that. "The Avengers" DELIVERS.
  32. May 31, 2012
    10
    The Avengers is the best superhero movie ever made. It is that simple and I have a guilty pleasure for the genre. I was a little annoyed when I got the forced set ups of this movie in Iron Man, Thor and Captain America but now I appreciate them. I even see an uncredited Hawk in a scene in Thor now. Awesome special effects, though this does not have to be seen in 3D. It's fine without 3D. If you like comics or action movies, you will like this. Not every popular movie is bad. Expand
  33. May 31, 2012
    10
    well , i had nothing to say about this film ,
    because this film was...................
    awesome !
    impressive !!
    and funny !!!
    i love the part where hulk smash loki !

    BEST SUMMER MOVIE EVER IN 2012 !
  34. May 29, 2012
    9
    Before I saw the movie, I thought it was going to be a stupid combination of a bunch of bad movies in an attempt to create on good movie.
    I was wrong.
    Lets face it, the only one of the avengers with a good individual movie was Captain America. But all together, they made an awesome movie. Teens and adults will love this movie. See the movie immediately. Intense action, combined with
    Scarlett Johansson in skin tight clothes, makes what could be the best movie of 2012. Expand
  35. May 29, 2012
    10
    The super best action movie ever which collaborated all best comic hero together in one. Seen forward for the second part to be more super and addition of more heroes.
    Compared to DC, Marvels are best of the Best ever.
  36. May 28, 2012
    10
    Great action, effects, plot, actors...EVERYTHING!! The film blended all the great features from the other Marvel films and created something unique and wonderful.

    And great humour :) love the character interaction- especially Tony Stark/ iron man/ loki XD It was a really great film, and i applaude all those involved in its making :)
  37. May 28, 2012
    9
    This is a GREAT movie and you do not want to miss it. I thought it might be a little corny but it wasn't at all and Marvel did a great job bringing all the characters together with their distinct personalities. The action was amazing and so was the comedy. One of my most favorite all time.
  38. May 28, 2012
    10
    One of the best (if not THE best) comic book film ever.

    It is a summer film wih good humor, great special effects and a plot that doesn't get in the way of either. For comic fans: Loki is done very well, Iron Man gets most of the attention and the Hulk certainly become a favorite by the end of the film. Thor is probably the least fleshed out.

    Overall it is a great film and as the
    Dsiney execs have already stated, "There will be a lot more of the Avengers in the future..." Expand
  39. May 28, 2012
    9
    There was nothing in this movie that I didn't like, from beginning to ending. If you're a fan of Marvel movies, you will not be disappointed. You can definitely trust the USER'S review average on this one! The only minor remark I have is that I saw it in 3D, and I think at times it was pretty dark. I would've preferred the 2D, but it was not available in cinemas near me.
  40. May 27, 2012
    10
    A very enjoyable movie with great actors and a great combination of super heroes! Action is great, humor as well. This movie is definitely worth watching!
  41. May 27, 2012
    10
    Thrilling action sequences, a rideable (if simplistic) plot, compelling characters and easily the funniest quips and one-liners ever featured in an action movie. It's unbelievable the extent to which this movie has lived up to (and even surpassed) the unabashed hype train that's been building up since 2008's Iron Man. Anyone who doesn't like this film is either lying or depressed, friendless f*cks. This is, simply put, the best superhero movie of all time. "What's that?" :O "Better than The Dark Knight?" OF COURSE NOT YOU IGNORANT F*CKS. But Batman isn't really a superhero, he's just a well-trained, resourceful, intelligent motherf*cker with an intimidating voice and costume. Far from the over-the-top-abandon-all-pretense-of-realism characters of Thor, Hulk or Iron Man. This film deserves all the praise it gets and then some, a true...MARVEL (*Badum-Tsh*) Expand
  42. May 27, 2012
    10
    The build up and hype for this movie was definitely worth it. It's one of those movies you'll be replaying over and over in your head, reciting some familiar lines with friends, and be dying to see again after you leave the theater. I enjoyed the build up a lot actually and the not-so-action-packed scenes, as they allowed you to get reacquainted with each character, their story, and their personality. Seeing the collection of actors interact with one another also provides some really cool moments as well, and they all meshed together quite nicely. Every hero in this movie gets multiple moments to shine, which I absolutely loved, and there's some brilliant comedic moments mixed in with the action to keep you thoroughly entertained. I thought Samuel Jackson's lines could have been better written at times, as well as Chris Evan's and Cobie Smulders', but for the most part, I came away saying that it was definitely worth seeing in theaters. The Hulk and Iron Man especially steal the show in this one... and not to give too much away here, but fans of the show "How I Met Your Mother" may also really like this film too, as a couple references (not sure if they were intentional or not, but then again, Cobie Smulders is in this) to the show are made. Expand
  43. May 26, 2012
    9
    The best Marvel film so far. great action and funny. They are doing a great job with The Hulk bringing him into the fold as a real super hero rather then just running amuck.
  44. May 26, 2012
    10
    A great film to enjoy with the family and even has some decent character development that I didn't expect in this size of a cast. Robert Downing Jr. steals the show as his character is much more develop over the course of the Marvel movies. I would highly recommended this film to anyone to see more than once. Something I haven't done since the release of The Matrix.
  45. May 26, 2012
    10
    Best Marvel film to date. Doesn't try to be a deep dark and serious film. It's humorous, camp, shiny and brilliant. One of the few films that is packed with action and has a good plot.
    Definitely watch this film especially if you watched and enjoyed the other Avenger films (Iron Man 1&2, Thor, Incredible Hulk, Cap.America)
  46. May 26, 2012
    9
    The Avengers, a smart and very entertaining movie.
    Could be the best Marvel Studios movie, in my opinion: it is.
    The humor, action, effects, music are excellent.
    I thank Joss Whedon make a movie as epic as this. It is just as good as the Dark Knight? No, you need a little to reach the Nolan film. The story is good but not a big deal, but it is best to entertain you from beginning to end.
    The best superhero: Iron Man. Expand
  47. May 25, 2012
    9
    The Avengers is one of the best Action films of all time. The story is solid, with a healthy mix of action and humor. The only people who wouldn't like this are people who don't like outrageous mindless action on the screen. The thing with action movies is, you go to see just that, and adding a solid, yet not over the top story with GREAT characters only makes the package even more complete. Humor tends to fill most of the gaps where action doesn't exist, and this film is worth your time if you're even remotely a fan of action films. Only thing I felt was off about the movie was the fact that some of the scenes didn't make enough sense in transition from one to the other (one of them quite blatant, you would probably recognize it after you watched it), easily to overlook though. Watch this movie, just do it! Expand
  48. May 25, 2012
    10
    An overall great film. Amazing special effects, well fleshed-out characters, good dialouge, and aside from a couple slow spots, it has action from beginning to end.
  49. May 25, 2012
    9
    I was looking forward to this film in a big way.Well its hard not to when your A,a comic/superhero fan, B,An action movie fan & C,Been following the buildup to this film in the form of the Iron Man,Thor,Captain America & to a lesser degree The Hulk movies.I was confident this was gonna be a good movie,because of the cast,director,the other movies & from what i saw of the movie itself during production.Well,i certainly wasnt disappointed!.. Of course it takes a while to build up to the big action,but theres plenty to keep you interested until then,from the buildup itself,to the characters & their dialog.This movie does exactly what it set out to do as far as i'm concerned,& its hard to imagine it done much better.I feel Stark/Iron Man & The Hulk Stole the show a bit(especially Iron Man).A Highly entertaining movie which i highly recommended,especially if you like your action or Superhero movies. Expand
  50. May 25, 2012
    9
    The Avengers was a pretty terrific movie. Good job by the Iron Man and Hulk not only in comedy but also in action. The trailer created much anticipation and the movie did well. Indians really really liked the movie.
    I had to force my other pals to go see the movie. The only bad part that half of the shows in India were dubbed so not much of the effect there on the people. Otherwise. Hats
    off Tony Stark and Hulk..!! Expand
  51. May 25, 2012
    9
    The Avengers smashed a hugh number of things by which I would say it's entertaining and full of actions. With all the big stars, amazing special effects, great action scenes, this is the kind of movie you want to spend your money on. However, I must say I don't think it was fast-paced enough for the part where the Avengers were recruited. I checked my watch a few times during that part.
  52. May 25, 2012
    9
    This is a great movie! Go see it, you won't regret it. It's pretty amazing given all the different characters coming together here that everything flows naturally.
  53. May 25, 2012
    10
    Awesome. The action, humor, effects are all there. A well developed storyline, characters. The special effects in this movie, JUST AWESOME!! I mean look at the helicarrier, it looks realistic and futuristic at the same time. I am waiting for a sequel, The Avengers have amazed me. Its a MUST WATCH!!!
  54. May 24, 2012
    9
    This movie is insane. Best movie I've seen this year. It's a sick action movie and even has some small comedy parts just for laughs. It's a must for anyone who has been a fan of all the other comic book movies or someone looking for a sick action movie.
  55. Tap
    May 24, 2012
    10
    This movie is a great action flick with a few emotional scenes thrown in for good measure. Everything about this movie exudes perfection. Sure, some of the plot makes no logical or practical sense, and sure, some of the casting does not match previous movies featuring the same characters, but dammit, I don't care!

    The length of the movie is about 2.5 hours, yet the entire movie seemed
    to just fly by. After the movie was over, I was shocked that it was already close to midnight. Overall, I just could not get enough of this film. I plan to buy the Blu-Ray/DVD combo once they release it, and I will definitely watch the movie over and over again! Expand
  56. May 23, 2012
    10
    Quite possibly my favorite movie of all time. It has everything a good nerdy superhero movie needs and tells a tale that is quite unlike anything we've seen in theaters before with film heroes of 4 different film series coming together. Action was superb especially toward the major final showdown. Acting is fantastic(Mark Ruffalo and the Hulk are quite loveable and you wont miss Ed Norton TOO much.)

    Though the threat isn't incredibly frightening it provides just enough danger for the plot to seem real and significant enough to justify this great meeting of heroes...

    Stick around til after ALL the credits as there's TWO secret endings(although the first is decidedly more important than the second). Go have fun...this is the summer romp well worth the 4 year wait and should prove to the rest of Hollywood what a summer Blockbuster should be like.
    Expand
  57. May 23, 2012
    9
    A very risky movie to make considering the abundance of heroes. It could have used more information about the army of other-worldly creatures so willing to invade another planet. Looking forward to the inevitable sequel.
  58. May 21, 2012
    10
    What can I say. This movie pulled out all the stops. I find it hard, and sometimes cliché to rate something a 10, but this film deserved it from start to finish. With an opening that pulled you in, to an ending that left you wanting more, this film deserves the 10 it is receiving.
  59. May 21, 2012
    9
    This Movie has spoiled so many people because everything else looks like crap now. I was existed to watch the New Batman movie coming out but i couldn't care less about it now. I just hope this doesn't downgrade the single hero movies coming out like the next iron man or captain America. Lots of people talk about how grate Hulk was in the movie and now that i finally seen the movie i know what they're talking about , he was amazing. Thanks to the "GODS" characters in the movie Hulk didn't have to hold back like in the other Hulk movies but , I have to say my favorite with out a doubt was Thor !!!! Just like Hulk Thor wasn't pulling punches. He went full god mode in this movie. **** epic !!! OK so if their is one thing i didn't like was how Black widow was doing more then Captain America. I think she kicked more ass and had more camera time then they Captain America. I also liked the captain America suit he had in his own movie. The suit with the brown boots. It felt better then the suit he has now. They could have made it out of heavy leather and less bright. Other then that it was perfect , 9.5 out on 10 is my score Expand
  60. May 21, 2012
    9
    I liked it a lot. My wife found it to be a bit slow at the beginning, and I could totally see that for someone who is not a big fan of the genre. To me it was just the prerequisite build up to the action that did not disappoint. The story can be criticized for its lack of depth, but lets face it, you are not going to "The Avengers" to quibble over the story. The Hulk took a while to make an entrance, but when he did, I found him to be the best part of the movie. Overall, this was a great movie. Anyone who complains is either not a fan, or just one of those internet contrarians who find it fashionable to hate things others like. Expand
  61. May 21, 2012
    9
    How can people say terrible things about this movie? I know there are flaws in the film. But most of the problems are created by hipsters of critics who want to seem cool but instead, end up looking like **** who don't even know what the f*ck they're talking about. The film is an exciting roller coaster ride from start to finish. And when there isn't action going on, there is either great humor or fantastically done character development. There is no reason you shouldn't be going to see this movie. And anyone who sees Battleship instead of this, is dead to me. Expand
  62. May 20, 2012
    9
    Just Brilliant!
    The Action scenes are immense, the charakters are cool and interesting... the whole movie is total fun! I love how the different characters interact with each other. The movie doesn't try to be an intelligent Masterpiece but that's good because instead, it's giving you one awesome moment after another for the whole running time of 2 hours! Only a better Story could make
    this Masterpiece more perfect than it already is. It's very expensive, but I'm going to watch this movie a third time this week! Expand
  63. May 19, 2012
    10
    UNBELIEVABLE. Best Marvel film to date, hands down! No, best superhero film of all time!!! Saw it in 3D and it was just an awesome experience. So many characters, so much character development, everything done so well. Fantastic performances by all, what a complete success. Only few scenes I thought were a bit carried away; these scenes all included the Hulk. Also the film didn't really explain how Hulk could become a team player....or did I miss it? Despite these flaws, what an incredible and entertaining film - easy 10. Congratulations Marvel/Disney. Can't wait to get it on Blu-ray! Expand
  64. May 19, 2012
    10
    Absolutely brilliant! The Avengers brings depth to the Marvel characters, provides loads of laughs, great action, unbelievably stunning visual effects, and fantastic performances from the whole cast. I give this 100% of a good movie.
  65. May 19, 2012
    9
    Easily one of the best superhero-movies ever made! I was worried beforehand the movie would feel like a patchwork, what with there being so many "lead" characters. However, after seeing it, I can safely say that's not the case here. All the characters somehow get to have fantastic character-moments that really develop their personalities, something not many blockbuster films of this kind takes its time to do. Mind you, the action is there too, and it doesn't disappoint! Super-well choreographed fights that are easy to follow, and they always showcase the individual heroes powers and strengths superbly.
    All in all, if you like superhero movies, or just good adventures, I cannot recommend this film enough!
    Expand
  66. May 19, 2012
    9
    It delivers exactly what its promotional material seems to promise, two hours of impressive CG, clever one liners and an always dependable Robert Downey Jr. If there's a weak point, its that Downey carries the rest of the cast single handedly.
  67. May 19, 2012
    10
    Best movie I've seen in years. Amazing cast, dialogue was great. Connected all previous movies perfectly, making it seem like a perfect legacy. Truly great
  68. May 19, 2012
    9
    Very entertaining movie that was well worth the price of admission and is very much suited for the big screen experience. I was completely entertained for the duration of the movie (over 2 hours).
  69. May 18, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Its just the best. The best. Simply perfect, best, awesome, thrilling, humourous and exciting. The effects were simply awesome and if you plan to watch in cinema then make sure you watch it in 3d Expand
  70. May 18, 2012
    10
    More than delivers. Given the amount of hype that was to be expected in such an epic adventure of bringing several stories together. This movie stands for what comic book fans have been imagining their entire lives. Can't wait to see how they continue and plan to keep the success rolling.
  71. May 18, 2012
    10
    I have not been this entertained by a film in quite some time. Whedon didn't make a film, but conducted a symphony of entertainment. Action, humor, banter, dialogue, all worked in seamless harmony. Unaccustomed to such a level of entertainment, I was mesmerized. If time flies when having fun, this movie was exactly that. 2hrs 45mins flew by, with every second as welcome as the first.
