User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 301 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 301
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JeffJ
    Mar 2, 2010
    6
    The Blind Side is a funny but overrated film that somehow is nominated for an oscar for best picture. I think some of the jokes are just plain stupid but some are clever. The film has a great story I think it is very uplifting but at times it is so unrealistic it make me roll my eyes. Sandra Bullock had a good role not great because it wasn't anything new to her I have seen her play The Blind Side is a funny but overrated film that somehow is nominated for an oscar for best picture. I think some of the jokes are just plain stupid but some are clever. The film has a great story I think it is very uplifting but at times it is so unrealistic it make me roll my eyes. Sandra Bullock had a good role not great because it wasn't anything new to her I have seen her play these type of roles plenty of times. Overall the movie is so overrated and should not be nominated for an oscar. But its a above average movie. Expand
  2. Aug 18, 2010
    8
    It's funny when a true story of kindness is made into a film, some people see it as racist. I get the horrible feeling that those people are racists themselves. It's almost like they can't stand seeing a blackman do well and being accepted for who he is.
    Great film by the way.
  3. Carlos
    Dec 26, 2009
    9
    In these very troubled and difficult times in the world, this is an optimistic view, and the best is it is based on a true story, which makes it more beliavable. Sandra Bullock is way far away from her usual characters, and floats up beautifully! (much more so after her participation in the awful "All About Steve".
  4. JohnH
    Dec 3, 2009
    10
    First, the criticisms of this movie are ridiculous. How this movie gets misconstrued as racism is crazy. The purpose of this movie is not to show white people as the saviors of black people, and any such suggestion is malicious, hateful, and racist. This movie gives nothing to complain about. It had plenty of laughs, a few tear-jerking moments, a quick-paced story that was engaging... All First, the criticisms of this movie are ridiculous. How this movie gets misconstrued as racism is crazy. The purpose of this movie is not to show white people as the saviors of black people, and any such suggestion is malicious, hateful, and racist. This movie gives nothing to complain about. It had plenty of laughs, a few tear-jerking moments, a quick-paced story that was engaging... All the elements necessary to keep most people entertained. Why do you think it did better in the box office in its second weekend? Because this movie is good. It achieves its goals effortlessly, and its goals are to show that people have the ability to drastically alter the course of each others' lives through our actions. Expand
  5. JohnG.
    Jan 12, 2010
    9
    Wonderfully told tale full of hope, breaking many prejudices and Bullock is simply brilliant. An Oscar winning display.
  6. JohnU
    Jan 2, 2010
    9
    A rare film that both men and women can enjoy. Sandra Bullock is terrific! While her role as a Christian woman doing good is primary and that of Michael Oher, the promising offensive lineman, is diminished from what it was in the book, there is still enough football action to hold the attention of guys who follow the game. (Oher became an All_American at Ole Miss after departing the Tuohy A rare film that both men and women can enjoy. Sandra Bullock is terrific! While her role as a Christian woman doing good is primary and that of Michael Oher, the promising offensive lineman, is diminished from what it was in the book, there is still enough football action to hold the attention of guys who follow the game. (Oher became an All_American at Ole Miss after departing the Tuohy household after his high school graduation and then a first round draft choice and now a starter for the Baltimore Ravens.) Audiences are much more positive about this film than the critics. In this case, I think the audiences are to be trusted more than the critics. Expand
  7. MikeM
    Feb 2, 2010
    9
    Critics who downgraded this movie(based on a true story) simply do not like feel good movies,=. I guess they just want lots of action with no base for the plots.These critics need to give up this profession because they are unqualified to rate anything. Movie was very good. Sandrs Bullock was bsolutely fantastic ant the supporting cast was also.I am glan I don't pay ant attention to Critics who downgraded this movie(based on a true story) simply do not like feel good movies,=. I guess they just want lots of action with no base for the plots.These critics need to give up this profession because they are unqualified to rate anything. Movie was very good. Sandrs Bullock was bsolutely fantastic ant the supporting cast was also.I am glan I don't pay ant attention to these so called critics. If I did,I surely would miss some good and entertaining movies. The box office doesn't lie. Just look at the numbers idiots! Expand
  8. SimoneN.
    Feb 25, 2010
    10
    A great story with great morals and spirit. We all must learn to admire the good and stop making fun of it. I can only wish we will have more people like this family around us.
  9. TS
    Mar 22, 2010
    7
    Not exactly full of compelling drama, but a nice story about nice people doing nice things. So sue me, I liked it, okay?
  10. TimG.
    Mar 29, 2010
    9
    I liked the book better because the football scenes in the movie are tough to reproduce accurately.
  11. PatG
    Nov 20, 2009
    7
    I enjoyed this movie more than I expected. I have absolutely no interest in football. Zero. But I usually enjoy Sandra Bullock, so I went. It is a nice human-interest story, well done. So I do recommend it. It feels a tad long, but it held my interest well.
  12. ChrisT
    Nov 20, 2009
    10
    This is by far Sandra Bullock's best performance that I have ever seen her in and this is really a great film, best on an inspiring story.
  13. LauraD.
    Nov 24, 2009
    8
    It's movies like this that give you the "you can do it too" spirit for another person that needs it like Michael Oher.
  14. Rocket
    Dec 17, 2009
    8
    It appears most critics want to rate this movie based on delicate racial sensibilities and not on the entertainment value of the film. Look at the wide rating disparity between critics and average movie goers. I liked the film and would recommend it for its entertainment value.
  15. carolA.
    Dec 25, 2009
    10
    The feel good movie of the holiday season. Sandra Bullock is terrific in what may be her best role ever. Don't miss this wonderful human interest story.
  16. MikeW
    Dec 3, 2009
    9
    So much has been said in finding fault with the story, with the perceived racism in the storytelling, with the fault in the characters. I find little fault with the film. The characters are... true. Notably three New York-based critics gave the movie a failing grade. Why? Because the acting was so poor? Or because they did not connect with the message? This is one of those rare moments So much has been said in finding fault with the story, with the perceived racism in the storytelling, with the fault in the characters. I find little fault with the film. The characters are... true. Notably three New York-based critics gave the movie a failing grade. Why? Because the acting was so poor? Or because they did not connect with the message? This is one of those rare moments where I find that the most condemning critics are in the wrong, because it is not the MOVIE they disagree with per se, but the premise. The mere idea that such a series of events unfolded as such is perceived as de facto racist. But you know what, much of life has racial overtones. And I don't find the too-good-to-be-true story any less valued just because it doesn't live up to certain standards as a story of overcoming the odds in a racially segregated (or rather socially racially segregated society.) On a side note, love Sandra Bullock. But the accent is close.... but just not there. Expand
  17. NilsY
    Dec 6, 2009
    9
    A great story, which was well cast and acted. This is an inspiring feel good movie.
  18. GerriS
    Dec 6, 2009
    10
    Best movie I've ever seen. Entire family (10 in all) and everyone enjoyed it. Tim McGraw and Sandra Bullock were great.
  19. LindseyD
    Dec 6, 2009
    10
    This movie was such a positive, wonderful story. Sandra Bullock and Tim McGraw are both wonderful in this movie. The family's love for each other and for Michael is overwhelming. It is a charming movie that you will want to go see again. I know I do!!
  20. EthanC.
    Mar 26, 2010
    8
    Of course they couldn't be nice people, that would be to unpessimistic of a view. Of course they could not do it for the fact that they wanted to be decent, they had to be "hell bent boosters", wanting to get Ole' Miss a championship tackle. Get a grip. It tells a very un-cliched tale, of a boy who finally finds the right spot in life. It also avoids many cliched sports movie Of course they couldn't be nice people, that would be to unpessimistic of a view. Of course they could not do it for the fact that they wanted to be decent, they had to be "hell bent boosters", wanting to get Ole' Miss a championship tackle. Get a grip. It tells a very un-cliched tale, of a boy who finally finds the right spot in life. It also avoids many cliched sports movie moments (very rare). Some of the parts are awkward, and it does get slightly confusing here and there, but none the less this movie is very good. Don't listen to any of the critics, they just need to take the awkwardly placed football, and take it out of their you know what. Expand
  21. DanL
    Mar 29, 2010
    10
    This movie has some of the best acting and dramatization I have seen from a movie in a long time. Sandra Bullock normally plays in goofy, ditzy roles, but she did a wonderful job in her serious role. The other thing that I liked to see is that she played the dominant role in the house even though her husband played by Tim McGraw created most of the income. So all in all this movie was an This movie has some of the best acting and dramatization I have seen from a movie in a long time. Sandra Bullock normally plays in goofy, ditzy roles, but she did a wonderful job in her serious role. The other thing that I liked to see is that she played the dominant role in the house even though her husband played by Tim McGraw created most of the income. So all in all this movie was an all around great movie and Sandra Bullock deserved the Oscar that she won for it. Expand
  22. ChadS
    Nov 21, 2009
    6
    Oh, they're boosters. In a funny way, this bit of late-breaking information functions the same as the "he's dead" revelation in M. Night Shyamalan's "The Sixth Sense", because it forces the moviegoer to reexamine all the preceeding scenes under a new frame of reference. Whereas Shyamalan situated the Bruce Willis character sans conversation among the living, this filmmaker Oh, they're boosters. In a funny way, this bit of late-breaking information functions the same as the "he's dead" revelation in M. Night Shyamalan's "The Sixth Sense", because it forces the moviegoer to reexamine all the preceeding scenes under a new frame of reference. Whereas Shyamalan situated the Bruce Willis character sans conversation among the living, this filmmaker too stages scenes that hide the truth in plain sight, then blindsides the moviegoer with a game-changing moment of epiphany. Here, it's in a surprisingly terse scene between Michael(Quintin Aaron) and a NCAA investigator, in which the Touhys are cast in a surprisingly unfavorable light, complicating the film's emotional uplift ever so slightly. Good samaritans or hell-bent boosters? Although the Touhy's are never labeled as such, the evidence of their vested interest in a good left tackle is right in your face all along. An Ole Miss football game on Thanksgiving Day dominates the Touhy household, in which the family gathers around the television from the sofa with their turkey-stuffed plates. When Leigh-Ann(Sandra Bullock) observes her charge sitting by himself at the dining room table, she shuts off the game, and has them join their permanent guest for a more traditional familial holiday arrangement. This is the moment, perhaps, that Leigh-Ann starts to understand how their football-centric lifestyle might need some toning down. (Even the Touhys' young son is put to work as Michael's trainer.) To what extent is her paternalism motivated by a rabid love for Rebel football? Unfortunately, "The Blind Side" bails the University of Mississippi alumnists out, during an exchange where Leigh-Ann and Sean(Tim McGraw) suss out their motivations with a proper amount of self-flaggelation, so we don't have to. But in a telling scene, Miss Sue(Kathy Bates), Michael's tutor, tries to recruit the future NFL star away from hated SEC rival Tennessee with a crazy story about Neyland Stadium(where the Volunteers play its home games), which validates the possibility that a well-to-do couple would feed and clothe an offensive line prospect for their beloved team. Expand
  23. ClaytonD
    Nov 21, 2009
    8
    Gr8t flick! Bullock does a wonerful job as the "momma bear" you dont mess with. SJ is a hoot and uses all of his freckles to good use!!!
  24. WinstonL
    Nov 20, 2009
    10
    Despite the reviews, Sandra Bullock is STILL on my Oscar-watch.
  25. RobertM.
    Nov 22, 2009
    9
    This movie works because it is a straight-forward story of hope and one woman's determination to make a positive difference. The reviewers (they call themselves critics) that rated the movie yellow or red would also have panned Capra's "It's A Wonderful Life". REM
  26. MarkC
    Nov 23, 2009
    10
    Thoroughly enjoyed this movie.
  27. BillP
    Nov 30, 2009
    9
    Seriously. How can you not like this movie? It's a delight. Sandra Bullock finds her voice! It's all true. People do noble things.
  28. Fantasy
    Nov 30, 2009
    8
    Without question this is a feel good movie based on a true story. At the NFL Draft when Michael took the stage after being drafted #1 by the Baltimore Ravens nary a word was said about how he got there. Michael is befriended by a rich southern family who accepts him for who he is. His IQ is 80 but then again he never recieved an education. To see his desire in which he eventually made the Without question this is a feel good movie based on a true story. At the NFL Draft when Michael took the stage after being drafted #1 by the Baltimore Ravens nary a word was said about how he got there. Michael is befriended by a rich southern family who accepts him for who he is. His IQ is 80 but then again he never recieved an education. To see his desire in which he eventually made the Deans List at Mississippi and becomes an All American transcends the football story. Talk about second chances in life this is a true feel good story about an exceptional young man and an exceptional family that we would all like to be part of. Expand
  29. BillC.
    Nov 30, 2009
    6
    This movie is pretty harmless Holiday fare, A true story ,yet it's not all that uplifting and the acting is nothing special either. I like Sandra Bullock , but so far she's pnly shown acting abilities in one movie - Crash. This film is pretty to look at and very standard Family stuff.
  30. JonathanS
    Dec 12, 2009
    8
    Not exactly sure why this movie received such mixed reviews. Sometimes I think critics only like really artsy flicks. If you want a heartwarming movie about a great story this movie will leave you entertained.
  31. VinceM.
    Dec 16, 2009
    10
    Inspiring, true story. I loved it, one of those movies thats stays with you afterward. The critics are way out of line on this one and they have zero credibility, that's why I always check out USER COMMENTS and not Critics Comments
  32. JS
    Dec 17, 2009
    10
    Why is it that all the negative reviews are claiming the film is racist? The only racists are the bigots who can't stand that a hollywood film actually depicted conservatives in a good way. This film is fantastic! Not about race, not about republican vs. democrat, its about Michael Oher and his journey to the NFL! GET OVER IT!!
  33. JacksonR.
    Nov 24, 2009
    9
    The Blind Side is very well done on all points. It is well written, well acted and well edited. It is the first film in several months whereI did not feel robbed of my hard earned money (Damn you Surrogates!). I notice that a number of the critics of the film find fault and even racism in how the story plays out. Considering that it is based on true events I don't see how they can The Blind Side is very well done on all points. It is well written, well acted and well edited. It is the first film in several months whereI did not feel robbed of my hard earned money (Damn you Surrogates!). I notice that a number of the critics of the film find fault and even racism in how the story plays out. Considering that it is based on true events I don't see how they can blame the film for how these people lived. The film is simply reflecting the reality as seen through the eyes of the participants. I guess it would have been a very different film if told from the perspective of the project dwelling drug dealer - but his was not the story being told. Expand
  34. EvanP
    Dec 14, 2009
    7
    It's a touching titled, but tends to feel dumbed down to the point of almost being insulting to the audience. The way that it approaches the whole idea of racial tension in the film gets rather annoying at time, but the tale of the protagonist's steadily bonding relationship with a family that took him in when he had nothing is incredibly heartwarming. Overall I say it's It's a touching titled, but tends to feel dumbed down to the point of almost being insulting to the audience. The way that it approaches the whole idea of racial tension in the film gets rather annoying at time, but the tale of the protagonist's steadily bonding relationship with a family that took him in when he had nothing is incredibly heartwarming. Overall I say it's definitely worth feeling, even if it can be irritating on occasion. Expand
  35. EmilyC
    Dec 28, 2009
    10
    My whole family enjoyed this movie. Sandra Bullock perfectly portrayed an upper-class, Southern woman, and it was great to see Tim McGraw in a different setting - he also did a fantastic job. The screenplay was well written and engaging for the whole two hours. Some people may not like the story, but it's true and it's fantastic.
  36. TonyB.
    Dec 29, 2009
    9
    For the life of me, I cannot understand those who see racism here. The story is true, and the truth is that a poor black youngster was helped by a rich white family. I am so happy that this very well-written, acted and directed film is doing so well at the box office.
  37. Feb 21, 2011
    7
    Rich family takes in homeless teen, help him get grades, starts playing football, gets good at it, tough childhood keeps haunting him.
    True story based on a book about Michael Oher who went on to play in the NFL.
    Sandra Bullock shines as the very driven Leigh Ann Tuohy with her no-nonsense approach and mentions too for good performances by Tim McGraw, Jae Head and of course Quinton Aaron
    Rich family takes in homeless teen, help him get grades, starts playing football, gets good at it, tough childhood keeps haunting him.
    True story based on a book about Michael Oher who went on to play in the NFL.
    Sandra Bullock shines as the very driven Leigh Ann Tuohy with her no-nonsense approach and mentions too for good performances by Tim McGraw, Jae Head and of course Quinton Aaron as Oher.
    Slightly predictable pacing but an enjoyable watch.
    Expand
  38. Jan 17, 2011
    7
    Good movieee . it was sadd and amazingg .. not as greatt as country strongg ! but Tim Mcgraww is awsomee ! and yess this was a good moviee !!! If you haventt seen it yett you need to soon ! its gonna be one of your to favoritess !!!
  39. Oct 8, 2011
    10
    A great movie for you and the family its truly touching and amazing how a southern rich girl would take in a poor young african american boy it is truly touching i certainly reccomend it 10/10
  40. Nov 30, 2012
    4
    This movie is held on a level that I don't understand. Sandra was not brilliant and the movie lacks any creativity or originality in it. Contrived and predictable. This is just an ok cliche movie that is kind of boring.
  41. Sep 30, 2014
    9
    If you fail to see that they're just human beings helping each other, you are the racist ones. The movie is worth watching, very inspirational and sad at times. And yeah, Sandra Bullock is outstanding.
  42. Aug 13, 2010
    8
    This is definitely Sandra Bullock's film. She was extraordinary, and more so considering how she usually is. No one expected this from her, including herself. It is a very nice story, which could be seen as the "white saviour story".. but since it's a true story, that kind of falls in the background of it. Overall, definitely a touching and moving story about a woman who has a lot of loveThis is definitely Sandra Bullock's film. She was extraordinary, and more so considering how she usually is. No one expected this from her, including herself. It is a very nice story, which could be seen as the "white saviour story".. but since it's a true story, that kind of falls in the background of it. Overall, definitely a touching and moving story about a woman who has a lot of love (and money) to share and who actually does it, regardless of what other think or say. Good film! Expand
  43. Sep 22, 2011
    5
    "The Blind Side" isn't a movie where you cry at amazing performances and heart throbbing dialogue. It's a movie that will roughly intercept your mind for a painful tear.
  44. Oct 22, 2010
    7
    The film belongs to Sandra Bullock who delivers a brilliant performance (possibly the best one of her career), but the focus of the overall effect is sloppy. The story is boring at times and I think the film was too long. I didn't live up to expectations. Newcomer Quinton Aaron wasn't a good fit, he wasn't the best of actors. He definitely looked the part (being tall and all) but hisThe film belongs to Sandra Bullock who delivers a brilliant performance (possibly the best one of her career), but the focus of the overall effect is sloppy. The story is boring at times and I think the film was too long. I didn't live up to expectations. Newcomer Quinton Aaron wasn't a good fit, he wasn't the best of actors. He definitely looked the part (being tall and all) but his performance was very wooden. Another newcomer Jae Head is the heart of the film. It's probably one of the highlights of the film. Overall, the film is warming but tiring that is full of unnecessary scenes, forgettable characters and elements of the story that just don't work. I have it's cute and worth the watch but only for Bullock, Head and again, the football aspect of the story. Expand
  45. Aug 14, 2010
    9
    The performance by Sandra Bullock TOTALLY deserves the Academy Award.
    If you forget this is a movie based in real life facts it wouldn't matter, the movie would still be great, with great performances by all their actors and they develop their story of "white guy/girl saves poor boy" in a way never seen before, making it a great drama that will keep you hooked up from the beginning.
    I
    The performance by Sandra Bullock TOTALLY deserves the Academy Award.
    If you forget this is a movie based in real life facts it wouldn't matter, the movie would still be great, with great performances by all their actors and they develop their story of "white guy/girl saves poor boy" in a way never seen before, making it a great drama that will keep you hooked up from the beginning.
    I don't give it a 10 because there was a scene or two that don't add anything to the movie, but there should be a 9.5 score in this scale, because that's what this movie deserves.
    Expand
  46. Jan 13, 2011
    10
    This movie is inspirational, it tells people not to judge people by their skin color or their appearance. It is a heart warmer, it has one of the best plots of 2009, If I was a dog- 4 THUMBS UP!!!!!!!!!
  47. HannahB.
    Apr 5, 2010
    4
    This movie feels like a racist Disney Channel movie. I mean the idea that some white lady changes a black guys life is demeaning. Sure, an okay performance from Sandra Bullock but an Oscar?! That's ridiculous.
  48. RanelG
    Jan 4, 2010
    6
    I have to say this is pretty much a great film for a person who still alive and active in what he/she does. It had great acting, but the only flaw on why I gave it a 6 is well it seemed to look too much of as a "family film" when it really isn't.
  49. ShaneS.
    Jan 21, 2010
    10
    Sandra Bullock is absolutely fantastic! Why? Because she's so believable in her role; most of the time a big name actor gets in the way of their own character because all the audience recognizes is the face. In "The Blind Side" Sandra pretty much disappears into her character of Mrs. Tuohy, which allows the movie itself to have a life of it's own as it's big name actor is Sandra Bullock is absolutely fantastic! Why? Because she's so believable in her role; most of the time a big name actor gets in the way of their own character because all the audience recognizes is the face. In "The Blind Side" Sandra pretty much disappears into her character of Mrs. Tuohy, which allows the movie itself to have a life of it's own as it's big name actor is replaced by a charismatic southern mom. Yes, Mrs. Tuohy does drive the movie, yet she is not too overpowering to where the other characters are drowned out. Michael and the rest of the Tuohy's act superbly within their roles; the scenes with the smallest Tuohy (SJ) and Michael are very humorous and impactful when they need to be. They really portray a good brother to brother relationship. The movie as a whole is more of a drama than a sports film, about the power of family and what it means to challenge yourself: if that means going out of your way to help another, pushing yourself to achieve what you once thought impossible or looking inwardly to see if you really are the person you want to be. Fantastic performance by Sandra, the story is told wonderfully with enough humor to balance the sometimes dramatic or intense turns. Overall a grand accomplishment for feel good cinama! And a final comment: for all the people that seem to think the movie is about a poor black child helped out by the more privileged white angels, I think you are projecting your own prejudice onto a film that clearly does not have that kind of message in mind. Point in fact: I doubt the Golden Globes would recognize an actress for her role in a obviously racist picture if that were the case at all. (Hope Sandra gets the Academy's recognition also, she, and the film, deserve it!). Expand
  50. JonW
    Feb 2, 2010
    9
    I love this comment - "This movie is despicable." Excuse me it's a TRUE story bozo. Like it actually happened, like the "racist" family actually helped a black kid and now he's star. Great film. Very uplifting.
  51. PaulF
    Feb 22, 2010
    7
    Some reviews claimed this movie to be a bit racist but considering it a depiction of a real life story I really don't see how that could be, especially since the family that tried to help this young man actively fought against this, even at the cost of alienating themselves from their social groups. Yes there are rich do goer white people. Yes, there are poor good natured black Some reviews claimed this movie to be a bit racist but considering it a depiction of a real life story I really don't see how that could be, especially since the family that tried to help this young man actively fought against this, even at the cost of alienating themselves from their social groups. Yes there are rich do goer white people. Yes, there are poor good natured black people that just need a little loving support. This movie shows an example in which we can all live our lives upon. The acting was pretty good but not stellar. The story good but not riveting. There were a few heart felt scenes. I thought there were a few places that could have been filled in more. In short this was a good movie with a good message but cinematography and acting wise wasn't anything out of the ordinary. Expand
  52. CandieB
    Feb 25, 2010
    9
    Sandra Bullock's acting was fabulous in this film. What many have touted as overly emotional is actually an honest look into the lives of a family who live what they believe. Of course it's a movie, so you take it with a grain of salt, but it's still encouraging and entertaining.
  53. JohnM.
    Feb 8, 2010
    7
    An enjoyable light story with great acting by Sandra Bullock.
  54. Sam
    Mar 7, 2010
    10
    This is the best movie I have ever seen because it is based on a true story that you can look up for yourself. just try
  55. shawnA
    Apr 1, 2010
    2
    I wonder who Jesse James slept with to get Sandra an Academy Award? What a B level actress at best.
  56. YapyHappy
    Mar 2, 2010
    4
    Nice performance from Bullock, but terrible film.
  57. BruceN.
    Feb 15, 2010
    5
    It might have been a "true" story but I felt uneasy all through the flik, and I was glad when they were investigated. I wanted to investigate them but then I remembered this is a movie. If you don't live in the south and you have never been around zealous boosters and you never been exposed to sheltered/gated-wealthy-I-wanna-help-the-poor you probably did have a feel good experience. It might have been a "true" story but I felt uneasy all through the flik, and I was glad when they were investigated. I wanted to investigate them but then I remembered this is a movie. If you don't live in the south and you have never been around zealous boosters and you never been exposed to sheltered/gated-wealthy-I-wanna-help-the-poor you probably did have a feel good experience. (I imagine the family had such a feel good experience they have adopted a tight end and guard by now) I'm sorry the answer he gave to the investigator, and Bullock's enlightening drivebys on the side of town she'd never been to, and their poor boy walking in the rain come home with us beginning - just didn't work for me. But if you are right I hope this movie empties our foster homes - still a silly story. And I don't want to shock anyone but if they say it is based on a true story it doesn't mean that it is all or even mostly true. Expand
  58. RobertI.
    Mar 10, 2010
    5
    A feel-good movie in the Hollywood tradition. I cannot see why Sandra Bullock received the Academy Award for her role, which is competent, but hardly galvanizing or trans formative, compared to Helen Mirren's superb Countess Tolstoy, for example. Go figure.
  59. killdarren
    Nov 20, 2009
    0
    This movie is despicable. Sandra Bullock as the great white hope. Who comes along and "helps" a black kid to feel better about herself and brag to her neighbors. Offensive, outrageous, racist, dumb, pathetic. The people making this movie have no idea what it means to truly help someone.
  60. kgm
    Dec 1, 2009
    5
    A feel-good movie which is enriched by some compelling characterizations. I especially liked Bullock
  61. BillyS.
    Jan 6, 2010
    5
    Just because Sandra Bullock doesn't have any pratfalls in Blind Side, all the sudden she's an Oscar worthy actress? Seriously? The Blind Side is nothing more than an average movie-of-the-week, and the fact that it's based on a true story makes me wonder how much of it is embellished just for the rich white female audience that it was made for. I mean, really? A 10! Really? Just because Sandra Bullock doesn't have any pratfalls in Blind Side, all the sudden she's an Oscar worthy actress? Seriously? The Blind Side is nothing more than an average movie-of-the-week, and the fact that it's based on a true story makes me wonder how much of it is embellished just for the rich white female audience that it was made for. I mean, really? A 10! Really? Talk about a Blind Siide. Expand
  62. JohnW
    Jan 8, 2010
    5
    This movie was numb. Although it had a great fundamental, the story was inconclusively progressive; losing the entire emotion of the film. The football aspect was pushed aside, the quandaries were flimsy and sometimes ridiculous, and the film lacked an emotion so shallow that it was just another chick flick. Disappointed.
  63. HartH.
    Feb 21, 2010
    2
    The only thing worse than this giant turkey served with a ladle of Hollywood schmaltz is that it's been legimitized by the Academy and a handful of bought-and-paid film critics. The Bright Side should be a case study for what's wrong with American mainstream filmmaking, an exemplar of dumbed-down writing and directing, wrapped in the transparent gauze of reality. As if this The only thing worse than this giant turkey served with a ladle of Hollywood schmaltz is that it's been legimitized by the Academy and a handful of bought-and-paid film critics. The Bright Side should be a case study for what's wrong with American mainstream filmmaking, an exemplar of dumbed-down writing and directing, wrapped in the transparent gauze of reality. As if this "true story," saccharinated to cancer inducing levels, has any resemblance to actual events. Reality is complex; this movie is not. What's worse, the messages are patently offensive: the glorification of wealth, the inherent goodness of whites over blacks, the retreaded notion that sports are the only ticket out of the ghetto. John Lee Hancock has never met a reaction shot he doesn't like. Every time the big kid opens his mouth, Hancock cuts to one of his white savior's droopy expressions -- now, isn't that just the saddest thang y'all evah heard -- just in case we didn't understand that the black boy's plight is worthy of sympathy. Call it the death of subtlety. If that's your bag of popcorn, if you like your film moments telegraphed, if you think critical thinking and entertainment are mutually exclusive terms, The Blind Side is your movie. Expand
  64. StevenV
    Feb 3, 2010
    0
    The Blind Side... what to say? I wouldve rated it a 5 if it wasn't so overrated. Sandra Bullock was the best part of this movie and her acting would still only get a 7 from me. But my friends and family all frickin loved it and think Im crazy. And an oscar nom? that sealed the deal for me to give it a 0.
  65. martins
    Mar 29, 2010
    5
    I found this movie a bit condescending despite all the good intentions. The fact that it was nominated for an oscar shows just how easy it is to manipulate the selection committee.
  66. MarilynK
    Dec 5, 2009
    4
    Sicky sweet and cheesy. I felt I was supposed to be impressed by the magnitute of what the white family did for the poor, black kid, but couldn't quite dredge it up. And if Sandra Bullock had one iota of complexity to her character besides perfection, I swear I might have liked her better.
  67. mark
    Nov 24, 2009
    0
    This movie is predictable and cheesy and Sandra Bullock is a predictable actor.
  68. MikeD.
    Dec 10, 2009
    9
    A terrific, feel good movie.
  69. DavidV
    Dec 17, 2009
    8
    This was a really nice movie to come across. I can't believe some of the ludicrous comments coming from some reviewers, in particular Melissa Anderson from Village Voice. Does she know this movie is based on a true story? Does she realize that white people are overwhelmingly in the upper class of Memphis? Did she skip the entire scene where Bullock's character is discussing This was a really nice movie to come across. I can't believe some of the ludicrous comments coming from some reviewers, in particular Melissa Anderson from Village Voice. Does she know this movie is based on a true story? Does she realize that white people are overwhelmingly in the upper class of Memphis? Did she skip the entire scene where Bullock's character is discussing adopting Michael but the other 3 white women seemed outraged and disgusted? Where in the world does she get the idea that this movie is in any way about "whitey" being "virtuous saviors"? Overall, this film was great. It makes you feel good for the characters and how people coming together can accomplish so much. It speaks volumes about how race relations have progressed during the past decades even though there is still a lot to accomplish. One big complaint I have for this movie is Sandra Bullock. While she overall does a good acting job, it felt as if she overdid her character. The other complaint I have is how the author added into the movie things that simply don't fit reality (like Bullock confronting a crack dealer in the middle of the projects), which takes away from how seriously you can take the movie because it begins to slide into a fantasy tale. Nevertheless, all the other aspects of the movie pick up where it slacks. Good family movie. Good time for all. Watch it! Expand
  70. rob
    Dec 22, 2009
    8
    The ratings about how this movie is racist bc white people helped the black man are ridiculous. ITS A TRUE STORY. THE WHITE FAMILY HELPED THE BLACK BOY. shesh. What if it were a rich black family? This is a true story and not showing white people above black people. racism is strong on both sides.
  71. GaryS
    Dec 27, 2009
    10
    The Story, Bullock, everyone - Oustanding. Not just another 'feel good' movie. A TRUE story and that's the best part about it (other than seeing Sandra Bullock) There is still hope when people act like the Tuohys. Best of all there was the rest of the school staff who helped this young man get a good start. More than just a single family doing the right thing. And if The Story, Bullock, everyone - Oustanding. Not just another 'feel good' movie. A TRUE story and that's the best part about it (other than seeing Sandra Bullock) There is still hope when people act like the Tuohys. Best of all there was the rest of the school staff who helped this young man get a good start. More than just a single family doing the right thing. And if you've read anything about Sandra Bullock and this movie, you know that it even touched her to an extent - she saw true Christianity Mrs Tuohy and her family. To the cynics go throw your darts at some of the real trash movies out there - This movies first class all the way. Expand
  72. AngieH
    Dec 5, 2009
    9
    I enjoy a movie that has a heart. The touching parts were not overplayed. They were more subtle than that. It had a great message, and is a wonderful film for any family. Can't wait to see it again!
  73. RobertW
    Dec 6, 2009
    10
    My two companions and I thoughly enjoyed this wonderful movie and Sandra B was dead on fantastic. As far as an racism is concerned, "it's a true story", get over it.
  74. KayS
    Dec 7, 2009
    10
    Makes you have hope in people.. they never knew how this act of kindness and caring would change everyone's life.
  75. MikeS.
    Nov 23, 2009
    10
    I very much enjoyed this movie. During a weekend when the competition consisted of vampires and our world coming to an end, it was nice to see a movie that lives and breathes in the real world, and give the audience something to aspire to. The fact that the movie is based in reality, made me feel unmanipulated and enjoy the story. Terrific entertainment!
  76. CalebN.
    Nov 23, 2009
    10
    Best movie I have EVER seen by a long shot.
  77. GegeL
    Dec 13, 2009
    10
    One of the best movies ever, Sandra Bullock was wonderful and hellow it's a true story, as far as racism is concerned here, just forget about it.
  78. danam
    Dec 13, 2009
    9
    Well worth the $10 I paid to see the movie. Acting was very good. Lots of humor and touching moments. Go see it.
  79. May 12, 2013
    7
    “The Blind Side” is a good movie. The story is the same heartwarming tale that’s been said and done many times. I can’t help but feel that I’ve seen this kind of movie before. Then again I don’ really care. The movie begged to original and to some extent I guess it was it just didn’t make me cry, simile, or anything of the sort. If you like a good old football movie about a guy who goes“The Blind Side” is a good movie. The story is the same heartwarming tale that’s been said and done many times. I can’t help but feel that I’ve seen this kind of movie before. Then again I don’ really care. The movie begged to original and to some extent I guess it was it just didn’t make me cry, simile, or anything of the sort. If you like a good old football movie about a guy who goes from nobody to somebody than this is the movie for you. Expand
  80. j30
    Nov 1, 2011
    3
    I still don't understand the hype over this movie. Extremely disappointing. An over achieving conservative takes in a poor misdirected African American. Republicans were eating this crap up. While the story is good and heartfelt, the movie was going through the motions. It new it was a good story and was just cashing in on people's emotions. Boring and eye-rolling bad. Sorry, SandraI still don't understand the hype over this movie. Extremely disappointing. An over achieving conservative takes in a poor misdirected African American. Republicans were eating this crap up. While the story is good and heartfelt, the movie was going through the motions. It new it was a good story and was just cashing in on people's emotions. Boring and eye-rolling bad. Sorry, Sandra Bullock's performance was not the best of the year. Expand
  81. Jun 8, 2012
    3
    Upon seeing the trailer for The Blind Side, I had a good idea how I would react. Upon viewing the final product, my suspicions were validated. Its heart is entirely in the wrong place. The movie ought to be about Michael Oher and how he achieved success, but this is not the case. The Blind Side centers around the kind Southern white woman who takes in an underprivileged black youth. HerUpon seeing the trailer for The Blind Side, I had a good idea how I would react. Upon viewing the final product, my suspicions were validated. Its heart is entirely in the wrong place. The movie ought to be about Michael Oher and how he achieved success, but this is not the case. The Blind Side centers around the kind Southern white woman who takes in an underprivileged black youth. Her kindness, not his struggle, is what the movie is about. To the actors' credit, everyone does a good job. The leads are mostly great, especially Quinton Aaron, but the direction and writing undercuts the performances. The Blind Side is all uplift and no substance. When the movie isn't trying to win your heart with its blatant emotional pandering, it's trying to warm it with sentiment-heavy and sitcom-lite humor, a rather nauseating combination. Also problematic is the unflattering portrait of African Americans. In the movie's eyes, if black people aren't waiting for kind white folk to lend a helping hand, they are either unable to support their families or are manipulative bullies. I suppose there is one business-professional African American woman, but it's telling that she is introduced as a villain. There are moments in The Blind Side where a better movie shines through, one with both the appropriate seriousness and sweetness for the situation, but this better movie is largely overshadowed by the mediocre one in the foreground. It is sadly telling about the state of film when movies like this are nominated for Best Picture. Expand
  82. Nov 18, 2011
    8
    The Blind Side is your average feel good movie but its one that unlike almost every other one, actually has teeth. Be it Sandra Bullockâ
  83. Oct 29, 2011
    9
    This great, hilarious and moving film is based on the true story of Leigh Anne and Sean Tuohy who take in a homeless teenage African-American, Michael "Big Mike" Oher. Michael has no idea who his father is and his mother is a drug addict. Michael has had little formal education and few skills to help him learn. Leigh Anne soon takes charge however, as is her nature, ensuring that the youngThis great, hilarious and moving film is based on the true story of Leigh Anne and Sean Tuohy who take in a homeless teenage African-American, Michael "Big Mike" Oher. Michael has no idea who his father is and his mother is a drug addict. Michael has had little formal education and few skills to help him learn. Leigh Anne soon takes charge however, as is her nature, ensuring that the young man has every opportunity to succeed. When he expresses an interest in football, she goes all out to help him, including giving the coach a few ideas on how best to use Michael's skills. They not only provide him with a loving home, but hire a tutor to help him improve his grades to the point where he would qualify for an NCAA Division I athletic scholarship. This is a must see film and if i could i would watch another million or even two million times! so go and get the dvd from your local dvd store or online store NOW!!! Expand
  84. May 3, 2013
    6
    There is no doubt that The Blind Side is a good movie, which includes with a strong performance by Sandra Bullock. But it's goodness is tainted by tonal confusion, an irritating child character and plenty of corny and cheesy moments.
  85. Feb 8, 2012
    5
    It falls for too many sport cliche's to actually be Oscar Nominee worthy and it is too sentimental, but Sandra Bullock gives a crowd pleasing performance. I give this movie 59% of a good movie.
  86. Dec 13, 2011
    7
    Underrated by critics and overrated by audiences. This film was a nice feel good true story but it just wasn't as good as everyone said it was. The people that will like this are athletes of course. But by experience the people that like to play sports don't know what a good movie is. What's with the talk of Sandra Bullock's strong performance. I didn't see any acting that was special. TheUnderrated by critics and overrated by audiences. This film was a nice feel good true story but it just wasn't as good as everyone said it was. The people that will like this are athletes of course. But by experience the people that like to play sports don't know what a good movie is. What's with the talk of Sandra Bullock's strong performance. I didn't see any acting that was special. The writing wasn't as good as I thought it would be. Overall it is a good movie just not the best from the 2009 Academy Awards. Collapse
  87. Feb 8, 2013
    7
    The Blind Side could easily be classified as another film about sports, in this case football, but it is really about social consciousness, breaking prejudices and self-improvement against all odds. This beautiful and touching story shows the life of Michael Oher, a poor street boy who with the help of Leigh Anne, a wealthy housewife, will be successful in life. As the situation developsThe Blind Side could easily be classified as another film about sports, in this case football, but it is really about social consciousness, breaking prejudices and self-improvement against all odds. This beautiful and touching story shows the life of Michael Oher, a poor street boy who with the help of Leigh Anne, a wealthy housewife, will be successful in life. As the situation develops the protagonist starts asking questions to himself; this part is very interesting because it represents the typical questioning of adolescence. Some examples are: should you always do what others tell you to do? Or sometimes you do not even know why you are doing something; and honor is the real reason either you do something or you don’t, is who you are or maybe who you want to be. Apart from that is captivating the title of the picture; it is called the blind side because every time something bad happened during his difficult childhood the protagonist closed his eyes. The problems of the movie are that recurs excessively to the sports, when it should be used just as a way to transmit the message; and the final investigation is totally out of placed, seems that this part is just filling space. Last thing to say, the film was made for Sandra Bullock. Expand
  88. May 6, 2012
    8
    The Blind Side's may not be enjoyable. It may not be likable. Some may eve hate it. But it has two things going for it. 1. A powerful performance from Academy-Award Winner Sandra Bullock. 2. It's a true story. Like it or not, the facts are what they are. The film is touching, compelling, and brilliant in its storytelling, And it damn sure knows it football.
  89. Apr 2, 2012
    9
    First off, I would give this a 9.25 out of 10. Acting is good. Sandra gives a great performance, but time to time she just annoying, and the rest is all right. Score is descent. Not the best. Story is really good. Telling the story of micheal oher is just great. The football scenes are all right. It like each time they blow each team out, it's just not beleiveable. Overall, blindside is aFirst off, I would give this a 9.25 out of 10. Acting is good. Sandra gives a great performance, but time to time she just annoying, and the rest is all right. Score is descent. Not the best. Story is really good. Telling the story of micheal oher is just great. The football scenes are all right. It like each time they blow each team out, it's just not beleiveable. Overall, blindside is a great sports film. With all the heart, this is for everyone to go and see. Expand
  90. Aug 25, 2012
    7
    This was a wonderful film which really showed the problems face in modern day America. Even a good intentioned act can be made to look like a dishonourable one. I'm not sure how great Bullock's performance was but I do think that it was the best of a poor year's showing from actresses across Hollywood. Sports movies do not normally go this deep, but The Blind Side shines through all theThis was a wonderful film which really showed the problems face in modern day America. Even a good intentioned act can be made to look like a dishonourable one. I'm not sure how great Bullock's performance was but I do think that it was the best of a poor year's showing from actresses across Hollywood. Sports movies do not normally go this deep, but The Blind Side shines through all the hardships faced by Michael Oher on his road to becoming an NFL player. Expand
  91. Dec 29, 2012
    5
    Sandra Bullock was the only good thing about the film. It adhered to a certain formula and it's basically a feel-good movie that falls short of being uplifting.
  92. Sep 14, 2014
    7
    Such a cool movie with a touching messag to not let the past define who you are. I liked Michael as I felt for the character even though I did not have similiar experireinces like that. Sandra Bullock does a terrific job. This is a movie that is even inspirational to me.
  93. Mar 3, 2013
    8
    Very good story and great performances. Sandra Bullock was great especially. The whole movie was entertaining and kind of funny. I can't believe this really happened.
  94. Apr 12, 2013
    7
    this is a great movie based on a true-story i think Quinton Aaron did a great performance however i think Sandra Bullock did not get the part right (yes i know she got an Oscar for this part) but i think she's too uptight to be in a movie like this also Tim McGraw get's very nervous in-front of a camera which is the exact opposite of acting somehow i think some people weren't right forthis is a great movie based on a true-story i think Quinton Aaron did a great performance however i think Sandra Bullock did not get the part right (yes i know she got an Oscar for this part) but i think she's too uptight to be in a movie like this also Tim McGraw get's very nervous in-front of a camera which is the exact opposite of acting somehow i think some people weren't right for their parts but i loved the story. Expand
  95. Mar 24, 2013
    8
    Sandra Bullock proves her acting ability once again in this fabulous film that depicts how a homeless boy becomes part of an upper-class family and develops skills for football.
  96. Apr 2, 2013
    9
    Good drama,acting,direction. Everything
  97. Apr 25, 2013
    3
    When I heard all the buzz about Sandra Bullock's performance in The Blind Side, I decided that I just had to rent the DVD. When I heard all the buzz about papaya, I decided that I just had to try some. Both decisions left a bad taste in my mouth.

    Bullock plays Leigh Anne Tuohy, a plucky gun-wielding mom with a lot of spunk (remember what Lou Grant said about spunk?) One day, Leigh Anne
    When I heard all the buzz about Sandra Bullock's performance in The Blind Side, I decided that I just had to rent the DVD. When I heard all the buzz about papaya, I decided that I just had to try some. Both decisions left a bad taste in my mouth.

    Bullock plays Leigh Anne Tuohy, a plucky gun-wielding mom with a lot of spunk (remember what Lou Grant said about spunk?) One day, Leigh Anne notices a behemoth named Michael Oher (played well by Quinton Aaron) walking around shivering and homeless. She invites him to stay overnight in her upscale home.

    Now, I don't know about most guys, but if some rich woman that looked like Sandra Bullock invited me to stay overnight in her home, I'd be there faster than a Viagra-laden Superman flying to his date with Lois Lane. However, after a few minutes of listening to Tuohy's junior-high psychology as well as enduring her general all-around annoying personality, I'd be out of there faster than Sarah Palin's ouster from a Mensa meeting.

    Then there's Bullock's performance itself. I don't know if it suffered from the fact that she was portraying such an irritating person. I was hoping some hulk from the football team would mistake her for a blocking sled and... well, not really. But maybe the fact that the character got under my skin so much says something about Bullock's acting.

    I doubt however that this is what was intended by all those involved in making this flick.

    And, by the way, I'm still waiting for the first great football film to be made (the best of the bunch, Jerry McGuire and Heaven Can Wait can only marginally be considered football films).
    Expand
  98. Jun 30, 2013
    9
    There is no tear jerking performance, but it's pretty darn close. Sandra Bullock is outstanding in this film, and this is one of the best football films.
  99. Jun 17, 2013
    4
    It's ridiculous that this movie was a best picture nominee why a typical american story
    Sandra Bullock was good but she wasn't great or memorable
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 29
  2. Negative: 3 out of 29
  1. 75
    Grounded in the direct, disarming truth of their experience, the movie has a straightforward lack of cheap sentiment that saves it from being either too maudlin or saccharine-sweet.
  2. Bullock is an irrepressible hoot in writer-director John Lee Hancock's otherwise thoroughly conventional take on Michael Lewis' fact-based book "The Blind Side: Evolution of a Game."
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    70
    Uplifting and entertaining feel-good, fact-based sports drama.