Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: May 4, 2012
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 108 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
77
Mixed:
27
Negative:
4
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
TheQuietGamerJun 4, 2013
A very charming movie that manages to feel very human. A fantastic cast helps bring the movie up. It basically brings several characters together, each with their own story that we get to see come to a close. It manages to bring some touchingA very charming movie that manages to feel very human. A fantastic cast helps bring the movie up. It basically brings several characters together, each with their own story that we get to see come to a close. It manages to bring some touching moments together but in the end I couldn't help but feel some of what this movie has to offer was wasted on me because I was too young to understand it. Still I do admire this movie. Some of the plot lines end in a predictable manner but still managed to keep me watching. I can't really say a bad thing about this movie, it may be aimed at an older audience but the movie is still charming. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MagnificentMMay 29, 2012
The film works very well overall. It's greatest strength is, of course, the amazing cast. The standouts are Maggie Smith as a hilariously racist old woman stuck in a country full of "others," Judi Dench as a still grieving widow looking forThe film works very well overall. It's greatest strength is, of course, the amazing cast. The standouts are Maggie Smith as a hilariously racist old woman stuck in a country full of "others," Judi Dench as a still grieving widow looking for change, Bill Nighy as an unhappily married man, and Tom Wilkinson who's spent his whole life thinking of the man he once loved, who he left behind in India. These four are just wonderful to watch and they provide a lot of good humor. But then their is Dev Patel, who is less spectacular. The story follows these elderly people in India, and then randomly brings in Patel's character as another side plot, even though it breaks from the continuity of these elderly people looking for meaning in their life now that they are old and retired. I also found issue with the fact that the characters often spoke of the color and beauty of India, yet they didn't show much of it, other than many crowded streets. Lastly, the end of the movie was a mad dash to try and resolve all of the loose ends in under 15 minutes and it ended up failing. Even with these problems, the cast alone is more than capable of carrying this movie smoothly from beginning to end. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
lasttimeisawOct 16, 2012
Oscar-nominated director John Madden
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Trev29Aug 23, 2013
The movie throws together some great actors in a tired script, but it still is a well made engaging movie. It is funny and pleasurable and the location is really an extra delight.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
TheDRauchOct 15, 2012
A pleasant if conventional crowd-pleaser that makes great use of its seven experienced lead actors, 'The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel' is an enjoyable moviegoing treat with heartwarming performances and some great imagery of India to please ourA pleasant if conventional crowd-pleaser that makes great use of its seven experienced lead actors, 'The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel' is an enjoyable moviegoing treat with heartwarming performances and some great imagery of India to please our eyes. At times, the film suffers from extreme pacing problems and overall predictability (you won't find any surprises as far as plot is concerned). Along with being a bit too melodramatic, the characters' problems feel somewhat slight and the general tone of the movie is one of low stakes and leisure fun. All that being said, the performance aspect is grade-A and every actor receives a fitting vignette worthy of their talents. Tom Wilkinson's character, an aged gay man returning to India to find his long lost love, has the best side story by far and there is an air of seriousness and dramatic pull in the scenes depicting his search that is sorely lacking throughout the rest of the film. It's great to watch all of these inspired performances birthed from less-than-inspired characters (Judi Dench playing against type as a vulnerable widow and Maggie Smith as a hardened wheelchair-bound racist are some other highlighted spots), but sometimes we could use a little more heft to the story. Still, this is a very warm movie in general and is so far one of my favorites from 2012. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ThegodfathersonJun 5, 2013
I wouldn't say that The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel is a masterpiece but I surely can give it credit for its sweetness, tardiness and raunchiness. Gay relations and petty lovers in this veteran drama are mixed like a rancid salad but when theI wouldn't say that The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel is a masterpiece but I surely can give it credit for its sweetness, tardiness and raunchiness. Gay relations and petty lovers in this veteran drama are mixed like a rancid salad but when the climax unfolds all the characters have a meaning of life. India's beautiful scenery is really good mixed but watching the climax makes you cry over its undeniably long runtime. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
markymarkMay 8, 2012
Some good lines - all of which were in the trailer - and competent perfomances fom some of Britain's best actors can't make this any more than a tepid, but reasonably entertaining, time-killer. It could have been something much better.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
DesireMercyJun 16, 2012
The actors and actresses in this movie did a splendid job. Their characters were mostly likable and believable. The story fell flat though, and the unneeded intrusion of controversial topics wasn't needed. It seemed like an artificial attemptThe actors and actresses in this movie did a splendid job. Their characters were mostly likable and believable. The story fell flat though, and the unneeded intrusion of controversial topics wasn't needed. It seemed like an artificial attempt at adding depth to an otherwise run of the mill story.

Don't get me wrong. I enjoyed the movie, but it left me with yet another reassurance that Hollywood is out of touch with the values of the majority of Americans. What's worse is that many of the more risque or controversial topics seemed tossed in solely to convince us this was indeed a "deep drama." However, at further inspection you can see this movie is about a few elderly people who are delusional to think that living out sexual fantasies will make them feel young and worthwhile. You'd think after living an entire life they'd have realized there is more to life than that.

Enjoyable movie, but not one I'd see again or even recommend. Go see something else. Save yourself some money.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
JTKelleyAug 10, 2012
The high quality actors present here were deserving of a better script. A wonderful story, vibrant direction, and great cast were all let down by a below sub-par script.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews