Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: November 20, 2009
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 352 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
250
Mixed:
64
Negative:
38
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
JeffJMar 2, 2010
The Blind Side is a funny but overrated film that somehow is nominated for an oscar for best picture. I think some of the jokes are just plain stupid but some are clever. The film has a great story I think it is very uplifting but at times The Blind Side is a funny but overrated film that somehow is nominated for an oscar for best picture. I think some of the jokes are just plain stupid but some are clever. The film has a great story I think it is very uplifting but at times it is so unrealistic it make me roll my eyes. Sandra Bullock had a good role not great because it wasn't anything new to her I have seen her play these type of roles plenty of times. Overall the movie is so overrated and should not be nominated for an oscar. But its a above average movie. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
8
SnuffAug 18, 2010
It's funny when a true story of kindness is made into a film, some people see it as racist. I get the horrible feeling that those people are racists themselves. It's almost like they can't stand seeing a blackman do well and being acceptedIt's funny when a true story of kindness is made into a film, some people see it as racist. I get the horrible feeling that those people are racists themselves. It's almost like they can't stand seeing a blackman do well and being accepted for who he is.
Great film by the way.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
CarlosDec 26, 2009
In these very troubled and difficult times in the world, this is an optimistic view, and the best is it is based on a true story, which makes it more beliavable. Sandra Bullock is way far away from her usual characters, and floats up In these very troubled and difficult times in the world, this is an optimistic view, and the best is it is based on a true story, which makes it more beliavable. Sandra Bullock is way far away from her usual characters, and floats up beautifully! (much more so after her participation in the awful "All About Steve". Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JohnHDec 3, 2009
First, the criticisms of this movie are ridiculous. How this movie gets misconstrued as racism is crazy. The purpose of this movie is not to show white people as the saviors of black people, and any such suggestion is malicious, hateful, and First, the criticisms of this movie are ridiculous. How this movie gets misconstrued as racism is crazy. The purpose of this movie is not to show white people as the saviors of black people, and any such suggestion is malicious, hateful, and racist. This movie gives nothing to complain about. It had plenty of laughs, a few tear-jerking moments, a quick-paced story that was engaging... All the elements necessary to keep most people entertained. Why do you think it did better in the box office in its second weekend? Because this movie is good. It achieves its goals effortlessly, and its goals are to show that people have the ability to drastically alter the course of each others' lives through our actions. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JohnG.Jan 12, 2010
Wonderfully told tale full of hope, breaking many prejudices and Bullock is simply brilliant. An Oscar winning display.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JohnUJan 2, 2010
A rare film that both men and women can enjoy. Sandra Bullock is terrific! While her role as a Christian woman doing good is primary and that of Michael Oher, the promising offensive lineman, is diminished from what it was in the book, there A rare film that both men and women can enjoy. Sandra Bullock is terrific! While her role as a Christian woman doing good is primary and that of Michael Oher, the promising offensive lineman, is diminished from what it was in the book, there is still enough football action to hold the attention of guys who follow the game. (Oher became an All_American at Ole Miss after departing the Tuohy household after his high school graduation and then a first round draft choice and now a starter for the Baltimore Ravens.) Audiences are much more positive about this film than the critics. In this case, I think the audiences are to be trusted more than the critics. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MikeMFeb 2, 2010
Critics who downgraded this movie(based on a true story) simply do not like feel good movies,=. I guess they just want lots of action with no base for the plots.These critics need to give up this profession because they are unqualified to Critics who downgraded this movie(based on a true story) simply do not like feel good movies,=. I guess they just want lots of action with no base for the plots.These critics need to give up this profession because they are unqualified to rate anything. Movie was very good. Sandrs Bullock was bsolutely fantastic ant the supporting cast was also.I am glan I don't pay ant attention to these so called critics. If I did,I surely would miss some good and entertaining movies. The box office doesn't lie. Just look at the numbers idiots! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SimoneN.Feb 25, 2010
A great story with great morals and spirit. We all must learn to admire the good and stop making fun of it. I can only wish we will have more people like this family around us.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
TSMar 22, 2010
Not exactly full of compelling drama, but a nice story about nice people doing nice things. So sue me, I liked it, okay?
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
TimG.Mar 29, 2010
I liked the book better because the football scenes in the movie are tough to reproduce accurately.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
PatGNov 20, 2009
I enjoyed this movie more than I expected. I have absolutely no interest in football. Zero. But I usually enjoy Sandra Bullock, so I went. It is a nice human-interest story, well done. So I do recommend it. It feels a tad long, but it held I enjoyed this movie more than I expected. I have absolutely no interest in football. Zero. But I usually enjoy Sandra Bullock, so I went. It is a nice human-interest story, well done. So I do recommend it. It feels a tad long, but it held my interest well. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChrisTNov 20, 2009
This is by far Sandra Bullock's best performance that I have ever seen her in and this is really a great film, best on an inspiring story.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
LauraD.Nov 24, 2009
It's movies like this that give you the "you can do it too" spirit for another person that needs it like Michael Oher.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
RocketDec 17, 2009
It appears most critics want to rate this movie based on delicate racial sensibilities and not on the entertainment value of the film. Look at the wide rating disparity between critics and average movie goers. I liked the film and would It appears most critics want to rate this movie based on delicate racial sensibilities and not on the entertainment value of the film. Look at the wide rating disparity between critics and average movie goers. I liked the film and would recommend it for its entertainment value. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
carolA.Dec 25, 2009
The feel good movie of the holiday season. Sandra Bullock is terrific in what may be her best role ever. Don't miss this wonderful human interest story.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MikeWDec 3, 2009
So much has been said in finding fault with the story, with the perceived racism in the storytelling, with the fault in the characters. I find little fault with the film. The characters are... true. Notably three New York-based critics gave So much has been said in finding fault with the story, with the perceived racism in the storytelling, with the fault in the characters. I find little fault with the film. The characters are... true. Notably three New York-based critics gave the movie a failing grade. Why? Because the acting was so poor? Or because they did not connect with the message? This is one of those rare moments where I find that the most condemning critics are in the wrong, because it is not the MOVIE they disagree with per se, but the premise. The mere idea that such a series of events unfolded as such is perceived as de facto racist. But you know what, much of life has racial overtones. And I don't find the too-good-to-be-true story any less valued just because it doesn't live up to certain standards as a story of overcoming the odds in a racially segregated (or rather socially racially segregated society.) On a side note, love Sandra Bullock. But the accent is close.... but just not there. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
NilsYDec 6, 2009
A great story, which was well cast and acted. This is an inspiring feel good movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
GerriSDec 6, 2009
Best movie I've ever seen. Entire family (10 in all) and everyone enjoyed it. Tim McGraw and Sandra Bullock were great.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LindseyDDec 6, 2009
This movie was such a positive, wonderful story. Sandra Bullock and Tim McGraw are both wonderful in this movie. The family's love for each other and for Michael is overwhelming. It is a charming movie that you will want to go see This movie was such a positive, wonderful story. Sandra Bullock and Tim McGraw are both wonderful in this movie. The family's love for each other and for Michael is overwhelming. It is a charming movie that you will want to go see again. I know I do!! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
EthanC.Mar 26, 2010
Of course they couldn't be nice people, that would be to unpessimistic of a view. Of course they could not do it for the fact that they wanted to be decent, they had to be "hell bent boosters", wanting to get Ole' Miss a Of course they couldn't be nice people, that would be to unpessimistic of a view. Of course they could not do it for the fact that they wanted to be decent, they had to be "hell bent boosters", wanting to get Ole' Miss a championship tackle. Get a grip. It tells a very un-cliched tale, of a boy who finally finds the right spot in life. It also avoids many cliched sports movie moments (very rare). Some of the parts are awkward, and it does get slightly confusing here and there, but none the less this movie is very good. Don't listen to any of the critics, they just need to take the awkwardly placed football, and take it out of their you know what. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DanLMar 29, 2010
This movie has some of the best acting and dramatization I have seen from a movie in a long time. Sandra Bullock normally plays in goofy, ditzy roles, but she did a wonderful job in her serious role. The other thing that I liked to see is This movie has some of the best acting and dramatization I have seen from a movie in a long time. Sandra Bullock normally plays in goofy, ditzy roles, but she did a wonderful job in her serious role. The other thing that I liked to see is that she played the dominant role in the house even though her husband played by Tim McGraw created most of the income. So all in all this movie was an all around great movie and Sandra Bullock deserved the Oscar that she won for it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
