User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 314 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 54 out of 314
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ChrisD.
    Jan 22, 2004
    2
    Not impressed at all. Didn't care about the characters--didn't care about the bad guys didn't care didn't care didn't care. Other than Willem Dafoe, this movie was a hodgepodge of cliches (Tourette's, scenes in a confessional, mob guy turned good, "real" TV interviews at the end). Surprised that so many people loved it so much.
  2. BobB
    Apr 17, 2005
    3
    Although I enjoyed the idea of the story, I thought it could have been done much more effectively and with a much greater degree of thought. There were a couple of good scenes but the over use of the F word and the poor construction of dialogue combined to create a pretty disappointing show.
  3. mojosuave
    Oct 29, 2003
    0
    Seriously, someone even said that this was the best movie they have ever seen????? I?m sorry, but this movie is just plain stupid. The pseudo religious undercurrents are on par with those in Arnolds end of days if not worse...... just cus they pray after they kill in no way illustrates how these tards are supposed to be acting out of faith or how their faith justifies the killing. How is Seriously, someone even said that this was the best movie they have ever seen????? I?m sorry, but this movie is just plain stupid. The pseudo religious undercurrents are on par with those in Arnolds end of days if not worse...... just cus they pray after they kill in no way illustrates how these tards are supposed to be acting out of faith or how their faith justifies the killing. How is it that in this day and age people still sympathize with characters, and yes we ARE supposed to sympathize with this duo of beer guzzling Irish vigilantes, that take justice in their own hands in the name of religion, all the while suicide bombers kill for the exact same reason????? Maybe it's because the characters in the movies are killing in the name of the RIGHT god and not for a dangerous foreign one. The unforgivable stupidity of the movie aside; there is not an original idea in the direction and despite Defoes, admittedly funny, depiction of a gay bashing homosexual cop, the acting is just plain bad........ I'm sorry, but this is a horrendous movie. Expand
  4. KyleT.
    Feb 13, 2007
    6
    Simplistic and shallow, but entertaining for it's engaging execution scenes and occasional banter. A true popcorn movie, but don't expect any deep or meaningful experiences!
  5. JaredT.
    Dec 30, 2008
    10
    Pure Classic.
  6. Doyle
    Mar 17, 2008
    8
    For those of you that haven't noticed this movie has either great reviews or bad ones. The bad ones come from people expecting an Oscar film. The good ones come from those that know what a cult film is. This film is a cult film. It is a good film. Watch this film to be entertained. Don't take it serious, and you will love it.
  7. Apr 18, 2011
    10
    First of all, I don't appreciate the implication that all people who give this movie a 10 rating are just overexcited kids. I am a 36 year old Marine Corps veteran who's life has been personally touched by crime, both violent and non-violent, and I can tell you many times, I have wanted nothing more than to do the kinds of things depicted in this movie. I don't because I still hope thatFirst of all, I don't appreciate the implication that all people who give this movie a 10 rating are just overexcited kids. I am a 36 year old Marine Corps veteran who's life has been personally touched by crime, both violent and non-violent, and I can tell you many times, I have wanted nothing more than to do the kinds of things depicted in this movie. I don't because I still hope that some day the law may actually stand behind people's rights rather than standing behind the people who have the money. I loved this movie and think that it at minimum shows the moral standard that people SHOULD live by. Is violence wrong? Yes it is. Is violence sometimes necessary? I don't know, ask any police officer who has ever had to fire their weapon in the line of duty. Ask any soldier who has ever been to war. For those that can't see the plot behind this movie, I feel very sorry for you, and those around you, because my guess would be, you're moral compass probably doesn't point to the good side. Expand
  8. SethC.
    Jul 8, 2003
    0
    What an awful film. so overhyped. i love how people say it 'ranks up there' with the professional, reservoir dogs, etc, when it GRATUITOUSLY rips all those movies off without shame. i guess once people have a favorite movie, every other movie like it is also their favorite. sad.
  9. EmmettK.
    Jan 13, 2003
    2
    Troy Duffy's BOONDOCK SAINTS is nothing more than a complete and total rip off of more innovative, thought-provoking films such as RESERVOIR DOGS, PULP FICTION, THE PROFESSIONAL,STATE OF GRACE and even SILENCE OF THE LAMBS. Willem Defoe's character likes to listen to classical music while doing his detective work, meanwhile Gary Oldman's detective in THE PROFESSIONAL Troy Duffy's BOONDOCK SAINTS is nothing more than a complete and total rip off of more innovative, thought-provoking films such as RESERVOIR DOGS, PULP FICTION, THE PROFESSIONAL,STATE OF GRACE and even SILENCE OF THE LAMBS. Willem Defoe's character likes to listen to classical music while doing his detective work, meanwhile Gary Oldman's detective in THE PROFESSIONAL ('94) does the same exact thing. Quoting scripture and prayer before committing murder is also in a little known film called PULP FICTION. The film wants so badly to be trendy and new-wave and it certainly would be if it wasn't in fact 10 years too late. The look of the film is great but it doesn't go far enough. And comedian Billy Connelly as the unknown killer is laughable as well. It's kind of like casting Bill Cosby as Satan...it just doesn't work. There is no reason to care if these brother's grimm live or die and the movie's final scenes that play over the credits feels tacked on and pointless. Expand
  10. KyleF.
    Jan 10, 2007
    10
    This movie was very good in the action parts. It kept my attention throughout the movie.
  11. RaulS
    Jun 20, 2007
    0
    Stupid. The movie is PULP FICTION, but without the irony. Nothing I love more than violence and making fun of the gays, but this movie was neither stylish nor funny. Speaking of gays, this movie is very gay, just like 300. The movie is packed full of slow motion shots of crosses, people getting shot, and two main characters being "bad ass"-- basically, its jack-off fodder for straight Stupid. The movie is PULP FICTION, but without the irony. Nothing I love more than violence and making fun of the gays, but this movie was neither stylish nor funny. Speaking of gays, this movie is very gay, just like 300. The movie is packed full of slow motion shots of crosses, people getting shot, and two main characters being "bad ass"-- basically, its jack-off fodder for straight guys who still make BROKEBACK MOUNTAIN jokes, think Linkin Park is deep, and probably watch very violent pornography. If you think this movie is Expand
  12. JonM
    Sep 4, 2009
    3
    The fact that this movie is considered a cult-classic is not indicative of quality, but indicative of how easily impressed people are. The violence doesn't bother me nearly as much as the quasi-spiritual leanings of the protagonists, which are completely laughable. "God has told me to kill you" may sound cool to a 12 year old, but anyone above that age should know better. Avoid this The fact that this movie is considered a cult-classic is not indicative of quality, but indicative of how easily impressed people are. The violence doesn't bother me nearly as much as the quasi-spiritual leanings of the protagonists, which are completely laughable. "God has told me to kill you" may sound cool to a 12 year old, but anyone above that age should know better. Avoid this P.O.S. at all costs. Expand
  13. KonradT
    Jul 28, 2009
    2
    People who say this movie is better than a 5 don't know what a good movie is. DaFoe's over the top annoying attitude coupled with two Irish immigrant bums who think they hear a voice telling them to kill people is NOT a cult classic, NEVER will be, and most importantly.. is not a good movie.
  14. DaniU.
    Jan 12, 2007
    2
    It was mildly entertaining but it didn't make any sense, and it seems that Duffy was torn between wanting to make a serious societal critique and an inane comedy / action movie parody, so he ended up doing neither very well. The two leads were quite charismatic, but they didn't have enough screen time, most of the movie having been taken over by stupid dialogue between Dafoe in It was mildly entertaining but it didn't make any sense, and it seems that Duffy was torn between wanting to make a serious societal critique and an inane comedy / action movie parody, so he ended up doing neither very well. The two leads were quite charismatic, but they didn't have enough screen time, most of the movie having been taken over by stupid dialogue between Dafoe in his worst performance ever and the rest of the police department. Please, enough with the bagel jokes! They weren't funny the first time, let alone the tenth! Dafoe's character is just as waffling as the rest of the movie: the character alternates between being a genius if eccentric detective and a loser who is just as confused as the rest of his bumbling police force. The whole movie and almost all of the characters seem as if they were directed by two competing directors, each taking random sceens. Expand
  15. Feb 2, 2011
    2
    The Boondock Saints received such a bad rating for 3 reasons.
    -1 The Narrative Story-
    Though this movie had plenty of interesting and fun action, the main story is an unoriginal knock off to say the least. 2 brothers fighting criminals in not so legal ways is hardly original. But the saddest part was that lack of quality that went with it. I would find a more quality series of events in a
    The Boondock Saints received such a bad rating for 3 reasons.
    -1 The Narrative Story-
    Though this movie had plenty of interesting and fun action, the main story is an unoriginal knock off to say the least. 2 brothers fighting criminals in not so legal ways is hardly original. But the saddest part was that lack of quality that went with it. I would find a more quality series of events in a Punisher comic book. -2 Lack of theme-
    Though the statement they make makes you relate, it carries hardly any philosophical value. They could have easily surrounded the story with ideas on justice or some other often questioned value.
    -3 The smut- The language is horrendous, and the jokes mostly were vary perverted. Though quite funny in an immature way, I personally would rather watch some quality jokes. Not Youtube. Overall this movie aint that bad if you dont care about story or theme, and like dirty humor, violence etc.
    Expand
  16. Chris
    Aug 6, 2005
    0
    Vile, disgusting filth. Unfunny, uninteresting, and idiotic all at once. A poorly-written, poorly-staged, and poorly-acted plagiaristic attempt of 'Pulp Fiction', 'GoodFellas', 'Scarface', and probably every other well-known mob film of the past twenty years. I think it's safe to say if you find this "movie" entertaining, you may have a serious disorder.
  17. JonathanS.
    Oct 30, 2009
    4
    Well, I liked this movie a lot freshman year of high school, at an all-male catholic preparatory--but trust me, at this stage in my life the movie is pretty terrible. I boosted the score 1 point because of nostalgic value, but this really is a bad movie, and hopefully people will outgrow it within a year or two of seeing it. Sure, my tastes are what a lot of people might consider Well, I liked this movie a lot freshman year of high school, at an all-male catholic preparatory--but trust me, at this stage in my life the movie is pretty terrible. I boosted the score 1 point because of nostalgic value, but this really is a bad movie, and hopefully people will outgrow it within a year or two of seeing it. Sure, my tastes are what a lot of people might consider pretentious, but I still appreciate having fun watching stylized films that don't require having to think, like with films such as Wanted or Kill Bill. But unless you're 14 like I was the first time I saw the film, almost everything in this film reeks of ineptitude. Expand
  18. JodieC.
    Oct 4, 2002
    10
    Very kool.
  19. JoeG.
    Apr 10, 2006
    10
    One of the best movies i have seen. It has a hidden message that i found to be great. Good codes of behavior to follow.
  20. FalloutMan
    Jul 30, 2006
    8
    It's a shame that on this site the only reviews are from either over-excited kids who give this film 10/10 because it has guns in it, and people who can't appreciate it at all. Yes, it rips off both Pulp Fiction and Leon in places (I cringed at the 'No women, no children' philosophy of Billy C's character), but, in my humble opinion, this film beats Pulp Fiction. It's a shame that on this site the only reviews are from either over-excited kids who give this film 10/10 because it has guns in it, and people who can't appreciate it at all. Yes, it rips off both Pulp Fiction and Leon in places (I cringed at the 'No women, no children' philosophy of Billy C's character), but, in my humble opinion, this film beats Pulp Fiction. It's funnier, but in a way that seems coincidental rather than deliberate (the scene where the brothers play a trick on Rocco is superb), and the toilet- dropping scene near the beggining is breathtaking. Overall, those who give this film a 0/10 mark are pretentious fools who cannot enjoy this film for what it is- a fun little action film with a tremendous story. Expand
  21. BrockM.
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    Best movie ever made!!!!!
  22. ChaseC
    Jul 29, 2009
    10
    One of the greatest movies I have ever seen. Please watch this movie, I beg you, its such a great movie.
  23. BradyH
    Sep 7, 2009
    3
    This movie entertained me the first time I watched it when I was young. It has failed to do so again.
  24. AntonioE.
    Sep 5, 2005
    0
    One of the worst movies I have ever had the displeasure of seeing.
  25. BlakeJ.
    Mar 11, 2007
    4
    An action movie that attempts to be a message piece. The only message I got from it was, "dont ever watch me again". It was just plain hard to watch....Everyone should stop trying to imitate Scorsese, I mean come on, he is the only one who can make a movie with guns be about something more than guns...Sorry Mr. Duffy.
  26. matta.
    Sep 26, 2005
    4
    Pretty weak and uninteresting. The directors are clearly just ripping off their favorite mafia/action movies. The leads are okay, but the go in and out of using the irish accent throughout the film, which was annoying. Also, the screenplay sucked ass. Could have added alot to the film and saved it somewhat if their was some crisp dialogue. Altogether, a little below average.
  27. JoelE.
    Aug 24, 2002
    10
    This is one of the best movies that i have ever seen. i think that this movie has a great story and it is very entertaining.
  28. JoshH.
    Mar 15, 2004
    10
    Really good movie.
  29. KatiC.
    Jun 22, 2004
    10
    Best movie ever. Finally, a film with no forced love story, other than the brotherly love bt murph and conner, that presented thought provoking issues. plus it didnt hurt that sean and norman are about the two hottest men on earth;-)
  30. AndreaS.
    Jun 25, 2004
    10
    Classic.
  31. LaurensG.
    Sep 19, 2004
    10
    W0W!! This movie, respect.
  32. Jeff
    Apr 25, 2005
    6
    Nice but not THAT nice.
  33. JamesG.
    Apr 3, 2005
    10
    Best movie of the century.
  34. AlextheMan
    Jun 8, 2005
    10
    Wow this movie is ungodly, i wish every movie was made like this and all you critics who rated it low should be ashamed of yourelf.
  35. MikeZ
    Jun 9, 2005
    10
    This movie is amazing. It has elements of humor, intensity, and a real feel of Boston. Every time I watch it, I notice something new. Pay attention to all the small details in this movie because that is what makes it amazing.
  36. Zack
    Dec 1, 2006
    10
    This movie is one of the greatest movies I've ever seen. It's the only serious movie that's been able to make me laugh nearly as much as the Scary movies series (before it started to suck). Anyone who gives this fantastic movie a score of 6 or below just doesn't like violence and language, or they're just way too religous. Possibly all three. If you are one of This movie is one of the greatest movies I've ever seen. It's the only serious movie that's been able to make me laugh nearly as much as the Scary movies series (before it started to suck). Anyone who gives this fantastic movie a score of 6 or below just doesn't like violence and language, or they're just way too religous. Possibly all three. If you are one of those people, then please, don't watch this movie, you probably wouldn't like it. If you're one of the vast majority that aren't these people (aka Pulp Fiction and Reservoir Dogs fans), then please watch this movie. It'll most likely instantly rise into your top 10 favorite movies of all time. Watch it, you won't regret it. "In Nomeni Patri Et Fili Spiritus Sancti." Collapse
  37. SeamusS.
    Jan 23, 2006
    0
    An absoloutly terrible movie comming from a new generation of filmmakers influenced by Guy Ritchie and Quinten Terentino movies, out to make stylized action flicks with no soul (not to mention no redieming factors i cantspell). It's a messy flash of stylized "cool" action scenes slurred together with some forced "Hip" Dilolouge with FUCK thrown in alot, amounting to a terribly An absoloutly terrible movie comming from a new generation of filmmakers influenced by Guy Ritchie and Quinten Terentino movies, out to make stylized action flicks with no soul (not to mention no redieming factors i cantspell). It's a messy flash of stylized "cool" action scenes slurred together with some forced "Hip" Dilolouge with FUCK thrown in alot, amounting to a terribly embaressing movie that makes me feel ashamed to be Irish. Expand
  38. KrisA.
    Jun 16, 2006
    10
    Best shoot-em-up I've ever seen, unfortunately there isn't a sequal. I would liked to have seen more from Troy Duffy but this is his only movie. All gun movies should be based on this. It has a great plot and some very cool scenes in it.
  39. JohnF.
    Jul 3, 2006
    10
    Very cool movie. The brothers are electric and the gun fights were poetic.
  40. BillB.
    Mar 12, 2007
    7
    It's a solid movie with a divergent sense of style and narrative but it has its share of flaws.
  41. SpikeN.
    Mar 14, 2007
    0
    Easily the stupidest movie I have ever seen. Among the laziest writing technique knows- the juxtaposition- finds newer, higher, stupider levels in this movie. There are religious self-styled assassains, the tough homosexual detective who berates his partner by calling him "faggot." Ugh, it gets worse: the would-be anti-heroes pray before killing. Cool! And even worse: gunshot wounds are Easily the stupidest movie I have ever seen. Among the laziest writing technique knows- the juxtaposition- finds newer, higher, stupider levels in this movie. There are religious self-styled assassains, the tough homosexual detective who berates his partner by calling him "faggot." Ugh, it gets worse: the would-be anti-heroes pray before killing. Cool! And even worse: gunshot wounds are treated with a clothes iron- apparently severe trauma can be fixed in the same manner as wrinkled khakis. Almost all the characters in this movie are "bad tv" stereotypes, and that's an insult to bad tv. The plot is laden with silly psudo-Freudian musings and about the shallowest philosophy you are bound to encounter this side of the Matrix. The fight scenes are garbage- slowmotion, undercranked predictable nonsense coreographed to a hot rock score. A trainwreck of a movie. I wish there were negative scores. Expand
  42. WayneP.
    Apr 20, 2007
    9
    Great movie and for the people who had made comments before let me explain. Didn't make sense? Wow, if this movie didn't make sense to you...Then please go back to your snowman puzzle and try and figure that out. Waste of production? THIS is a waste of production?... Okay, how about the millions of dollars WASTED on making unnecessary movies about 9/11... That were solely made Great movie and for the people who had made comments before let me explain. Didn't make sense? Wow, if this movie didn't make sense to you...Then please go back to your snowman puzzle and try and figure that out. Waste of production? THIS is a waste of production?... Okay, how about the millions of dollars WASTED on making unnecessary movies about 9/11... That were solely made to make money? THAT seems like a waste to me. Oh and this movie does have a great meaning, and can cnojure some great conversations. But I forgot what century we live in... The sit down, have everything "explained" to you by the screen, and smile...Or frown depending on what the screen says. Expand
  43. DougO
    Sep 9, 2009
    0
    One of the worst movies I've ever seen. Style over substance is fine by me, I can enjoy stupid movies with good eye-candy (300, Sky Captain, Matrix sequels). But this movie doesn't even do the "style" right. Willem is oneo f the most annoying characters I've ever seen or heard. And what' up wit the old guy. Throughout the whole movie they hype him up to be a badass One of the worst movies I've ever seen. Style over substance is fine by me, I can enjoy stupid movies with good eye-candy (300, Sky Captain, Matrix sequels). But this movie doesn't even do the "style" right. Willem is oneo f the most annoying characters I've ever seen or heard. And what' up wit the old guy. Throughout the whole movie they hype him up to be a badass mofo, and when he finally gets out, he empties 6 pistols from across a 1 lane street and only manages to hit a guy's finger by accident. Terrible story, terrible action, and pseudo-religious jargon to make it sound "deep". The same people who like this movie are probably the same people who discuss the "philosophy" whether the Matrix and Digimon are real. Expand
  44. Joe
    Nov 1, 2001
    9
    One of the best action movie's done for little money and plus the acting was very well done for that sort of budget.
  45. JohnM.
    Jun 26, 2001
    10
    How this movie was not the biggest hit of the year I'll never know. Deep, but not annoyingly pretencious. Defoe? PERFECT! Robert Koehler is a moron. Duffy made a movie that's fun, and gives pause without going so far as to become, yet another, hollywood 'look to me for the answers' over dramatic piece of crap. This movie is perfect!
  46. DianaD.
    Sep 28, 2001
    10
    This movie is hilarious, super-cool and has two of the best-looking leads around. No, make that three - Dafoe is not half bad - and you'll find that you will not be able to take your eyes off them for one second. The fanaticism of 'the saints' is amusing and almost admirable. I wanted to go grab a gun and join them.
  47. JonS.
    Jan 14, 2002
    10
    It's funny how so many reviews have said the same thing, and i would echo these sentiments including the urge to watch the movie again and again as well as the brilliance of the acting. I heard about this movie by word of mouth as did many others and I have made it my duty to see to it that I tell as many others about it as possible.
  48. Caz
    Nov 4, 2003
    10
    This is in no way a horrendous movie, in fact its up there with the best! Duffy's not trying to make a statement about killing under the name of a god. He's trying to get the audience to question the idea of capital punishment, and the inadequacy of the current justice system to dealing with perverse and violent criminals. Yes i see the point about it being in the name of god This is in no way a horrendous movie, in fact its up there with the best! Duffy's not trying to make a statement about killing under the name of a god. He's trying to get the audience to question the idea of capital punishment, and the inadequacy of the current justice system to dealing with perverse and violent criminals. Yes i see the point about it being in the name of god and how this could perhaps make some people 'think' of suicide bombings, but its not even slightly related. Terroist attacks - vigilantism; not the same. The brothers don't kill or harm innocent people. Im not saying their approach is the kindest, but its the extreme of a situation of two people who act as judge and jury for what the state is obviously not accomplishing. The movie reaches out to people to ask them to question themselves and their own views on capital punioshment. The film is self reflective, with the characters rasing the questions the audience may ask. Duffy wants the audience to like the brothers and sympathise with them, but by showing the scene as a flashback with Dafoes explanation he is allowing the audience to judge the events objectivley, rather than as one of the brothers or Rocco. The films left with a certain amount of ambiguity, Dafoes character at the end doesn't sound certain he is doing the right thing and the preist in the church asks for forgiveness after swaying the FBI agents decision to help the lads. All the action sequences are played in slow motion, taking any fear out of it. Im a wimp when it comes to horror or heavy violence, but i could watch and analyse this film without flinching!Action, humor &a great director & cast make this movie worthy of a 10/10. Story, editing, cinematography are fantastic 10/10! Expand
  49. AleksanderB.
    Feb 25, 2003
    10
    Oh yeah. Great movie. Funny and well- written dialog. Great acting and directing too.
  50. NickJ.
    Feb 25, 2003
    10
    This movie was bomb, there should be people doing this in every city.
  51. PatD.
    Mar 20, 2003
    10
    The sh*t...........thats all you have to say.
  52. NickS.
    Apr 6, 2003
    10
    This movie has now moved to the top of my all-time favorite movies list.
  53. Namelessone
    Sep 14, 2003
    0
    Absolutely painful to watch. This film ranks down there with "Dude, Where's My Car" and "The Watcher" as my all-time most hated movies.
  54. Rico
    Sep 17, 2003
    10
    GOOD!
  55. ZanM.
    Dec 21, 2004
    10
    This movie was the best dircted movie i have ever saw. The director left you guessing at every end. This is one of my fav. movies and will always be...next you'll be seeing Boondocks the game, and I'll be right there waiting for it.
  56. MurphyM.
    Dec 22, 2004
    10
    The greatest movie of all times!
  57. DeanS.
    Dec 6, 2004
    10
    Awesome and hilarious all at the same time!
  58. JonR.
    Jan 28, 2004
    10
    Yeah, people who didn't like this movie, if not for soundtrack alone, basically have no working brain.
  59. GrahamM.
    Oct 5, 2004
    9
    This is an excellent film. Willem Dafoe steals the show.
  60. TravisG.
    May 2, 2004
    10
    I thought this was an excellent movie....definitely worth my time....love the quentin tarintino style of it.
  61. DavidB.
    May 4, 2004
    10
    This was a fantastic movie.
  62. MikeT.
    Jun 18, 2004
    10
    Tight movie, loved it! Great for any 17-50 year old guy who isnt a nerd or pussy.
  63. GaborA.
    Jun 6, 2004
    7
    Not high brow philosophy but your typical entertaining action movie with a fresh feel behind the camera work.
  64. DanielG.
    Sep 22, 2004
    7
    Flawed acting, and cinematographic hubris aside, this movie is worth watching. It incorporates a religious element in its quest to provoke thought about the true nature of justice and the extent to which the current legal is reflective of that justice. Moreover, as viewers, we are forced to examine how our own society distributes justice in the form of death, through such methods as Flawed acting, and cinematographic hubris aside, this movie is worth watching. It incorporates a religious element in its quest to provoke thought about the true nature of justice and the extent to which the current legal is reflective of that justice. Moreover, as viewers, we are forced to examine how our own society distributes justice in the form of death, through such methods as lethal injection and the chair. If Guilt is a fact, what makes us, as state, any more justified in performing execution than an individual? A truly Great movie could have been made on this subject. This movie is not it, but it is a worthy attempt and can also be enjoyed for the sake of sheer entertainment. Expand
  65. SolC
    Jan 30, 2005
    10
    Sick.
  66. da
    May 11, 2005
    10
    This movies is the best movies of all time.
  67. aadaam
    Aug 5, 2005
    9
    Damn good movie, all shuld see it :)
  68. JohnRose
    Oct 11, 2006
    10
    Absolutely awesome movie. It was exciting and it kept you in the story the whole time. Amazing fight scenes. I can not wait for the sequel to come out. (Boondock Saints 2 : All Saints Day)!
  69. DavidM.
    Jan 22, 2006
    7
    While this movie lacks much in the acting and originality department, a few spots of each shine through. I personally enjoyed this movie very much but I have seen much better attempts at this style movie, specifically by Tarantino. It seems to me that Duffy idolizes Tarantino and at times Duffy succeeds in bringing that sick and surreal wit to the screen, however most of the time he While this movie lacks much in the acting and originality department, a few spots of each shine through. I personally enjoyed this movie very much but I have seen much better attempts at this style movie, specifically by Tarantino. It seems to me that Duffy idolizes Tarantino and at times Duffy succeeds in bringing that sick and surreal wit to the screen, however most of the time he fails. You may enjoy this movie if you love gangster movies and their kin or simply love violence. If you absolutely abhor movies that lack any real insight or explorations of the issues raised and leave all analysis to the viewer, then you are a mindless automaton and will definitely hate this movie. Expand
  70. MurphyM.
    Dec 7, 2006
    10
    The greatest movie of all times!
  71. Jdawgg
    Jan 8, 2006
    10
    Fantastic Acting, fantastic fight scenes, and a mystifying ploit all tie together. I don't know what everyone is complaining about, this movie is awesome.
  72. KerelW.
    Oct 8, 2006
    10
    I think the fact that I have seen this movie at least a dozen times warrants it a ten. It is definitely a cult classic.
  73. [Anonymous]
    Apr 30, 2006
    10
    This is the best movie ever made!!!
  74. KidA.
    Jul 13, 2006
    0
    I hate this movie. I hate it so much. Damn Troy Duffy for making such a retarded catastrophe of a film.
  75. KentE.
    Dec 1, 2007
    8
    Solid movie with some real moral dilemmas. It does this in a fictional way with killings that most people would be punished for in everyday life. But that doesn't mean it still cant bring up a discussion. Is it really a crime to kill people like Mafia syndicates who are probably just going to kill each other off anyway, plus many innocent causalities in the process. I say no, but Solid movie with some real moral dilemmas. It does this in a fictional way with killings that most people would be punished for in everyday life. But that doesn't mean it still cant bring up a discussion. Is it really a crime to kill people like Mafia syndicates who are probably just going to kill each other off anyway, plus many innocent causalities in the process. I say no, but that doesn't mean the film should be condemned by me because I disagree. That along with a good story pretty solid acting (especially from Dafoe, who makes this a good movie) and also some humor added in and also a sense of mystery make it a good movie. There are some flaws: I don't understand the gunshot wounds treated by a clothes iron,pretty stupid and doesn't make any sense, the plot gets a little bit confusing in the beginning and jumps around a lot, and sometimes is just real boring and weird but not in a good weird way, in a what the heck is the director smoking weird way. But altogether a pretty solid film, but nothing special, I wont ever buy this movie, but worth a check if you like something out of the ordinary with violence and a little humor mixed in. Expand
  76. MikeG.
    Jan 28, 2007
    0
    An absolute waste-product of a movie. Vapid and extremely amateurish, there is not a positive word I can muster. When I look at the cult popularity of this film, all I can do to keep myself calm is take note of the fact that most of the people who enjoy it were born after 1987. Troy Duffy, the so-called director, is a ego-maniacal hack obsessed with violence while having absolutely An absolute waste-product of a movie. Vapid and extremely amateurish, there is not a positive word I can muster. When I look at the cult popularity of this film, all I can do to keep myself calm is take note of the fact that most of the people who enjoy it were born after 1987. Troy Duffy, the so-called director, is a ego-maniacal hack obsessed with violence while having absolutely nothing to say about it intellectually. And yes, I'm sorry but if you're going to make a film that explicitly deals with religion and violence - you had better bring a brain. Watch the maddening documentary "Overnight" for undeniable evidence of Duffy's bloated sense of self. Expand
  77. NikkiCarlson
    Oct 5, 2007
    10
    By far the coolest movie and this is coming from a girl. Despite some of the negative reviews the film has had to bear, it's amazing! I'm even using the film for a communcations project!
  78. GeoffC.
    Jun 9, 2007
    1
    Horrible. One of the worst movies I've ever seen. A stinker all the way, and probably the most overrated "cult" film of all time. 110 minutes of my life stolen.
  79. ErickR
    Jan 16, 2008
    10
    44?!?! THAT'S AN OUTRAGE!! Boondock Saints is one the best movies I have ever seen! The plot and the action was superb, as was the acting: every actor suited their role very well. Absolutely recommended for someone who's looking for a great action movie.
  80. DrewK
    Nov 5, 2009
    8
    People need to learn to take this movie as what it is meant to be: a flashy violent action film. If you enjoyed fight club, this movie is for you. If you like intellectual movies that appeal to your emotions, you should probably watch this movie anyway since you're such a wuss and could use some extra testosterone.
  81. JohnM
    Oct 26, 2009
    10
    One of the best movies I have ever seen for sheer enjoyment factor and if you've ever been pissed off seeing or hearing a serial rapist or murderer get off scott free or sent to a "comfortable" corrections facility. The philosophy of the movie being "an eye for an eye" will no doubt be uncomfortable viewing for some, however, the movie has heart and personality and an amazing One of the best movies I have ever seen for sheer enjoyment factor and if you've ever been pissed off seeing or hearing a serial rapist or murderer get off scott free or sent to a "comfortable" corrections facility. The philosophy of the movie being "an eye for an eye" will no doubt be uncomfortable viewing for some, however, the movie has heart and personality and an amazing ensemble cast. I personally don't take much stock in "reviewer's" opinions, as the great George Carlin once said, "think of how stupid the average person is and realise that half of them are more stupid than that", I'm merely posting on here for people to go watch the movie for themselves! Expand
  82. RebeccaH.
    May 14, 2009
    10
    "Boondock Saints" is pure genius. The only movie that will top this movie is it's sequel. But the sequel can only hope to be better than the original if most of the good guys from the first movie are in the second movie. This has been a long anticipated movie. I'm so happy it's finally happening. It's about time. Nine years is a long time to wait for a sequel.
  83. JoshH
    Aug 25, 2009
    1
    I give it a one star because it's actually helpful in telling whether or not the person you watch it with is a total film idiot or not. or just an idiot.
  84. DemetriaceL.
    Oct 28, 2001
    10
    One of the Greatest movies I've ever seen. I Dont know what Robert Koehler is blabbering about he must a prick.
  85. MariaW.
    Jul 13, 2001
    9
    This movie had it all....action, comedy, and violence all wrapped up into one!! This movie never had a boring moment and moved at a great pace. I could watch this movie over and over.
  86. TimS.
    Nov 19, 2002
    10
    Probably the best independent film that I have ever seen. Me and my friends have based our lives on the quote from the preist at the begining: "We must all fear evil men, but there is something that must be feared even more, and that is the INDIFFERENCE OF GOOD MEN." movies don't get much better that this, mainstream or otherwise!
  87. SeanO.
    Nov 6, 2002
    10
    Boondock Saints is the best movie ever. i almost base me life on it save the killing. i am, i am such a big fan i even bought a P coat for my brother Patrick and i. i rate an easy 10.
  88. CrystalJ.
    May 18, 2002
    10
    This is my all time favourite movie. It is a wonderfully made movie, from script, acting and directing, all the way down to editing and the soundtrack. A definate must see for anyone who claims to be a movie buff. This one definately slipped through Hollywood's radar, don't let it slip through yours!
  89. SeanL.
    Mar 17, 2003
    10
    This is right up my favorite movie, right beside slap-shot.
  90. GregM.
    Mar 25, 2003
    10
    GREAT STUFF - One of my favorites. It's right up there with "Reservoir Dogs", "Pulp Fiction" and "The Professional." I have turned a lot of friends "on" to this movie.......Bring on B.S. II!
  91. [Anonymous]
    Mar 31, 2003
    10
    This is the best movie ever made!!!
  92. Sammy
    Dec 25, 2004
    2
    This is without a doubt the most overated movie i have ever seen. The whole movie was so utterly stupid, including the predictible plot and one-dementional characters, that i want to assemble a trio of gunmen to murder everyone who likes this movie and who is over the age of 12. Anyone who tries to draw any philisophical meaning from this movie is wasting their time. it attempts to This is without a doubt the most overated movie i have ever seen. The whole movie was so utterly stupid, including the predictible plot and one-dementional characters, that i want to assemble a trio of gunmen to murder everyone who likes this movie and who is over the age of 12. Anyone who tries to draw any philisophical meaning from this movie is wasting their time. it attempts to justify taking the law into the hands of terrorist/vigilantes, which are the same thing. Expand
  93. Amanda
    Dec 9, 2004
    10
    This movie is one of the best I have ever seen. Sean Patrick, Norman, and Willem are amazing!!!!! I CANNOT wait til Boondock 2!!!
  94. JerryT.
    Mar 23, 2004
    10
    Compared to the big budget blockbusters we are force fed these days, this low- budget movie was far more entertaining to rent and buy than most others. It is no lord of the rings, but dollar for dollar,they made a unique cult film that will be talked about for years.
  95. ScottA.
    Mar 26, 2004
    10
    Best movie of all time... "WE COULD KILL EVERYONE!!!"
  96. MeredithS.
    May 23, 2004
    10
    I loved this movie.
  97. MarkA.
    Aug 19, 2004
    9
    Good movie. not really religious but it made me have some interest. overall pretty good.
  98. JH
    Jan 12, 2005
    10
    Great movie!! I hope the sequel actually gets made.
  99. MelvinM.
    Oct 24, 2005
    9
    It is absurd that a film of this magnitiude and stature is given a mere 44 as an average critics rating. Not only does this movie blur the conventional ethics on vigilante violence, it also redefines the manner in which films are directed. The beauty in the direction gun-fight scenes are of no equal to this very day. I scorn the critics and their wordy renunciations of films purely based It is absurd that a film of this magnitiude and stature is given a mere 44 as an average critics rating. Not only does this movie blur the conventional ethics on vigilante violence, it also redefines the manner in which films are directed. The beauty in the direction gun-fight scenes are of no equal to this very day. I scorn the critics and their wordy renunciations of films purely based on directoral history and commonplace ethical judgements, for once I would like a film to be reviewed on merit; a merit in the Boondock Saints that can be considered nothing but purely Revolutionay. Expand
Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 4 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 4
  2. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Reviewed by: Robert Koehler
    60
    More interested in finding fresh ways to stage execution scenes than in finding meaning behind the human urge for self-appointed righting of wrongs, (the film) is stuffed with effects that have no lasting impact.
  2. Reviewed by: Joan Anderman
    75
    (Duffy) navigates the twisted collision of religious faith and the thrill of the kill, altruism and brutality, with an ingenious mix of humor, horror, mysticism, and just plain hipness.
  3. 50
    (Duffy's) assembled a fine cast -- it's hard to take your eyes off the two young leads -- but he's given them little to do but squeeze triggers and mouth platitudes.