  72. May 18, 2012
    10
    Best ensemble Super Hero Movie ever! Iron Man and Hulk done great. Thor, Hawkeye done well. Black Widow elite killer assassin tearing up about possibly being torn in half by the Hulk? Not so sure about that.
    Biggest and only real disappointment is Chris Evans inability to fill Caps stature in an ensemble cast. Though he was really good in the cap movie but gets lost in this movie when
    competing against these other on screen personalities - It doesn't help that they changed caps costume to make him look like he is wearing underoos. Expand
  73. May 18, 2012
    9
    Imagine a typical summer blockbusters, explosions and gunshots, mixed with superheroes, and lastly a true good plot. Boom, you got yourselves the Avengers. Solid cast, eyepopping effects and good yet predictable story. Nuff' said.
  74. May 18, 2012
    10
    I love this movie! Finally a great movie with my childhood heroes. Do not miss this opportunity, go see this movie now! HULK SMASH! AVENGERS ASSEMBLE!!!!!!
  75. May 18, 2012
    10
    Best movie ever! Awesome action, animation, effects and jokes, it is the best compination of actors and superheroes to date. Worth the watch! I really liked it, and there was not a 11 out of 10 score lol.
  76. May 18, 2012
    10
    The avengers is an best marvel film i have ever seen. At one point of time i loved the spiderman parts . But when we see the way the avengers is been taken itz simply amazing. The incredible hulk was one of the most hilarious and most serious of all. However the way hulk beats up the villain is like the people wash clothes!!!!!!!!
  77. May 17, 2012
    10
    Waste of money, Plot is horrible, the first 45 mins is absolute junk, I dont know how a movie like this could make so much money. I guess teens might like it cause they bash stuff up and CGI is kewl. Dont waste your money wait till it ends up on TV or dollar rental.
  78. May 17, 2012
    10
    It was funny, awesome, and just plain fun. You will enjoy it even if you know nothing about comics. Hulk. Ya? Smash.
  79. May 17, 2012
    10
    Cant believe this movie is getting some negative views. Sure its not perfect, but what movie is , especially one as ambitious as this one. I must admit I was skeptical that they would be able to pull a movie off with so many iconic characters. They did and then some. This is a supremely entertaining comic book movie. In my opinion better than the first Iron Man and miles better than the Thor and Captain America movies. Amazing and a solid 8 out of 10. Expand
  80. May 17, 2012
    10
    I had my doubts at first. I was expecting a movie with nothing but random fighting, nothing interesting. The movie had me at the edge of my seat the entire time. The moments of hilarity between sadness and destruction kept the movie well balanced. I loved the bond of all the characters, seeing everyone come together to fight such a force was great. I highly recommend to GO SEE THIS MOVIE. You will surely like it. Expand
  81. May 17, 2012
    10
    Well done Joss Whedon and your cast. Awesome movie. Very entertaining to the casual watcher and a nerdgasm for the hardcore fan. Best Marvel Movie so far in my opinion and best superhero, comic book based movie as well. Spiderman WAS my favorite hero movie, but no more.
  82. May 17, 2012
    9
    This is easily the best Marvel film to date, one of the best action movies of all time, the best effects we have yet to see, and a film that is worthy of a few Oscar nods (and a definite win for visual effects). Straightforward script, flawless acting, and smooth direction make The Avengers one of the best films of 2012. Odin Score: 95/100 (subject to change after a much needed second viewing).
  83. May 17, 2012
    10
    The Avengers was everything i could have asked for and more. The action was awesome, the dialouge was fun, every character had their moment of glory and I walked out of the theather feeling happy beyond all reason. Sure, it's a superhero movie so the plot is pretty simple, but who cares? This movie was just awesome beyond all reason. I'm surprised metacrtic didn't give it a higher rating...
  84. May 17, 2012
    10
    Absolutely outstanding! The Avengers is no doubt one of the best films I have ever seen. This movie is packed with action on top of action with all of the most popular superheroes out there. I recommend this film to anyone who is looking to spend their money and get the big bang for their buck.
  85. May 17, 2012
    9
    Avengers Assemble! great action flick made better if you've seen the other hero movies and made best if you know comics along with what and who's coming for the next one wow!
  86. May 16, 2012
    9
    The Avengers is just flat out fun. Throughout this whole movie, i was entertained. The story, however, was not as great as i would have liked but everything else in the film pretty much makes up for it. Even as a superhero movie, it made me laugh out loud in many situations. It's hilarious. It's action packed. It's amazing. Robert Downey Jr. once again proves that he was made to be Tony Stark. He was great in this movie just like in Iron Man. Even though, I didn't really like Captain America: The First Avenger, Chris Evans was also great in this film. Mark Ruffalo was the big change in this movie. I loved The Incredible Hulk especially because of Edward Norton but I think that Rufallo did pretty good also. Scarlet Johansson was the eyecandy for all the men who went to watch this film and she really fit into the role of Black Widow. Chris Hemsworth as Thor was great, since I did enjoy the Thor film. Samuel L. Jackson really didn't hit me like all the other characters in the beginning but by the end, I was happy he was chosen to play Nick Fury. Overall, The Avengers is one of the greatest superhero movies I have ever seen and definitely the most hilarious. Expand
  87. May 16, 2012
    9
    There is a reason why The Avengers is setting box office records, because its an awesome movie.

    I am a long time Avengers comic book fan, I even have an Avengers Annual #1 from 1968.

    The movies gets a little long winded in the middle as the group comes together. But when things get rolling, they "really" get rolling. In previous Marvel movies the heros have been under utilized. The
    Avengers breaks those bonds so that the heros can do their job. Expand
  88. May 16, 2012
    9
    First off, I am 30 years old and grew up reading comics and will still occasionally pick one up if i hear good things. What did I think about the Avengers? I came into the movie with good to great expectations and was pleasantly surprised. Its over 2 hours long and the beginning does lag a bit but the payoff is worth it. This is the pinnacle of what a popcorn movie should be. There's a decent story, good character building, excellent choreography and effects, and just the right amount of attitude and humor. I saw this with a five year old and he loved it. A note of caution concerning younger viewers, there is some blood and the "bad guys" can be scary. Overall I highly recommend to anyone who wants to have a good time, just don't go in expecting a masterpiece a la the Godfather. Expand
  89. May 16, 2012
    10
    Okay so many critics who are saying bad things about this film is going to far into this film. Joss Whedon did an amazing job with it. Perfect amount of everything you had the suspense, the comedy a perfect balance of effects and action. The film didn't focus one main Avenger it focused on all of them which was great to see. Some of these bad reviews I see that some of these don'y enjoy a good ole action movie. See this movie. Its worth it. Expand
  90. May 16, 2012
    10
    This film was probably one of the most funny movies I have seen this year. Also, it was one of the most badass. I say that lightly, but give it the aformentioned status because Joss Whedon was at the helm for this one. Now a word of warning: the film will be confusing to you at first if you have not seen the movies that came before it. Those films set a general framework, so Whedon assumes you know what is going on. This is not a setback, because it saves time having to explain everything. I went to see this film for the Hulk, and I was not disappointed. Robert Downey Jr. as Iron Man was like revisiting an old friend, as he makes the film less serious which is good. The comedic moments catch you off guard, and help to add to the charm the film has. I was pissed because I had to watch the film in 3D, but the 3D was not horrible. It was adapted at a tolerable framerate that did not give me headaches. If you must watch it in 3D, do not fret. I hope everyone that is a fan of Joss Whedon and superhero films goes to see this movie. Expand
  91. May 16, 2012
    9
    Best marvel movie
    very nice crosser and the story is good, not just the usual issue with the big boss,
    thanks hulk, you rock, sorry, smash!
    they are the ultimates!
    not 10 'cause tony alone is cooler
  92. May 16, 2012
    9
    Really the best movie that use the franchising Marvel, good actors, nice story, some commedy all well mixed.
    Maybe 3D it is useless, but i really enjoyed the movie.
  93. May 16, 2012
    10
    Everything perfect.Just what I wanted and needed to see.Only have one thing that made feel VERY awkward.The scene were Tony Stark said I'm bringing the party to you and she said ( VERY CORNY AND UNCOMFORTABLE ) I don't see how that's a party.Like she had gas or she forgot her line..Hahahaha.No i'm just messing. Best movie of the year so far.
  94. May 15, 2012
    10
    I have seen this movie 4 times already (don't judge) and it has never gotten old. The action and humor mesh together perfectly in this movie. I did not expect to laugh as much as I did when I first saw the movie. The action is awesome and the special effects are top-notch. If you are a fan of the Hulk like I am, you will be very pleased with this movie. The Hulk steals the show, and people were cheering when he was on the big screen. Every character gets their fair share of screen time, with no one getting left out. I recommend watching Captain America and Thor before seeing The Avengers, because those films will provide helpful background information so you will not be confused on what is going on in the movie. Expand
  95. May 15, 2012
    9
    The only thing that stops this movie from getting a 10 is the relatively slow beginning. Though necessary to the development of the characters, it still felt sluggish at times. However, the last hour and a half or so is beyond epic and easily compensates for any flaws the film has. The Hulk stole the show. It may have taken 3 movies with 3 different actors, but Marvel has finally perfected Bruce Banner on the big screen. Expand
  96. May 15, 2012
    9
    I would not bother seeing the 3D version of the movie since the 3D aspect was added later and not very well. That being said, this is an amazing movie and I can't wait to see it again. Just don't pay extra for mediocre 3D.
  97. May 15, 2012
    10
    Can't remember the last time (never?) I went to a movie on a Monday night and saw a half full theatre of people cheering and laughing at a movie. Despite the positive hype, I cringed when the movie started off with a space scene featuring gods, aliens, magic, and mass-audience-unfriendly terms like "The Tesseract." It seriously seemed like all the right ingredients for the perfect train wreck. But it worked, and it worked well; delivering some of the best / most clever scenes ever to appear in a superhero movie. The casting was excellent as well - especially for Bruce Banner - even just standing there, he felt, nerdy, detached and dangerous. (but with just the right amount of soul.) I guess the best compliment I can give The Avengers is that it reminded me why sometimes it's just awesome to go to the movies. Expand
  98. May 15, 2012
    10
    This Movie was Awesome times Infinity. Whedon depicted all the characters correctly. I have learned a lesson on here today about how Metacritic works. If its a score of 69 like how Avengers has then I should watch it because I loved this movie.
  99. May 15, 2012
    9
    After Thor movie I lost all hope for next awesome comic book based movie, so I wasn't so excited about Avengers... till I saw the movie. Avengers is mix of action, comedy and one of the most popular marvel characters. But there is one problem... story is too cliche. Aliens (extra-dimensional beings) trying to destroy the world and superheroes are going to save it. Nevertheless movie is fun and looks incredible in IMAX. I would certainly give this movie 10 if not the story fail, so it gets 9. Now let's just hope that Dark Knight Rises won't have similar problem. Expand
  100. May 15, 2012
    10
    First of all, the fact that the critics show a score of less than 80 for this film shows that these guys OBVIOUSLY do not know how to enjoy a good film. They spend so much time complicating knit-picky details in their nerdy little heads that it is IMPOSSIBLE for them to enjoy a TRULY GOOD film. And the fact that they rated it in the 60s screams a warning to anyone who will listen that SOMEONE needs to take their bongs away from them at least one week prior to going to see ANY movie upon which they will be writing a review. : Expand
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 43
  2. Negative: 1 out of 43
  1. Reviewed by: Bob Mondello
    May 8, 2012
    75
    The banter has zip, the effects are fun, the climactic battle is decently spectacular, and if the 3-D is mostly expendable, there are a few scenes where it adds a nice kick.
  2. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    May 4, 2012
    80
    This mania is what Marvel followers have hungered for, and it would be fruitless to deny their delight. As Loki says to a crowd of earthlings, "It is the unspoken truth of humanity that you crave subjugation." We do, Master, we do.
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    May 4, 2012
    60
    They're fascinating characters, to be sure, with back stories ripe for development. But Whedon doesn't commit here, and the results are shrug-worthy.