Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: November 20, 2009
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 352 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
251
Mixed:
63
Negative:
38
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
shawnAApr 1, 2010
I wonder who Jesse James slept with to get Sandra an Academy Award? What a B level actress at best.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
0
killdarrenNov 20, 2009
This movie is despicable. Sandra Bullock as the great white hope. Who comes along and "helps" a black kid to feel better about herself and brag to her neighbors. Offensive, outrageous, racist, dumb, pathetic. The people making this movie This movie is despicable. Sandra Bullock as the great white hope. Who comes along and "helps" a black kid to feel better about herself and brag to her neighbors. Offensive, outrageous, racist, dumb, pathetic. The people making this movie have no idea what it means to truly help someone. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
2
HartH.Feb 21, 2010
The only thing worse than this giant turkey served with a ladle of Hollywood schmaltz is that it's been legimitized by the Academy and a handful of bought-and-paid film critics. The Bright Side should be a case study for what's The only thing worse than this giant turkey served with a ladle of Hollywood schmaltz is that it's been legimitized by the Academy and a handful of bought-and-paid film critics. The Bright Side should be a case study for what's wrong with American mainstream filmmaking, an exemplar of dumbed-down writing and directing, wrapped in the transparent gauze of reality. As if this "true story," saccharinated to cancer inducing levels, has any resemblance to actual events. Reality is complex; this movie is not. What's worse, the messages are patently offensive: the glorification of wealth, the inherent goodness of whites over blacks, the retreaded notion that sports are the only ticket out of the ghetto. John Lee Hancock has never met a reaction shot he doesn't like. Every time the big kid opens his mouth, Hancock cuts to one of his white savior's droopy expressions -- now, isn't that just the saddest thang y'all evah heard -- just in case we didn't understand that the black boy's plight is worthy of sympathy. Call it the death of subtlety. If that's your bag of popcorn, if you like your film moments telegraphed, if you think critical thinking and entertainment are mutually exclusive terms, The Blind Side is your movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
StevenVFeb 3, 2010
The Blind Side... what to say? I wouldve rated it a 5 if it wasn't so overrated. Sandra Bullock was the best part of this movie and her acting would still only get a 7 from me. But my friends and family all frickin loved it and think Im The Blind Side... what to say? I wouldve rated it a 5 if it wasn't so overrated. Sandra Bullock was the best part of this movie and her acting would still only get a 7 from me. But my friends and family all frickin loved it and think Im crazy. And an oscar nom? that sealed the deal for me to give it a 0. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
markNov 24, 2009
This movie is predictable and cheesy and Sandra Bullock is a predictable actor.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
j30Nov 1, 2011
I still don't understand the hype over this movie. Extremely disappointing. An over achieving conservative takes in a poor misdirected African American. Republicans were eating this crap up. While the story is good and heartfelt, the movieI still don't understand the hype over this movie. Extremely disappointing. An over achieving conservative takes in a poor misdirected African American. Republicans were eating this crap up. While the story is good and heartfelt, the movie was going through the motions. It new it was a good story and was just cashing in on people's emotions. Boring and eye-rolling bad. Sorry, Sandra Bullock's performance was not the best of the year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
MyffubsJun 8, 2012
Upon seeing the trailer for The Blind Side, I had a good idea how I would react. Upon viewing the final product, my suspicions were validated. Its heart is entirely in the wrong place. The movie ought to be about Michael Oher and how heUpon seeing the trailer for The Blind Side, I had a good idea how I would react. Upon viewing the final product, my suspicions were validated. Its heart is entirely in the wrong place. The movie ought to be about Michael Oher and how he achieved success, but this is not the case. The Blind Side centers around the kind Southern white woman who takes in an underprivileged black youth. Her kindness, not his struggle, is what the movie is about. To the actors' credit, everyone does a good job. The leads are mostly great, especially Quinton Aaron, but the direction and writing undercuts the performances. The Blind Side is all uplift and no substance. When the movie isn't trying to win your heart with its blatant emotional pandering, it's trying to warm it with sentiment-heavy and sitcom-lite humor, a rather nauseating combination. Also problematic is the unflattering portrait of African Americans. In the movie's eyes, if black people aren't waiting for kind white folk to lend a helping hand, they are either unable to support their families or are manipulative bullies. I suppose there is one business-professional African American woman, but it's telling that she is introduced as a villain. There are moments in The Blind Side where a better movie shines through, one with both the appropriate seriousness and sweetness for the situation, but this better movie is largely overshadowed by the mediocre one in the foreground. It is sadly telling about the state of film when movies like this are nominated for Best Picture. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
G_Thomas_BostonApr 25, 2013
When I heard all the buzz about Sandra Bullock's performance in The Blind Side, I decided that I just had to rent the DVD. When I heard all the buzz about papaya, I decided that I just had to try some. Both decisions left a bad taste in myWhen I heard all the buzz about Sandra Bullock's performance in The Blind Side, I decided that I just had to rent the DVD. When I heard all the buzz about papaya, I decided that I just had to try some. Both decisions left a bad taste in my mouth.

Bullock plays Leigh Anne Tuohy, a plucky gun-wielding mom with a lot of spunk (remember what Lou Grant said about spunk?) One day, Leigh Anne notices a behemoth named Michael Oher (played well by Quinton Aaron) walking around shivering and homeless. She invites him to stay overnight in her upscale home.

Now, I don't know about most guys, but if some rich woman that looked like Sandra Bullock invited me to stay overnight in her home, I'd be there faster than a Viagra-laden Superman flying to his date with Lois Lane. However, after a few minutes of listening to Tuohy's junior-high psychology as well as enduring her general all-around annoying personality, I'd be out of there faster than Sarah Palin's ouster from a Mensa meeting.

Then there's Bullock's performance itself. I don't know if it suffered from the fact that she was portraying such an irritating person. I was hoping some hulk from the football team would mistake her for a blocking sled and... well, not really. But maybe the fact that the character got under my skin so much says something about Bullock's acting.

I doubt however that this is what was intended by all those involved in making this flick.

And, by the way, I'm still waiting for the first great football film to be made (the best of the bunch, Jerry McGuire and Heaven Can Wait can only marginally be considered football films).
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews