Indican Pictures | Release Date: January 21, 2000
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 348 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
278
Mixed:
15
Negative:
55
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JaredT.Dec 30, 2008
Pure Classic.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
DoyleMar 17, 2008
For those of you that haven't noticed this movie has either great reviews or bad ones. The bad ones come from people expecting an Oscar film. The good ones come from those that know what a cult film is. This film is a cult film. It is a For those of you that haven't noticed this movie has either great reviews or bad ones. The bad ones come from people expecting an Oscar film. The good ones come from those that know what a cult film is. This film is a cult film. It is a good film. Watch this film to be entertained. Don't take it serious, and you will love it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
chillinhillsApr 18, 2011
First of all, I don't appreciate the implication that all people who give this movie a 10 rating are just overexcited kids. I am a 36 year old Marine Corps veteran who's life has been personally touched by crime, both violent and non-violent,First of all, I don't appreciate the implication that all people who give this movie a 10 rating are just overexcited kids. I am a 36 year old Marine Corps veteran who's life has been personally touched by crime, both violent and non-violent, and I can tell you many times, I have wanted nothing more than to do the kinds of things depicted in this movie. I don't because I still hope that some day the law may actually stand behind people's rights rather than standing behind the people who have the money. I loved this movie and think that it at minimum shows the moral standard that people SHOULD live by. Is violence wrong? Yes it is. Is violence sometimes necessary? I don't know, ask any police officer who has ever had to fire their weapon in the line of duty. Ask any soldier who has ever been to war. For those that can't see the plot behind this movie, I feel very sorry for you, and those around you, because my guess would be, you're moral compass probably doesn't point to the good side. Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
10
KyleF.Jan 10, 2007
This movie was very good in the action parts. It kept my attention throughout the movie.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JodieC.Oct 4, 2002
Very kool.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JoeG.Apr 10, 2006
One of the best movies i have seen. It has a hidden message that i found to be great. Good codes of behavior to follow.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
FalloutManJul 30, 2006
It's a shame that on this site the only reviews are from either over-excited kids who give this film 10/10 because it has guns in it, and people who can't appreciate it at all. Yes, it rips off both Pulp Fiction and Leon in places It's a shame that on this site the only reviews are from either over-excited kids who give this film 10/10 because it has guns in it, and people who can't appreciate it at all. Yes, it rips off both Pulp Fiction and Leon in places (I cringed at the 'No women, no children' philosophy of Billy C's character), but, in my humble opinion, this film beats Pulp Fiction. It's funnier, but in a way that seems coincidental rather than deliberate (the scene where the brothers play a trick on Rocco is superb), and the toilet- dropping scene near the beggining is breathtaking. Overall, those who give this film a 0/10 mark are pretentious fools who cannot enjoy this film for what it is- a fun little action film with a tremendous story. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BrockM.Nov 20, 2008
Best movie ever made!!!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChaseCJul 29, 2009
One of the greatest movies I have ever seen. Please watch this movie, I beg you, its such a great movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JoelE.Aug 24, 2002
This is one of the best movies that i have ever seen. i think that this movie has a great story and it is very entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshH.Mar 15, 2004
Really good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KatiC.Jun 22, 2004
Best movie ever. Finally, a film with no forced love story, other than the brotherly love bt murph and conner, that presented thought provoking issues. plus it didnt hurt that sean and norman are about the two hottest men on earth;-)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndreaS.Jun 25, 2004
Classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LaurensG.Sep 19, 2004
W0W!! This movie, respect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesG.Apr 3, 2005
Best movie of the century.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlextheManJun 8, 2005
Wow this movie is ungodly, i wish every movie was made like this and all you critics who rated it low should be ashamed of yourelf.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeZJun 9, 2005
This movie is amazing. It has elements of humor, intensity, and a real feel of Boston. Every time I watch it, I notice something new. Pay attention to all the small details in this movie because that is what makes it amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZackDec 1, 2006
This movie is one of the greatest movies I've ever seen. It's the only serious movie that's been able to make me laugh nearly as much as the Scary movies series (before it started to suck). Anyone who gives this fantastic This movie is one of the greatest movies I've ever seen. It's the only serious movie that's been able to make me laugh nearly as much as the Scary movies series (before it started to suck). Anyone who gives this fantastic movie a score of 6 or below just doesn't like violence and language, or they're just way too religous. Possibly all three. If you are one of those people, then please, don't watch this movie, you probably wouldn't like it. If you're one of the vast majority that aren't these people (aka Pulp Fiction and Reservoir Dogs fans), then please watch this movie. It'll most likely instantly rise into your top 10 favorite movies of all time. Watch it, you won't regret it. "In Nomeni Patri Et Fili Spiritus Sancti." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KrisA.Jun 16, 2006