ChadSNov 21, 2009
Oh, they're boosters. In a funny way, this bit of late-breaking information functions the same as the "he's dead" revelation in M. Night Shyamalan's "The Sixth Sense", because it forces the moviegoer to reexamine all the Oh, they're boosters. In a funny way, this bit of late-breaking information functions the same as the "he's dead" revelation in M. Night Shyamalan's "The Sixth Sense", because it forces the moviegoer to reexamine all the preceeding scenes under a new frame of reference. Whereas Shyamalan situated the Bruce Willis character sans conversation among the living, this filmmaker too stages scenes that hide the truth in plain sight, then blindsides the moviegoer with a game-changing moment of epiphany. Here, it's in a surprisingly terse scene between Michael(Quintin Aaron) and a NCAA investigator, in which the Touhys are cast in a surprisingly unfavorable light, complicating the film's emotional uplift ever so slightly. Good samaritans or hell-bent boosters? Although the Touhy's are never labeled as such, the evidence of their vested interest in a good left tackle is right in your face all along. An Ole Miss football game on Thanksgiving Day dominates the Touhy household, in which the family gathers around the television from the sofa with their turkey-stuffed plates. When Leigh-Ann(Sandra Bullock) observes her charge sitting by himself at the dining room table, she shuts off the game, and has them join their permanent guest for a more traditional familial holiday arrangement. This is the moment, perhaps, that Leigh-Ann starts to understand how their football-centric lifestyle might need some toning down. (Even the Touhys' young son is put to work as Michael's trainer.) To what extent is her paternalism motivated by a rabid love for Rebel football? Unfortunately, "The Blind Side" bails the University of Mississippi alumnists out, during an exchange where Leigh-Ann and Sean(Tim McGraw) suss out their motivations with a proper amount of self-flaggelation, so we don't have to. But in a telling scene, Miss Sue(Kathy Bates), Michael's tutor, tries to recruit the future NFL star away from hated SEC rival Tennessee with a crazy story about Neyland Stadium(where the Volunteers play its home games), which validates the possibility that a well-to-do couple would feed and clothe an offensive line prospect for their beloved team. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
ClaytonDNov 21, 2009
Gr8t flick! Bullock does a wonerful job as the "momma bear" you dont mess with. SJ is a hoot and uses all of his freckles to good use!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
WinstonLNov 20, 2009
Despite the reviews, Sandra Bullock is STILL on my Oscar-watch.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
RobertM.Nov 22, 2009
This movie works because it is a straight-forward story of hope and one woman's determination to make a positive difference. The reviewers (they call themselves critics) that rated the movie yellow or red would also have panned This movie works because it is a straight-forward story of hope and one woman's determination to make a positive difference. The reviewers (they call themselves critics) that rated the movie yellow or red would also have panned Capra's "It's A Wonderful Life". REM Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MarkCNov 23, 2009
Thoroughly enjoyed this movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
BillPNov 30, 2009
Seriously. How can you not like this movie? It's a delight. Sandra Bullock finds her voice! It's all true. People do noble things.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
FantasyNov 30, 2009
Without question this is a feel good movie based on a true story. At the NFL Draft when Michael took the stage after being drafted #1 by the Baltimore Ravens nary a word was said about how he got there. Michael is befriended by a rich Without question this is a feel good movie based on a true story. At the NFL Draft when Michael took the stage after being drafted #1 by the Baltimore Ravens nary a word was said about how he got there. Michael is befriended by a rich southern family who accepts him for who he is. His IQ is 80 but then again he never recieved an education. To see his desire in which he eventually made the Deans List at Mississippi and becomes an All American transcends the football story. Talk about second chances in life this is a true feel good story about an exceptional young man and an exceptional family that we would all like to be part of. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
BillC.Nov 30, 2009
This movie is pretty harmless Holiday fare, A true story ,yet it's not all that uplifting and the acting is nothing special either. I like Sandra Bullock , but so far she's pnly shown acting abilities in one movie - Crash. This This movie is pretty harmless Holiday fare, A true story ,yet it's not all that uplifting and the acting is nothing special either. I like Sandra Bullock , but so far she's pnly shown acting abilities in one movie - Crash. This film is pretty to look at and very standard Family stuff. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JonathanSDec 12, 2009
Not exactly sure why this movie received such mixed reviews. Sometimes I think critics only like really artsy flicks. If you want a heartwarming movie about a great story this movie will leave you entertained.
1 of 1 users found this helpful