The Aviator

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 423 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 423
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. NeilS.
    Jan 17, 2005
    3
    Surely destined to be one of the most overrated movie of all time. Leo's performance was a straight lift from "Catch Me If You Can", but at least people acknowledged he was young in that film! He looks about 17 in this! His scenes with Katharine Hepburn look like he's dating his mother! The film would have been 100% better with an older and more soulful actor at the helm. Do not Surely destined to be one of the most overrated movie of all time. Leo's performance was a straight lift from "Catch Me If You Can", but at least people acknowledged he was young in that film! He looks about 17 in this! His scenes with Katharine Hepburn look like he's dating his mother! The film would have been 100% better with an older and more soulful actor at the helm. Do not waste your time with this boring and flat movie. This is like Glitter compared to Goodfellas! Expand
  2. Jesse
    Jan 29, 2005
    2
    Don't understand the hype? All of those nominations and there is absolutely nothing in this flick to capture the imagination. Way too long and self absorbing. Awful.
  3. AlyE.
    Jun 7, 2005
    0
    Bad. Bad. Bad. Overrated. Overdone. Over-dramatic. I wasn't impressed with DiCaprio, and certianly not with Blanchett. She over-acted Hepburn to the point where I hated everything that came out of her mouth. There was ZERO chemistry between DiCaprio and Blanchett (God, I hope it was better for Hughes and Hepburn). Whoever said it looked like he was with his mom was right on point. I Bad. Bad. Bad. Overrated. Overdone. Over-dramatic. I wasn't impressed with DiCaprio, and certianly not with Blanchett. She over-acted Hepburn to the point where I hated everything that came out of her mouth. There was ZERO chemistry between DiCaprio and Blanchett (God, I hope it was better for Hughes and Hepburn). Whoever said it looked like he was with his mom was right on point. I especially hated the way Scorcese tried to explain Hughes' compulsive disorder. What did it have to do with "the coloreds"???? I'm sure Hughes' life was much better than this movie depicts. Another Hollywood mistake... Too long. Too boring. A complete waste of time. Expand
  4. IlzeS.
    Aug 6, 2005
    1
    Movie was a big disappointment to me. So boring, and Di Caprio also was stupid. I like his movies, especially Titanic, but this was dumb. Yeah, its better than Million Dollar Baby,but make no sense. Hughes was ill. There is nothing more to say about this movie.
  5. Bruno
    Jan 15, 2005
    1
    Yuk! Just a boring mess.
  6. Jason
    Jan 28, 2005
    3
    Totally not worth seeing. one of the longest unengaging movies ever created. yes it did have good direction but the story and pace is extremely slow and non existent. i should have seen assult on precient 13 instead because they tried to show just as much action and suspense in this movie as precient, but the aviator sucked way harder!!! don't listen to the people who said it'sTotally not worth seeing. one of the longest unengaging movies ever created. yes it did have good direction but the story and pace is extremely slow and non existent. i should have seen assult on precient 13 instead because they tried to show just as much action and suspense in this movie as precient, but the aviator sucked way harder!!! don't listen to the people who said it's good, they must have thought alone in the dark and house of the dead were good too. Expand
  7. JSSmith
    Jan 30, 2005
    1
    Perhaps this film should get, say, a 3 for gorgeous photography, sets, costumes, etc., and one good airplane crash sequence. But I'm giving it a 1 to try to convey how bad it is. Completely lacking in conflict, filled with the kind of awful impersonations that are, really, one step from "Saturday Night Live," and devoid of any personal meaning except an ambition to knock off "Citizen Perhaps this film should get, say, a 3 for gorgeous photography, sets, costumes, etc., and one good airplane crash sequence. But I'm giving it a 1 to try to convey how bad it is. Completely lacking in conflict, filled with the kind of awful impersonations that are, really, one step from "Saturday Night Live," and devoid of any personal meaning except an ambition to knock off "Citizen Kane" and "Titanic" so that Scorese, too, can win an Oscar, this film is really boring. As Manny Farber, once characterized such films, this is really "white elephant cinema." Most critics are just too chicken to call out Scorses for his recent trilogy of badness. By contrast, as Scorsese grows worse and worse, Eastwood gets better and better. See Million Dollar Baby instead! Or if you've really got a Hughes thing, go dig up Tommy Lee Jones in "The Amazing Howard Hughes," directed by William A. Graham. That one on 1/50th the budget was twice as good. Expand
  8. BrianB
    Feb 1, 2005
    1
    Overhyped Hollywood junk. Leonardo DiCaprio plays Leonardo DiCaprio playing Howard Hughes. Kate Blanchett's attempt at portraying Katherine Hepburn is too forced and fails to capture any of Hepburn's warmth and grace. They are both utterly unconvincing. This film is the opposite of Hotel Rwanda; the Academy should be ashamed of giving such cudos to this self-absorbed exercise in Overhyped Hollywood junk. Leonardo DiCaprio plays Leonardo DiCaprio playing Howard Hughes. Kate Blanchett's attempt at portraying Katherine Hepburn is too forced and fails to capture any of Hepburn's warmth and grace. They are both utterly unconvincing. This film is the opposite of Hotel Rwanda; the Academy should be ashamed of giving such cudos to this self-absorbed exercise in Vegas-style impersonation while largely overlooking an important, powerful, and well-crafted movie like Rwanda. Finally, Scorcese throws everything but the kitchen sink at us; effects should be used for effect. Too much budget to work with perhaps? Take my advice: don't bother with this one! Expand
  9. ClareD.
    Feb 21, 2005
    2
    Boring. with a capital B. i thought it tried way too hard in terms of video effects, like in the golf scene with howard and katharine, among others. acting was okay, it didnt work to keep me interested, very tempted to walk out, and to top it off, the movie was so long i missed my train and couldnt get home!
  10. Chuck
    Feb 8, 2005
    0
    Embarrasingly bad mess. What is the Academy and the critics smoking?
  11. Chris
    Mar 5, 2005
    1
    Martin scorsesi is so over rated.
  12. TylerN.
    Apr 16, 2005
    3
    A very lackluster film. Once again the critics went for the artsy yet boring movie. It was very choppy and has little in the lines of character developement. In the aftermath, you are left wondering why the hell anyone would give a damn about the main character. Well acted, but dull. Plain and simple. Oh, and its al little too long also.
  13. [Anonymous]
    Jun 13, 2005
    0
    A hollow shell of a movie. Lacks any insight into Hughes aside from his illness.
  14. richardc.
    Jun 4, 2005
    1
    Only watch this film if you don't have anything more exciting to do; like watching paint dry. Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz...
  15. mygga.
    Aug 19, 2005
    0
    Flatliner.
  16. JasonB.
    Jun 30, 2007
    0
    I'm here to expose the good people at netflix as a bunch of charlatans, for the movie I saw last night delivered by these good people apparently bore no resemblance whatsoever to the film the above and below appeared to be gushing over. The film netfix sent to me was a meandering, overwrought pile of self-indulgent arse. How can a film made about an airplane test pilot millionaire I'm here to expose the good people at netflix as a bunch of charlatans, for the movie I saw last night delivered by these good people apparently bore no resemblance whatsoever to the film the above and below appeared to be gushing over. The film netfix sent to me was a meandering, overwrought pile of self-indulgent arse. How can a film made about an airplane test pilot millionaire who slept with most of the best looking people in Hollywood turn out to be so dull? This my friends is a truly mystifying. I guess part of the blame must be leveled on that dufus Decraprio, I Expand
  17. GigiM.
    Apr 24, 2008
    3
    It looks great, but that's it. Tedious and overrated. DiCaprio is horribly miscast; his Howard Hughes comes off like an arrogant teenager. Cate Blanchett, always good, reaffirmed my dislike of Katherine Hepburn. Not worth the time investment. Watch "GoodFellas" again instead to see what Scorsese is capable of.
  18. TyS
    Feb 16, 2005
    3
    A gigantic over pompous mess covering a overtly boring subject matter. Not Academy material at all.
  19. michaelb.
    Nov 27, 2005
    2
    Terrible movie. Horribly edited. Casting DiCrapio for this part was a wrong decission, he looks too young, too clueless. The only redeeming quality of the whole film is the actress that plays Katherine Hepburn. That's a phenomenal rendering of her. That I enjoyed. Otherwise I would wish I had never seen it at all.
  20. SteveM.
    Jan 3, 2005
    0
    Boring, lame, and stupid. DeCaprio sucks, just like this movie. Don't believe the reviews, unless you want to be screwed by Hollywood.
  21. Cdineen
    Jan 3, 2005
    3
    This is a terrible movie.
  22. RodneyB.
    Dec 22, 2004
    2
    The one surprising bright spot in this movie was Leonardo DiCaprio. The rest of it was horrendous. This movie is all on Martin Scorcese. It was too long, too unfocused, too slow, lacking in a cohesive story, and almost devoid of any real understanding of what drove Hughes' genius and insanity. Terrible, terrible movie. Poor Leo.
  23. SusanT.
    Dec 23, 2004
    0
    Sad to see a good actor in such a long boring film.
  24. JaimeL
    Jan 5, 2005
    1
    It seems that no one is willing to admit what they feel in their gut: that Mr. Scorcese is, in truth, an overrated and miserably bad director. I'll never forget my first inkling that he was a joke: when he told Vanity Fair that Cameron Diaz was "brilliant" in Gangs of New York. Besides that, anyone who casts Leo DiCaprio in the role of a character over 13 years of age must be It seems that no one is willing to admit what they feel in their gut: that Mr. Scorcese is, in truth, an overrated and miserably bad director. I'll never forget my first inkling that he was a joke: when he told Vanity Fair that Cameron Diaz was "brilliant" in Gangs of New York. Besides that, anyone who casts Leo DiCaprio in the role of a character over 13 years of age must be completely insane. The Aviator is a self-absorbed attempt to rule the box office with poor vision, bad editing, a boring story, and a big, big budget. Expand
  25. KathyW.
    Dec 20, 2004
    2
    This movie is a hollow exercise without the help of an editor. After reading all the reviews i've got to say these are 3 hours of your life you'll never get back. This seems like a big budget made for tv movie with skin deep characterizations and storyline.
  26. CrystalT.
    Dec 25, 2004
    0
    This is another attempt of hollywood and the critics trying force a over long,well over rated movie on the public.
  27. Fantasy
    Dec 29, 2004
    3
    The Aviator was on my must see list. After watching, I found it terribly slow and somewhat boring despite the fact that Howard Hughes life was absolutely fascinating. Leornardo acted well even though Hughes himself was very handsome and about 6 foot 5 inches tall. Despite he did not look like him LD did give a good performance. Hughes was a troubled genius who was obscessed with The Aviator was on my must see list. After watching, I found it terribly slow and somewhat boring despite the fact that Howard Hughes life was absolutely fascinating. Leornardo acted well even though Hughes himself was very handsome and about 6 foot 5 inches tall. Despite he did not look like him LD did give a good performance. Hughes was a troubled genius who was obscessed with compulsions on just about anything. There were drawn out scenes that were completely unnecessary and should have found their way to the cutting room floor. Overall, this movie is not what it could have been and thus a huge disappointment. It will not prove to be OSCAR material except for perhaps some bit awards. Avoid. Expand
  28. MrDrew
    Feb 21, 2005
    3
    I walked out, don't go unless you need a nap. Poorly directed sums up most of it, leaves you lost between the jumps of different women and him washing his hands. DiCaprio is horrible, unbelieveable in this role and has crooked teeth which is one of the few things I came away with. I left after the 2nd plane crash which was so overdone it was laughable. This is not a good movie, not I walked out, don't go unless you need a nap. Poorly directed sums up most of it, leaves you lost between the jumps of different women and him washing his hands. DiCaprio is horrible, unbelieveable in this role and has crooked teeth which is one of the few things I came away with. I left after the 2nd plane crash which was so overdone it was laughable. This is not a good movie, not even an average movie, if it gets best picture, 2004 will be a dark year for the Oscars. Don't see it. Expand
  29. AnnA.
    Dec 15, 2004
    3
    This was one of the worst edited films I have seen in a long time. The first half of the movie was non-directed and seemed to be searching for some definition. The second half was much better. After hearing some of the reviews I felt that I was being part of the "Emperor's New Clothes" no-one wanted to tell the truth becaused of the assumed importance of those involved. The acting This was one of the worst edited films I have seen in a long time. The first half of the movie was non-directed and seemed to be searching for some definition. The second half was much better. After hearing some of the reviews I felt that I was being part of the "Emperor's New Clothes" no-one wanted to tell the truth becaused of the assumed importance of those involved. The acting seldom seemed genuine and it was quite a dissapointment. I expected much more. Expand
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    100
    An enormously entertaining slice of biographical drama, The Aviator flies like one of Howard Hughes' record-setting speed airplanes.
  2. Scorsese has crafted a rip-roaringly gorgeous-looking, beautifully acted biographical epic. But while firing on all cylinders, there's something oddly distancing about the picture.
  3. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    90
    DiCaprio is astonishing.