User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 212 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 45 out of 212
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Riren
    Jan 28, 2007
    10
    I watched this movie for the thirteenth time last night, and was still creeped right out. Watching it on DVD in my house, I still felt as though someone might be watching me from down the hall. This is the effect of great atmosphere, and the Blair Witch Project has it. Every financially cheap aspect helps it. It's shot in a real environment, not a sterile set or against a CGI I watched this movie for the thirteenth time last night, and was still creeped right out. Watching it on DVD in my house, I still felt as though someone might be watching me from down the hall. This is the effect of great atmosphere, and the Blair Witch Project has it. Every financially cheap aspect helps it. It's shot in a real environment, not a sterile set or against a CGI backdrop; its actors improvise their dialogue rather than read from scripts; the lighting is completely natural, and all the sounds are ambient. Instead of a soundtrack, this movie has whatever the microphones picked up in the woods - much scarier than a bunch of licensed music or orchestral tones. By shooting this movie over six straight days and camping in the woods, these college-level actors access real fatigue and real emotion that blows away Hollywood performances because even though their premise is every bit as fictional as a blockbuster, their feelings are real. Minimalism is the name of the game, hiding or only showing a little of any scene - only what was caught on the characters' cameras. Outside of those people who can't stand student film to begin with or can't appreciate something filmed with shaky cameras (something most people get used to in a matter of minutes, and something that is a huge part of modern news reporting), nothing can draw an audience in quite like this movie. Expand
  2. Feb 11, 2012
    10
    At a time when digital techniques can show us almost anything, The Blair Witch Project is a reminder that what really scares us is the stuff we can't see.
  3. StephG.
    Aug 31, 2003
    10
    I rate this movie a 10! It wasn't like other scary movies because it was actually based on a true story. Other scary movies such as The Ring (just an example) would never happen.
  4. AndieV.
    Jul 2, 2007
    10
    This movie scared me, even though it doesn't have all that "girl in white dress with long black hair standing in middle of road" effects. I'm a horror freak, i know a scary movie when i see one, and this movie is the one. now,my movie rental money didn't get wasted this time!!
  5. Matt
    Mar 4, 2008
    10
    This is, by far, the scariest movie ever made. Its like going to a strip club and seeing completely naked women vs. going to the beach and seeing women in bikinis. You get more turned on by the bikinis because you want to know what is underneath and you can form in your mind what you think they would look like naked. That is an analogy my friends. No, I'm not saying I would rather This is, by far, the scariest movie ever made. Its like going to a strip club and seeing completely naked women vs. going to the beach and seeing women in bikinis. You get more turned on by the bikinis because you want to know what is underneath and you can form in your mind what you think they would look like naked. That is an analogy my friends. No, I'm not saying I would rather see the Blair Witch in a bikini rather than completely naked, I'm saying the movie does not blatantly show the boogy man, you can only imagine what the witch looks like, you can only imagine how it actually attacks its victims.. and that makes it great raw, unknown fear. Those who hated this movie would rather have things spelled out for them and lack imagination. Expand
  6. SD
    Oct 10, 2009
    10
    The Blair Witch Project is the only movie that I can say has genuinely scared me in my adult years. There
  7. MarcD.
    Feb 10, 2001
    9
    I don't care what people say: this movie creeped me out. I haven't looked at the old trees outside my bathroom window the same ever since.
  8. MuratB.
    Jan 27, 2004
    10
    Who doesn't adore this movie? I think it's wonderful, amazing... Some people don't like this movie because this is a very original movie... They like stereotyped movies and it sucks.... Only one word for this movie: WONDERFUL...!!!
  9. AdamG.
    Dec 9, 2004
    8
    Brilliant movie, got scared by what i didnt see at the cinema, films like this remind us of how good horror movies can become!
  10. KyleT
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    Scariest movie of all time because of its reality. Look the movie is not real but the story is. This is what producers did, They took 3 film makers though them in the forest and then made noises and scared the hell out of them! They pretty much said here is a camera go make a documentary. They took eah person 1 by one and told them about, (the guy who acted like he died.) Not true but Scariest movie of all time because of its reality. Look the movie is not real but the story is. This is what producers did, They took 3 film makers though them in the forest and then made noises and scared the hell out of them! They pretty much said here is a camera go make a documentary. They took eah person 1 by one and told them about, (the guy who acted like he died.) Not true but still if you don't know that, it is brilliant. Expand
  11. Classified
    Oct 14, 2001
    10
    As scary as hell.
  12. RyanM.
    May 28, 2001
    9
    A good horror movie using great technique. People are saying it the worst movie ever made, but you can't help liking it. I admit it isn't scary at all but it's still a bunch of fun.
  13. NedD.
    Sep 14, 2001
    10
    Brilliant concept and terrifying execution. You have to ask yourself 'How scared would I be in that situation?' The answer is pretty much what the characters on screen go through. Audiences who didn't like it, or found it "boring" are obviously so numbed by Hollywood insistence on over-the-top special effects that they've forgotton how to use something very valuable: Brilliant concept and terrifying execution. You have to ask yourself 'How scared would I be in that situation?' The answer is pretty much what the characters on screen go through. Audiences who didn't like it, or found it "boring" are obviously so numbed by Hollywood insistence on over-the-top special effects that they've forgotton how to use something very valuable: the imagination. And nothing's scarier than that. Expand
  14. [Anonymous]
    Jan 13, 2002
    9
    What a film!
  15. PaulaW.
    Mar 11, 2002
    9
    Horror is a lot like porn: high production values, great acting, and state-of-the-art effects don't mean a thing if they don't get a... gut reaction. Well, the woods, and the prospect of meeting someone there when you think you are alone, rank pretty high on my white-knuckle list. [Demonic possession, on the other hand, means nothing to me, and that's why I can only laugh Horror is a lot like porn: high production values, great acting, and state-of-the-art effects don't mean a thing if they don't get a... gut reaction. Well, the woods, and the prospect of meeting someone there when you think you are alone, rank pretty high on my white-knuckle list. [Demonic possession, on the other hand, means nothing to me, and that's why I can only laugh at The Exorcist.] Not that I was clutching anybody's hand in the theater. I was too distracted by the seasick camera and the pottymouth dialogue. Like everyone else in the audience, I just wanted it to be over. Even the last 10 minutes didn't really scare me; they just seemed a little silly. But afterward, in thinking about it and putting it all together? I was scared. So scared I couldn't even look at my sleeping bag for a month. And my Z-Rest sleeping mat, the exact same one carried by Josh in the movie? Forget it. Unlike most horror flicks, the BWP lends itself to many different interpretations. The longer you ponder what might have been going on, the greater your terror. So don't get too cocky when you see this movie. It just might give you nightmares. I'm just glad I saw it AFTER my big camping trip for the summer. Expand
  16. MarioB.
    May 24, 2002
    9
    Being a cynical and grizzled film viewer, I went through a phase where I definantly dared any film to produce any kind of fear reaction out of me. After many rentals and hours, not one thing I saw was able to give me the downright dread and fear I got when I watched this movie. If you buy into the premise, it's incredible, but if you, from the beggining of the film, harden your heart Being a cynical and grizzled film viewer, I went through a phase where I definantly dared any film to produce any kind of fear reaction out of me. After many rentals and hours, not one thing I saw was able to give me the downright dread and fear I got when I watched this movie. If you buy into the premise, it's incredible, but if you, from the beggining of the film, harden your heart to the innovative home-movie approach, you'll hate it. Expand
  17. NolanB.
    Aug 13, 2002
    6
    Very original, I'll give it that. But besides from being somewhat creepy, It got boring easily and had no really scary parts.
  18. RatedR
    Dec 16, 2003
    9
    Absolutely, without a doubt, the scariest movie I have ever seen in a theatre. People who don't like this movie didn't get it.
  19. PatC.
    Dec 19, 2003
    10
    Here's some film students that really did their homework. We have confused good cinematography, sound, special effects etc with good movies for a long time. This movie simply follows people through an emotional journey. Not precisely edited, but there wasn't much to take out to begin with - it has such a natural flow. And yes, fear is in the mind, not out there in the world, and Here's some film students that really did their homework. We have confused good cinematography, sound, special effects etc with good movies for a long time. This movie simply follows people through an emotional journey. Not precisely edited, but there wasn't much to take out to begin with - it has such a natural flow. And yes, fear is in the mind, not out there in the world, and it originates in the unseen more than in all things gruesome. In it's way it's as powerful as "Psycho", and portrays fear and loneliness in an immediately authentic manner. I don't know how this movie could have been pulled off any better. Expand
  20. JohnM.
    Dec 25, 2003
    10
    Say what you will about the handheld, dizzying camera work. Make fun of Heather's nostrils. Even enjoy the sometimes very funny take-offs. This remains a superb horror film, period. And it's the only - and I mean only - movie that had me losing sleep since...well, forever.
  21. YoonC.
    Sep 14, 2003
    9
    A truly frightening movie that overcame what could easily have been a overly contrived idea. Few films have conveyed such raw, naked sense of horror and doom. Perhaps, a landmark movie in the relatively new school of digicam filmmaking; this film uses the digicam's disadvantages to full advantage. We feel as trapped and limited and as shaky as the handheld camera.
  22. SimG.
    Oct 28, 2005
    9
    Really creative, really scary, really fun.
  23. ScaredInsane!!!!
    Jul 31, 2005
    8
    Wow! What a movie! Man this was a really freaky movie. Out of all the scarry movies I've seen through my llife this has to be the scarriest. I just think that the last seen should have let us watchers in on what the thing or spirit was that got them. And yes it was kind of boring, but it kept me awake. Overall this was a brilliant and masterful movie, I think, but I'll never Wow! What a movie! Man this was a really freaky movie. Out of all the scarry movies I've seen through my llife this has to be the scarriest. I just think that the last seen should have let us watchers in on what the thing or spirit was that got them. And yes it was kind of boring, but it kept me awake. Overall this was a brilliant and masterful movie, I think, but I'll never watch it again! For those who haven't seen this flick you're gonna be rudely awakened when you do. All I can say is Dang what a movie! Expand
  24. BeakB
    Nov 28, 2007
    10
    Great movie. Those who gave this a bad rating are probably too used to simple movies like Transformers. Know a real movie when you see it.
  25. DavidS
    Oct 27, 2008
    7
    A well made horror film with a very original concept. Although I wasn't freaked out by this movie, it certainly has an atmosphere to it, and when you really examine it, it has some very well-executed moments. Especially the last 10 minutes. The dialogue was too over-the-top at some points, but was almost always convincing, even if the characterization of Josh adn Mike seemed to A well made horror film with a very original concept. Although I wasn't freaked out by this movie, it certainly has an atmosphere to it, and when you really examine it, it has some very well-executed moments. Especially the last 10 minutes. The dialogue was too over-the-top at some points, but was almost always convincing, even if the characterization of Josh adn Mike seemed to switch midway through. If you want to watch a movie alone some night, this si a good pick. If you want to watch a movie with firneds, it probably isn't such a good pick. But then again, what true horror buff watches horror movies with other people? Expand
  26. NormanD
    Jul 27, 2008
    10
    Such a minimalist and overwhelming scare-the-crap-out-of-you thriller! I was sleepless for two nights just imagining what that odd sound in the water pipes might be.
  27. mitchellK
    Nov 13, 2009
    10
    This is one of only two movies I've been truly scared by, the other being "Ringu" (original Japanese "The Ring"). Despite everything you've heard and the amount you already know about the plot, still utterly terrifying. It serves as a reminder of the fact that we really do enjoy being scared by film.
  28. Aug 16, 2010
    10
    Completely horrifying, maybe the scariest film ever made. I pray to the movie gods that somehow this thing gets back into theaters so we can enjoy being terrified by this masterpiece with a room full of crowded anxious strangers. Don't be surprised if this film doesn't make you jump very much (especially if you're just sitting at home watching it by yourself), but it will haunt your dreamsCompletely horrifying, maybe the scariest film ever made. I pray to the movie gods that somehow this thing gets back into theaters so we can enjoy being terrified by this masterpiece with a room full of crowded anxious strangers. Don't be surprised if this film doesn't make you jump very much (especially if you're just sitting at home watching it by yourself), but it will haunt your dreams and keep you up at night with its intense creepiness. Do not see this if you are remotely afraid of the woods or the dark. Expand
  29. Aug 16, 2010
    9
    This is a very good film. films tend not to scare me, but i can definitely see why this would scare others. it is definitely a film not to watch alone. the acting is good and the general storyline is amazing. The producers did a great job of making everyone think that it was real, and nothing seems to disappoint.
    this is a very good film. ALMOST scared me, which means it may well scare
    This is a very good film. films tend not to scare me, but i can definitely see why this would scare others. it is definitely a film not to watch alone. the acting is good and the general storyline is amazing. The producers did a great job of making everyone think that it was real, and nothing seems to disappoint.
    this is a very good film. ALMOST scared me, which means it may well scare you!!
    this is a must see, i realise that it gained mixed reviews. thus, you should watch it just in case you are like me; someone who very much considers this film a classic.
    Expand
  30. Oct 26, 2010
    10
    This film is most definitely the most horrifying movie I have ever seen, as well as my favorite horror film to date. Everyone who says there are no scary elements in this film are used to the current habit of American film to a.) make everything as gory, violent, testosterone-filled, and nonsensical as possible, and b.) rip off other countries' movies (and do so poorly - THE GRUDGE!!!).This film is most definitely the most horrifying movie I have ever seen, as well as my favorite horror film to date. Everyone who says there are no scary elements in this film are used to the current habit of American film to a.) make everything as gory, violent, testosterone-filled, and nonsensical as possible, and b.) rip off other countries' movies (and do so poorly - THE GRUDGE!!!). The Blair Witch Project is the embodiment of the human race's greatest fear: to be in a situation out of your control, to have your actions forced like a hamster in a maze. Also, I find the idea of not actually showing what is chasing them through the forest fascinating; your mind is left to wander upon the most terrible image you can muster, and it grows on you like a virus. The most exceptionally terrifying movie ever made; love it forever! :D Expand
  31. Dec 6, 2010
    8
    I love tis movie. I know a lot of people say this movie isn't scary. this movie is scary in its own way. I think they did a good job with the idea of this movie. This movie is kind of scary at some parts. This was a good idea for a movie. One of the best horror movies ever made. This is on my list for best horror movie. I love this movie its really good.
  32. Jan 12, 2011
    9
    Think the critics have this pegged better than the users for a change. If anything this movie is under-rated because it totally broke from the scary movie, bloody horror norm. Unless it's really happening to you it's hard to capture truly being scared but this movie comes close. Certainly not the budget of The Ring or Sixth Sense but still pretty good.
  33. Dec 8, 2011
    7
    An urban legend getting an American production above the average, even with amateurish technical about. However, this is the great charm of the film, to bring a touch of reality to something that frightens people, while not real. With an unstable nature documentary footage, the two rookies directors, Daniel Myrick and Eduardo Sanchez, lead an unusual thriller that explores witchcraft in aAn urban legend getting an American production above the average, even with amateurish technical about. However, this is the great charm of the film, to bring a touch of reality to something that frightens people, while not real. With an unstable nature documentary footage, the two rookies directors, Daniel Myrick and Eduardo Sanchez, lead an unusual thriller that explores witchcraft in a peculiar way and extremely evil. What is most interesting in this production, is the fact that directors can create fear in the viewer, without the least show directly the source responsible for it. Imagine what you can not see. How can you not be afraid of it?

    The power of an urban legend is something that can be measured against the influence which it carries in the middle. In some cases, above the power is so vast that people around the world are interested in such stories. Based on this concept of influence, the plot of this production is a journey of three film students, to explore the long- cherished legend of the Blair Witch, however, what is shown on the screen, are just the roll of film found by police, after the mysterious disappearance of young people. Starting from a premise that the suspense has good things to come, the two directors work in the background that is extremely favorable for the development of the script.

    The amateur footage further contributes to the enhancement of the heavy atmosphere, which is already present in the photography involved. The naturalness of it is the factor that close ties to production reality. The sound system works like a soundtrack orchestrated by a great professional who knows very well to put it in the context of the film. Adding these two questions film, photography and soundtrack, we get a product that pleases and amazes the viewer, while every sudden movement of the camera. It is clear in this production, the film does not require cutting-edge technological improvement, to satisfy your audience.

    The script is working well and can, from the start, accumulating records that direct the viewer to understand the outcome. The development of the argument is a gradation of psychological conflicts of each character, which tracks the tempo until the final minute. Playing with the psyche of each character , the filmmakers create claustrophobic situations that reflect the viewer, keeping it stuck in that atmosphere without answers and with every move closer and with a look at the picture provided by amateur camera in the darkness of night, where the script comes to apex of the gloom .

    Combining certain techniques is a superlative effort to create something new, taking the proper proportions of gender addressed. Working from the premise peculiar form, the script can do justice to what is stipulated in your synopsis so enjoyable and interesting for the audience. The technique is not mainly attributed to technology, but on good ideas, falling in the right hands. Exercising a right direction and leading the film gradually, the two rookies prove that gender is not lost, but it takes a few bumps to get it moving again.
    Expand
  34. Apr 29, 2011
    3
    I've got to be honest, I didn't find it scary... at all. The tent shaking?! I suppose the way the marketed it to start with - as if it were a true event - was a good strategy, but beside that it just isn't scary. I wasn't on the edge of my seat, I was lying down on it snoring. The only reason it gets a 3 is for originality, but that's about it.
  35. Nov 17, 2011
    6
    There is a lot of hype about the Blair Witch Project but I'm just not getting it. The movie did not really scare me in any way nor did even entertain me. There were no scares for me and just seemed like a drag on. The plot is not really the best, all I saw it as was some college kids get lost in the woods and they are being hunted by some entity but I didn't feel scared once, well thereThere is a lot of hype about the Blair Witch Project but I'm just not getting it. The movie did not really scare me in any way nor did even entertain me. There were no scares for me and just seemed like a drag on. The plot is not really the best, all I saw it as was some college kids get lost in the woods and they are being hunted by some entity but I didn't feel scared once, well there were some scary moments but not really that scary. I got to give credit to the acting though, it was good but the dialogue was just cursing and cursing and cursing, not good. Overall The Blair Witch Project is an alright movie, maybe you will understand it better than me but I just didn't get any scares and walked off dissapointed. Breakdown for "The Blair Witch Project": Presentation: 6.5, Plot: 7, Acting: 7.5, Dialogue: 4.8, Lasting Appeal: 5. Score: 5.5 out of 10 "Average" Expand
  36. Jul 31, 2012
    9
    A genuinely frightening film. With some good improvised acting and great filming techniques for a found footage film. A must watch in the middle of the night
  37. Jul 8, 2012
    9
    One of the scariest films ever. Plays on everyone
  38. May 5, 2013
    1
    THE GOOD: I will keep this review fairly short.

    THE BAD: I will never get back the 81min run time that this film has. OVERALL: As you can tell, I'm not a fan of the film and could hack away at it all night penalising it's tacky use of camera, story, 'actors' and so on but I do have to say as a film buff myself that this film is extremely dated as of 2013 and will only become more so,
    THE GOOD: I will keep this review fairly short.

    THE BAD: I will never get back the 81min run time that this film has.

    OVERALL: As you can tell, I'm not a fan of the film and could hack away at it all night penalising it's tacky use of camera, story, 'actors' and so on but I do have to say as a film buff myself that this film is extremely dated as of 2013 and will only become more so, obviously, from now on. This film was made on an extremely low budget as reflected and credibility has to go towards the marketing scheme of making people believe there is some truth to it, allowing the film to skyrocket in profit. All of which can be completely reciprocated for Paranormal Activity (Although I won't insult that QUITE as much in another film's review).
    I would advise this film for people more linked with cult followings in the film market and can admire the lowest of budgeting reflected in the film itself. But no matter of my opinion, remember as film goers to always keep an open mind either way!
    Expand
  39. Feb 7, 2014
    5
    This film is painfully slow, and has definitely not aged well, but any horror film fan should watch this, as it is a classic. The whole film is improvised, but it is a good film for an improvised one. However, it is still not great.
  40. Sep 18, 2011
    7
    Although the movie smells old and cheap, "The Blair Witch Project" is one of the standing point movies of the 'psychological horror'. It will scare the **** out of you.
  41. Apr 15, 2011
    2
    I **** hated this movie, it was darn stupid. I would have been ashamed to be part in this box office piece of **** I have nothing against the director but I just hated the movie.
  42. May 2, 2011
    0
    When me and my friends watched this last Halloween, we were expecting a horrifying movie that would give us nightmares and a lot of stories to tell at school after. Instead what we got was an hour and a half of shaky cameras, mediocre acting and an ending that is more laughable than scary. A letdown for people who are looking for a good movie to watch on the aforementioned holiday.
  43. AndrewT
    Jul 4, 2008
    0
    This movie was one of the dumbest most boring not scary movie i've ever seen in my life. The ending was one of the worst endings that a movie could have and you do not even see the creature monster whatever it is attacking and terrorizing the group of people. I hate horror movies in general this i could and would not even come close to putting this movie in that genera I was not This movie was one of the dumbest most boring not scary movie i've ever seen in my life. The ending was one of the worst endings that a movie could have and you do not even see the creature monster whatever it is attacking and terrorizing the group of people. I hate horror movies in general this i could and would not even come close to putting this movie in that genera I was not scared at all during this movie and for the people who gave this movie a good review you can not base a score on the movies originality. Sure it was original but still the acting was horrid, story was so incredibly stupid, and the ending was so retarded. Now I hated cloverfield I thought it was awful but it was 100 times better that the Blair Witch Project, For anyone who thought this was good well go watch a really movie without that stupid camcorder effect! Expand
  44. Jun 9, 2013
    3
    seriously this film is the worst. I can't even imagine that it was successful. Why people liked this movie? Was it scary? No Did it have a good plot? No. As a horror movie it's awful as a documentary it's ok. I watched it untill the end just to see what happens because i read it was scary. You give to this film 81/100 and in Saw 46/100. Bad movie is still a bad movie, critics can't changeseriously this film is the worst. I can't even imagine that it was successful. Why people liked this movie? Was it scary? No Did it have a good plot? No. As a horror movie it's awful as a documentary it's ok. I watched it untill the end just to see what happens because i read it was scary. You give to this film 81/100 and in Saw 46/100. Bad movie is still a bad movie, critics can't change the quality of a film. Thumbs down! Don't waste your time Expand
  45. ArianaM.
    Aug 23, 2002
    3
    I give it a 3 for originality, and for being able to capture something of the essence of fear. Perhaps these factors alone should get it a much higher rating, but certain other factors bring this -pretentious- "film" smashing down. I could, as other people have done, criticize the camera work, the "script", the "acting". But let's be honest about these things. First of all, the I give it a 3 for originality, and for being able to capture something of the essence of fear. Perhaps these factors alone should get it a much higher rating, but certain other factors bring this -pretentious- "film" smashing down. I could, as other people have done, criticize the camera work, the "script", the "acting". But let's be honest about these things. First of all, the camera work was exactly what it was meant to be. Amateur home-video type. That's what the makers wanted. And how much of a script did you expect? This is supposed to be a bunch of people running around the woods, lost frightened, and acting stupid. Now that I've made that point, I want to point out what was the fundamental flaw, the point where this movie failed most in my eyes. Yes, the camera work was bad..home video stylem and meant to be, because these are just a bunch of amateur- wait, wait a second, I just realized something!! These were -film students-?? That's right, these people were supposed to have some CLUE as to how to use a camera. Yet the makers of this film, though obviously film students themselves, failed to realize that stark inconsitency. They chose to make their film with all the skill of your uncle Bob filming your 7 year old cousin's birthday party. Sure, they meant it to be that way, but WHY? Don't they teach people how to use a camera at whatever school these fictional students go to? So, right off, I started having a serious dislike for these characters. Poseurs. A bunch of "generation X" prototypes who think it's cool to be "film makers", but who haven't got the first clue what it is to be one. The movie is full of inconsistancies just like that. Ask yourself, while watching it, who is holding the camera, or why the camera is here or there, why the shot is of this or that, and you will realize how contrived and inconsistant the production was. The fact is, these people had a good idea, but they had no skill, no knowledge, no art in bringing that idea to life. When I say the finished product was amateur, I don't mean the unsteady camera work, the sense that no one is acting, or lack of great dialogue. These were all contrivances that the film makers -intended-. What I mean is that the work they did put into it was shoddy and pathetic, had no congruency, was like a kindergartener's glue stick and construction paper art project. Yeah, the glitter was a good idea. Sure, red paper looks pretty. Cutting patterns out is a good idea...but if you go about it with no direction, not taste, no instinct, it ends up being something mommy loves, but no one else will. This movie is a disgusting modern example of the emperor's new clothes. Expand
  46. SamG
    Aug 7, 2009
    4
    One of the most over rated movies i have ever seen. Some of the night scenes were genuinely chilling and the acting was generally decent but this film left a lot to be desired. The scenes ended up becoming very similar and it felt like the film makers lacked imagination when shooting the final 20 mins of the movie. The film would have been great if they focused more on the mystery element One of the most over rated movies i have ever seen. Some of the night scenes were genuinely chilling and the acting was generally decent but this film left a lot to be desired. The scenes ended up becoming very similar and it felt like the film makers lacked imagination when shooting the final 20 mins of the movie. The film would have been great if they focused more on the mystery element as the ending is really disappointing. A good film for young teenagers or anyone who scares easily. Expand
  47. WilliamN.
    Jul 14, 2001
    3
    A wonderful concept and a good look are shot to pieces by pathetic onscreen performances and characters that I just didn't give a damn about. I'd really be interested in what all of the professionals who rated it so highly in the past would have to say if they watched it again today, a couple years removed from the hype...
  48. AaronS.
    Dec 31, 2002
    1
    This movie is not the least bit frightening, except for how terribly nauseating it is. It was such a disaster because no one involved in the production had any control over what the finished product would be like. Well, in my eyes, it is one of the worst films I have ever seen because it lacks all entertainment value.
  49. NickB.
    Nov 1, 2003
    0
    WTF was this! I waited 2 hours to get scared! By then the movie was over!
  50. JD
    Oct 15, 2003
    0
    The only thing that will scare you about this movie is the over the top ratings given to it!! It was a complete bore and I had a tough time trying not to sleep through it. All the people who thought this was a great movie are obviously scared to be honest and call a bad movie a BAD MOVIE!!
  51. seand
    Mar 8, 2005
    0
    I fell asleep man, boring lame nonsense. I can't believe it.
  52. BrianK.
    Jul 13, 2001
    1
    This movie was absolute garbage. Hail the critics to praise such a film just for its sheer originality. Original yes, good no this is a dizzying myraid of poor camera work, terrible acting, and poor suspense. What was an 80 minute movie seemed like 3 hours of boring mush. Half way through I wanted the boogey man to hurry up and kill those worthless and whining teenagers. First off I knew This movie was absolute garbage. Hail the critics to praise such a film just for its sheer originality. Original yes, good no this is a dizzying myraid of poor camera work, terrible acting, and poor suspense. What was an 80 minute movie seemed like 3 hours of boring mush. Half way through I wanted the boogey man to hurry up and kill those worthless and whining teenagers. First off I knew it was a fake movie so all the scariness was sucked from the film in the beggining even with the new camera effects and imprv style nothing seemed worth writing home about. The whole theatre I saw this movie with absolutely hated it! It was garbage absolute schlock! A poor attempt in horror film making. After the credits rolled a annoyed theatre patron like myself screamed: "what the hell was that?" The answer: A bad movie. Expand
  53. MariaW.
    Jul 13, 2001
    2
    The only reason I am giving this movie a 2 is because only one scene was actually scary. This movie was extremely boring, and I think that they forgot the ending of the movie. After all the hype about this movie, it was a big let-down!! If the Blair Witch exsists (ha-ha), she would be really upset with this movie.
  54. ShawnD.
    Feb 23, 2008
    1
    Ok, I came to check out the rating of this movie after finding out that Bio-Dome was the absolute worst rated movie. My jaw hit the floor when i saw the MC score for this. i really expected this movie to have under a "10". The only points i could give to this movie was for originality.
  55. Feb 26, 2011
    1
    Now this movie, what a load of crap this was. It had no scare factor at all, I don't get why people are giving this good reviews overall. This movie has about the same scare factor as me getting out of bed. The whole movie was just four people walking through the woods pretending to be scared. Also, despite the way it looks, its not actually based off true events, its just based looselyNow this movie, what a load of crap this was. It had no scare factor at all, I don't get why people are giving this good reviews overall. This movie has about the same scare factor as me getting out of bed. The whole movie was just four people walking through the woods pretending to be scared. Also, despite the way it looks, its not actually based off true events, its just based loosely off a legend but thats it. The actors got paid, so their obviously not dead. Expand
  56. Aug 21, 2010
    2
    what a horrable film now i know they where trying to make this look like it was a actaul film that really happend and trying to make it seem scary but it was a epic fail. first off i found nothing about this film sacry period . i saw it more as 3 dumb ugly teenagers acting like abunch of morons running around the woods with there heads cut off . with the worst camera shots possable . justwhat a horrable film now i know they where trying to make this look like it was a actaul film that really happend and trying to make it seem scary but it was a epic fail. first off i found nothing about this film sacry period . i saw it more as 3 dumb ugly teenagers acting like abunch of morons running around the woods with there heads cut off . with the worst camera shots possable . just because some thing sounds like a original idea doesnt mean its a good one . Expand
  57. Aug 18, 2011
    3
    I Thought that The Blair Witch Project Wasnt that good at all. Sure it was made to look like a Home Video Type of thing but it isnt realistic and there is basically No Plot This is a Over Hyped Movie that really is bad because i Dont Believe that Some Witch Did something to make campers not be able to find thier way back in real life that kind of thing doesnt happen and i think if this wasI Thought that The Blair Witch Project Wasnt that good at all. Sure it was made to look like a Home Video Type of thing but it isnt realistic and there is basically No Plot This is a Over Hyped Movie that really is bad because i Dont Believe that Some Witch Did something to make campers not be able to find thier way back in real life that kind of thing doesnt happen and i think if this was recorded like a normal movie everyone would hate it and people just like it because its filmed like a home movie to make it seem like something out of the ordinary could actully happen Expand
  58. Jan 15, 2012
    1
    I saw this movie a few months ago for the first time, and do not understand at all the hype over this movie. The Blair Witch project was undoubtedly one of the worst movies I've ever seen. The acting was absolutely horrendous, and it was impossible to sympathize with the characters. Heather, annoying brat that she was, insisted on filming EVERYTHING. Even as the other two guys wereI saw this movie a few months ago for the first time, and do not understand at all the hype over this movie. The Blair Witch project was undoubtedly one of the worst movies I've ever seen. The acting was absolutely horrendous, and it was impossible to sympathize with the characters. Heather, annoying brat that she was, insisted on filming EVERYTHING. Even as the other two guys were screaming at her to turn it off, she had to film every moment of their downfall. Her annoying voice was enough to make me hate this movie from the start, not to mention the series of ridiculously moronic things that these kids did from start to finish, from throwing their map into the river, to going into the woods without listening or paying attention to the people they interviewed about it. Pretty much nothing happened the whole movie except watching them argue with each other. The vague things that were supposed to scare us did nothing but make the story line more paper thin than it already was. The ending was stupid, and barely made sense even when you knew what was supposed to be happening. Even as Heather is walking up the stairs expecting to find her friend dead, she is STILL filming. It was completely unrealistic. The only terrifying thing about this movie is the fact that it is so popular. I think Family Guy did a perfect summary of the movie when Brian was explaining the movie while watching it with a blind guy. He said "They're in the woods. The camera keeps moving around. I guess they're looking for some witch, I don't know, I wasn't listening. Nothings happening................nothings happening.................something about a map..nothings happening.... Its over. A lot of people in the audience looked pissed." Expand
  59. Apr 3, 2012
    0
    One of the dumbest, boring, and non scary films ever made. I have never seen a movie that lacks so much in what it takes to make a scary movie. No music, no suspense, and the worst of all offers nothing at all but one of the worst endings to a movie ever created. Total garbage.
  60. Apr 3, 2012
    1
    It was no big deal at all. I guess it would be a lot scarier if anything actually happened. It give it credit for going ahead and filming it differently than all other movies, but it was just bad. No interest in ever seeing it again.
  61. Jul 5, 2012
    0
    One of the scariest films ever. Plays on everyones fear, the dark, the unknown, the feeling of being trapped, and death. The film is played out through handheld camera, but this adds to fear, giving the film a sense of realism, making you think the film actually happened. The acting is very naturalistic, and in a rare case, the improvised script makes the film feel again more real, as ifOne of the scariest films ever. Plays on everyones fear, the dark, the unknown, the feeling of being trapped, and death. The film is played out through handheld camera, but this adds to fear, giving the film a sense of realism, making you think the film actually happened. The acting is very naturalistic, and in a rare case, the improvised script makes the film feel again more real, as if they would react in this way. The film is clear proof that in most cases not seeing the monster is scarier, for we imagine what is going on out there, or how we would be in that situation. The final sequence will easily go down as one of the best endings in history, and easily the scariest, playing on our minds after we leave the cinema, leaving a lot to the imagination. As a whole the movie is more terrifying after you leave than while watching even though you will undoubtedly gasp at certain scenes. Expand
  62. Jun 1, 2014
    0
    please dont bother watching this film, if you want a scare because it honestly isnt scary or creepy (well maybe a bit, but not enough)

    if you want a scare watch sinister, i highly recommend it, and it is genuinely scary
  63. JonathanH.
    Apr 3, 2004
    6
    Overrated for sure, but still it's okay, i somewhat enjoyed it.
  64. J.W.
    Mar 25, 2003
    8
    As a scary movie, it deserves at least a 9. People who gave this thing bad reviews were simply trying to stave off the memory of it...as they sat nervously laughing at their keyboards...with the shades drawn...and all the lights on.
  65. PaulW.
    Jun 1, 2003
    1
    Just awful and boring, the worse film I've ever seen. As usual the most over hyped films are terrible.
  66. Aenima
    Jul 16, 2003
    10
    The Blair Witch Project is easily the scariest movie ever made. I'll say this flat out: The only way your going to fully enjoy this movie, is to LET YOURSELF GO. The people who don't like this movie are the ones who can't take this movie seriously. Now that I got that over with. This is a brilliant film. And nothing, nothing, has scared me more ever in my life. This movie The Blair Witch Project is easily the scariest movie ever made. I'll say this flat out: The only way your going to fully enjoy this movie, is to LET YOURSELF GO. The people who don't like this movie are the ones who can't take this movie seriously. Now that I got that over with. This is a brilliant film. And nothing, nothing, has scared me more ever in my life. This movie is so frightening that it is really hard to watch; however once you get sucked in, your eyes will be glued to the screen and will never blink. See the movie, and let yourself go. You will have nightmares for a week. Huge thumbs up. Expand
  67. MichaelK.
    Sep 8, 2003
    9
    Only movie to ever truly instill fear in me.
  68. BenA.
    Jan 6, 2004
    5
    Yes, quite overrated. I did appreciate some of the styles of the feature, but I'm getting sick of the purposefully sloppy camera shots that are being used all the time, that are much like the BWP's shots. So this movie is to blame. Don't take my opinion too seriosly, I could count on one hand the number of horror movies ive really enjoyed.
  69. BoredSilly
    Aug 12, 2005
    0
    Some people don't like this movie because it's utterly inept.....Only one word for this movie: DUNG...!!!
  70. josak
    Jan 2, 2006
    10
    Scariest movie I've ever seen, period. This is one of those love-it-or-hate-it things; your either going to get the piss scared out of you while watching this, or your gonna laugh thru it with your friends, and rant about how stupid the movie was afterwards. But if you actually let yourself go and allow the movie to suck you in, your in for one crazy ride. As Ebert said, this movie Scariest movie I've ever seen, period. This is one of those love-it-or-hate-it things; your either going to get the piss scared out of you while watching this, or your gonna laugh thru it with your friends, and rant about how stupid the movie was afterwards. But if you actually let yourself go and allow the movie to suck you in, your in for one crazy ride. As Ebert said, this movie is a testament to the fact that what really scares us is the stuff we don't see. It's the suspense that does it, and the extreme realism and believable characters only make it that much more frightening. This is a horror masterpiece. Expand
  71. A.Nonymous
    Jan 2, 2008
    10
    Utter genius. Pure utter genius. The most original move in the horror genre. It's only flaw is that it leaves too much to the imagination.
  72. ChrisB
    Jul 10, 2009
    10
    I remember seeing this as a 6th grader in my friends house at night in the dark with some candles lit for ambiance. Granted that that was nine years ago (ugh I feel so old) I still think this movie has merit even in its VHS incarnation which is still on my shelf to this day. I think the most offensive part of the film is the amount of swearing and profanity that the characters use, but I remember seeing this as a 6th grader in my friends house at night in the dark with some candles lit for ambiance. Granted that that was nine years ago (ugh I feel so old) I still think this movie has merit even in its VHS incarnation which is still on my shelf to this day. I think the most offensive part of the film is the amount of swearing and profanity that the characters use, but the result is a haunting masterpiece that feels as honestly scary as it is realistic. I really tapped into the home video B&W and color variations and the camping trip gone wrong vibe. Though I can understand why some people are turned off to the whole affair. Expectations of a scary movie often include more violence, monsters, and special effects than this film can muster. This video does however, deliver grade "A" psychological horror, and stands as a testament as to why I love the survival horror genre. I feel particularly married to this film because after my best friend and I watched it for a second time in 9th grade he couldn't sleep at for a week. I felt guilty, but this reassured me that the Blair Witch Project wasn't to be taken lightly. This month is its tenth year anniversary. Do yourself a favor and give it a play. In the dark. With candles. Expand
  73. ItCameFromGilbertMulroneycakes
    Oct 27, 2003
    10
    It's fashionable to knock this movie, to say "Well, I wasn't scared" to prove how double-bastard hard you are. Well, you can just sod off, because the Blair Witch Project is bloody TERRIFYING. At least the final scene is; until then, it was giving off more a sense of eerie discomfort and genuinely unsettling pit-of-the-stomach fear. A lot less happens than you think; there are It's fashionable to knock this movie, to say "Well, I wasn't scared" to prove how double-bastard hard you are. Well, you can just sod off, because the Blair Witch Project is bloody TERRIFYING. At least the final scene is; until then, it was giving off more a sense of eerie discomfort and genuinely unsettling pit-of-the-stomach fear. A lot less happens than you think; there are precious few shocks. Until that final scene. It would have been nice to have a payoff of some kind, revealing just what the hell was chasing them; but it would also have been a betrayal. Facts Amazing: this is the first film I've seen which left me genuinely scared to get up to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night. Essential. Oh, and JD: please don't insult me by saying I only have one opinion because I'm scared to admit I have the other opinion. My thumb is still twitching now just thinking about it. You can't fake that. Expand
  74. PatrickF.
    Oct 28, 2003
    10
    I think this gets dramatically mixed reviews because how creepy the film is all depends on how creepy you make it. After seeing it in the theatre (4 years ago!) I was only moderately frightened; however, the movies still gives me the creeps occasionally to this day if I think too much about it. It isn't what you SEE that is so freaky, but what you DON'T, so the better (or I think this gets dramatically mixed reviews because how creepy the film is all depends on how creepy you make it. After seeing it in the theatre (4 years ago!) I was only moderately frightened; however, the movies still gives me the creeps occasionally to this day if I think too much about it. It isn't what you SEE that is so freaky, but what you DON'T, so the better (or perhaps worse?) your imagination, the scarier it is. Expand
  75. KaleyK.
    May 4, 2003
    10
    You people who DIDN'T find this movie scary or anything...you're just a bunch of cowards who don't want to admit that you've have trouble looking out your window, for you're afraid of all those old trees. This film gave me the creeps. I have lots of trees where I live and had trouble taking the garbage out at night because I couldn't stand looking at the You people who DIDN'T find this movie scary or anything...you're just a bunch of cowards who don't want to admit that you've have trouble looking out your window, for you're afraid of all those old trees. This film gave me the creeps. I have lots of trees where I live and had trouble taking the garbage out at night because I couldn't stand looking at the ominous trees. People are complaining because this film had no gore or special effects. I laugh at you. At first you idiots complain that the Matrix has too much special effects or too much violence. What a joke. This movie plays with our fears. Using the most simple things: stickmen, twigs, trees at night and many other things, and makes them look like supernatural things. At first I thought this movie was based on a true story. Thank god it wasn't. I'd be wide-awake everyday if it was. Collapse
  76. NinjaMafia
    Jan 22, 2004
    5
    The Blair Witch Project seems to be a bit overrated. I mean, it didn't scare me that much only up until the final scene, and even then it wasn't that extremely scary. However, you have to give this movies a few points. One for trying something new, every horror is basically a slasher flick these days. Two for being a pretty stylish flick, the whole camera aspect might make some The Blair Witch Project seems to be a bit overrated. I mean, it didn't scare me that much only up until the final scene, and even then it wasn't that extremely scary. However, you have to give this movies a few points. One for trying something new, every horror is basically a slasher flick these days. Two for being a pretty stylish flick, the whole camera aspect might make some people hate it, but it really actually helped this movie alot. Also, my last name is also Blair, I find that extremely amusing. This movie would have been really good if they kind of intensified it a bit more. It really felt like it was dragging on until the end where they finally felt like they should probably do something about the movie. Overall, I wouldn't neccesarily reccomend this film to everyone, bit it will please some people. Expand
  77. AndrewM
    Aug 29, 2004
    6
    I watched this film for the first time yesterday (Aug '04), some five years after it was first released and some five years worth of appraisals, criticisms, and general opinons being universally aired later! Needless to say, it was difficult to dispel the expectations and preconceptions I had; they had been fairly deeply planted over time. Mostly, I was expecting to be genuinely I watched this film for the first time yesterday (Aug '04), some five years after it was first released and some five years worth of appraisals, criticisms, and general opinons being universally aired later! Needless to say, it was difficult to dispel the expectations and preconceptions I had; they had been fairly deeply planted over time. Mostly, I was expecting to be genuinely scared to the core by this film. Mistake number one. I wasn't. Secondly, I was expecting poor acting and mediocre filmmaking techniques. Mistake number two. Both were impressive. Thirdly, I was expecting a highly intriguing mystery tale with much suspense. Well, not really a mistake, but not on the mark either. That one was a tie. I didn't get what I was expecting with this film and it just goes to show that suppositions not based on fact are completely worthless. Anyway, to try and be succinct, four short points that sum up my feelings for this film: 1) The storyline is novel and interesting (but is not fascinating); 2) The acting is quite notable for its obviously (and appropriately) extemporized approach, and the young, unknown thespians are all the more impressive because of it; 3) The camera work is completely apposite for the project - whether it is good or bad is really irrelevant; and 4) The 'mystery of the unknown' is used to great effect in this film. If the makers had included a big, tell-all surprise at the end, revealing the hidden menace and "answering" everyone's questions....well, think about it....how much more effective was it the other way?.....having you walk away still wondering just what the heck it was!? It was very clever filmmaking and resulted in a clever, effective film. For those people who are chilled to the bone by inherent fears: unseen creatures, eerie shadows and shapes in the dead of night, being followed alone in the dark....this is the film for you. For others, like myself, who are scared more by the bogey-man (a la Halloween) or possession (The Exorcist), then the Blair Witch Project won't exactly freak you out, but it is a notable curio and good talking point for movie buffs. Expand
  78. Apr 8, 2015
    10
    One of my all time favorite scary films. The amount of effort that went into making this look authentic is vastly under appreciated. Look up the making of this film and you will see how unique it really is.
  79. Nov 14, 2012
    8
    Many people say it's old-fashion to see this movie now because there are a lot of scary movie better than this one. But I don't agree with that, I think TBWP can still scary out **** of me. It's raw and everything in the movie is like reality. Also the performance of the actor is awesome. I can feel their desperation and scare from the movie.
  80. Jan 23, 2015
    8
    While the movie may not provide many jump scared as craved by audiences, it proves that the strength of imagination can be even more frightening than any film.
  81. Apr 3, 2014
    0
    Not only is it poorly acted but it features a plot that was so painfully slow that it failed to keep you even remotely interested in it. How they consider this one of the scariest films of all time completely baffles me.
  82. Oct 31, 2014
    3
    The Blair Witch Project is a case study that focuses in on the riveting question: Does a fantastic ending save an otherwise terrible film? The researchers in this study ultimately concluded that the answer is no. While the ending may be terrifying and completely effective, the hour and ten minutes prior, which amounts to nothing but terrible camera work (purposeful, but terrible all theThe Blair Witch Project is a case study that focuses in on the riveting question: Does a fantastic ending save an otherwise terrible film? The researchers in this study ultimately concluded that the answer is no. While the ending may be terrifying and completely effective, the hour and ten minutes prior, which amounts to nothing but terrible camera work (purposeful, but terrible all the same), terrible acting, aimless walking, yelling, and things that are supposed to be scary but are not, ultimately serve as the film's downfall. Coming in, I expected something very scary and, as somebody who does not watch many horror films, I figured I would be entirely freaked out. Yet, I came away thinking that the entire thing had to have been done as some terrible parody of an equally horrible horror film. They attempted to make it seem real because of the documentary style, but very little (hint: none) of it was believable, which was a bummer. I was all willing to buy in, but the film failed to convince me. All that freaked me out was the ending, but even then, it was painfully predictable once I saw where they wound up and could have been done better, certainly. But, the way it tied the story together was nice and entirely spooky, which worked out well in the film's favor and saved it from being rated later by me. Expand
  83. Jun 11, 2013
    10
    The most scariest part of anything, is never seeing whats coming along your way, when you hear creaky sounds at home or in anywhere without seeing any ghost or demon or spirit, it is chilling and really terrifying, because you keep wondering and saying "what if" that what The Blair Witch Project Holds.
  84. Oct 5, 2013
    5
    It's not terrible. It has one or two creepy moments. It's just that so much of it comes across as stupid and badly improvised that it can't be saved. I like the found footage idea, and the premise is alright, but the camerawork is so shaky and blurry that half the time you can't tell what's going on. I've seen worse horror movies before, but I think the critics must have all been in aIt's not terrible. It has one or two creepy moments. It's just that so much of it comes across as stupid and badly improvised that it can't be saved. I like the found footage idea, and the premise is alright, but the camerawork is so shaky and blurry that half the time you can't tell what's going on. I've seen worse horror movies before, but I think the critics must have all been in a really good mood when they went to see this. That or they were high, cause this was definitely not an 81 in my opinion. Expand
  85. Apr 10, 2013
    3
    One knows that a film Is genuinely 'scary' when there is a constant amount of suspense. Not once did I see the witches nor was I scared, u don't leave the film to the end for action to arrive.
  86. Jul 3, 2013
    10
    This is why there are so many found footage movies out there now! Because The Blair Witch Project is awesome! Its brilliantly presented, wonderfully executed, well acted, groundbreaking, chilling, thrilling, creepy and suspenseful! Watch the movie that invented the found footage genre, see where it all began. Because, found footage movies had a GREAT start! If you don't like scary movies,This is why there are so many found footage movies out there now! Because The Blair Witch Project is awesome! Its brilliantly presented, wonderfully executed, well acted, groundbreaking, chilling, thrilling, creepy and suspenseful! Watch the movie that invented the found footage genre, see where it all began. Because, found footage movies had a GREAT start! If you don't like scary movies, don't watch this, you will be scared, the movie still holds up today as a creepy ass film! It just goes to show that even with a low budget, you can still do some great things. Expand
  87. Jul 24, 2013
    8
    Alright, this movie isn't too scary on it's own. I'll admit that. But you know what made this movie especially terrifying for me? I went into the woods a week after watching this movie. If you and your buddies are going to go camping any time soon, I highly advise making them watch this movie ahead of time so that their brains will be when you're all doing a night trek through a forest.Alright, this movie isn't too scary on it's own. I'll admit that. But you know what made this movie especially terrifying for me? I went into the woods a week after watching this movie. If you and your buddies are going to go camping any time soon, I highly advise making them watch this movie ahead of time so that their brains will be when you're all doing a night trek through a forest.

    This movie did some things exceptionally well:
    1) the first person story telling was very captivating and really put you inside the character's shoes
    2) this movie doesn't have background music in it (except the beginning when they're in the car) which really makes the audience guess and interpret different scenes in this movie
    3) it really creeps the crap out of you.

    If you're looking for an "in the moment pop up scary" type of movie, you will be disappointed with Blair witch project. BUT if you are looking for a truly terrifying experience, watch this entire movie with the mentality that everything in it is based off of a true story, then go camping with a bunch of friends. and make sure you do a night trek through the woods (stoned if at all possible). You will your pants.
    Expand
  88. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    While there is now technology that is terrifying, what we don't see is what we fear most, and "The Blair Witch Project" proves it. It might seem to generations that it is an old movie and a cheap one too, "The Blair Witch Project" stands out as one of the most impressive work in the horror industry, absolutely and highly recommended.
  89. Jul 15, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie was great! It had many astonishing and adrenaline rushing moments. It will keep you on the edge of your seat the whole movie. This movie is based on a true story. This fact makes the movie even scarier to think what actually happened to these people. I highly recommend that you watch this movie! Expand
  90. Aug 5, 2013
    8
    Although many people didn't find it scary, I though it was really scary. Just because you can't see the 'creature' you don't know if it's really there or not, that's what makes this movie so original and realistic. I've seen many more horror movies like Evil Dead (all of them), Paranormal Activity, 28 Days Later, The Descent, 1408, The Exorcist,... in all of these movies the 'creatures'Although many people didn't find it scary, I though it was really scary. Just because you can't see the 'creature' you don't know if it's really there or not, that's what makes this movie so original and realistic. I've seen many more horror movies like Evil Dead (all of them), Paranormal Activity, 28 Days Later, The Descent, 1408, The Exorcist,... in all of these movies the 'creatures' are shown though I didn't find it scary at all.

    The Blair Witch Project has the 'camcorder' effect which I really like in movies, makes it more scary, in my opinion. I've seen many other 'camcorder' effect movies like Cloverfield but The Blair Witch Project was for me the best one.

    This movie is one of my favorite horror movies, and I see it every year at Halloween. Very good movie, although I can agree with people why they don't really like it.
    Expand
  91. Apr 1, 2014
    8
    The Blair Witch Project is one chillingly suspenseful movie. It uses what isn't there instead of what is to create thrills, and the "found-footage" aspect makes it seems more realistic, which makes it more scary. If you can get past the shaky cam and low quality of the film, this is a great "mockumentary" to watch on a Friday night.
  92. Mar 26, 2014
    10
    The Blair Witch is at no point overdone, nor a tad bit boring in any single second of any minute. The Blair Witch is a gripping, mysterious film that uses barely the location and the stories told by characters further to the beginning of the film to keep you suspended and immensely spooked out for the duration of the film, but mostly afterwards. Boring? Most definitely not, The Blair WitchThe Blair Witch is at no point overdone, nor a tad bit boring in any single second of any minute. The Blair Witch is a gripping, mysterious film that uses barely the location and the stories told by characters further to the beginning of the film to keep you suspended and immensely spooked out for the duration of the film, but mostly afterwards. Boring? Most definitely not, The Blair Witch is a stroke of genius. End of. Expand
  93. Nov 23, 2014
    10
    The Blair Witch Project es una de las mejores películas de Falso Documental que he visto. La película, en sí, trata sobre 3 adolescentes que buscan recopilar información de lo que es la leyenda urbana conocida como La Bruja de Blair., ésta interesante y entretenida trama logra ser efectiva y acierta hacia una buena perspectiva., en donde mientras que avanza el film el público sienteThe Blair Witch Project es una de las mejores películas de Falso Documental que he visto. La película, en sí, trata sobre 3 adolescentes que buscan recopilar información de lo que es la leyenda urbana conocida como La Bruja de Blair., ésta interesante y entretenida trama logra ser efectiva y acierta hacia una buena perspectiva., en donde mientras que avanza el film el público siente nervios y escalofríos mientras avanza la película, con un buen razonamiento de sensaciones terroríficas y dosis de sorpresas que ocurren en el film, además de una forma eficaz en hacer que los personajes que habitan la historia se quiebren psicológicamente más y más a medida que avanza el largometraje. En general, The Blair Witch Project logra ser una buena película de terror que te llama la atención y que da una cálida sensación de angustia y miedo Expand
  94. Sep 2, 2014
    9
    "The Blair Witch Project" is one of the most innovative films in the history of cinema. It is absolutely essential to watch this film if you're a horror movie fan. It's a very slow film, and not much is going on, but the sense of disorientation is extremely disturbing and creepy. Another great thing about this film is that the Blair Witch is never once shown. The film leaves it up to the"The Blair Witch Project" is one of the most innovative films in the history of cinema. It is absolutely essential to watch this film if you're a horror movie fan. It's a very slow film, and not much is going on, but the sense of disorientation is extremely disturbing and creepy. Another great thing about this film is that the Blair Witch is never once shown. The film leaves it up to the viewer's imagination to think of what the demon /ghost/whatever may look like, and I believe that people's imagination is far scarier than anything that can be put on film. Expand
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Gemma Files
    90
    Man, I just can't recommend this enough.
  2. The what-you-don't-see element makes this an excellent film for people with overactive imaginations, and if that's you, it will scare the living crap out of you.
  3. An ultra-cheap movie, ingeniously promoted through the Internet -- is notable primarily as a model of guerrilla-style niche-marketing.