Metascore
33

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 11
  2. Negative: 5 out of 11
  1. Reviewed by: William Goss
    Feb 27, 2013
    50
    Its ultimate merits may be few, but if nothing else, it stands on its own sweaty terms.
  2. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Jan 10, 2013
    50
    The tin-earned dialogue and haphazard plotting are more reminiscent of Tarantino's frequent collaborator Robert Rodriguez.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    Jan 10, 2013
    50
    A boisterously Tarantinoesque mash-up of cliches, archetypes and bodacious craziness in the tradition of Southern-fried '60s and '70s drive-in fodder, The Baytown Outlaws is the sort of cartoonishly violent and swaggeringly non-PC concoction that defines guilty pleasure for many genre fans.
  4. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Jan 10, 2013
    50
    I'm not sure whether to recommend The Baytown Outlaws as a guns 'n' glory time-waster or warn you off it as a piece of mendacious trash. So I'll do both.
  5. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Jan 10, 2013
    40
    The Baytown Outlaws" avidly subscribes to the grindhouse aesthetic of Quentin Tarantino and Robert Rodriguez. If it has the right spit-in-your-face attitude, it has neither the stamina nor the wit to go the distance, although it makes it about two-thirds of the way.
  6. Reviewed by: Matt Singer
    Jan 9, 2013
    40
    It's unclear what drew the likes of Billy Bob Thornton, Eva Longoria and Andre Braugher to this tepid grindhouse retread, but at least they liven up the proceedings whenever they're onscreen.
  7. Reviewed by: Drew Hunt
    Jan 7, 2013
    38
    This schlocky piece of ultra violence plays like a pop-culture pastiche without a stable thematic foundation.
  8. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    Jan 9, 2013
    30
    A barrage of unbelievable stereotypes try to kill each other in Barry Battles's dispiriting exploitation flick.
  9. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Jan 8, 2013
    30
    A stew of cartoon stereotypes, violence, and "Freebird" cast in a skuzzy "Sons of Anarchy" mold.
  10. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Jan 10, 2013
    20
    Okay, y'all, the never-ending appeal of the Southern-fried crime caper for filmmakers hungry for flavor is back with The Baytown Outlaws. Only here, the drawling accents, screeching tires and sawed-off blasts that rise again don't amount to much.
  11. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Jan 8, 2013
    0
    The resulting mayhem and slaughter is vile and disgusting.
User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Apr 8, 2013
    10
    I created my new metacritic account Just to defend this OUTSTANDING Movie. I absolutely Loved it. Rented it, then went out and bought it the same day and watched it again. I just have to say I Loved it and any Normal person will too. Full Review »
  2. Apr 23, 2013
    8
    Okay, so you have Billy Bob Thornton in a cowboy kickass action movie. There's blood in The Baytown Outlaws all right! Heeeelllll yah! The film is really good, very simple and has clingy twists so you will be tangled and boggled from your mind. Watch this. Just watch it. Full Review »