Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 47 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Chaos breaks out in a small Maryland town after an ecological disaster occurs. (Roadside Attractions)
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: David Cox
    Oct 29, 2012
    100
    Levinson has always been acutely interested in the minutiae of human behaviour, and it's this concern that makes The Bay the triumph that it is.
  2. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    Nov 1, 2012
    90
    This astonishingly effective environmental nightmare is based on reasoning that, if you've been following the science, seems all too possible.
  3. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Nov 4, 2012
    80
    Is it, on some level, '70s-style horror schlock dressed up with contemporary gimmicks? Sure, but don't act like that's a bad thing! It's schlock with honor, schlock with a conscience, schlock that speaks to the way we live now.
  4. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Nov 6, 2012
    70
    It's a small movie but an effective one, using found footage as a means to an end and not as an end in itself. More like it would be a welcome trend.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Nov 1, 2012
    63
    The Bay is better than a shallow exercise, but crabby horror fans may have preferred that Levinson took a real plunge.
  6. Reviewed by: Karina Longworth
    Nov 1, 2012
    60
    Despite a handful of legit creepy moments, the film's concern with superficial realism prevents it from really hitting home; its fuzzy, fractured depiction of disaster never comes close to conjuring the "holy shit it could happen here don't touch that doorknob" real-world paranoia of last year's artfully Hollywood-ized disaster film, "Contagion."
  7. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Nov 1, 2012
    25
    The Oscar-winning director of "Rain Man" - whose last film, the abysmal documentary "PoliWood" never went much further than the Tribeca Film Festival - demonstrates he can make a shakycam found-footage horror movie every bit as fake-looking, clumsy and unscary as your average college student working on a $200 budget.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 18
  2. Negative: 6 out of 18
  1. Jul 7, 2014
    10
    More than just a good eco-horror flick with documental-style direction, The Bay is a fantastic examination of the political intrigue brewingMore than just a good eco-horror flick with documental-style direction, The Bay is a fantastic examination of the political intrigue brewing beneath the "community-interest" campaign while constantly leaving us breathless with some visually impressive elements of horror and shocking discoveries. Expand
  2. Jun 5, 2015
    8
    Told through the lenses of multiple television reporter footage, video camera’s ranging from surveillance, camcorder and web cam footage thereTold through the lenses of multiple television reporter footage, video camera’s ranging from surveillance, camcorder and web cam footage there are a host of doomed characters in this film that play out a horrendous scenario in almost too realistic fashion. The story unfolds with an eerie calm and warning much in the way real life tends to play out in the digital age with attention being demanded to certain social flaws, lack of protection for environment, responsible consumerism or proper understanding of consequences of commercialism. Only this film brings the worlds of doom-n-gloomer’s and human irresponsibility full force into a hellish realization. The story is a cross between environmental disaster and creature feature, yet is 100% nightmare.

    “The Bay” manages to string together a very intense and creepy story by pulling you into the film through a witness of the disaster who managed to survive. A lot of people in this poor town did not! You would think the compiling of so many different types of footage from so many different video sources would be choppy or confusing but in this film’s case it runs smoothly and allows you not get wrapped into the story almost becoming unaware that it is a found footage styled movie. I felt like I was watching the real terror unfold after the event. Much like I tend to watch those shows that relive the disaster’s our world lives daily around the globe in order to find warning signs and learn for better preparedness of the future. I was surprised by how invested in this film I became as I sat with my eyes bugged out, holding my breath and cringing at all the gory goodness “The Bay” offers. I loved this movie.
    Expand
  3. Nov 14, 2012
    7
    I kind like this film after I have watched so many boring,over-performed scary film.We all know after The Rec and The Blair Witch Project.I kind like this film after I have watched so many boring,over-performed scary film.We all know after The Rec and The Blair Witch Project. Many scary movies copy their filming way(play out through handled camera). Some movies got succeed like Paranormal Activity and Cloverfield. But some movies are total garbage,like The Devil Inside ,Apollo 18 and so on. But this one, The Bay is really great actually. It focus more on the reaction of the local government and show us clearly how the disease spread out and people get sick and desperate. Expand
  4. Jun 7, 2013
    6
    Great idea, mediocre execution: a found footage 'monster disaster' flick. But despite some pretty good shocks and a great start, the wholeGreat idea, mediocre execution: a found footage 'monster disaster' flick. But despite some pretty good shocks and a great start, the whole thing feels unorganized and cobbled together, with no payoff whatsoever. It's low budget for sure and it surprisingly came from Levinson, a renowned Oscar caliber director. Could have come from any young upstarts out there. Expand
  5. Aug 29, 2013
    5
    The Bay is a message hidden within a film, similar to 2008's the Happening, The Bay tells of the consequences of destroying our environment.The Bay is a message hidden within a film, similar to 2008's the Happening, The Bay tells of the consequences of destroying our environment. In this film, dumping into the Chesapeake Bay has caused a harmless fish parasite to evolve into a human killer. What makes this film unique is the way in which it was shot. The film is shot as a documentary that was posted on a fictional Wikileaks type site, and tells the story of the outbreak in a small Maryland town, on July 4th. The cinematography is made up of everything you'd see at a small town festival, camcorders, cell phone cameras, news footage, police dash-cams, and security cameras. Through a collection of footage from the day, we are told the story of the outbreak by one of the only survivors, who had to let the world know of this tragedy that was covered up by the U.S. government. The different angles and the fact that their really weren't any main characters also make this film unique. The story really isn't much, as it just like a million other horror films. Everything is normal, until people start getting sick, and chaos ensues. It's not the story or even the actors that keep you interested in this film, it's the different pieces put together in documentary form by the narrator, Kether Donohue. Without the narration, it's just a collection of web clips, but there is some interest in finding out what happened to each of the people we see and in seeing them figure out what's going on at the same time that we do. It's not a great story and there aren't any stand out performances, but the film itself is done in such a unique way, that it will be like nothing you've ever seen before. Yes, The Bay is another way of telling us about the dangers of not caring for our environment, in a story that is severely lacking imagination, but it's worth seeing, simply from a stylistic point of view. Expand
  6. May 11, 2014
    3
    The mockumentary is definitely the kind of movie more risky to turn, this is because, since the low-budget film, must contain within them theThe mockumentary is definitely the kind of movie more risky to turn, this is because, since the low-budget film, must contain within them the ideas and above all they must be able to entertain with little. Sometimes, in fact, are produced movie brilliant and interesting (an example would be "The Blair Witch Project"), sometimes authentic cinematic abortions as the aforementioned "The bay". Eighty endless minutes of events that happen at random, without a logical thread, but especially with such a mess that makes you a headache.
    Obviously, the film critic has expressed a positive opinion on the movie, because you know that it is no longer the actual product to be judged but the high-sounding name of the artist who produces it, but you do not need to be critical to understand that "The Bay" is probably one of the worst films in the history of cinema.
    Expand
  7. Sep 16, 2013
    0
    Without a doubt one of the worst horror films I have ever seen. Not only is this whole found footage thing so played out but it was so poorlyWithout a doubt one of the worst horror films I have ever seen. Not only is this whole found footage thing so played out but it was so poorly done in this film that it was flat out laughable. And let's not forget that the acting was incredibly weak and it wasn't even scary! This is the kind of trash you expect from a straight to video release and not from a film that was released in theaters. Expand

See all 18 User Reviews

Trailers