Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: May 4, 2012
8.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 3530 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
2,906
Mixed:
354
Negative:
270
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
Bugger217Sep 13, 2017
With The Avengers, Joss Whedon had the impossible task of taking four different franchises with loose connective tissue, and bringing them all together for a massive superhero team-up adventure. And my word, does he pull it off. In fact, heWith The Avengers, Joss Whedon had the impossible task of taking four different franchises with loose connective tissue, and bringing them all together for a massive superhero team-up adventure. And my word, does he pull it off. In fact, he absolutely nails it. These characters, as different as they are, feel like they belong together in this movie. The talent of the actors portraying them, paired with Whedon's witty dialogue, makes for excellent banter.

The movie actually gets off to a rocky start, with the first five minutes or so feeling oddly cheap, but after the title card comes up, it's an absolute blast from beginning to end. This film provided me with one of the best theater-going experiences I've ever had, and even after watching it upwards to 20 times at home, it has never gotten old.

The characters are great. The action is mind-blowing. There's tons of heart. It might not be the deepest examination of these characters that we've ever seen, but this is what blockbuster filmmaking is all about. The Avengers promised a massively fun mashup of crazy and powerful comic book characters, and Joss Whedon has masterfully fulfilled that promise.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
lkiop89076Aug 31, 2017
hcjhgjdhdhhdjxzukssjjsjshsjdhskdhhehjshsjhshsjssjdhsbsnsbsushewjwhsgdueisissjsgssvshsssussjddgsvdbskwisbsbdjsgsshshemssshsissjdhsjsksbssaahshjbssskskj
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BlancheAug 11, 2017
A fantastic, exuberant movie oozing with spectacular action and hysterical comedy. There's plenty of over-the-top moments but that's part of the film's character and they do a lot to show how engaging the Avengers are as a unit. The story isA fantastic, exuberant movie oozing with spectacular action and hysterical comedy. There's plenty of over-the-top moments but that's part of the film's character and they do a lot to show how engaging the Avengers are as a unit. The story is quite good but it remains obvious where the film truly excels. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
vetorAug 7, 2017
The Avengers is one of the best superhero movies ever made, joining Marvel's best-known heroes with an outstanding villain and incredible special effects.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Kes4278Jul 30, 2017
I just loved the movie.Great Acting, the avengers and Loki were just amazing. Great Job directing this movie Joss Whedon.One of my favorite movies.10/10
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
adw55125Jul 3, 2017
Overrated. But enjoyable. Very funny and action packed movie. Whedon did an incredible job balancing all of these characters and giving them time to steel the show. I never watched Thor or Cap1, or incredible hulk. I know those characters butOverrated. But enjoyable. Very funny and action packed movie. Whedon did an incredible job balancing all of these characters and giving them time to steel the show. I never watched Thor or Cap1, or incredible hulk. I know those characters but had no interest in their movies, yet I was still able to follow this. And I got to say it, Loki was a bad villain. But this movie is a fun popcorn movie, and that is all it is, a popcorn movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
mouseypoo13Jun 14, 2017
Yeah... Nah. Very generic superhero movie, boring characters and just overall not great. Very 'high budget summer movie'-ish. Definitely watch Guardians of the Galaxy instead.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
shod3030Jun 5, 2017
Nick Fury is the director of S.H.I.E.L.D., an international peace-keeping agency. The agency is a who's who of Marvel Super Heroes, with Iron Man, The Incredible Hulk, Thor, Captain America, Hawkeye and Black Widow. When global security isNick Fury is the director of S.H.I.E.L.D., an international peace-keeping agency. The agency is a who's who of Marvel Super Heroes, with Iron Man, The Incredible Hulk, Thor, Captain America, Hawkeye and Black Widow. When global security is threatened by Loki and his cohorts, Nick Fury and his team will need all their powers to save the world from disaster. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
flylexJun 1, 2017
Quando foi anunciado que o filme seria dirigido por Joss Whedon,os fás ficaram com expectativas baixas em relação ao diretor e o jugaram não merecedor de um filme dessa importância dentro do universo marvel,afinal foram anos de espera paraQuando foi anunciado que o filme seria dirigido por Joss Whedon,os fás ficaram com expectativas baixas em relação ao diretor e o jugaram não merecedor de um filme dessa importância dentro do universo marvel,afinal foram anos de espera para que finalmente pudesse se ver os heróis mais poderosos da terra juntos,as expectativas foram baixas mas o filme foi lançado e junto com ele as más línguas foram calada,afinal o filme foi um sucesso,os que desacreditavam começaram a acreditar,os nerds foram a loucura,as redes sócias só falavam disso,pelo simples motivo de vingadores ser um dos melhores filmes da expansão do universo cinematográfico da marvel até hoje,superando até mesmo sua estimada sequencia.

o filme que é dirigido e roteirizado por um fã e escritor de quadrinhos tem um estilo própio e se diferencia da maioria dos blockbusters,afinal o filme é lotado de referencias a cultura geek temos Shakespeare, O Senhor dos Anéis, Stephen Hawking entre varias outras espalhadas pelo filme,alem do tom comico encaixar perfeitamente no estilo de trama apresentado.
Thor: He’s my brother.

Natasha Romanoff: He killed 80 people in 2 days.

Thor: …He’s adopted.

O filme também não se preocupa em mostrar a origem,motivações,habilidades de cada membro afinal isso já tinha sido mostrado aõ longo dos anos,oque deixa muito mais espaço para que se possa produzir uma trama original e objetiva,e nisso o filme é perfeito,em 2:10 de filme,Whedon consegue nos apresentar muita coisa sem em nenhum momento o enredo ficar cansativo ou massante,alem de ele saber muito bem como desenvolver cada personagem perfeitamente sem deixar outro de lado,isso é uma coisa admirável,em um filme de um grupo de super heróis com 6 membros,era de se esperar que pelo menos um deles ficasse como personagem secundário ou não tivesse nenhuma relevância na trama.As cenas de ação utilizam muito bem o elemento de trabalho em equipe e as características próprias de cada personagem,tudo isso realçado por um dos melhores vilões do universo cinematográfico da marvel,afinal loki(Tom Hiddleston) se mostra tudo oque ele tinha que ser,persuativo,arrogante e carismático,conseguindo carregar com maestria o papel de vilão de uma equipe formada pelos seres mais poderosos da terra.Adicione frases marcantes,Diálogos bem construídos,um enredo espetacular e você terá o filme,não tem como ser ruim

Apesar de o filme ter alguns poucos erros de continuidade e timing,eles nunca Sobrepõem as suas qualidades,afinal o filme cumpre o trabalho de mostrar uma equipe de super-heróis e consegue com perfeição dar a profundidade e desenvolvimento necessário pra cada um.

