The Book of Eli

The Book of Eli Image
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 394 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: In the not-too-distant future, some 30 years after the final war, a solitary man walks across the wasteland that was once America. A warrior not by choice but necessity, Eli seeks only peace but, if challenged, will cut his attackers down before they realize their fatal mistake. It's not hisIn the not-too-distant future, some 30 years after the final war, a solitary man walks across the wasteland that was once America. A warrior not by choice but necessity, Eli seeks only peace but, if challenged, will cut his attackers down before they realize their fatal mistake. It's not his life he guards so fiercely but his hope for the future; a hope he has carried and protected for 30 years and is determined to realize. Driven by this commitment and guided by his belief in something greater than himself, Eli does what he must to survive--and continue. Eli must keep moving to fulfill his destiny and bring help to a ravaged humanity. Only one other man in this ruined world understands the power Eli holds, and is determined to make it his own: Carnegie. (Warner Bros.) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 33
  2. Negative: 4 out of 33
  1. 75
    The film looks and feels good, and Washington's performance is the more uncanny the more we think back over it. The ending is "flawed," as we critics like to say, but it's so magnificently, shamelessly, implausibly flawed that (a) it breaks apart from the movie and has a life of its own, or (b) at least it avoids being predictable.
  2. 75
    Its hero may be on a mission from above, but in a refreshing twist, the fate of mankind rests with the literate.
  3. The Book of Eli takes the violent, gritty feel of a spaghetti western, marries it with elements of "The Road," places it in the future and gives it a spiritual twist.
  4. The movie keeps you watching and generally engaged.
  5. 50
    The Book of Eli's plastic parable isn't much more advanced than "Insane Clown Posse" theology.
  6. The story requires a greater leap of faith than I was willing or able to muster, since Eli is also a saintly pilgrim on a God-given mission to save a ruined world.
  7. The New Yorker
    Reviewed by: David Denby
    20
    The Book of Eli combines the maximum in hollow piety with remorseless violence. [18 Jan. 2010, p.82]

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 141
  2. Negative: 23 out of 141
  1. DR
    Feb 5, 2010
    10
    This movie is the greatest, most inspirational movie that I have seen. It completely renewed my faith in movies to see somthing that totally This movie is the greatest, most inspirational movie that I have seen. It completely renewed my faith in movies to see somthing that totally relies on God to make it what it is. I am so proud Denzel for making this movie so that others might see just how important it is to rely on God. I totally give it an A+++. Expand
  2. KyleW.
    Feb 4, 2010
    10
    I thought it was a good movie it keeps you thinking throughout and it has great fight scenes in it and a suprise twist at the end. So I thought it was a good movie it keeps you thinking throughout and it has great fight scenes in it and a suprise twist at the end. So overall, I give the film a 10. Expand
  3. GarrettH
    Jan 18, 2010
    9
    Solid acting, comfortable pacing, impactful action, a strong sense of direction, a few welcome laughs, and just enough weight to make you Solid acting, comfortable pacing, impactful action, a strong sense of direction, a few welcome laughs, and just enough weight to make you feel something more than ur average action flick based on a simple idea. Expand
  4. Aug 13, 2010
    8
    Oh no another of one those doomsday movies, barren wastelands and cannibals all over the place. However the movie I can recommend itâ
  5. PabloH
    Jan 17, 2010
    7
    The film is very interesting. The action scenes are pretty good. I would have like a little more backdrop what actually happen that the world The film is very interesting. The action scenes are pretty good. I would have like a little more backdrop what actually happen that the world is in this state. All n All a good movie but not great. I would have been satisfied with waiting until the movie went to DVD. Expand
  6. Thickney
    Jan 17, 2010
    6
    Don't expect it to be a high intensity action movie with sleek and slick moments. However, don't get me wrong, it wasn't a bad Don't expect it to be a high intensity action movie with sleek and slick moments. However, don't get me wrong, it wasn't a bad movie and the idea was great. The acting was awesome and the characters were captivating. However, the climax of the movie, revealing the real theme of the movie, turned me off. Expand
  7. JackM
    Jan 16, 2010
    0
    A bible thumpers apocalyptic action movie. Makes you feel like you just got tricked into going to a surmon. Not really for those of us whom A bible thumpers apocalyptic action movie. Makes you feel like you just got tricked into going to a surmon. Not really for those of us whom don't believe in idiotic made up religious beliefs. My advice. Stick to THE ROAD. Expand

See all 141 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. This Week in Metacritic: The Verdict on "Book of Eli," Vampire Weekend, and More New Releases

    This Week in Metacritic: The Verdict on
    Published: January 13, 2010
    Find out more about the biggest releases in movies, games, music, and TV for the week of January 11-17.
  2. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016 Image
    Published: July 28, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of August, including The Nice Guys, Keanu, The Jungle Book, The Lobster, Weiner, and more.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  5. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.