User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 371 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 371
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 8, 2012
    10
    The way the story fit together was magnificent, the way how every intricate detail contributed to the story was amazing. A great movie I would recommend to anyone who likes this sort of movie.
  2. PlixikW.
    Jul 13, 2006
    10
    amazing movie. awesome directing by scorsese and awesome acting by dicaprio.
  3. Jul 4, 2011
    9
    Leonardo DiCaprio deserved an Oscar for this movie. his performance was excellent. this is one of my favorite movies by him and Scorsese. it was genius. the acting was great. and the storyline was once again good. near perfect movie.
  4. Feb 12, 2014
    9
    Really amazing interpretation by Di Caprio and the cast. Considering Hughes was a really complex character considering his severe OCD (possibly better detail than Nicholson in As Good as it Gets). The film itself is a little bit slow in some parts but overall really good quality
  5. Apr 6, 2012
    9
    What a movie! Engaging, interesting, refreshing, witty! A movie with different hues! It was long, but never boring. Di Caprio's performance was excellent! I can't find real flaws here...yet it is not a 10...but close! I would love to see more historical-even if not very accurate- movies that are delightful as to me, this was.
  6. Feb 11, 2014
    10
    Perhaps one of the more underrated films of Scorsese, The Aviator is an exhilarating look at the aviation pioneer with DiCaprio filling in his shoes with never seen before intensity and some grand set design.
  7. Nov 12, 2013
    10
    Howard Hughes had a dream for the future, and put everything he had on the line to build it. Scorsese has brought his dream to life, flaws, foibles, failures, and all in a stunningly dramatic masterwork. This is Scorsese at his most breathtaking and cinema at its best.
  8. Aug 24, 2014
    10
    Simply fascinating I bought this movie a few weeks ago and never got around to watching it I don't know why I waited so long this film is a masterpiece on its own right Leonardo DiCaprio has always managed to create a completely different and unique character each time he puts on a performance and it is never disappointing is always a spectacular show with beyond perfect execution oSimply fascinating I bought this movie a few weeks ago and never got around to watching it I don't know why I waited so long this film is a masterpiece on its own right Leonardo DiCaprio has always managed to create a completely different and unique character each time he puts on a performance and it is never disappointing is always a spectacular show with beyond perfect execution o haven't seen all of his films but kits been this way every single time and he did that with this film right here and every other character in this film was interesting and none of them felt like throw away characters they all had there place but they weren't the focus and shouldn't be the main character Howard Hughes was and is one of the best played characters to date it was amazing to watch his life played out in this movie and it was genuinely grieving to see how he lived with his fears and mentality I would recommend for anyone given the chance to see this movie. Expand
  9. annonymous
    Jan 6, 2006
    10
    Great movie slow in some parks but it was so good All of you who gave it a 0 2 or 3 have no life!!!!!
  10. EdgarV.
    Jan 7, 2005
    10
    Excelentes actuaciones de todo el elenco, es especial de DiCaprio y de Cate Blanchett. Espero que Scorsese por fin le entreguen el Oscar. En esta oportunidad hace un magnifico trabajo en un a gran super produccion. Si no se lo otorgan por su magnifico trabajo en esta pelicula, por lo menos deberian pensar en el conjunto de su obra. Quizas sea la ultima oportunidad para premiarlo.
  11. KenG.
    Jan 7, 2005
    10
    One of the best films of the year...a fascinating look at the early age of aviation and Hollywood with a dashing, doomed, OCD afflicted Howard Hughes as our guide. This is one of Scorsese's best, and just wait till you see Cate Blanchett resurrecting Kate Hepburn!
  12. BraulioS.
    Apr 29, 2005
    10
    The Film is E-X-C-E-L-L-E-N-T !!! The Best! Just Thi film is PERFECT!!
  13. MikeG
    Jan 12, 2005
    10
    It's not a perfect biography, but it is a perfect film. Scorcese's vision of Hughes' life is perfectly captured in a film that almost never feels long. But the gem here is DiCaprio, who becomes Howard Hughes for 166 minutes. Leo captures both the ambition and the mania of the eccentric recluse without ever seeming like a soap opera character or a caricature. The movie is an It's not a perfect biography, but it is a perfect film. Scorcese's vision of Hughes' life is perfectly captured in a film that almost never feels long. But the gem here is DiCaprio, who becomes Howard Hughes for 166 minutes. Leo captures both the ambition and the mania of the eccentric recluse without ever seeming like a soap opera character or a caricature. The movie is an homage to the grand epics of the Hollywood of old, and is perfect in that regard. Just don't go in expecting 100% accuracy. Howard Hughes was an enigma, and the movie presents him as just that. A soaring, beautiful film. Expand
  14. RobertL.
    Jan 2, 2005
    9
    My friends and wife dragged me to this ovie on New Year's Eve. I didn't want to go becuase I thought it would be lonmg and boring. It turned out to be one of the best movies I have seen in a long time. And it moved so well that I never realized the almost three hour long movie was over whne it ended.
  15. SusanM.
    Jan 31, 2005
    9
    I am surprised to see what low ratings this movie is getting...I really, really enjoyed it, I thought it was very engaging and the acting was just terrific! It's a long movie but I didn't even notice. I say go see it!
  16. WinnieS.
    Jan 9, 2005
    9
    I find the criticism of the latter part of this film confounding. While the first half is certainly exhilirating, the second half reveals even more about the man and is just as compelling. The sparring during the congressional hearings was just as engaging as Hughes' early endeavors -- and even more remarkable given his preceding decline into debilitating mental illness. Overall, the I find the criticism of the latter part of this film confounding. While the first half is certainly exhilirating, the second half reveals even more about the man and is just as compelling. The sparring during the congressional hearings was just as engaging as Hughes' early endeavors -- and even more remarkable given his preceding decline into debilitating mental illness. Overall, the movie captures Hughes' genius, incredible ability to overcome his declining mental state, and passion for life in an entrtaining, enlightening manner. Di Captio gives his finest performance yet and was the perfect choice for the role. Blanchett is remarkable (as always) as Hepburn. John C. Reilly and Alec Baldwin are also very good. This one is definitely worth seeing on the big screen and then adding to the library when it's released on DVD. (Can't wait for the extras!) Expand
  17. Susan
    Feb 1, 2005
    9
    Really great movie. It has its flaws, but they are indeed very minor. As for the length of the film, I can only say that the three hours "flew" by.
  18. FabienF.
    Feb 21, 2005
    10
    Most entertaining hollywood movie i have seen in a long time! DiCaprio has captured the spirit of Hughes, shame it only covered a relatively short period of his life ... marty, how about The Avaitor II?
  19. MarioS.
    Feb 4, 2005
    9
    The remaining star I kept for myself because I felt the ending somewhat ... incomplete. A Great movie!
  20. MadeleneS.
    Feb 4, 2005
    10
    Great movie! Enjoyed every minute of it!
  21. SalmanH.
    Jun 1, 2005
    10
    Very entertaining movie, caprio at its best.
  22. Tonydannie
    Jun 18, 2005
    10
    The Best movie of the year it was released! Scorsese Has once again created a masterpiece. Although it is nearly three hours long, the time just flew.I was taken with all the performences! Everytime Lonardo DeCaprio And Allan Alda were on screen together I was blown away! this guys looked like they truly hated each other. The visuals are breathtaking and The Dialogue is proper for the The Best movie of the year it was released! Scorsese Has once again created a masterpiece. Although it is nearly three hours long, the time just flew.I was taken with all the performences! Everytime Lonardo DeCaprio And Allan Alda were on screen together I was blown away! this guys looked like they truly hated each other. The visuals are breathtaking and The Dialogue is proper for the time it was depicting. Howard Shores music is simple yet brilliant. There is one flaw and thats the editing. How it got the Oscar for editing is beyond me. But thats one flaw i can overlook. Expand
  23. gregj.
    Jun 9, 2005
    9
    I wish US audiences weren't so quick to discount any film over 2 hours that even slightly deviates from the cookie cutter crap that Hollywood churns out. Granted, this film is far from perfect but it is extremely well acted/directed and deserves a second viewing because it does contain much to ponder. Good job, Marty. Loved it!
  24. DaveF
    Jul 21, 2005
    9
    Fascinating, engrossing and original. I feared it would be another empty, stiff, Oscar-fodder biopic. It is in fact a scathingly real movie, a deeply personal account of a brilliant and tormented engineer, playboy, producer, and OCD sufferer. Don't get me wrong, the movie is formal in tone and lush with period detail--but this extravagance empowers the movie instead of overpowering Fascinating, engrossing and original. I feared it would be another empty, stiff, Oscar-fodder biopic. It is in fact a scathingly real movie, a deeply personal account of a brilliant and tormented engineer, playboy, producer, and OCD sufferer. Don't get me wrong, the movie is formal in tone and lush with period detail--but this extravagance empowers the movie instead of overpowering it. The pivotal crash scene was particularly fantastic. Aviator is not unlike the Spruce Goose--with such long, lumbering, big-budget bulk who would've thought it could fly? Expand
  25. PeterB.
    Feb 23, 2006
    9
    This movie was very well-done and well-casted. Dicaprio was perfect as the eccentric, brilliant, odd-ball, Howard Hughes. Parts of the movie were positively creepy, and other scenes were very humorous. Overall a very effective movie.
  26. BenjitheGreat
    Dec 26, 2004
    9
    Wow, this movie was incredible. The acting was great all around (particularly leo's performance) and each and every scene in the movie was engaging and wonderfully written. I will agree that the editing was a bit lacking and the film maybe ran on a bit too long. I would of also liked a blog at the end of the film summarizing the rest of Hughes life. Otherwise, this movie was perfect Wow, this movie was incredible. The acting was great all around (particularly leo's performance) and each and every scene in the movie was engaging and wonderfully written. I will agree that the editing was a bit lacking and the film maybe ran on a bit too long. I would of also liked a blog at the end of the film summarizing the rest of Hughes life. Otherwise, this movie was perfect to me; great job Scorsese and everyone involved. Expand
  27. JeffL.
    Jan 15, 2005
    10
    Dazzling, near-perfect biographical epic about the life of billionaire Howard Hughes, focusing on his years as an aviation pioneer and movie mogul in the thirties and forties. Leonardo DiCaprio recovers spectacularly from that dodgy Irish accent in Gangs of New York to give his best performance to date, showing us Hughes' progression from daring young pilot to gutsy but Dazzling, near-perfect biographical epic about the life of billionaire Howard Hughes, focusing on his years as an aviation pioneer and movie mogul in the thirties and forties. Leonardo DiCaprio recovers spectacularly from that dodgy Irish accent in Gangs of New York to give his best performance to date, showing us Hughes' progression from daring young pilot to gutsy but self-indulgent filmmaker (the subtitle "Hells Angels Year Three" makes an appearance) to airline tycoon haunted by congressional investigations, failed relationships, and the dark, self-consuming obsessions that could very charitably be labeled eccentricities (and which led to his bizarre, relusive later years). The cast is loaded to the brim with unforgettable supporting players (Alan Alda, Alec Baldwin, John C. Reilly, Ian Holm) and sharply-turned cameos (Jude Law, Willem Dafoe, Gwen Stefani), but it is the luminous Cate Blanchett who is particularly captivating and touching as Katharine Hepburn, whose intelligence, athleticism, and spunk seemed to make her a perfect romantic match for Hughes. Martin Scorsese may be the greatest director working today, and this is his best film since GoodFellas; richly atmospheric, hugely entertaining (166 minutes has rarely flown by so quickly), and as grand a slice of Americana as you've seen in a movie theatre in years. Simply superb. Expand
  28. GaryL.
    Jan 15, 2005
    9
    The Aviator is thrilling, even moving entertainment. I find it amusing but also scary that anyone goes to the movies expecting to see reality portrayed on the silver screen. The Aviator is not a documentary and doesn't pretend to be. Anyone who expects to see the full story and truth of Howard Hughes (or any subject) in a movie is wasting time and money. Read a book or watch PBS The Aviator is thrilling, even moving entertainment. I find it amusing but also scary that anyone goes to the movies expecting to see reality portrayed on the silver screen. The Aviator is not a documentary and doesn't pretend to be. Anyone who expects to see the full story and truth of Howard Hughes (or any subject) in a movie is wasting time and money. Read a book or watch PBS instead. That said, this movie does give an inkling of the person of Howard Hughes -- and more importantly for those interested -- provides encouragement to learn more about the subject from factual sources. That's all we can expect from the movies. And I say that positively . Expand
  29. LaurenS.
    Jan 17, 2005
    10
    Great movie. it was gripping the whole time. diCaprio is brilliant!
  30. loganf.
    Jan 22, 2005
    10
    Great movie, leo should win a oscar.
  31. LuisB.
    Jan 26, 2005
    10
    Good film.
  32. MuntsaM.
    Jan 8, 2005
    10
    I enjoyed a lot with GANGS. I have been enjoying a lot with The Aviator. What about this critics? Sometimes I think they hate Scorsese and DiCaprio. WHY? DiCaprio becames step by step a very serious and good actor. Scorsese, I think is one of the best filmakers of the world.
  33. MarkB.
    Jan 9, 2005
    9
    Some reviewers and moviegoers have proclaimed this account of aircraft innovator/tycoon Howard Hughes' first two decades in Hollywood to be Martin Scorsese's most upbeat, lighthearted movie since Alice Doesn't Live Here Anymore in 1974. Don't you believe it! What IS true, however, is that Martyphiles have finally found their Holy Grail--this is unequivocally his best Some reviewers and moviegoers have proclaimed this account of aircraft innovator/tycoon Howard Hughes' first two decades in Hollywood to be Martin Scorsese's most upbeat, lighthearted movie since Alice Doesn't Live Here Anymore in 1974. Don't you believe it! What IS true, however, is that Martyphiles have finally found their Holy Grail--this is unequivocally his best film since 1990's GoodFellas...and a marked improvement over his last at-bat, Gangs of New York, an extemely well-mounted and staged but overstuffed would-be epic that inflated Herbert Asbury's gritty 1928 docunovel to unnecessarily gargantuan proportions. Scorsese's direction of The Aviator is a lot more "invisible", and hence more effective--which is not to say that this isn't a real treat visually. The recreation of 1920s, 30s and 40s Hollywood is wonderfully detailed; I loved the way the cinematography reflected and commented on the way color was used in film's early days and changed with time: from the somewhat unnatural, two-strip look of such early Technicolor efforts as 1935's Becky Sharp to the deep, rich, warmer hues of the color films of the late 1940s. Terrific performances abound here, with special congratulations to Cate Blanchett, who gives us a delightfully feisty, clever and charming Katharine Hepburn, occasionally and purposefully teetering on the edge of caricature but never plunging in. Speaking of plunging, Hughes' defense of his, uh, spotlighting of Jane Russell's two biggest attributes in his notorious 1943 western The Outlaw before the censor board, complete with exhibits, is not only hilarious but insightful...laying the groundwork of Hughes' obsession with big-breasted women which would only be topped by Russ Meyer's in the late 50s (and may be an unstated reason why his affair with Hepburn didn't last!) And a disastrously unsuccessful experimental flight attempt on one of Hughes' pioneering planes is an uncommonly effective, terrifying action scene, providing what was completely missing from the wreckage in The Day After Tomorrow and Flight of the Phoenix...a real sense of danger. Remember, though, that in addition to all the richly amusing and entertaining Old Hollywood and Transitional Hollywood vignettes that The Aviator provides, this is first and foremost, from the first shot to the last, a disturbing, haunting account of Hughes' famous obsession with cleanliness and sanitation, which begins as an amusing eccentricity but proceeds to cost him his happiness, sanity and ability to function. It may be peculiar to make this analogy, but The Aviator frequently reminded me of the brilliant but depressing horror films of David Cronenberg (particularly The Fly, but really all of them) in which parasitic forces consume and destroy the protagonist from the inside out. One aspect of The Aviator that everyone can agree on, however, is Leonardo DiCaprio's spectacular performance as Hughes; the star's baby face and general boyishness served him well in James Cameron's Titanic but somewhat less so in Steven Spielberg's Catch Me If You Can and the aforementioned Gangs of New York. Aging over 20 years and covering every possible emotion in the spectrum, DiCaprio does his greatest and most mature work ever. The boy has finally become a man. Expand
  34. CaptainCraig
    Feb 18, 2005
    9
    A masterful work by all concerned. DeCaprio may have been just a bit young for the part, but as usual, turned in a great performance. Left me wanting more!
  35. Jensen
    Feb 3, 2005
    9
    Fantastic movie, well shot, well acted, and fun to watch. I honestly have trouble understanding how someone could give this less than a 7. If you have the attention span of, say, a 5 year old the movie may not be for you. If you're interested in a well done film that has much to offer, check out The Aviator. It deserves the nominations it recieved.
  36. DevinB.
    Mar 16, 2005
    10
    Extraordinarily entertaining. I generally am not a huge fan of Leonardo DiCaprio's work, but he's in top form here, his acting is magnificent in all ways. One totally buys his descent into madness, so much so that I shrank in my seat from being so disturbed at the portrayal. Martin Scorcese is, as usual, a genius. The use of color and movement is wildly creative throughout, and Extraordinarily entertaining. I generally am not a huge fan of Leonardo DiCaprio's work, but he's in top form here, his acting is magnificent in all ways. One totally buys his descent into madness, so much so that I shrank in my seat from being so disturbed at the portrayal. Martin Scorcese is, as usual, a genius. The use of color and movement is wildly creative throughout, and there's not a dull moment in the film. I'm absolutely baffled by those claiming the film was "boring." I was enraptured from minute one to the very end, I mourn that the American attention span has dipped so low. Expand
  37. GarethC.
    May 22, 2005
    9
    Very good biopic. Informative and entertaining at the same time. Some great performances from great actors. Wasn't sure that Leonardo had the capacity to pull this one off, but he was outstanding. A very mature performance. You've got to see this one. It's very long, but worth the time!
  38. JohnC.
    Jun 5, 2005
    9
    Cate Blanchett blew me away. DiCaprio and, surprise, Alan Alda were excellent. Fascinating.
  39. Shayla
    Jul 1, 2005
    9
    Very interesting look at the life of the famous Howard Hughes. This movie was well cast. The actors did a fabulous job, Scorsese was brilliant, and the costumes did the piece proud. This was a great movie.
  40. SauloC.
    Dec 11, 2004
    9
    The Big Marty, The Wonderful Leo, The Great History, Very Good Movie.
  41. SamJ.
    Dec 26, 2004
    10
    I just read the comments of Kathy, Rodney, and Susan........."boring, skin deep-charactorizations, etc." Have they watched the same film as me. This is the kind of moronic "user criticism" that has these morons enjoying trash like "Meet the Fockers." "Aviator" soars! The favorite to win the Best Picture Oscar!
  42. AndrewS.
    Dec 26, 2004
    10
    The best biography of all-time! Stupendous filmaking!
  43. MaxA.
    Dec 26, 2004
    10
    Sounds like Rodney needs to go back to school and obtain something further than a fourth grade education. To say this film is unfocused is hogwash that can be said only by a person who is more interested in seeing films like Lord or the Rings or Gladiator than a film that is done very well. This is Scorsese's best work in a long while and it's not surprising that Leonardo is the Sounds like Rodney needs to go back to school and obtain something further than a fourth grade education. To say this film is unfocused is hogwash that can be said only by a person who is more interested in seeing films like Lord or the Rings or Gladiator than a film that is done very well. This is Scorsese's best work in a long while and it's not surprising that Leonardo is the frontrunner for Best Actor. Expand
  44. JuanS.
    Dec 29, 2004
    10
    This is one of the best movies i have ever seen. i was not expecting it to be as incredible as it is. even though scorsese is my favorite director, i did not connect with his last 2 films like i usually do. but with this film it was back to heaven. every single frame, every camera movement, the acting, the beautiful,sumptous photograhphy. one word: intoxicating.
  45. MartinN.
    Dec 6, 2004
    9
    Pretty fantastic. Leo's surprisingly great. Cate Blanchett and Kate Beckinsale too.
  46. VinceH.
    Jan 16, 2005
    10
    One of the most well-made and entertaining movies of 2004. After the artistically ambitious, but sopiistic and overall very dissapointing GONY, Scorsese has made his best pure movie since "Casino" (altough I love Kundun and Bringing out the Dead). One of the things that has plagued Scorsese's weakest movies is the script. Here's a fact: Scorsese has never badly directed a movie. One of the most well-made and entertaining movies of 2004. After the artistically ambitious, but sopiistic and overall very dissapointing GONY, Scorsese has made his best pure movie since "Casino" (altough I love Kundun and Bringing out the Dead). One of the things that has plagued Scorsese's weakest movies is the script. Here's a fact: Scorsese has never badly directed a movie. His filmmaking has been inspired, inventive, and cinematic for over 30 years straight, but since he seems to take scripts as they come, he gets stuck with subpar material. The script for GONY was a muddled, too-many-hands-stirring-the-pot mess, but now John Logan has written his best screenplay yet and one of the best biopic scripts ever. The way he balances the fantastic with the human detail is superb, and his dialogue is old-fashioned but also realistic. Scorsese seems to have put down his "I-must-be-an-auteur" crown and signed on purey to be a metteur-en-scene here. As a well-crafted, beautifully shot and executed entertainmentthis film recalls the works of great craftsmen of Old Hollywood like Lewis Milestone, WIlliam Wellman, John Huston, Joeseph Manciewiecz, and Frank Borzage. Scorsese uses lenses, camera movements, compositional framing, staging, and film color of movies from the time period (the 30's mostly) without letting the showy techniques rival the story. It's obvious that, unlike GONY, Scorsese has enough faith and passion in the script to let the story tell itself and it's this confidence and chutzpah that makes "The Aviator" such a thrill. The last scene of the film is unforgettable and even rivals the last shots or "Raging Bull" and "Goodfellas". Expand
  47. NathanF.
    Jan 24, 2005
    10
    It was a fantastic movie which should have Leo winning an Oscar
  48. DaveV.
    Jan 26, 2005
    10
    Quite simply one of the best films of the year. Scorsese has crafted one of the most enthralling, entertaining films of his career. DiCaprio and Blanchatt are wonderful, as is the rest of the cast. Not to be missed.
  49. ok
    Feb 12, 2005
    10
    As another poster said, I don't understand how anyone could give this movie less than a seven. This is easily one of the best movies I've seen all year--but I admit to having a thing for epic characters studies. Fantastic direction, fantastic acting--I thought it ended too SOON if anything.
  50. Nwa4life
    Mar 19, 2005
    10
    This is the best of 2004 and robbed of BP and BD.
  51. JohnnyW
    Mar 21, 2005
    9
    Very good. Very well acted, keeps you interested, and I heartily disagree with the people who said it was boring. Yes, it was quite long, but it kept me interested, so who cares? Not quite on the level of Million Dollar Baby, so I am glad that it didn't win Best Picture. Still a fantastic movie though.
  52. AliciaM.
    May 23, 2005
    10
    Great performance by Dicaprio.
  53. CharlesR.
    May 23, 2005
    10
    Terrifickly enterntaining, Leo and Cate are wonderful.
  54. BartT.
    Dec 26, 2004
    10
    TERRIFIC AND ENTERTAINING FILM!!! DI CAPRIO IS AWESOME, AS IS CATE BLANCHETT!
  55. StephenR.
    Dec 26, 2004
    10
    Martin Scorsese's "magnum opus" is a mostly brilliant examiniation of the neurotic and compulsive Howard Hughes, and the acting is top-rank. A sure Oscar contender!
  56. JonC.
    Dec 26, 2004
    10
    Great performances by an excellent cast and well directed by Scorsese add up to an engrossing account of Howard Hughes
  57. QuincyJ.
    Dec 26, 2004
    10
    Scorcese dazzles again. This is definitely his best movie since Goodfellas. He affirms my convinction that he is the greatest living American director. It seems that Scorcese may have found another viable acting partner to work with after DeNiro in our Mr. DiCaprio. Gangs of New York was mediocre, but their collaboration in the Aviator offers the prospect of some great films in the years Scorcese dazzles again. This is definitely his best movie since Goodfellas. He affirms my convinction that he is the greatest living American director. It seems that Scorcese may have found another viable acting partner to work with after DeNiro in our Mr. DiCaprio. Gangs of New York was mediocre, but their collaboration in the Aviator offers the prospect of some great films in the years to come. This film is definitely a must-see and so far gets my vote for best movie of the year. Expand
  58. bryan
    Dec 28, 2004
    9
    I am quite surprised that, considering the number of abbreviated reviews listed above and the number of superlative comments, leonardo dicaprio is not mentioned once. without reading the unabridged versions of the comments, i am assured that he was lauded. nonetheless, he was simply stellar in his portrayal of the maniacal impresario.
  59. Jan 23, 2015
    10
    A spectacular film that goes into great detail about the life of Howard Hughes, the ultimate aviator. The costumes are great, the sets are great, the cast is great, and the acting is top-notch. This movie is near-perfect in every way. 10/10 (Masterpiece)
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    100
    An enormously entertaining slice of biographical drama, The Aviator flies like one of Howard Hughes' record-setting speed airplanes.
  2. Scorsese has crafted a rip-roaringly gorgeous-looking, beautifully acted biographical epic. But while firing on all cylinders, there's something oddly distancing about the picture.
  3. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    90
    DiCaprio is astonishing.