Miramax Films | Release Date: March 2, 2005
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 170 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
149
Mixed:
9
Negative:
12
WATCH NOW
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
AlanLNov 15, 2009
I saw this film when it was first released. it is now November 2009 and I just recommended it to a friend, deciding for the first time to look at some of the film's reviews. Reading those reviews brought back so much of my pleasure in I saw this film when it was first released. it is now November 2009 and I just recommended it to a friend, deciding for the first time to look at some of the film's reviews. Reading those reviews brought back so much of my pleasure in this film that I began to have tears in my eyes. The film is a great experience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertLSep 23, 2009
One of the best films I've ever seen. Beautiful, warm, suspenseful, tender. Can't recommend too highly. After the six hours you'll still not want it to end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CristinaAAug 9, 2009
Gripping, wonderful story, great acting. I didn't want it to end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShirleyLFeb 15, 2009
I want to give it 9.5. I had seen it at least 6 times and every time I still found new clues and new interpretations of the characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarcoBJun 11, 2008
The movie is very long, so the comment will be very short: it's just an astonishing piece of filmmaking, who leaves you begging for more after 6 hours. Just see it and enjoy the experience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JeffTMay 10, 2008
Too long. I saw this film to practice Italian and that was my motivation to see the whole thing. To begin with, I didn't know it was six hours so I kept waiting for it to end. I don't understand all the raves. I am a foreign film Too long. I saw this film to practice Italian and that was my motivation to see the whole thing. To begin with, I didn't know it was six hours so I kept waiting for it to end. I don't understand all the raves. I am a foreign film aficionado but this one was much too slow for me and it had too many subplots. I couldn't relate nor bond with any of the characters. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KeyserS.Feb 27, 2008
The most beautiful story?Yes.Seriously,this story will touch the heart of any human being.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TodP.Dec 29, 2007
Like no other film. Overwhelming in the way that a great novel can be.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelB.Nov 11, 2007
Haunting & historic, an unusual achievement.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LindaC.Oct 15, 2007
I found the movie mesmerizing but ultimately unfulfilling. It was beautifully filmed and acted, but the story and characters were too melodramatic. It had a soap-opera quality to it. I doubt I would have stayed tuned if the show were in I found the movie mesmerizing but ultimately unfulfilling. It was beautifully filmed and acted, but the story and characters were too melodramatic. It had a soap-opera quality to it. I doubt I would have stayed tuned if the show were in English. The subtitles and beautiful Italians made the film seem better than it really was. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LKR.Sep 27, 2007
This film/series is "the" best(made forTV) film that I've ever seen! Has a transformational quality and potential. I originally rented it not knowing a thing about it. I now own it because my video store (boo hoo) is going out of This film/series is "the" best(made forTV) film that I've ever seen! Has a transformational quality and potential. I originally rented it not knowing a thing about it. I now own it because my video store (boo hoo) is going out of business and I bought the one copy they had. I rarely, if ever, buy a DVD, but this was an exception. It is a universal story about family, love, compassion, passion, choices, acceptance, pain, humanity, the individual spirit, the collective spirit, and so, so much more. One has to see it and experience it. I couldn't stop watching it and have viewed it 3 times now. The actors and director's choices were so amazing, beautiful and thoughtful cinematography, locations, editing and directing. Even the subtitles/translation were great. The dialogue and narratives were so sensitive, intelligent, historically accurate and balanced. I recommend watching the 6 hours in one sitting to get the full effect of the story. Why can't we produce quality TV programming like this in the US? If they did, I just might re-hook up the TV to regular satellite or cable and pay. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SylviaP.Sep 1, 2007
The best 6 hours I've spent doing anything---it casts a spell on you the viewer and even after the movie's over the spell doesn't let you go. A wonderful cast and superb acting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MaePJul 25, 2007
WOW!! What a great movie!! I didn't realize when I was flipping channels and started watching this movie that it was 6 hours long. Time flew and I was sad to see it end! I have not enjoyed a movie that much in a long time! I'm glad WOW!! What a great movie!! I didn't realize when I was flipping channels and started watching this movie that it was 6 hours long. Time flew and I was sad to see it end! I have not enjoyed a movie that much in a long time! I'm glad i was flipping through the channels, or I would have missed it. This is truly a masterpiece! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MikeRJun 26, 2007
Stimulating, idealistic, wish the cinematography was in better definition HD would be have been nice but can't think of a better drama or use my time during work at home day.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichelleJun 6, 2007
When I read what the movie was about it was so interesting so I decided to watch. Little did I know it was over 6 hours long!! It was like a Soap Opera, I just couldn't turn away. A beautiful story about life, love, death and When I read what the movie was about it was so interesting so I decided to watch. Little did I know it was over 6 hours long!! It was like a Soap Opera, I just couldn't turn away. A beautiful story about life, love, death and what's always there in the end, family. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LeeC.May 15, 2007
Absolutely the very best riveting family saga I have ever watched. Excellent acting, directing, cinametoligy, music and scenery.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MelitaL.Apr 26, 2007
Absolutely wonderful movie! A masterpiece indeed. Like watching my whole life being played out in italian. Very true to the time period it unfolds in, I remember every crease of those moments... Watch it and love it. -- More for euro-audience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LloydM.Apr 19, 2007
A masterpiece. Its sincerity, visual and aural beauty, and depiction of the interplay of personal character and social history sets it apart from most contemporary films. An extraordinary collaboration on an epic scale.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NeilH.Mar 15, 2007
Absolutely beautiful. I only wish that America could make a movie as wholesome and magnificent as this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ButteredPopcornFeb 15, 2007
Could not get past the mini-series feel to this movie. Too much like televisin for me. Seemed simplistic at its heart, thoguh it keeps you waiting in an almost teasing manner for the plot to unfold.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KatherineR.Jan 28, 2007
One the best films I've seen in soooo long. Like curling up with a great novel and that's saying a lot when it comes to film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DarenA.Dec 5, 2006
I would prefer book over the movie all the time, but since I watched this movie, I was stunned... Extremelly detailed, for 6 and a half hours I was not bored one single second.... Choice of actors is absolutely masterminded. High quality movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SusannaGOct 18, 2006
Fabulous, engrossing, beautiful, meaningful film for anyone who ever lived in Italy and everyone else.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnaMGOct 17, 2006
From the first few minutes to the very end, I was captured, enraptured, as never before (maybe Cinema Paradiso comes close-maybe not). You know these people, you feel with them, the heart almost explodes with emotion in some parts - it never From the first few minutes to the very end, I was captured, enraptured, as never before (maybe Cinema Paradiso comes close-maybe not). You know these people, you feel with them, the heart almost explodes with emotion in some parts - it never leaves you. It holds you in its hand and you will remember it forever. What a gift to see this gem. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SimonS.N.Oct 12, 2006
Watching this movie was a pure joy. It was one of the greatest 6 hours of my life!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GregB.Oct 12, 2006
An incredible film. I wish Hollywood could produce a film like this...a film so rich in depth and human emotion. This is a film that is excellent without a multi-million dollar budget, special effects, etc.....It's true what others say, An incredible film. I wish Hollywood could produce a film like this...a film so rich in depth and human emotion. This is a film that is excellent without a multi-million dollar budget, special effects, etc.....It's true what others say, you don't want this movie to end, even after watching for six hours. Also, the scenery of both Italy and Norway is absolutely beautiful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeffM.Sep 8, 2006
Powerful and haunting. It's definitely worth your time (over 2 evenings).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HelenH.Jul 16, 2006
'This is the best movie I have seen since "The City of God." I just saw it for the second time and it is that rare movie which becomes richer and deeper when you know what is to come. It is ultimately optimistic about life. The ending 'This is the best movie I have seen since "The City of God." I just saw it for the second time and it is that rare movie which becomes richer and deeper when you know what is to come. It is ultimately optimistic about life. The ending is so perfect and so full that even after six hours it is too bad it had to end. the "Best of Youth" will stick with you and come back to you in waves and snatches at the most unexpected times. It has the power to change your life for the better See it with someone you love; this is a movie to be shared and lingered over. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JonI.Jun 4, 2006
Must be definitely the most overated movie in cinema history. 2 reasons: pathetic performances and boring, boring, boring plot. Don't give it a chance if you have any respect for cinema masters (Coppola, Kusturica, Lynch, Antonioni) or Must be definitely the most overated movie in cinema history. 2 reasons: pathetic performances and boring, boring, boring plot. Don't give it a chance if you have any respect for cinema masters (Coppola, Kusturica, Lynch, Antonioni) or for yourself. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
louisedavidMay 14, 2006
C'est le plus beau film que j'ai vu depuis que j'ai visionné le film '' Les uns et les autres de Claude Lenouche''.
J'ai le goût de vivre en Italie et de voir les paysages vus dans ce
C'est le plus beau film que j'ai vu depuis que j'ai visionné le film '' Les uns et les autres de Claude Lenouche''.
J'ai le goût de vivre en Italie et de voir les paysages vus dans ce film. Les personnages sont humains et vivent beaucoup de drames. Quel beau sujet de discussion sur la santé mentale et l'art de communiquer ou de ...ne pas communiquer ses maux de l'âme.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmélieMay 13, 2006
So beautiful, magical. One of the best moive ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StivenApr 21, 2006
This is an amazing cimetographic achievement! It's as gorgeous as it's heartbreaking. This italian drama is a marvel to the foreign eye. La Meglio Gioventu is a movie you do not want to miss.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
CarolinaB.Apr 17, 2006
I was really looking forward to seeing this film because of all the great reviews I'd read and heard on NPR. I love foreign films and have no problem with slow, complicated movies. But this one was marred by bad acting from three of the I was really looking forward to seeing this film because of all the great reviews I'd read and heard on NPR. I love foreign films and have no problem with slow, complicated movies. But this one was marred by bad acting from three of the main actors. Giorgia is a caricature of a mentally ill patient and her role in the film is treated more as a prop than an actual character. The actress who plays the terrorist Giulia gives a really bad, childish performance -- lots of averted and halting glances to telegraph hesitancy and other emotions (not to mention the hideous straw wigs they have her wearing). The actor who plays Matteo is the same -- a lot of staring off through his car windshield to telegraph intensity and troubled emotions. The character has inexplicable anger and hostility that never gets explained, even when his sister asks outright "What did we ever do to you to deserve such treatment?" Good question. We never learn why he's so messed up. And after all that intensity, the director gives him a comical death scene (I actually laughed when he rolled himself over the wall to his death -- it was just such a ridiculous and awkward way for him to jump). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisP.Apr 5, 2006
The only 6 hour movie that i wouldn't have minded being longer. Fantastic, emotional, engrossing... every minute is worth it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TheresaL.Apr 1, 2006
When I heard it was six hours I hesitated. It was worth every minute ofthe six hours. It indeed was a beautiful story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
XavierA.Mar 26, 2006
Shallow in the Italian history, easily sentimental-even corny, short interpretative range in the main actors, After a minimally acceptable first half, it becomes a tear jerker in the second. Thumbs down.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
2RoadsMar 8, 2006
It is a brilliant and engrossing story of the complexities of human behavior as well as an exemplary study of characterization--something that is diluted on Hollywood studio turf--with the backdrop of Italia's baby boomer generation and It is a brilliant and engrossing story of the complexities of human behavior as well as an exemplary study of characterization--something that is diluted on Hollywood studio turf--with the backdrop of Italia's baby boomer generation and change that created a contemporary Renaissance for new freedom. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AdonisS.Mar 7, 2006
I rented this movie not knowing that its 6 hours long. But this movie was so captivating that I merely lost track of time the whole way through. I wish they could have developed some of the characters a little bit more though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RonG.Feb 28, 2006
Truly one of the most powerful six hours spent watching a movie. The story line is compelling. The ability to generate and control sea changes of emotions throughout the movie in an incredibly understated and effective way I found amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GaryFeb 25, 2006
I hate subtitles, but the move was so good It didnt seem to matter. It was truely a wonderful experience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BearC.Feb 20, 2006
Give yourself over to this four-decade tour of heart and family. Worth every moment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CinthiaW.Feb 2, 2006
I can't remember the last time I saw a film that moved me as much as "The Best of Youth." It is truly a masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CurtisW.Jan 16, 2006
The best movie I have seen in years. I could have watched three more hours.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TommasoB.Jan 7, 2006
As an Italian-born film lover I've been waiting for this to happen since the death of Pier Paolo Pasolini, a good 30 years ago. This movie brings back memories of the greatest Italian tradition of such revered filmmakers as Fellini, De As an Italian-born film lover I've been waiting for this to happen since the death of Pier Paolo Pasolini, a good 30 years ago. This movie brings back memories of the greatest Italian tradition of such revered filmmakers as Fellini, De Sica, Rossellini and Visconti. My only hope is that others will follow Giordana's example, because the Italian cinema dramatically needs extraordinary works like this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LauraMNov 10, 2005
Such a warm engaging film. The first five hours or so were completely deserving of a 9. Then it seemed to run out of steam, for me at least. There was nothing left to drive the narrative.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BradCOct 24, 2005
The best dramatic film I've ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulK.Oct 10, 2005
Until I see Capote and the rest of the so-called "vaunted" films arriving between now and the end of the year, The Best of Youth is not only my favorite film of 2005, it is for me one of the great film experiences of my life, a supremely Until I see Capote and the rest of the so-called "vaunted" films arriving between now and the end of the year, The Best of Youth is not only my favorite film of 2005, it is for me one of the great film experiences of my life, a supremely involving masterpiece that pulls you in and holds you in its grip for all of its 6 hours. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TerryMOct 5, 2005
This film was so completely intoxicating that after the Part 1 cliffhanger of an ending I rewarded myself with Part 2 following a 12 hr shift at the hospital. It gets my vote as my favorite dramatic Italian film-besting the likes of "La Dolce Vita."
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RPMcCOct 4, 2005
Truly great cinema. Painted on an epic scale by masters of the artform. The retirment scene alone is perhaps one of the greatest displays of acting ever commited to celluloid.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
carlinaf.Sep 26, 2005
A haunting saga of a complicated family. I hated to see it end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
pdiddyAug 20, 2005
This movie meanders...could easily be shortening to a good 2-2.5 hours...and we would not have lost that much in terms of the essence. Sure, we would have missed out on much background scenes but since when does scenery and background make a This movie meanders...could easily be shortening to a good 2-2.5 hours...and we would not have lost that much in terms of the essence. Sure, we would have missed out on much background scenes but since when does scenery and background make a great movie? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BobS.Aug 9, 2005
I missed the boat on this one! Joe M is the only one I agree with! Length doesn't mean greatness in my book. I am the biggest pushover for crying at most any movie and not once did I tear up during the entire 6 hours. I do not I missed the boat on this one! Joe M is the only one I agree with! Length doesn't mean greatness in my book. I am the biggest pushover for crying at most any movie and not once did I tear up during the entire 6 hours. I do not understand all the raves especially from the pros! It reminded me more of The Thorn Birds than anything else. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnthonyAug 6, 2005
Amazing. I didn't think films like this could be made. Easily one of the greatest films that I have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveM.Aug 1, 2005
A great epic in the tradition of the realistic novels of the 19th Century. Reminds the viewer how great Italian cinema is . . .and can be!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JoeM.Jul 22, 2005
Most of the reviews are absurdly generous. The idea of the film, and the book, is a very good, one, but it just does not come off in my view. There is no charcater development, or not very much anyway, and the narrative is very jarring, with Most of the reviews are absurdly generous. The idea of the film, and the book, is a very good, one, but it just does not come off in my view. There is no charcater development, or not very much anyway, and the narrative is very jarring, with lots of small scenes, some of which are nice, but it does not make a good "epic" whole. I suppose this is common in "slice-of-life" movies And the two brothers meeting up in Florence, or inTurin-come on. The story is hardly the stuff of great 19th century novels-what are the professional reviewers smoking??? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnC.Jul 10, 2005
Magnifico!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MartiR.Jul 8, 2005
Couldn't wait to see part 2, and then hated to see it end. It told an incredible story by focusing sensitively on relationships, not on sensationalism. Beautifully done.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
judya.Jul 5, 2005
The best movie I have seen in the last decade.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisM.Jul 1, 2005
This epic is as grand in scope as it is sublime. I was particularly struck by the fact that the film's climaxes were cinematic climaxes. There are numerous stories that we've in and out and through the film, but the director does This epic is as grand in scope as it is sublime. I was particularly struck by the fact that the film's climaxes were cinematic climaxes. There are numerous stories that we've in and out and through the film, but the director does not rely on trauma or excess for his moments of bliss: instead we find them when Giorgia sits on a curb biting into a tomato or when the camera opens onto vast Italian landscapes. The stories are indeed moving, but the truly elevating moments were found in those shots that conveyed an almost unbearable intimacy--intense and raw close-ups--or where the landscape fills one with awe: and aren't these simple and sensual moments often the times in our lives when we feel the most passionate and elated? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanC.Jun 27, 2005
A film that moves you...una storia della vita!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimK.Jun 27, 2005
This is simply my favourite movie of all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MichaelV.Jun 21, 2005
OK maybe im too imature to apreciate something like this and vote on it without seeing it and if it were scaled down im sure like most scaled down attempts it would suck but let me just put my point across "JESUS F#$%ING CHIRST THIS MOVIE ISOK maybe im too imature to apreciate something like this and vote on it without seeing it and if it were scaled down im sure like most scaled down attempts it would suck but let me just put my point across "JESUS F#$%ING CHIRST THIS MOVIE IS 6 F#$%ING HOURS LONG!!!!!!!!!!!" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarioA.Jun 4, 2005
What a pity American TV can never aspire to such heights. What a pity that in the US, TV audiences are so dumbed down that life experiences such as this film is denied them.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StephanieJun 2, 2005
A truly spectacular singular film experience...Six hours has never passed so quickly or pleasurably. (I didn't want it to end.) And I can't even identify what it is that makes this film so wonderful, except perhaps the love and A truly spectacular singular film experience...Six hours has never passed so quickly or pleasurably. (I didn't want it to end.) And I can't even identify what it is that makes this film so wonderful, except perhaps the love and respect for all the characters. Basically, the film covers one Italian family from 1966 to 2003. But I can't sum it up much more than that (I tried for someone duriing a bathroom break between parts 1 and 2 and it's just too much.) Moving, funny, evocative, plus stunning Italian locations. This is really a film that will stay with you - I'm still thinking of it, weeks afterwards. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AllanO.May 29, 2005
Too schematic, heavy-handed. The coincidences were laughable. I was bored.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
misterpMay 17, 2005
Absolutely absorbing multi-generational story of Italy from the 60s to the 90s. Compelling characters, great scenery, beautiful women, and multiple, overlapping story lines compensate for disappointingly apolitical ethos.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeffD.May 11, 2005
A wonderful, human film that is totally absorbing, with fabulous performances and with many moments of high relevance to our own lives. It is essentially a six-hour love letter on the importance of family, caring, choice and chance. But A wonderful, human film that is totally absorbing, with fabulous performances and with many moments of high relevance to our own lives. It is essentially a six-hour love letter on the importance of family, caring, choice and chance. But beware! Do not get so absorbed in it that it becomes a substitution for brining joy, vigor and compassion into your own relationships. Learn from this film and go out vivify your OWN life. Do not take it as a soap opera you can cry in and then go home and play computer games. (One point off for the overly conventional cinematography, all other factors are 10+) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelMay 8, 2005
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
marcoc.Apr 28, 2005
One of few film released in the last few years deserving of full marks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
bobs.Apr 25, 2005
Best movie of the last years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DavidW.Apr 22, 2005
Certainly a wonderful and fun cinematic experience, but at times it's painfully slow and very much a foreign film experience. Knowing that the stories of the characters are well told and engrossing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeR.Apr 14, 2005
This movie has it all: profound insight, a finely woven script, superb acting, and deep respect for the human experience. This is one of the best movies I have ever seen. Period.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
pedrot.Apr 4, 2005
Una de las películas más hermosas que he visto en mucho tiempo. Una verdadera maravilla. Un lujo al alcance de quienes la hayan visto, uno de esos pequeños secretos, que sin grandes promciones o ínfulas Una de las películas más hermosas que he visto en mucho tiempo. Una verdadera maravilla. Un lujo al alcance de quienes la hayan visto, uno de esos pequeños secretos, que sin grandes promciones o ínfulas artísiticas, se hace un lugar en tu vida. No se la pierdan. Un saludo desde Torrevieja (España). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KathyF.Apr 3, 2005
Unbelievable. The most beautiful film in your lifetime. Passionate, vibrant, true and restrained. No Hollywood tricks. Something out of Bergman yet contemporary.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DavidT.Mar 28, 2005
The first 4 hours are wonderful, but resolving the various plots depended too heavily on farfetched events and became shameless in emotional manipulation at the end. A five-hanky finish.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidB.Mar 19, 2005
This film will move you when you see it, and its images and characters will stay with you for a long time afterward.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
richardk.Mar 10, 2005
This film was simply wonderful and totally involving. I planned to see part I and return at another time to see part II..but could not leave this family and their experiences...I have read all of the reviews (in English) and only wish that This film was simply wonderful and totally involving. I planned to see part I and return at another time to see part II..but could not leave this family and their experiences...I have read all of the reviews (in English) and only wish that more people can and will see this highly involving and emotionally draining (in a good way not at all manipulative) film than all of the mainstream films that are out there...tears flowed freely but it was a cleansing kind of emotional experience...I just loved it and will go back to see it again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful