Indican Pictures | Release Date: January 21, 2000
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 349 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
279
Mixed:
15
Negative:
55
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JoeG.Apr 10, 2006
One of the best movies i have seen. It has a hidden message that i found to be great. Good codes of behavior to follow.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KyleF.Jan 10, 2007
This movie was very good in the action parts. It kept my attention throughout the movie.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
BrockM.Nov 20, 2008
Best movie ever made!!!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChaseCJul 29, 2009
One of the greatest movies I have ever seen. Please watch this movie, I beg you, its such a great movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ZackDec 1, 2006
This movie is one of the greatest movies I've ever seen. It's the only serious movie that's been able to make me laugh nearly as much as the Scary movies series (before it started to suck). Anyone who gives this fantastic This movie is one of the greatest movies I've ever seen. It's the only serious movie that's been able to make me laugh nearly as much as the Scary movies series (before it started to suck). Anyone who gives this fantastic movie a score of 6 or below just doesn't like violence and language, or they're just way too religous. Possibly all three. If you are one of those people, then please, don't watch this movie, you probably wouldn't like it. If you're one of the vast majority that aren't these people (aka Pulp Fiction and Reservoir Dogs fans), then please watch this movie. It'll most likely instantly rise into your top 10 favorite movies of all time. Watch it, you won't regret it. "In Nomeni Patri Et Fili Spiritus Sancti." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KrisA.Jun 16, 2006
Best shoot-em-up I've ever seen, unfortunately there isn't a sequal. I would liked to have seen more from Troy Duffy but this is his only movie. All gun movies should be based on this. It has a great plot and some very cool scenes in it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnF.Jul 3, 2006
Very cool movie. The brothers are electric and the gun fights were poetic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnRoseOct 11, 2006
Absolutely awesome movie. It was exciting and it kept you in the story the whole time. Amazing fight scenes. I can not wait for the sequel to come out. (Boondock Saints 2 : All Saints Day)!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MurphyM.Dec 7, 2006
The greatest movie of all times!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JdawggJan 8, 2006
Fantastic Acting, fantastic fight scenes, and a mystifying ploit all tie together. I don't know what everyone is complaining about, this movie is awesome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KerelW.Oct 8, 2006
I think the fact that I have seen this movie at least a dozen times warrants it a ten. It is definitely a cult classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Apr 30, 2006
This is the best movie ever made!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NikkiCarlsonOct 5, 2007
By far the coolest movie and this is coming from a girl. Despite some of the negative reviews the film has had to bear, it's amazing! I'm even using the film for a communcations project!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ErickRJan 16, 2008
44?!?! THAT'S AN OUTRAGE!! Boondock Saints is one the best movies I have ever seen! The plot and the action was superb, as was the acting: every actor suited their role very well. Absolutely recommended for someone who's looking 44?!?! THAT'S AN OUTRAGE!! Boondock Saints is one the best movies I have ever seen! The plot and the action was superb, as was the acting: every actor suited their role very well. Absolutely recommended for someone who's looking for a great action movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaredT.Dec 30, 2008
Pure Classic.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JohnMOct 26, 2009
One of the best movies I have ever seen for sheer enjoyment factor and if you've ever been pissed off seeing or hearing a serial rapist or murderer get off scott free or sent to a "comfortable" corrections facility. The philosophy of One of the best movies I have ever seen for sheer enjoyment factor and if you've ever been pissed off seeing or hearing a serial rapist or murderer get off scott free or sent to a "comfortable" corrections facility. The philosophy of the movie being "an eye for an eye" will no doubt be uncomfortable viewing for some, however, the movie has heart and personality and an amazing ensemble cast. I personally don't take much stock in "reviewer's" opinions, as the great George Carlin once said, "think of how stupid the average person is and realise that half of them are more stupid than that", I'm merely posting on here for people to go watch the movie for themselves! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RebeccaH.May 14, 2009
"Boondock Saints" is pure genius. The only movie that will top this movie is it's sequel. But the sequel can only hope to be better than the original if most of the good guys from the first movie are in the second movie. This has been a "Boondock Saints" is pure genius. The only movie that will top this movie is it's sequel. But the sequel can only hope to be better than the original if most of the good guys from the first movie are in the second movie. This has been a long anticipated movie. I'm so happy it's finally happening. It's about time. Nine years is a long time to wait for a sequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GregB.Jan 23, 2006
I love the way this movie was shot. I loved seeing the aftermath of the hits, followed by how it happened as described by Mr. Defoe who played his role excellently. The action/gore was great, and although many don't recognize it, I I love the way this movie was shot. I loved seeing the aftermath of the hits, followed by how it happened as described by Mr. Defoe who played his role excellently. The action/gore was great, and although many don't recognize it, I loved the music that went along with it. A must see movie, classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LivS.Sep 26, 2006
Such a good movie. I can't understand how people don't like it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SKDec 13, 2008