Best shoot-em-up I've ever seen, unfortunately there isn't a sequal. I would liked to have seen more from Troy Duffy but this is his only movie. All gun movies should be based on this. It has a great plot and some very cool scenes in it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnF.Jul 3, 2006
Very cool movie. The brothers are electric and the gun fights were poetic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BillB.Mar 12, 2007
It's a solid movie with a divergent sense of style and narrative but it has its share of flaws.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WayneP.Apr 20, 2007
Great movie and for the people who had made comments before let me explain. Didn't make sense? Wow, if this movie didn't make sense to you...Then please go back to your snowman puzzle and try and figure that out. Waste of Great movie and for the people who had made comments before let me explain. Didn't make sense? Wow, if this movie didn't make sense to you...Then please go back to your snowman puzzle and try and figure that out. Waste of production? THIS is a waste of production?... Okay, how about the millions of dollars WASTED on making unnecessary movies about 9/11... That were solely made to make money? THAT seems like a waste to me. Oh and this movie does have a great meaning, and can cnojure some great conversations. But I forgot what century we live in... The sit down, have everything "explained" to you by the screen, and smile...Or frown depending on what the screen says. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoeNov 1, 2001
One of the best action movie's done for little money and plus the acting was very well done for that sort of budget.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnM.Jun 26, 2001
How this movie was not the biggest hit of the year I'll never know. Deep, but not annoyingly pretencious. Defoe? PERFECT! Robert Koehler is a moron. Duffy made a movie that's fun, and gives pause without going so far as to become, How this movie was not the biggest hit of the year I'll never know. Deep, but not annoyingly pretencious. Defoe? PERFECT! Robert Koehler is a moron. Duffy made a movie that's fun, and gives pause without going so far as to become, yet another, hollywood 'look to me for the answers' over dramatic piece of crap. This movie is perfect! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DianaD.Sep 28, 2001
This movie is hilarious, super-cool and has two of the best-looking leads around. No, make that three - Dafoe is not half bad - and you'll find that you will not be able to take your eyes off them for one second. The fanaticism of This movie is hilarious, super-cool and has two of the best-looking leads around. No, make that three - Dafoe is not half bad - and you'll find that you will not be able to take your eyes off them for one second. The fanaticism of 'the saints' is amusing and almost admirable. I wanted to go grab a gun and join them. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonS.Jan 14, 2002
It's funny how so many reviews have said the same thing, and i would echo these sentiments including the urge to watch the movie again and again as well as the brilliance of the acting. I heard about this movie by word of mouth as did It's funny how so many reviews have said the same thing, and i would echo these sentiments including the urge to watch the movie again and again as well as the brilliance of the acting. I heard about this movie by word of mouth as did many others and I have made it my duty to see to it that I tell as many others about it as possible. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CazNov 4, 2003
This is in no way a horrendous movie, in fact its up there with the best! Duffy's not trying to make a statement about killing under the name of a god. He's trying to get the audience to question the idea of capital punishment, and This is in no way a horrendous movie, in fact its up there with the best! Duffy's not trying to make a statement about killing under the name of a god. He's trying to get the audience to question the idea of capital punishment, and the inadequacy of the current justice system to dealing with perverse and violent criminals. Yes i see the point about it being in the name of god and how this could perhaps make some people 'think' of suicide bombings, but its not even slightly related. Terroist attacks - vigilantism; not the same. The brothers don't kill or harm innocent people. Im not saying their approach is the kindest, but its the extreme of a situation of two people who act as judge and jury for what the state is obviously not accomplishing. The movie reaches out to people to ask them to question themselves and their own views on capital punioshment. The film is self reflective, with the characters rasing the questions the audience may ask. Duffy wants the audience to like the brothers and sympathise with them, but by showing the scene as a flashback with Dafoes explanation he is allowing the audience to judge the events objectivley, rather than as one of the brothers or Rocco. The films left with a certain amount of ambiguity, Dafoes character at the end doesn't sound certain he is doing the right thing and the preist in the church asks for forgiveness after swaying the FBI agents decision to help the lads. All the action sequences are played in slow motion, taking any fear out of it. Im a wimp when it comes to horror or heavy violence, but i could watch and analyse this film without flinching!Action, humor &a great director & cast make this movie worthy of a 10/10. Story, editing, cinematography are fantastic 10/10! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AleksanderB.Feb 25, 2003
Oh yeah. Great movie. Funny and well- written dialog. Great acting and directing too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickJ.Feb 25, 2003
This movie was bomb, there should be people doing this in every city.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatD.Mar 20, 2003
The sh*t...........thats all you have to say.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickS.Apr 6, 2003
This movie has now moved to the top of my all-time favorite movies list.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RicoSep 17, 2003
GOOD!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZanM.Dec 21, 2004
This movie was the best dircted movie i have ever saw. The director left you guessing at every end. This is one of my fav. movies and will always be...next you'll be seeing Boondocks the game, and I'll be right there waiting for it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MurphyM.Dec 22, 2004
The greatest movie of all times!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DeanS.Dec 6, 2004
Awesome and hilarious all at the same time!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonR.Jan 28, 2004
Yeah, people who didn't like this movie, if not for soundtrack alone, basically have no working brain.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GrahamM.Oct 5, 2004
This is an excellent film. Willem Dafoe steals the show.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TravisG.May 2, 2004
I thought this was an excellent movie....definitely worth my time....love the quentin tarintino style of it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidB.May 4, 2004
This was a fantastic movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeT.Jun 18, 2004
Tight movie, loved it! Great for any 17-50 year old guy who isnt a nerd or pussy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
GaborA.Jun 6, 2004
Not high brow philosophy but your typical entertaining action movie with a fresh feel behind the camera work.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DanielG.Sep 22, 2004
Flawed acting, and cinematographic hubris aside, this movie is worth watching. It incorporates a religious element in its quest to provoke thought about the true nature of justice and the extent to which the current legal is reflective of Flawed acting, and cinematographic hubris aside, this movie is worth watching. It incorporates a religious element in its quest to provoke thought about the true nature of justice and the extent to which the current legal is reflective of that justice. Moreover, as viewers, we are forced to examine how our own society distributes justice in the form of death, through such methods as lethal injection and the chair. If Guilt is a fact, what makes us, as state, any more justified in performing execution than an individual? A truly Great movie could have been made on this subject. This movie is not it, but it is a worthy attempt and can also be enjoyed for the sake of sheer entertainment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SolCJan 30, 2005
Sick.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
daMay 11, 2005
This movies is the best movies of all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
aadaamAug 5, 2005
Damn good movie, all shuld see it :)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnRoseOct 11, 2006
Absolutely awesome movie. It was exciting and it kept you in the story the whole time. Amazing fight scenes. I can not wait for the sequel to come out. (Boondock Saints 2 : All Saints Day)!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DavidM.Jan 22, 2006
While this movie lacks much in the acting and originality department, a few spots of each shine through. I personally enjoyed this movie very much but I have seen much better attempts at this style movie, specifically by Tarantino. It seems While this movie lacks much in the acting and originality department, a few spots of each shine through. I personally enjoyed this movie very much but I have seen much better attempts at this style movie, specifically by Tarantino. It seems to me that Duffy idolizes Tarantino and at times Duffy succeeds in bringing that sick and surreal wit to the screen, however most of the time he fails. You may enjoy this movie if you love gangster movies and their kin or simply love violence. If you absolutely abhor movies that lack any real insight or explorations of the issues raised and leave all analysis to the viewer, then you are a mindless automaton and will definitely hate this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MurphyM.Dec 7, 2006
The greatest movie of all times!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JdawggJan 8, 2006
Fantastic Acting, fantastic fight scenes, and a mystifying ploit all tie together. I don't know what everyone is complaining about, this movie is awesome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KerelW.Oct 8, 2006
I think the fact that I have seen this movie at least a dozen times warrants it a ten. It is definitely a cult classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Apr 30, 2006
This is the best movie ever made!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KentE.Dec 1, 2007
Solid movie with some real moral dilemmas. It does this in a fictional way with killings that most people would be punished for in everyday life. But that doesn't mean it still cant bring up a discussion. Is it really a crime to kill Solid movie with some real moral dilemmas. It does this in a fictional way with killings that most people would be punished for in everyday life. But that doesn't mean it still cant bring up a discussion. Is it really a crime to kill people like Mafia syndicates who are probably just going to kill each other off anyway, plus many innocent causalities in the process. I say no, but that doesn't mean the film should be condemned by me because I disagree. That along with a good story pretty solid acting (especially from Dafoe, who makes this a good movie) and also some humor added in and also a sense of mystery make it a good movie. There are some flaws: I don't understand the gunshot wounds treated by a clothes iron,pretty stupid and doesn't make any sense, the plot gets a little bit confusing in the beginning and jumps around a lot, and sometimes is just real boring and weird but not in a good weird way, in a what the heck is the director smoking weird way. But altogether a pretty solid film, but nothing special, I wont ever buy this movie, but worth a check if you like something out of the ordinary with violence and a little humor mixed in. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NikkiCarlsonOct 5, 2007
By far the coolest movie and this is coming from a girl. Despite some of the negative reviews the film has had to bear, it's amazing! I'm even using the film for a communcations project!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ErickRJan 16, 2008
44?!?! THAT'S AN OUTRAGE!! Boondock Saints is one the best movies I have ever seen! The plot and the action was superb, as was the acting: every actor suited their role very well. Absolutely recommended for someone who's looking 44?!?! THAT'S AN OUTRAGE!! Boondock Saints is one the best movies I have ever seen! The plot and the action was superb, as was the acting: every actor suited their role very well. Absolutely recommended for someone who's looking for a great action movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DrewKNov 5, 2009
People need to learn to take this movie as what it is meant to be: a flashy violent action film. If you enjoyed fight club, this movie is for you. If you like intellectual movies that appeal to your emotions, you should probably watch this People need to learn to take this movie as what it is meant to be: a flashy violent action film. If you enjoyed fight club, this movie is for you. If you like intellectual movies that appeal to your emotions, you should probably watch this movie anyway since you're such a wuss and could use some extra testosterone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnMOct 26, 2009
One of the best movies I have ever seen for sheer enjoyment factor and if you've ever been pissed off seeing or hearing a serial rapist or murderer get off scott free or sent to a "comfortable" corrections facility. The philosophy of One of the best movies I have ever seen for sheer enjoyment factor and if you've ever been pissed off seeing or hearing a serial rapist or murderer get off scott free or sent to a "comfortable" corrections facility. The philosophy of the movie being "an eye for an eye" will no doubt be uncomfortable viewing for some, however, the movie has heart and personality and an amazing ensemble cast. I personally don't take much stock in "reviewer's" opinions, as the great George Carlin once said, "think of how stupid the average person is and realise that half of them are more stupid than that", I'm merely posting on here for people to go watch the movie for themselves! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RebeccaH.May 14, 2009
"Boondock Saints" is pure genius. The only movie that will top this movie is it's sequel. But the sequel can only hope to be better than the original if most of the good guys from the first movie are in the second movie. This has been a "Boondock Saints" is pure genius. The only movie that will top this movie is it's sequel. But the sequel can only hope to be better than the original if most of the good guys from the first movie are in the second movie. This has been a long anticipated movie. I'm so happy it's finally happening. It's about time. Nine years is a long time to wait for a sequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DemetriaceL.Oct 28, 2001
One of the Greatest movies I've ever seen. I Dont know what Robert Koehler is blabbering about he must a prick.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MariaW.Jul 13, 2001
This movie had it all....action, comedy, and violence all wrapped up into one!! This movie never had a boring moment and moved at a great pace. I could watch this movie over and over.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimS.Nov 19, 2002
Probably the best independent film that I have ever seen. Me and my friends have based our lives on the quote from the preist at the begining: "We must all fear evil men, but there is something that must be feared even more, and that is the Probably the best independent film that I have ever seen. Me and my friends have based our lives on the quote from the preist at the begining: "We must all fear evil men, but there is something that must be feared even more, and that is the INDIFFERENCE OF GOOD MEN." movies don't get much better that this, mainstream or otherwise! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanO.Nov 6, 2002
Boondock Saints is the best movie ever. i almost base me life on it save the killing. i am, i am such a big fan i even bought a P coat for my brother Patrick and i. i rate an easy 10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CrystalJ.May 18, 2002
This is my all time favourite movie. It is a wonderfully made movie, from script, acting and directing, all the way down to editing and the soundtrack. A definate must see for anyone who claims to be a movie buff. This one definately slipped This is my all time favourite movie. It is a wonderfully made movie, from script, acting and directing, all the way down to editing and the soundtrack. A definate must see for anyone who claims to be a movie buff. This one definately slipped through Hollywood's radar, don't let it slip through yours! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanL.Mar 17, 2003
This is right up my favorite movie, right beside slap-shot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GregM.Mar 25, 2003
GREAT STUFF - One of my favorites. It's right up there with "Reservoir Dogs", "Pulp Fiction" and "The Professional." I have turned a lot of friends "on" to this movie.......Bring on B.S. II!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Mar 31, 2003
This is the best movie ever made!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmandaDec 9, 2004
This movie is one of the best I have ever seen. Sean Patrick, Norman, and Willem are amazing!!!!! I CANNOT wait til Boondock 2!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JerryT.Mar 23, 2004
Compared to the big budget blockbusters we are force fed these days, this low- budget movie was far more entertaining to rent and buy than most others. It is no lord of the rings, but dollar for dollar,they made a unique cult film that will Compared to the big budget blockbusters we are force fed these days, this low- budget movie was far more entertaining to rent and buy than most others. It is no lord of the rings, but dollar for dollar,they made a unique cult film that will be talked about for years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScottA.Mar 26, 2004
Best movie of all time... "WE COULD KILL EVERYONE!!!"
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MeredithS.May 23, 2004
I loved this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkA.Aug 19, 2004
Good movie. not really religious but it made me have some interest. overall pretty good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JHJan 12, 2005
Great movie!! I hope the sequel actually gets made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MelvinM.Oct 24, 2005
It is absurd that a film of this magnitiude and stature is given a mere 44 as an average critics rating. Not only does this movie blur the conventional ethics on vigilante violence, it also redefines the manner in which films are directed. It is absurd that a film of this magnitiude and stature is given a mere 44 as an average critics rating. Not only does this movie blur the conventional ethics on vigilante violence, it also redefines the manner in which films are directed. The beauty in the direction gun-fight scenes are of no equal to this very day. I scorn the critics and their wordy renunciations of films purely based on directoral history and commonplace ethical judgements, for once I would like a film to be reviewed on merit; a merit in the Boondock Saints that can be considered nothing but purely Revolutionay. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JameyPJan 29, 2005
Great movie. Had to buy it after seeing it. Not for the bleeding heart.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MeowMixJul 15, 2005
Best movie I have ever seen! Everyone should see this atleast once!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GregB.Jan 23, 2006
I love the way this movie was shot. I loved seeing the aftermath of the hits, followed by how it happened as described by Mr. Defoe who played his role excellently. The action/gore was great, and although many don't recognize it, I I love the way this movie was shot. I loved seeing the aftermath of the hits, followed by how it happened as described by Mr. Defoe who played his role excellently. The action/gore was great, and although many don't recognize it, I loved the music that went along with it. A must see movie, classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LivS.Sep 26, 2006
Such a good movie. I can't understand how people don't like it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PhillipPhanOct 27, 2007
Wow!!! are u guys kidding me? this is one of the best movies I've ever seen. Very good comedy and action scenes coupled with a small dab of thinking. Overall i don't know why everyone is hating this movie? Everyone who has given Wow!!! are u guys kidding me? this is one of the best movies I've ever seen. Very good comedy and action scenes coupled with a small dab of thinking. Overall i don't know why everyone is hating this movie? Everyone who has given this movie a 0 sounds like a wannabe intellectual. You have no sense of humor. :D Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SKDec 13, 2008
Loved every second of it. If you enjoy super hero movies, this one is better than most of them plus it has humor, blood, language, and great acting(mostly from Willem).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaredNDec 3, 2008
just to explain the iron scene to the people above who criticize it and dot "understand" it. The iron is intended to cotorize the wound or burning the capiliaries shut to stop bleeding and prevent infection. Don't criticize the movie just to explain the iron scene to the people above who criticize it and dot "understand" it. The iron is intended to cotorize the wound or burning the capiliaries shut to stop bleeding and prevent infection. Don't criticize the movie because you don't understand it. It is a movie which builds a conflict between good vs evil and doing what is necessary to save lives even though the method cannt be condoned by the justice system. It is common knowledge that the justice system is flawed and many of guilty are not punished. The "Saints" take judgement into their own hands because of this. This movie is simply a movie about moral, relgious, cultural, and essentially a political conflict. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StevnB.Oct 31, 2008
One of the best movies I have seen. I cannot believe the critics rated this movie so horribly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KurtisH.Nov 8, 2009
If you take this movie seriously, then you probably aren't going to like it. And if you think that the director failed at being "deep" by using "religious undertones" and so forth, then you should probably get a CT scan. This movie is If you take this movie seriously, then you probably aren't going to like it. And if you think that the director failed at being "deep" by using "religious undertones" and so forth, then you should probably get a CT scan. This movie is an action/comedy. It doesn't try to take itself serious or be deep. It is what it is. On a seperate note, those who say that it is riping off other great films should take another look. There is no such thing as an original idea anymore. It's all been done, and if you take the time to pick up a few books at your local library, you'll learn that these other films that you rave about aren't original either. All in all, the movie is worth watching. However, if you happen to be a self proclaimed intellectual, a snob, or a prude, you will probably rate this movie poorly because you won't be able to see passed the cover and into the brilliance that this movie contains within its humorous plot and wonderfully stylized action scenes. Long live the Boondock Saints! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnBDec 5, 2009
Obviously this movie is not to be watched for its impressive morality. It's more likely that the story came from a "wouldn't it be cool if..." moment, but never the less it is entertaining and has a story line that keeps you Obviously this movie is not to be watched for its impressive morality. It's more likely that the story came from a "wouldn't it be cool if..." moment, but never the less it is entertaining and has a story line that keeps you interested. Sure, it doesn't involve any deep philosophical thinking, but actual religious teachings aren't any better. Sorry to all who were looking for a life-changing experience from this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ClaudiaPDec 9, 2009
Just as funny, sweet and engaging as the first film starring the big galoot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BuckmanB.Mar 27, 2009
This movie gets better every time I watch it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FranklinK.Dec 28, 2001
Inarguably one of the most awe-inspiring movies yet to be created. To all the critics who have compared it to "Pulp Fiction," I deem you "no talent hacks." The similarities between the two, stop at the fact that there are two hitmen who Inarguably one of the most awe-inspiring movies yet to be created. To all the critics who have compared it to "Pulp Fiction," I deem you "no talent hacks." The similarities between the two, stop at the fact that there are two hitmen who speak God's word. (Pulp fiction's "prophet" only said it cuz he thought it sounded cool, so there's NO real comparrison between the two movies) Returning to the review, I truly suggest that if you're a seeker of deep, intelligent, well thought-out movies "The Boondock Saints" is a movie of unrivaled excellence. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KairowDec 15, 2003
Look at the love and hate on this movie!!!!!! A zero, a ten, a zero, a few more tens. I love movies that leave no room for wishy-washy feelings. If for no other reason that the love and hate this movie has displayed here on this site, it is Look at the love and hate on this movie!!!!!! A zero, a ten, a zero, a few more tens. I love movies that leave no room for wishy-washy feelings. If for no other reason that the love and hate this movie has displayed here on this site, it is worth the view. Me, loved it. Dressed as the Saints on Halloween. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TaylorM.Nov 22, 2004
You will have to have some problems up in yo head if you dont respect this movie. Just waiting for Boondock Saints 2: All Saints Day to come out...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TonyS.Dec 14, 2004
This movie is awesome. period.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TrevorT.Dec 18, 2004
I have never seen a movie so glorious in my whole life. It has the greates action and i cant wait till the 2nd comes out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TripleBDec 31, 2007
Memorized the prayer, bought the peacoat, and no I won't be ridding the world of evil men. But I could watch this movie a million times.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KatieSDec 23, 2008
I saw this movie with no background or context, and I liked it, but I think I took it in a different spirit than a lot of people did. I interpreted it as one big jokey comic, no serious attempt to make a movie about vigilantism or revenge, I saw this movie with no background or context, and I liked it, but I think I took it in a different spirit than a lot of people did. I interpreted it as one big jokey comic, no serious attempt to make a movie about vigilantism or revenge, and taken in that spirit I found it entertainingly told, edited, and acted. But, yeah, if you try to take it as an effort at anything other than a puffed up comic book, it will seem unutterably stupid. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JacobMar 13, 2014
The Boondock Saints is one of those movies that the more I think about it the more I realize it was a pretty good movie. The film had an interesting and well written story with some good morals and ethics. The characters were interesting andThe Boondock Saints is one of those movies that the more I think about it the more I realize it was a pretty good movie. The film had an interesting and well written story with some good morals and ethics. The characters were interesting and well acted. To top off the presentation was good. While I enjoyed this on my first viewing I feel like this is one of those movies I’d appreciate more with repeated viewings. This is definitely a film to check out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GLaDOSJan 29, 2011
Overall this was one of the best movies I've seen to date. Mixing some of the brotherly antics with the family ties and the drama and love between the three characters makes some of these scenes unforgettable. The characters are almostOverall this was one of the best movies I've seen to date. Mixing some of the brotherly antics with the family ties and the drama and love between the three characters makes some of these scenes unforgettable. The characters are almost needlessly in depth going so far as to delve into their personal sex lives. Looking into the characters' motives and reasons for killing reminds me of what comes out of the Middle East extremist groups, yet in a much more calm and controlled sense, if you can even say that about killing in the name of an omnipresent leader. If you've seen it and all you want to do is sit there and say it's a ripoff of all these other films then fine, but if you haven't seen this movie I encourage you to rent it or Netflix it or do whatever you have to do, as this is a film that many can enjoy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MustisTheCatAug 22, 2011
I`m a little two-row about this one. For starters, the story is a bit shallow. Yes it has a twist, but it doesn`t stop being a pretext for some killing or funny killing. What totally saves it is the acting. All of them : W. Dafoe, S.Flanery,I`m a little two-row about this one. For starters, the story is a bit shallow. Yes it has a twist, but it doesn`t stop being a pretext for some killing or funny killing. What totally saves it is the acting. All of them : W. Dafoe, S.Flanery, N. Reedus and even D. Rocco took their job seriously and executed wonderfully. All of them enrich the story ten fold. Especially W. Dafoe`s performance. This movie never gets boring, this movie surprises the viewer every minute. The characters get well established, are easy to know, like and relate to. When watchng "The Boondock Saints" I felt as I was killin the baddies myself. Few scenes made me laugh a lot, as the Saints are quite the company of very different people on multiple levels. All of this acompanied by a detective who is starting to have doubts about his job. To be honest I took this film more as comedy than drama or anything serious. It gets brutal at times, but the funny stuff enters it the same moments. Light, funny, especially worth seeing for the characters development part. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TTW107Feb 14, 2012
So a 44 as the critic average huh? I think if critics reviewed this now it would be higher, this movie has garnered respect over the years. How can you not like a badass flick about two irishmen kicking ass and taking names? But seriouslySo a 44 as the critic average huh? I think if critics reviewed this now it would be higher, this movie has garnered respect over the years. How can you not like a badass flick about two irishmen kicking ass and taking names? But seriously Willem Dafoe's performance is so brilliantly creepy and I really like how you see the crime scene first and then you see the crime, very creative. Anyway one of the most badass movies I've ever seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JaySupertrampFeb 6, 2012
By far one of the best movies ever. Doing the right and wrong thing at the same time gives the viewer a bad choice. The credits are showing this phenomenon too. To make the decision where to draw the line makes this movie so brilliant. AndBy far one of the best movies ever. Doing the right and wrong thing at the same time gives the viewer a bad choice. The credits are showing this phenomenon too. To make the decision where to draw the line makes this movie so brilliant. And the music and style in the way the movie is made is genious! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
UncleEarlDec 2, 2013
For all those wondering, this particular film is the GOOD one out of the two. That other one, ugh, it hurts that they marred this standalone project with a fatter, less unique, less involved sequal.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
fijiboyApr 25, 2014
this movie has a lot of problems, but there not significant in the sense that they will only upset the pickiest watchers. a movie of this style is able to get away with the many mistakes it had and at the moments it was good, it was awesome.this movie has a lot of problems, but there not significant in the sense that they will only upset the pickiest watchers. a movie of this style is able to get away with the many mistakes it had and at the moments it was good, it was awesome. the two brothers gave a great performance, but the best would go the Wilhem dahoe for his character, one of my favorite characters ever was his in this movie. its exacting its got a very interesting and always relevant plot that was executed in a very original way, both in the way it was filmed and scripted. this is an awesome movie, but I can see how some would not like it so much if you are very critical of movies. otherwise this is a great cult classic that I love dearly Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Jonboy44May 24, 2014
Great Movie anybody who gave it a negative review go review the notebook that sounds more like ur kind of movie the boondock saints is one of the top 5 movies of the 90's
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BurnsWEMNov 10, 2014
My favorite movie of all time. Very well done and great performance by Willem Dafoe. I thought it was a nice mix of comedy and action. This is a must see for action movie fans.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews