User Score
4.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 48
  2. Negative: 24 out of 48

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 26, 2013
    4
    The movie is not terrible, but it's one of those movies that no one's going to remember. The storyline and characters are just stale and don't really interest you. It does have its funny moments, but sadly, that's only 20% of the movie. I honestly wish I had more to say, but I'm almost positive that this is probably the most underrated movie of the year so far. Overall, it's just boring. Plain and Simple! Expand
  2. Jul 14, 2013
    5
    The movie is not delivering anything new, it is incredibly tiresome and ordinary, it has lots of cliches some giggles but nothing really overall new. Despite being not that funny with third rate predictable story, it is one of the sweetest movies I have ever watch, including the big and great cast ensemble, it is entertaining and an enjoyable movie just to pass time, it is not a bad movie but absolutely it is not a good movie either, it is just static and funny for what it is, but no one is gonna remember it, you'll have some entertaining time and some laughs, but you will go out of the theater saying "whatever". It is corny, cheesy and unoriginal in so many ways, but it is not a bad experience, just watch it, and you will be enjoying it till the finish, but it is not near great and it is not bad, it is a mediocre rom-com. Expand
  3. Apr 28, 2013
    4
    When the biological mother of an adopted son comes for the wedding, the divorced parents (Robert De Niro & Diane Keaton) have to pretend to be married again. This causes problems with the current gf (Susan Sarandon), while the other siblings (Katherine Heigl, Topher Grace) bring their own issues. As you can see, the cast if full of gifted comic actors and they bring their talents to bear. The writing doesn't match up: The plot is stale and hardly ever funny. It's full of comic energy, but lite on laffs. Collapse
  4. Apr 27, 2013
    0
    You'd think a film that starts with Robert DeNiro getting ready to perform cunnilingus on Susan Sarandon would have nowhere to go but up. You'd be wrong. Never has so much talent been so wasted as in this movie. Avoid it at all cost!
  5. May 1, 2013
    6
    The Big Wedding is a corny romantic flick. It takes up some space and with a long super cast it does entertain. Not to mention that Justin Zackham who got to work with Robert De Niro has made a quite disappointing movie. The Big Wedding is just a film about Robert De Niro and his Oldey girlfriend get together for a wedding and "things" happen. It's weird that people didn't like it. I mean its a okay movie. I wanted to give it a 4 or 0 or 3 but still i enjoyed it. It's one of these movies that you won't remember. One time watch will be great at a matinee price only. Only. Expand
  6. Oct 15, 2013
    7
    It's nothing particularly special or original but it is funny and pretty sweet. A great cast of characters comes together to play a large family that comes together for a wedding. As you would expect from a group of people who all have different personalities, issues, and secrets eventually all heck breaks loose. This leads to some funny moments that ultimately make this film worth a watch, but it's not hard to notice the unoriginality of it all. A lot, or rather most, of what is being done here has been done elsewhere. Still it's funny and I enjoyed watching it, so as far as I'm concerned it gets a passing score. All in all it's pretty good and funny. Expand
  7. May 18, 2013
    5
    It has a terrific cast for a great movie, greatness is not here, it is all seen-before scenes silliness and not ever laugh out scenes, but on the bright side, despite the fall, it is still delivers sweet story and kinda good time with great cast and near good scenes
  8. Apr 28, 2013
    0
    Soo Wack!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  9. May 1, 2013
    1
    I thought this movie was awful, from it's beginning to the end. The characters not interesting at all & I was left wondering what these talented actors were thinking when they took on these roles. Not funny at all, the plot ridiculous & contrived.
  10. Jun 15, 2013
    4
    It isn't bad but it is cheesy, and it is a movie that no one is going to remember, the actors are amazing but they are all wasted talents in this movie, it is rushed and silly with some funny moments but over all. No
  11. Aug 18, 2013
    7
    With such big names, one can safely assume that the movie has little to say in terms of a good storyline. This movie was awkward and even childish at times. The cast still managed a good performance as good as their characters would allow them. It definitely wasn't as memorable or re-watchable as I had imagined it would be.
  12. Sep 27, 2013
    0
    Terrible, implausible storyline; no chemistry or believable relationship between the actors; I didn't even care enough about the plot or characters to finish watching it; very disappointing
  13. Nov 2, 2013
    0
    Have you ever watched a movie and you had the strangest feeling someone was sniffing your underwear? Yeah, me neither, but watching this movie even on my computer was an experience just as bad. The Big Wedding manages to live down to it's name, as being a long wait for anything romantic. It manages to be realistic and derivative, yet uninteresting.
Metascore
28

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 32
  2. Negative: 18 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Trevor Johnston
    Jun 15, 2013
    20
    Putting the ‘retch’ into ‘wretched’, this wedding comedy makes the fatal assumption that the sight of acting icons of a certain age – Robert De Niro, Susan Sarandon and Diane Keaton – behaving badly will have us rolling in the aisles.
  2. Reviewed by:  Ignatiy Vishnevetsky
    Jun 11, 2013
    38
    The movie is bland hackwork; its crime isn't incompetence, but indifference.
  3. Reviewed by: Tim Robey
    May 27, 2013
    20
    This would-be-frothy date flick is a sub-"Meet the Fockers" dog’s dinner.