Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: November 20, 2009
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 347 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
248
Mixed:
61
Negative:
38
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
8
SnuffAug 18, 2010
It's funny when a true story of kindness is made into a film, some people see it as racist. I get the horrible feeling that those people are racists themselves. It's almost like they can't stand seeing a blackman do well and being acceptedIt's funny when a true story of kindness is made into a film, some people see it as racist. I get the horrible feeling that those people are racists themselves. It's almost like they can't stand seeing a blackman do well and being accepted for who he is.
Great film by the way.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
CarlosDec 26, 2009
In these very troubled and difficult times in the world, this is an optimistic view, and the best is it is based on a true story, which makes it more beliavable. Sandra Bullock is way far away from her usual characters, and floats up In these very troubled and difficult times in the world, this is an optimistic view, and the best is it is based on a true story, which makes it more beliavable. Sandra Bullock is way far away from her usual characters, and floats up beautifully! (much more so after her participation in the awful "All About Steve". Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JohnHDec 3, 2009
First, the criticisms of this movie are ridiculous. How this movie gets misconstrued as racism is crazy. The purpose of this movie is not to show white people as the saviors of black people, and any such suggestion is malicious, hateful, and First, the criticisms of this movie are ridiculous. How this movie gets misconstrued as racism is crazy. The purpose of this movie is not to show white people as the saviors of black people, and any such suggestion is malicious, hateful, and racist. This movie gives nothing to complain about. It had plenty of laughs, a few tear-jerking moments, a quick-paced story that was engaging... All the elements necessary to keep most people entertained. Why do you think it did better in the box office in its second weekend? Because this movie is good. It achieves its goals effortlessly, and its goals are to show that people have the ability to drastically alter the course of each others' lives through our actions. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JohnG.Jan 12, 2010
Wonderfully told tale full of hope, breaking many prejudices and Bullock is simply brilliant. An Oscar winning display.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JohnUJan 2, 2010
A rare film that both men and women can enjoy. Sandra Bullock is terrific! While her role as a Christian woman doing good is primary and that of Michael Oher, the promising offensive lineman, is diminished from what it was in the book, there A rare film that both men and women can enjoy. Sandra Bullock is terrific! While her role as a Christian woman doing good is primary and that of Michael Oher, the promising offensive lineman, is diminished from what it was in the book, there is still enough football action to hold the attention of guys who follow the game. (Oher became an All_American at Ole Miss after departing the Tuohy household after his high school graduation and then a first round draft choice and now a starter for the Baltimore Ravens.) Audiences are much more positive about this film than the critics. In this case, I think the audiences are to be trusted more than the critics. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MikeMFeb 2, 2010
Critics who downgraded this movie(based on a true story) simply do not like feel good movies,=. I guess they just want lots of action with no base for the plots.These critics need to give up this profession because they are unqualified to Critics who downgraded this movie(based on a true story) simply do not like feel good movies,=. I guess they just want lots of action with no base for the plots.These critics need to give up this profession because they are unqualified to rate anything. Movie was very good. Sandrs Bullock was bsolutely fantastic ant the supporting cast was also.I am glan I don't pay ant attention to these so called critics. If I did,I surely would miss some good and entertaining movies. The box office doesn't lie. Just look at the numbers idiots! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SimoneN.Feb 25, 2010
A great story with great morals and spirit. We all must learn to admire the good and stop making fun of it. I can only wish we will have more people like this family around us.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
TSMar 22, 2010
Not exactly full of compelling drama, but a nice story about nice people doing nice things. So sue me, I liked it, okay?
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
TimG.Mar 29, 2010
I liked the book better because the football scenes in the movie are tough to reproduce accurately.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
PatGNov 20, 2009
I enjoyed this movie more than I expected. I have absolutely no interest in football. Zero. But I usually enjoy Sandra Bullock, so I went. It is a nice human-interest story, well done. So I do recommend it. It feels a tad long, but it held I enjoyed this movie more than I expected. I have absolutely no interest in football. Zero. But I usually enjoy Sandra Bullock, so I went. It is a nice human-interest story, well done. So I do recommend it. It feels a tad long, but it held my interest well. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChrisTNov 20, 2009
This is by far Sandra Bullock's best performance that I have ever seen her in and this is really a great film, best on an inspiring story.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
LauraD.Nov 24, 2009
It's movies like this that give you the "you can do it too" spirit for another person that needs it like Michael Oher.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
RocketDec 17, 2009
It appears most critics want to rate this movie based on delicate racial sensibilities and not on the entertainment value of the film. Look at the wide rating disparity between critics and average movie goers. I liked the film and would It appears most critics want to rate this movie based on delicate racial sensibilities and not on the entertainment value of the film. Look at the wide rating disparity between critics and average movie goers. I liked the film and would recommend it for its entertainment value. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
carolA.Dec 25, 2009
The feel good movie of the holiday season. Sandra Bullock is terrific in what may be her best role ever. Don't miss this wonderful human interest story.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MikeWDec 3, 2009
So much has been said in finding fault with the story, with the perceived racism in the storytelling, with the fault in the characters. I find little fault with the film. The characters are... true. Notably three New York-based critics gave So much has been said in finding fault with the story, with the perceived racism in the storytelling, with the fault in the characters. I find little fault with the film. The characters are... true. Notably three New York-based critics gave the movie a failing grade. Why? Because the acting was so poor? Or because they did not connect with the message? This is one of those rare moments where I find that the most condemning critics are in the wrong, because it is not the MOVIE they disagree with per se, but the premise. The mere idea that such a series of events unfolded as such is perceived as de facto racist. But you know what, much of life has racial overtones. And I don't find the too-good-to-be-true story any less valued just because it doesn't live up to certain standards as a story of overcoming the odds in a racially segregated (or rather socially racially segregated society.) On a side note, love Sandra Bullock. But the accent is close.... but just not there. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
NilsYDec 6, 2009
A great story, which was well cast and acted. This is an inspiring feel good movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
GerriSDec 6, 2009
Best movie I've ever seen. Entire family (10 in all) and everyone enjoyed it. Tim McGraw and Sandra Bullock were great.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LindseyDDec 6, 2009
This movie was such a positive, wonderful story. Sandra Bullock and Tim McGraw are both wonderful in this movie. The family's love for each other and for Michael is overwhelming. It is a charming movie that you will want to go see This movie was such a positive, wonderful story. Sandra Bullock and Tim McGraw are both wonderful in this movie. The family's love for each other and for Michael is overwhelming. It is a charming movie that you will want to go see again. I know I do!! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
EthanC.Mar 26, 2010
Of course they couldn't be nice people, that would be to unpessimistic of a view. Of course they could not do it for the fact that they wanted to be decent, they had to be "hell bent boosters", wanting to get Ole' Miss a Of course they couldn't be nice people, that would be to unpessimistic of a view. Of course they could not do it for the fact that they wanted to be decent, they had to be "hell bent boosters", wanting to get Ole' Miss a championship tackle. Get a grip. It tells a very un-cliched tale, of a boy who finally finds the right spot in life. It also avoids many cliched sports movie moments (very rare). Some of the parts are awkward, and it does get slightly confusing here and there, but none the less this movie is very good. Don't listen to any of the critics, they just need to take the awkwardly placed football, and take it out of their you know what. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DanLMar 29, 2010
This movie has some of the best acting and dramatization I have seen from a movie in a long time. Sandra Bullock normally plays in goofy, ditzy roles, but she did a wonderful job in her serious role. The other thing that I liked to see is This movie has some of the best acting and dramatization I have seen from a movie in a long time. Sandra Bullock normally plays in goofy, ditzy roles, but she did a wonderful job in her serious role. The other thing that I liked to see is that she played the dominant role in the house even though her husband played by Tim McGraw created most of the income. So all in all this movie was an all around great movie and Sandra Bullock deserved the Oscar that she won for it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
ClaytonDNov 21, 2009
Gr8t flick! Bullock does a wonerful job as the "momma bear" you dont mess with. SJ is a hoot and uses all of his freckles to good use!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
WinstonLNov 20, 2009
Despite the reviews, Sandra Bullock is STILL on my Oscar-watch.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
RobertM.Nov 22, 2009
This movie works because it is a straight-forward story of hope and one woman's determination to make a positive difference. The reviewers (they call themselves critics) that rated the movie yellow or red would also have panned This movie works because it is a straight-forward story of hope and one woman's determination to make a positive difference. The reviewers (they call themselves critics) that rated the movie yellow or red would also have panned Capra's "It's A Wonderful Life". REM Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MarkCNov 23, 2009
Thoroughly enjoyed this movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
BillPNov 30, 2009
Seriously. How can you not like this movie? It's a delight. Sandra Bullock finds her voice! It's all true. People do noble things.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
FantasyNov 30, 2009
Without question this is a feel good movie based on a true story. At the NFL Draft when Michael took the stage after being drafted #1 by the Baltimore Ravens nary a word was said about how he got there. Michael is befriended by a rich Without question this is a feel good movie based on a true story. At the NFL Draft when Michael took the stage after being drafted #1 by the Baltimore Ravens nary a word was said about how he got there. Michael is befriended by a rich southern family who accepts him for who he is. His IQ is 80 but then again he never recieved an education. To see his desire in which he eventually made the Deans List at Mississippi and becomes an All American transcends the football story. Talk about second chances in life this is a true feel good story about an exceptional young man and an exceptional family that we would all like to be part of. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JonathanSDec 12, 2009
Not exactly sure why this movie received such mixed reviews. Sometimes I think critics only like really artsy flicks. If you want a heartwarming movie about a great story this movie will leave you entertained.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
VinceM.Dec 16, 2009
Inspiring, true story. I loved it, one of those movies thats stays with you afterward. The critics are way out of line on this one and they have zero credibility, that's why I always check out USER COMMENTS and not Critics Comments
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JSDec 17, 2009
Why is it that all the negative reviews are claiming the film is racist? The only racists are the bigots who can't stand that a hollywood film actually depicted conservatives in a good way. This film is fantastic! Not about race, not Why is it that all the negative reviews are claiming the film is racist? The only racists are the bigots who can't stand that a hollywood film actually depicted conservatives in a good way. This film is fantastic! Not about race, not about republican vs. democrat, its about Michael Oher and his journey to the NFL! GET OVER IT!! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JacksonR.Nov 24, 2009
The Blind Side is very well done on all points. It is well written, well acted and well edited. It is the first film in several months whereI did not feel robbed of my hard earned money (Damn you Surrogates!). I notice that a number of the The Blind Side is very well done on all points. It is well written, well acted and well edited. It is the first film in several months whereI did not feel robbed of my hard earned money (Damn you Surrogates!). I notice that a number of the critics of the film find fault and even racism in how the story plays out. Considering that it is based on true events I don't see how they can blame the film for how these people lived. The film is simply reflecting the reality as seen through the eyes of the participants. I guess it would have been a very different film if told from the perspective of the project dwelling drug dealer - but his was not the story being told. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
EvanPDec 14, 2009
It's a touching titled, but tends to feel dumbed down to the point of almost being insulting to the audience. The way that it approaches the whole idea of racial tension in the film gets rather annoying at time, but the tale of the It's a touching titled, but tends to feel dumbed down to the point of almost being insulting to the audience. The way that it approaches the whole idea of racial tension in the film gets rather annoying at time, but the tale of the protagonist's steadily bonding relationship with a family that took him in when he had nothing is incredibly heartwarming. Overall I say it's definitely worth feeling, even if it can be irritating on occasion. Collapse
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
EmilyCDec 28, 2009
My whole family enjoyed this movie. Sandra Bullock perfectly portrayed an upper-class, Southern woman, and it was great to see Tim McGraw in a different setting - he also did a fantastic job. The screenplay was well written and engaging for My whole family enjoyed this movie. Sandra Bullock perfectly portrayed an upper-class, Southern woman, and it was great to see Tim McGraw in a different setting - he also did a fantastic job. The screenplay was well written and engaging for the whole two hours. Some people may not like the story, but it's true and it's fantastic. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
TonyB.Dec 29, 2009
For the life of me, I cannot understand those who see racism here. The story is true, and the truth is that a poor black youngster was helped by a rich white family. I am so happy that this very well-written, acted and directed film is doing For the life of me, I cannot understand those who see racism here. The story is true, and the truth is that a poor black youngster was helped by a rich white family. I am so happy that this very well-written, acted and directed film is doing so well at the box office. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
ERG1008Feb 21, 2011
Rich family takes in homeless teen, help him get grades, starts playing football, gets good at it, tough childhood keeps haunting him.
True story based on a book about Michael Oher who went on to play in the NFL.
Sandra Bullock shines as the
Rich family takes in homeless teen, help him get grades, starts playing football, gets good at it, tough childhood keeps haunting him.
True story based on a book about Michael Oher who went on to play in the NFL.
Sandra Bullock shines as the very driven Leigh Ann Tuohy with her no-nonsense approach and mentions too for good performances by Tim McGraw, Jae Head and of course Quinton Aaron as Oher.
Slightly predictable pacing but an enjoyable watch.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
AddieLaurennJan 17, 2011
Good movieee . it was sadd and amazingg .. not as greatt as country strongg ! but Tim Mcgraww is awsomee ! and yess this was a good moviee !!! If you haventt seen it yett you need to soon ! its gonna be one of your to favoritess !!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
kaj510superdudeOct 8, 2011
A great movie for you and the family its truly touching and amazing how a southern rich girl would take in a poor young african american boy it is truly touching i certainly reccomend it 10/10
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
FoeXVIISep 30, 2014
If you fail to see that they're just human beings helping each other, you are the racist ones. The movie is worth watching, very inspirational and sad at times. And yeah, Sandra Bullock is outstanding.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
smijatovAug 13, 2010
This is definitely Sandra Bullock's film. She was extraordinary, and more so considering how she usually is. No one expected this from her, including herself. It is a very nice story, which could be seen as the "white saviour story".. butThis is definitely Sandra Bullock's film. She was extraordinary, and more so considering how she usually is. No one expected this from her, including herself. It is a very nice story, which could be seen as the "white saviour story".. but since it's a true story, that kind of falls in the background of it. Overall, definitely a touching and moving story about a woman who has a lot of love (and money) to share and who actually does it, regardless of what other think or say. Good film! Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
7
shlugalugOct 22, 2010
The film belongs to Sandra Bullock who delivers a brilliant performance (possibly the best one of her career), but the focus of the overall effect is sloppy. The story is boring at times and I think the film was too long. I didn't live up toThe film belongs to Sandra Bullock who delivers a brilliant performance (possibly the best one of her career), but the focus of the overall effect is sloppy. The story is boring at times and I think the film was too long. I didn't live up to expectations. Newcomer Quinton Aaron wasn't a good fit, he wasn't the best of actors. He definitely looked the part (being tall and all) but his performance was very wooden. Another newcomer Jae Head is the heart of the film. It's probably one of the highlights of the film. Overall, the film is warming but tiring that is full of unnecessary scenes, forgettable characters and elements of the story that just don't work. I have it's cute and worth the watch but only for Bullock, Head and again, the football aspect of the story. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
danielkstanedamAug 14, 2010
The performance by Sandra Bullock TOTALLY deserves the Academy Award.
If you forget this is a movie based in real life facts it wouldn't matter, the movie would still be great, with great performances by all their actors and they develop
The performance by Sandra Bullock TOTALLY deserves the Academy Award.
If you forget this is a movie based in real life facts it wouldn't matter, the movie would still be great, with great performances by all their actors and they develop their story of "white guy/girl saves poor boy" in a way never seen before, making it a great drama that will keep you hooked up from the beginning.
I don't give it a 10 because there was a scene or two that don't add anything to the movie, but there should be a 9.5 score in this scale, because that's what this movie deserves.
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
RyanLopezJan 13, 2011
This movie is inspirational, it tells people not to judge people by their skin color or their appearance. It is a heart warmer, it has one of the best plots of 2009, If I was a dog- 4 THUMBS UP!!!!!!!!!
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
10
ShaneS.Jan 21, 2010
Sandra Bullock is absolutely fantastic! Why? Because she's so believable in her role; most of the time a big name actor gets in the way of their own character because all the audience recognizes is the face. In "The Blind Side" Sandra Sandra Bullock is absolutely fantastic! Why? Because she's so believable in her role; most of the time a big name actor gets in the way of their own character because all the audience recognizes is the face. In "The Blind Side" Sandra pretty much disappears into her character of Mrs. Tuohy, which allows the movie itself to have a life of it's own as it's big name actor is replaced by a charismatic southern mom. Yes, Mrs. Tuohy does drive the movie, yet she is not too overpowering to where the other characters are drowned out. Michael and the rest of the Tuohy's act superbly within their roles; the scenes with the smallest Tuohy (SJ) and Michael are very humorous and impactful when they need to be. They really portray a good brother to brother relationship. The movie as a whole is more of a drama than a sports film, about the power of family and what it means to challenge yourself: if that means going out of your way to help another, pushing yourself to achieve what you once thought impossible or looking inwardly to see if you really are the person you want to be. Fantastic performance by Sandra, the story is told wonderfully with enough humor to balance the sometimes dramatic or intense turns. Overall a grand accomplishment for feel good cinama! And a final comment: for all the people that seem to think the movie is about a poor black child helped out by the more privileged white angels, I think you are projecting your own prejudice onto a film that clearly does not have that kind of message in mind. Point in fact: I doubt the Golden Globes would recognize an actress for her role in a obviously racist picture if that were the case at all. (Hope Sandra gets the Academy's recognition also, she, and the film, deserve it!). Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
JonWFeb 2, 2010
I love this comment - "This movie is despicable." Excuse me it's a TRUE story bozo. Like it actually happened, like the "racist" family actually helped a black kid and now he's star. Great film. Very uplifting.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
7
PaulFFeb 22, 2010
Some reviews claimed this movie to be a bit racist but considering it a depiction of a real life story I really don't see how that could be, especially since the family that tried to help this young man actively fought against this, Some reviews claimed this movie to be a bit racist but considering it a depiction of a real life story I really don't see how that could be, especially since the family that tried to help this young man actively fought against this, even at the cost of alienating themselves from their social groups. Yes there are rich do goer white people. Yes, there are poor good natured black people that just need a little loving support. This movie shows an example in which we can all live our lives upon. The acting was pretty good but not stellar. The story good but not riveting. There were a few heart felt scenes. I thought there were a few places that could have been filled in more. In short this was a good movie with a good message but cinematography and acting wise wasn't anything out of the ordinary. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
CandieBFeb 25, 2010
Sandra Bullock's acting was fabulous in this film. What many have touted as overly emotional is actually an honest look into the lives of a family who live what they believe. Of course it's a movie, so you take it with a grain of Sandra Bullock's acting was fabulous in this film. What many have touted as overly emotional is actually an honest look into the lives of a family who live what they believe. Of course it's a movie, so you take it with a grain of salt, but it's still encouraging and entertaining. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
7
JohnM.Feb 8, 2010
An enjoyable light story with great acting by Sandra Bullock.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
SamMar 7, 2010
This is the best movie I have ever seen because it is based on a true story that you can look up for yourself. just try
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
MikeD.Dec 10, 2009
A terrific, feel good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DavidVDec 17, 2009
This was a really nice movie to come across. I can't believe some of the ludicrous comments coming from some reviewers, in particular Melissa Anderson from Village Voice. Does she know this movie is based on a true story? Does she This was a really nice movie to come across. I can't believe some of the ludicrous comments coming from some reviewers, in particular Melissa Anderson from Village Voice. Does she know this movie is based on a true story? Does she realize that white people are overwhelmingly in the upper class of Memphis? Did she skip the entire scene where Bullock's character is discussing adopting Michael but the other 3 white women seemed outraged and disgusted? Where in the world does she get the idea that this movie is in any way about "whitey" being "virtuous saviors"? Overall, this film was great. It makes you feel good for the characters and how people coming together can accomplish so much. It speaks volumes about how race relations have progressed during the past decades even though there is still a lot to accomplish. One big complaint I have for this movie is Sandra Bullock. While she overall does a good acting job, it felt as if she overdid her character. The other complaint I have is how the author added into the movie things that simply don't fit reality (like Bullock confronting a crack dealer in the middle of the projects), which takes away from how seriously you can take the movie because it begins to slide into a fantasy tale. Nevertheless, all the other aspects of the movie pick up where it slacks. Good family movie. Good time for all. Watch it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
robDec 22, 2009
The ratings about how this movie is racist bc white people helped the black man are ridiculous. ITS A TRUE STORY. THE WHITE FAMILY HELPED THE BLACK BOY. shesh. What if it were a rich black family? This is a true story and not showing white The ratings about how this movie is racist bc white people helped the black man are ridiculous. ITS A TRUE STORY. THE WHITE FAMILY HELPED THE BLACK BOY. shesh. What if it were a rich black family? This is a true story and not showing white people above black people. racism is strong on both sides. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GarySDec 27, 2009
The Story, Bullock, everyone - Oustanding. Not just another 'feel good' movie. A TRUE story and that's the best part about it (other than seeing Sandra Bullock) There is still hope when people act like the Tuohys. Best of all The Story, Bullock, everyone - Oustanding. Not just another 'feel good' movie. A TRUE story and that's the best part about it (other than seeing Sandra Bullock) There is still hope when people act like the Tuohys. Best of all there was the rest of the school staff who helped this young man get a good start. More than just a single family doing the right thing. And if you've read anything about Sandra Bullock and this movie, you know that it even touched her to an extent - she saw true Christianity Mrs Tuohy and her family. To the cynics go throw your darts at some of the real trash movies out there - This movies first class all the way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AngieHDec 5, 2009
I enjoy a movie that has a heart. The touching parts were not overplayed. They were more subtle than that. It had a great message, and is a wonderful film for any family. Can't wait to see it again!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertWDec 6, 2009
My two companions and I thoughly enjoyed this wonderful movie and Sandra B was dead on fantastic. As far as an racism is concerned, "it's a true story", get over it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KaySDec 7, 2009
Makes you have hope in people.. they never knew how this act of kindness and caring would change everyone's life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeS.Nov 23, 2009
I very much enjoyed this movie. During a weekend when the competition consisted of vampires and our world coming to an end, it was nice to see a movie that lives and breathes in the real world, and give the audience something to aspire to. I very much enjoyed this movie. During a weekend when the competition consisted of vampires and our world coming to an end, it was nice to see a movie that lives and breathes in the real world, and give the audience something to aspire to. The fact that the movie is based in reality, made me feel unmanipulated and enjoy the story. Terrific entertainment! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CalebN.Nov 23, 2009
Best movie I have EVER seen by a long shot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GegeLDec 13, 2009
One of the best movies ever, Sandra Bullock was wonderful and hellow it's a true story, as far as racism is concerned here, just forget about it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
danamDec 13, 2009
Well worth the $10 I paid to see the movie. Acting was very good. Lots of humor and touching moments. Go see it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JacobMay 12, 2013
“The Blind Side” is a good movie. The story is the same heartwarming tale that’s been said and done many times. I can’t help but feel that I’ve seen this kind of movie before. Then again I don’ really care. The movie begged to original and to“The Blind Side” is a good movie. The story is the same heartwarming tale that’s been said and done many times. I can’t help but feel that I’ve seen this kind of movie before. Then again I don’ really care. The movie begged to original and to some extent I guess it was it just didn’t make me cry, simile, or anything of the sort. If you like a good old football movie about a guy who goes from nobody to somebody than this is the movie for you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
hoops2448Nov 18, 2011
The Blind Side is your average feel good movie but its one that unlike almost every other one, actually has teeth. Be it Sandra Bullockâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ImogenDulieu987Oct 29, 2011
This great, hilarious and moving film is based on the true story of Leigh Anne and Sean Tuohy who take in a homeless teenage African-American, Michael "Big Mike" Oher. Michael has no idea who his father is and his mother is a drug addict.This great, hilarious and moving film is based on the true story of Leigh Anne and Sean Tuohy who take in a homeless teenage African-American, Michael "Big Mike" Oher. Michael has no idea who his father is and his mother is a drug addict. Michael has had little formal education and few skills to help him learn. Leigh Anne soon takes charge however, as is her nature, ensuring that the young man has every opportunity to succeed. When he expresses an interest in football, she goes all out to help him, including giving the coach a few ideas on how best to use Michael's skills. They not only provide him with a loving home, but hire a tutor to help him improve his grades to the point where he would qualify for an NCAA Division I athletic scholarship. This is a must see film and if i could i would watch another million or even two million times! so go and get the dvd from your local dvd store or online store NOW!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MetallicCriticDec 13, 2011
Underrated by critics and overrated by audiences. This film was a nice feel good true story but it just wasn't as good as everyone said it was. The people that will like this are athletes of course. But by experience the people that like toUnderrated by critics and overrated by audiences. This film was a nice feel good true story but it just wasn't as good as everyone said it was. The people that will like this are athletes of course. But by experience the people that like to play sports don't know what a good movie is. What's with the talk of Sandra Bullock's strong performance. I didn't see any acting that was special. The writing wasn't as good as I thought it would be. Overall it is a good movie just not the best from the 2009 Academy Awards. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
NedRyerson1Feb 8, 2013
The Blind Side could easily be classified as another film about sports, in this case football, but it is really about social consciousness, breaking prejudices and self-improvement against all odds. This beautiful and touching story shows theThe Blind Side could easily be classified as another film about sports, in this case football, but it is really about social consciousness, breaking prejudices and self-improvement against all odds. This beautiful and touching story shows the life of Michael Oher, a poor street boy who with the help of Leigh Anne, a wealthy housewife, will be successful in life. As the situation develops the protagonist starts asking questions to himself; this part is very interesting because it represents the typical questioning of adolescence. Some examples are: should you always do what others tell you to do? Or sometimes you do not even know why you are doing something; and honor is the real reason either you do something or you don’t, is who you are or maybe who you want to be. Apart from that is captivating the title of the picture; it is called the blind side because every time something bad happened during his difficult childhood the protagonist closed his eyes. The problems of the movie are that recurs excessively to the sports, when it should be used just as a way to transmit the message; and the final investigation is totally out of placed, seems that this part is just filling space. Last thing to say, the film was made for Sandra Bullock. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Critic2012May 6, 2012
The Blind Side's may not be enjoyable. It may not be likable. Some may eve hate it. But it has two things going for it. 1. A powerful performance from Academy-Award Winner Sandra Bullock. 2. It's a true story. Like it or not, the facts areThe Blind Side's may not be enjoyable. It may not be likable. Some may eve hate it. But it has two things going for it. 1. A powerful performance from Academy-Award Winner Sandra Bullock. 2. It's a true story. Like it or not, the facts are what they are. The film is touching, compelling, and brilliant in its storytelling, And it damn sure knows it football. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JuanoloApr 2, 2012
First off, I would give this a 9.25 out of 10. Acting is good. Sandra gives a great performance, but time to time she just annoying, and the rest is all right. Score is descent. Not the best. Story is really good. Telling the story of michealFirst off, I would give this a 9.25 out of 10. Acting is good. Sandra gives a great performance, but time to time she just annoying, and the rest is all right. Score is descent. Not the best. Story is really good. Telling the story of micheal oher is just great. The football scenes are all right. It like each time they blow each team out, it's just not beleiveable. Overall, blindside is a great sports film. With all the heart, this is for everyone to go and see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
dev92Aug 25, 2012
This was a wonderful film which really showed the problems face in modern day America. Even a good intentioned act can be made to look like a dishonourable one. I'm not sure how great Bullock's performance was but I do think that it was theThis was a wonderful film which really showed the problems face in modern day America. Even a good intentioned act can be made to look like a dishonourable one. I'm not sure how great Bullock's performance was but I do think that it was the best of a poor year's showing from actresses across Hollywood. Sports movies do not normally go this deep, but The Blind Side shines through all the hardships faced by Michael Oher on his road to becoming an NFL player. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
dante_finnSep 14, 2014
Such a cool movie with a touching messag to not let the past define who you are. I liked Michael as I felt for the character even though I did not have similiar experireinces like that. Sandra Bullock does a terrific job. This is a movie thatSuch a cool movie with a touching messag to not let the past define who you are. I liked Michael as I felt for the character even though I did not have similiar experireinces like that. Sandra Bullock does a terrific job. This is a movie that is even inspirational to me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Iky009Nov 28, 2016
It's amazing that even so simple can snag her melodrama and thrill with a beautiful story .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Jun 10, 2016
Regardless of how you feel about the film's unintentional insinuations on race, there's no denying the inspiring nature of the unbelievably true story depicted in John Lee Hancock's "The Blind Side." It's a film that overcomes its occasionalRegardless of how you feel about the film's unintentional insinuations on race, there's no denying the inspiring nature of the unbelievably true story depicted in John Lee Hancock's "The Blind Side." It's a film that overcomes its occasional slow-pacing and made-for-TV-esque presentation with honest pathos and a powerhouse adhesive of a performance from Sandra Bullock. Like the film's soft-spoken left tackle protagonist, "The Blind Side" is a film that comes in like a lamb and goes out like a lamb - but it sure is a lamb with a big heart. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
mds03Mar 3, 2013
Very good story and great performances. Sandra Bullock was great especially. The whole movie was entertaining and kind of funny. I can't believe this really happened.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ExKingApr 12, 2013
this is a great movie based on a true-story i think Quinton Aaron did a great performance however i think Sandra Bullock did not get the part right (yes i know she got an Oscar for this part) but i think she's too uptight to be in a moviethis is a great movie based on a true-story i think Quinton Aaron did a great performance however i think Sandra Bullock did not get the part right (yes i know she got an Oscar for this part) but i think she's too uptight to be in a movie like this also Tim McGraw get's very nervous in-front of a camera which is the exact opposite of acting somehow i think some people weren't right for their parts but i loved the story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
sil3nt_nickMar 24, 2013
Sandra Bullock proves her acting ability once again in this fabulous film that depicts how a homeless boy becomes part of an upper-class family and develops skills for football.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RaymondMendez19Apr 2, 2013
Good drama,acting,direction. Everything
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Jamison12Jun 30, 2013
There is no tear jerking performance, but it's pretty darn close. Sandra Bullock is outstanding in this film, and this is one of the best football films.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
seahawks2015Dec 24, 2013
One Word: Great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
chwAug 16, 2014
The Blind Side was an amazing biopic of Michael Oher. It is way better than the critics of Metacritic actually say it is, because they always look on the bad side of a film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ydnar4Mar 16, 2015
The Blind Side is a great movie, for anyone. I just would not be able to understand why someone couldn't like this movie. All the characters are all so loveable. Quinton Aaron plays one of the most loveable role I have ever seen and a movieThe Blind Side is a great movie, for anyone. I just would not be able to understand why someone couldn't like this movie. All the characters are all so loveable. Quinton Aaron plays one of the most loveable role I have ever seen and a movie and he does it by speaking very few words considering he is in a lead role. That is something to be proud off. Sandra Bullock also plays one of the best performances if not the best performance of her career. I need to watch more of her stuff. Plus the supporting characters are just so good and the family is just so cute like Tim McGraw is like the perfect father figure. Jae Head and Aaron had unlikely chemistry and their scenes are some of the highlights of the film. This film just shows that there are people willing to go beyond the call of duty for basically no personal gain and all it took was a little structure to make Michael Oher well established young man. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
homer4presidentMar 13, 2015
The Blind Side is a fantastic movie and great for the whole family. Very inspirational and nothing wrong with it. Sandra bullock plays a great role as the mother and Tim McGraw as the father. Quinton Aaron really captures the role as MichaelThe Blind Side is a fantastic movie and great for the whole family. Very inspirational and nothing wrong with it. Sandra bullock plays a great role as the mother and Tim McGraw as the father. Quinton Aaron really captures the role as Michael Oher and does a fantastic job throughout the whole movie. I really suggest this movie for anyone who loves a great story! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
kat267Aug 8, 2015
A wonderful and uplifting story! It really spotlights the inherent goodness, generosity, and charity of mankind. Sandra Bullock is perfect in her role, she brings to life MLK's words: judge people not by the color of their skin but on theA wonderful and uplifting story! It really spotlights the inherent goodness, generosity, and charity of mankind. Sandra Bullock is perfect in her role, she brings to life MLK's words: judge people not by the color of their skin but on the content of thier character. And by doing this, she is able to help the talented teen Michael Oher. Also I loved supporting actress Lily Collins' character. A very well-done movie in all aspects! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews