Artisan Entertainment | Release Date: July 16, 1999
6.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 259 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
173
Mixed:
40
Negative:
46
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
CursedKnight187Apr 29, 2011
I've got to be honest, I didn't find it scary... at all. The tent shaking?! I suppose the way the marketed it to start with - as if it were a true event - was a good strategy, but beside that it just isn't scary. I wasn't on the edge of myI've got to be honest, I didn't find it scary... at all. The tent shaking?! I suppose the way the marketed it to start with - as if it were a true event - was a good strategy, but beside that it just isn't scary. I wasn't on the edge of my seat, I was lying down on it snoring. The only reason it gets a 3 is for originality, but that's about it. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
1
PseudoScopicMay 5, 2013
THE GOOD: I will keep this review fairly short.

THE BAD: I will never get back the 81min run time that this film has. OVERALL: As you can tell, I'm not a fan of the film and could hack away at it all night penalising it's tacky use of
THE GOOD: I will keep this review fairly short.

THE BAD: I will never get back the 81min run time that this film has.

OVERALL: As you can tell, I'm not a fan of the film and could hack away at it all night penalising it's tacky use of camera, story, 'actors' and so on but I do have to say as a film buff myself that this film is extremely dated as of 2013 and will only become more so, obviously, from now on. This film was made on an extremely low budget as reflected and credibility has to go towards the marketing scheme of making people believe there is some truth to it, allowing the film to skyrocket in profit. All of which can be completely reciprocated for Paranormal Activity (Although I won't insult that QUITE as much in another film's review).
I would advise this film for people more linked with cult followings in the film market and can admire the lowest of budgeting reflected in the film itself. But no matter of my opinion, remember as film goers to always keep an open mind either way!
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
3
leopem17Apr 10, 2013
One knows that a film Is genuinely 'scary' when there is a constant amount of suspense. Not once did I see the witches nor was I scared, u don't leave the film to the end for action to arrive.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
RobertOBrienJul 11, 2015
The only good thing about this movie is the acting. It's really just three annoying cardboard cut outs walking around in the woods for 90 minutes. The story is almost non-existent and the characters are flat.

I'm all for
The only good thing about this movie is the acting. It's really just three annoying cardboard cut outs walking around in the woods for 90 minutes. The story is almost non-existent and the characters are flat.

I'm all for "what-you-don't-see" type of horror. 'The Others' and 'The Haunting' from 1963 are some of my favorite films. But this film is just woefully boring, and when something is happening, it's just a shaky cam vomiting mess.

The only reason it was successful was because people were dumb enough to think it was real.

If you want to see a much better found-footage film, with a similar concept, but made first, and better, check out 'The Last Broadcast' from 1998. Skip this disjointed, over praised, shaky cam, boring and uninteresting trite.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
johnblack1979Jul 30, 2015
Maybe the worst and most boring movie i've ever seen. Detestably unrealistic, the girl keeps filming against all sense of logic.. 80 min. of absolute nothingness.. Please do yourself a favor and DON'T ever watch it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
gamefriekFeb 26, 2011
Now this movie, what a load of crap this was. It had no scare factor at all, I don't get why people are giving this good reviews overall. This movie has about the same scare factor as me getting out of bed. The whole movie was just fourNow this movie, what a load of crap this was. It had no scare factor at all, I don't get why people are giving this good reviews overall. This movie has about the same scare factor as me getting out of bed. The whole movie was just four people walking through the woods pretending to be scared. Also, despite the way it looks, its not actually based off true events, its just based loosely off a legend but thats it. The actors got paid, so their obviously not dead. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
1
ashley_Jan 15, 2012
I saw this movie a few months ago for the first time, and do not understand at all the hype over this movie. The Blair Witch project was undoubtedly one of the worst movies I've ever seen. The acting was absolutely horrendous, and it wasI saw this movie a few months ago for the first time, and do not understand at all the hype over this movie. The Blair Witch project was undoubtedly one of the worst movies I've ever seen. The acting was absolutely horrendous, and it was impossible to sympathize with the characters. Heather, annoying brat that she was, insisted on filming EVERYTHING. Even as the other two guys were screaming at her to turn it off, she had to film every moment of their downfall. Her annoying voice was enough to make me hate this movie from the start, not to mention the series of ridiculously moronic things that these kids did from start to finish, from throwing their map into the river, to going into the woods without listening or paying attention to the people they interviewed about it. Pretty much nothing happened the whole movie except watching them argue with each other. The vague things that were supposed to scare us did nothing but make the story line more paper thin than it already was. The ending was stupid, and barely made sense even when you knew what was supposed to be happening. Even as Heather is walking up the stairs expecting to find her friend dead, she is STILL filming. It was completely unrealistic. The only terrifying thing about this movie is the fact that it is so popular. I think Family Guy did a perfect summary of the movie when Brian was explaining the movie while watching it with a blind guy. He said "They're in the woods. The camera keeps moving around. I guess they're looking for some witch, I don't know, I wasn't listening. Nothings happening................nothings happening.................something about a map..nothings happening.... Its over. A lot of people in the audience looked pissed." Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
MEGA_CRITICJun 1, 2014
please dont bother watching this film, if you want a scare because it honestly isnt scary or creepy (well maybe a bit, but not enough)

if you want a scare watch sinister, i highly recommend it, and it is genuinely scary
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
2
RyanLopezApr 15, 2011
I **** hated this movie, it was darn stupid. I would have been ashamed to be part in this box office piece of **** I have nothing against the director but I just hated the movie.
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
0
TheNewSpielbergMay 2, 2011
When me and my friends watched this last Halloween, we were expecting a horrifying movie that would give us nightmares and a lot of stories to tell at school after. Instead what we got was an hour and a half of shaky cameras, mediocre actingWhen me and my friends watched this last Halloween, we were expecting a horrifying movie that would give us nightmares and a lot of stories to tell at school after. Instead what we got was an hour and a half of shaky cameras, mediocre acting and an ending that is more laughable than scary. A letdown for people who are looking for a good movie to watch on the aforementioned holiday. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
3
KivaJun 9, 2013
seriously this film is the worst. I can't even imagine that it was successful. Why people liked this movie? Was it scary? No Did it have a good plot? No. As a horror movie it's awful as a documentary it's ok. I watched it untill the end justseriously this film is the worst. I can't even imagine that it was successful. Why people liked this movie? Was it scary? No Did it have a good plot? No. As a horror movie it's awful as a documentary it's ok. I watched it untill the end just to see what happens because i read it was scary. You give to this film 81/100 and in Saw 46/100. Bad movie is still a bad movie, critics can't change the quality of a film. Thumbs down! Don't waste your time Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
1
Trev29Apr 3, 2012
It was no big deal at all. I guess it would be a lot scarier if anything actually happened. It give it credit for going ahead and filming it differently than all other movies, but it was just bad. No interest in ever seeing it again.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
charliew1820Jul 5, 2012
One of the scariest films ever. Plays on everyones fear, the dark, the unknown, the feeling of being trapped, and death. The film is played out through handheld camera, but this adds to fear, giving the film a sense of realism, making youOne of the scariest films ever. Plays on everyones fear, the dark, the unknown, the feeling of being trapped, and death. The film is played out through handheld camera, but this adds to fear, giving the film a sense of realism, making you think the film actually happened. The acting is very naturalistic, and in a rare case, the improvised script makes the film feel again more real, as if they would react in this way. The film is clear proof that in most cases not seeing the monster is scarier, for we imagine what is going on out there, or how we would be in that situation. The final sequence will easily go down as one of the best endings in history, and easily the scariest, playing on our minds after we leave the cinema, leaving a lot to the imagination. As a whole the movie is more terrifying after you leave than while watching even though you will undoubtedly gasp at certain scenes. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
AndrewTJul 4, 2008
This movie was one of the dumbest most boring not scary movie i've ever seen in my life. The ending was one of the worst endings that a movie could have and you do not even see the creature monster whatever it is attacking and This movie was one of the dumbest most boring not scary movie i've ever seen in my life. The ending was one of the worst endings that a movie could have and you do not even see the creature monster whatever it is attacking and terrorizing the group of people. I hate horror movies in general this i could and would not even come close to putting this movie in that genera I was not scared at all during this movie and for the people who gave this movie a good review you can not base a score on the movies originality. Sure it was original but still the acting was horrid, story was so incredibly stupid, and the ending was so retarded. Now I hated cloverfield I thought it was awful but it was 100 times better that the Blair Witch Project, For anyone who thought this was good well go watch a really movie without that stupid camcorder effect! Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
2
ArkonBladeAug 21, 2010
what a horrable film now i know they where trying to make this look like it was a actaul film that really happend and trying to make it seem scary but it was a epic fail. first off i found nothing about this film sacry period . i saw it morewhat a horrable film now i know they where trying to make this look like it was a actaul film that really happend and trying to make it seem scary but it was a epic fail. first off i found nothing about this film sacry period . i saw it more as 3 dumb ugly teenagers acting like abunch of morons running around the woods with there heads cut off . with the worst camera shots possable . just because some thing sounds like a original idea doesnt mean its a good one . Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
0
csw12Apr 3, 2012
One of the dumbest, boring, and non scary films ever made. I have never seen a movie that lacks so much in what it takes to make a scary movie. No music, no suspense, and the worst of all offers nothing at all but one of the worst endings toOne of the dumbest, boring, and non scary films ever made. I have never seen a movie that lacks so much in what it takes to make a scary movie. No music, no suspense, and the worst of all offers nothing at all but one of the worst endings to a movie ever created. Total garbage. Expand
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
1
ShawnD.Feb 23, 2008
Ok, I came to check out the rating of this movie after finding out that Bio-Dome was the absolute worst rated movie. My jaw hit the floor when i saw the MC score for this. i really expected this movie to have under a "10". The only points i Ok, I came to check out the rating of this movie after finding out that Bio-Dome was the absolute worst rated movie. My jaw hit the floor when i saw the MC score for this. i really expected this movie to have under a "10". The only points i could give to this movie was for originality. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
SlasherVoorheesAug 18, 2011
I Thought that The Blair Witch Project Wasnt that good at all. Sure it was made to look like a Home Video Type of thing but it isnt realistic and there is basically No Plot This is a Over Hyped Movie that really is bad because i Dont BelieveI Thought that The Blair Witch Project Wasnt that good at all. Sure it was made to look like a Home Video Type of thing but it isnt realistic and there is basically No Plot This is a Over Hyped Movie that really is bad because i Dont Believe that Some Witch Did something to make campers not be able to find thier way back in real life that kind of thing doesnt happen and i think if this was recorded like a normal movie everyone would hate it and people just like it because its filmed like a home movie to make it seem like something out of the ordinary could actully happen Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
3
SpangleOct 31, 2014
The Blair Witch Project is a case study that focuses in on the riveting question: Does a fantastic ending save an otherwise terrible film? The researchers in this study ultimately concluded that the answer is no. While the ending may beThe Blair Witch Project is a case study that focuses in on the riveting question: Does a fantastic ending save an otherwise terrible film? The researchers in this study ultimately concluded that the answer is no. While the ending may be terrifying and completely effective, the hour and ten minutes prior, which amounts to nothing but terrible camera work (purposeful, but terrible all the same), terrible acting, aimless walking, yelling, and things that are supposed to be scary but are not, ultimately serve as the film's downfall. Coming in, I expected something very scary and, as somebody who does not watch many horror films, I figured I would be entirely freaked out. Yet, I came away thinking that the entire thing had to have been done as some terrible parody of an equally horrible horror film. They attempted to make it seem real because of the documentary style, but very little (hint: none) of it was believable, which was a bummer. I was all willing to buy in, but the film failed to convince me. All that freaked me out was the ending, but even then, it was painfully predictable once I saw where they wound up and could have been done better, certainly. But, the way it tied the story together was nice and entirely spooky, which worked out well in the film's favor and saved it from being rated later by me. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
johnem95Oct 1, 2015
Points for being original for its time (and kickstarting the "found footage" genre), but this movie is a waste of time in my book. Nothing happens! I get that your imagination is what can make this film a terrifying watch, but my imaginationPoints for being original for its time (and kickstarting the "found footage" genre), but this movie is a waste of time in my book. Nothing happens! I get that your imagination is what can make this film a terrifying watch, but my imagination didn't buy this film for a second, therefore, I found this film utterly pointless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
kerrflannAug 18, 2016
Definitely the worst/most boring film I've ever watched 1hr and 20 mins of 3 teens walking through a forest and camping out for a night not scary at all whoever reviews this and says 'scary as hell' honestly i think you've been paid to sayDefinitely the worst/most boring film I've ever watched 1hr and 20 mins of 3 teens walking through a forest and camping out for a night not scary at all whoever reviews this and says 'scary as hell' honestly i think you've been paid to say that DO NOT WATCH THIS FILM Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews