Gramercy Pictures (I) | Release Date: March 6, 1998
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 533 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
484
Mixed:
29
Negative:
20
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
Meth-dudeSep 24, 2016
It's not particularly funny, it's not particularly entertaining and the story was pretty stupid. In fact, That's the problem with the movie, it's just average. The acting was good and the soundtrack was great but it wasn't enough to make theIt's not particularly funny, it's not particularly entertaining and the story was pretty stupid. In fact, That's the problem with the movie, it's just average. The acting was good and the soundtrack was great but it wasn't enough to make the movie good.The Big Lebowski definitely is an underwhelming movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
jblum1998May 13, 2016
The ultimate cult film!! The Big Lebowski is a strange, quirky and very funny film and one of the Coen Brothers' BEST!! Jeff Bridges plays the role of the iconic Dude flawlessly!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
HotelCentralFeb 24, 2016
I'm giving this film a Mild 7 because I would classify it as more or less entertaining. If you can imagine potheads and semi-psychotic vets as a source of comedy then probably you will find The Big Lebowsky to be worth the watch.I'm giving this film a Mild 7 because I would classify it as more or less entertaining. If you can imagine potheads and semi-psychotic vets as a source of comedy then probably you will find The Big Lebowsky to be worth the watch. Ultimately, this film is not a comedy masterpiece, it's not deep, and it probably isn't correct to say that it's actually "about" anything. But it is more or less entertaining, which is why I call it a Mild 7.

I'm not really a fan of John Goodman, but in this film he does some good work and actually did provoke me to laugh "out loud." There is also a scene involving an artist "painting" like a Jackson Pollock no one has ever seen.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FilmQueenNov 28, 2015
A very funny film, although slow at certain points. It's good that The Dude is a sympathetic character, because his friend is **** annoying, honestly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TheDude-Jun 29, 2015
The big lebowski is one of the best films of all time the characters have a likability that most films cant capture, the dialogue is one of the funniest and most natural I have ever seen and the film has a lot of things to uncover such asThe big lebowski is one of the best films of all time the characters have a likability that most films cant capture, the dialogue is one of the funniest and most natural I have ever seen and the film has a lot of things to uncover such as theories that are not directly told but in a subtle way so multiple viewings is beneficial and a lot of fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
FlickLoverMay 30, 2015
Unfortunately, The Big Lebowski failed to "bowl" me over. I wanted it to "strike" me the way it struck others. However, it was more like staring down the "lane" at a "7-10 split."
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
jr1445Apr 12, 2015
This is not the worst movie ever made by established star like Bridges, Moore, and Goodman. But it's close. Horrible. Not funny, not smart, not witty, not entertaining in the least.
0 of 7 users found this helpful07
All this user's reviews
8
LelchelseaJan 19, 2015
Smart, entertaining and downright ridiculous this movie is truly one of the best sleazy films full of wit, stupidity and truly quotable moments. Jeff Bridges and John Goodman make the one of the best comedy duos in this cult classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
MrDavidBenSep 12, 2014
I often find that Coen Brothers movies can be rather hit and miss, sadly The Big Lebowski was a miss for me. It was one of those films where I really wished I could get the hours back that I had lost watching a film that I feel just doesn'tI often find that Coen Brothers movies can be rather hit and miss, sadly The Big Lebowski was a miss for me. It was one of those films where I really wished I could get the hours back that I had lost watching a film that I feel just doesn't measure up to some of the other Coen entries.

The film had moments that made me chuckle but never really had me in stitches with laughter, perhaps it just wasn't my humour (which is fairly broad I might add). I'll give it credit that there were some good performances during the film from the likes of Bridges and Buscemi but on the whole I wasn't hugely impressed. I must be missing why this film has such a cult status... then again some of the most terrible movies have cult status for some reason or another.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
chwJul 18, 2014
The Big Lebowski was pretty good. It is a little out there because it is a film from Joel and Ethan Coen, but besides that, The Big Lebowski was still pretty good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
heeldavidJun 3, 2014
Great crime comedy from The Coen Brothers, a smart story with very weird and colorful characters, Jeff Bridges puts on a great comedic performance, great work from the supporting cast that includes John Goodman, Julianne Moore, Steve Buscemi,Great crime comedy from The Coen Brothers, a smart story with very weird and colorful characters, Jeff Bridges puts on a great comedic performance, great work from the supporting cast that includes John Goodman, Julianne Moore, Steve Buscemi, the late Phillip Seymour Hoffman and many others Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DrastreApr 29, 2014
One of my all time favorites. Pure comedy genuis. It's original, uniqu and hilarious. It deserves it's cult following and fan base. And if you don't like it, Well that's just like your opinion man.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
markymarkApr 26, 2014
I love the Coens' films but this is the one I've enjoyed the least. I found it uninspired, lazy and monotonous. Almost like they lost focus after the success of Fargo. Massively overrated in my opinion.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
WhrodMar 18, 2014
A masterpiece. The Coen's brothers at their finest. A film unlike any other even to this day. It's film bliss. Beautifully well acted, cleverly written and overall just pleasant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FranzHcriticMar 6, 2014
One of the Coen brothers finest work, it entices me more than "Fargo' of 'No Country", but added more hilarity without destroying quality. Jeff Bridges and John Goodman lead the film's chaotic and black humor that the Coen brothers alwaysOne of the Coen brothers finest work, it entices me more than "Fargo' of 'No Country", but added more hilarity without destroying quality. Jeff Bridges and John Goodman lead the film's chaotic and black humor that the Coen brothers always embed into their scripts without adding any corny aspects, beside the dialogue. One of the funniest, and surprisingly smartest comedies I've seen in a long while. To inspire a festival! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
UrracoJan 12, 2014
The problem with The Big Lebowski is that it isn't very likely to reward you on the first go. I find it nearly impossible to watch a movie more than once within a period of several years, but I can almost always sit down with this film andThe problem with The Big Lebowski is that it isn't very likely to reward you on the first go. I find it nearly impossible to watch a movie more than once within a period of several years, but I can almost always sit down with this film and get something out of it. The story is really secondary here, with its lazy and seemingly directionless progression hiding an impressive meticulousness. Not a single second is without purpose. By the end, the film becomes a brilliant philosophical inside joke about itself that gets funnier every time. Or not. Either way's a pleasure. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SwatiJan 2, 2014
The Big Lebowski is about a man who has lived life on his own terms, failed at it, but still has no regrets. Every scene with the protagonist, the Dude, is ripe with little quirks of his character. He is a perpetual chiller. Some of theThe Big Lebowski is about a man who has lived life on his own terms, failed at it, but still has no regrets. Every scene with the protagonist, the Dude, is ripe with little quirks of his character. He is a perpetual chiller. Some of the supporting cast also made for good comedy, chief among them Walter, who is a Vietnam veteran angry with the world for no good reason. The humour mainly came from the characters of the Dude and Walter, whose inept skills of detecting mess up everything that could make things easier for the world, themselves included.

Some hoodlums mistake the Dude, whose real name is Lebowski, for a millionaire and extort him. They decide to piss on his favourite rug, which makes him want to seek compensation from the rich man. Needless to say, things escalate unexpectedly when this man's wife is seemingly kidnapped and he asks the Dude to take the ransom money to the rendezvous and potentially identify the kidnappers. His involvement in the affair seems to be to the detriment of all the concerned parties. Things go wrong from the beginning as the pair, the Dude and Walter, lack a reasonable voice and go along without planning anything. There's a plot that moves the movie forward but the focus is on the lifestyle of the Dude. Everything else works to portray his life as fully as it could be.

What the movie does extremely well is insert quick-witted quips throughout the length of the movie, often when you won't be expecting them, which certainly had me cracking up every other moment. There was a lot of serious talk going on in the guise of dialogue. A comedy it was but to be able to discern these little moments of enlightenment every other while made me respect the script a lot more than I would have if the intention had been just to make me laugh at goofy lines. That was a work of genius and deserves recognition.

There were a lot of secondary characters which lighted up the moments. There was this rival of the main duo at the bowling alley who seeks to incite confrontation with every word of his. Walter always seems to want to stand up to bullies and makes big statements and bold moves, the majority of which end up creating trouble for the Dude. Thrown into the mix is the rich Lebowski's daughter (Julianne Moore) who believes that her father's trophy wife is faking her abduction and wants the money for her own. So she sets the Dude on her own personal agenda to help her prove that she's right.

The Dude is pushed around by everyone who comes into contact with him, from the rich Lebowski to his daughter, the kidnappers, a porn producer and even the police; and much of the comedy originates from this. They all just barge into his private space whenever they feel like it and bully him. But nothing ever shakes his exterior and his values of pacifism never leave his side. Even for a man as passive as him, trouble seems to find ways to bring itself to him.

There are some scenes of such hilarity that I literally had to double over and hold my stomach. There was also a fair amount of profanity and nudity, and the Dude is a compulsive smoker of weed.

The narrative during the first half was strong and carried the movie very well. The second half seemed to lose a bit of steam, as the plot became somewhat convoluted. But what you have to understand is the bigger picture_ which is not to get the plot which is by no means difficult to follow, but witness a chapter in the life of Jeff "The Dude" Lebowski while he tries to enjoy his life. I feel like Jeff Bridges deserved to be lauded for his portrayal for the character much more than he did for his other roles.

For such an intelligent comedy, which is a rare brand, I feel like it deserves a perfect ten for the effort and achievement in creating compelling characters that succeeded in making people laugh yet be a bit brooding and make statements about politics and war under the layer, if you care to look for them, without diminishing the entertainment value of the piece in the least.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
cag11Nov 29, 2013
This movie is extremely funny with really good acting. I was disappointed by some of the stuff in it, but it did a fantastic job at making a comedy movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
iffyguyOct 30, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Big Lebowski is a cult classic that can be watched over and over. It might seem a bit stupid at first, but as it progresses, it becomes a funny and surprisingly good movie about Jeff Lebowski, or The Dude, and his attempt to get his rug back that turns into an awesome movie throughout. And Steve Buscemi dies in it. What more could you want? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TheNPC213Sep 23, 2013
This is just one of those movies that gets mixed feelings from everyone. Some like it, some hate it. The premise may be a bit dumb, but that's what makes the whole movie so much fun to watch. Again, it's a not a movie for everyone.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MovieGuysSep 19, 2013
There is simply no amount of words that can contain The Big Lebowski. Every little detail is thought out and executed with a master's touch by the Coen brothers. The one thing I will mention is that I felt so bad for Donny (Steve Buscemi),There is simply no amount of words that can contain The Big Lebowski. Every little detail is thought out and executed with a master's touch by the Coen brothers. The one thing I will mention is that I felt so bad for Donny (Steve Buscemi), who was constantly being tormented by John Goodman, but it added an extra little treat to the film that the Dude never directly talked to him throughout the 117 minute run time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ragekoiSep 13, 2013
A hilarious tale about a bum trying to get his rug back. The performances are very strong for a comedy, particularly from John Goodman. Every character is very likable in their own way. The story is a bit scattered but, easy to recognize. TheA hilarious tale about a bum trying to get his rug back. The performances are very strong for a comedy, particularly from John Goodman. Every character is very likable in their own way. The story is a bit scattered but, easy to recognize. The writing is absolutely superb, thus making this one of my personal favorite comedies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
RoeylAug 18, 2013
I must have missed something, or maybe this is America's sense of humor, I do not know. What I do know is that I didn't find it funny, amusing at times but never enough to be worthwhile. An unfunny comedy is a bad movie. Maybe I couldn'tI must have missed something, or maybe this is America's sense of humor, I do not know. What I do know is that I didn't find it funny, amusing at times but never enough to be worthwhile. An unfunny comedy is a bad movie. Maybe I couldn't assimilate with the protagonists. I thought it would be good according to the reviews. What a boring experience. If feel like this would only make a child laugh, is it intended for children? Or am I offending some of you? Either way it spoiled my evening. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
Jamison12Jul 22, 2013
I had high hopes when I rented this movie. As you can tell from my score, I was not disappointed. I love this film, it's funny, it makes you feel good, and it's just overall a good movie.
John Goodman and Jeff Bridges deliver outstanding
I had high hopes when I rented this movie. As you can tell from my score, I was not disappointed. I love this film, it's funny, it makes you feel good, and it's just overall a good movie.
John Goodman and Jeff Bridges deliver outstanding performances in one of the best movies of all time.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
SpangleJul 10, 2013
The main downfall of the movie is that it's just not funny at all. There were certainly some funny scenes, but certainly not enough for a comedy. The plot was interesting and the acting was good, which saved it from being a total trainwreck.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Skullgirlsfan13Jun 21, 2013
Man, this is totally like an awesome experience you know? I mean, hilarious characters and actions, yet with awkward reasons. The story is like; you know, confusing and disjointed. Yet it it, ravels me with performance, so I don't reallyMan, this is totally like an awesome experience you know? I mean, hilarious characters and actions, yet with awkward reasons. The story is like; you know, confusing and disjointed. Yet it it, ravels me with performance, so I don't really understand the story, but that's the point man. Our protagonist is the dude (Jeff Bridges) who is minding his own business, but is wrapped into this complex; and might I add pointless, hostage plot, and has to figure out how to get his rug back. What's totally sweet about this picture is Jeff Bridges as the dude, he like is so mystical like in the role as the dude. He is such a likeable person; an enjoyable loser maybe, and is accompanied by his best man Walter (John Goodman). Who is also cool. With a over the top attitude, and can't help but try to relate every event to Vietnam. While the dude's performance is sweet, the story and pacing is not as sweet. While one may feel great for being able to follow what is going on; I sure did man, but like this does get a bit muttled and mind mumbling. That aside, this is totally worth a watching; you'd be really uplifted if you saw it multiple times, and is a art house masterpiece man. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ThegodfathersonMay 13, 2013
The Big Lebowski" is about an attitude, not a story. It's easy to miss that, because the story is so urgently pursued. It involves kidnapping, ransom money, a porno king, a reclusive millionaire, a runaway girl, the Malibu police, a woman whoThe Big Lebowski" is about an attitude, not a story. It's easy to miss that, because the story is so urgently pursued. It involves kidnapping, ransom money, a porno king, a reclusive millionaire, a runaway girl, the Malibu police, a woman who paints while nude and strapped to an overhead harness, and the last act of the disagreement between Vietnam veterans and Flower Power. It has more scenes about bowling than anything else.

This is a plot and dialogue that perhaps only the Coen Brothers could have devised. I'm thinking less of their clarity in "Fargo" and "No Country for Old Men" than of the almost hallucinatory logic of "Raising Arizona" and "The Hudsucker Proxy." Only a steady hand in the midst of madness allows them to hold it all together--that, and the delirious richness of their visual approach.

Anyone who cares about movies must surely have heard something about the plot. This is a movie that has inspired an annual convention and the Church of the Latter-Day Dude. Its star, Jeff Bridges, has become so identified with the starring role that when he won the 2010 Oscar for Best Actor, Twitterland mourned that his acceptance speech didn't begin with, "The Dude Abides." These words are so emblematic that they inspired a book title, The Dude Abides: The Gospel According to the Coen Brothers, by Cathleen Falsani. This is a serious book, though far from a dreary theological work.

The Dude is Jeff Lebowski, an unemployed layabout whose days are spent sipping White Russians and nights are spent at the bowling alley. There is always a little pot available. He has a leonine mane of chestnut hair, a shaggy goatee, and a wardrobe of Bermuda shorts, rummage sale shirts, bathrobes and flip-flops,. He went to Woodstock and never left. He lives in what may be the last crummy run-down low-rent structure in Malibu. Trust the Dude to find it.

It is widely known that the Dude was inspired by a real man named Jeff Dowd, a freelance publicist who was instrumental in launching "Blood Simple" (1984), the first film in the Coen canon. I have long known Jeff Dowd. I can easily see how he might have inspired the Dude. He is as tall, as shaggy and sometimes as mood-altered as Jeff Lebowski, although much more motivated. He remembers names better than a politician, is crafty in his strategies, and burns with a fiery zeal on behalf of those films he consents to represent.

In the film, Jeff Lebowski tells the millionaire's daughter (Julianne Moore) that in his youth he helped draft the Port Huron Statement that founded Students for a Democratic Society, and was a member of the Seattle Seven. In real life Jeff Dowd was indeed one of the Seattle Seven, and remains so militant that at Sundance 2009 he took a punch the jaw for insisting too fervently that a critic see "Dirt," an ecological documentary Dowd believed was essential to the survival of the planet. True to his credo of nonviolence, the Dude did not punch back.

In "The Big Lebowski," our hero has left politics far behind, and exists primarily to keep a buzz on, and bowl. He is never actually drunk in the movie, and always far from sober. His bowling partners are Walter Sobchak (John Goodman) and Donny Kerabatsos (Steve Buscemi). Walter, even taller than the Dude, is a proud Vietnam veteran and the strategist of the three. He and the Dude never mention politics. Donny is their meek sidekick, always a step behind the big guys. He says perhaps three complete sentences in the film, all brief, and is often interrupted by Walter telling him to shut the f--- up. He is happy to exist on the fringes of their glory.

Details of the plot need not concern us. It involves a mean-tempered millionaire in a wheelchair who is the Big Lebowski (the Dude becomes, by logic, the Little Lebowski). He broods before the fire in a vast paneled library, reminding me of no one so much as Major Amberson in "The Magnificent Ambersons." His trophy wife Bunny (Tara Reid) appears to have been kidnapped. This leads indirectly to the Dude being savagely beaten by hit men who mistake him for the Big Lebowski. Well, how many Jeff Lebowskis can there be in Malibu? One of them urinates on The Dude's rug, which he valued highly ("it pulled the room together"), and the whole movie can be loosely described as being about the Dude's attempts to get payback for his rug.

The inspiration for the supporting characters can perhaps be found in the novels of Raymond Chandler. The Southern California setting, the millionaire, the kidnapped wife, the bohemian daughter, the enforcers, the cops who know the hero by name, can all be found in Chandler. The Dude is in a sense Philip Marlowe not in his energy or focus, but in the code he lives by. Down these mean streets walks a man who won't allow his rug to be pissed on. "That will not stand," he says, perhaps unconsciously quoting George H.W. Bush about Saddam's invasion of Kuwait. The Dude does not lie, steal or cheat. He does swear.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
ginabickleyFeb 19, 2013
One of the best movies given to an audience by the Coen Brothers. A bizarre, funny, and clever case of mistaken identity. John Goodman and Jeff Bridge work so well off of each other, and the rest of the cast ties it together.

Very quotable
One of the best movies given to an audience by the Coen Brothers. A bizarre, funny, and clever case of mistaken identity. John Goodman and Jeff Bridge work so well off of each other, and the rest of the cast ties it together.

Very quotable and fun to re-watch. Bowling, carpet, cars, money, and weird stuff.. It can be understandable that it's either a love/hate film for people but what's not to love. Listen to user reviews.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Rob7309Feb 8, 2013
I love The Big Lebowski. It is so damn funny all throughout and the characters are so interesting to watch. It gets better with every viewing and I good quote this movie all day.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FalcondorDec 23, 2012
Simply put this is a comedic masterpiece. It is one of the Coen Bros. best films and features some superb writing and comedy. This is my all-time favorite comedy and is either #1 or #2 for best movie period.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
EccentricCriticDec 8, 2012
My favorite comedy film of all time (Hot Fuzz is A VERY CLOSE 2nd), it is just genius and very subtle. The story is highly underrated, Walter Sobchak really makes this movie better, and The Dude being the main character is a genius choiceMy favorite comedy film of all time (Hot Fuzz is A VERY CLOSE 2nd), it is just genius and very subtle. The story is highly underrated, Walter Sobchak really makes this movie better, and The Dude being the main character is a genius choice (especially considering The Dude would seem like he would be a comic relief character in 95% of other movies if he were to be a character). This is a movie you should just see at least once just to get why this movie is a big deal. I am not one of the biggest fans of it (there's a religion based around this movie), but you should still see it because of how it shows a representation of the period (the 1990's) and I could go on more, but just see this important film. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
"The Big Lebowski is strange, off-putting, and unrefined. . .but that is exactly why it's the perfect comedy. It tickles you in nearly every spot you can be tickled in and it never, ever, ever stops.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
7
axelkochSep 26, 2012
This movie has got one of the best actor cast of all time. All the tiny supporting actors, that we only see for about 1 minute in the whole movie are just great! The screenplay is nice, as it always is, when the Coen Bros. write it. But theyThis movie has got one of the best actor cast of all time. All the tiny supporting actors, that we only see for about 1 minute in the whole movie are just great! The screenplay is nice, as it always is, when the Coen Bros. write it. But they overdo it here. The ending is too absurd, e.g. Also it's not that exciting all the time. But the awesome cast is predominant. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
hugethornSep 9, 2012
Some funny quotable lines smothered by to many too-long dream sequences, inane dialogue choking out clever bits, and overblown, monotonous banter. A rather bland combination. The only highpoint is the artfully crafted scenes andSome funny quotable lines smothered by to many too-long dream sequences, inane dialogue choking out clever bits, and overblown, monotonous banter. A rather bland combination. The only highpoint is the artfully crafted scenes and photography. In a nutshell:
Dumb people think its boring
Clever people think its smart
Intelligent people find it trite
Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
8
geedupSep 5, 2012
Classic, void all the special effects and digitiazation these days. Although "the dude" is the center of the movie Buchemi and Goodman carry the flick. Like a good carpet, they tie the movie together.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
TokyochuchuAug 28, 2012
The Big Lebowski is the greatest comedy ever made. It's relentlessly funny no matter how many times you see it. The amount of quotes from this movie that have sneaked into my daily life is frankly absurd!
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
Codyk4545Aug 17, 2012
I had never seen this movie until yesterday, and totally enjoyed it. Pure, intelligent, exciting entertainment. It's very well written, with a tight plot that will keep you engaged from the get go. Jeff Bridges, John Goodman, JulianneI had never seen this movie until yesterday, and totally enjoyed it. Pure, intelligent, exciting entertainment. It's very well written, with a tight plot that will keep you engaged from the get go. Jeff Bridges, John Goodman, Julianne Moore and all others in the cast create such wondreful characters. Especially "The Dude" You just love The Dude, man. John Goodman's character his hilarious, and he's calmer than you are. I see why this film is such the cult classic that it is. Be sure and check it out if you havent. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
MadamelebowskiMar 8, 2012
The greatest creation ever handed down to mankind from God above, and I thank him. And don't mess with that, because after all, you don't **** with the Jesus.
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
10
conboydudeFeb 10, 2012
Personally this movie was fantastic and I loved every minute of it cause I mean why wouldnt any person like a movie with Jeff Bridges and Bowling! Haha
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
10
HidekiNaraFeb 7, 2012
The Big Lebowski is the funniest movie ever created, the Coen Brothers deliver one of their best movies about a slacker caught up in a case of mistaken identity that leads him into a ludicrous situation involving kidnap. The movie stays aThe Big Lebowski is the funniest movie ever created, the Coen Brothers deliver one of their best movies about a slacker caught up in a case of mistaken identity that leads him into a ludicrous situation involving kidnap. The movie stays a comedy great without forcing laughs upon you, it is smart and well thought out with a story and characters that could easily be stupid and pathetically displayed, but the Coen brothers have portrayed a film that is very interesting with characters portrayed very well and entertainingly, Jeff Bridges is fantastic as our lead character Dude with his carefree attitude and relaxed world being thrown into disarray his change of relaxed and calm is changed drastically with him becoming a man who is absolutely confused and who just wants to go bowling. John Goodman and John Turturro displaying two of the most memorable and hilarious characters you'll ever come across. Goodman as Walter, Dude's best friend and war veteran who is going through a bit of a crisis as he attempts to help the Dude whilst also becoming distressed over the memories of the Vietnam war, usually at inappropriate times. Turturro's brief appearance as a rival bowler who has a bit of a rivalry toward Walter and instantly steals the movie with his character Jesus. You will never watch a film quite as entertaining and hilarious as this one. One of the greatest movies ever created. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
7
Alexander_FredDec 10, 2011
While not as funny as some comedies, The Big Lebowski relies on clever and intellectual humor that pushes it light-years beyond most. Add an ensemble cast, the greatest directing duo in Hollywood, and an interesting twist ending, this filmWhile not as funny as some comedies, The Big Lebowski relies on clever and intellectual humor that pushes it light-years beyond most. Add an ensemble cast, the greatest directing duo in Hollywood, and an interesting twist ending, this film remains a cult classic for good reason. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
6
HalfwelshmanDec 8, 2011
I'll admit it, I'm not the biggest fan of The Big Lebowski. I think the Coen Brothers have done many much more impressive films in their career (Fargo, The Hudsucker Proxy, No Country for Old Men, A Serious Man), but I'm not blind to itsI'll admit it, I'm not the biggest fan of The Big Lebowski. I think the Coen Brothers have done many much more impressive films in their career (Fargo, The Hudsucker Proxy, No Country for Old Men, A Serious Man), but I'm not blind to its appeal. For one thing it's very funny. For another it's got a great soundtrack. It also features some of the finest performances of John Goodman, John Turturro, Steve Buscemi, Julianne Moore and not forgetting The Dude himself, Jeff Bridges. The plot itself is straight out of film noir, and is complex and multi-layered even by the standards of the genre - in fact, I'm convinced that the only way to make complete sense of the film is to be in a similar state of inebriation and/or being stoned as The Dude. That's one of my main problems with the film (though some might argue that it's part of the charm) - compared to most of the Coen's other work, The Big Lebowski completely lacks focus, and I find that a little irritating. After an hour or so you really couldn't care less what's going to happen, and it just becomes a steady stream of bizarre set-pieces. The film is never dull, but it never really has anything to say either. It may just be a weird series of events stemming from some stoned bum trying to get his rug replaced, which is fine, but a profound comment on everything from modern society to philosophy and religion it is not. But I guess as a cult film it's meant to divide you. I do like the Big Lebowski as a piece of entertainment, but just can't fall passionately in love with it as so many others do - it just doesn't speak to me. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
J-ShapAug 25, 2011
The Big Lebowski is a wicked sharp genre satire disguised as a stoner comedy. It really isn't that hard to pick-up on it, but The Big Lebowski is a modern day version of a film noir. You've got the reclusive male lead (The Dude), the femmeThe Big Lebowski is a wicked sharp genre satire disguised as a stoner comedy. It really isn't that hard to pick-up on it, but The Big Lebowski is a modern day version of a film noir. You've got the reclusive male lead (The Dude), the femme fatales (The trophy wife and the daughter), the mysterious alliance of criminal henchmen (The German nihilists), the decadent businessman (Jackie Treehorn), and the fat, rich, scheming individual who oversees the fates of all those involved (The Big Lebowski). The situation The Big Lebowski gives us is what if you took out the private eye and replaced him with a man so lazy, he is unable to solve any mystery. What the film that shows us is precisely how ridiculous the entire situation is. This is actually even clearer when observing the typical Coen brothers theme, which is finding the humor in the darkest situation (this was proven indefinitely in the brilliant Fargo). Well, film noir literally translates as "dark film" so that means that this is really as dark as you can get outside of the Holocaust (and no, I don't wish the Coens made a comedy about the Holocaust). And boy is it ridiculous when it is shown before us through the eyes of the passive individual. While the satire is brilliant enough, the Coens make it even better with their signature style of idiosyncratic dialogue, and absurdist themes about the nature of life and crime. Inject that with a dose of irony, and The Big Lebowski is the Will Hunting of comedies: He's brilliant, but you sure wouldn't guess it by looking at him. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
KarthXLRMay 3, 2011
Personally my favorite Coen Brothers film. Funny to see that it has the lowest critic rating. The Dude is one of those characters that you know in real life. Whether you have a friend like him or there's a little bit of Dude in you, you knowPersonally my favorite Coen Brothers film. Funny to see that it has the lowest critic rating. The Dude is one of those characters that you know in real life. Whether you have a friend like him or there's a little bit of Dude in you, you know this guy. Quotable lines, great actors, great storyline, this is definitely the Coen Brothers movie you don't want to miss. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
5
mafiousoApr 26, 2011
entertaining film the whole way threw, 10 years ago funny but still a good watch. acting was good, story was decent. not a movie you take seriously at any point.
5 of 10 users found this helpful55
All this user's reviews
10
yuitsumuniDec 7, 2010
Smart, funny, ironical, delirious, surreal, sarcastic... and with a very nice soundtrack.
To me, one of the best movies in the history of cinema! This dvd really ties my collection together ;)
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
OneWhoKnowsOct 26, 2010
First and foremost I am a Coen brothers fan, HOWEVER I hate FARGO and BURN AFTER READING and a few more. When I first watched LEBOWSKI I was not a huge fan. For some reason (I am most certainly NOT a prude) I didn't like the use of the wordFirst and foremost I am a Coen brothers fan, HOWEVER I hate FARGO and BURN AFTER READING and a few more. When I first watched LEBOWSKI I was not a huge fan. For some reason (I am most certainly NOT a prude) I didn't like the use of the word f**k throughout the film. After the fourth or fifth time I watched it (it was on commercial TV) the bleeped every F**K. Oh my God that totally wrecked the humor and continuity of the film. This film has great actors ( Steve Buscemi is a Coen brothers fav and mine too). The plot is funny, and most of all the cinematography is the best ( only second to Hudsucker Proxy).
After the fifth time this became one of my top 5 Coen brothers films. THE DUDE ABIDES!!!
Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
9
PaxsterOct 16, 2010
The Big Lebowski finds that middle ground between the most realistic depiction of life and the strangest dreams that sometimes we all have. There is plenty of material here that the critics should of loved but as it is,maybe its better thatThe Big Lebowski finds that middle ground between the most realistic depiction of life and the strangest dreams that sometimes we all have. There is plenty of material here that the critics should of loved but as it is,maybe its better that not everyone understands. Let this movie be a cult classic, for that is exactly what it deserves. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
CoDFatherSep 11, 2010
Ok, this, like any other Coen Brothers' movie, is hilarious as **** and **** is pretty funny nowadays. all the quotes, all the humor, all the characters/ actors, all the stuff you're gonna remember for the rest of your life. In my opinion,Ok, this, like any other Coen Brothers' movie, is hilarious as **** and **** is pretty funny nowadays. all the quotes, all the humor, all the characters/ actors, all the stuff you're gonna remember for the rest of your life. In my opinion, this is Joel Coen's best movie that wasn't nominated for any Oscars. In that case, Fargo is the best of Joel Coen's that actually won Oscars. I would recommend this movie to all Coen Brothers' fans. I would also recommend tuning- out all distractions and pay attention to the movie, because there's some **** you just might not understand without a bowl o' popcorn and no one to annoy you while you're trying to pay attention. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
ArkonBladeSep 2, 2010
the one thing you can almost always say about the coen brothers is they are inovative with there films . this is a very funny film with a entertaining plot . great acting especially by goodman and bridges . its a great film that if you wanathe one thing you can almost always say about the coen brothers is they are inovative with there films . this is a very funny film with a entertaining plot . great acting especially by goodman and bridges . its a great film that if you wana see some thing funny and differnt then you should deffinitly check this out. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
nboley08Aug 16, 2010
A film that should be mandatory for anyone who calls themselves a fan of the cinema. The Coens are at their goofy best here, twisting and turning through multiple plot changes, genres, styles, and berserk characters. "The Big Lebowski"A film that should be mandatory for anyone who calls themselves a fan of the cinema. The Coens are at their goofy best here, twisting and turning through multiple plot changes, genres, styles, and berserk characters. "The Big Lebowski" somehow involves us by showing inner America (though it's set in California) at its weirdest and most truthful. It's gloriously goofy and unabashedly silly, one of the best films this duo has made. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
10
DerekBFeb 1, 2010
Many people get frustrated with this film with the fact that the story does not make sense or goes anywhere. To me, this is part of the reason why this is one of the best movies ever to be executed. It's more about the amazing Many people get frustrated with this film with the fact that the story does not make sense or goes anywhere. To me, this is part of the reason why this is one of the best movies ever to be executed. It's more about the amazing characters created along with the perfectly crafted jokes and timing of them. This movie also has some great visual work. It is an original work of art. Perfectly cast, directed, and edited. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
5
CrabBDec 28, 2009
What a terribly overrated film. A hardly funny stoner flick, it goes for to long and is quite simply a bore. Cult classics are supposed to be good not haphazard mediocrity. On a more positive note the directing was at times brilliant with What a terribly overrated film. A hardly funny stoner flick, it goes for to long and is quite simply a bore. Cult classics are supposed to be good not haphazard mediocrity. On a more positive note the directing was at times brilliant with many memorable shots and some of the jokes amusing. The worst Coen film I have seen. Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful
10
GermanN.Sep 25, 2009
This movie is spectacular....I must admit that the first time I saw it I thought it was "OK" but I've seen it many times since and it gets better as I listen to the dialog more carefully. John Goodman is like a cranky Grizzly bear and This movie is spectacular....I must admit that the first time I saw it I thought it was "OK" but I've seen it many times since and it gets better as I listen to the dialog more carefully. John Goodman is like a cranky Grizzly bear and steals many scenes with his angry outbursts and irrelevant rationale. The "real" Lebowski is like Dick Cheney poured into a wheelchair with a porn star wife......Phillip Semour Hoffman is a brilliant brown noser and the Dude really ties the movie together with turns of defeated slacker logic and certain charming familiarity that makes him an ironic and lovable hero. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
JimSSep 5, 2009
Masterfully written, cast, acted, and directed, this is an absurdist romp that never disappoints, sometimes surprises, and always entertains. Eminently quotable and relentlessly funny, this movie is worthy of its cult status. I feel sorry Masterfully written, cast, acted, and directed, this is an absurdist romp that never disappoints, sometimes surprises, and always entertains. Eminently quotable and relentlessly funny, this movie is worthy of its cult status. I feel sorry for the people who do not enjoy it; one of my all time favorite movies. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
10
MatthewBMay 14, 2009
This is as close to a masterpiece as a movie about an unemployed bowler embroiled in a kidnapping scam can be.
2 of 4 users found this helpful
10
BrendinoC.Dec 9, 2008
This is a masterpiece. I don't know much about film but I do know when something is great. This is something that is great. Take the scene when the Dude is talking to an apparently despondent Mr. Lebowski in front of his fireplace. This is a masterpiece. I don't know much about film but I do know when something is great. This is something that is great. Take the scene when the Dude is talking to an apparently despondent Mr. Lebowski in front of his fireplace. While Lebowski laments, Dude just sits there dumbly, as if only half-aware of his surroundings. This scene could have been an emotional window into Lebowski's soul, but all such connotations are ruined by the Dude in all his stonerdom. The hero is just that, a stoner walking though life as if by accident. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
10
EricC.Nov 2, 2008
Some of the most surreal sequences I have ever seen, this has to be the slacker equivalent to Pulp Fiction. Like it or not, we all know the Dude, and there is a little of the Dude in a lot of us.
3 of 4 users found this helpful
10
RobOct 19, 2008
My absolute favorite comedy of all time and the best movie the Cohen Bros. have made.
2 of 4 users found this helpful
10
DaveM.Jun 20, 2008
The Big Lebowski isn't just a movie, it's a way of life.
5 of 6 users found this helpful
10
ChadW.Apr 5, 2008
I recently saw this movie for the first time. I came in with low expectations - I was told it was a silly stoner movie. And I'm a pretty tough critic on movies overall and no big fan of stoner movies. Well they were right, it IS a I recently saw this movie for the first time. I came in with low expectations - I was told it was a silly stoner movie. And I'm a pretty tough critic on movies overall and no big fan of stoner movies. Well they were right, it IS a stoner movie. And it is also absolutely freaking brilliant. As in hilarious. This movie absolutely gets into her head and won't leave it. Some scenes are now indelibly etched into my brain now. Among many others, the scene with The Dude morphed onto a bowling ball and rolling down the lane - between the legs of a horde of beautiful women - and to some groovin' music - may be the funniest and most surreal thing I've ever seen in film. So ignore the up-tight critics. If you want something really different and can relax and go with the flow, this flick is for you. As for it being a stoner flick, well, it probably wouldn't hurt if you lit one up while watching this film either. It no doubt would make it even funnier. Why not - he actors and the Coen brothers were all definitely under the influence while making this masterpiece. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
10
JohnH.Feb 3, 2008
This is absolutely the only movie which I never tire of watching. The overcomplicated plot is indeed just an excuse to tie together a melange of colorful and hilarious vignettes -- the Coen brothers recognize the meaninglessness of the story This is absolutely the only movie which I never tire of watching. The overcomplicated plot is indeed just an excuse to tie together a melange of colorful and hilarious vignettes -- the Coen brothers recognize the meaninglessness of the story by showing us in the end that no kidnapping actually occurred. It matters not. The movie like the enduring music of Ravel is about style and flair over substance. And like that music The Big Lebowski is absolutely classic. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
10
SteveW.Jan 18, 2008
One of my absolute favorites...and I'm a movie guy...don't like TV. Several of the lower scores by the reviewers refer negatively to how 'scattered' it is, but frankly that's what it's supposed to be. The One of my absolute favorites...and I'm a movie guy...don't like TV. Several of the lower scores by the reviewers refer negatively to how 'scattered' it is, but frankly that's what it's supposed to be. The metaphor is bowling as life...and we're the pins. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
10
LaurenceB.Jan 18, 2008
It is my honest opinion that this movie is the best cult film ever made. You can watch it over and over again and it never loses appeal. Immensely qouteable, fantastically funny, and full of great dialogue - this is the ultimate shaggy dog It is my honest opinion that this movie is the best cult film ever made. You can watch it over and over again and it never loses appeal. Immensely qouteable, fantastically funny, and full of great dialogue - this is the ultimate shaggy dog story. 'The dude abides...'. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
5
PaulM.Jan 12, 2008
Some funny stuff scattered about but overall I thought it was pretty flat, misfiring more than it hit. Occasionally clever and inspired moments were often undone by heavy-handedness and a tendency to overindulge in them. I kept feeling a Some funny stuff scattered about but overall I thought it was pretty flat, misfiring more than it hit. Occasionally clever and inspired moments were often undone by heavy-handedness and a tendency to overindulge in them. I kept feeling a real good movie could've broken out with a little more subtlety and nuance. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
10
DKDec 7, 2007
Best movie ever... f*#k it dude lets go bowling.
2 of 4 users found this helpful
10
ChrisC.Dec 4, 2007
This movie proves that critics don't have a clue. I absolutely loved this movie. I will be buying this one for my collection. Listen to the user reviews, not the critics.
2 of 4 users found this helpful
9
BruceNov 25, 2007
I've heard good comments about this movie for years, but finally got around to seeing a copy. Hilarious! The basic story is unoriginal, but the dialogue is funny and imaginative. I highly recommend this if you're looking for I've heard good comments about this movie for years, but finally got around to seeing a copy. Hilarious! The basic story is unoriginal, but the dialogue is funny and imaginative. I highly recommend this if you're looking for something a bit quirky and off-beat. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
TobiasK.Nov 8, 2007
Absolutely brilliant, funniest film ever!
2 of 4 users found this helpful
10
RalphCandyAug 20, 2007
This is a hilarious movie! F the TV Guide! Rent it and have fun!
2 of 4 users found this helpful
10
NadirtJun 25, 2007
"Ve f*#cks you up! Ve takes ze money." Simply put, the greatest movie to ever enter my psyche. I have sat for days quoting it to my friends who also feel the same. The Dude is quite possibly one of the most memorable characters in cinematic "Ve f*#cks you up! Ve takes ze money." Simply put, the greatest movie to ever enter my psyche. I have sat for days quoting it to my friends who also feel the same. The Dude is quite possibly one of the most memorable characters in cinematic history. So too is Walter, Donnie, Maude, Ullie, Brant, Jesus... If you don't get it, thank God. The little Lebowski urban achievers that do are that much cooler due to your ignorance. My dirty undies Dude, my f.ckin' whites. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
10
MarcH.Apr 13, 2007
Up there with Spinal Tap and Bull Durham as my favorite comedy of all time. The characters are unforgettable and dialogue is priceless.
2 of 4 users found this helpful
10
DelFeb 16, 2007
Absolute the best comedy in my world. Amazing story, cast, acting, and everything else. The humor in this film went to eleven on every sense. It's smart, funny, and legendary. Watch this gem!
2 of 4 users found this helpful
10
MikeF.Jul 25, 2006
Absolute genius. One of my favorite movies ever made (along with The Royal Tenenbaums). Hilarious, visually wonderful, with a dozen lines that should be bronzed and framed in the screenwriters' hall of fame ("Say what you want about the Absolute genius. One of my favorite movies ever made (along with The Royal Tenenbaums). Hilarious, visually wonderful, with a dozen lines that should be bronzed and framed in the screenwriters' hall of fame ("Say what you want about the tenets of National Socialism, at least it's an ethos"). Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
JohnK.Jul 1, 2006
This movie got some bad reviews because it takes a few watches and some real thought to get its fantastic humor. It's a highbrow comedy in a lowball costume, and many critics didn't understand that when it was released. Ultimately This movie got some bad reviews because it takes a few watches and some real thought to get its fantastic humor. It's a highbrow comedy in a lowball costume, and many critics didn't understand that when it was released. Ultimately it is deep with rich themes and a great cast, and nearly every line in the movie has become legendary. There's a strong case to be made that this is the funniest movie of all time, and one of the best movies overall; it's a shame it suffered critical distaste due to its complex nature and, of course, that it was the Coen bros. follow up to Fargo. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
10
KrisA.Jun 16, 2006
Best movie ever! It's one of those movies where you have to be smart to understand the comedy and if your smart, you'll love it.
2 of 4 users found this helpful
10
BrianS.May 11, 2006
Quite possibly the funniest, and greatest movie of all time.
3 of 5 users found this helpful
10
MattG.Apr 2, 2006
Simply the funniest movie I have ever seen. I have seriously watched this move over 100 times, and I still find new things to laugh at, as well as the classic lines. Almost every scene in this movie is quotable, and it is very satisfying to Simply the funniest movie I have ever seen. I have seriously watched this move over 100 times, and I still find new things to laugh at, as well as the classic lines. Almost every scene in this movie is quotable, and it is very satisfying to run into someone who knows the movie as well as you do. If you're scared off because of any of the Coen Bros. earlier work, like Fargo (which is an excellent movie, but nothing like this one), go rent it and be prepared for a hilarious tale. Like a fine wine, this movie gets better with time. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
10
AngelA.Feb 11, 2006
My favorite movie -- hysterically funny. After a hundred viewings it's still hysterical...it takes a special soul to know that this one is a gem!
2 of 4 users found this helpful
10
ThomasD.Dec 18, 2005
He fixes the cable?
2 of 4 users found this helpful
10
JerryX.Nov 28, 2005
An ingenious parody of Chandler-esque P.I. thrillers, and one of the most important comedies of the twentieth century.
2 of 4 users found this helpful
10
CooperK.Nov 18, 2005
Mark it zero dude.
3 of 5 users found this helpful
10
thomasm.Nov 8, 2005
Its the best fricken movie!!!!!!!
2 of 4 users found this helpful
4
BrunoP.Sep 4, 2005
Overrated average comedy with weak character motivation and dull jokes.
1 of 7 users found this helpful