User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 253 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 54 out of 253

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 18, 2011
    10
    First of all, I don't appreciate the implication that all people who give this movie a 10 rating are just overexcited kids. I am a 36 year old Marine Corps veteran who's life has been personally touched by crime, both violent and non-violent, and I can tell you many times, I have wanted nothing more than to do the kinds of things depicted in this movie. I don't because I still hope that some day the law may actually stand behind people's rights rather than standing behind the people who have the money. I loved this movie and think that it at minimum shows the moral standard that people SHOULD live by. Is violence wrong? Yes it is. Is violence sometimes necessary? I don't know, ask any police officer who has ever had to fire their weapon in the line of duty. Ask any soldier who has ever been to war. For those that can't see the plot behind this movie, I feel very sorry for you, and those around you, because my guess would be, you're moral compass probably doesn't point to the good side. Expand
  2. Feb 2, 2011
    2
    The Boondock Saints received such a bad rating for 3 reasons.
    -1 The Narrative Story-
    Though this movie had plenty of interesting and fun action, the main story is an unoriginal knock off to say the least. 2 brothers fighting criminals in not so legal ways is hardly original. But the saddest part was that lack of quality that went with it. I would find a more quality series of events in a
    Punisher comic book. -2 Lack of theme-
    Though the statement they make makes you relate, it carries hardly any philosophical value. They could have easily surrounded the story with ideas on justice or some other often questioned value.
    -3 The smut- The language is horrendous, and the jokes mostly were vary perverted. Though quite funny in an immature way, I personally would rather watch some quality jokes. Not Youtube. Overall this movie aint that bad if you dont care about story or theme, and like dirty humor, violence etc.
    Expand
  3. Aug 27, 2010
    6
    Part-80s cop drama, part-Reservoir Dogs wannabe, part-stoner comedy, this movie definitely knows its audience (why else is it inexplicably rated NC-17?) The most surprising thing about it is that it works, even if the movie is meant to be outgrown. They just needed to find some leads who can actually act....
  4. Mar 13, 2014
    7
    The Boondock Saints is one of those movies that the more I think about it the more I realize it was a pretty good movie. The film had an interesting and well written story with some good morals and ethics. The characters were interesting and well acted. To top off the presentation was good. While I enjoyed this on my first viewing I feel like this is one of those movies I’d appreciate more with repeated viewings. This is definitely a film to check out. Expand
  5. Jan 29, 2011
    10
    Overall this was one of the best movies I've seen to date. Mixing some of the brotherly antics with the family ties and the drama and love between the three characters makes some of these scenes unforgettable. The characters are almost needlessly in depth going so far as to delve into their personal sex lives. Looking into the characters' motives and reasons for killing reminds me of what comes out of the Middle East extremist groups, yet in a much more calm and controlled sense, if you can even say that about killing in the name of an omnipresent leader. If you've seen it and all you want to do is sit there and say it's a ripoff of all these other films then fine, but if you haven't seen this movie I encourage you to rent it or Netflix it or do whatever you have to do, as this is a film that many can enjoy. Expand
  6. Aug 22, 2011
    9
    I`m a little two-row about this one. For starters, the story is a bit shallow. Yes it has a twist, but it doesn`t stop being a pretext for some killing or funny killing. What totally saves it is the acting. All of them : W. Dafoe, S.Flanery, N. Reedus and even D. Rocco took their job seriously and executed wonderfully. All of them enrich the story ten fold. Especially W. Dafoe`s performance. This movie never gets boring, this movie surprises the viewer every minute. The characters get well established, are easy to know, like and relate to. When watchng "The Boondock Saints" I felt as I was killin the baddies myself. Few scenes made me laugh a lot, as the Saints are quite the company of very different people on multiple levels. All of this acompanied by a detective who is starting to have doubts about his job. To be honest I took this film more as comedy than drama or anything serious. It gets brutal at times, but the funny stuff enters it the same moments. Light, funny, especially worth seeing for the characters development part. Expand
  7. Sep 1, 2011
    0
    What a bad movie. Mix in terrible dialogue, a silly plot, stupid stereotypes, and action sequences so hackneyed that they are almost satirical, and what you get is Boondock Saints. I am a bit mystified by the cult following of this film. I guess it has to do with the fact that this movie is an adolescent fantasy piece with all the sophistication that an adolescent mind could probably give it, and that appeals to the young, the immature, and the stupid. For everyone else, this movie is probably best avoided. Spend your time watching something that actually has something going for it. Expand
  8. Feb 14, 2012
    9
    So a 44 as the critic average huh? I think if critics reviewed this now it would be higher, this movie has garnered respect over the years. How can you not like a badass flick about two irishmen kicking ass and taking names? But seriously Willem Dafoe's performance is so brilliantly creepy and I really like how you see the crime scene first and then you see the crime, very creative. Anyway one of the most badass movies I've ever seen. Expand
  9. Feb 6, 2012
    10
    By far one of the best movies ever. Doing the right and wrong thing at the same time gives the viewer a bad choice. The credits are showing this phenomenon too. To make the decision where to draw the line makes this movie so brilliant. And the music and style in the way the movie is made is genious!
  10. Dec 6, 2012
    3
    To this very day, the quintessential exemplification of a cult classic. There is no in-between on this one, either you love it or hate it. Absolutely void of content and substance with style to spare. Side step this one unless you find non-sensical violence, Ron Jeremy, and William Dafoe in drag captivating.
  11. Oct 27, 2013
    2
    This film is garbage. The archetype of low brow bro culture, cherished by men (boys) with descriptive vocabularies limited to word like "sick" and "tight". Puerile at best, offensive at worst. Save yourself the time/exhaustion and look elsewhere.
  12. Dec 2, 2013
    10
    For all those wondering, this particular film is the GOOD one out of the two. That other one, ugh, it hurts that they marred this standalone project with a fatter, less unique, less involved sequal.
  13. Apr 10, 2014
    6
    I won't attempt to be articulate. I enjoyed the movie- brotherhood, trust, loyalty among the brothers, dark, but enjoyable. Wicked fight scenes! What murdered this movie is the detective being so gay in life and acting like he isn't a **** in bed with that dude, and acted like a ferry throughout the movie. Where was the correlation? Why did he have to be gay? Him acting so queer through me off. Confusing. Expand
Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 4 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 4
  2. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Reviewed by: Robert Koehler
    60
    More interested in finding fresh ways to stage execution scenes than in finding meaning behind the human urge for self-appointed righting of wrongs, (the film) is stuffed with effects that have no lasting impact.
  2. Reviewed by: Joan Anderman
    75
    (Duffy) navigates the twisted collision of religious faith and the thrill of the kill, altruism and brutality, with an ingenious mix of humor, horror, mysticism, and just plain hipness.
  3. 50
    (Duffy's) assembled a fine cast -- it's hard to take your eyes off the two young leads -- but he's given them little to do but squeeze triggers and mouth platitudes.