nota:89
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
miccaelJun 2, 2017
perhaps the best superhero movie as a whole! I cannot think of any problems with this movie. everyone makes decent appearance and 2:20 movie duration is great, and it is never boring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SonicHD7Jun 1, 2017
When Thor's evil brother, Loki (Tom Hiddleston), gains access to the unlimited power of the energy cube called the Tesseract, Nick Fury (Samuel L. Jackson), director of S.H.I.E.L.D., initiates a superhero recruitment effort to defeat theWhen Thor's evil brother, Loki (Tom Hiddleston), gains access to the unlimited power of the energy cube called the Tesseract, Nick Fury (Samuel L. Jackson), director of S.H.I.E.L.D., initiates a superhero recruitment effort to defeat the unprecedented threat to Earth. Joining Fury's "dream team" are Iron Man (Robert Downey Jr.), Captain America (Chris Evans), the Hulk (Mark Ruffalo), Thor (Chris Hemsworth), the Black Widow (Scarlett Johansson) and Hawkeye (Jeremy Renner). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LillieyMay 28, 2017
The first superhero Mashup for Marvel is thrilling and smart celebration of the comic book genre, bringing together all our heroes from Phase 1 of Marvel's MCU. Joss Whedon'so handles the large cast of characters well and keeps the actionThe first superhero Mashup for Marvel is thrilling and smart celebration of the comic book genre, bringing together all our heroes from Phase 1 of Marvel's MCU. Joss Whedon'so handles the large cast of characters well and keeps the action and laughs coming. Fun movie. A+ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MonkiReviewsMay 28, 2017
A great story, great characters, and it is very funny. The story is of course the Avengers getting together and fighting off a new villain, Loki. The characters are the same from their own movies. Also, the Hulk has some very funny moments.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
FuturedirectorApr 17, 2016
For the ones who doesn't care about the rise of the MCU, but at the end, The Avengers has a truly epic spirit and a talented cast that gets something to show to the audience, also bringing success to the MCU. There's no way this picture mayFor the ones who doesn't care about the rise of the MCU, but at the end, The Avengers has a truly epic spirit and a talented cast that gets something to show to the audience, also bringing success to the MCU. There's no way this picture may follow the rules of its predecessors. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ZerpnosMar 4, 2017
Thor'un kardeşi Lokinin dünyaya saldırması sonucu büyük bir tehditle karşı karşıya olan dünya;
Bir grup süper kahraman tarafından korunur. Aksiyonu çok üst düzey olan film sizi ekrana kitleyecek.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
kman5473Jan 30, 2017
If Disney/Marvel continue with how solid of a starting point this film was, I may actually change my mind about feeling indifferent about the remaining Marvel Films coming out from 2016 and beyond.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
FraternityFauxJan 25, 2017
Poor attempt at filmmaking. Contains baseless jokes with an abysmal story and mediocre acting. Poor film even by Marvel standards. They should learn something from DC.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
egkJan 14, 2017
the avengers is one best movies in 2012 in my opinion. All of the characters had there on movies and it nice to see them together on the big screen. Its funny, filled with action and with a great story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FreedomFightersDec 21, 2016
I'll just give it to you straight up, "The Avengers" is one of my all-time favorite superhero films. Call me a normie, disagree all you want, I really really enjoyed this film. I loved the characters, I thought the story and the writing wereI'll just give it to you straight up, "The Avengers" is one of my all-time favorite superhero films. Call me a normie, disagree all you want, I really really enjoyed this film. I loved the characters, I thought the story and the writing were good, I loved the acting, I thought it was exciting, visually spectacular and often pretty funny. It was pretty much everything I could've wanted in a superhero film. I'm so happy Marvel made the film work and I definitely have to highly recommend it. Go check it out! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MasterRileyDec 20, 2016
The Avengers is a good movie with awesome special effects and action sequences, especially that final battle in New York. Good casting and performances all around help to also make this a good addition to the MCU.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
KippermixerDec 16, 2016
Joss Wheadon creates a setting where you get to see some of youre favorite Marvel heroes interacting together in a fun enjoyable way. Unfortunatly the setting of the movie is not very interesting and misses the point in a lot of ways. feltJoss Wheadon creates a setting where you get to see some of youre favorite Marvel heroes interacting together in a fun enjoyable way. Unfortunatly the setting of the movie is not very interesting and misses the point in a lot of ways. felt like a b-level action flick at times. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
bananapants34Sep 3, 2016
Truly one of the most overrated movies in the past decade. It's so riddled with flaws that it's truly a shame how successful it is. Where do I begin. The villain has absolutely no motivation, your just supposed to wonder why he does what heTruly one of the most overrated movies in the past decade. It's so riddled with flaws that it's truly a shame how successful it is. Where do I begin. The villain has absolutely no motivation, your just supposed to wonder why he does what he does, and then get distracted by pretty explosions. The plot is overly simple, and could be condensed into a 40 minute TV show. The fights between avengers get in the way of the plot, and have no stakes because all the characters are invincible. There are too many main characters to keep up with, all of which are underdeveloped, so the entire movie you feel like there is something you're out of the loop about. The biggest problem overall, is that film is so set on reminding you that it's a comic book movie, and trying to pit as many hero's and villains against each other as it can in two and a half hours, that it never has anything to say. Teamwork. That's as much of a theme as I can derive from this movie that's way too long, and has much too little to say. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
superbatSep 3, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The best Marvel movie ever made, the best MCU movie and one of the best superhero movies ever made. The acting is excellent and the plot was well writen, the actionsequences were awesome, the movie truly bring the Avengers to life. I am a fan of both DC and Marvel, We're lucky to live in a time when we get to see both The Avengers, and next year, The Justice League on the big screen. A truly excellent movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AfNinoAug 23, 2016
This movie definitely delivers on all its hype. The movie most people could only dream of as a kid, seeing their most iconic superheros come together to fight one big enemy. The story delivered in building every one of these heroes to put byThis movie definitely delivers on all its hype. The movie most people could only dream of as a kid, seeing their most iconic superheros come together to fight one big enemy. The story delivered in building every one of these heroes to put by their differences and join as one to save the world. Robert Downey Jr, Chris Evans and Chris Hemsworth stand out as the shining starts of the movie. Tom Hiddlestone once again delivers a masterpiece of acting as the villain Loki. Everyone had their part in this movie to make sure the audience was at the edge of their seats when anyone of them was in action. Definitely one of the best superhero movies out there. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SmartreezAug 10, 2016
I'm a BIG HUGE fan of Marvel and DC comics. I reed a lot of comic books. I think that this movie is not very good. This film is... Okay. I was disappointed after i watch this movie. Thr Avengers movie could have been a lot better than that.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CinemaphileJul 29, 2016
A feast for Fanboys and FX aficionados. BUT, the story is a mess and much like Whedon's Cabin in the Woods, snarky Whedonesque dialogue cannot liven up the first hour, nor focus the last hour of ADD CG puppet theater.

Marvel's Avengers
A feast for Fanboys and FX aficionados. BUT, the story is a mess and much like Whedon's Cabin in the Woods, snarky Whedonesque dialogue cannot liven up the first hour, nor focus the last hour of ADD CG puppet theater.

Marvel's Avengers does have some redeeming qualities, the Archetypal Superhero Vs. Archetypal Superhero fights. In classic coming book fanboy fashion, we're treated to mini grudge matches between our protagonists before the penultimate battle with Norse god Loki and a host of generic alien invaders. But, this film isn't Fight Club, it's just a love letter to the Sheldon Coopers of the world and that doesn't make it a top shelf BluRay, like Watchmen.

On the bright side, Marvel's Avengers is the precursor to the emerging technology of photo-realistic CG. No less than three major FX shops and a host of smaller shops worked on this film. ILM, Weta and Digital Domain put a lot of love into this film and it shows. Also, though not shot in 3D, the conversion is top notch, much better than other celluloid conversions such as The Phantom Menace and Thor.

Whedon's film is fun, the way that a Theme Park ride is fun, don't expect Shakespeare in the Park. I give it three stars, but just barely.

Worth seeing in 3D in a bargain matinee, I wouldn't plunk down $15 for an evening IMAX show, though.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MovieLover123Jul 26, 2016
DC fan here! I got to admit that this Marvel movie is awesome. Its humor works, its action scenes are impressive and its acting is great. My favorite moment was when a certain character humbled a "god" in a very interesting manner. Go, Joss Whedon!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
cxcJul 24, 2016
Marvel is able to deliver on the hype! One of the best, if not the best superhero movies ever made. Great chemistry between the heroes, intense moments, lots of marvel humor, and unbelievable action.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DanBurritoJul 21, 2016
The Avengers is a fun, action-packed superhero movie that brings some of Marvel's greatest heroes together with mostly entertaining results. The film features a good balance of wry humour and action, and even allows its characters to haveThe Avengers is a fun, action-packed superhero movie that brings some of Marvel's greatest heroes together with mostly entertaining results. The film features a good balance of wry humour and action, and even allows its characters to have flaws, adding enough dramatic tension to match its blockbuster scale. Tom Hiddleston shines as Loki, making him the best villain in the Marvel Cinematic Universe. The rest of the cast all get their chance to shine, thanks to a script that successfully gives them all a fair share of screen time. However, I did have a few issues- the climax went on a little too long for my liking, and the plot could be a bit slow- but overall, The Avengers compensates for its flaws with an action-packed plot and a talented cast. Good for superhero fans. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Aaron_WassermanJun 1, 2016
This film gets so much praise, undeservingly so. With a lame villain, and boring hero conflict. It gets boring to watch the superhero pissing contest, especially if most of the heroes are boring.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
ATsushiMay 30, 2016
With bright and good planning performances, "The Avengers" is a team of movie that everyone wanted to see and honor aspects of your source material with good script and great action scenes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ULTRA_MARIO_10May 30, 2016
This is the best marvel movie to date.

Why? Comedy, action, adventure and sc-ifi is the perfect combination to make an antidote for a masterpiece. I went to see this masterpiece 3 times in theatres and actually got a shirt, that's
This is the best marvel movie to date.

Why?

Comedy, action, adventure and sc-ifi is the perfect combination to make an antidote for a masterpiece.

I went to see this masterpiece 3 times in theatres and actually got a shirt, that's how good the movie is.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
cjm868May 17, 2016
"The Avengers. That's what we call ourselves; we're sort of like a team. "Earth's Mightiest Heroes" type thing."

The Avengers is like a dream come true and I mean that in the truest sense of the phrase. But for me it less because of the
"The Avengers. That's what we call ourselves; we're sort of like a team. "Earth's Mightiest Heroes" type thing."

The Avengers is like a dream come true and I mean that in the truest sense of the phrase. But for me it less because of the superhero team-up movie aspect, but more so for that fact that the writer/director behind the superhero team-up movie is Joss Whedon. I remember when this movie was coming out and it was announced that Whedon was on board to write and direct and my response was: "yeah, sure he is. I'll believe that when I see it," I have seen it (five times now) and it's great!

We're used to seeing multiple heroes on screen now but back in 2012 it was something special to see superheroes team up to kick ass, although granted the X-Men (who are technically mutants not superheroes I know but same difference) had been doing this since 2000, this was the Avengers, a wholly different kettle of fish.

So much care is given to each character in this movie, no one character shines brighter than another and everyone has a cool moment that you talk about when the movie comes up; "yeah that movie was awesome, remember when ______ did ______, that was so cool!"

The Avengers is the yardstick I use to measure all the following Marvel movies and to mind it's yet to beat.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ElectroNickMay 1, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This film is one of the few things in my lifetime that not only lived up to my expectations but even surpassed them. The wait was definitely worth it as the characters are fully realized when they put in the one liners. Each hero has the right amount of screen time with some good moments. Each one has their own personalty and each has a standout moment in their respective scenes. The action sequences are also pretty impressive as both an emotional connection and some visual impressive set pieces. Unlike Transformers, the action never gets tiring because you actually care about the people involved in the action and the film takes it time to breath. Loki is even more mischievous in this film as he still keeps you guessing even though we know that he is the villain. The Hulk even has some great moments as he reveals his secret about him being always angry and when he slammed Loki to the ground and muffled "Puny God". Josh Weadon was the perfect choice to write and direct this film since he perfectly understands these characters and to not take the material too seriously. His trademark witty dialogue really makes this film. There is not much else to say about this film other than the fact that I consider this film to be the perfect summer blockbuster. The action is engaging, the story line is simple but still intriguing, and the audience had the perfect responses to any given situation. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
aadityamudharApr 17, 2016
Very good movie. Cannot go wrong that's for sure. I give it an 8 because the story simply is not as good as super hero movies like batman. The action is really good and the effects are awesome. Definitely worth seeing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
farzyy12Apr 11, 2016
Was such a great experience watching this film on opening night.

As a superhero film, this pretty much ticks all the boxes. Incredibly fun, action packed topped with great humour. The cast was amazing with Tom Hiddleston getting a
Was such a great experience watching this film on opening night.

As a superhero film, this pretty much ticks all the boxes. Incredibly fun, action packed topped with great humour.

The cast was amazing with Tom Hiddleston getting a honourable mention as the primary antagonist, Loki. He was great in Thor, however in this film, he really took the spotlight. A great villain and a great reason to bring Earth's Mightiest Heroes together.

Every character played their part well, with Captain America and Iron Man being my favourite heroes. Ruffalo played a great Bruce Banner/Hulk and I'm excited to see him in future instalments.

The dialogue wasn't the greatest, however it suited the genre and tone of the film.

It was no masterpiece, however it was a lot of fun and exciting to see these heroes come together.

(Someone please fire the costume designer -- Captain Americas costume was even worse than his first outfit.. and that was designed in the 40's!)
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
RedeadhoodMar 28, 2016
Although the movie is a game changer for the genre, it certainly isn't as good as people make it out to be. It has numerous flaws that are ignored and is immensely overrated (not a bad movie though).
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
4
AaronWasserman1Mar 26, 2016
This film gets so much praise, undeservingly so. With a lame villain, and boring hero conflict. It gets boring to watch the superhero pissing contest, especially if most of the heroes are boring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ShetlandVikingMar 25, 2016
This could've easily gone horribly wrong, but Joss Whedon does an admiral job of balancing the amount of screen time these characters get. Nothing really wrong I can point out, but nothing truly great either.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
gameguardian21Mar 24, 2016
While it has several plot holes, that should not stop anyone from watching this action packed adventure featuring our favourite marvel heroes joing together to kick ass.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Cinemassacre94Mar 20, 2016
More overrated than Avatar!

Marvel Studios unveils its costliest special-effects demo to date; somewhere beneath the nonstop digital explosions lies a story about superheroes fighting an evil demigod from space. Every now and then,
More overrated than Avatar!

Marvel Studios unveils its costliest special-effects demo to date; somewhere beneath the nonstop digital explosions lies a story about superheroes fighting an evil demigod from space. Every now and then, director Joss Whedon (Serenity) executes a quirky camera set-up to assert that the film was created by him and not a team of marketing executives. Of the star-studded cast, only Mark Ruffalo (playing Bruce Banner) and Robert Downey Jr. (as Iron Man) bring any personality to the place-holder dialogue. Overlong, monotonous, violent, and simple-minded, this is like one of those “World’s Biggest Gang Bang” videos, except that no one onscreen appears to be enjoying himself. With Samuel L. Jackson, Scarlett Johansson, and Jeremy Renner.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BarneyOnMTMar 14, 2016
WHAT I LIKE: 'The Avengers' defines the comic book movie. It's explosive, fun, action packed, pop-corn entertainment taken to the next level. The feeling of seeing the characters you love, interact for the first time can never be repeated.WHAT I LIKE: 'The Avengers' defines the comic book movie. It's explosive, fun, action packed, pop-corn entertainment taken to the next level. The feeling of seeing the characters you love, interact for the first time can never be repeated. The confrontations, the jokes, the teamwork, it all feels so real. How? Well, the acting is class A stuff, but Whedon's direction here is nothing short of amazing - it gives the movie heart. Really, it's a wonder it doesn't collapse under it's own weight. But but thanks to a mix of smart writing and exciting action it really, really doesn't; Whedon recognises the equal importance of some great scenes without all that fighting to ground the team dynamic and character relationships. So thankfully their dynamics are pegged perfectly, the tone of the humour and lightheartedness overall is well done, and the new characters are all great too. Oh, and that final action scene just makes it. Wow.
WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: Some bits are a teeny bit cringe-worthy if I'm honest like the goofy costumes, cheesy lines and the odd bit of bad CGI. But it arguably adds to it's ballsy comic book charm.
VERDICT: It might not be flawless, but I haven't felt this way since Star Wars. It's monumental in how it makes you feel - proud, thrilled and downright happy.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RojodeKantoMar 13, 2016
La película era la más esperaba luego de ver a sus protagonistas de forma individual, pero verlos juntos en una misma cinta, era algo que nunca se hizo jamás, me la vi, y simplemente era todo lo que esperaba de algo tan innovador, la disfrutéLa película era la más esperaba luego de ver a sus protagonistas de forma individual, pero verlos juntos en una misma cinta, era algo que nunca se hizo jamás, me la vi, y simplemente era todo lo que esperaba de algo tan innovador, la disfruté muy bien de principio a fin, toda la trama se entralaza con las previas entregas de Marvel Studios y como los distintos personajes aprendían a trabajar en equipo para enfrentar a un mal masivo, la acción evoluciona mientras la película avanza, en la parte de la batalla final, me sentí como si volviera a tener 10 años, jamás una película me hizo sentir de esa manera, esta hizo a un lado las películas de los Transformers por mucho, en cuanto al elenco, todos han vuelto a hacer una buena interpretación de sus personajes y estos han progresado desde sus últimas apariciones, la Viuda Negra ha tenido más relevancia, se ha dado a conocer un poco de su historia, Mark Ruffalo como Bruce Banner y Hulk, le hace genial, supera por mucho a Edward Norton, no digo que Norton sea malo, pero Ruffalo hace un Banner casi parecido al que solía hacer el desaparecido Bill Bixby, aunque también me gustó con su álter ego verde, hasta el diseño de este es el mejor logrado y más realista de todos, hasta en la cara se parece a al de Ruffalo, me gustó que la historia de la peli estuviera basada en el número 1 de 1963 y The Ultimates, razón por que Loki vuelve a ser antagonista en esta película y lo hace bien y mejor, pero en mi caso no llega a quitarle protagonismo a los héroes, para terminar la película no me gustó, me encantó, tiene mucha acción en lo que dura la cinta, buena trama y todos los héroes tiene un protagonismo equilibrado, nadie opaca al otro, sin duda alguna se ha convertido en una de las mejores de Marvel, con un éxito tanto en crítica y público y la razón por qué ahora otros estudios de cine quieren hacer sus universos compartidos, pero nadie se va a comparar con Marvel que lo hizo primero con años de planeamiento y un gran elenco de actores que dan vida en esta franquicia, Joss Whedon ha conseguido dirigir y escribir una gran historia, la admiración de muchos por esta película que ha hecho historia en la cultura popular. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GermaNisterMar 6, 2016
It's a great superheroes movie with humor, many action and a very good acting. The story is good and The Avengers are a great team ! YOU MUST SEE THE MOVIE
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
K-CrowFeb 29, 2016
This movie deserves high praise for being the first of it's kind (for the most part). What other movie had 4 set-up films developing the main character's backstory for one major super-hero team-up to decide the fate of the fictional world. OfThis movie deserves high praise for being the first of it's kind (for the most part). What other movie had 4 set-up films developing the main character's backstory for one major super-hero team-up to decide the fate of the fictional world. Of course this movie's action is epic in all the right places and each hero gets there time to shine (once again, for the most part). While I do have minor gripes such as Captain America's costume looking silly and corny (unlike the other films he appears in) and Hawkeye's role in the film, this movie still delivers on each and every promise it made. We get to see interesting conflict between the famous heroes and see them throw-down side by side in very well done action set-pieces. One particular sequence deserves high praise, in which it pans through all the heroes fighting the aliens which threaten the planet, starting from Black Widow to Hawkeye to Captain America and Iron-Man and finally the mighty tag-team of Hulk and Thor. With a satisfying climaxending and a great performing cast, "Marvel's The Avengers" is very close to a masterpiece that does the comics acceptable justice. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
MaxBoyzFeb 27, 2016
Wow very good movie.. I like avengers so much, The Avengers is a great film and the best film than DC film. But Marvel is so Awsome more than DC.. marvel is my favorite!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
bfoore90Feb 8, 2016
I never really understood that hype and acclaim that came with The Avengers. It came out at the same time as The Dark Knight Rises and seemingly was thought by many to be the better movie, something I completely disagree with. The AvengersI never really understood that hype and acclaim that came with The Avengers. It came out at the same time as The Dark Knight Rises and seemingly was thought by many to be the better movie, something I completely disagree with. The Avengers was entertaining but that was about it, this movie is clearly targeted for kids and young adults as the less than stellar pacing, clichéd dialogue and cookie cutter plot that I felt crippled the film in almost every way. I get that its a superhero movie, but that doesn't make up for how painfully sloppy this film was to me. While the action toward the end of the film and the awesome special effects make the movie at least somewhat watchable, its fair for me to say that as an impartial fan of both Marvel and DC that The Avengers was not nearly half the movie the TDKR was. 6.4/10 Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Luna_BlazeJan 28, 2016
Love it mostly becuse I love heros I love Tony Stark's funny puns, Steve Rogers seriosness, Bruce Banner's caution, Clint Barton's awesome arrows, Thor's accent, Natasha's badass moves and of cause Loki's sexiness and I love AC/DC
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
cjbJan 9, 2016
Honestly this movie was a dream come true. The movie definitely lived up to its hype and delivered one of the best superhero movies to date. Easily one of my favorite movies of all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LepstrungJan 8, 2016
Avengers has lot of great actors and lot of good moments. Best part is that this movie has combined lot of super heroes and their team work is really nice to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
EpicLadySpongeJan 4, 2016
Marvel's superhero team named the Avengers has came to the movies 3 years ago. Even now, it's still a fun blast during the entire movie. Maybe close or far enough to a 10, I gave it a 9.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
TheFilmDogJan 3, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm sorry. This movie just doesn't do it for me. I'm an old guy, but I like super-hero movies. They're a guilty pleasure for me, like fast food. I know they're junk, but junk can be enjoyable. This particular burger , however, didn't have much flavor. It's big, big in every way. It follows the first rule of theatrical combat--it's sustained. When there's a fight it goes on for quite a while. The characters bang away at each other and finally at the common enemy for long periods. Huge sets get destroyed, costumes get torn, faces are bloodied. At first one gets the impression that the big money spent on making the film is well-displayed on the screen. And then one begins to doubt that.

A few minutes after the story ended, and the banging and thundering no longer echoed in the room, the problem became clearer. I thought about the scene of the enemy soldiers pouring out of the metal monster and I asked myself to think about a real army. How large is an infantry division I asked myself. When I studied such matters when I was earning my commission as a second lieutenant an infantry division might number about ten thousand men and women. On screen we were witnessing an interplanetary war. Surely one division would be employed in such an undertaking. After all, the soldiers who poured out of the sky were equipped with rather modest weapons. I mean that the soldiers on their airborne scooters did not each carry a weapon of mass destruction. These were beefed up infantrymen, or some kind of mechanized cavalry. In a "war" they'd be sent in brigades and divisions and whole armies.

I've seen movies that portrayed war on a proper scale. One of Zhang Yimou's films employed at least 10,000 extras for a combat scene in a film made about 15 years ago. It's possible to use cgi to replace real people, but if it's going to look realistic one has to put some money into these digital masses.

The current film actually operates on a rather small scale. Looking at the cast list, which had lots of well known names on it one wonders how it cost to have so many big time players. A couple of hundred million dollars isn't that much when a single name can cost several million dollars.

I'm sorry to be a spoilsport, but I think that an amped up soundtrack, lots of explosions, a ton of broken pretend glass, and heavy work on a leather bag by the foley artist don't add up to a really big time experience.

As for the plot...well let's just say it has a pasted together quality that comes from deciding in advance on the number of fight scenes to be shot. This is a carnival ride approach to story telling. How many loops shall we take the audience through before putting on the brakes.

I notice that the two Avengers movies made by this crew run exactly the same length (within one minute on a base of 140 minutes).

As I said at the beginning of this critique I knew at the outset that I was going for some cinematic fast food. My complaint is that I wasn't served fast food, this is some kind of synthetic product. It certainly has no nutritional value, and on that basis I'd keep it away from the kids. It's Awfully violent. It doesn't tell a clear coherent story, the acting is often dreadful, What we have is a money making machine that doesn't give you much even if you only spend a few dollars on it to see it on your home screen. For a lot more money you can see its sequel on the big screen. That may make it look more impressive, but I for one will not be in that audience.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TributeManDec 30, 2015
Idealny film na "rozerwanie się" po ciężkim dniu, albo idealna odskocznia od poważniejszej kinematografii. Po za tym, to dobra komedia. Bohaterowie nie są jednowymiarowi, a historia nie nudzi. Warto tylko wtedy jak skończą się wam filmy doIdealny film na "rozerwanie się" po ciężkim dniu, albo idealna odskocznia od poważniejszej kinematografii. Po za tym, to dobra komedia. Bohaterowie nie są jednowymiarowi, a historia nie nudzi. Warto tylko wtedy jak skończą się wam filmy do oglądania. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CriticFerDec 23, 2015
When I went to see it with my brothers and my dad , I didnt know at all about The Avengers (not even lei spoilers of the film), but when i viewed for the first time in the cinema, I was amazed . I didnt know about the characters but i stillWhen I went to see it with my brothers and my dad , I didnt know at all about The Avengers (not even lei spoilers of the film), but when i viewed for the first time in the cinema, I was amazed . I didnt know about the characters but i still loved, and it wasnt only the first Marvel movie I saw in theaters, but that made me love Marvel movies (and I see currently in theaters) . The Avengers has everything to be the perfect film (for now) of Marvel: It has action, comedy, a lot of special effects, great actors and even an amazing villain. Currently if quit a Marvel film in theaters, I go directly to theaters to see it . The Avengers is recommended for geeks and fans of comics and heroes . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
CineAutoctonoDec 2, 2015
The Avengers is the great superhero movie I've ever seen , seeing Nick Fury gathered the best Marvel superheroes , and see that quarry was removed , Iron Man , Captain America, Thor, Black Widow, Hawkeye , Hulk and of course , go movie eh !.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
benjaminujacksNov 15, 2015
Very good. Lots of action. LOVED IT! All ages will enjoy this wonderful movie. One of the best superhero movies made. I loved it and everyone loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TrackerDeviceNov 2, 2015
If you want too see Marvel's greatest superheroes come together and kick ass, then this is the movie for you. The Avengers is a fun, explosive, entertaining movie that will leave fans happy when watching the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CoosCoosOct 23, 2015
Absolute cinematic perfection. This film could be used to teach a master class in cinematography and editing. And I'd take that class. And I'd get an A+.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
IntelliCriticOct 22, 2015
This meeting of Marvel movie worlds makes for a satisfying and climactic battleground. The Avengers bursts with stunning combat visuals and memorable jokes while maintaining an enjoyable, suspenseful plot. Although one important actor hasThis meeting of Marvel movie worlds makes for a satisfying and climactic battleground. The Avengers bursts with stunning combat visuals and memorable jokes while maintaining an enjoyable, suspenseful plot. Although one important actor has switched (Lou Ferrigno now as The Hulk) from the prequel films, Joss Whedon (director) still manages to pull off a beautiful, balanced infusion of the stars from each individual Avenger story. What ensues is the juxtaposition of modern urban warfare with cosmic weaponry and cosmic consequences. The Avengers is best watched after viewing Captain America and Iron Man (the other prequels are not up to standard). The Avengers is an iconic film for its revolutionary battle scenarios and its surprising humor. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
YellowKirbyOct 10, 2015
While it certainly has its flaws (such as the overly long climax), Avengers is still an epic finale to phase one of the Marvel Cinematic Universe. Loki is still awesome, and the quips are as frequent as ever (wether that's good or bad is up to you).
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
SilversarahseveSep 29, 2015
Found this movie incredibly dull and childish, some parts were slightly amusing and the actors did a good job but overall I found it a unexceptional film. It was lacking excitement and had a overall un-captivating story line. I'm sure theFound this movie incredibly dull and childish, some parts were slightly amusing and the actors did a good job but overall I found it a unexceptional film. It was lacking excitement and had a overall un-captivating story line. I'm sure the kids loved it but I prefer my movies to be more mature. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
yashdanAug 30, 2015
Great movie!
Great effects!
Funny and entertaining; specially Tony Stark's sarcastic comments...
But where the hell was the Army and Air Force when NY was under attack??!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TrilobiteGJul 31, 2015
High paced, pure superhero fun with enough kick-butt action to keep it genuinely hilarious, but still mind-bogglingly detailed without having it explained as a lot of superhero films fail to do today.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ExPotion042Jul 7, 2015
This movie was amazing. Because every superhero that in this movie had a solo film. You will not have a problem with characters. And movie as funny as a comedy movie. Action gets you very good. Final battle was awesome. I think The Loki is aThis movie was amazing. Because every superhero that in this movie had a solo film. You will not have a problem with characters. And movie as funny as a comedy movie. Action gets you very good. Final battle was awesome. I think The Loki is a great choice to be a villain in first Avengers movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
RolentoJul 2, 2015
I expected the brilliance of Joss Whedon to elevate this boring superheroes trend to a better quality, instead all I saw in this was glimpses of Joss Whedon's brilliance being held back by the boring superheroes trend.

I guess I can't say
I expected the brilliance of Joss Whedon to elevate this boring superheroes trend to a better quality, instead all I saw in this was glimpses of Joss Whedon's brilliance being held back by the boring superheroes trend.

I guess I can't say it's bad, but I didn't like it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
AaronDWassermanJun 26, 2015
Seriously the best superhero movie ever? no way. It is very mediocre. Just a bunch of superheroes trying to one up each other while battling one of the least terrifying villains of all time.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
Epik_NinnjaMay 23, 2015
The best super hero movie of all time? Not in my opinion but it's still one of the best. This movie is the story of how the Avengers first unite and it's made with good acting, superb CGI, and insane fight scenes. Whether you care for MarvelThe best super hero movie of all time? Not in my opinion but it's still one of the best. This movie is the story of how the Avengers first unite and it's made with good acting, superb CGI, and insane fight scenes. Whether you care for Marvel or not, this movie is worth a watch. If you do, though, you've surely already seen it. I give it an 8.5/10. I enjoyed it a lot but not as much as some. I mean, it definitely isn't as good as The Dark Knight but it's still a very good movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SpiderPlayerMay 16, 2015
A film great, very funny and entertaining, with great fight scenes and special effects, a good story, just thought a negative point is the imbalance of the importance of the characters in the movie, I thought the Iron Man and the Hulk stoodA film great, very funny and entertaining, with great fight scenes and special effects, a good story, just thought a negative point is the imbalance of the importance of the characters in the movie, I thought the Iron Man and the Hulk stood out far more than Captain America, Thor and the Black Widow. And has the Hawkeye that was one of the main characters less important, but ultimately the film is very good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
heathermMay 13, 2015
This movie seemed like a reasonably good addition to the Marvel canon. For full disclosure, I should comment that I was kind of confused for a lot of it, because I haven't seen any of the Thor movies, but I recognize that it's my fault I hadThis movie seemed like a reasonably good addition to the Marvel canon. For full disclosure, I should comment that I was kind of confused for a lot of it, because I haven't seen any of the Thor movies, but I recognize that it's my fault I had trouble following. The air ships and seeing more inside of Shield was great, especially because it meant more Samuel L. Jackson. Loki is a really great villain which makes it fun to watch, although I knew I was missing a lot because I didn't know the back story about his relationship with Thor, except what I'd been told by my moviepartner. Still, it seemed like he was a much more sympathetic enemy than a lot of the other comic book movies I've seen. The scenes where all the Avengers are together tend to have a fun dynamic, just because of all the banter and disagreements between the characters. The final climactic scene in New York is also really impressive; the creature-machines that came through the portal were really neat visually, although they seemed surprisingly easy to kill. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ZawMineMay 11, 2015
The Avengers is a fun pop-corn movie. It is a pure entertainment and it is more than satisfying. The story might be a bit simple and lame, but you won't care at all.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
Viper8787May 11, 2015
A very well done action movie that was explosive. One of the biggest box office hits of all time and I can see why. There's something in this movie for everyone great action and some good comedy elements in there as well. It did feel long atA very well done action movie that was explosive. One of the biggest box office hits of all time and I can see why. There's something in this movie for everyone great action and some good comedy elements in there as well. It did feel long at times and I do find that this film is over rated but it is still a very good watch Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
adriiancon80May 4, 2015
Just saw the Avengers, after being recommended the Avengers: Age of Ultron and what a ride it was, an entertaining flick that innovates the idea of a movie universe where everything comes together. Joss Whedon outdoes himself in balancing outJust saw the Avengers, after being recommended the Avengers: Age of Ultron and what a ride it was, an entertaining flick that innovates the idea of a movie universe where everything comes together. Joss Whedon outdoes himself in balancing out characters' screen time and legitimizing them in a balanced approach. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Arthur_S_PoeMay 3, 2015
I was afraid that not having seen any of the individual movies (yes, I am a tad ashamed) would pose a problem while watching 'The Avengers', but there really was no room for fear. 'The Avengers' were certainly a test for Marvel's CinematicI was afraid that not having seen any of the individual movies (yes, I am a tad ashamed) would pose a problem while watching 'The Avengers', but there really was no room for fear. 'The Avengers' were certainly a test for Marvel's Cinematic Universe, a test about whether they can pull such a movie (i.e. a blend of several before-released individual movies with an ensemble cast that acts as the main character, rather than each of the individual heroes themselves), and it did not go unnoticed. But, despite the visibly pulled brake, 'The Avengers' were exceptionally fun. The chemistry between the cast members (although I was sad not to see Ed Norton) was absolutely brilliant and they actually elevated their individual roles from the earlier movies to a completely new level. The plot was more-less consistent and not the least boring, and it actually all of the future installments quite nicely. Also, the puns were great, the humor in general, actually and you really did enjoy those funny moments and replicas between all that **** scenes. What I also liked is that 'The Avengers' never tried to simulate any depth; it was meant to be a fun action movie with all those lovable superheroes fighting together, being awesome and trashing stuff in order to crush the bad guys - and it was. They never tried to be something they weren't and they certainly did a brilliant job.

Whether you like comics or not, whether you like Marvel or not, whether you like the Avengers or not - this is a movie you should (not to say must) see as it will surely satisfy your needs.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
waronassermanMay 2, 2015
extremely overrated, but still enjoyable. The one thing I wish this movie has was a better villain. Loki is so stupid and boring he dragged this movie down.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
rafaeljose0407May 1, 2015
Superhero movies don't come any bigger than The Avengers. Joss Whedon delivers the must-see blockbuster for any serious Marvel Comcs fan. It offers enough memorable characters, sharp dialogue, spectacular special effects and impressive actionSuperhero movies don't come any bigger than The Avengers. Joss Whedon delivers the must-see blockbuster for any serious Marvel Comcs fan. It offers enough memorable characters, sharp dialogue, spectacular special effects and impressive action to ensure multiple viewings. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
xRAIDER34xApr 26, 2015
I enjoyed this movie all of the marvel movies connected to the series are entertaining. Like any other movie I felt it could have been alot better. Great cast of actors and following a great story make this movie and it does not deliver aI enjoyed this movie all of the marvel movies connected to the series are entertaining. Like any other movie I felt it could have been alot better. Great cast of actors and following a great story make this movie and it does not deliver a disappointment. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
HungryHippo123Apr 24, 2015
The movie was entertaining with great humour. Made me laugh a lot and good story line for the first avengers film. Wish if there where more characters in the team but its alright
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
MovieManiac83Apr 23, 2015
Most Overrated pile of crap i've ever seen!

Marvel Studios unveils its costliest special-effects demo to date; somewhere beneath the nonstop digital explosions lies a story about superheroes fighting an evil demigod from space. Every now
Most Overrated pile of crap i've ever seen!

Marvel Studios unveils its costliest special-effects demo to date; somewhere beneath the nonstop digital explosions lies a story about superheroes fighting an evil demigod from space. Every now and then, director Joss Whedon (Serenity) executes a quirky camera set-up to assert that the film was created by him and not a team of marketing executives. Of the star-studded cast, only Mark Ruffalo (playing Bruce Banner) and Robert Downey Jr. (as Iron Man) bring any personality to the place-holder dialogue. Overlong, monotonous, violent, and simple-minded, this is like one of those “World’s Biggest Gang Bang” videos, except that no one onscreen appears to be enjoying himself. With Samuel L. Jackson, Scarlett Johansson, and Jeremy Renner.

Plus I can't stand LOKI!!!
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
EddyGregsApr 19, 2015
When trouble-making Asgardian reject Loki (Hiddleston) launches an attack on Earth, S. H. I. E. L. D. boss Nick Fury (Jackson) decides it’s time to call in the big guns, and gathers Captain America (Evans), Bruce Banner (Ruffalo), ThorWhen trouble-making Asgardian reject Loki (Hiddleston) launches an attack on Earth, S. H. I. E. L. D. boss Nick Fury (Jackson) decides it’s time to call in the big guns, and gathers Captain America (Evans), Bruce Banner (Ruffalo), Thor (Hemsworth) and even Iron Man (Downey Jr.) together in one elite fighting team. Good luck with that...

So Overrated! First off let me say i love Marvel movies but what the hell happened!

Marvel Studios unveils its costliest special-effects demo to date; somewhere beneath the nonstop digital explosions lies a story about superheroes fighting an evil demigod from space. Every now and then, director Joss Whedon (Serenity) executes a quirky camera set-up to assert that the film was created by him and not a team of marketing executives. Of the star-studded cast, only Mark Ruffalo (playing Bruce Banner) and Robert Downey Jr. (as Iron Man) bring any personality to the place-holder dialogue. Overlong, monotonous, generic alien creatures, and simple-minded, this is like one of those “World’s Biggest Gang Bang” videos, except that no one onscreen appears to be enjoying himself. With Samuel L. Jackson, Scarlett Johansson, and Jeremy Renner. PLUS I CAN'T STAND LOKI!!!!!!!!
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
aaaaaahavengersApr 13, 2015
aaaaaaaaah avengers it was so effing sick i almost vomited all over my lap but that was fine since i used that as lube to wank with. but the one thing that pissed me off during wank 4 was that scarlett johansen kept being in the centre of allaaaaaaaaah avengers it was so effing sick i almost vomited all over my lap but that was fine since i used that as lube to wank with. but the one thing that pissed me off during wank 4 was that scarlett johansen kept being in the centre of all the **** shots i coudlnt wank over the hulk properly. uuuhhhhhhh avengers avengers

i almost **** cried when they had the schwarma uuhhhhhh for £3 you can too if you live in liverpool at the schwarma cafe you will be just like the avengers, sorry uuuhhhhhhhh avengers. a dickhead **** you umayr
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ThatCoolCriticApr 12, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Avengers 2 is coming out soon so here are my opinions on the first movie. The story has Captain America, Iron Man, Thor, and the Hulk all teaming up to defeat Loki. Loki wants to destroy Earth because Thor sucks I guess his motives aren't really explained but whatever. My only real problem is the first 1/2 of the film has all the Avengers fighting and they are buddies the other 1/2. Loki isn't the best villain ever and as I said his motives aren't explained. There are a lot of good parts although!!! The CGI is good, I like how the different characters interact, and Black Widow is H-H-HOT!!! Except this movie has the most boring Marvel character I have ever seen: Hawkeye. I loved this movie and I think I'm gonna love the second one even more. 8/10. Black Widow Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MrMovieBuffMar 18, 2015
After the heights and experiencing seeing 'Iron Man' (2008), 'Iron Man 2' (2010), 'Thor' (2011) and 'Captain America: The First Avenger' (2011), you can imagine how much I wanted to see this movie.

I was not disappointed, pretty much
After the heights and experiencing seeing 'Iron Man' (2008), 'Iron Man 2' (2010), 'Thor' (2011) and 'Captain America: The First Avenger' (2011), you can imagine how much I wanted to see this movie.

I was not disappointed, pretty much everything that was in this movie was pretty much all I expected to see and I'm happy with that.

'The Avengers' focuses on Nick Fury (Samuel L. Jackson) trying to cope with Loki (Tom Hiddleston) taking the tesseract and using it against the world. Loki makes allies Eric Selvig (Stellan Skarsgard) and Hawkeye (Jeremy Renner) his two new muses. Fury decides that it's time to assemble some of earth's mightiest superheroes, The Avengers.

We see Tony Stark (Robert Downey Jr.) reluctantly join as he thought that he could not qualify. Steve Rogers (Chris Evans) joins because he is a World War II veteran, so his inner self says that he has to save the world. We also see Bruce Banner (Mark Ruffalo) not hiding anymore after his little incidents.

We also see agents Natasha Romonoff (Scarlett Johansson) and Phil Coulson (Clark Gregg) return and convince each of the guys to try and stop Loki.

Obviously after the events in 'Thor' (2011), Thor (Chris Hemsworth) returns as he still has unfinished business with his brother Loki and what he plans to do with the tesseract.

This movie moves at such an entertaining pace and I have been waiting years to finally see it, four years to be specific, since the release of 'Iron Man' (2008), all I wanted to see is four Marvel heroes unite in their ultimate movie. Seeing this movie in the cinema back in 2012 was an absolute treat.

The action is pretty much similar to the "Transformers" movies, but they are cleaner and have purpose and style, unlike the ones in the "Transformers" franchise where it's just a technological mess and they were gimmicks.

Director Joss Whedon ('Buffy The Vampire Slayer' and 'Firefly') clearly respects the Marvel comics enough to make a coherent story and visually appealing action. I absolutely cannot wait for the anticipated 'Avengers: Age of Ultron' (2015), after seeing this, the Marvel universe is truly something amazing.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
homer4presidentMar 11, 2015
The Avengers is easily one of the best films I've seen in the past few years. I saw it with my friends for the midnight premiere and it was a total blast from start to finish. Joss Whedon really pulled out all the stops when it came toThe Avengers is easily one of the best films I've seen in the past few years. I saw it with my friends for the midnight premiere and it was a total blast from start to finish. Joss Whedon really pulled out all the stops when it came to directing a movie as big as this, and it shows. The entire ensemble cast was pitch-perfect, the action sequences were incredibly immersive and highly entertaining, and the dialogue was absolutely hilarious when it needed to be. I also loved the interactions between every one of the characters. Seeing them meet each other for the first time was both amazingly surreal and surprisingly realistic. Nearly everything from the score to the special effects to the comic timing just felt right. The Avengers is quite simply an experience that everyone should see. It just goes to show that Marvel is really stepping up their game, both commercially and creatively. Can't wait for the sequel! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
emlugo123Mar 9, 2015
This movie was great! It was very well paced, comedic, and had a lot of action in it! Each character was developed nicely and everyone did a great job in their roll.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
cryhardhumorJan 30, 2015
I'll admit it's cheesy, but The Avengers is also insanely enjoyable, exciting, and well acted. Everyone brings their A-game, and Joss Whedon masterfully creates the nerd film of the century.
Insane fun. 9/10
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
AkashVijayJan 22, 2015
The Avengers is not just bad, it's boring as hell. I simply don't get the appeal for these sorts of films. A 15 minute plot and 2 hours of mindless, mind numbing action is not exactly my idea of entertainment. Might as well go into theThe Avengers is not just bad, it's boring as hell. I simply don't get the appeal for these sorts of films. A 15 minute plot and 2 hours of mindless, mind numbing action is not exactly my idea of entertainment. Might as well go into the kitchen, bang a few utensils around and use my own imagination. It's certainly not art and it's not even fun. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
TheLatinoCriticJan 19, 2015
Marvel's The Avengers was one of the best movies of 2012. It's a great film to be part of The Marvel Cinematic Universe. It is Beyond Fantastic! Probably the best movie that Disney and Marvel has to offer!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
youlouzJan 19, 2015
DISAPOINTING

For heroes like this to be in a movie, there should be more action with the hulk. As well as that there was a horrible plot behind the movie and it can bore you to death sometimes. This was truly horrible.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
RobobobJan 4, 2015
It's hard to believe that Marvel brought all of these C-list superheroes together in one movie.. and it works! This movie is a blast from start to finish. Great acting, specifically Ruffalo, Hiddleston and Downey. Great visuals and someIt's hard to believe that Marvel brought all of these C-list superheroes together in one movie.. and it works! This movie is a blast from start to finish. Great acting, specifically Ruffalo, Hiddleston and Downey. Great visuals and some great laughs where I laughed harder than at most comedies I've seen. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
bradtheman123Jan 4, 2015
By no 2nd close I think this is the best movie Marvel is yet to put out there. Even though I'm writing this review a couple years after the movies release I still think these things are true. Good acting, an OK dialogue and a lot ofBy no 2nd close I think this is the best movie Marvel is yet to put out there. Even though I'm writing this review a couple years after the movies release I still think these things are true. Good acting, an OK dialogue and a lot of entertaining moments make for a GOOD movie. Notice how I didn't put great or just good, it was kind of in between. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
mustafa18182Jan 4, 2015
The avengers is probably Marvel's best movie. The effects were outstanding, the acting exceptional and the story line was humorous as well as serious. This movie would probably be better for comic book readers as they would have a sense ofThe avengers is probably Marvel's best movie. The effects were outstanding, the acting exceptional and the story line was humorous as well as serious. This movie would probably be better for comic book readers as they would have a sense of awe throughout the film, people who didn't really know about comics wouldn't understand all the terms and Easter eggs thus the experience wouldn't be so great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
alwayswatchingDec 30, 2014
In the Avengers, all famous superheroes team up to save humans. The film has action, humor and a story but all of them are superficial and underdeveloped. The Avengers aims at catering all kind of audience (those who love superheroes, orIn the Avengers, all famous superheroes team up to save humans. The film has action, humor and a story but all of them are superficial and underdeveloped. The Avengers aims at catering all kind of audience (those who love superheroes, or actions, or comedies) but delivers a mixture that is none.

The idea of superheroes never settled well with me. The idea that we, people, are helpless and need superheroes to save and protect us is a troubling idea to say the best about it.

I really don't understand all the hype around this movie. 2 hours of your time is worth more than the laughter you get from seeing Hulk smashing Loki to the floor a few times (and that's the only good thing in the movie).
Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
9
JohnKristoferDec 21, 2014
Marvel 's Iconic superheroes assembles in one amazing Movie.The Avengers is a great film in general with amazing heroes and fantastic actors portraying with awesome visual effects,Good story and great character development.The Villain,Loki,isMarvel 's Iconic superheroes assembles in one amazing Movie.The Avengers is a great film in general with amazing heroes and fantastic actors portraying with awesome visual effects,Good story and great character development.The Villain,Loki,is a great villain ,Tom Hiddleston did a great job portraying his character.The Avengers is a great summer blockbuster! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
NerdConsultantDec 18, 2014
as much as it pains a fan who mostly prefers DC to Marvel I have to admit this is probably the greatest superhero movie ever made. it is very well acted and paced and has some of the best action sequences i've ever seen particularly theas much as it pains a fan who mostly prefers DC to Marvel I have to admit this is probably the greatest superhero movie ever made. it is very well acted and paced and has some of the best action sequences i've ever seen particularly the battle in new york the whole thing feels like a great event comic. this was well worth the build up here's hoping the sequel is just as good Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Le__XenomorphDec 15, 2014
Literally the perfect and the best Marvel movie so far. It has awesome special effects, acting, and villians. Everyone you loved from Iron Man, Thor, Captain America, and Hulk is in this movie. If you have not seen it, I highly recommend it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
supermann234Dec 7, 2014
The avengers is a good movie which is action-packed and has a good storyline. The special effects used were awesome.This is a good movie to watch if you haven't seen this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
CherryxldNov 23, 2014
The Avengers es una película en la que algunos momentos se torna fastidiosa, pero sin embargo ofrece unos grandes efectos visuales y da un buen espectáculo, por lo tanto tampoco hay que decir que la película es mala.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
devo-ncNov 18, 2014
Honestly not as amazing as people say, for most it seems like it was their first time at the cinemas or they were transported from 1965 to see this now. The writing is terrific and character dynamic great but it's not something I would buy onHonestly not as amazing as people say, for most it seems like it was their first time at the cinemas or they were transported from 1965 to see this now. The writing is terrific and character dynamic great but it's not something I would buy on DVD or watch again because there isn't much emotional connection for me, I am not in love with the characters. It's what I expect from marvel, their superhero movies are usually kind of tacky, but once Iron Man came out in 2008, they sparked a new light after everyone hated Spider-Man 3. But The Avengers reguvinates this superhero franchise, I was predicting a 4 or 5 out of 10 movie, but it manages to succeed. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
lloydharrisonNov 17, 2014
The Avengers and the wrest of the Marvel cinematic universe could prove to be the Star Wars of it's generation. Joss Whedon clearly has a love and understanding of these characters and the source material. He collaborates all of these starsThe Avengers and the wrest of the Marvel cinematic universe could prove to be the Star Wars of it's generation. Joss Whedon clearly has a love and understanding of these characters and the source material. He collaborates all of these stars to perfection and balances their screen time effortlessly. His overall direction is solid and all of the set pieces are thoroughly enjoyable. The final act in particular is unbelievable and incredibly crowd pleasing. The whole cast is strong but Robert Downey Jr. is the standout as Iron Man. Tom Hiddleston is as equally superb as villain Loki, Scarlett Johansson's Black Widow & Samuel L. Jackson's Nick Fury have much more involvement and most surprisingly Mark Ruffalo is a welcome recasting as the Hulk. Chris Evans & Chris Hemsworth are both strong also and have grown into their characters Captain America & Thor respectively. However my only minor criticism is Jeremy Renner's Hawkeye. Personally I didn't like the way his character was developed throughout the film until the final act. And I hope his character has the chance to shine in future releases. But otherwise as a lifelong fan of these characters I was both pleasantly surprised and incredibly satisfied. The Avengers caters for everybody, it's action packed, full of humour and it will please fan boys and newcomers alike. This is without a doubt Marvel's best film to date and it epitomises the success of the Phase 1 films. And even more excitingly it kick starts Phase 2 perfectly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
jorgedavidbhNov 16, 2014
A very fun movie, I absolutely recommend it. perfect special effects and a really well meda plot.
one of the best superhero movies there are. hope the next one doesnt disappoint
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews