Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: November 20, 2009
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 352 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
251
Mixed:
63
Negative:
38
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
VinceM.Dec 16, 2009
Inspiring, true story. I loved it, one of those movies thats stays with you afterward. The critics are way out of line on this one and they have zero credibility, that's why I always check out USER COMMENTS and not Critics Comments
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JSDec 17, 2009
Why is it that all the negative reviews are claiming the film is racist? The only racists are the bigots who can't stand that a hollywood film actually depicted conservatives in a good way. This film is fantastic! Not about race, not Why is it that all the negative reviews are claiming the film is racist? The only racists are the bigots who can't stand that a hollywood film actually depicted conservatives in a good way. This film is fantastic! Not about race, not about republican vs. democrat, its about Michael Oher and his journey to the NFL! GET OVER IT!! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JacksonR.Nov 24, 2009
The Blind Side is very well done on all points. It is well written, well acted and well edited. It is the first film in several months whereI did not feel robbed of my hard earned money (Damn you Surrogates!). I notice that a number of the The Blind Side is very well done on all points. It is well written, well acted and well edited. It is the first film in several months whereI did not feel robbed of my hard earned money (Damn you Surrogates!). I notice that a number of the critics of the film find fault and even racism in how the story plays out. Considering that it is based on true events I don't see how they can blame the film for how these people lived. The film is simply reflecting the reality as seen through the eyes of the participants. I guess it would have been a very different film if told from the perspective of the project dwelling drug dealer - but his was not the story being told. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
EvanPDec 14, 2009
It's a touching titled, but tends to feel dumbed down to the point of almost being insulting to the audience. The way that it approaches the whole idea of racial tension in the film gets rather annoying at time, but the tale of the It's a touching titled, but tends to feel dumbed down to the point of almost being insulting to the audience. The way that it approaches the whole idea of racial tension in the film gets rather annoying at time, but the tale of the protagonist's steadily bonding relationship with a family that took him in when he had nothing is incredibly heartwarming. Overall I say it's definitely worth feeling, even if it can be irritating on occasion. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
EmilyCDec 28, 2009
My whole family enjoyed this movie. Sandra Bullock perfectly portrayed an upper-class, Southern woman, and it was great to see Tim McGraw in a different setting - he also did a fantastic job. The screenplay was well written and engaging for My whole family enjoyed this movie. Sandra Bullock perfectly portrayed an upper-class, Southern woman, and it was great to see Tim McGraw in a different setting - he also did a fantastic job. The screenplay was well written and engaging for the whole two hours. Some people may not like the story, but it's true and it's fantastic. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
TonyB.Dec 29, 2009
For the life of me, I cannot understand those who see racism here. The story is true, and the truth is that a poor black youngster was helped by a rich white family. I am so happy that this very well-written, acted and directed film is doing For the life of me, I cannot understand those who see racism here. The story is true, and the truth is that a poor black youngster was helped by a rich white family. I am so happy that this very well-written, acted and directed film is doing so well at the box office. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
ERG1008Feb 21, 2011
Rich family takes in homeless teen, help him get grades, starts playing football, gets good at it, tough childhood keeps haunting him.
True story based on a book about Michael Oher who went on to play in the NFL.
Sandra Bullock shines as the
Rich family takes in homeless teen, help him get grades, starts playing football, gets good at it, tough childhood keeps haunting him.
True story based on a book about Michael Oher who went on to play in the NFL.
Sandra Bullock shines as the very driven Leigh Ann Tuohy with her no-nonsense approach and mentions too for good performances by Tim McGraw, Jae Head and of course Quinton Aaron as Oher.
Slightly predictable pacing but an enjoyable watch.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
AddieLaurennJan 17, 2011
Good movieee . it was sadd and amazingg .. not as greatt as country strongg ! but Tim Mcgraww is awsomee ! and yess this was a good moviee !!! If you haventt seen it yett you need to soon ! its gonna be one of your to favoritess !!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
kaj510superdudeOct 8, 2011
A great movie for you and the family its truly touching and amazing how a southern rich girl would take in a poor young african american boy it is truly touching i certainly reccomend it 10/10
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
Trev29Nov 30, 2012
This movie is held on a level that I don't understand. Sandra was not brilliant and the movie lacks any creativity or originality in it. Contrived and predictable. This is just an ok cliche movie that is kind of boring.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
FoeXVIISep 30, 2014
If you fail to see that they're just human beings helping each other, you are the racist ones. The movie is worth watching, very inspirational and sad at times. And yeah, Sandra Bullock is outstanding.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
smijatovAug 13, 2010
This is definitely Sandra Bullock's film. She was extraordinary, and more so considering how she usually is. No one expected this from her, including herself. It is a very nice story, which could be seen as the "white saviour story".. butThis is definitely Sandra Bullock's film. She was extraordinary, and more so considering how she usually is. No one expected this from her, including herself. It is a very nice story, which could be seen as the "white saviour story".. but since it's a true story, that kind of falls in the background of it. Overall, definitely a touching and moving story about a woman who has a lot of love (and money) to share and who actually does it, regardless of what other think or say. Good film! Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
5
grandpajoe6191Sep 22, 2011
"The Blind Side" isn't a movie where you cry at amazing performances and heart throbbing dialogue. It's a movie that will roughly intercept your mind for a painful tear.
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
7
shlugalugOct 22, 2010
The film belongs to Sandra Bullock who delivers a brilliant performance (possibly the best one of her career), but the focus of the overall effect is sloppy. The story is boring at times and I think the film was too long. I didn't live up toThe film belongs to Sandra Bullock who delivers a brilliant performance (possibly the best one of her career), but the focus of the overall effect is sloppy. The story is boring at times and I think the film was too long. I didn't live up to expectations. Newcomer Quinton Aaron wasn't a good fit, he wasn't the best of actors. He definitely looked the part (being tall and all) but his performance was very wooden. Another newcomer Jae Head is the heart of the film. It's probably one of the highlights of the film. Overall, the film is warming but tiring that is full of unnecessary scenes, forgettable characters and elements of the story that just don't work. I have it's cute and worth the watch but only for Bullock, Head and again, the football aspect of the story. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
danielkstanedamAug 14, 2010
The performance by Sandra Bullock TOTALLY deserves the Academy Award.
If you forget this is a movie based in real life facts it wouldn't matter, the movie would still be great, with great performances by all their actors and they develop
The performance by Sandra Bullock TOTALLY deserves the Academy Award.
If you forget this is a movie based in real life facts it wouldn't matter, the movie would still be great, with great performances by all their actors and they develop their story of "white guy/girl saves poor boy" in a way never seen before, making it a great drama that will keep you hooked up from the beginning.
I don't give it a 10 because there was a scene or two that don't add anything to the movie, but there should be a 9.5 score in this scale, because that's what this movie deserves.
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
4
HannahB.Apr 5, 2010
This movie feels like a racist Disney Channel movie. I mean the idea that some white lady changes a black guys life is demeaning. Sure, an okay performance from Sandra Bullock but an Oscar?! That's ridiculous.
2 of 4 users found this helpful
6
RanelGJan 4, 2010
I have to say this is pretty much a great film for a person who still alive and active in what he/she does. It had great acting, but the only flaw on why I gave it a 6 is well it seemed to look too much of as a "family film" when it really I have to say this is pretty much a great film for a person who still alive and active in what he/she does. It had great acting, but the only flaw on why I gave it a 6 is well it seemed to look too much of as a "family film" when it really isn't. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
ShaneS.Jan 21, 2010
Sandra Bullock is absolutely fantastic! Why? Because she's so believable in her role; most of the time a big name actor gets in the way of their own character because all the audience recognizes is the face. In "The Blind Side" Sandra Sandra Bullock is absolutely fantastic! Why? Because she's so believable in her role; most of the time a big name actor gets in the way of their own character because all the audience recognizes is the face. In "The Blind Side" Sandra pretty much disappears into her character of Mrs. Tuohy, which allows the movie itself to have a life of it's own as it's big name actor is replaced by a charismatic southern mom. Yes, Mrs. Tuohy does drive the movie, yet she is not too overpowering to where the other characters are drowned out. Michael and the rest of the Tuohy's act superbly within their roles; the scenes with the smallest Tuohy (SJ) and Michael are very humorous and impactful when they need to be. They really portray a good brother to brother relationship. The movie as a whole is more of a drama than a sports film, about the power of family and what it means to challenge yourself: if that means going out of your way to help another, pushing yourself to achieve what you once thought impossible or looking inwardly to see if you really are the person you want to be. Fantastic performance by Sandra, the story is told wonderfully with enough humor to balance the sometimes dramatic or intense turns. Overall a grand accomplishment for feel good cinama! And a final comment: for all the people that seem to think the movie is about a poor black child helped out by the more privileged white angels, I think you are projecting your own prejudice onto a film that clearly does not have that kind of message in mind. Point in fact: I doubt the Golden Globes would recognize an actress for her role in a obviously racist picture if that were the case at all. (Hope Sandra gets the Academy's recognition also, she, and the film, deserve it!). Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
JonWFeb 2, 2010
I love this comment - "This movie is despicable." Excuse me it's a TRUE story bozo. Like it actually happened, like the "racist" family actually helped a black kid and now he's star. Great film. Very uplifting.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
7
PaulFFeb 22, 2010
Some reviews claimed this movie to be a bit racist but considering it a depiction of a real life story I really don't see how that could be, especially since the family that tried to help this young man actively fought against this, Some reviews claimed this movie to be a bit racist but considering it a depiction of a real life story I really don't see how that could be, especially since the family that tried to help this young man actively fought against this, even at the cost of alienating themselves from their social groups. Yes there are rich do goer white people. Yes, there are poor good natured black people that just need a little loving support. This movie shows an example in which we can all live our lives upon. The acting was pretty good but not stellar. The story good but not riveting. There were a few heart felt scenes. I thought there were a few places that could have been filled in more. In short this was a good movie with a good message but cinematography and acting wise wasn't anything out of the ordinary. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
CandieBFeb 25, 2010
Sandra Bullock's acting was fabulous in this film. What many have touted as overly emotional is actually an honest look into the lives of a family who live what they believe. Of course it's a movie, so you take it with a grain of Sandra Bullock's acting was fabulous in this film. What many have touted as overly emotional is actually an honest look into the lives of a family who live what they believe. Of course it's a movie, so you take it with a grain of salt, but it's still encouraging and entertaining. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
7
JohnM.Feb 8, 2010
An enjoyable light story with great acting by Sandra Bullock.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
SamMar 7, 2010
This is the best movie I have ever seen because it is based on a true story that you can look up for yourself. just try
1 of 2 users found this helpful
6
MorningtonOct 23, 2010
The film doesnâ
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
RyanLopezJan 13, 2011
This movie is inspirational, it tells people not to judge people by their skin color or their appearance. It is a heart warmer, it has one of the best plots of 2009, If I was a dog- 4 THUMBS UP!!!!!!!!!
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
2
shawnAApr 1, 2010
I wonder who Jesse James slept with to get Sandra an Academy Award? What a B level actress at best.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
4
YapyHappyMar 2, 2010
Nice performance from Bullock, but terrible film.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
BruceN.Feb 15, 2010
It might have been a "true" story but I felt uneasy all through the flik, and I was glad when they were investigated. I wanted to investigate them but then I remembered this is a movie. If you don't live in the south and you have never It might have been a "true" story but I felt uneasy all through the flik, and I was glad when they were investigated. I wanted to investigate them but then I remembered this is a movie. If you don't live in the south and you have never been around zealous boosters and you never been exposed to sheltered/gated-wealthy-I-wanna-help-the-poor you probably did have a feel good experience. (I imagine the family had such a feel good experience they have adopted a tight end and guard by now) I'm sorry the answer he gave to the investigator, and Bullock's enlightening drivebys on the side of town she'd never been to, and their poor boy walking in the rain come home with us beginning - just didn't work for me. But if you are right I hope this movie empties our foster homes - still a silly story. And I don't want to shock anyone but if they say it is based on a true story it doesn't mean that it is all or even mostly true. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
RobertI.Mar 10, 2010
A feel-good movie in the Hollywood tradition. I cannot see why Sandra Bullock received the Academy Award for her role, which is competent, but hardly galvanizing or trans formative, compared to Helen Mirren's superb Countess Tolstoy, A feel-good movie in the Hollywood tradition. I cannot see why Sandra Bullock received the Academy Award for her role, which is competent, but hardly galvanizing or trans formative, compared to Helen Mirren's superb Countess Tolstoy, for example. Go figure. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
killdarrenNov 20, 2009
This movie is despicable. Sandra Bullock as the great white hope. Who comes along and "helps" a black kid to feel better about herself and brag to her neighbors. Offensive, outrageous, racist, dumb, pathetic. The people making this movie This movie is despicable. Sandra Bullock as the great white hope. Who comes along and "helps" a black kid to feel better about herself and brag to her neighbors. Offensive, outrageous, racist, dumb, pathetic. The people making this movie have no idea what it means to truly help someone. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful