The Big Lebowski

The Big Lebowski Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 482 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: A scattered farce about a pothead bowler who is mistaken for a deadbeat philanthropist.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. It's paved with delightfully irregular and unanticipated bits of business that stimulate the viewer to stay fully alert, while renewing our faith in the sheer joy of watching movies.
  2. With their inspired, absurdist taste for weird, peculiar Americana-but a sort of neo-Americana that is entirely invented-the Coens have defined and mastered their own bizarre subgenre.
  3. Watching it amble along is enough of a treat, since the Coens populate this story with oddballs and bowling balls of such comic variety.
  4. The Big Lebowski is packed with show-offy filmmaking and as a result is pretty entertaining.
  5. Nearly everything in The Big Lebowski is a put-on, but all that leaves you with is the Coens' bizarrely over-deliberate, almost Teutonic form of rib nudging.
  6. This film feels completely haphazard, thrown together without much concern for organizing intelligence.
  7. 30
    If it's all supposed to be in fun, why does it feel so much like an insult?

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 107
  2. Negative: 6 out of 107
  1. Jul 22, 2013
    10
    I had high hopes when I rented this movie. As you can tell from my score, I was not disappointed. I love this film, it's funny, it makes youI had high hopes when I rented this movie. As you can tell from my score, I was not disappointed. I love this film, it's funny, it makes you feel good, and it's just overall a good movie.
    John Goodman and Jeff Bridges deliver outstanding performances in one of the best movies of all time.
    Expand
  2. DaveM.
    Jun 20, 2008
    10
    The Big Lebowski isn't just a movie, it's a way of life.
  3. Jun 21, 2013
    10
    Man, this is totally like an awesome experience you know? I mean, hilarious characters and actions, yet with awkward reasons. The story isMan, this is totally like an awesome experience you know? I mean, hilarious characters and actions, yet with awkward reasons. The story is like; you know, confusing and disjointed. Yet it it, ravels me with performance, so I don't really understand the story, but that's the point man. Our protagonist is the dude (Jeff Bridges) who is minding his own business, but is wrapped into this complex; and might I add pointless, hostage plot, and has to figure out how to get his rug back. What's totally sweet about this picture is Jeff Bridges as the dude, he like is so mystical like in the role as the dude. He is such a likeable person; an enjoyable loser maybe, and is accompanied by his best man Walter (John Goodman). Who is also cool. With a over the top attitude, and can't help but try to relate every event to Vietnam. While the dude's performance is sweet, the story and pacing is not as sweet. While one may feel great for being able to follow what is going on; I sure did man, but like this does get a bit muttled and mind mumbling. That aside, this is totally worth a watching; you'd be really uplifted if you saw it multiple times, and is a art house masterpiece man. Expand
  4. BrendinoC.
    Dec 9, 2008
    10
    This is a masterpiece. I don't know much about film but I do know when something is great. This is something that is great. Take the This is a masterpiece. I don't know much about film but I do know when something is great. This is something that is great. Take the scene when the Dude is talking to an apparently despondent Mr. Lebowski in front of his fireplace. While Lebowski laments, Dude just sits there dumbly, as if only half-aware of his surroundings. This scene could have been an emotional window into Lebowski's soul, but all such connotations are ruined by the Dude in all his stonerdom. The hero is just that, a stoner walking though life as if by accident. Expand
  5. Aug 28, 2012
    10
    The Big Lebowski is the greatest comedy ever made. It's relentlessly funny no matter how many times you see it. The amount of quotes from thisThe Big Lebowski is the greatest comedy ever made. It's relentlessly funny no matter how many times you see it. The amount of quotes from this movie that have sneaked into my daily life is frankly absurd! Expand
  6. Sep 5, 2012
    8
    Classic, void all the special effects and digitiazation these days. Although "the dude" is the center of the movie Buchemi and Goodman carryClassic, void all the special effects and digitiazation these days. Although "the dude" is the center of the movie Buchemi and Goodman carry the flick. Like a good carpet, they tie the movie together. Expand
  7. Apr 12, 2015
    0
    This is not the worst movie ever made by established star like Bridges, Moore, and Goodman. But it's close. Horrible. Not funny, not smart,This is not the worst movie ever made by established star like Bridges, Moore, and Goodman. But it's close. Horrible. Not funny, not smart, not witty, not entertaining in the least. Expand

See all 107 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Every Coen Brothers Movie, Ranked

    Every Coen Brothers Movie, Ranked Image
    Published: February 24, 2016
    What is the best film directed by the Coen brothers? Find out as we rank all 17 of their movies.
  2. Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    We rank every movie directed by Steven Spielberg throughout his 40-plus-year career.
  3. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: June 22, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Independence Day: Resurgence, Free State of Jones, The Shallows, Hunt for the Wilderpeople, The Neon Demon, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  5. 21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best

    21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 21, 2016
    We rank recent alien invasion movies by Metascore.