Lionsgate | Release Date: November 2, 2012
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 50 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
26
Mixed:
17
Negative:
7
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
mike7882Nov 14, 2012
I kind like this film after I have watched so many boring,over-performed scary film.We all know after The Rec and The Blair Witch Project. Many scary movies copy their filming way(play out through handled camera). Some movies got succeed likeI kind like this film after I have watched so many boring,over-performed scary film.We all know after The Rec and The Blair Witch Project. Many scary movies copy their filming way(play out through handled camera). Some movies got succeed like Paranormal Activity and Cloverfield. But some movies are total garbage,like The Devil Inside ,Apollo 18 and so on. But this one, The Bay is really great actually. It focus more on the reaction of the local government and show us clearly how the disease spread out and people get sick and desperate. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
7
SeriosityJul 10, 2013
The realistic feel of the found-footage genre helps tremendously here. While less of a horror movie than a disturbing and creepy eco-friendly mockumentary, it still delivers on the thrills and eery suspense.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
PvtJacksonJul 7, 2014
More than just a good eco-horror flick with documental-style direction, The Bay is a fantastic examination of the political intrigue brewing beneath the "community-interest" campaign while constantly leaving us breathless with some visuallyMore than just a good eco-horror flick with documental-style direction, The Bay is a fantastic examination of the political intrigue brewing beneath the "community-interest" campaign while constantly leaving us breathless with some visually impressive elements of horror and shocking discoveries. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
thegadfly44Dec 28, 2014
This movie is friggin creepy in a whole new way. It made my damn skin crawl, and it takes a lot to make my skin crawl. I really have nothing bad to say about it, it kept me intrigued right from the beginning. I guess if I have anything bad toThis movie is friggin creepy in a whole new way. It made my damn skin crawl, and it takes a lot to make my skin crawl. I really have nothing bad to say about it, it kept me intrigued right from the beginning. I guess if I have anything bad to say it's that it felt a little preachy in terms of environmentalism, but I don't hold that against it. If you're looking for a decent scare and intriguing story, The Bay is right for you. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
suity_saharApr 3, 2013
Decent movie. Not really scary at all actually I had only one moment where I was a bit frightened, but it was not boring either. The movie is played out through hand cameras, surveillance and even cell phone cameras. If you don't mind that,Decent movie. Not really scary at all actually I had only one moment where I was a bit frightened, but it was not boring either. The movie is played out through hand cameras, surveillance and even cell phone cameras. If you don't mind that, you wont waste your time on this one. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
JacobparkerMay 23, 2013
The Bay looks so real, that's why it's so scary.
There are so many disgusting moments and some really great shocks!
It's a fine eco-horror I've never seen something like that before
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
DoxideDec 19, 2012
This movie, like most found footage films these days, has its highs and its lows. Mostly lows. It documents a parasitic outbreak in a small town. The course of the outbreak is captured and the movie tracks several characters throughout theThis movie, like most found footage films these days, has its highs and its lows. Mostly lows. It documents a parasitic outbreak in a small town. The course of the outbreak is captured and the movie tracks several characters throughout the day. And that's it. Although the parasites are suitably disgusting and some of the scenes are quite tense, it's just not enough to carry a movie. There are no "wow" moments to really speak of. No real sense of creativity. And there is absolutely no payoff. The movie just sort of ends without any kind of resolution or finality. And to top it off, the one thing that I absolutely hated was the narrator. The girl who is supposed to guide the viewers through this traumatic event is about as lifeless as tree bark. Her monotone voice drones on and on and what's worse, she completely spoils any surprise. You see characters on screen then you hear her say "oh by the way, this person died later". Wow, way to build suspense. I say skip this one unless you're really bored and have an hour and a half to kill. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
6
dharmaJun 7, 2013
Great idea, mediocre execution: a found footage 'monster disaster' flick. But despite some pretty good shocks and a great start, the whole thing feels unorganized and cobbled together, with no payoff whatsoever. It's low budget for sure andGreat idea, mediocre execution: a found footage 'monster disaster' flick. But despite some pretty good shocks and a great start, the whole thing feels unorganized and cobbled together, with no payoff whatsoever. It's low budget for sure and it surprisingly came from Levinson, a renowned Oscar caliber director. Could have come from any young upstarts out there. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
Tss5078Aug 29, 2013
The Bay is a message hidden within a film, similar to 2008's the Happening, The Bay tells of the consequences of destroying our environment. In this film, dumping into the Chesapeake Bay has caused a harmless fish parasite to evolve into aThe Bay is a message hidden within a film, similar to 2008's the Happening, The Bay tells of the consequences of destroying our environment. In this film, dumping into the Chesapeake Bay has caused a harmless fish parasite to evolve into a human killer. What makes this film unique is the way in which it was shot. The film is shot as a documentary that was posted on a fictional Wikileaks type site, and tells the story of the outbreak in a small Maryland town, on July 4th. The cinematography is made up of everything you'd see at a small town festival, camcorders, cell phone cameras, news footage, police dash-cams, and security cameras. Through a collection of footage from the day, we are told the story of the outbreak by one of the only survivors, who had to let the world know of this tragedy that was covered up by the U.S. government. The different angles and the fact that their really weren't any main characters also make this film unique. The story really isn't much, as it just like a million other horror films. Everything is normal, until people start getting sick, and chaos ensues. It's not the story or even the actors that keep you interested in this film, it's the different pieces put together in documentary form by the narrator, Kether Donohue. Without the narration, it's just a collection of web clips, but there is some interest in finding out what happened to each of the people we see and in seeing them figure out what's going on at the same time that we do. It's not a great story and there aren't any stand out performances, but the film itself is done in such a unique way, that it will be like nothing you've ever seen before. Yes, The Bay is another way of telling us about the dangers of not caring for our environment, in a story that is severely lacking imagination, but it's worth seeing, simply from a stylistic point of view. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
AthanasiosTApr 5, 2013
By far the best "found footage" I've seen in recent years. Realistic and pretty close to what could happen in real life, if we screw nature too much. The fact that the film had no "main" heroes fighting with zombie hordes or supernaturalBy far the best "found footage" I've seen in recent years. Realistic and pretty close to what could happen in real life, if we screw nature too much. The fact that the film had no "main" heroes fighting with zombie hordes or supernatural beings, really added to the whole experience. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
oblique15Oct 5, 2013
This movie was interesting in the beginning, but the level of interest stayed about the same. It wasn't scary, just full of nasty scenes.The narrator tells you who`s going to die before they die, she makes you feel like you`re watching theThis movie was interesting in the beginning, but the level of interest stayed about the same. It wasn't scary, just full of nasty scenes.The narrator tells you who`s going to die before they die, she makes you feel like you`re watching the movie with some big mouth who saw it before. Also I get that it`s a Horror movie so the ending can`t be positive, but when the movie finished it felt incomplete. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
Nesbitt10Feb 26, 2013
It was only a matter of time before the found footage craze drew a bona-fide name-brand Hollywood filmmaker into its ongoing vortex. The story behind "The Bay" is that the US government coverup an--outbreak that wiped out the town ofIt was only a matter of time before the found footage craze drew a bona-fide name-brand Hollywood filmmaker into its ongoing vortex. The story behind "The Bay" is that the US government coverup an--outbreak that wiped out the town of Claridge, MD in 2009. All cameras and footage related to what happened were confiscated by the government, but now someone has compiled and the truth about what happened in Claridge, MD beings to leak out. Although this is placed in the horror genre--containing some tension and gruesome moments-this is comes of more of an eco-scare. The footage is a combination of the news filming of Stephanie and her cameraman, as well as other various form's of camera footage.This combination of POV adds an element of interest and realism to the film, expanding the storyline beyond what could have been achieved by a single camera held by a single individual. The movie jumps around town to give more comprehensive coverage of the crisis--sort of like if "Contagion" was told from a first-person point of view, and isn't nearly as good. The film follows the findings of a pair of marine biologists, who discovers species of benign organisms that appear to be evolving--into something more mischievous.

Levinson seems more interested in spreading a green message--than terrifying.viewers. There's nothing wrong with that, but audiences lured in by the trailers may be disappointed despite being well produced. The best found footage films "Paranormal Activity" and "REC's", immerse you fully in the hellish situation, and make you feel as if you're part of the terror. "The Bay" simply never does that, but it's an admirable attempt at something a bit different.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
JazzychefFeb 15, 2013
this film gives you no characters to invest in, leaving you no reason to care about the infection or the town and its inhabitants. this is recycled material, produced poorly. shame, was looking forward to it
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
Mr_MuumiMar 13, 2013
The Bay carries on from where Blair Witch Project and Paranormal Activity left. Unfortunately it doesn't add anything new to the "lost footage"- horror genre that is already beaten to death. Characters lack depth, acting is mediocre at best,The Bay carries on from where Blair Witch Project and Paranormal Activity left. Unfortunately it doesn't add anything new to the "lost footage"- horror genre that is already beaten to death. Characters lack depth, acting is mediocre at best, the story is inconsistent and offers nothing further to keep it interesting. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
JekSpaceyMay 11, 2014
The mockumentary is definitely the kind of movie more risky to turn, this is because, since the low-budget film, must contain within them the ideas and above all they must be able to entertain with little. Sometimes, in fact, are producedThe mockumentary is definitely the kind of movie more risky to turn, this is because, since the low-budget film, must contain within them the ideas and above all they must be able to entertain with little. Sometimes, in fact, are produced movie brilliant and interesting (an example would be "The Blair Witch Project"), sometimes authentic cinematic abortions as the aforementioned "The bay". Eighty endless minutes of events that happen at random, without a logical thread, but especially with such a mess that makes you a headache.
Obviously, the film critic has expressed a positive opinion on the movie, because you know that it is no longer the actual product to be judged but the high-sounding name of the artist who produces it, but you do not need to be critical to understand that "The Bay" is probably one of the worst films in the history of cinema.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
GuillermoBMMar 5, 2015
Summary: I really liked The Bay, because it looked realistic and its plot is thought-provoking. 61/100 [C+]

Directed by the academy award winner Barry Levinson and produced by Jason Blum, "The Bay" is an above-average, found-footage horror
Summary: I really liked The Bay, because it looked realistic and its plot is thought-provoking. 61/100 [C+]

Directed by the academy award winner Barry Levinson and produced by Jason Blum, "The Bay" is an above-average, found-footage horror film. First, let me say that the trailer is great, the premise is terrific and Barry Levinson is a very talented director. The entire film feels quite genuine, the found-footage adds lots of veracity and the acting is quite good. I really liked the performance of the news reporter. Moving on, even though its running time is very short (84 min), it didn't deliver enough scares or entertainment to me. Everything was kind of boring, but I give it credit because it looked extremely real the whole time.

I'm pretty sure that a huge part of the audience that disliked The Bay did not even try to understand the message of the movie. This ecological issue could actually happen in real life! It was so thought-provoking. Moving on, as I said the performances were great, just some extras were kinda weak. Kether Donohue's performance was excellent, she's a news reporter in the film and is documenting all the catastrophe in this little town; her character was dynamic and smart. In addition, she's not the only one important here, throughout the film we can see some scientists talking through Skype about this parasite and all these scenes were quite effective and interesting.

Do not expect jump-scares or lots of gore. This movie is more about scientists, laboratories, death fishes, people infected in hospitals and stuff like that. The Bay boasts a thought-provoking story about public services, in this case water contaminated, eww. Levinson cares about the human perspective and he gives us some nice camera shots in hospitals and streets. He smartly uses a found-footage style to present us his intriguing tale. Although at times he forgot how to maintain the film entertaining, I was satisfied by the end of it. I remember that I kept looking at a glass of water for minutes thinking... where does it come from? How clean is it?

It was very thrilling sometimes and it had two or three effective jump-scares, but two of them are in the trailer. A huge part of the scares and surprises were spoiled by the trailer, so please don't see it. Overall, it's one of the most believable found-footage films I've seen, even though it was not as entertaining as I thought. I only recommend it if you like documentaries or movies about ecological issues, pandemics or virus. The Bay is a horror film for a very specific audience, this is not that type of horror movie which you watch with some friends at night. I recommend you to see it alone, and judge it by yourself. [C+]
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
A_So_Horror_FanJun 5, 2015
Told through the lenses of multiple television reporter footage, video camera’s ranging from surveillance, camcorder and web cam footage there are a host of doomed characters in this film that play out a horrendous scenario in almost tooTold through the lenses of multiple television reporter footage, video camera’s ranging from surveillance, camcorder and web cam footage there are a host of doomed characters in this film that play out a horrendous scenario in almost too realistic fashion. The story unfolds with an eerie calm and warning much in the way real life tends to play out in the digital age with attention being demanded to certain social flaws, lack of protection for environment, responsible consumerism or proper understanding of consequences of commercialism. Only this film brings the worlds of doom-n-gloomer’s and human irresponsibility full force into a hellish realization. The story is a cross between environmental disaster and creature feature, yet is 100% nightmare.

“The Bay” manages to string together a very intense and creepy story by pulling you into the film through a witness of the disaster who managed to survive. A lot of people in this poor town did not! You would think the compiling of so many different types of footage from so many different video sources would be choppy or confusing but in this film’s case it runs smoothly and allows you not get wrapped into the story almost becoming unaware that it is a found footage styled movie. I felt like I was watching the real terror unfold after the event. Much like I tend to watch those shows that relive the disaster’s our world lives daily around the globe in order to find warning signs and learn for better preparedness of the future. I was surprised by how invested in this film I became as I sat with my eyes bugged out, holding my breath and cringing at all the gory goodness “The Bay” offers. I loved this movie.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
calebowensmallJan 23, 2016
If you didn't like this movie, your taste is bad. It's a well crafted, scary and disturbing, and Barry Levinson made the film even greater. Blumhouse can't help themselves with these great films
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews