The Blair Witch Project

The Blair Witch Project Image
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 261 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: On October 21, 1994, Heather Donahue, Joshua Leonard and Michael Williams hiked into Maryland's Black Hills Forest to shoot a documentary film on a local legend, The Blair Witch. They were never heard from again. One year later, their footage was found. The Blair Witch Project is theirOn October 21, 1994, Heather Donahue, Joshua Leonard and Michael Williams hiked into Maryland's Black Hills Forest to shoot a documentary film on a local legend, The Blair Witch. They were never heard from again. One year later, their footage was found. The Blair Witch Project is their legacy. [Artisan Entertainment] Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. 100
    Many of us may have thought that with the world offering so much vivid horribleness every day, movies had lost the power to give us a good cathartic scare. It's a shock -- and a pleasure -- to discover we were wrong.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    90
    An intensely imaginative piece of conceptual filmmaking that also delivers the goods as a dread-drenched horror movie.
  3. Film.com
    Reviewed by: Gemma Files
    90
    Man, I just can't recommend this enough.
  4. The most inventive and genuinely frightening horror movie to appear in years.
  5. Reviewed by: David Edelstein
    80
    No part of us is allowed to relax. Ever.
  6. As amateurish and fumbling as it is in every department, the sum total of the movie is pretty darn scary.
  7. Film.com
    Reviewed by: Peter Brunette
    50
    While it has its scary moments, and while its central conceit is refreshingly imaginative, there's ultimately not much there there.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 106
  2. Negative: 32 out of 106
  1. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    While there is now technology that is terrifying, what we don't see is what we fear most, and "The Blair Witch Project" proves it. It mightWhile there is now technology that is terrifying, what we don't see is what we fear most, and "The Blair Witch Project" proves it. It might seem to generations that it is an old movie and a cheap one too, "The Blair Witch Project" stands out as one of the most impressive work in the horror industry, absolutely and highly recommended. Expand
  2. NormanD
    Jul 27, 2008
    10
    Such a minimalist and overwhelming scare-the-crap-out-of-you thriller! I was sleepless for two nights just imagining what that odd sound in Such a minimalist and overwhelming scare-the-crap-out-of-you thriller! I was sleepless for two nights just imagining what that odd sound in the water pipes might be. Expand
  3. Riren
    Jan 28, 2007
    10
    I watched this movie for the thirteenth time last night, and was still creeped right out. Watching it on DVD in my house, I still felt as I watched this movie for the thirteenth time last night, and was still creeped right out. Watching it on DVD in my house, I still felt as though someone might be watching me from down the hall. This is the effect of great atmosphere, and the Blair Witch Project has it. Every financially cheap aspect helps it. It's shot in a real environment, not a sterile set or against a CGI backdrop; its actors improvise their dialogue rather than read from scripts; the lighting is completely natural, and all the sounds are ambient. Instead of a soundtrack, this movie has whatever the microphones picked up in the woods - much scarier than a bunch of licensed music or orchestral tones. By shooting this movie over six straight days and camping in the woods, these college-level actors access real fatigue and real emotion that blows away Hollywood performances because even though their premise is every bit as fictional as a blockbuster, their feelings are real. Minimalism is the name of the game, hiding or only showing a little of any scene - only what was caught on the characters' cameras. Outside of those people who can't stand student film to begin with or can't appreciate something filmed with shaky cameras (something most people get used to in a matter of minutes, and something that is a huge part of modern news reporting), nothing can draw an audience in quite like this movie. Expand
  4. Apr 1, 2014
    8
    The Blair Witch Project is one chillingly suspenseful movie. It uses what isn't there instead of what is to create thrills, and theThe Blair Witch Project is one chillingly suspenseful movie. It uses what isn't there instead of what is to create thrills, and the "found-footage" aspect makes it seems more realistic, which makes it more scary. If you can get past the shaky cam and low quality of the film, this is a great "mockumentary" to watch on a Friday night. Expand
  5. Nov 21, 2015
    7
    I did enjoy this movie although it really wasn't that scary and the ending was kind of anticlimactic. I watched this for the first time at aI did enjoy this movie although it really wasn't that scary and the ending was kind of anticlimactic. I watched this for the first time at a horror movie marathon at a friends house and the scariest part was when the tv turned off and we thought it was going to be a jumpscare so we sat waiting for it for five minutes Expand
  6. Apr 10, 2013
    3
    One knows that a film Is genuinely 'scary' when there is a constant amount of suspense. Not once did I see the witches nor was I scared, uOne knows that a film Is genuinely 'scary' when there is a constant amount of suspense. Not once did I see the witches nor was I scared, u don't leave the film to the end for action to arrive. Expand
  7. Jul 30, 2015
    0
    Maybe the worst and most boring movie i've ever seen. Detestably unrealistic, the girl keeps filming against all sense of logic.. 80 min. ofMaybe the worst and most boring movie i've ever seen. Detestably unrealistic, the girl keeps filming against all sense of logic.. 80 min. of absolute nothingness.. Please do yourself a favor and DON'T ever watch it. Expand

See all 106 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: August 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  2. Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 19, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Denis Villeneuve's buzzy sci-fi film Arrival, plus Terrence Malick’s Voyage of Time, Andrea Arnold's American Honey, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: August 17, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Kubo and the Two Strings, Ben-Hur, War Dogs, Morris From America, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking

    Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking Image
    Published: August 16, 2016
    We rank 22 leading action movie stars by their average Metascores.