User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2486 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 6, 2012
    10
    The only way you will not enjoy this movie is if you already don't want to. It is everything an action movie should be. Each member of the Avengers fills their roll perfectly, saving the best parts of the movie for when they finally come together as a team. The excitement that sprouts very early on grows and grows throughout the story and flowers beautifully at the very end. This is a movie I thought would be "just okay". It completely demolished my expectations. Expand
  2. May 6, 2012
    9
    Positive Surprise, marvelous entertainment and definitely the best movie of the year so far. After leaving the theater i was both glad and surprised because i did not expect this at all, The Avengers is an extremely enjoyable film with magnificent action and great actors and i can really just say that this may be one of the best superhero movies ever made. And if you have not seen it yet do it.
  3. May 6, 2012
    10
    The summer movies are here and The Avengers delivers. Every thing about this movie WILL satisfy the nerd/geek in you. Its is written and filmed like a Marvel comic book movie should be. Josh Whedon has raised the bar on the start of summer blockbusters movies and every other Marvel movie to follow. All the characters are equally woven in and each roll is well balanced that you don't have time to fall in love with just one. If you have never picked up a comic book and feel like you might be lost on the characters I highly recommend watching the prior movies that brings this team together, Iron Man, Caption America The First Avenger, Thor, and Hulk. I'm already dreaming of the next Avengers movie. Expand
  4. May 6, 2012
    9
    The only reason this movie gets a 9 and not a 10 is because it's not the best superhero movie on the market. Dark Knight is still technically the better movie, but The Avengers provides Marvel's best showing at the box office, and the most fun I've had at a superhero movie. The movie is so great because of the interplay of the characters. I never expected to laugh as much as I did while I was in the movie, and it will continue to make me laugh. The characters/actors interact perfectly with one another, just as you would expect real superheroes to. Combine that with some great actions, some great fight scenes, and some stunning special effects, you have a movie that will be #1 at the box office for weeks to come, AND deserves to be there. If you have a chance to see it in IMAX, do it. You won't be disappointed. Expand
  5. May 5, 2012
    9
    To say that Marvel's, The Avengers is a poorly made film tells me that you have no idea of what a good film could ever possibly be. What makes Joss Whedon's film succeeds as a great comic-book movie, no, as a good action film, is in its ability to be clear, concise, tight and conscious piece of cinema. With such an ambitious goal of bringing so many Marvel properties under one roof, the film has to be clear, concise and tight. It has to get to the point, it has to go from point A to point B without any narrative gap, and it has to have a strong film logic. The minute we get confused at "why is this there" or "why did they do that" is where we as an audience lose interest. The film was tightly packed, but not stiff. The sequences on the helicarrier, where we find that our characters are somehow intertwined, these scenes represent the tightness. Robert and Banner in their interactions shine gloriously, as they convincingly offer an idea that these two could indeed be good friends. It was a nice moment that gave us some readied clarity on the realness of these properties. The action in the climax of the film really showcases the tightness as well. We know who is who, why they move the way they do, and where they are going. We root for the heroes, we want the villains to lose. But we get some great moments that really shine. His style of "mise-en-abime" is critical here and it really shows off his style. He wants the viewer to see everything, but not be confused. It's not perfect. The beginning jumps too fast. Widow needed more backstory as did the Hulk. How did he learn to control himself; the film never fully explains. However so, the film shines. Expand
  6. May 5, 2012
    9
    Absolutely everything you would want out of an Avengers movie plus some. In the wrong hands this movie could've gone horribly awry and I'm ecstatic that this isn't the case. Prior to seeing it I was really worried about the 2 hr. 22 min. run but it seriously was not a problem, in fact I wouldn't have minded a 3 hr running time. The action was incredible and the banter between the super heroes was more often than not hysterical. And this is one of the first movies that the 3D didn't piss me off. You owe it to yourself to see this in theaters and experience the awesomeness. Expand
  7. May 5, 2012
    10
    Just saw this movie and I was really impressed. The only down side was that you didn't see much of the Hulk until later on in the movie, but besides that Tony Stark was awesome and Hawkeye was bad ass. The Avengers is surprisingly really good, nest to X Men: First Class as the best Marvel movie in recent years.
  8. May 5, 2012
    9
    The Avengers was a really awesome and good. I thought it was kind of slow & a little boring at first but the last 25 minutes of the movie was worth the wait. I mean explosions, non-stop action, a giant green man, = awesomeness. This movie was not just awesome, it was also funny, Tony Stark delivered some funny lines, The Hulk was funny too. I didn't watch it in 3D though, but if I did it would be amazing cause stuff flew at you and the screen a lot of times in the movie. You definitely should check it out. Expand
  9. May 5, 2012
    9
    The Avengers is the best Marvel film to date and the best movie of the year so far. I was surprised how well they were able to give all the Avengers about equal screen time. Mark Ruffalo is definitely the best Hulk ever, it made me appreciate the Hulk as a character. This is definitely one of the best comic book movies, following right behind Christoper Nolan's Batman films. Would love to see this movie again, and I usually don't see films multiple times. If you are looking for a well written, well directed, action packed film, this is the best one in theaters. Expand
  10. May 5, 2012
    10
    Please don't listen to the snobby anti-genre movie reviews. As a guy who enjoys a good introspective, quiet indie full of symbolism and heavy thought... this was a GOOD movie. No, a GREAT movie. I laughed, I clapped, I felt for the characters on screen. Joss Whedon remains a figure of cult hysteria because his scripts tap into the minds of a generation, and rightly so. He does nothing less in this film, and every single actor is up to the challenge. Of particular note here are Mark Ruffalo as the Hulk - and the best version so far. It's hard to tell how much of this is creditable to Ruffalo's display as Banner and how much credit goes to the writing and CG wizards behind this version of the not-so-jolly green giant. But I will say that this movie finally shed the idea that a proper exploration of the Hulk has to be cerebral, introspective, and outright depressing. This Hulk manages to be both affecting AND fun, and Ruffalo's Banner is just as interesting as the "other guy."

    RDJ as Tony Stark continues to impress. Honestly, there's no real weak link in the cast. I was a little worried about Sam Jackson's ability to wrap his mouth around Whedon's poppy dialogue, but his Nick Fury carried a fantastic amount of gravitas and screen presence, and really added dramatic weight I was surprised to see from an actor who has become (sadly) better known for his culty larger-than-life persona than his acting.

    All in all, this is just a fantastic film, and one I plan to see in the theater again before it leaves - an activity I rarely do in the time of high-priced entertainment. Kudos Whedon, kudos Marvel. I am in awe.
    Expand
  11. May 5, 2012
    10
    simply awesome movie. Thor hulk iron man black-widow hawk-eye each and every character is great. great action thriller movie with good sense of humor. specially robert downy jr. is ridiculously great.
  12. May 5, 2012
    10
    Wow, just... wow. I saw this movie today, and all I can say is "wow". About a year ago, before the trailer was released, people were really hoping for an Avengers movie. When the trailer was released, it instantly became a "Must See Opening Day", due to all of the crazy fans. And when it was finally released, it lived up to expectation! I was really surprised by this because I have been to countless Marvel/DC movies, hoping them to be amazing like "The Dark Knight" or "Spiderman 3", when it ended up becoming those movies you only watch every couple months like "Thor", and I was expecting "The Avengers" to be the same way as "Thor", but I was completely wrong. This is by far the best Marvel Movie yet! It's definitely a "Must See"! Expand
  13. May 5, 2012
    9
    Exciting, incredibly well written, and hilarious, The Avengers is Marvel's best film. The action is incredibly thrilling, the humor unmatched in a blockbuster, and the performances fantastic. This is the best way to start off the Summer movie season.
  14. May 5, 2012
    10
    This movie is possibly the greatest movie this year. It's really great to see so much heroes in one movie. The story isn't the greatest thing, but the humor and gags do fit. The Avengers has fantastic action scenes, a huge and talented cast and at least this movie is not a Iron Man 3, or Thor 2.

    So congratulations to Mr. Whedon, who did a great job spending every hero nearly the same time
    on the big screen. Actually Jeremy Renner had a great performance, I would really like to see him in a own Marvel film. Expand
  15. May 5, 2012
    10
    An example of how you do a big budget, blockbuster film in the best possible way. From start to finish, The Avengers is entertainment perfection and the best film Marvel has ever put out yet. Director and writer Joss Whedon implements his trademark humour and cinematography to make the film not just funny, but also tightly paced and action packed. I'm impressed that Whedon could handle this many characters at once, especially heroes but it isn't surprising because he's done it before. While Tony Stark/Iron Man have slightly more screen time and has the most jokes and one liners, not one character is wasted or slandered and the main ensemble cast play each other extremely well and every single one of them gets a shining moment thanks to a very well written script and steady pacing. Mark Ruffalo is the best Hulk ever and I'm surprised that they didn't over sexualised Black Widow in contrast to what the trailers show but now that I think about it, it's Joss Whedon, whom you should know created Buffy the Vampire Slayer. I cannot rave this film enough and I've already seen it twice in the cinema. It is the blockbuster film of the year. It is so entertaining and so much fun to watch and it is a shining example of how a big budget blockbuster film should entertain a general audience. I've seen it both in 3D and 2D but I recommend it in 2D Expand
  16. May 5, 2012
    10
    Simply the best on screen adaptation and movie I've ever had the pleasure of seeing! The only film on pare with The Dark Knight. If you can't enjoy this for pure entertainment, then you obviously have personalty issues where as you hate everything and cannot be satisfied. Go live under a rock, same with all the critics who have rated this as below average. Can The Avengers be the final proof the worlds needs to completely discredit and eliminate useless movie "critics"? The pace, characters, environment, action, and humor were all done to perfection. This is what I've always wanted to see. Thank you for making it! Expand
  17. May 5, 2012
    10
    This film is the most interesting and the most funny among all the superhero films. Most of the actors played good. Visual effects are worthwhile, at the same time not seem redundant. I need to say that sometimes there was a little much unreasonable pathos, but its presence in hero movies established historically :) The most remarkable thing is humor, good humor in Avengers. It gave me positive energy, so thanks for that! :) Expand
  18. May 5, 2012
    10
    I haven't read the comics at all, but I do know how the characters are. Either way, I thoroughly, thoroughly enjoyed this movie. YOU HAVE GOT TO SEE THIS MOVIE!!!
  19. May 5, 2012
    10
    Just saw The Avengers and all I can say is WOW!! this is the movie comic-book fans have been waiting for. the action is great, the interaction between the actors in their respective roles is awesome. The movie definitely moves along, in my opinion, considering it is over two hours. It is certainly one of the best comics to movie adaptions I've seen in a long time. A must see!!!
  20. May 5, 2012
    10
    A well-crafted film that superbly handles playing with four leading heroes. The movie has great sequences of action and the special effects are top-notch. However, it is the character interaction that really shines through, and makes the ultimate assembly worthwhile.
  21. May 5, 2012
    10
    Best hero movie of all time, hands down! Very funny, the action looked amazing and the characters are all lovable. All of them. Even the Hulk.... (maybe, specially him)
  22. May 5, 2012
    10
    This film is about a group if heroes, each with their own hubris, and how they must learn to work together for the greater good. With plenty of action, humor and story, this movie delivers at every turn. Director Joss Whedon knows how to build, challenge and sustain a team driven story. From his experience with Buffy to Firefly and Dollhouse, he has learned how to develop an ensemble cast and provide each character with enough screen time to not just have time to develop their character, but to have a sense of balance as a whole. Each character proves to be an essential part of the greater whole. And that is where this movie shines. No one is left out and everyone is used in a manner that pushes the story and development forward with no real lag in the narrative. My only concern, with a movie this grand and epic, is how Marvel is going to top, or even match this film. If they can, then the next Marvel movie will be nothing short of astonishing. Bottom line this is the best superhero Team Movie made to date. Expand
  23. May 5, 2012
    10
    Fan Boys (and Girls) unite, our time has arrived!! Not one but 6 Super Heroes in one movie. What chance does the evil Loki have against these guys (and girl)?

    For most of the 140 plus minutes it looks like Loki will win the day and subjugate Earth to his rule. But never fear! As Iron Man warns Loki: "You may have an army but we have a Hulk." The story is interesting even for an old timer
    who missed out on these comic books! The action is first rate and the dialogue is crisp and often hilarious. The real question to be answered at the end of this movie is: "How many spin off movies will be created by this box office bonanza" There is already talk of Black Widow and Nick Fury origins films and both Iron Man 3 and Thor 2 are in the works. The sooner the better! I'm not getting any younger and the more of these Super Hero films I can see, the longer I intend to stick around. If I outlast Loki then Marvel will just have to find another first rate villain or two. Expand
  24. May 5, 2012
    9
    Up to now The Avengers is the best superhero film ever made including DC Comics films. The begining is a little slow with some decent jokes and dialogs lokis army is something totaly improvised for a half normal avengers universe and half ultimate avengers universe hibrid storyline. I was specting a cameo that never happened and to talk about ant-man and wasp in these film is totaly irrelevant. the greedy bastards are gonna make tons of money with this avengers films. i dont think any of these actor are compromised with their role or even heard about it before they became thor widow Expand
  25. May 5, 2012
    10
    It released here a week before the official U.S release, so we were much more excited though. generally speaking, first day, first show.Truly amazing experience, one liners for tony stark, heavenly body work from black widow, Arrow sharp hawk eye, Bull frog hammer head Thor, Aye sir - Captain America and the last the smasher- Hulk. A enjoyable treat from Marvel Studios. Visually enhanced, superb production value, A true summer block buster. Expand
  26. May 5, 2012
    9
    Awesome film, if you are a fan of superhero movies then you'll find The Avengers to be absolutely brilliant, but if you're not a fan of these films, it probably won't change your mind about them, even so there is stuff for all sorts of people to appreciate here. A bunch of superheros teaming up like this has never really been done before so this is definitely a very special film and after 4 years build up for marvel fans since the first Iron Man, it has managed to live up to its incredibly high hype. Joss Whedon has done what he does best and has made a bunch of different characters all have multiple and equal times in the spot light without one hogging all of the attention, the balance between these characters is great and it makes it hard to pick your favourite superhero and they all have so many awesome moments. The writing is strong and surprisingly really funny at points and the humour never feels forced and the all of the actors deliver with great performances all around. While the soundtrack is nothing special it still fits in to film well. Overall I came out of the cinema satisfied after seeing Avengers, it was just as epic and action packed as the trailers made it out to be, it wasn't quite perfect and it won't convert the people who aren't into superhero movies but as a whole The Avengers is a great film that doesn't come around often, so I highly recommend it. Expand
  27. May 5, 2012
    9
    ASSEMBLE all your friends and family to go see The Avengers! It doesn't get much better than this! An ensemble movie done extremely well and there is just so much going on here. Iron Man is flawless as usual, Ruffalo is pitch-perfect as Bruce Banner/Hulk, and the whole ensemble just works. The plot is solid with an imminent threat that is worth caring about, and Loki is a fine villain. Again, there is a LOT going on here, but Whedon seems to pull it all together while still giving each character plenty of screen time. This is a "smash"-ing good time! Expand
  28. May 5, 2012
    10
    This is one of the best action films than ever seen in my life. Every hero work together. God job director I give you a 10. Work hard and you will be the best director ever, maybe and make and other sequel but much better.
  29. May 5, 2012
    10
    Funniest super hero movie ever! Had a blast throughout and plan to see it again. Downey Jr. makes the film and my interest in Iron Man 3 is rejuvenated.
  30. May 5, 2012
    10
    If you say that this movie is less than a 10 you must be out of your mind. The BEST movie I have seen in such a long time. Each character was played great and how they used the love/hate relationship of each character in the movie into a fun comedy just made the movie that much more entertaining. For all those who love Marvel and their movies I would recommend to go watch The Avengers and see how they change the way a movie should be created and watched. Side not I wouldn't watch it in 3-D from what I was told the movie was made 2-D and then formatted for 3-D. Expand
  31. May 5, 2012
    10
    This is possibly the best film ever made. Not the only the best superhero film but the best film ever. I have held the dark knight as my favorite film for a long time and didnt think anything could beat it. The avengers is everything I wanted in a movie a story, brilliant action and humor. Its one of the funniest movies I've seen and the action rivals transformers. The story is what sets it apart and the avengers is truly one of the best films ever made. Expand
  32. May 5, 2012
    10
    Absolutely the best Marvel movie, if not the entire superhero genre, I've ever seen. Created by a man who lives and breathes perfection and knows the ethos of the Marvel Multi-verse. When a fan who knows how to make movies, makes a movie...the result is this. Well done Joss Whedon! Normally I have something to complain about with a Marvel movie. At least one thing that will stand out as..."Meh, could have been done better this way..." However, with this film, I left the theatre two and a half hours later, wanting a longer movie and wanting to change nothing! An excellent film! Expand
  33. May 5, 2012
    10
    is one of the best films of 2012 so far, and it all of it because the director could make the six Avengers have their momtentosspecias loki and even the villain had his moment of great importance. tava wonderful cast, this excellent Scarlet, she could not understand the game of seduction that has black widow, Mark did not seem to have been the first hulk movie it being, 'cause he got to understand the anger that has Hulk, Chris Evans played my favorite character and in my opinion it all amazing in this role, Robert again with his amazing power to interpret anything, Chris Hemsworth had a very difficult to interpret the god of lightning and did a beautiful job Expand
  34. May 5, 2012
    10
    I am quite possibly one of the biggest batman fans on the planet and i still looked forward to this more than the dark knight rises. Marvel movies dont have quite the in depth story telling that dc comic book movies have, but i would rather watch this again then sit through the dark knight returns. The effects were amazing and even with so many characters everyone gets enough screen time to make the movie feel really balanced. I saw this with 6 other ppl and all of us walked out extremely happy. I would highly recommend this as a great start to the summer movie season. 2012 is looking to be one of the best years for movies in a long time Expand
  35. May 5, 2012
    10
    I guess you can't please all of the people all of the time. With many reviewers complaining that this was a brainless action flick, and others complaining that there wasn't enough action, I thought this movie absolutely nailed the sweet-spot between the two, with some of the best action and biggest effect sequences of any comic-movie yet, and great dialogue in between.

    The first half of
    the movie's pretty slow, understandable when you consider all the characters that needed to be introduced/re-introduced. Black Widow got a great introduction, there were some cool moments with S.H.I.E.L.D and some minor scraps between the heroes themselves which were great fun, but the bulk of the action was saved for the big-scale Manhattan battle at the end. With all the actors slipping effortlessly back into their roles (except for Mark Ruffallo's Hulk, more on that later) there's plenty of room for banter between the heroes, which provide some of the biggest fun in the movie. It's hard to pick out one "main" character as they all get an equal share in the proceedings, exactly as it should be. RDJ shines once again as Tony Stark/Ironman, his trademark wit and cool oozing from every pore, Chris Hemsworth's Thor bringing his big Asgardian personallity to the party, all the S.H.I.E.L.D members suitably official and millitaristic. Evan's Steve Rogers/Captain America is the fish-out-of-water in this new time-period, but steps up to the role of team leader in time for the finale. Then there's the Hulk.

    Now, I should preface this by saying how much I LOVED Ed Norton's Hulk film. After the godawful Ang Lee effort a few years before, the Incredible Hulk was everything a Hulk movie should be, and I was a little devastated when I heard Norton wasn't reprising his role for the Avengers. It turns out, I needn't have worried. Ruffallo, in his biggest role yet, shines as the self-depricating Banner, and the Hulk himself has some of the most crowd-pleasing, punch-the-air moments in the whole movie. Tom Hiddleston returns as Loki, the films antagonist and does a great job once more. He has some great one-on-one moments with most of the heroes, most notably with Stark and of course his brother Thor, but the best by far is his short-lived encounter with the Hulk, a scene which WILL make you laugh, HARD. Now, I could complain that the overarching plot was a little basic as some reviews have, but to be honest I thought the plot was exactly what it needed to be. There's an alien invasion coming, we need to gather Earths mightiest heroes to defend it. That's about the long and short of it and I wouldn't have wanted it any other way. There were simply too many characters for anything more complicated than that to work effectively in the first Avengers movie. Perhaps in future sequels something a little more substantial would work, with all the characters now established as well as their roles within the team, but this was perfect for a first outing.

    All of this led to a finale which was just awesome. You know that battle in Manhattan you've seen in all the trailers? That goes on for half an hour. For the majority of that half-hour, I practically couldn't stop smiling. I seriously dig superheroes, and for me, it was like christmas seeing them all work together against the alien threat. There's a moment where all the heroes are gathered and Cap gives the team their orders, including a particullarly crowd-pleasing order to the Hulk, before they all spread out and do their thing. It was seriously cool.

    Speaking of Cap, I have to bring up my only real criticism with the movie, and that's Cap's new costume. It just looks cheap, to be honest. Why they re-designed it at all, I don't know. In the Captain America movie, they managed to make the costume look right without it looking too silly, but this new incarnation just didn't work for me. Other than that, the movie was great. Great fun, great actoin, great humour, great dialogue. If you like action movies, you gotta see this. If you like superheroes, you absolutely must see this. Twice. I've only seen it once, and writing this review's made me wanna go watch it again, so it looks like I'm off to the cinema this afternoon. Enjoy!
    Expand
  36. May 5, 2012
    10
    I've seen it on the 24 of April in thw world premiere in Rome Italy (where i Live). This movie is AWESOME, at the level of Iron Man 1! I liked it a lot! The 3D is not so useful, it would be awesome also without it! It was years that i wasn't so happy to see a film... :D
  37. May 5, 2012
    10
    The best superhero movie I've ever seen. They managed to pull off a great combination of comedy and action all in one. The Hulk fit right in with the rest of the heroes. Marvel did a great job.
  38. May 5, 2012
    10
    You'll already know if you want to see this movie, and if you already know you want to see this movie, you'll more than likely love this movie. Most of the negative critic reviews seem to come from film critics who've let their personal preferences get in the way of doing their job properly. Joss Whedon and his stellar cast have done the near impossible and created an ensemble superhero movie that is fast and funny, as reliant on its whip smart dialogue as its staggering set pieces. To me, it genuinely feels like the modern equivalent of Star Wars or Indiana Jones - a proper event movie that is more than the sum of its (admittedly not entirely flawless) parts. Most of all, unlike its alternatively dour and ridiculous DC counterparts, The Avengers is fun - if you let yourself, there's no reason for you not to enjoy it from start to finish. Expand
  39. May 5, 2012
    9
    Surprised and delighted at how this turned out. Not sure the 3d added anything special to the action but the action is superb and the light moments are genius. It cannot be compared to the dark knight in terms of best super hero movie ever but it's exactly what the fans wanted from this franchise.
  40. May 5, 2012
    10
    This is the greatest super hero movie of all time and one of the greatest movies of all time.Tons of action and there is no 1main character, the movie evenly divides characters and each one has their moment.It is actually quite funny as well, and comic fans will absolutely LOVE it.I never found the film boring and this movie has quite a few claping moments for all those people who love to cheer during the movie(like myself). And stay after the credits(like if you didnt already know that).Overall movie is outstanding,good story,awesome characters,insane fights,and great humor.This is going to be movie of the year and is a must see for ALL kinds of people. Expand
  41. May 4, 2012
    10
    "The Avengers" is thoughtful, funny, charming, consistent, and balances quiet moments with extremely clear and well executed action scenes. Some critics have talked about Samuel L. Jackson's glue for the superhero team, but Clark Gregg's Agent Coulson is the true glue, the one character that brings heart to the parade.

    All of the characters are a marvel to watch, they each continue their
    story arcs as introduced in previous films, no time is wasted on exposition, and The Hulk finally gets to shine in a brilliant performance by Mark Ruffalo. Robert Downey Jr. is hilarious as always, and matching his timing and talents with the words of Josh Whedon is like marriage made in a heavenly hell. Nice stuff! Other characters become slightly minor, but all of them have their moments. My whole family left the theatre with a smile on our faces. Expand
  42. May 4, 2012
    10
    At the core of a great film is an even greater story. At the core of every great story are even greater characters, chemistry and a strong foundation of source material. The Avengers have been around since the early 60s, and the characters even far beyond that. Personally, in the midst of my parents divorcing, I decided to take a second chance on comic books after dipping my toe into Captain Carrot and his Amazing Zoo Crew in March, 1982 while living in Broken Arrow, OK during one of my many, many trips to QuikTrip to either buy ice cream, donuts or penny candy while playing Ms. Pac-Man. It wasn't a wonder why I became fat around this time. Fast forward 2 years to May, 1984, when I purchased Avengers (Vol 1) number 243, mostly due to my being intrigued with Captain America. I instantly fell in love with comics, and needed them to help me cope with the massive changes going on around me at the time. My heart was broken when the first Avengers cartoon series in 1999-2000 was an embarrassment. Just a pathetic series. However, when the X-Men movies did well and other titles like Daredevil, Elektra and Fantastic Four started to be released, I was excited to eventually see, at least, Captain America, Iron Man, etc. on the big screen. Never did I think a studio would be ambitious enough to attempt The Avengers as a whole.

    Over the past few months, I've seen some of the most uninteresting trailers for The Avengers. I have been so worried thinking that the movie I've waited 28 years for was going to be an absolute disaster. Trailer after trailer, it didn't look any better. Did Joss royally screw this thing up???

    Well, I saw it opening night, tonight. The trailers show the tiniest fraction of what happens in this absolute masterpiece. Sure, it's action-packed. It's expected to be. Sure it's got funny moments. It's expected to, especially with Robert Downey, Jr. as a leading man. What Joss Whedon did was take the greatest care of characters since Nolan's Batman series. The interaction between the characters, the way they deal with their own personal concerns and flaws, and how they come together as a team is so perfectly executed it nearly brought tears to my eyes. To most people it might be looked at as an enjoyable popcorn film; a great kickoff to the summer movie season. To me, a die-hard, multi-decade fanatic of this comic, these films, these characters and the integrity of keeping them authentic was paramount and, honestly, impossible to achieve, in my eyes. Joss proved me oh-so-wrong. When I began seeing the very nigh praise, the 93% on Rottentomatoes, etc. my low expectations became super high expectations. How often are expectations like that ever met? Well, I can at least say they weren't met. They were left in the dust, exceeded beyond anything my fanboy mind could have conjured. Bless Marvel, Whedon and these actors for treating multiple generations of fans to a perfect example of how it can be done right. Sure, Nolan has become the gold standard, but Whedon showed everyone that Marvel can do it too. My only regret is that Edward Norton couldn't reprise his role as Bruce Banner. Of the 3 Bruce's, he was the best. Mark Ruffalo was the worst. I like him as an actor and he had some of the mannerisms, but Edward captured the intellectual, frightened and loner aspect of Bruce Banner perfectly. Hulk, however, stole the show. Without spoiling some of the key aspects of the movie, I will just say that Joss' inclusion of Hulk in the manner in which he was was the cherry on top of this perfect sundae. While I can't imagine them topping this one, I've been so strongly surprised, I would never say never. The setup at the end of The Avengers has me so excited about where these movies will continue to go. I even guessed the surprise ending way early in the movie, but that was a product of my pure geekiness made happy by clearly other geeky people who wrote the film. Bring it on, Marvel. Excelsior! Nuff Said!!
    Expand
  43. May 4, 2012
    10
    After endless hype, The Avengers delivers. All the characters are full of depth and personality. The action scenes are epic. The dialogue is smart, funny, and witty. Everything fans like myself wanted in this film has happened. Not only is this the best Marvel film I've seen, its the best superhero and summer blockbuster to ever be unleashed with this much satisfaction. Go see it...NOW!
  44. May 4, 2012
    10
    Possibly the best superhero movie ever. I've never seen an audience so engrossed in a film. Whedon's script and direction are perfect. This works on every level. Can't wait to see it again.
  45. May 4, 2012
    10
    My wife and I were trying not to get too excited for this movie. These mash-up movies always a huge risk. And in this case it was a HUGE success. They did a great job of giving everyone a proper place in the movie without giving everyone powers to match one another necessarily. Also compared to other Marvel movies in the past, like X-Men where they decided Wolverine needed act as leader all the time, it was nice to see that they used characters like Captain America to give orders and stay level headed while Iron Man was able to go off crazy and do his thing. The jokes hit perfect, the timing and action was spot-on. The only thing that could ever be said was that the plot wasn't too overall complicated and was fairly straightforward along the way, but I don't feel it detracts from the movie at all, as anything more complex would have made the whole thing feel convoluted with so many characters struggling to work together. Expand
  46. May 4, 2012
    10
    To put it simply, YES! I would have sat through five more movies like â
  47. May 4, 2012
    10
    Good stuff. Joss Whedon likes and understands these characters as well as what audiences enjoy. You get what you want plus a little more. Hulk steals the show...then smashes it to bits. Great flicks for fans and non-fans alike. A great pay off to for all of the build up films. Can't wait to see more from this bunch...but Whedon needs to stay around...his spirit makes this thing work. Great start to the summer. Expand
  48. May 4, 2012
    10
    Wow. Just plain wow. I had obviously high expectations, and even those were blown away. Joss Whedon shows yet again why he is one of the best writer/directors in Hollywood. Making every character interesting and entertaining is a tough task, but Joss does it with ease.
  49. May 4, 2012
    10
    The greatest superhero movie I have seen by far. Lots of action to be had, very funny moments throughout, and the watching all the great Marvel superheroes fight side by side and even sometimes each other was great. Seeing this at midnight, the crowd was going crazy the entire film and enjoyed so much. 10 out of 10, go see it in theaters, I know I'll be seeing it again for sure.
  50. May 4, 2012
    9
    The applause at the movie ending was indicative of my pleasure with the film also. There were moments of laugh out louds, snickers, and general pleasure received from being treated as an adult human that wants more from a movie than just the fantastic toys. I would see this one again and told all my friends to pay out hard earned cash to see it. I only promote the "good ones" and this one will be a hit for some time to come. Way to go. And Robert D. Jr.; you just get better and better. Expand
  51. May 4, 2012
    10
    Move over Spiderman 2, Dark Knight and X-men:First Class. This movie us literally the best thing I've seen so far this year. I loved every second of it. The film is very well paced and the script is super sharp and humorous. it also makes references to previous movies. I congratulate Mark Ruffalo for getting the character of Bruce Banner right after Edward Norton and Eric Bana didn't quite get it. As for the rest of the heroes, they've improved so much after their previous films, Captain Americas fight scenes weren't as boring as last years efforts. Like the Directors of the individual films. Joss Whedon has done a superb job at directing this, he really deserves an Oscar for this. Overall I thought the movie was brilliant and I look forward to a sequel in the next three to four years. Not gonna spoil the end credits scene but it's epic! A fantastic film and a must watch! Expand
  52. May 4, 2012
    9
    Best superhero movie experience since X-Men 2 for me, it was just so much fun seeing these over the top characters argue and ultimately work with one another. The funny and clever humor, the great action, and the enjoyable and interesting characters, are the reasons why The Avengers is an above average superhero movie I think.
  53. May 4, 2012
    10
    The perfect superhero movie. Joss Whedon brings together this cast of completely different personalities together to make a perfect dysfunctional functioning team that can really throw down. The action was exciting and fresh and the comedy was earned. The movie's plot was well put together and wasn't some obvious thing, as believed by many critics. The movie had a strong, dramatic overtone that really grounded everything in the real world, even though it was all pretty fantastic. Overall, this is probably the most fun you'll have at the theater all year. Expand
  54. May 4, 2012
    10
    This movie is funny, it has great action scenes, it's just a great movie. Way better than I expected it to be. The characters play well off each other and seem to be cast perfectly. I would definitely go see it again.
  55. May 4, 2012
    10
    In all honesty i don't see how they could've made this film anymore spectacular than it was. As a superhero fanboy (especially Marvel) i was in utter awe during the entire duration of the film. Joss Whedon did an absolutely amazing job directing and writing this blockbuster film. It certainly isn't an easy task making a film like this work but he sure did. I especially love how he made Bruce Banner/ the Hulk and Black Widow more of the 2 key characters. It was unexpected but i loved it. I also liked how they finally made the Hulk more of a good guy because he's always seen as a bad guy in every film you see. He also looked more like the actor playing Bruce Banner FINALLY! He didn't look ridiculous and unrecognizable for once. On to other things, the comedy in this film was just plain hilarious, and it was of course centered around Iron Man (Tony Stark). With the occasional jokes from Thor and how he is not familiar with Earth and Captain America being, well..old or outdated might be a better word. The action was just non-stop and absolutely mind-blowing. It was just perfect, i literally saw no flaws in the spectacle of explosion after explosion, and the CGI was just beautiful because it was perfect. While i was watching this movie, it didn't feel like a movie, it felt like something more, thats how fantastic it was. The acting was spot on, the plot was better than expected, and i can't praise Joss Whedons job on blending the chracters and their stories together enough. He just did such an amazing job, words can't even desribe. Loki was awesome, he was the definition of a villain. Slick, evil, and genius. I felt frigid during certain scenes with him because of how chilling his character was portrayed. All around this film itself is just perfect. The only flaw i saw was the 3D was nothing special so if you cannot decide, go with the 2D because the 3D is not worth the extra cash, but otherwise the actual film itself is perfect.The Avengers is not just a film, it's a cinematic event, and you will love it from the very beginning all the way until the classic end of the credits scene. I cannot wait to watch this film again. Whether you are a superhero fan or not you have to love this film, and if you are a superhero fan like myself, get ready to experience the best 2 and a half hours of film ever made. If i could give this more than a 10 i would! You must see this movie now! Expand
  56. May 4, 2012
    9
    This is an incredible film! There wasn't a single point in the film that I didn't enjoy. Plenty of action and brilliant one liners, plus some unexpected laughs. The build up of the individual characters becoming the Avengers was really well done, and I quite like the fact that Black Widow (Scarlett Johansson) and Hawkeye (Jeremy Renner) got a fair amount of screen time amongst the bigger names. I didn't recognise Mark Ruffalo from any other films, but he does a great Banner/ Hulk, possibly even better than Edward Norton!

    Even if you haven't seen any of the other Avenger 'intro' films, and aren't a huge fan of comics, this is a must see film! Loads of action and comedy for everyone to enjoy themselves.
    Expand
  57. May 4, 2012
    9
    This was a funny action movie that alot a bit too much substance for one movie to contain. While the story was simplistic, I think that was a good thing because of the sheer number of things going on all at once. If you had a story with anymore to it, then this movie would have been really bogged down with just too much stuff. The over abundance of stuff in the movie doesn't let the heroes in this movie truly shine till the very end. Some of the best parts of the movie were when they were interacting with each but that was very few and far between. The final action sequence at the end doesn't disappoint though and it's worth going to see the movie just for that. If you weren't a fan of the previous individual movies for these characters, then this will not do anything to change your feelings toward Superhero movies. However this is a good, fun, and very enjoyable movie that people of all ages will enjoy. Just try not to get bogged down with the sheer amount of content this movie tries to cram into your brain in 2 hours. You might get a headache afterward lol. Expand
  58. May 4, 2012
    10
    The movie was a lot a fun, and had great character development for just about ever character, besides Loki. Overall it was very well rounded, a hint of romance added, great actions scenes and quite funny overall. It was worth staying up late for the midnight release, I don't understand why the critics are rating this so low.
  59. May 4, 2012
    10
    This film is, quite simply, brilliant, everything I wanted from it was there, brilliant action, suspense and humour, fantastically written dialogue and a brilliant balance between all the characters, Tom Hiddlestone is even better this time round as Loki than he was in the Thor movie, much more menacing and convincing as a super villain and Mark Ruffallo is excellent in it, easily the best Bruce Banner we have seen yet. Just brilliant, can't wait for Iron Man 3 now! Expand
  60. May 4, 2012
    9
    A movie that is worth seeing,fast paced,entertainment,memorable quotes and personally one of the most incredible adventure - sci-fi movies i ever watched.Don't miss it
  61. May 4, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Epic! The Avengers is epic. The reason? The story can be simple, but the development is really awesome, have great elements of the comic. The characters have an awesome development, is interesting the things that Whedon do with all the cast, and now the cast, wow, is amazing, their performances are perfect, the better are Robert Downey Jr. as Iron Man/Tony Stark, Mark Ruffalo as Hulk/Bruce Banner and Tom Hiddleston as Loki. The effects are amazing, in moments the movie is like Transformers, but no problem, becuase the effects (of Transformers) are amazing, and Michael Bay can watch some battle scenes of The Avengers for do a better movie. The soundtrack is really fantastic, and the score wow. The script is incredible, have much intelligent and funny moments, I love it. And the scene after the titles, OMG! Is epic. The Avengers is the best movie of 2012 (in this moment) I can't wait for The Avengers 2. This is the best of Marvel. Expand
  62. May 4, 2012
    9
    I had to get to the theater at 10:30 to get a seat for the midnight showing, and I sure wasn't the only one seeing the Avengers. Everywhere were people in Captain America masks, Thor helmets, or green faces for the Hulk. And when the lights dimmed, everyone began cheering as the movie started. And they cheered throughout it. And clapped. And laughed like crazy. The Avengers was SO MUCH FUN!!! Humorous, packed with action, with a fantastic cast and highlights for every one of them. Go see it. You'll never have so much fun at a movie. (And afterward, I high-fived a die-hard Hulk fan who had dyed himself completely green.Who can top that?) Expand
  63. May 4, 2012
    9
    Is the AVENGERS the best super hero film of all time? No, it's not. But it's a great film. Let's start with the surprising negative aspect: slow mid section and predictable storyline. The positives: big spectacle film making at its best and a final action sequence that made Transformer's look like an incoherent mess.
  64. May 4, 2012
    9
    A dream come true. Good actor's performances, and a perfect mix of action and comedy make this film what every passionate about comics wanted. Best Marvel Movie
  65. May 4, 2012
    9
    i thought the movie combined all the strong points of the movies it was based on. i didn't think i could make it any better.
  66. May 4, 2012
    9
    Personally I really enjoyed iit. The reason why I do not rely on critic reviews (69 out 100 please). Because they are just personal opinions like my own. The movie was very entertaining. I do agree about one thing though this was the best depiction of the Hulk since the TV series.
  67. May 4, 2012
    10
    We've been waiting for this movie a long time and it was worth it. Since iron man in 2008 we knew that an Avenger movie was coming. This is the best marvel movie so far and i have the chance to work in a movie theatre and I will have the chance to watch the movie over and over again!!!!
  68. May 4, 2012
    10
    An abundance of exhilarating set-pieces , solid performances and a thoroughly engrossing emotional emphasis ensures that The Avengers stands tall as a marvel among superhero films .
  69. May 4, 2012
    10
    Great action flick, non-stop action, great lines, and I plan on seeing it again. Robert Downey, Jr steals the show as Iron Man. Stay for the credits to see the teaser for the next film! If you liked the Marvel films, you will love the Avengers.
  70. May 4, 2012
    9
    First of all, the story behind this film isn't exactly Oscar material. But the two hours and 20 minutes of non stop action and pure comic-book awesomeness definitely makes up for it. The comedy between the characters, the performances of old and new actors alike, this film is definitely worth a watch...
  71. May 4, 2012
    10
    The Avengers is a musical arrangement that hits every note on pitch with all the class and excitement you'd expect with Tony Stark in the mix. Joss Whedon takes the helm and crafts a masterpiece. The characters are great, the script is amazing, the comedy is always perfect, and the action is breathtaking! You won't find a better superhero movie or a comic adaptation. The Avengers sets the bar high, and will be one of the main reasons 2012's summer movie release list will be memorable. Expand
  72. May 4, 2012
    10
    Well the long awaited " The Avengers" does not disappoint. From start to finish, the pace is fast, sometimes even brutal; with non-stop action and great moments of humor. This mother of all sequels, being a sequel to no less than five films, brings together a multitude of powerhouse superheroes from the Marvel stable. Even if you are not familiar with â
  73. May 4, 2012
    9
    I give this film 9/10. I'm dropping 1 point because they didn't exactly follow the original "The Ulitmates" story line, but came pretty damned close.

    The film reflects Joss Whedons Humour with lots of nice humorous, but not out of place , quirky little moments. His wit is still very apparent from his Buffy/Angel/Firefly days. If it wasn't him who wrote the relevant scenes, it's someone
    trying to be like him !

    The script and banter between everyone is snappy and everyone is already familiar with their roles so it's straight into the action. Everyone acted well and everyone took it seriously, but not TOO seriously.

    I'm not giving away anymore plot than I already have in my opening statement, if you're familiar with the first 13 issue run of " The Ultimates" then you know roughly what's going on in the film. I should add here that you really end up hating Loki, again, what a great actor.

    The films sounds amazing and looks even better, there is not a dull moment and I was thoroughly absorbed throughout. Lets have another one soon please.

    And how about a Black Widow/Hawkeye spy/assassin flick in the mean time, they were both great characters incredibly well played by their respective actors.

    Everyone already knows how good the actors that play Cap. America, Iron Man and Thor are, but those two mentioned above, and the chap that played the Hulk were also wonderful. As were the rest of the cast.

    In order here's what I'd like to see next in the movies:-

    New Iron Man, then a new Hulk, New Thor, New Cap. America, A Black Widow & Hawkeye spy story, with lots of Nick Fury in this one, THEN the second Avengers film. Then start the cycle again adding in a few other Avengers as time goes on. With the list above, and a film a year, that's a five year movie arc before it all starts again.

    Now go and do it please people.

    The Avengers, a solid nine out of ten. Go see it and enjoy.
    Expand
  74. May 4, 2012
    9
    The Avengers is pure popcorn heaven for nerd and layman alike. Josh Whedon has created a witty, intelligent and action packed spectacle. The interaction between Thor, Bruce Banner, Tony Stark and Steve Rogers is as enthralling as the go-for-broke third act when Manhattan is laid to waste by Loki and his invading army. Worth the wait? Should you believe the hype? Does The Hulk steal the show? Yes, yes and yes. This is what a summer blockbuster should be. Expand
  75. May 4, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It was the year 2008; the movie was The Incredible Hulk! In the last scene, there entered Tony Stark/Iron Man and he presented the Avengers Initiative. That day made me believe that we are going to have the biggest superhero movie ever made in a few years. And ultimately in 2012, they gave us, The Avengers! A movie that changed the definition for WOW significantly! And also it managed to raise the bar for superhero movies now.

    The movie starts off directly into the plot where Loki (Tom Hiddleston), the Norse God returns to acquire the Energy Cube (Tessaract), the S.H.I.E.L.D. Agents found under the ocean, and bring war to earth. As the situation worsens, Nicky Fury (Samuel L Jackson) makes a call to all the Avengers. They assemble up to end the war and finally defeat and stop Loki from his ill intentions. An edge-of-the-seat experience, where you hold your breath at every moment, as the movie brings in more surprises with the new elements never before used in action movies.

    I kind of knew that Iron Man (Robert Downey Jr) would be stealing the show, which he totally owned in the first half. He always did everything in style. But still, not one character looked under-stated. Everyone had their contribution. Agent Maria Hill (Cobie Smulders) was really a surprise and she indeed played her role pretty well. Mark Ruffalo (Bruce Banner/Hulk) brought in a new side of Bruce Banner which totally changed the old boring personality he had been portrayed in the earlier movies. The beautiful and sensuous Scarlett Johansson played the Black Widow character, a bad-ass spy with a soft heart, with grace and dexterity. Her role also was given those pretty sharp dialogues making her look elegant. Samuel L. Jackson never disappoints, no matter what role he plays. The others, Chris Evans (Captain America), Chris Hemsworth (Thor), Jeremy Renner (Hawkeye), Tom Hiddleston (Loki) also put in their share of the superhero thingy that made the whole movie look complete.

    This movie had the best CGI I ever came across in any movie, which didnâ
    Expand
  76. May 4, 2012
    10
    In my honest opinion this movie has the power of visuals from transformers and the epic story of avatar all in a incredible bundle of the greatest comic book story ever made. Those who don't like this movie have something very strange going on in their heads probably trolls or bullies hahaha this is officially my favorite movie of all times i will see it 3 times because its that good!!!
  77. May 4, 2012
    10
    Finally. First of all, the movie is amazing. You don't have to like really superheroes to like it. My GF never read a Marvel comic and she loved it. I don't blame her, this is the best superhero movie of all time (Nolan fans, shut up, TDK is NOT a superhero movie). Second of all, if a movie is released internationally a week earlier, you at metacritic should let users to review it. We all know sometimes people's opinions are better than some reviewers ones. I found stupid that the user critics were blocked until today. USA isn't the whole world, you know?

    To the haters: Piss off.

    To the lovers: "Puny god"
    Expand
  78. May 4, 2012
    10
    I just finished watching the midnight showing and I want to say that this movie is in my top three. It is definitely the best Marvel film yet. All of the characters get equal time on-screen and none are down played. The best parts about this movie were the action, hilarious comedy and of course, the Hulk.
  79. May 4, 2012
    10
    As usual, Iron Man steals the show but never expected humor coming from the Hulk in this one (Thor, The Cap, Agent Coulson, Loki all had their moments) . Story is well-written and acting is fairly good. Thor's acting is much improved over his previous outing. In my opinion the best superhero movie that combines humor and heart.
  80. May 4, 2012
    9
    Après des débuts assez mitigés (de l'excellentissime Iron Man au mollasson Thor), les super-héros Marvel de ces dernières années mettent enfin le paquet. Et pas qu'un peu! De la part d'Avengers, on en attendait un défouloir sympathique. A la place, nous avons droit à un chef-d'oeuvre d'action (rien que ça), qui lorgne vers Transformers (pour le côté explosif et généreux), tout en le surpassant. Mouvementé, hilarant (Stark et mention spéciale à Hulk), ébouriffant, très bien joué, effets spéciaux sublimes, costumes... Bref, il n'y a rien à dire d'Avengers! Peut-être que si : musiques pas si mémorables, et la barre a été mise tellement haute qu'on appréhende déjà comment va être la suite. Mais vous voulez de véritables sensations fortes avec un blockbuster américain qui ne se fout pas de la gueule des spectateurs, Avengers est le divertissement qu'il vous faut. Peut-être même le meilleur entertainment de l'année! Expand
  81. May 4, 2012
    10
    The Avengers is the best Marvel film to date and quite possibly the best superhero movie I've seen in terms of all-out action spectacle, humor, and replay value. Tony Stark has so much more character development here than in the self-obsessed and flat Iron Man 2, it's nice to see Iron Man getting to do more intricate work aboard the helicarrier than just blowing stuff up. Chris' Evans and Hemsworth did an awesome job as the no-nonsense living legend super soldier and the huggable god of thunder respectively. Joss Whedon does an amazing job balancing the screen time for all the heroes and everyone gets their chance to shine, Black Widow and Hawkeye get to have their own complete story-arcs and S.H.I.E.L.D. Director Nick Fury, Agent's Maria Hill and Coulson also had their moments and they took it well with the most pivotal scene of the film. But the big surprise is Mark Ruffalo who really steals the show as Dr Bruce Banner/Hulk, he's nailed down the relationship between the scientist and the big guy down to a T, and he has all of the funniest scenes in the Avengers.
    Loved the first two acts, the first meet-up of the characters, the confrontations are all top draw but the highlights for me are the vocal interactions between everyone, whether it's between Stark/Banner, Stark/Cap, Coulson/Cap, Loki/Thor, Loki/Widow, Widow'Hawk and what have you is all perfect and I'd be more than happy if the movie would've been four hours long just to see them all bouncing off each other and that's all credit to the smart witty screenplay by Whedon. Every scene is so well made and the script compelling and essential to moving the plot forward, the most memorable moment for me was when Cap was putting on his suit while a Mozart-esque symphony is playing in the backdrop and loved all the pop culture references especially Stark's nickname for the Hawk. The final third of the movie is all-out mayhem and watching the team come together to save Manhattan from a never-ending wave of an alien race who-shall-not-be-named attacks is absolutely exhilarating and the one long continuous shot of all the Avengers in the heat of battle is captivating. It proves the point of how character build-up and the tension watching our superheroes fight and play-off each other in the first two acts and have the final battle in context can make for a more engaging and extraordinary spectacle than just mindlessly blowing things up because you have to. It's the best action set-piece I've ever seen and it's so over the top in an amazing way. When you walk out of the cinema I promise your craving for a very well made superhero movie that's not dumbed down and at the same time not as gritty and dark will be satiated. It's pure indulgence.
    Expand
  82. May 4, 2012
    10
    Whedon did best for this movie.Such a great and unforgettable adventure.With outstanding action scenes(better and clear than Michael Bay's Transformers)delicate sense of humor and touchable feelings.The best movie in the marvel and Marvel Universe history.My point is 100+++
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 43
  2. Negative: 1 out of 43
  1. Reviewed by: Bob Mondello
    May 8, 2012
    75
    The banter has zip, the effects are fun, the climactic battle is decently spectacular, and if the 3-D is mostly expendable, there are a few scenes where it adds a nice kick.
  2. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    May 4, 2012
    80
    This mania is what Marvel followers have hungered for, and it would be fruitless to deny their delight. As Loki says to a crowd of earthlings, "It is the unspoken truth of humanity that you crave subjugation." We do, Master, we do.
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    May 4, 2012
    60
    They're fascinating characters, to be sure, with back stories ripe for development. But Whedon doesn't commit here, and the results are shrug-worthy.