Loved every second of it. If you enjoy super hero movies, this one is better than most of them plus it has humor, blood, language, and great acting(mostly from Willem).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaredNDec 3, 2008
just to explain the iron scene to the people above who criticize it and dot "understand" it. The iron is intended to cotorize the wound or burning the capiliaries shut to stop bleeding and prevent infection. Don't criticize the movie just to explain the iron scene to the people above who criticize it and dot "understand" it. The iron is intended to cotorize the wound or burning the capiliaries shut to stop bleeding and prevent infection. Don't criticize the movie because you don't understand it. It is a movie which builds a conflict between good vs evil and doing what is necessary to save lives even though the method cannt be condoned by the justice system. It is common knowledge that the justice system is flawed and many of guilty are not punished. The "Saints" take judgement into their own hands because of this. This movie is simply a movie about moral, relgious, cultural, and essentially a political conflict. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StevnB.Oct 31, 2008
One of the best movies I have seen. I cannot believe the critics rated this movie so horribly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ClaudiaPDec 9, 2009
Just as funny, sweet and engaging as the first film starring the big galoot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BuckmanB.Mar 27, 2009
This movie gets better every time I watch it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TripleBDec 31, 2007
Memorized the prayer, bought the peacoat, and no I won't be ridding the world of evil men. But I could watch this movie a million times.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GLaDOSJan 29, 2011
Overall this was one of the best movies I've seen to date. Mixing some of the brotherly antics with the family ties and the drama and love between the three characters makes some of these scenes unforgettable. The characters are almostOverall this was one of the best movies I've seen to date. Mixing some of the brotherly antics with the family ties and the drama and love between the three characters makes some of these scenes unforgettable. The characters are almost needlessly in depth going so far as to delve into their personal sex lives. Looking into the characters' motives and reasons for killing reminds me of what comes out of the Middle East extremist groups, yet in a much more calm and controlled sense, if you can even say that about killing in the name of an omnipresent leader. If you've seen it and all you want to do is sit there and say it's a ripoff of all these other films then fine, but if you haven't seen this movie I encourage you to rent it or Netflix it or do whatever you have to do, as this is a film that many can enjoy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
chillinhillsApr 18, 2011
First of all, I don't appreciate the implication that all people who give this movie a 10 rating are just overexcited kids. I am a 36 year old Marine Corps veteran who's life has been personally touched by crime, both violent and non-violent,First of all, I don't appreciate the implication that all people who give this movie a 10 rating are just overexcited kids. I am a 36 year old Marine Corps veteran who's life has been personally touched by crime, both violent and non-violent, and I can tell you many times, I have wanted nothing more than to do the kinds of things depicted in this movie. I don't because I still hope that some day the law may actually stand behind people's rights rather than standing behind the people who have the money. I loved this movie and think that it at minimum shows the moral standard that people SHOULD live by. Is violence wrong? Yes it is. Is violence sometimes necessary? I don't know, ask any police officer who has ever had to fire their weapon in the line of duty. Ask any soldier who has ever been to war. For those that can't see the plot behind this movie, I feel very sorry for you, and those around you, because my guess would be, you're moral compass probably doesn't point to the good side. Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
10
JaySupertrampFeb 6, 2012
By far one of the best movies ever. Doing the right and wrong thing at the same time gives the viewer a bad choice. The credits are showing this phenomenon too. To make the decision where to draw the line makes this movie so brilliant. AndBy far one of the best movies ever. Doing the right and wrong thing at the same time gives the viewer a bad choice. The credits are showing this phenomenon too. To make the decision where to draw the line makes this movie so brilliant. And the music and style in the way the movie is made is genious! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
UncleEarlDec 2, 2013
For all those wondering, this particular film is the GOOD one out of the two. That other one, ugh, it hurts that they marred this standalone project with a fatter, less unique, less involved sequal.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Jonboy44May 24, 2014
Great Movie anybody who gave it a negative review go review the notebook that sounds more like ur kind of movie the boondock saints is one of the top 5 movies of the 90's
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CorrectreviewsFeb 5, 2015
Coming from someone who has grown up around irish bostonians I could understand this movie to a point that all questions critics are saying can be answered. This films use of violence is not unnecessary and is not just used to look cool. TheComing from someone who has grown up around irish bostonians I could understand this movie to a point that all questions critics are saying can be answered. This films use of violence is not unnecessary and is not just used to look cool. The director films the movie in such away so we do not just see them running in and wasting every body in a room. Almost every killing seen is told by the eyes of the law. this movie showcases the battle between holy law and federal law. And is a unique spin on vigilantly justice and its stress on everyone effected by it. This film did an excellent job of showing the questioning of ones morales when faced with "an eye for an eye a tooth for a tooth". The Boondocks saints Made the audience think of the difference between true Justice and Federal law. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
WayneP.Apr 20, 2007
Great movie and for the people who had made comments before let me explain. Didn't make sense? Wow, if this movie didn't make sense to you...Then please go back to your snowman puzzle and try and figure that out. Waste of Great movie and for the people who had made comments before let me explain. Didn't make sense? Wow, if this movie didn't make sense to you...Then please go back to your snowman puzzle and try and figure that out. Waste of production? THIS is a waste of production?... Okay, how about the millions of dollars WASTED on making unnecessary movies about 9/11... That were solely made to make money? THAT seems like a waste to me. Oh and this movie does have a great meaning, and can cnojure some great conversations. But I forgot what century we live in... The sit down, have everything "explained" to you by the screen, and smile...Or frown depending on what the screen says. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MelvinM.Oct 24, 2005
It is absurd that a film of this magnitiude and stature is given a mere 44 as an average critics rating. Not only does this movie blur the conventional ethics on vigilante violence, it also redefines the manner in which films are directed. It is absurd that a film of this magnitiude and stature is given a mere 44 as an average critics rating. Not only does this movie blur the conventional ethics on vigilante violence, it also redefines the manner in which films are directed. The beauty in the direction gun-fight scenes are of no equal to this very day. I scorn the critics and their wordy renunciations of films purely based on directoral history and commonplace ethical judgements, for once I would like a film to be reviewed on merit; a merit in the Boondock Saints that can be considered nothing but purely Revolutionay. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MustisTheCatAug 22, 2011
I`m a little two-row about this one. For starters, the story is a bit shallow. Yes it has a twist, but it doesn`t stop being a pretext for some killing or funny killing. What totally saves it is the acting. All of them : W. Dafoe, S.Flanery,I`m a little two-row about this one. For starters, the story is a bit shallow. Yes it has a twist, but it doesn`t stop being a pretext for some killing or funny killing. What totally saves it is the acting. All of them : W. Dafoe, S.Flanery, N. Reedus and even D. Rocco took their job seriously and executed wonderfully. All of them enrich the story ten fold. Especially W. Dafoe`s performance. This movie never gets boring, this movie surprises the viewer every minute. The characters get well established, are easy to know, like and relate to. When watchng "The Boondock Saints" I felt as I was killin the baddies myself. Few scenes made me laugh a lot, as the Saints are quite the company of very different people on multiple levels. All of this acompanied by a detective who is starting to have doubts about his job. To be honest I took this film more as comedy than drama or anything serious. It gets brutal at times, but the funny stuff enters it the same moments. Light, funny, especially worth seeing for the characters development part. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TTW107Feb 14, 2012
So a 44 as the critic average huh? I think if critics reviewed this now it would be higher, this movie has garnered respect over the years. How can you not like a badass flick about two irishmen kicking ass and taking names? But seriouslySo a 44 as the critic average huh? I think if critics reviewed this now it would be higher, this movie has garnered respect over the years. How can you not like a badass flick about two irishmen kicking ass and taking names? But seriously Willem Dafoe's performance is so brilliantly creepy and I really like how you see the crime scene first and then you see the crime, very creative. Anyway one of the most badass movies I've ever seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
fijiboyApr 25, 2014
this movie has a lot of problems, but there not significant in the sense that they will only upset the pickiest watchers. a movie of this style is able to get away with the many mistakes it had and at the moments it was good, it was awesome.this movie has a lot of problems, but there not significant in the sense that they will only upset the pickiest watchers. a movie of this style is able to get away with the many mistakes it had and at the moments it was good, it was awesome. the two brothers gave a great performance, but the best would go the Wilhem dahoe for his character, one of my favorite characters ever was his in this movie. its exacting its got a very interesting and always relevant plot that was executed in a very original way, both in the way it was filmed and scripted. this is an awesome movie, but I can see how some would not like it so much if you are very critical of movies. otherwise this is a great cult classic that I love dearly Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BurnsWEMNov 10, 2014
My favorite movie of all time. Very well done and great performance by Willem Dafoe. I thought it was a nice mix of comedy and action. This is a must see for action movie fans.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
FalloutManJul 30, 2006
It's a shame that on this site the only reviews are from either over-excited kids who give this film 10/10 because it has guns in it, and people who can't appreciate it at all. Yes, it rips off both Pulp Fiction and Leon in places It's a shame that on this site the only reviews are from either over-excited kids who give this film 10/10 because it has guns in it, and people who can't appreciate it at all. Yes, it rips off both Pulp Fiction and Leon in places (I cringed at the 'No women, no children' philosophy of Billy C's character), but, in my humble opinion, this film beats Pulp Fiction. It's funnier, but in a way that seems coincidental rather than deliberate (the scene where the brothers play a trick on Rocco is superb), and the toilet- dropping scene near the beggining is breathtaking. Overall, those who give this film a 0/10 mark are pretentious fools who cannot enjoy this film for what it is- a fun little action film with a tremendous story. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
KentE.Dec 1, 2007
Solid movie with some real moral dilemmas. It does this in a fictional way with killings that most people would be punished for in everyday life. But that doesn't mean it still cant bring up a discussion. Is it really a crime to kill Solid movie with some real moral dilemmas. It does this in a fictional way with killings that most people would be punished for in everyday life. But that doesn't mean it still cant bring up a discussion. Is it really a crime to kill people like Mafia syndicates who are probably just going to kill each other off anyway, plus many innocent causalities in the process. I say no, but that doesn't mean the film should be condemned by me because I disagree. That along with a good story pretty solid acting (especially from Dafoe, who makes this a good movie) and also some humor added in and also a sense of mystery make it a good movie. There are some flaws: I don't understand the gunshot wounds treated by a clothes iron,pretty stupid and doesn't make any sense, the plot gets a little bit confusing in the beginning and jumps around a lot, and sometimes is just real boring and weird but not in a good weird way, in a what the heck is the director smoking weird way. But altogether a pretty solid film, but nothing special, I wont ever buy this movie, but worth a check if you like something out of the ordinary with violence and a little humor mixed in. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DrewKNov 5, 2009
People need to learn to take this movie as what it is meant to be: a flashy violent action film. If you enjoyed fight club, this movie is for you. If you like intellectual movies that appeal to your emotions, you should probably watch this People need to learn to take this movie as what it is meant to be: a flashy violent action film. If you enjoyed fight club, this movie is for you. If you like intellectual movies that appeal to your emotions, you should probably watch this movie anyway since you're such a wuss and could use some extra testosterone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PhillipPhanOct 27, 2007
Wow!!! are u guys kidding me? this is one of the best movies I've ever seen. Very good comedy and action scenes coupled with a small dab of thinking. Overall i don't know why everyone is hating this movie? Everyone who has given Wow!!! are u guys kidding me? this is one of the best movies I've ever seen. Very good comedy and action scenes coupled with a small dab of thinking. Overall i don't know why everyone is hating this movie? Everyone who has given this movie a 0 sounds like a wannabe intellectual. You have no sense of humor. :D Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DoyleMar 17, 2008
For those of you that haven't noticed this movie has either great reviews or bad ones. The bad ones come from people expecting an Oscar film. The good ones come from those that know what a cult film is. This film is a cult film. It is a For those of you that haven't noticed this movie has either great reviews or bad ones. The bad ones come from people expecting an Oscar film. The good ones come from those that know what a cult film is. This film is a cult film. It is a good film. Watch this film to be entertained. Don't take it serious, and you will love it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
KurtisH.Nov 8, 2009
If you take this movie seriously, then you probably aren't going to like it. And if you think that the director failed at being "deep" by using "religious undertones" and so forth, then you should probably get a CT scan. This movie is If you take this movie seriously, then you probably aren't going to like it. And if you think that the director failed at being "deep" by using "religious undertones" and so forth, then you should probably get a CT scan. This movie is an action/comedy. It doesn't try to take itself serious or be deep. It is what it is. On a seperate note, those who say that it is riping off other great films should take another look. There is no such thing as an original idea anymore. It's all been done, and if you take the time to pick up a few books at your local library, you'll learn that these other films that you rave about aren't original either. All in all, the movie is worth watching. However, if you happen to be a self proclaimed intellectual, a snob, or a prude, you will probably rate this movie poorly because you won't be able to see passed the cover and into the brilliance that this movie contains within its humorous plot and wonderfully stylized action scenes. Long live the Boondock Saints! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnBDec 5, 2009
Obviously this movie is not to be watched for its impressive morality. It's more likely that the story came from a "wouldn't it be cool if..." moment, but never the less it is entertaining and has a story line that keeps you Obviously this movie is not to be watched for its impressive morality. It's more likely that the story came from a "wouldn't it be cool if..." moment, but never the less it is entertaining and has a story line that keeps you interested. Sure, it doesn't involve any deep philosophical thinking, but actual religious teachings aren't any better. Sorry to all who were looking for a life-changing experience from this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RalfbergsJun 24, 2015
You will either really like this movie or dislike it. It has quite a cult status nowadays and many people count it as one of their favorite movies. Of course, it is filmed in 90s, so has many cheesy things in it and the plot is a bit sillyYou will either really like this movie or dislike it. It has quite a cult status nowadays and many people count it as one of their favorite movies. Of course, it is filmed in 90s, so has many cheesy things in it and the plot is a bit silly too and you could count it as a kind of a comedy actually. One minus in my opinion is that the plot doesn't really have a real ending, but still, it was an entertaining watch and not your usual action movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
johnslegersJan 3, 2016
"The Boondock Saints" seems to be one of those films you either hate or love. I'm most definitely among the lovers out there and the reason for this is simple : out of all action films I've ever seen, "The Boondock Saints" seemed the most"The Boondock Saints" seems to be one of those films you either hate or love. I'm most definitely among the lovers out there and the reason for this is simple : out of all action films I've ever seen, "The Boondock Saints" seemed the most entertaining, the most visually appealing, the most original and the funniest to me.

Sure, "The Boondock Saints" is no "Citizen Kane", but that's something I never expected in the first place. There are some major plot holes, most characters are caricatures and the acting isn't the best around, but if you manage to ignore this there is a lot to like about this film.

Being raised in a Flemish labor class family, my cultural background is very much like that of the two main characters. As such, I found the motivations, the philosophy, the personalities and humor of the main characters very recognizable and very appealing. I suspect this may also be a major reason why there are so many haters. If you do not have any affinity with Irish labor class culture or mentality, then you may just not "get it". I'm not saying you must be a factory worker to like this film, though. My own job is programming web applications.

Then there's the visuals. Duffy opted for a non-linear way of telling his story that with a unique combination of fast-paced action, some experimental editing and a matching music score. While "Pulp Fiction" undoubtedly inspired Duffy's style, it's still far too different from Tarantino's typical style or anything else I've ever seen to be considered a rip-off. Tarantino based his own style on the dozens of films from the '70s he saw as a teenager, but does that make "Reservoir Dogs" and "Pulp Fiction" any less original or unique?

Most of all, though, "The Boondock Saints" is just fun. Invite some of your friends over, grab a few beers and just enjoy the fact-paced action, the sometimes very foul-mouthed or very dark humor and debate with your friends whether you'd think it would be a blessing or a curse if "The Boondock Saints" were actually real and not just a story made up by Duffy. For me, that's the perfect setting for a film like this.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BillB.Mar 12, 2007
It's a solid movie with a divergent sense of style and narrative but it has its share of flaws.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DavidM.Jan 22, 2006
While this movie lacks much in the acting and originality department, a few spots of each shine through. I personally enjoyed this movie very much but I have seen much better attempts at this style movie, specifically by Tarantino. It seems While this movie lacks much in the acting and originality department, a few spots of each shine through. I personally enjoyed this movie very much but I have seen much better attempts at this style movie, specifically by Tarantino. It seems to me that Duffy idolizes Tarantino and at times Duffy succeeds in bringing that sick and surreal wit to the screen, however most of the time he fails. You may enjoy this movie if you love gangster movies and their kin or simply love violence. If you absolutely abhor movies that lack any real insight or explorations of the issues raised and leave all analysis to the viewer, then you are a mindless automaton and will definitely hate this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KatieSDec 23, 2008
I saw this movie with no background or context, and I liked it, but I think I took it in a different spirit than a lot of people did. I interpreted it as one big jokey comic, no serious attempt to make a movie about vigilantism or revenge, I saw this movie with no background or context, and I liked it, but I think I took it in a different spirit than a lot of people did. I interpreted it as one big jokey comic, no serious attempt to make a movie about vigilantism or revenge, and taken in that spirit I found it entertainingly told, edited, and acted. But, yeah, if you try to take it as an effort at anything other than a puffed up comic book, it will seem unutterably stupid. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JacobMar 13, 2014
The Boondock Saints is one of those movies that the more I think about it the more I realize it was a pretty good movie. The film had an interesting and well written story with some good morals and ethics. The characters were interesting andThe Boondock Saints is one of those movies that the more I think about it the more I realize it was a pretty good movie. The film had an interesting and well written story with some good morals and ethics. The characters were interesting and well acted. To top off the presentation was good. While I enjoyed this on my first viewing I feel like this is one of those movies I’d appreciate more with repeated viewings. This is definitely a film to check out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
KyleT.Feb 13, 2007
Simplistic and shallow, but entertaining for it's engaging execution scenes and occasional banter. A true popcorn movie, but don't expect any deep or meaningful experiences!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
ryancarroll88Aug 27, 2010
Part-80s cop drama, part-Reservoir Dogs wannabe, part-stoner comedy, this movie definitely knows its audience (why else is it inexplicably rated NC-17?) The most surprising thing about it is that it works, even if the movie is meant to bePart-80s cop drama, part-Reservoir Dogs wannabe, part-stoner comedy, this movie definitely knows its audience (why else is it inexplicably rated NC-17?) The most surprising thing about it is that it works, even if the movie is meant to be outgrown. They just needed to find some leads who can actually act.... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Mfarrrr1234Apr 10, 2014
I won't attempt to be articulate. I enjoyed the movie- brotherhood, trust, loyalty among the brothers, dark, but enjoyable. Wicked fight scenes! What murdered this movie is the detective being so gay in life and acting like he isn't a ****I won't attempt to be articulate. I enjoyed the movie- brotherhood, trust, loyalty among the brothers, dark, but enjoyable. Wicked fight scenes! What murdered this movie is the detective being so gay in life and acting like he isn't a **** in bed with that dude, and acted like a ferry throughout the movie. Where was the correlation? Why did he have to be gay? Him acting so queer through me off. Confusing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
JonathanS.Oct 30, 2009
Well, I liked this movie a lot freshman year of high school, at an all-male catholic preparatory--but trust me, at this stage in my life the movie is pretty terrible. I boosted the score 1 point because of nostalgic value, but this really is Well, I liked this movie a lot freshman year of high school, at an all-male catholic preparatory--but trust me, at this stage in my life the movie is pretty terrible. I boosted the score 1 point because of nostalgic value, but this really is a bad movie, and hopefully people will outgrow it within a year or two of seeing it. Sure, my tastes are what a lot of people might consider pretentious, but I still appreciate having fun watching stylized films that don't require having to think, like with films such as Wanted or Kill Bill. But unless you're 14 like I was the first time I saw the film, almost everything in this film reeks of ineptitude. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
4
BlakeJ.Mar 11, 2007
An action movie that attempts to be a message piece. The only message I got from it was, "dont ever watch me again". It was just plain hard to watch....Everyone should stop trying to imitate Scorsese, I mean come on, he is the only one who An action movie that attempts to be a message piece. The only message I got from it was, "dont ever watch me again". It was just plain hard to watch....Everyone should stop trying to imitate Scorsese, I mean come on, he is the only one who can make a movie with guns be about something more than guns...Sorry Mr. Duffy. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
matta.Sep 26, 2005
Pretty weak and uninteresting. The directors are clearly just ripping off their favorite mafia/action movies. The leads are okay, but the go in and out of using the irish accent throughout the film, which was annoying. Also, the screenplay Pretty weak and uninteresting. The directors are clearly just ripping off their favorite mafia/action movies. The leads are okay, but the go in and out of using the irish accent throughout the film, which was annoying. Also, the screenplay sucked ass. Could have added alot to the film and saved it somewhat if their was some crisp dialogue. Altogether, a little below average. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
JonMSep 4, 2009
The fact that this movie is considered a cult-classic is not indicative of quality, but indicative of how easily impressed people are. The violence doesn't bother me nearly as much as the quasi-spiritual leanings of the protagonists, The fact that this movie is considered a cult-classic is not indicative of quality, but indicative of how easily impressed people are. The violence doesn't bother me nearly as much as the quasi-spiritual leanings of the protagonists, which are completely laughable. "God has told me to kill you" may sound cool to a 12 year old, but anyone above that age should know better. Avoid this P.O.S. at all costs. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
BradyHSep 7, 2009
This movie entertained me the first time I watched it when I was young. It has failed to do so again.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
Nesbitt10Dec 6, 2012
To this very day, the quintessential exemplification of a cult classic. There is no in-between on this one, either you love it or hate it. Absolutely void of content and substance with style to spare. Side step this one unless you findTo this very day, the quintessential exemplification of a cult classic. There is no in-between on this one, either you love it or hate it. Absolutely void of content and substance with style to spare. Side step this one unless you find non-sensical violence, Ron Jeremy, and William Dafoe in drag captivating. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
DaniU.Jan 12, 2007
It was mildly entertaining but it didn't make any sense, and it seems that Duffy was torn between wanting to make a serious societal critique and an inane comedy / action movie parody, so he ended up doing neither very well. The two It was mildly entertaining but it didn't make any sense, and it seems that Duffy was torn between wanting to make a serious societal critique and an inane comedy / action movie parody, so he ended up doing neither very well. The two leads were quite charismatic, but they didn't have enough screen time, most of the movie having been taken over by stupid dialogue between Dafoe in his worst performance ever and the rest of the police department. Please, enough with the bagel jokes! They weren't funny the first time, let alone the tenth! Dafoe's character is just as waffling as the rest of the movie: the character alternates between being a genius if eccentric detective and a loser who is just as confused as the rest of his bumbling police force. The whole movie and almost all of the characters seem as if they were directed by two competing directors, each taking random sceens. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
2
KonradTJul 28, 2009
People who say this movie is better than a 5 don't know what a good movie is. DaFoe's over the top annoying attitude coupled with two Irish immigrant bums who think they hear a voice telling them to kill people is NOT a cult People who say this movie is better than a 5 don't know what a good movie is. DaFoe's over the top annoying attitude coupled with two Irish immigrant bums who think they hear a voice telling them to kill people is NOT a cult classic, NEVER will be, and most importantly.. is not a good movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
ChrisM.Feb 12, 2006
Most overrated picture ever made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
SamH.Jun 25, 2006
What I can't understand about this movie is the following people explain it to me as if Troy Duffy was making a film that was a large parody almost with very under the radar humor to more or less make fun of the action genre, but I dont What I can't understand about this movie is the following people explain it to me as if Troy Duffy was making a film that was a large parody almost with very under the radar humor to more or less make fun of the action genre, but I dont think this film is that smart - stylized violence can be very effective but only when it is paired with a good plot I did like the way they intercutted death scenes with police scenes - i did not like Willem Dafoe's performance it almost seemed like her was trying to go for a Scarface type persona but jsut looks ridiculous Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
GrothosFeb 2, 2011
The Boondock Saints received such a bad rating for 3 reasons.
-1 The Narrative Story-
Though this movie had plenty of interesting and fun action, the main story is an unoriginal knock off to say the least. 2 brothers fighting criminals in not
The Boondock Saints received such a bad rating for 3 reasons.
-1 The Narrative Story-
Though this movie had plenty of interesting and fun action, the main story is an unoriginal knock off to say the least. 2 brothers fighting criminals in not so legal ways is hardly original. But the saddest part was that lack of quality that went with it. I would find a more quality series of events in a Punisher comic book. -2 Lack of theme-
Though the statement they make makes you relate, it carries hardly any philosophical value. They could have easily surrounded the story with ideas on justice or some other often questioned value.
-3 The smut- The language is horrendous, and the jokes mostly were vary perverted. Though quite funny in an immature way, I personally would rather watch some quality jokes. Not Youtube. Overall this movie aint that bad if you dont care about story or theme, and like dirty humor, violence etc.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
2
priggisshOct 27, 2013
This film is garbage. The archetype of low brow bro culture, cherished by men (boys) with descriptive vocabularies limited to word like "sick" and "tight". Puerile at best, offensive at worst. Save yourself the time/exhaustion and look elsewhere.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
GeoffC.Jun 9, 2007
Horrible. One of the worst movies I've ever seen. A stinker all the way, and probably the most overrated "cult" film of all time. 110 minutes of my life stolen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JoshHAug 25, 2009
I give it a one star because it's actually helpful in telling whether or not the person you watch it with is a total film idiot or not. or just an idiot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ByronD.Dec 6, 2005
One of the most ridiculous storylines ever written. So predictable I joked about the ending, and was right! The characterizations are more like charicatures. The Cop is so horribly written I was offended. Also the main characters are One of the most ridiculous storylines ever written. So predictable I joked about the ending, and was right! The characterizations are more like charicatures. The Cop is so horribly written I was offended. Also the main characters are completely and utterly insane, murdering people completely outside of the law and with no basis for their "moral war" as they are as bad, if not worse than the people they are attacking. Also incredibly confusing given it's jump around editing. The fights are well choreographed but the Matrix had already taken the top prize only a year prior. I laugh at this movie any time it is on. Please. Someone burn all copies of this piece of trash. I'm glad Troy Duffy got reamed by the Weinsteins. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
PookYNov 16, 2007
I was originally planning on making the effort to write an inciteful review to explain exactly why I thought this movie sucked. But then, I realized that it sucked so bad that it simply was not worth the typing effort. I am going to leave it I was originally planning on making the effort to write an inciteful review to explain exactly why I thought this movie sucked. But then, I realized that it sucked so bad that it simply was not worth the typing effort. I am going to leave it at this really obvious statement; TROY DUFFY IS A COMPLETE AND TOTAL HACK OF A "DIRECTOR". Enuff said. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RaulSJun 20, 2007
Stupid. The movie is PULP FICTION, but without the irony. Nothing I love more than violence and making fun of the gays, but this movie was neither stylish nor funny. Speaking of gays, this movie is very gay, just like 300. The movie is Stupid. The movie is PULP FICTION, but without the irony. Nothing I love more than violence and making fun of the gays, but this movie was neither stylish nor funny. Speaking of gays, this movie is very gay, just like 300. The movie is packed full of slow motion shots of crosses, people getting shot, and two main characters being "bad ass"-- basically, its jack-off fodder for straight guys who still make BROKEBACK MOUNTAIN jokes, think Linkin Park is deep, and probably watch very violent pornography. If you think this movie is Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
SeamusS.Jan 23, 2006
An absoloutly terrible movie comming from a new generation of filmmakers influenced by Guy Ritchie and Quinten Terentino movies, out to make stylized action flicks with no soul (not to mention no redieming factors i cantspell). It's a An absoloutly terrible movie comming from a new generation of filmmakers influenced by Guy Ritchie and Quinten Terentino movies, out to make stylized action flicks with no soul (not to mention no redieming factors i cantspell). It's a messy flash of stylized "cool" action scenes slurred together with some forced "Hip" Dilolouge with FUCK thrown in alot, amounting to a terribly embaressing movie that makes me feel ashamed to be Irish. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SpikeN.Mar 14, 2007
Easily the stupidest movie I have ever seen. Among the laziest writing technique knows- the juxtaposition- finds newer, higher, stupider levels in this movie. There are religious self-styled assassains, the tough homosexual detective who Easily the stupidest movie I have ever seen. Among the laziest writing technique knows- the juxtaposition- finds newer, higher, stupider levels in this movie. There are religious self-styled assassains, the tough homosexual detective who berates his partner by calling him "faggot." Ugh, it gets worse: the would-be anti-heroes pray before killing. Cool! And even worse: gunshot wounds are treated with a clothes iron- apparently severe trauma can be fixed in the same manner as wrinkled khakis. Almost all the characters in this movie are "bad tv" stereotypes, and that's an insult to bad tv. The plot is laden with silly psudo-Freudian musings and about the shallowest philosophy you are bound to encounter this side of the Matrix. The fight scenes are garbage- slowmotion, undercranked predictable nonsense coreographed to a hot rock score. A trainwreck of a movie. I wish there were negative scores. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DougOSep 9, 2009
One of the worst movies I've ever seen. Style over substance is fine by me, I can enjoy stupid movies with good eye-candy (300, Sky Captain, Matrix sequels). But this movie doesn't even do the "style" right. Willem is oneo f the One of the worst movies I've ever seen. Style over substance is fine by me, I can enjoy stupid movies with good eye-candy (300, Sky Captain, Matrix sequels). But this movie doesn't even do the "style" right. Willem is oneo f the most annoying characters I've ever seen or heard. And what' up wit the old guy. Throughout the whole movie they hype him up to be a badass mofo, and when he finally gets out, he empties 6 pistols from across a 1 lane street and only manages to hit a guy's finger by accident. Terrible story, terrible action, and pseudo-religious jargon to make it sound "deep". The same people who like this movie are probably the same people who discuss the "philosophy" whether the Matrix and Digimon are real. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
mojosuaveOct 29, 2003
Seriously, someone even said that this was the best movie they have ever seen????? I?m sorry, but this movie is just plain stupid. The pseudo religious undercurrents are on par with those in Arnolds end of days if not worse...... just cus Seriously, someone even said that this was the best movie they have ever seen????? I?m sorry, but this movie is just plain stupid. The pseudo religious undercurrents are on par with those in Arnolds end of days if not worse...... just cus they pray after they kill in no way illustrates how these tards are supposed to be acting out of faith or how their faith justifies the killing. How is it that in this day and age people still sympathize with characters, and yes we ARE supposed to sympathize with this duo of beer guzzling Irish vigilantes, that take justice in their own hands in the name of religion, all the while suicide bombers kill for the exact same reason????? Maybe it's because the characters in the movies are killing in the name of the RIGHT god and not for a dangerous foreign one. The unforgivable stupidity of the movie aside; there is not an original idea in the direction and despite Defoes, admittedly funny, depiction of a gay bashing homosexual cop, the acting is just plain bad........ I'm sorry, but this is a horrendous movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
AntonioE.Sep 5, 2005
One of the worst movies I have ever had the displeasure of seeing.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
KidA.Jul 13, 2006
I hate this movie. I hate it so much. Damn Troy Duffy for making such a retarded catastrophe of a film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MikeG.Jan 28, 2007
An absolute waste-product of a movie. Vapid and extremely amateurish, there is not a positive word I can muster. When I look at the cult popularity of this film, all I can do to keep myself calm is take note of the fact that most of the An absolute waste-product of a movie. Vapid and extremely amateurish, there is not a positive word I can muster. When I look at the cult popularity of this film, all I can do to keep myself calm is take note of the fact that most of the people who enjoy it were born after 1987. Troy Duffy, the so-called director, is a ego-maniacal hack obsessed with violence while having absolutely nothing to say about it intellectually. And yes, I'm sorry but if you're going to make a film that explicitly deals with religion and violence - you had better bring a brain. Watch the maddening documentary "Overnight" for undeniable evidence of Duffy's bloated sense of self. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AndrewP.Dec 18, 2006
This movie has absolutely no plot, gigantic loopholes and terrible acting. The script seems as if it was writen by a high school student, then acted out word for word by novice actors looking for a shot at the big time. Willem Dafoe overacts This movie has absolutely no plot, gigantic loopholes and terrible acting. The script seems as if it was writen by a high school student, then acted out word for word by novice actors looking for a shot at the big time. Willem Dafoe overacts as usual, playing a gay detective that exemplifies the homosexual stereotype as a completely flaming man. He dances around while investigating crime seens in an almost unbearable seen while sweat drips down his head. Every background actor gives off an amature aura as if they were plucked from the street to play the roll. The only respectable acting jobs done are by the two brothers and Rocco. The movie makes use of ridiculous stunts that mimic James Bond movies (ie. jumping off a 5 story building) however this can be overlooked because it is a cheesy B movie. On the otherhand, scenes where the "best assasin in the world" stands 10 yards away from the 3 main characters, unloads six handguns worth of bullets and only hits one of their hands make you question, how retarded can this get before I turn it off? If the best assasin can't take out three schmucks, then I'm James Bond. The story evolves basically because the three brothers get into a bar fight, then realize they enjoy kicking ass. So they go kick some more ass, then some more, then some more. The humor isn't funny, the action is mediocre and the acting is amateur. This movie is a waste of money, and even if your offered the chance to see it for free, it's a waste of time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CharlestheSixthSep 1, 2011
What a bad movie. Mix in terrible dialogue, a silly plot, stupid stereotypes, and action sequences so hackneyed that they are almost satirical, and what you get is Boondock Saints. I am a bit mystified by the cult following of this film. IWhat a bad movie. Mix in terrible dialogue, a silly plot, stupid stereotypes, and action sequences so hackneyed that they are almost satirical, and what you get is Boondock Saints. I am a bit mystified by the cult following of this film. I guess it has to do with the fact that this movie is an adolescent fantasy piece with all the sophistication that an adolescent mind could probably give it, and that appeals to the young, the immature, and the stupid. For everyone else, this movie is probably best avoided. Spend your time watching something that actually has something going for it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
YoursTrulyNov 12, 2012
Insulting.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews