Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 124 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 31
  2. Negative: 5 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Nov 14, 2013
    100
    This is one of the best movies of the year, featuring one of the most perfect endings of any movie in recent memory.
  2. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Nov 7, 2013
    75
    Overall, it’s engaging and serves its young audience well — a rare Holocaust movie that doesn’t strain to become Oscar bait.
  3. Reviewed by: Dennis Harvey
    Oct 4, 2013
    70
    The Book Thief has been brought to the screen with quiet effectiveness and scrupulous taste by director Brian Percival and writer Michael Petroni.
  4. Reviewed by: Stephen Farber
    Nov 7, 2013
    60
    You may come away more impressed by the intentions than by the achievements.
  5. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Nov 21, 2013
    50
    The film is unobjectionable, sentimental, and not a little dull.
  6. 50
    Directed by Brian Percival, best known for his work on "Downton Abbey," the film has the similar quality of a well-appointed historical soap opera.
  7. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Nov 8, 2013
    20
    The Book Thief is a shameless piece of Oscar-seeking Holocaust kitsch.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 41
  2. Negative: 5 out of 41
  1. Feb 2, 2014
    10
    I was pleasantly surprised by this film. A keeper for sure because some of its messages will always be applicable. Don't let the meagerI was pleasantly surprised by this film. A keeper for sure because some of its messages will always be applicable. Don't let the meager earnings ($568,500) fool you or lousy overpaid critics. Expand
  2. May 19, 2014
    9
    The Book Thief , based on the novel by Markus Zusac, is a 2013 film directed by Brian Percival with Geoffrey Rush, Emily Watson and SophieThe Book Thief , based on the novel by Markus Zusac, is a 2013 film directed by Brian Percival with Geoffrey Rush, Emily Watson and Sophie Nelisse .

    The film is set in Nazi Germany of Hitler and has as its protagonist a young Liesel , a young girl who is adopted by Hans and Rosa Huberman . With her there had to be the little brother but died shortly before. In the new school Liesel is teased because he can neither read nor write , but he manages to make a friend , Rudy Steiner , a boy who falls in love with her.
    Nevertheless, Liesel is intrigued by the books and with the help of Hans soon learn to read. However, the situation will become very difficult with the outbreak of the Second World War and with the arrival of Max, a jew Hans decides to protect as the father of the first saved him during the First World War.

    The film turns out to be very interesting in several places although in certain parts could be made ​​better.
    Meanwhile, let's start with the themes of the film ; as you can imagine we will talk about the persecution of the Jews, of martial law and war. These topics in the film , there are shown in a brutal manner , letting us see the horrors of that period ( such as did Schindler 's List) , but they are told in order to be accessible to all , that in order to be seen and understood even by smaller .
    But not only are these the main themes of the film , there's another one in the film that proves to be the central one , which is the importance of culture . The culture that allows us to see things with greater awareness and makes us truly understand who we are , all represented during the dark period of Nazism, where ignorance seemed to reign supreme.
    Particularly interesting in the film is the fact that at certain points in the main narrator is nothing less than Death. I found it particularly deep and great monologue that is the end.

    The film , however , as I said before , it has some flaws. The main problem it can be found towards the end of the film that was supposed to represent the most dramatic part of the story (and a little ' dramatic it is) , but fails to hit deep in the viewer. Another small flaw (perhaps in some cases are a bit ' perfectionist but some things it is better to point out ) are the books that Liesel law . Ok that the film is an American production , but the film is set in Germany and then I would have liked to see them written in German not in English.

    The actors , however, are all of great, away from little Sophie Nelisse who plays Liesel , to Hans and Rosa interpreted both by a great Geoffrey Rush and fantastic Emily Watson.

    Talking about the technical side , the film is very nice, especially photography and soundtrack. The photography Florian Ballhaus proves to be accurate and in some places can do very artistic shots .
    The soundtrack instead was done by one of the most talented and legendary composers of film, namely John Williams (do not know which of his films to mention , I will be spoiled for choice). Regarding the latter I have to say that , like all the scores made ​​by Williams, is of great quality and an Oscar nomination if all is well deserved ( although I must say that if it would be well deserved as he deserved even those de The Hobbit: The desolation of Smaug ) .

    I conclude by saying that , although it is not a masterpiece , the film turns out to be very nice ( and lasts 130 minutes ) and will succeed for sure make you appreciate the many characters in the film.
    Expand
  3. Nov 30, 2013
    9
    The Book Thief is one of the best books I've read, and thankfully, the same can be said for the film adaptation. The Book Thief mainlyThe Book Thief is one of the best books I've read, and thankfully, the same can be said for the film adaptation. The Book Thief mainly succeeds thanks to its acting. Each actor nails it as their characters perfectly, and delivers the perfect amount of emotion and dialogue. It's some of the best acting I've ever seen in a film. the writing does a great job of sticking to the book. While there are obviously differences, and things outright taken out, the majority of the writing keeps true to the book. Even though I don't deduct points for accuracy, I was impressed with how well it did towards the original novel. Even without the book accuracy, the writing and script were excellent. When it comes down to it, my only problems with the film is the safe approach and inconsistency. The film does decent with its Nazi Germany setting, but plays with it way too safely. It seems like they tried not too mess with such a setting, and because of it, it feels like the Nazi setting is approached a bit too brightly, except for a select few scenes. But the biggest problem is the inconsistency. Death narrates the movie, just like he does the book, but the problem here is that he's used a few times, and at random. It makes me wonder what the point of bringing Death into the film was, because his random use feels seriously off. Aside from this problem, The Book Thief does excellent thanks to its strong acting and great direction, and I'd definitely recommend you see it. Expand
  4. Apr 12, 2014
    7
    i found the book thief depressing , interesting , and very creative . this is one of the most inspiring , sole surviving movie i had everi found the book thief depressing , interesting , and very creative . this is one of the most inspiring , sole surviving movie i had ever seen . But its just sad for me .
    Grade A
    Expand
  5. Dec 2, 2013
    7
    The acting is what raised my grade a whole point. Rush and Nelisse are perfectly cast with Nelisse shining above all others. The story isThe acting is what raised my grade a whole point. Rush and Nelisse are perfectly cast with Nelisse shining above all others. The story is heartwarming and showcases character development at its finest. And the ending was basically just perfect. I just walked away feeling like something was missing and that it could have been better. Overall I'm impressed and can't wait to see what Nelisse has to show us next. Expand
  6. Mar 16, 2014
    6
    I viewed The Book Thief with great anticipation at the beginning, but unfortunately my attention flagged halfway through. There was littleI viewed The Book Thief with great anticipation at the beginning, but unfortunately my attention flagged halfway through. There was little new in the story line and I wasn't convinced by Emily Watson's performance as a harsh, Germanic foster mother with a heart of gold. The acting was fair, in my opinion, and the film plodded along without any great surprises. There were no heart-stopping moments - nothing to make me laugh or cry - so I am sad to say that I felt this movie was just average and a waste of Geoffrey Rush's talents. I hated the insertion of German phrases with American accents. Either English or German - or sub-titles please. Everything seemed forced and formulaic. Nice try, but I wouldn't recommend it. Expand
  7. Jul 7, 2014
    0
    This movie is an embarrassing thing. First off, the title, "The Book Thief" doesn't even really apply to the movie at all. She steals books onThis movie is an embarrassing thing. First off, the title, "The Book Thief" doesn't even really apply to the movie at all. She steals books on 2 occasions but that's it. I don't even know what the story is. They're so many events going on and NONE OF THEM ARE IMPORTANT TO THE STORY LINE WHATSOEVER. The book thievery happens in a 15 minute span of the whole 2 hour movie. As a historian, it pains me to view their feeble attempt to cover WW2. The chronology of the war is all screwed up. They had Germans still deporting Jews in 1942, which all deportation had been dealt with. Lezeil and Rudy's fathers had been drafted into the war. Let us take the time to note these two gentlemen are in their late 60s or 70s. Now men like this were drafted into the war, but later in the war like 1944/45. The drafting for these men happens in 41. The movie tries to give the viewer a notion of time passing, BUT ALL THE CHARACTERS LOOK AND ACT THE SAME AS THEY DID IN THE BEGINNING OF THE FILM. All in all this is a pitiful movie, with weak to no apparent story line, pathetic acting, and a time line that went to **** Expand

See all 41 User Reviews

Trailers