Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: January 15, 2010
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 412 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
282
Mixed:
87
Negative:
43
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
grandpajoe6191Nov 9, 2011
The Hughes Brothers' "The Book of Eli" is a entertaining movie with a solid grim tone and quick, fast paced action. However, it could have done so much more than consistently managing it's apocalyptic mood...
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
6
KeijiM.Jan 31, 2010
What is really interesting about this movie is the contrasting views on religion(Christianity) as being a dangerous in that people will follow and put too much faith in it(Carnegie's idea). And the other that people need something to What is really interesting about this movie is the contrasting views on religion(Christianity) as being a dangerous in that people will follow and put too much faith in it(Carnegie's idea). And the other that people need something to have faith in no matter how desperate or bleak the situation(Eli). It gives you something to think about but overall the movie itself is rather slow. The action in the trailers is about all the action you get in the actual movie. really an average movie. not terrible but not a must see. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
5
43%BurntJan 16, 2010
Denzel is great, I'm always happy to see him un a fresh movie. But as for the movie itself - huge disappointment:the plot has giant loopholes, a lot of questions remain unanswered. And the general religious message is rather silly, Denzel is great, I'm always happy to see him un a fresh movie. But as for the movie itself - huge disappointment:the plot has giant loopholes, a lot of questions remain unanswered. And the general religious message is rather silly, considering all the gun-blazing head-chopping action going on screen. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
billdJan 18, 2010
So overtly a religious film it's sad. One really bad thing was the bible in braille, anyone with half a brain can de-code the alphabet from braille. It's just another god and good violence in his name is ok. Who do they think they So overtly a religious film it's sad. One really bad thing was the bible in braille, anyone with half a brain can de-code the alphabet from braille. It's just another god and good violence in his name is ok. Who do they think they fooled, oh, you I guess. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
oliver1hFeb 23, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Decent post-apocalyptic movie. Washington's acting is good, Gary Oldman is so-so as villain (I consider him a real chameleon actor, who can play brilliant villains, but here the character He portrays is somewhat weak). The twist of the movie is totally unrealistic (Yeah I get it, but anyway it is very unrealistic). Overall it worth a look, but that all. Ps: I do not like how American centric the movie was. I am sure there are a lot more Bibles in Europe, that survived, so Eli hardly saved the last remaining one (It might be the last one there, but the world is a lot bigger place than that.), Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
joehJan 22, 2010
Geez, hasn't anyone ever seen a Boy and His Dog, or the Zatoichi, The Blind Swordsman series and then Beat Takeshi's homage to it, complete with musical numbers?? You can dredge up every post apocalyptic film that has been made Geez, hasn't anyone ever seen a Boy and His Dog, or the Zatoichi, The Blind Swordsman series and then Beat Takeshi's homage to it, complete with musical numbers?? You can dredge up every post apocalyptic film that has been made since Arch Oboler's Five and see where The Book of Eli is stealing from. Throw in some mumbo jumbo judeo christian eschatology, some homages to Leone/Morricone and voila, a pretty predicatable and boring film. But the cars get awesome mileage and they aren't even solar powered. Is Denzel going to be our new Heston? Do we smell another Planet of the Apes remake down the road? Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
4
AlanR.Feb 16, 2010
The movie was, for the first part beautifully shot (although the opening scene is ponderous and needless) and there are about two really good action scenes in there. With some original material but the script is crap. The dialogue is boring The movie was, for the first part beautifully shot (although the opening scene is ponderous and needless) and there are about two really good action scenes in there. With some original material but the script is crap. The dialogue is boring and uninspired. The character motivations don't make any sense. Eli:If he's memorized the book why take such risks to preserve it). Oldman: If most people can't read but will listen to you if you read from "the book". Then it stands to reason that you could tell them anything, or read from any other book. Solara: Is she really that naive that she thinks she will be safer with Eli? All culminating in an ending so disjointed that I was shocked to see a single writing credit. The most annoying thing is there are a half dozen ways to have made this movie. When studios don't even devote five brain cells to the plot is sort of like getting a big F-U from Hollywood. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
5
KundKAug 27, 2010
The real title should have been "Fallout 4: When Zatoichi Found God and what happened after". Not much. I am a big fan of post-apocalyptic movies but this actively annoyed me most of the time.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
6
BoratB.Feb 3, 2010
Set up and scenes fantastic. Though, the story has some really stupid religious background. And the ending is just ridiculous. If I would have watched until 15 minutes before it ends, I would rate it way better.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
JakeNFeb 6, 2010
Yet again another movie about the apocalypse. Well it's certainly nothing like 'The Road'. There more people, and no cannibals in 'Eli'. The plot is slightly smart, but yet very confusing.There are a few entertaining Yet again another movie about the apocalypse. Well it's certainly nothing like 'The Road'. There more people, and no cannibals in 'Eli'. The plot is slightly smart, but yet very confusing.There are a few entertaining and eye popping action scenes in 'Eli'. That still isn't saying it's a good movie though. This isn't one of Denzel Washington's worst work, yet it's not his best work. 'The Book of Eli' is just a bit out of control. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
6
JohnSJan 16, 2010
This movie had many good elements, but I found myself bored several times. My girlfriend went to sleep at one point. We agreed the best part for us was when a viewer got ejected from the theater for cursing at what they thought was a lame This movie had many good elements, but I found myself bored several times. My girlfriend went to sleep at one point. We agreed the best part for us was when a viewer got ejected from the theater for cursing at what they thought was a lame story. If you see this, see it at a theater it will be worse on TV. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
ThickneyJan 17, 2010
Don't expect it to be a high intensity action movie with sleek and slick moments. However, don't get me wrong, it wasn't a bad movie and the idea was great. The acting was awesome and the characters were captivating. However, Don't expect it to be a high intensity action movie with sleek and slick moments. However, don't get me wrong, it wasn't a bad movie and the idea was great. The acting was awesome and the characters were captivating. However, the climax of the movie, revealing the real theme of the movie, turned me off. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
EdwardDFeb 10, 2010
You will really like this movie if you can picture Moses as James Bond!! Sadly, the depravity that mankind sinks to in this story is probably fairly accurate. It is not a pretty picture, but Eli comes to the rescue to save us all. It You will really like this movie if you can picture Moses as James Bond!! Sadly, the depravity that mankind sinks to in this story is probably fairly accurate. It is not a pretty picture, but Eli comes to the rescue to save us all. It wasn't a great movie, but the bad guys get there come uppance which is always satifying to see, and about all there is to this production. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
SeanismynameJan 26, 2010
Jason C's comment about human secularists is incorrect. I am a human secularist and I thought this movie vividly and convincingly portrayed the time-honored power of the Bible to inspire murder, greed and human treachery. I would have Jason C's comment about human secularists is incorrect. I am a human secularist and I thought this movie vividly and convincingly portrayed the time-honored power of the Bible to inspire murder, greed and human treachery. I would have given it a higher score but the crazy cannibals made the movie descend from fable to pastiche. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
AgustinT.Apr 24, 2010
Classical ending of a Hollywood movie - everybody is fine when the logic and the events says the contrary. But it has some message at the end: stick to your principles!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
LynMar 5, 2011
Not as strong as some other Denzel films such as "Man on Fire" and "Training Day," thanks to some plot holes that are inexplicable even by post-apocalyptic-film standards. Still, I liked the intensity of his performance and thought theNot as strong as some other Denzel films such as "Man on Fire" and "Training Day," thanks to some plot holes that are inexplicable even by post-apocalyptic-film standards. Still, I liked the intensity of his performance and thought the supporting acting was good as well. Appreciated the couple of laughs, the "wow" moments and the basic theme. Hard not to compare this with "The Road," a different and better movie but so much more grim. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
JonnyFendiJan 13, 2011
The Last Bible on earth! Thiz topic expected to be controversial. But rather than that, people do not take it too seriously. In post-apocalyptic future, Eli (Denzel Washington) protected a book by walking to the west, somewhere he believedThe Last Bible on earth! Thiz topic expected to be controversial. But rather than that, people do not take it too seriously. In post-apocalyptic future, Eli (Denzel Washington) protected a book by walking to the west, somewhere he believed the book will preserve forever. The book that held up destiny for all human remained. Actually the story was smoothly told by Allen and Albert Hughes who directed FROM HELL (2001). The story starts slowly in the beginning. And later successfully make us stay on our sit by holding up the curiosity about what happens next. The book which is the core of thiz movie, in my opinion did not suppose to reveal too obviously pointed to The Holy Bible. I think we already know by itself with all the conversations and dialogues all over the movie. If the book does not mention about what book is that, it will creates a great mysterious elements. The twist-ending sparks a little by revealing why the book could not read by anybody except eli. Washington performed another side of his characters. Thiz modern Sidney Poitier always amazed us. Gary Oldman once again did what his best to do by playing a convincing fierce-villain. Mila Kunis performance could replace by anyone. The movie reminds me of other gloomy post-apocalyptic flicks like MAD MAX trilogy (1979-1985) or WATERWORLD (1995). But the settings were too simple. There were no big scenes we could remember, even looked like classic-cowboy movies. There were only some refreshing scenes involved an elderly couple who one of them played by Michael Dumbledore Gambon. There were so many post-apocalyptic movies had been made. Thiz time is about the last shampoo remained on earth. It is not an expected movie but just ring my bell a little bit.

Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE : http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
davenbettridgeOct 9, 2011
We have seen many Post Apocalyptic movies and video games now and this movie doesnt do much new that hasnt been done before. If the characters were compelling the movie could still work but its all just standard, the overall quest of theWe have seen many Post Apocalyptic movies and video games now and this movie doesnt do much new that hasnt been done before. If the characters were compelling the movie could still work but its all just standard, the overall quest of the movie was nothing to get excited about. Many of the out comes of its scenes were predictable as soon as they started and the overall 'twist' of the movie was a let down. The movie is watchable of course, and its not too bad but not too good or original either. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
GemeRJan 18, 2010
The 5 is entirely by the virtue of the post-apocalypse setting, and the few well done scenes dealing with survival. Unfortunately, the religious elements make no sense, and continue to make less and sense as the movie progresses. Movie was The 5 is entirely by the virtue of the post-apocalypse setting, and the few well done scenes dealing with survival. Unfortunately, the religious elements make no sense, and continue to make less and sense as the movie progresses. Movie was in no way clever or subtle, and didn't leave any room for interpretation whatsoever. If you don't subscribe to the King Jame's Version of the bible, the movie won't impressed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ClareL.Apr 7, 2010
Movie was interesting with twist at the end. I found it dark and dreary. The ending surprised me in that the writers and producers didn't tell that the Torah is the five books of Moses. The real Mesiah will not be killing as a solution Movie was interesting with twist at the end. I found it dark and dreary. The ending surprised me in that the writers and producers didn't tell that the Torah is the five books of Moses. The real Mesiah will not be killing as a solution but will induce love and caring in all others. If they want to make a moral pont this is not the way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
NeilBJan 16, 2010
It looked good, but the story was so friggin predictable I can't take it. I found myself talking in the middle of the movie and looking at my watch which usually means I am bored.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AllenW.Jan 23, 2010
It was a decent movie. It was a overtly religious film without the humanity we find in The Road. It was not a bad film but not that great either. The "twist ending" was not really that much of a twist, so don't expect expect anything It was a decent movie. It was a overtly religious film without the humanity we find in The Road. It was not a bad film but not that great either. The "twist ending" was not really that much of a twist, so don't expect expect anything earth shattering. The movie is enjoyable if you are willing to forgive some plot holes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
EvinCJan 18, 2010
The film had cool action and one scene is just awesome but the story didn't make me believe or care for the characters. I send Oldman my love, he was the best. Maybe next time Hughes Bros.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
Tss5078Feb 24, 2013
This movie had the right idea, but left far to many unanswered questions. I was expecting a lot more based on the previews and descriptions, but I was left with a film that was not unique. Denzel Washington was amazing as usual, but sadly,This movie had the right idea, but left far to many unanswered questions. I was expecting a lot more based on the previews and descriptions, but I was left with a film that was not unique. Denzel Washington was amazing as usual, but sadly, overall, The Book of Eli wasn't anything special. Just another tale about the world will end one day and reveal what savage beasts we truly are. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Captain_KirkAug 27, 2012
The most that I can say about 'Book of Eli' is that Denzel Washington gives a solid performance and the apocalyptic setting is very convincing. Everything else is meh. My biggest problem with the film had to do with it's pacing. It takes wayThe most that I can say about 'Book of Eli' is that Denzel Washington gives a solid performance and the apocalyptic setting is very convincing. Everything else is meh. My biggest problem with the film had to do with it's pacing. It takes way too long to establish the main conflict of the film, which basically centers on Denzel being hunted by Gary Oldman because he carries the last known Bible in existence. It takes nearly an hour just to get to the conflict and the film runs just under 2 hours. If the pacing was sped up a little bit, my feelings toward the film could have been a bit stronger than they already are. Not bad by any means, but the slowness of everything keeps it from being great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
worleyjamersDec 8, 2012
I originally had no intention of seeing this movie, but I had a free rental so I gave it a shot. It is a really good movie. The action is great. It is a really enjoyable film. It even throws a little religion into the mix.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
MeritCobaApr 30, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Is it sad to know that even after then end of civilization people still get massacred for and over the good book again and again until the end of days? I can hardly say it would be irony, so let's stick to sad, shall we?

Denzel Washington traverses a dystopian US , that has seen the sun come down from heaven roughly thirty years ago, in a mission to go west. He isn't a young boy, but that does not matter here. Like in Yojimbo Washington wanders into some godforsaken hell hole terrorized by a bunch of goons. Like in Yojimbo Washington kills a group of bikers, but uses a machete instead of a katana. God has never had much trouble with killing people and Washington hasn't either. The killing impresses boss dude Gary Oldman and he wants to recruit him.
But Washington doesn't want to play nice with the boss and runs off to the west, picking up the unwanted companion Mila Kunis. There are some confrontations, some moments of insights between Washington and Kunis(PG rated) and the movie ends with Washington's mission accomplished and him dead, for that is how god likes his followers. A lot more people die however, but who cares, they are unbelievers anyway and we can rest assured that more god blessed bloodshed will be in store in the future. The movie has impressed me with the shots. Some of them were really nice. Washington, Oldman and even Kunis were okay. But otherwise the movie made not much sense. For instance, how come after thirty years nobody has bothered to clear away the debris, and fix and clean the houses? Every inhabitable house is a dilapidated ruin. What about the guy Washington finds at the start of the movie who has hanged himself or might have been hanged and is found in a cupboard that with closed doors. Did he close it just prior to hanging himself? How about Washington locking up Kunis, but the movie does not bother to show us how she escaped? How about Washington standing in the middle of a street being shot at from all directions but not being hit once? How about Washington taking thirty years to travel from the east coast to the west coast? The list goes on and on.
A rambling plot, but, I give the movie that, it has a nice twist. And the shots were nice.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
dagirlsJun 3, 2014
Good pacing and good acting from the man himself Denzel Washington and a good supporting cast including Gary Oldman couldn't turn what was essentially a clever rip off of science fiction classic Farenheit 451 into a stand alone work with itsGood pacing and good acting from the man himself Denzel Washington and a good supporting cast including Gary Oldman couldn't turn what was essentially a clever rip off of science fiction classic Farenheit 451 into a stand alone work with its own merits. SciFi has become the realm of the 'calculated steal' in recent years which is a bad thing for SF fans. In 451 people have memorized books that have been destroyed-keepig them for humanity to presumably remake later-its the same thing in this film-but only regarding one book. You can probably imagine which one without seeing it which in a way makes it kind of a soft sell of religion. Eli is Saturday matinee stuff-nothing more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
EpicLadySpongeJan 3, 2016
What the Book of Eli is lacking is the interest. Where exactly is it throughout the entire movie? Oh, expect only a few good scenes and that's just it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
TrailesqueJun 28, 2017
Mad Max meets the Road in this violent, post-apocaypse dystopian thriller. Denzel Washington plays Eli, a circumspect wanderer who can effotlessly kill or main anyone who messes with him. Mila Kunis is the girl and Gary Oldman the gang bossMad Max meets the Road in this violent, post-apocaypse dystopian thriller. Denzel Washington plays Eli, a circumspect wanderer who can effotlessly kill or main anyone who messes with him. Mila Kunis is the girl and Gary Oldman the gang boss who wants what Eli has. It turns out that what he has is a copy of the Bible, and is trying to get it to the promised land of San Francisco for safekeeping. A lot of the movie is pretty comic bookesque, and it is shot in dry, dreary tones. Much of it feels pretty inert and predictable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews