Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: May 4, 2012
7.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 111 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
80
Mixed:
27
Negative:
4
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
MarcDoyleMay 9, 2012
It's a feel-good movie that works. Carpe-diem city. It encourages you to make more of your life and to live more grandly. The cast is superb. I especially enjoy the storyline surrounding the Indian family which owns the hotel. But MaggieIt's a feel-good movie that works. Carpe-diem city. It encourages you to make more of your life and to live more grandly. The cast is superb. I especially enjoy the storyline surrounding the Indian family which owns the hotel. But Maggie Smith, Dame Judy, and Bill Nighy, and Tom Wilkinson are truly outstanding. Wilkinson's journey to find his lost love was a surprising but great addition to the story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BHBarryMay 9, 2012
â
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
jeremypMay 27, 2012
This is a coming of age movie for old people. Our geriatric crowd loved it, and for once the Brits avoided the sap, mostly. The locale alone makes it worthwhile, although somewhat cleansed of it's abject poverty India shines through as aThis is a coming of age movie for old people. Our geriatric crowd loved it, and for once the Brits avoided the sap, mostly. The locale alone makes it worthwhile, although somewhat cleansed of it's abject poverty India shines through as a colorful, noisy, energetic place for old tattered folk to find some renewal. Dench is great, and all the great actors in the cast are unsurprising, hewing to a script without too much risk that tries to mix in pathos with the humor. Now if only the Brits would make a great movie that did not fit into Masterpiece Theater! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Andys_ReviewsJan 8, 2013
Beautifully shot showcasing all the vibrancy of life in an Indian city; I was impressed with the look of the film. All the performances were excellent, with Judi Dench and Tom Wilkinson standing out; I thought Dev Patel was a tad underusedBeautifully shot showcasing all the vibrancy of life in an Indian city; I was impressed with the look of the film. All the performances were excellent, with Judi Dench and Tom Wilkinson standing out; I thought Dev Patel was a tad underused though. I liked the fact that the writers didn Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TVJerryMay 21, 2012
Seven retirees travel to a lush resort in India, but discover a rather rundown result. Of course, the charms of the city work their magic and change their lives forever. The cast, including some of England's finest (Maggie Smith, Judi Dench,Seven retirees travel to a lush resort in India, but discover a rather rundown result. Of course, the charms of the city work their magic and change their lives forever. The cast, including some of England's finest (Maggie Smith, Judi Dench, Billy Nighy and Tom Wilkinson), is uniformly winning and the stories are sweet, if not predictable. Younger viewers may not appreciate its mature values, but the target audience is sure to find it charming, amusing and ultimately uplifting. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
markymarkMay 8, 2012
Some good lines - all of which were in the trailer - and competent perfomances fom some of Britain's best actors can't make this any more than a tepid, but reasonably entertaining, time-killer. It could have been something much better.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
emkadvMay 26, 2012
The film tells the story of a group of British retirees who are finding it hard to make ends meet in England and decide that they can do better in India. The get the brochure from the aforenamed hotel in Jaipur, which advertises that it isThe film tells the story of a group of British retirees who are finding it hard to make ends meet in England and decide that they can do better in India. The get the brochure from the aforenamed hotel in Jaipur, which advertises that it is "for elderly and beautiful people." When the guests arrive, they discover that they are the hotel's first guests and they go through all the hassles of dealing with any new business. Their story is a bit of a "fish out of water" story as they adjust to their environment, but it also depicts the character growth of not only the Brits but also of the hotel owner/manager and his family and friends. It finds both characteristics to celebrate and characteristics to make fun of in both cultures. And it has the requisite happy ending for most members of both groups, because "everything will come out all right in the end. If it is not all right, then this must not be the end." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BikerjamesMay 29, 2012
Parts of the story you've seen many times before and are predictable (the romance between the hotel's owner and his girlfriend comes to mind) but most of the movie is fresh and eminently watchable. The acting is superb across the board asParts of the story you've seen many times before and are predictable (the romance between the hotel's owner and his girlfriend comes to mind) but most of the movie is fresh and eminently watchable. The acting is superb across the board as you would expect with a cast of this magnitude. The storyline of Tom Wilkinson's character is especially moving. The exotic location of India and it's wonderful people make you want to visit the country. Overall a nice movie-going experience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SnadyMay 10, 2012
An absolutely delightful and pleasurable movie to watch. Let it make your day. Superlative cast of characters taking you to an exotic location. The cream of the British acting aristocracy. Music byThomas Newman directed by Madden. No computerAn absolutely delightful and pleasurable movie to watch. Let it make your day. Superlative cast of characters taking you to an exotic location. The cream of the British acting aristocracy. Music byThomas Newman directed by Madden. No computer effects, no botox. Just a pleasure to watch and enjoy!

The audience actually applauded for the joy they had been given,
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
6
TheQuietGamerJun 4, 2013
A very charming movie that manages to feel very human. A fantastic cast helps bring the movie up. It basically brings several characters together, each with their own story that we get to see come to a close. It manages to bring some touchingA very charming movie that manages to feel very human. A fantastic cast helps bring the movie up. It basically brings several characters together, each with their own story that we get to see come to a close. It manages to bring some touching moments together but in the end I couldn't help but feel some of what this movie has to offer was wasted on me because I was too young to understand it. Still I do admire this movie. Some of the plot lines end in a predictable manner but still managed to keep me watching. I can't really say a bad thing about this movie, it may be aimed at an older audience but the movie is still charming. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
hollyvMay 28, 2012
This movie is like a really well made martini - certainly predictable - but thoroughly enjoyable. Delightful ensemble of seasoned professional actors who could make reading an Ikea assembly manual compelling, beautiful location for filmingThis movie is like a really well made martini - certainly predictable - but thoroughly enjoyable. Delightful ensemble of seasoned professional actors who could make reading an Ikea assembly manual compelling, beautiful location for filming (only wish we saw more of it,) a nice dash of socially progressive. Uplifting and warm, it will inspire a variety of post-movie conversations about foreign retirement options for anyone over 40. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
lancekozJun 7, 2012
I Have a decent tolerance for sweetness in a story, so I didn't squirm when it became obvious where this was headed, and you would have to be foolish to expect otherwise from such British standards. Aside from that, this was a joy to watch.I Have a decent tolerance for sweetness in a story, so I didn't squirm when it became obvious where this was headed, and you would have to be foolish to expect otherwise from such British standards. Aside from that, this was a joy to watch. Almost every shot was planned in a way that delivered extra beauty or emotional punch. There was no sense that India was used only for background, the location was in every shot with gorgeous light, grunge and authenticity. And I am glad to be alive in a time where such elderly talent can employed as the focus of the story rather than a comic or tragic sidetrip. Revelatory, really. Humorous, touching, and intimate. My only gripe is that there were too many storylines, and I could've easily done without the romance by the younger Indian couple (the fact that their dialog was delivered in English didn't help). But to carp about this misses the point, that this was made in an EPIC manner.... the art direction and photography were STUNNING and there is plenty to enjoy in the story and quality acting. Like many movies, I only think it would've been stronger if it was 15 minutes shorter. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MagnificentMMay 29, 2012
The film works very well overall. It's greatest strength is, of course, the amazing cast. The standouts are Maggie Smith as a hilariously racist old woman stuck in a country full of "others," Judi Dench as a still grieving widow looking forThe film works very well overall. It's greatest strength is, of course, the amazing cast. The standouts are Maggie Smith as a hilariously racist old woman stuck in a country full of "others," Judi Dench as a still grieving widow looking for change, Bill Nighy as an unhappily married man, and Tom Wilkinson who's spent his whole life thinking of the man he once loved, who he left behind in India. These four are just wonderful to watch and they provide a lot of good humor. But then their is Dev Patel, who is less spectacular. The story follows these elderly people in India, and then randomly brings in Patel's character as another side plot, even though it breaks from the continuity of these elderly people looking for meaning in their life now that they are old and retired. I also found issue with the fact that the characters often spoke of the color and beauty of India, yet they didn't show much of it, other than many crowded streets. Lastly, the end of the movie was a mad dash to try and resolve all of the loose ends in under 15 minutes and it ended up failing. Even with these problems, the cast alone is more than capable of carrying this movie smoothly from beginning to end. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
lasttimeisawOct 16, 2012
Oscar-nominated director John Madden
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
nandopMay 11, 2012
Wonderful how they communicate what happens in India when westerns first land there, I've never seen a movie put it so well like this one. The images, the reactions, the needed adaptations - and the spirit of each one when facing it. I likedWonderful how they communicate what happens in India when westerns first land there, I've never seen a movie put it so well like this one. The images, the reactions, the needed adaptations - and the spirit of each one when facing it. I liked very much the insights that go inside the seven main characters and their relationships with themselves, with aging and with what's suddenly highlighted but the colors of India. Great movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MegWhiteleyMay 4, 2012
The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel, is an interesting movie, that have an interesting and great plot, the development is really fantastic, and the characters are incredible. This movie is really interesting.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
bosnianNov 12, 2012
Had no expectations and left very pleasantly surprised. Nothing exceptional, nothing overly dramatic, yet wonderful, emotional and interesting story that should not be missed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
beingryanjudeSep 1, 2014
It's reminiscent of other Indian extravaganzas--but somehow it shines through with its charming and memorable ensemble. The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel goes deep and hits hard.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
csw12Aug 12, 2013
Too many characters that are boring, irritating and offer nothing significant to distinguish each other in this overlong bore of a film. It seemed like an artificial attempt at adding depth to an otherwise run of the mill story, that actuallyToo many characters that are boring, irritating and offer nothing significant to distinguish each other in this overlong bore of a film. It seemed like an artificial attempt at adding depth to an otherwise run of the mill story, that actually ended up having a million clich├ęs. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
Trev29Aug 23, 2013
The movie throws together some great actors in a tired script, but it still is a well made engaging movie. It is funny and pleasurable and the location is really an extra delight.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GreatMartinMay 11, 2012
Open your bag of popcorn, take a sip of your soda and get ready to spend enjoyable time
some of the cream of the crop British actors in â
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
uclatlMay 5, 2012
Great cast playing off one another effortlessly and a nice story. The audience applauded at the end, people genuinely happy that they had gone to see the movie on it's first day out.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
GardinerMay 12, 2012
This novelistic tour-de-force takes us to the Anglo-Indian genre of E.M. Foster's "Passage to India," but in modern, post colonial dress. It is literate, funny, and a reminder of what great acting and warm humanity can mean in a film - asThis novelistic tour-de-force takes us to the Anglo-Indian genre of E.M. Foster's "Passage to India," but in modern, post colonial dress. It is literate, funny, and a reminder of what great acting and warm humanity can mean in a film - as opposed to robots and aliens romping in 3-D. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
DesireMercyJun 16, 2012
The actors and actresses in this movie did a splendid job. Their characters were mostly likable and believable. The story fell flat though, and the unneeded intrusion of controversial topics wasn't needed. It seemed like an artificial attemptThe actors and actresses in this movie did a splendid job. Their characters were mostly likable and believable. The story fell flat though, and the unneeded intrusion of controversial topics wasn't needed. It seemed like an artificial attempt at adding depth to an otherwise run of the mill story.

Don't get me wrong. I enjoyed the movie, but it left me with yet another reassurance that Hollywood is out of touch with the values of the majority of Americans. What's worse is that many of the more risque or controversial topics seemed tossed in solely to convince us this was indeed a "deep drama." However, at further inspection you can see this movie is about a few elderly people who are delusional to think that living out sexual fantasies will make them feel young and worthwhile. You'd think after living an entire life they'd have realized there is more to life than that.

Enjoyable movie, but not one I'd see again or even recommend. Go see something else. Save yourself some money.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
TheDRauchOct 15, 2012
A pleasant if conventional crowd-pleaser that makes great use of its seven experienced lead actors, 'The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel' is an enjoyable moviegoing treat with heartwarming performances and some great imagery of India to please ourA pleasant if conventional crowd-pleaser that makes great use of its seven experienced lead actors, 'The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel' is an enjoyable moviegoing treat with heartwarming performances and some great imagery of India to please our eyes. At times, the film suffers from extreme pacing problems and overall predictability (you won't find any surprises as far as plot is concerned). Along with being a bit too melodramatic, the characters' problems feel somewhat slight and the general tone of the movie is one of low stakes and leisure fun. All that being said, the performance aspect is grade-A and every actor receives a fitting vignette worthy of their talents. Tom Wilkinson's character, an aged gay man returning to India to find his long lost love, has the best side story by far and there is an air of seriousness and dramatic pull in the scenes depicting his search that is sorely lacking throughout the rest of the film. It's great to watch all of these inspired performances birthed from less-than-inspired characters (Judi Dench playing against type as a vulnerable widow and Maggie Smith as a hardened wheelchair-bound racist are some other highlighted spots), but sometimes we could use a little more heft to the story. Still, this is a very warm movie in general and is so far one of my favorites from 2012. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
MidnightCowboyJul 6, 2012
This movie wouldn't be as frustrating if not for the colossal waste of talent. A gathering of some of the best actors in the English speaking world are hamstrung by a script chock full of Anglo-Indian stereotypes and cliches. A dishearteningThis movie wouldn't be as frustrating if not for the colossal waste of talent. A gathering of some of the best actors in the English speaking world are hamstrung by a script chock full of Anglo-Indian stereotypes and cliches. A disheartening missed opportunity. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
KayleighGJul 24, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After seeing this film advertised on TV I decided to see what the fuss was about. I began watching it although I thought there was a slow start to it I found it enjoyable to watch. However, around 65minutes into the film I had to turn the film off due to distractions (visitors) I then left it for a few days before finishing watching it. I wouldn't usually go back to a film after only half watching it but there was something different about this film that made me want to see how it finished. The film gave a insight into each characters life at the beginning which made you feel closer to the characters throughout. As I am British I found it great how I could recognise the actors/actresses. I believe Judi Dench really made this film what it is, great acting and she really shows good emotion in her speaking. Overall Wonderful film and certainly a must see film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
JTKelleyAug 10, 2012
The high quality actors present here were deserving of a better script. A wonderful story, vibrant direction, and great cast were all let down by a below sub-par script.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Eon2323Jul 1, 2013
The film's only flaw of predictability is heavily outweighed by the wondrous performances of the film's superb cast and beautiful setting. It's genuine, sweet, and even has a bit of humor!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Arun_NarayananSep 23, 2012
From the point of view of an Indian, Dev Patel's character - and indeed the roles played by all of the Indians - is poorly conceived and entirely unbelievable. From the point of view of a movie buff, one witnesses subtle and stunningFrom the point of view of an Indian, Dev Patel's character - and indeed the roles played by all of the Indians - is poorly conceived and entirely unbelievable. From the point of view of a movie buff, one witnesses subtle and stunning performances delivered by its lead actors (and thankfully, Dev Patel is not one of them) despite an oversimplified plot line. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews