The Best Man Holiday

Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Nov 18, 2013
    70
    The Best Man Holiday is an inelegant movie, but its cast is so damn likable that we’re still willing to follow them — even when they’re not going anywhere.
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Nov 18, 2013
    63
    After starting out as a character-based ensemble piece, The Best Man Holiday turns into a predictable affair determined to hit as many familiar beats as possible while striving to wring tears and cheers in equal quantities from its audience.
  3. Reviewed by: Odie Henderson
    Nov 15, 2013
    88
    The Best Man Holiday has the potential to become a staple of Christmastime movie watching in the 'hood.
  4. Reviewed by: Kevin C. Johnson
    Nov 14, 2013
    75
    A full plate of tear-jerking drama is served here. And it’s even tastier than the first time around.
  5. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Nov 14, 2013
    63
    You don’t go to The Best Man Holiday to deconstruct its flaws. You go for its myriad, adamantly un-cerebral pleasures.
  6. Reviewed by: Randy Cordova
    Nov 14, 2013
    80
    One reason the movie works so well: Writer-director Malcolm D. Lee returns from the original, so the characters feel true to the first film. Secondly, most of the cast is back, and they have the kind of comfortable chemistry you can’t fake. It’s easy to believe these people have a history together.
  7. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Nov 14, 2013
    75
    There’s something pretty special about this cast, all of whom turn in excellent performances while alternating between light comedy and some seriously heavy dramatic lifting.
  8. Reviewed by: Peter Keough
    Nov 14, 2013
    63
    All in all, maybe the best 90 minutes of romantic comedy in theaters this fall. Unfortunately, the film is 122 minutes long.
  9. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Nov 14, 2013
    75
    A far more Tyler Perry-ish mixture of comedy and tragedy than the easygoing "Best Man" was, back in the pre-Perry movie era.
  10. Reviewed by: Ignatiy Vishnevetsky
    Nov 13, 2013
    67
    While The Best Man Holiday doesn’t have anything especially original to say on the subject, it’s still refreshing to see a reunion movie set aside the usual themes of aging and reconciliation to focus on how a group deals with death.
  11. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Nov 13, 2013
    78
    High spirits mark the first half of the film; quite simply, these guys are just fun to be around – most especially Howard, all half-lidded, cat-who-got-the-cream coolness.
  12. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Nov 13, 2013
    67
    The Best Man Holiday is an eggnog that's sticky-sweet and heavy at the same time.
  13. Reviewed by: Kate Erbland
    Nov 13, 2013
    69
    The Best Man Holiday goes whole hog on the holiday cheese, and there’s something admirable about an adult feature that doesn’t balk at real feelings, especially around the holidays (sex montages notwithstanding).
  14. 63
    An amusing, well-acted and sharply-timed holiday comedy, old friends getting together to prove that careers, families and kids aside, they’ve still got their R-rated edge, just as they did in college.
  15. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Nov 12, 2013
    80
    Lee seems less interested in capturing how people of color talk than in capturing how people talk. He coaxes us to step in and listen, and the very casualness of his invitation is the key to the joyousness of The Best Man Holiday, flaws be damned.
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Nov 16, 2013
    9
    The great thing about “The Best Man Holiday,” especially for viewers who were around the same ages as the group in both films is that is showsThe great thing about “The Best Man Holiday,” especially for viewers who were around the same ages as the group in both films is that is shows the natural trajectory of the character’s lives. The crew of friends that was in their late 20’s in the first film is now in their early 40’s and struggling with the kinds of life problems that people do over that timespan. Whether it’s financial, relationship, family or career oriented, everyone in “The Best Man Holiday” is dealing with something whether it’s loss, trust, friendship or love. Full Review »
  2. Dec 7, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I have probably watched the first movie, The Best Man, at least 5 to 6 times since it came out. It was funny, presented new angles for Black actors, and though Christianity, as with most Black films, was in there, it wasn’t overdone. As for the sequel, it is rare to get a whole cast to return when more than a decade has passed, and truly I think, when it comes to original movies and not ones based off someone who was alive, this is the best film featuring a Black majority cast in a while.

    Characters & Story
    In the film, everyone comes back and really the only new editions are the kids of the characters and the obligatory White co-star. For those who haven’t seen the first film though, the majority of the casts are all doing White-Collar work. Harper (played byTaye Diggs) is an author, and former teacher at NYU; his wife Robyn (played by Sanaa Lathan) is a Chef; his best friend Lance (played by Morris Chestnut) is a football player who is soon to retire; his wife Mia (played by Monica Calhoun) is a housewife; then there is Jordan (played by Nia Long) who works for MSNBC in a executive producer role; her new boyfriend Brian (played by Eddie Cibrian) who seemingly works on Wall Street; then there is Julian (played by Harold Perrineau) who seems to be a innovator in education, and runs his own school with the assistance of his wife Candace (played by Regina Hall); the last two to mention are Shelby (played by Melissa De Sousa) who is a reality TV star, and Quentin (played by Terrence Howard) who owns a managing firm.

    Altogether, they all have the type of lives and careers which make them sound like Cosby Show kids, but they also have quite a bit of drama as well. Most of which is featured in the first movie so I won’t go into all that. However, for this movie the idea is coming back together and trying to mend bonds which have weakened due to lack of time, effort and because of bad blood.

    Praise
    Probably the top thing about this movie is the comedy. This is a tad bit of social comedy in the film, but a large amount of laughs come from them cracking jokes on each other. Some of it is just jabs at one another, like the joke about Harper having a low sperm count, but other times the jokes were vicious like the fight Candace and Shelby have. At the same time though, I must also praise the non-comedic performances. Mind you, those who have seen the original, there is a lot of already existing drama since so many people dated each other, had sex with each other, or liked each other, in the group. Due to this, the chemistry between character and their history causes friction. But, naturally there is one thing which brings them together and bond like a family. Unfortunately though, said situation will bring the tears which makes me glad for Shelby and Quentin for comic relief. For, when I say a situation will bring you to tears, I mean that for at least 15 minutes I was dripping tears, sometimes it getting intense to the point I was lightly shaking and the roof of my mouth was hurting. So needless to say, bring your tissues for the writing and performances will test your sense of empathy.

    Criticism
    Which leads the few issues with the film. The main issue is that I do feel Harper and Lance’s relationship is less natural, in terms of writing and situations, than the rest of the stories. The thing which causes conflict between the two, after they reconcile, specifically is what I felt was sort of forced and was eye-roll inducing. Still, it helped push the story along. The only other issue, and this is really nitpicking, is that Lance brings an almost Tyler Perry style faith in Christianity which only bothered me since I am growing tired of Black characters solely being Christian and not spreading their wings to other faiths, or being agnostic/ atheist.

    Overall: Worth Seeing
    Usually I count how often I laugh when I see a comedy film, but I enjoyed myself so much I forgot to. Truly, this film reminds me why I watch the original, Love Jones,Jason’s Lyric, and other romantic dramedys that came out in the 90s/00s. They remind you, as a movie enthusiast, that there is more out there for Black actors than them doing slave roles, doing buffoon comedy pictures, or doing films based off people’s lives. And this isn’t to say that there aren’t dramatic roles done which are fiction or original, but when do they get the type of push The Best Man Holiday is getting? This is why I think it is worth seeing. Not just because it is a good film featuring Black people, or because it is a sequel to a classic, but because it is a good film period. One that does enough to acknowledge these are African-Americans we are seeing, but in a Cosby Show way so that it isn’t trying to alienate a general audience, and speak to more than simply the skin color, and backgrounds, of the cast. Truly, I hope this film inspires another renaissance, for we are badly in need of one.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 30, 2013
    8
    Best Man Holiday picks up where Best Man left off. As a person who embraces diversity especially through film, I enjoyed every twist and turnBest Man Holiday picks up where Best Man left off. As a person who embraces diversity especially through film, I enjoyed every twist and turn that the film director gave viewers. IF you enjoy humor, sexual innuendos and rekindling and heeling of friendship bonds then this film is for you. Full Review »